Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>
Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon 375ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  I can promise you that every store from here to Bangor, Maine is sick and tired of the question, "Do you guys have any Pappy?" The only question even more frustrating that that one is: "What do you have that tastes like Pappy?" Not because it's a stupid question, but mainly because there isn't anything available that even remotely tastes like Pappy that isn't Pappy. Except the Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon. Now HERE is a whiskey that DOES rather taste like Pappy. The only problem is getting your hands on some. Big power, creamy texture from the wheat, and bold spice on the finish. This is something you can hang your hat on if you're tired of the Pappy hunt. If you ask me, the MM cask strength is even better than many of the younger Van Winkle expressions.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ronco Blanchis Pinot Grigio Collio
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  This is what Pinot Grigio is all about. The Collio in northwest part of Italy, they are producing the most distinctive whites. This wine over delivers for the price! This has a great intensity of floral and stone fruit on the nose. Great acidity but with a surprising weight on the palate. Great freshness and tanginess with a very long finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  Before Champagne,there was sparkling wine in Limoux, France. Talk about getting it right! Antech Emotion Rose is the perfect accompaniment to any occasion. Fresh berries and lively bubbles jump out of the glass. Dry and medium bodied on the palate. Lovely red fruit and slight toast leading to a long lasting finish! All this for half the price of Champange. Buy it buy the case.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  I love Rioja! With a vintage like 2005 you can't go wrong. This is very traditional bottle with wonderful earth and spice. The oak is very well integrated, so it is not over powering the plush fruit and spice on the palate. Rounded out by good acidity and super dry finish. Perfect for lamb or the next taco truck you hit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2011 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  Score one for California! This Cabernet was such a wonderful surprise for me. Of course big black but that leads into spice and forest floor. Great acidity and a complexity of tannin that never overpowers the wine. When people talk about cross over wines. This would be a great one if you are a Bordeaux lover.

1964 North British 50 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: Mike Barber | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  This is a very interesting exploration of older whiskey- a journey that often times ends in disappointment. Unlike brandy, whiskey will fall to pieces if left alone in the barrel for too long. It is a rare treat when a whiskey actually survives an aging process as long as this - this bottle is an experience. There are still some sweet notes in the middle, the ghost of a malty presence from many years ago, but the palate is dominated by dense chocolate and a big cedar nose. A long coffee essence is backed by cigar box and roasted nut flavors - this bottle is a rare experience for $250!
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1992 Clynelish K&L Exclusive 21 Year Old Cadenhead Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  A real find for Clynelish fans. There is an inticing noise that is complex with floral hints.In the mouth it has a bees wax fell with lively subtle malt flaovrs.This Clynelish offers so much it is a single malt to savoir and think about.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Blanc
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  This is such a unique wine, with a quirky cepage of grapes, it’s hard to know what to expect. It’s amazing how all of these grapes work together in perfect harmony. I was totally shocked at the how different this wine is from anything else I’ve ever had. It’s full of honeysuckle, lavender and stone fruit but the palate has this zingy, lemony and peach acidity while still having a rich, full body and honeycomb backbone. Drink one now and grab another for the cellar!
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  Full Throttle Napa Cab from the people who bring you Quintessa. Dark fruited with plenty of spicy oak and chocolate notes. Rich and opulent, this with is super enjoyable now but still has places to go.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2000 Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  This bottle was a generous contribution from Sean Fernandez in our old and rare department at our 2000 Bordeaux wine dinner, and was a contender for wine of the night. It is composed of about 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 7% Cabernet Franc and 3% Petite Verdot. The Gruaud was the earthiest, most savory bottle of the whole tasting, and had a little bit of bret that in no way detracted from my appreciation of the wine. It had dark fruit and leather flavors and one of the best supple, medium bodied textures of the whole evening. It was seamless and beautiful wine that drank great now with balance for the ages.
Drink from 2015 to 2050

2000 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  If I had to pick one bottle as the wine of the night from our incredible dinner of 2000 Bordeaux, this would be it. Composed of about 70% Cabernet Sauvignon and 30% Merlot, this Ducru was timeless. It drinks so well right now, but doubtless will make an excellent 50 year old, not because of its size, but because of its exquisite balance. My notebook was full of questions rather than observations on this bottle: How does so much perfectly pure Cabernet cassis flavor and aroma come across so effortlessly? What can I say about this wine? It seemed light and easy to drink, but it was also so long, complex and concentrated. The acid and tannins are in perfect balance with the fruit. I think Cinnamon said it best as we drank it together: this bottle has pedigree.
Drink from 2015 to 2060

2000 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  From our great staff 2000 Bordeaux dinner. A very large scale Margaux composed of about 50% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc and 5% Petite Verdot. This wine had generous aromatics, with everything from dark cassis to green peppers on the nose. In the mouth it was the sweetest of the Medoc wines, and among the sweetest of the whole tasting, with lots of rich fruit, full body and big texture. This also has a big backbone of tannin, and drinks well right now with richer dishes like the short ribs that we had with it.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2000 Certan de May, Pomerol
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  From our 2000 Bordeaux dinner. This wine is composed of about 70% Merlot, 25% Cabernet Franc and 5% Cabernet Sauvignon. It was an exotic, spicy wine that had dark fruit and chocolate both on the nose and in the mouth. While it was big, it didn't come across as heavy, which was a surprise to me. The finish was long and detailed. It is great to taste Pomerol that can be a pleasure as well as impressive!
Drink from 2015 to 2035
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2000 Laville Haut Brion Blanc, Pessac-Leognan
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  This note is from the K&L 2000 retrospective tasting. This soft, round, honeyed wine seemed kissed with botrytis. It had a dark straw color, a plush texture and plenty of length and detail. The wood was well integrated at this point and it did not seem overly heavy. Strangely enough, the scallop that was paired with it lightened the wine considerably. What a treat!
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Banshee Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/26/2015 | Send Email
  I am really impressed by this latest 2013 vintage Chardonnay by Banshee. I feel like it's only improved from last year's 2012 vintage. The 2013 vintage has a lot more oak to it, which gives the wine more richness and texture. The fruit still gives off a Granny Smith apple and citrus nose, acidity, and flavor that gives the wine an almost apple pie crust note to it. If you have had the 2012, try this one! If you've never tried Banshee's Chardonnay, then this is a must try... Another great wine from Banshee that will surely please!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  For years the Marietta Old Vine Red has been one of the most underappreciated values coming out of California. This non-vintage, multi-varietal and multi-appellation blend has flown under the radar of most affordable minded customers, but in our experience, one try and you’re hooked. We’ve sold it religiously over the last 7-8 years and every year I’m astonished with just how true the flavors are, how fresh the fruit is and how balanced the wine comes off overall. This blend, Lot 62, is every bit as good as any of the other blends, maybe a bit more, as a new estate vineyard has come more on board in this bottling, with pretty graphite, briary berry and a clove/nutmeg spice to the nose. Pulpy and sun-fresh, the ripe, but bone-dry, berry flavors on entry are sure to please with a persistent, bright energy and an underlying pastille spice. Plum and violet combine with a rich, coating nature on the finish to round out this tremendous value for well under $15. Simply put, this is one of the truly best wines in a category with more filler than killer.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Another truly stunning Cabernet value from Spain. The Mercedes Cab puts many of its California counterparts to shame in the price to quality that it offers for perhaps the world's most famous grape varietal. This wine offers a very balanced view, with very good varietal correctness, notes of blackberry and red fruits, hints of cedar, and fine tannins to round out the structure. Try a Cab from Spain, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Andrew Murray "Tous les Jours" Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Best Domestic Syrah in this price category by a long shot! Rich and supple, but with a touch of smoked meats and pepper that give it that classic Syrah style. Easy enough to drink on its own or pair with some short ribs!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Drinking beautifully now and is extremely supple with polished tannins and a pure expression of fruit. Lots of violets, purple and blue fruit, with a touch of savory earth and tobacco on the finish. Absolutely perfect with tapas and easy enough to sip on its own. A great Rioja to introduce friends to as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Angeline Pinot Noir
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Best Domestic Pinot Noir around for a ridiculously great price! I even served it at my wedding reception and people absolutely loved it! I didn't have any left, they guzzled it up! Classic Pinot Noir aromas of ripe strawberry and dried cherry lead you to a palate of juicy and bright fruit with quenching acidity, making it the perfect cocktail or food wine! Trust me:)
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  To be Honest, I like this second label Pinot Noir from Banshee wines more than the first! For almost $10 cheaper, you get brilliant fruit from the same exact source! I love the richness on the palate, it's actually a bigger Pinot than the Banshee label, but still has that great acidity to polish it out. Lots of Black and red cherry, blueberry, and red fruits here. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Blanc
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  One of the most unique and intriguing wines I've tasted lately. A unique blend of white varieties that goes farther than your typical southern French blend. All in perfect harmony, creating a complex, rich, and balanced wine with gorgeous texture and supple yet bright finish. White flowers, lavender, honeycomb, stone fruit, citrus, are just the beginning. You'll have to wait and see for yourself for the rest...
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Rouge
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  I'm in love. This lovely Cabernet-based southern French blend has all the richness and weight of a Bordeaux, but without the harsh tannins! Hallelujah! But it's not just fruit, it has a gorgeous, gravely tobacco rusticness that makes its black and purple fruit marry very well together. I will be drinking a lot of this very soon! Think of Bandol without waiting all the time!
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Château la Caminade "Fut de Chene" Cahors
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Malbec from Argentina = cocktail wine, Malbec from Cahors France = food wine! All the dark fruit but with so much more structure. Gorgeously rustic with high acid and integrated tannins that will go oh so well with any red meat you can get your hands on! Delicious.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Looking for a red to drink day or night? With or without food? Not too tannic and not too sweet? Then you've met your match! This is a terrific crowd-pleaser with its ripe, juicy upfront fruit, but balanced with a fair amount of acid and not too much oak! Pizza party, burgers, chicken, it's all good!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 JP & JF Quenard Persan "Les 2 Jean" Vin de Savoie
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Persan is a local grape variety found in the Savoie region of France. It was widely planted until phylloxera devastated the region. As of 2012 only about 22 hectares are still cultivated, but it may be poised for a comeback. The "Les 2 Jean" is full of red fruit, rose petals, leafy tobacco and dried thyme aromas. The palate continues the floral and red fruit flavors with a medium body and good acidity. I kind of equate it to a medium-weight Syrah with Gamay edges. Serve this lovely wine with all great things herb crusted, like lamb, chicken and pork.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine du Gros Noré Bandol
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Bandol is always a little tricky on the nose with its brooding sensibility. Mostly Mourvedre, this is not the normal wild beast we associate with Bandol and its bruiser style. It has aromas of black plum, fig paste and hints of leather. On the palate it is mouth-filling with a core of sweet black fruit. This is dense but not over-extracted and has just the right amount of velvety tannins to make it accessible now, but a few years would only help to show how much more this wine can give.

2013 Charles Trosset Mondeuse "Harmonie" Vin de Savoie-Arbin
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Oh, I love Mondeuse. It is wild, a little funky and just the right amount of weird. It is loaded with red and black fruit but what really jumps out are all the crushed fresh herbs of sage, thyme and rosemary. Along with notes of tobacco and a hint of celery seed, you pretty much have Mondeuse in a nutshell. The palate is medium-full with many of those herby notes but what comes out is the savory aspect of this wine. Serve it with some lamb or maybe pork, grilled to perfection with a lot of pink in the middle.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Cuvée Speciale des Vignettes" Côtes de Provence Rosé
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  The "Cuvée Speciale" is the older vines of the two Clos wines. You can even see it in the color of the wine with its depth and intensity. Make no mistake, this is still a light colored rosé. The "Speciale" has aromas of orange peel, fresh walnuts and a touch of salinity. On the palate there are notes of wet stone and white cherry. The length is long and reminds me of a cru Chablis but more red fruit notes. This is powerful stuff even for rosé. Capable of aging but drinkable now, I always buy six bottles. Four to drink and two to put away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  I make no secret that the Clos Cibonne wines are some of my favorite rosés in the store year after year. That is until the inventory gets low, and I want the rest for just myself. The "Tradition" is always the more accessible of the two when first released. It has notes of orange peel, nectarine and a hint of vanilla. The palate is concentrated but has fine acidity with a finish that lingers with blood orange and dried strawberry. The minerality in these wines is always present and adds a textural element that is pleasing. The Cibonne wines are not your average porch pounders. They are classy elegant rosés for serious back yard grilling. Or not, it's still rosé and still delicious no matter how you drink it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Roasted herb, leather, and iron meet up with salty, balsamic, caraway notions, and light shadings of toasted coconut, on the nose. Somewhat fresher than the nose might lead you to believe, the dusty fruit on the palate is still well seasoned with spice and anise. The tannins are fairly gentle, though sufficient to imagine a future for this wine: whether you hold it will be down to how patient you are! The acidity, while there, never makes its presence obvious. Great Riserva for a great price!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2012 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Maybe I need to taste more Kiwi Pinot Noir; I never would have pegged this as an antipodean wine! There’s a richness, ripeness, and density to this that I’d probably have pegged as Oregonian if I’d been blinded on it. Smoky, dark fruit, parched earth, and woodsy vanilla on the nose leads into a pure, plump medium bodied wine with elegant, silky tannins, and a cocoa-powder dusted finish of good length. There is more power than simple opulence here, so while it is far from being “wound up” or in-accessible now, it would be very interesting to revisit this five to eight years down the road to see how it evolves when it has had a chance to relax. Home run!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2013 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  A super value Chablis that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. The 2013 Chablis is chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Bright cherry-berry fruit, with warm baking spice accents framing it, lead into a medium bodied, juicy mouthful of wine. There is only the faintest whiff of tannin here; the wine derives its freshness and structure courtesy of its vibrant acidity. There aren't many domestic wines that stand up to the best of the competition at this price point from Spain, say, but this is one that really does, and boasts an unmistakably Californian character besides. This slides easily into the roster of top, everyday-red deals!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  In 2008 the Third wine of Chateau Latour is sleek, sophisticated and classy. The high percentage of Merlot makes this a little more approachable than the Second wine Forts Latour, but all the class and breeding you expect is still there. The crunchy cherry fruit and graphite minerality are poised, polished and open up beautifully with decanting.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  I've lost track of the number of times I have taken this bargain bottle to a picnic, BBQ or party and had people gush over how delicious it is. Honestly, I usually grab it because $14.00 for a litre of wine with a screw cap is exactly what I need on my days off-easy and cheap. White pepper, crunchy lentil, snappy apple and green pear fruit and a touch of trapped CO2 make this one perfect party sipper.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Domaine Maestracci "E Prove" Corse Calvi Rouge
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is a fantastic bottle of wine for less than 20 bucks. This is earthy and dark with a sleek structure and polished tannins on the long finish, Along with the black and blue fruit there are some animal notes and a funky and savory dig into the Corsican terroir of ocean spray and mineral. Amazing complexity for the money.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Combier "Purple Label" Crozes-Hermitage
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  This bottle with the bright purple label is a great introduction to the wines of the Northern Rhone. Cracked pepper, smoke, bacon and a cool iron finish show off great wine making5. This is a great value in Syrah.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
 By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  It is almost too easy to overlook this wine when we have the 1999 Gran Reserva on the shelf at the same time. That would be a huge mistake. This wine offer a freshness and power that the other does not have. While the red and dark fruits of the wine are starting to dry, there is still freshness that gives it some pop. It also posses the classic leather and spice of Rioja. Drink it now or hold for a while, this is another great deal from Bodegas Puelles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
 By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Always one of our best deals in bubbles. On the lighter side, with citrus and apple flavors, a touch of yeasty breadiness and clean finish. Something to have in your fridge at all times.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  TWR is one of our favorite producers from New Zealand, and their SB is one of the best that we have in my opinion. They have such a wonderful and delicate hand with their white wines, they practically float across your palate while offering an amazingly complex and delicious wine. Layers of stone fruit, zippy lime pith, a hint of crushed rock intertwine. The finish is tense and clean, leaving notes of green apple and quince.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Olema Sonoma County Pinot Noir
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Olema Pinot has been one of our favorite Pinot for the last few vintages. Containing fruit sourced from both Sonoma Coast and Russian River, this wine is the perfect combination of both regions. Dark and dense fruit from the rugged coast give this wine a back bone of black cherry and wile blackberry, paired perfectly with the seductive and silky texture you find in some of the great Russian River Pinots.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  This Red Blend from Marietta truly over delivers year after year. Pure, fresh, and wild berry fruit with a hint of earth and spice. Rich and juicy, but never sweet, this wine can please a crowd or your pickiest friend! With the quality of fruit going into the blend, it is almost impossible to beat at the under $15 price tag.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Masia Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  I love Rose, and I love it even more if it has bubbles in it and only takes $12.99 out of your pocket. This sparkling Cava has quickly cemented itself as one of our everyday bottle of bubbles in our house. Super dry, with no dosage to hide behind, the palate is crisp and clean, notes of raspberry and dried cranberry. Pure, almost crystalline, delicious wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

2013 Kistler "Sonoma Mountain" Chardonnay
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  What’s in a name, you might ask? The name ‘Kistler’ comes from the ancient Germanic-Swiss guild of Kistermacher, or ’makers of chests’, derived originally from the Latin ‘custos’, guardian or keeper. Of course in the wine world it has come to be known as ‘maker of iconic wines’, and Steve Kistler has, like, a fine cabinet maker, continued to burnish his craft by creating some of the most elegant Chardonnays and Pinots in the New World. Like every great artisan, he sought the finest wood, or in this case, budwood, for his wines, and found it over forty years ago in a low-yielding Chardonnay strain discovered at Mount Eden and originally believed to have come from Corton in 1896. From this single heritage Burgundian clone Kistler has fashioned ten different expressions of Chardonnay, each wine the definition of a specific terroir, and each remarkable. The Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay, planted on an elevated, well-drained site of mostly volcanic soils, showed a prismatic quality to the fruit, as if every nuance reflected another in a dancing kaleidoscope of citrus, apple, stone fruit, chalk, ginger and almond flavors, all harmoniously held together by superb, crisp acidity and a breathtakingly long finish. A truly prodigious feat of winemaking!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lewis Cellars "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 2/25/2015 | Send Email
  Nearly black in color, this concentrated Cabernet is loaded with dark black cherry fruit, licorice, and graphite, with hints of smoke and mocha flavors that linger on the finish. Despite this wine’s size and depth; it is remarkably round, supple and fresh. Tannins are big but ripe and integrated. Patience will be rewarded for those who can put this bottle away for 5-10 years but I doubt many bottles will make it that long, as this wine shows so well even at this young age. One of the best 2012 Cabernets we have had in the store so far!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Felton Road Chardonnay Bannockburn
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of NZ's best Chardonnay producers. Felton's "Bannockburn" Chardonnay is from their vineyards dotted around the small village of Bannockburn at the southern end of the Cromwell Basin in Central Otago. The village has a perfect north facing aspect and a mixture of schist and heavier clay and silt soils. Much of this wine comes from the Elms Vineyard...home to the famous "Block 2" Chardonnay and in many ways this wine shares a lot of the same characteristics. Crunchy orchard fruit, spiced pear, mineral, a touch of flint or struck match...and just a lick of citrus acidity to make the mouth water. This bottling is not as keenly focused at the Block 2, but that actually makes it more expressive in its youth and perhaps even more enjoyable upon release than its prestigious stablemate. If you haven't explored NZ Chardonnay...this would be a very good place to start!
Top Value!

2005 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/24/2015 | Send Email
  This is one serious Champagne. Vintage "Special Club" of this caliber for only $60? Absolutely amazing! In complete opposition to the 2004, the 2005 Launois "Special Club" is a full-bodied, voluptuous cuvee packed to the brim with ripe apples, toasted vanilla and melted buttered on brioche. Drink this beauty now!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/24/2015 | Send Email
  Our allocation of Cristal Rose is so tiny that we can never guarantee a consistency of supply. It is so well guarded by the house of Roederer that I have only tasted one vintage of this in my 15 years of Champagne buying for K&L. Nearly the entire production goes to the best restaurants in the world, and we feel lucky to have some to offer.
Price: $499.00 Add To Cart WS 95 BC 0

2012 Joseph Faiveley Bouzeron Aligoté
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 2/24/2015 | Send Email
  Bouzeron is a special place. Thanks to Aubert de Villaine, proprietor of the world famous Domaine de la Romanee Conti, it is an all-Aligote appellation. These vines are leased by Faiveley from de Villaine, and produce a wine that is bright and crisp, with a fascinating nuttiness. Delightful!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 4  5  6   next  >>