Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
2010 Château Thénac Bergerac Blanc
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
  Rich, with pineapple cream and white flowers on the palate, finishes with a refreshing acidity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Fontsainte "Gris de Gris" Corbières Rosé
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
  An excellent rose that tastes of green strawberries. Great texture.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Villa Pillo Toscana Sangiovese (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 3/24/2014 | Send Email
  I bought this 3L box of Sangiovese to take with me on a recent camping trip. (I also bought our GoVino plastic stemless wine glasses to go with it....a perfect match). I was so pleased with how good this wine was! Fresh, tart cherry, floral aspects and an earthy balanced finish. And when camping, no glass bottles to knock over into the fire :) Of course, this box of joy isn't restricted to being enjoyed in the Great Outdoors. It's a fantastic party wine, something to bring to the BBQ, or just simply to have on hand. It'll keep for a couple months (the plastic bladder the wine is kept in is airtight), so it's great if you just want a glass of red without worrying about having to finish a whole bottle. So versatile!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Vin de Pays d'Oc Rosé
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/24/2014 | Send Email
  Can you hear me smiling? Come closer. Forget "Add to Cart"--add to everything! Mulan has done us all a great service by introducing us to the lovely and affordable wines of Domaine Begude. It is with asparagus-bated breath I wait for these exceptional roses every spring. Do as those in the know do and pick up this rose by the case. No corkscrew needed.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/24/2014 | Send Email
  A consistently delicious and refreshing Sauvignon Blanc from the south of France. No corkscrew necessary for this crowd pleaser.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1989 Cragganmore 23 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/24/2014 | Send Email
  Beautiful honey and floral aromas flow out of the glass. The taste of honey and nuts continues the joy of this lively and delicious single malt. There is a nice long finish.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/21/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This lower dosage, clean and linear Brut is one of the best that we carry, in my opinion. Green apple, bright cherry and lemon meringue notes on the nose. Bright apples, zippy lemon/lime and candied ginger flavors on the palate. It has a finish laden with chalk and minerals. When we have them, do NOT miss the magnums! They priced extremely reasonably and will age for another 10 years. As it is, this little beauty in the 750 ml bottle will age well for 6-7 more years. Do NOT wait to buy any of our Pierre Paillard selections! We receive them in limited quantities and they sell out quickly!
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2023
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

2004 Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Vintage Champagne
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 3/21/2014 | Send Email
  This is champagne that should sell for $100+. It is made entirely from Grand Cru fruit, averaging more than 45 years of vine age. It is all from Bouzy, a village known for its Pinot Noir, with south-facing vineyards (which is important in this high latitude). The nose promises red fruit and hints of brioche. It is rich and complex on the palate. But what really excites me is the acidity--2004 is a cooler vintage, with great promise for aging. If you are in Bouzy, this means that you have the ripeness and richness, but also have the focus, drive and energy that makes this truly exciting.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/21/2014 | Send Email
  Non-vintage Champagne does not get better than this. The Paillard family makes a statement with this great cuvee and show how very serious that they are about quality. All of the details have been studied and sweated over to make this wine, from planting only massal selected vines, to working towards an organic certification. This is Champagne that has power without losing its drinkability, and richness without sweetness. If you are only going to try one new Champagne this year, this should be it!
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

2004 Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Vintage Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 3/21/2014 | Send Email
  Cinnamon and I drank this with some seared Ahi tuna and roasted vegtables and we were blown away by the quality. When we sat down, the first thing I noticed about the Champagne was how good it looked in the glass. The wine has a light gold color and a fine streamer of compact bubbles that form quite a nice halo on the top of the glass. Aromatically the 2004 delivered on the promise of top vintage Champagne with a complex array of dried fruit, pie crust and walnut on the nose. In the mouth it is concentrated and authoritative without being heavy, and has the kind of texture that rarely comes for under $100. The finish showed off the best features of the 2004 vintage, with chalky focus and a finish that I can almost still taste the next day. The Pierre Paillard went very well with the Tuna, with the rare Ahi bringing out the deep cherry fruit of the Pinot Noir and the tangy soy almost mirroring the chalk on the finish. I wish that Quentin and Antoine Paillard had been over to check it out, as the combination was far from a traditional French pairing! As usual with a great bottle of Champagne, Cinnamon and I thought it disappeared to quickly… I am looking forward to the magnums being released next year!
Drink from 2014 to 2034
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

1999 Whitehall Lane "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  (Popped and poured 03/2014 from magnum) An underrated wine that still delivers a fine value. A savory palate with dusty Napa terroir harmonizes with the tannins that at this stage seem polished and sweet. The overall profile would please someone who likes their Napa Cabs in a classic style, yet the wine is plenty generous. Excellent structure. A 750ml should be right in its drinking window while the large formats could go much longer.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Whitehall Lane "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  (Popped and poured 03/2014 from magnum) An underrated wine that still delivers a fine value. A savory palate with dusty Napa terroir harmonizes with the tannins that at this stage seem polished and sweet. The overall profile would please someone who likes their Napa Cabs in a classic style, yet the wine is plenty generous. Excellent structure. A 750ml should be right in its drinking window while the large formats could go much longer.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Whitehall Lane "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (3L)
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  (Popped and poured 03/2014 from magnum) An underrated wine that still delivers a fine value. A savory palate with dusty Napa terroir harmonizes with the tannins that at this stage seem polished and sweet. The overall profile would please someone who likes their Napa Cabs in a classic style, yet the wine is plenty generous. Excellent structure. A 750ml should be right in its drinking window while the large formats could go much longer.
Price: $224.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Fanti Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  Love these user friendly 2008 Brunello’s and we have some really good pricing going on right now. Impressive nose for the vintage, with loads of ripe fruit, Full-bodied and very velvety, with beautiful tannins and great fruit, full-bodied, this wine boasts excellent length.

2010 Fanti Sant'Antimo Sassomagno
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  From the town of Sant'Antimo ( known for its famous Abbey, a Benedictine monastery situated in the province of Siena). This is old world wine; dark fruit, leather, baking spices and coffee beans suggest that this wine will offer its pleasure over the next few years.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

1998 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  This earthy wine is surprisingly rich and hearty for a 1998 Left Bank Bordeaux. Tobacco, mineral and cherry and plum fruit are far more obvious than the slightly firm edge to the stony finish. Decant this tonight with hearty fare.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Fugue de Nenin, Pomerol
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  The Delon family of Leoville-Las-Cases fame has made great strides with Chateau Nenin in Pomerol and this second wine has become a consistant over achiever. This is elegant, clean, classy and sweet, offering an iron tinged mineral edge to the fine finish. Drinking perfectly right now, this offers the sophistication of the first wine at a fraction of the cost.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Wow! This bottling of Champagne Thienot's "Gamins" has it all. The traditional elements of a superb blanc de blancs and so much more! Both green and golden apples are present (more so for the latter) as well as clay and dough notes on the nose. Lush lemon curd, light honey and nutty flavors on the palate. Wonderfully long finish! This bubbly would be a stellar addition to any cellar and should last another 20 years or so. Extremely impressive and worth every penny. For me, it is right up there with Krug and Salon.
Drink from 2014 to 2034

2012 Blason Cabernet Franc Isonzo
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  It’s back! And as long as I can keep my co-workers at bay, you may be able to buy some for yourself. There is nothing simple about this cab/franc, it has the classic blueberry and herbaceous, plum and a hint of cola also a little white pepper on the finish. A staff and consumer favorite for many years now, this is a wine you will want to stock up on.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $9.99
BC 0

2013 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  This is Cortese (the region is Gavi in Piedmont) it has very delicate perfumes of apples and apricots. It is un-oaked and crisp, with citrus and peach fruit and notes of herbs and is wonderfully delicate but with great structure, love its length & balance as well as its complexity. Salute Guido!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico (375ml)
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  From the very user friendly 2011 vintage, this is one of our best values from Tuscany, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration and a dry finish, with well integrated and soft tannins. Enjoy tonight and over the next couple years.

2011 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  From the very user friendly 2011 vintage, this is one of our best values from Tuscany, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration and a dry finish, with well integrated and soft tannins. Enjoy tonight and over the next couple years.

2008 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico (1.5L)
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.

2008 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  This is our sixtieth of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  Ribolla Gialla enjoys a long history as one of Friuli's oldest indigenous vines, this extremely unusual wine would be worth buying solely on account of its very low price, but once you have tried this unusual grape varietals, you be back for more. The palate is intense and full with a supple body, echoing the wine's varietals character, exotic and honeyed bliss, floral notes, hints of flint and citrus, delivering several complex layers that transform as they evolve in the glass, the finish is dry with lots of acidity and pleasantly fresh.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 1 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus, there is ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate, great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/20/2014 | Send Email
  One of our BEST VALUE wines at K & L’s! As most of you know this wine from past vintages and it’s been too long since we had this wine in a let me just put it plain and simple IT ROCKS! This “Friulano” is full body ( a little crisper than past vintages) with ripe pear and red apple on the palate and on the very long finish I find a hint of almond, balanced with crisp acidity and is very aromatic with great length. This will work great with a cornucopia of vegetarian dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhone Blend
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  A beautiful California Rhone blend made up of 45% Carignane, 25% Grenache, 15% Mourvedre and 15% Syrah. 100% used oak. A medium bodied with wine great balance of lush red and blue fruit backed by solid yet lush tannin. Layers of spice, earth and cedar weave themselves among the beautiful fruit. A joy to drink and at 14.2% alcohol, lower than some wines of the Rhone region. Enjoy the wine now and for the next year or two.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
 By: Mulan Chan-Randel | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  Le Paradou rouge is a refreshingly bright and thoroughly gulpable Grenache from the winemaking team at Château Pesquié. It's the perfect pizza, pasta, Tuesday night red to enjoy with friends and family alike. And at a modest 13.5% abv you won't be feeling blotto the next morning if you pour yourself a little extra. A simple, yet super fun house wine. Glou Glou!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1991 Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  At a recent staff dinner this was silky smooth and simply stunning. The plush and velvety texture retains plenty of acidity for freshness and there is nothing awkward, angular or tannic, just creamy, dusty cherry fruit, earthy woodsy scents and a long satin textured body. There are aromas of ceder and leather present but there is nothing at all drying about the elegant finish. This is pure cashmere in a bottle.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Igino Accordini "Le Bessole" Amarone
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This Amarone is really very well structured and isn't cloying, raisiny or overripe at all, a problem that I have with a fair amount of Amarone. No, this wine has more structure, balance and yes, it is Amarone with that characteristic ripeness--but it has so much more balance that I was really stunned. A complex blend of spicy fruit flavors, supple chocolaty richness in the mouth and a convincingly dry and long finish.
Drink from 2014 to 2022
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 Blason Malvasia Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just love this wine, yet it is so hard to sell. Once people see Malvasia on the label everyone thinks it is sweet and flowery....sort of Moscato-ish. Nothing could be further from the truth! This is Malvasia Istriana, not Malvasia Bianca, and it is an incredible grape variety. The wine has haunting aromatics of white flower and a tangy, spiced citrus hint in the nose; on the palate the wine is rich yet extraordinarily well balanced; it has super acidity and a salty tang that generates a salivary response that makes you reach for the glass or for a fork. Incredibly well priced, a superb deal.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The search for the perfect everyday drinking wine has ended! The 2012 Le Paradou is flat-out delicious! The very first sniff from the glass tells you this is going to be a highly enjoyable glass of wine with aromas of black pepper, plum, baking spices and hints of fresh flowers. The palate is a gorgeous array of black cherry cola, raspberry and herbs with great balance. This wine feels vibrantly alive, with its lively acidity framing the bright fruit flavors. The wine is incredibly versatile: it has enough fruit and body to easily be enjoyed on its own but has the structure and depth to seamlessly pair with most cuisines. This is one of the better values I have tasted this year and I will be sure to pick up at least a few bottles for myself!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Having worked in the Italian wine business for more than 30 years, just the word Pinot Grigio drives me nuts, only because there is an ocean of innocuous white wine from Italy that is labeled as Pinot Grigio that tastes like...well I think white wine. This however is REAL Pinot Grigio. It has depth (Good Pinot Grigio as a varietal almost always shows more weight and richness, the seeming contrary to most labeled as such) and in this particular vintage, an amazing focus and grip. This wine is riveting, forward and really gets your attention. More complex than a cocktail wine, it is best with roasted chicken or richer fish dishes.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The Ermacoras are always most concerned about what I think of the Pinot Bianco; the Pinot Bianco is their best wine year in and year out, it just has more intrigue, balance and palate presence. White flower and hints of vanilla and bergamot highlight the nose, while on the palate the good richness with a real dynamic mouth feel and very long finish. This wine ages very well but usually drinks best from 2-6 years from the vintage.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2001 Barde Haut, St-Emilion
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is round, smooth, softly textured and displays a very caressing personality for 2001 vintage Bordeaux. Limestone rich soils and good acidity provide freshness and lift to the rich and plush mid-palate fruit in this inviting and easy to drink wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2001 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  This screaming value is one of the riper and sweeter wines I have tasted from this very good vintage. This is earthy and plumy with oodles of dark, husky fruit in the deep middle yet good freshness throughout. Great depth of fruit and a tannin free finish are the hallmark of this delicious bargain.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Yellow Ribolla, yes Gialla in Italian means yellow, is a very acidic grape by nature but the 2012 vintage allows so much more of this wine to come out where it blossoms into quasi richness. Delicate pear aromatics, palate weight and and extraordinary persistence highlight this brilliant white wine. I'd pair it with a seafood pasta sprinkled with freshly chopped basil or parsley, NO CHEESE.....
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 1 BC 0

2012 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  2012 is an outstanding vintage in Friuli for whites and this year Ermacora's Friulano is really great. Friulano is always a little fuller on the palate than some of the other local varieties but in this vintage that richness is superbly balanced, has great length and shows hints of tarragon. It is perfect for cock-tailing or with fuller fish or chicken dishes. No oak, only stainless steel aging leaving the wine fresh and fragrant.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Palazzone Terre Vinate Orvieto
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is such a good deal for such a refreshing and fun wine. Aromas of pear with hints of white flower couched in an elegant plumpness balanced with fresh acidity and a lively and bright finish. With the warmer months ahead this is an ideal summer treat!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/19/2014 | Send Email
  Incredible brightness, ripe fruit mingles with dried sage and pencil lead, lively acidity throughout, and a light to medium body. This is going to be an extremely versatile wine, and a crowd pleaser. Great to have on hand for impromptu parties, or with a light dinner.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

1999 Billecart-Salmon "Cuvée Nicolas François Billecart" NFB Brut Champagne
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
  This tastes so young and lively for a 15-year-old wine! Billecart once again hits it out of the park with this 1999 NFB. All Grand Cru; 60% Pinot Noir, 40% Chardonnay.

1998 Cornaleto Franciacorta Pas Dose
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! 14 years on the lees! Such a cool and quirky wine. A flor like finish that makes this a very fun wine to pair. My first thought is to serve this with the gamier Spanish tapas or Italian antipasti. Prosciutto, hard cheeses, bitter greens...
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $26.99
BC 0

1987 Mortlach 25 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
  As soon as the sample was poured my first impression was wow. Beautiful and rich aromas with hints of malt and nuts was present. In the mouth this single malt offered rich, round and complex flavors and a long and interesting dry finish. This Mortlach has no smoke flavors.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Giuliano Pecorino Terre di Chieti
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine has an exotic nose that just flows out of your glass, full of wild flowers, honey, middle-eastern spice and just a tang of the sea. On the palate the wine has density and richness with deep, saturated flavors and it has an almost oily richness to it but is highlighted by a vibrant central acidity containing glints of mineral that stretch the finish on and on. I sat with a bottle of this contemplating the variety, its density, aromatics, yet striking focus and looked for some comparison to other grape varieties. Unfortunately it is something one has to explain for Italy with so many weird names and unpronounceable words people just generally want me to say it’s “more like a Cabernet, or more like a Sauvignon Blanc” it simplifies the learning curve. So with this grape it finally came to me! This is “like” French Viognier, it has the aromatics, body, density and they usually have an oily richness to them. Most food and wine pairings couple American Viognier with Asian dishes, while they have the aromatics and density they lack the central focus, hence the peanut sauce and curry matchings, sort of a drier less flowery version of the Gewurztraminer/Riesling category. I think the wine has more character and needs, Sea Bass, Lobster or maybe even some Tuna Sashimi.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Kalinda "Cuvée Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 3/15/2014 | Send Email
  This Pinot Noir is a great value! I love the wines from Trisaetum and this one is no exception. This zesty wine is bursting with tart cheery and cranberry, orange peel, spicy clove and herbs, with a wonderful earthiness which screams for food. I’m scheming up a BBQ with some pork and this wine as I write this!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Chalone "Limited Release" Chalone Pinot Noir
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 3/13/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Meant to sell for about $30.00 (and it is a darn good drinking Pinot at that price) in restaurants, this Gem was over-produced and made available to us at half the price. Medium ruby in color, the distinctive nose of raspberries, dried rose petals and red cherries carries over well into a nicely integrated, well structured, bright, and fleshy palate impression. As I mentioned, this lovely Pinot drinks well now, but will improve over the next three to six years. Rusty has informed me that I need to bring home a few cases of this Gem to be one of our house reds for the coming months. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0

2008 Gusbourne Estate Brut Reserve, Kent, England
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  This can give Champagne a run.... toasty brioche leesy nutty yeasty goodness with great texture and lovely finish. Very surprised by these British sparklers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Wiston Estate "South Downs Cuvée Brut" West Sussex, England
 By: Steve Greer | Review Date: 3/12/2014 | Send Email
  Well, the British have landed and this is one of my favorites from the Wiston Estate. Chalkly nose, tart tangerine, racy acidity, fresh and bright. Love the raciness and brightness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>