Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>
2012 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  One of our BEST VALUE wines at K & L’s! As most of you know this wine from past vintages and it’s been too long since we had this wine in a let me just put it plain and simple IT ROCKS! This “Friulano” is full body ( a little crisper than past vintages) with ripe pear and red apple on the palate and on the very long finish I find a hint of almond, balanced with crisp acidity and is very aromatic with great length. This will work great with a cornucopia of vegetarian dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhone Blend
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  A beautiful California Rhone blend made up of 45% Carignane, 25% Grenache, 15% Mourvedre and 15% Syrah. 100% used oak. A medium bodied with wine great balance of lush red and blue fruit backed by solid yet lush tannin. Layers of spice, earth and cedar weave themselves among the beautiful fruit. A joy to drink and at 14.2% alcohol, lower than some wines of the Rhone region. Enjoy the wine now and for the next year or two.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
 By: Mulan Chan-Randel | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  Le Paradou rouge is a refreshingly bright and thoroughly gulpable Grenache from the winemaking team at Château Pesquié. It's the perfect pizza, pasta, Tuesday night red to enjoy with friends and family alike. And at a modest 13.5% abv you won't be feeling blotto the next morning if you pour yourself a little extra. A simple, yet super fun house wine. Glou Glou!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1991 Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  At a recent staff dinner this was silky smooth and simply stunning. The plush and velvety texture retains plenty of acidity for freshness and there is nothing awkward, angular or tannic, just creamy, dusty cherry fruit, earthy woodsy scents and a long satin textured body. There are aromas of ceder and leather present but there is nothing at all drying about the elegant finish. This is pure cashmere in a bottle.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Igino Accordini "Le Bessole" Amarone
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This Amarone is really very well structured and isn't cloying, raisiny or overripe at all, a problem that I have with a fair amount of Amarone. No, this wine has more structure, balance and yes, it is Amarone with that characteristic ripeness--but it has so much more balance that I was really stunned. A complex blend of spicy fruit flavors, supple chocolaty richness in the mouth and a convincingly dry and long finish.
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 Blason Malvasia Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just love this wine, yet it is so hard to sell. Once people see Malvasia on the label everyone thinks it is sweet and flowery....sort of Moscato-ish. Nothing could be further from the truth! This is Malvasia Istriana, not Malvasia Bianca, and it is an incredible grape variety. The wine has haunting aromatics of white flower and a tangy, spiced citrus hint in the nose; on the palate the wine is rich yet extraordinarily well balanced; it has super acidity and a salty tang that generates a salivary response that makes you reach for the glass or for a fork. Incredibly well priced, a superb deal.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The search for the perfect everyday drinking wine has ended! The 2012 Le Paradou is flat-out delicious! The very first sniff from the glass tells you this is going to be a highly enjoyable glass of wine with aromas of black pepper, plum, baking spices and hints of fresh flowers. The palate is a gorgeous array of black cherry cola, raspberry and herbs with great balance. This wine feels vibrantly alive, with its lively acidity framing the bright fruit flavors. The wine is incredibly versatile: it has enough fruit and body to easily be enjoyed on its own but has the structure and depth to seamlessly pair with most cuisines. This is one of the better values I have tasted this year and I will be sure to pick up at least a few bottles for myself!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Having worked in the Italian wine business for more than 30 years, just the word Pinot Grigio drives me nuts, only because there is an ocean of innocuous white wine from Italy that is labeled as Pinot Grigio that tastes like...well I think white wine. This however is REAL Pinot Grigio. It has depth (Good Pinot Grigio as a varietal almost always shows more weight and richness, the seeming contrary to most labeled as such) and in this particular vintage, an amazing focus and grip. This wine is riveting, forward and really gets your attention. More complex than a cocktail wine, it is best with roasted chicken or richer fish dishes.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The Ermacoras are always most concerned about what I think of the Pinot Bianco; the Pinot Bianco is their best wine year in and year out, it just has more intrigue, balance and palate presence. White flower and hints of vanilla and bergamot highlight the nose, while on the palate the good richness with a real dynamic mouth feel and very long finish. This wine ages very well but usually drinks best from 2-6 years from the vintage.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2001 Barde Haut, St-Emilion
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is round, smooth, softly textured and displays a very caressing personality for 2001 vintage Bordeaux. Limestone rich soils and good acidity provide freshness and lift to the rich and plush mid-palate fruit in this inviting and easy to drink wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2001 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  This screaming value is one of the riper and sweeter wines I have tasted from this very good vintage. This is earthy and plumy with oodles of dark, husky fruit in the deep middle yet good freshness throughout. Great depth of fruit and a tannin free finish are the hallmark of this delicious bargain.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Yellow Ribolla, yes Gialla in Italian means yellow, is a very acidic grape by nature but the 2012 vintage allows so much more of this wine to come out where it blossoms into quasi richness. Delicate pear aromatics, palate weight and and extraordinary persistence highlight this brilliant white wine. I'd pair it with a seafood pasta sprinkled with freshly chopped basil or parsley, NO CHEESE.....
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 1 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  2012 is an outstanding vintage in Friuli for whites and this year Ermacora's Friulano is really great. Friulano is always a little fuller on the palate than some of the other local varieties but in this vintage that richness is superbly balanced, has great length and shows hints of tarragon. It is perfect for cock-tailing or with fuller fish or chicken dishes. No oak, only stainless steel aging leaving the wine fresh and fragrant.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Palazzone Terre Vinate Orvieto
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is such a good deal for such a refreshing and fun wine. Aromas of pear with hints of white flower couched in an elegant plumpness balanced with fresh acidity and a lively and bright finish. With the warmer months ahead this is an ideal summer treat!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  Incredible brightness, ripe fruit mingles with dried sage and pencil lead, lively acidity throughout, and a light to medium body. This is going to be an extremely versatile wine, and a crowd pleaser. Great to have on hand for impromptu parties, or with a light dinner.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1999 Billecart-Salmon "Cuvée Nicolas François Billecart" NFB Brut Champagne
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
  This tastes so young and lively for a 15-year-old wine! Billecart once again hits it out of the park with this 1999 NFB. All Grand Cru; 60% Pinot Noir, 40% Chardonnay.

1998 Cornaleto Franciacorta Pas Dose
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! 14 years on the lees! Such a cool and quirky wine. A flor like finish that makes this a very fun wine to pair. My first thought is to serve this with the gamier Spanish tapas or Italian antipasti. Prosciutto, hard cheeses, bitter greens...
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $26.99
BC 0

1987 Mortlach 25 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
  As soon as the sample was poured my first impression was wow. Beautiful and rich aromas with hints of malt and nuts was present. In the mouth this single malt offered rich, round and complex flavors and a long and interesting dry finish. This Mortlach has no smoke flavors.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Giuliano Pecorino Terre di Chieti
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine has an exotic nose that just flows out of your glass, full of wild flowers, honey, middle-eastern spice and just a tang of the sea. On the palate the wine has density and richness with deep, saturated flavors and it has an almost oily richness to it but is highlighted by a vibrant central acidity containing glints of mineral that stretch the finish on and on. I sat with a bottle of this contemplating the variety, its density, aromatics, yet striking focus and looked for some comparison to other grape varieties. Unfortunately it is something one has to explain for Italy with so many weird names and unpronounceable words people just generally want me to say it’s “more like a Cabernet, or more like a Sauvignon Blanc” it simplifies the learning curve. So with this grape it finally came to me! This is “like” French Viognier, it has the aromatics, body, density and they usually have an oily richness to them. Most food and wine pairings couple American Viognier with Asian dishes, while they have the aromatics and density they lack the central focus, hence the peanut sauce and curry matchings, sort of a drier less flowery version of the Gewurztraminer/Riesling category. I think the wine has more character and needs, Sea Bass, Lobster or maybe even some Tuna Sashimi.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Kalinda "Cuvée Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 3/15/2014 | Send Email
  This Pinot Noir is a great value! I love the wines from Trisaetum and this one is no exception. This zesty wine is bursting with tart cheery and cranberry, orange peel, spicy clove and herbs, with a wonderful earthiness which screams for food. I’m scheming up a BBQ with some pork and this wine as I write this!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Chalone "Limited Release" Chalone Pinot Noir
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 3/13/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Meant to sell for about $30.00 (and it is a darn good drinking Pinot at that price) in restaurants, this Gem was over-produced and made available to us at half the price. Medium ruby in color, the distinctive nose of raspberries, dried rose petals and red cherries carries over well into a nicely integrated, well structured, bright, and fleshy palate impression. As I mentioned, this lovely Pinot drinks well now, but will improve over the next three to six years. Rusty has informed me that I need to bring home a few cases of this Gem to be one of our house reds for the coming months. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0

2008 Gusbourne Estate Brut Reserve, Kent, England
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  This can give Champagne a run.... toasty brioche leesy nutty yeasty goodness with great texture and lovely finish. Very surprised by these British sparklers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Wiston Estate "South Downs Cuvée Brut" West Sussex, England
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  Well, the British have landed and this is one of my favorites from the Wiston Estate. Chalkly nose, tart tangerine, racy acidity, fresh and bright. Love the raciness and brightness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Tinto Negro Malbec Uco Valley
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  Yes - This is what I'm talkin' about! I want under $15 Malbec to taste like this: dark fruits, subtly toasty but not overly so from too much oak, notable minerality and a nicely firm, tannin structure to frame the wine and lend balance. It's delicious and a lot of bang for the buck, but deceptively serious as well for a value red.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

Kilchoman K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel #172 Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  I'm excited that we bought two different casks of Kilchoman, to highlight how two barrels with the same distillate can age in completely different ways. They're both very good and very distinct from each other. Barrel 172 may have a stronger ABV, but it's so briny, pure, and beautifully balanced, that you're not likely to notice. Sorry for the wine speak here, but this one is elegant, pure, linear, and to my experience, textbook Islay single malt. Kilchoman does not come cheap, but if you take a moment and taste, focus on the quality of what you're tasting, and look at what else is available on Islay for a comparable price, what you have here is a very individual single malt, that at a much younger average age is showing character and personality all its own - without sacrificing balance or drinkablility! Highly recommended.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Kilchoman K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel #74 Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  I'm excited that we bought two different casks of Kilchoman, to highlight how two barrels with the same distillate can age in completely different ways. They're both very good and very distinct from each other. This one is spicy and fatter, a bit sweeter but with excellent chewiness and savory smoke, and still a subtly briney quality. Kilchoman does not come cheap, but if you take a moment and taste, focus on the quality of what you're tasting, and look at what else is available on Islay for a comparable price, what you have here is a very individual single malt, that at a much younger average age is showing character and personality all its own - without sacrificing balance or drinkablility! Highly recommended.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Gusbourne Estate Brut Reserve, Kent, England
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Well, this is an unexpected idea to be reviewing an English sparkling wine, I was one of the nay-sayers before I actually tried them...Wow, very surprised by the quality, complexity and balance. So once I was surprised I did a little more investigation and found this had 4 years on the lees, and that's where the very brioche like toastiness comes from. The grapes (thank you Global Warming) are grown at almost the same latitude and soil types as in Champagne...Why wouldn't they be good! Well this actually is truly an English take on sparkling wine, the flavors just slightly different just like they are here in California, but no doubting the quality. You should give our language challenged neighbors to the East a try!
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhone Blend
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  It doesn't take a true detective to unravel the mystery of why a particular wine delivers so much unadulterated pleasure. In the case of this natural Rhone blend from Bruce Neyers the clues first found in the vineyard end up ultimately, with good fortune, in your glass. Crafted by winemaker Tadeo Borchardt from Grenache grown in the Sierra foothills, Syrah from the Sangiacomo hillside vineyards in Sonoma, and precious parcels of 135 year old Carignane and 125 year old Mourvedre vines that have sunk their hoary roots deep into the stony Contra Costa soils in Oakley, this red blend pays generous tribute to the heart of the southern Rhone in its sultry, sun-soaked fruit and lingering lavender, warm spice and anise-inflected aromas. One sip and the mystery is solved.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2010 Giusti e Zanza "Perbruno" Syrah Toscana
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  Treading a fine line between ripe, rich and extracted Syrah and a more savory, balanced incarnations. Big, dark, rich fruit, with roasted earth, smoked meat and dark spices. A full-bodied wine with just enough acidity to keep it in line. Already showing well now but might soften with a few more years in bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WE 95 BC 0

2009 Trébiac, Graves
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Showed dark fruit, cassis and spice, with a touch of sweet tobacco and a bright long finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 d'Arenberg "Coppermine Road" Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Very serious, powerful Cabernet. Black and blue fruit, iron notes, textural tannin and no lack of concentration. This is a rich, structured wine but the edges have softened beautifully with time in bottle. Layers of dark fruit, spice and cocoa coat the palate as the more lifted blue berries and spice elevate the finish. Some hints of development in the way of sweet leather and tobacco creep in, but the wine is largely still in the primary phase of its long life. Compelling stuff from d'Arenberg.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

1998 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Tasting notes 3/11/2014.... it was the consensus that this wine is drinking better than it ever has. Maybe it woke back up but lots of life in this wine still. Layered with dried currants to cassis with black olive and tea with cedar and spice. This is drinking really well. Tasting notes 7/5/2011...With a 5 vintage vertical of Lanessan in the store right now we just tried all 5 with the staff.The 98 was some of the staff's favorite. The nose showed cassis, tea, mushroom and damp earth. The cassis had a perfumey quality to it that came through on the palate all the way through the finish along with spice.. Some astringency remains but this wine is ready to drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Labégorce-Zédé, Margaux
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! That's Bordeaux! (those were my notes written next to the wine). Very elegant and balanced and drinking well right now. Floral, potpourri, spice, cassis, mineral with coffee and cedar on finish. This has lots of life in it but it won't last because you will want to drink it and we don't have much of it.

2012 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhone Blend
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Here's a fun, tasty red from Neyers that's sure to please. It's a great value Rhone blend with loads of plush blackberry, raspberry, and cola notes. Neyers consistently delivers high quality wines at fair prices. For under $20, Neyers strikes again with a fantastic offering that I strongly recommend.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

1997 Labegorce, Margaux (1.5L)
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Tasting notes 3/11/2014 We just received the last of the 1997 Labegorce this time from the estate and it is the last 38 cases all in magnum. We had this with the K&L Hollywood 7 year anniversary party with NY Strips and Prime Rib. This is the best this wine has ever tasted part provenance (never left the estate), format (always ages better in bigger bottles) and time which we are now 15 years in bottle and it is perfect. Don't miss out on this wine both fresh and bright with lovely sweet tobacco, cedar, underbrush and spice with a gravely minerality on the finish. Tasting notes 5/20/2008...Fruit and spice both come through on the nose along with some tobacco aromas. Everything is integrated here with the fruit and spice being united within a round, almost velvety mouthfeel. The acidity is still very prominent, so it is at its best with dinner.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1991 Latour, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  The best of the 1991s. This vintage was fabulous along the Gironde, with no frost to speak of.
Price: $699.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2000 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Very dark in color, the 2000 Calon-Ségur shows ripe cassis and mocha aromas that linger in the mouth.

1991 Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  One of the greatest wines from the most underrated vintage of the century in Bordeaux.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1975 Palmer, Margaux
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  A fantastic birth-year value!
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2001 Labegorce, Margaux (1.5L)
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  A bit more forward and elegant than the 2000.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 Labegorce, Margaux (1.5L)
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Right from the property, this wine has the finesse of the Margaux commune with the strength of the vintage. Tons of red berry flavors. Decant and enjoy with a steak dinner.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2000 Labégorce, Margaux
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Right from the property, this wine has the finesse of the Margaux commune with the strength of the vintage. Tons of red berry flavors. Decant and enjoy with a steak dinner.

2004 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  When young, the wines of Lanessan are typically a deep, intense ruby color, with an elegant nose and fruity, floral aromas. On the palate, the structure is complex and dense, melting away harmoniously to a good, long finish. When they are older, the wines take on a terracotta tint and the nose becomes increasingly complex, with plum, then undergrowth aromas. The flavors are smooth, warm and perfectly harmonious, ending with silk tannins. The 2004 is classic Bordeaux style.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2003 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  When young, the wines of Lanessan are typically a deep, intense ruby color, with an elegant nose and fruity, floral aromas. On the palate, the structure is complex and dense, melting away harmoniously to a good, long finish. When they are older, the wines take on a terracotta tint and the nose becomes increasingly complex, with plum, then undergrowth aromas. The flavors are smooth, warm and perfectly harmonious, ending with silk tannins. The 2003 is that warm, round style.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Drinking perfectly now!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  So good! If you like old style Bordeax these are for you, and they are exceptionally well-priced. In September 2011: The 1998 Lanessan is a sturdy wine with some mineral undertones and dusty aromas. Decant it and it blossoms. Will cellar a few more years. Serve with cassoulet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Petit-Village, Pomerol
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  *+ 72% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc, 9% Cabernet Sauvignon. Intense Asian spice aromas that follow to the palate. Plenty of tannins, but enough fruit to balance them out.

2007 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Lots of approachability and elegance with raspberry and currants, tobacco and earth, spice and cedar.

2006 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Shows dried cherry, floral notes, cedar, peppery spice and red currant fruit. It has fleshed out since we last tried it in 2009, but there is still plenty of structure, with finer tannins and bright acidity.

2009 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/11/2014 | Send Email
  Layered, ripe and polished, with red and black berry fruit, Asian spice, iron minerality, cedar, fig paste, chewy tannins and a long finish. Wow.

Page:  <<   prev  4 5  6   next  >>