Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>
2013 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 4/1/2014 | Send Email
  Steely, refreshing, concentrated, with an emphasis on sun ripened apricots.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvee 1809" Brut Champagne
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 4/1/2014 | Send Email
  Every time I taste this champagne I am blown away. This is so incredible and so unique. Aged in used Burgundy barrels, the makeup is similar to Krug and Tarlant at 80% Chardonnay and 20% Pinot Noir, but the results are purely Amaury Coutelas.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Poppy Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 4/1/2014 | Send Email
  A very well made California Chardonnay at an exceptional price. Butter and oak balanced with lively tropical fruits.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 4/1/2014 | Send Email
  Originally tasted July 2012, the 1995 d'Yquem is straight sex. Concentrated, honeyed, aromas of frangipane and poached quince. This will live on for decades if you can be prevented from drinking it now.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rieflé "Bonnheur Fertif" Cremant de Alsace
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 4/1/2014 | Send Email
  Balanced , with baking spices, and great texture. The Auxerrois grape of Alsace (also known as Luxembourg in Germany) is a close relative of Chardonnay and often blended with Pinot Blanc to make Cremants in Alsace.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rusty Blade K&L Exclusive "Cask A" Single Barrel Cask Strength Barrel-Aged Gin 750ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 4/1/2014 | Send Email
  As far as I know, Blade was the first to start making barrel aged gin in the craft cocktail movement. Similar to previous iterations, this batch his exploding with Christmas spices. Really fantastic and dynamic. This should be a blast to play with in cocktails, perhaps paired with fresh apple cider?
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2010 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 3/31/2014 | Send Email
  Freemark Abbey hits its mark! Dusty cassis, graphite, balsam-cedar notes on the nose lead to a palate that shows moderately sweet, plummy fruit, before veering in a more dry, woodsy-spicy direction. The wine makes a solid impact in a more restrained California style. The tannins rally a bit on the finish, enough to give the wine shape, but without taking over the show.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 MacRostie Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 3/31/2014 | Send Email
  The 2012 Macrostie Sonoma Coast Chardonnay marries vibrant citrus flavors of lime and tangerine to a thick, silky texture, understated butter-cream notes, and a honeyed dimension. This is an easy to like, up front, domestic Chardonnay, which, while not holding anything back, doesn’t slather itself on, either. Should win loads of friends, especially as it does all this, and yet still comes in under the twenty dollar mark.

2012 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Evergreen Columbia Valley Riesling
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/31/2014 | Send Email
  The best vintage I can remember of this wine. I bought 2 bottles for Thanksgiving because I KNEW it would go with everything on the table, and the leftovers, and the MIL. A great wine to buy by the case and have on hand.~I followed my own advice and bought a case. So far the most winningest pairing was thinly sliced roasted beets, with sliced avocados, cilantro, and spicy, tangy, salty, yuzukoshu. So incredibly good!

2004 Moet & Chandon "Dom Pérignon" Brut Champagne
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/31/2014 | Send Email
  Such a huge bounce back from the awkward 2003 vintage. Pear orchard, with white flowers, and hints of toasted almonds. We enjoyed this in the sun with a plate of salty prosciutto, sliced apples, and local cheese. My only complaint was that we didn't have another bottle!

2010 Königschaffhausen Steingrüble Spätburgunder Trocken
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/31/2014 | Send Email
  A product of the sun drenched, volcanic soil vineyards of Baden, this is one of the richest, and most lush Spatburgunders that I have ever experienced. The grapes are hand picked from a single vineyard where the vines are at least thirty years old, are then macerated on their skins for two weeks before spending eleven months in a large neutral oak barrel. I happily enjoyed this with Dijon and herbed panko crusted rack of lamb with an enriched red wine and rosemary demi glace.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Chardonnay
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/31/2014 | Send Email
  A great price and easy to drink and enjoy. The Spellbound Chardonnay is juicy with a little hint of oak and butter that does not dominate the wine. It is clean and refreshing and should go well alone or with fish or chicken.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 True Myth Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 3/30/2014 | Send Email
  Let’s begin at the finish this time, because that’s my favorite part of this wine. What this has over a lot of other California Chardonnays, of this (or any) price range, is enviably clean, crisp fruit. If you don’t like them too tropical, or highly oaked, then this one is for you. While the wine does see some new cooperage, it is far from its dominant feature, only imparting a little vanilla to the medium bodied, candied citrus flavors. This squeezes a number of virtues into a value priced, domestic Chardonnay bottle: nicely done.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2008 Bodegas Muriel Reserva Rioja
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 3/30/2014 | Send Email
  Ever so often I come across a wine that's text book classic of where it comes from. And in the case of the Muriel, it is not only classic but also a pleasure to be had. Beautiful coffee notes, along with plums, nuts, and coconut, perhaps due to slight oxidation and maturity in barrels. Complex and yet affordable, this will pair easily with say, a pork roast, Greek food especially moussaka, and of course... Lamb!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart DC 95 BC 0

2012 True Myth Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/30/2014 | Send Email
  The label on this Edna Valley Chardonnay depicts a gossamer-clad maiden with arms that twist into tree limbs, releasing a spectrum of colorful butterflies instead of leaves. OK, I thought, just open the wine and give it a swirl, hoping no bewinged painted ladies, blues or swallowtails fly up from the glass. Instead, the wine delivers a cascade of lilting flowers and citrus aromas, hints of lime, white pear, cut pineapple and a kiss of vanilla on the supple, expansive palate. And to be honest, when I first saw the name "True Myth" on this wine I thought, hm, oxymoron... a myth or a fact, but not both. Now I'm a believer, and for the incredible price of $12.99, you will be too!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Poet's Leap (Long Shadows Vintners) Columbia Valley Riesling
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/29/2014 | Send Email
  Off-dry, bright, clean, and mouthwatering acidity. Delicious with Thai food.

2012 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/29/2014 | Send Email
  The ultimate Wednesday night pizza/pasta wine? Perhaps. Affordable? Direct import pricing at $12.99. Check. Food friendly? Bright and lively with a moderate 13% alcohol. Check. Tasty and delicious? This blend of mostly Sangiovese with a little Merlot and a dollop of Ciliegiolo explodes from the glass with ripe, fresh raspberry notes and finishes smoothly with soft tannins. Check and check. Pick up a few bottles to have on hand for those nights when "preparing dinner" means a phone call to your favorite local pizzeria. You can enjoy a glass while you wait.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Truchard Carneros Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/29/2014 | Send Email
  One of the most successful wines from the difficult 2011 vintage I have yet tasted. Very pretty with bright cranberry and rhubarb notes. Very well done.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/29/2014 | Send Email
  Kudos to the buyer of our Spanish wines, Joe Manekin, for launching a direct import program. So far his hard work has yielded a great lineup of delicious, affordable wines. The 2012 Carlos Diaz "Estrela" Ribeira Sacra is one of the latest. Mostly Mencia, unoaked, and just amazingly good for under $20. A little earthy, a little floral, a little spicy. Bright and lively with good grip. What a find!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/29/2014 | Send Email
  As a fan of Puligny Montrachet, I always look forward to the arrival of the Paul Pernot wines. Made entirely of declassified Puligny fruit, the Bourgogne blanc at $21.99 is consistently one of the best Chardonnay values in the store. This 2012 vintage is similar in style to the 2011 - forward and approachable but with more richness and weight. Classic Puligny with superb minerality and fresh citrus notes. My new house white.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Dragonette Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/28/2014 | Send Email
  Bright, California style Pinot. On the richer side, but great spice that comes through. A very well made wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Torbreck "Juveniles" Grenache-Shiraz-Mourvedre Barossa Valley South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/28/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I am normally a fan of this release from Torbreck, In fact I often like it over some of their much more expensive bottlings that can be a bit excessively brawny for my tastes. However this 2011 release is something really special. The vintage was exceptionally cold in Barossa and due to this the wine has a very elegant structure and more restraint than one might expect from these varietals and region. The wine is aromatic with floral spice notes and a touch of cracked peppercorns. On the palate the wine is decidedly medium bodied with incredibly silky soft tannins and supple mouth feel. It is vibrant and soft with balanced, gentle acidity and plenty of length on the palate despite the wines elegant form. A lovely reflection of what can result from a tricky cool vintage.
Top Value!

2005 Poggio il Castellare Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/27/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I was really impressed and truthfully surprised at how well this wine has developed. Layers of complex aromas couched in a supple and rich fruit center. Great balance and length and a surprisingly (once again) finish. I really enjoyed this wine and it is drinking now through the next 6-8 years. Try it with your favorite pork roast! Nothing like Sangiovese and Pork…
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2011 Lustig Grüner Veltliner (1L)
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 3/27/2014 | Send Email
  Apple, citrus, pear and zippy acidity make this liter of Gruner a no-brainer for parties! At this price, how could you not buy this by the case?!?
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Malmaison, Moulis-en-Médoc
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This 24 acres property was one of the oldest winery in Medoc (dated back to the middle age). They were restored by the famous Ch. Lafite Rothschild. They now produces some of the finest value Bordeaux blend, very limited amount is ever imported to the U.S. The 2009 is their best showing by far. Malmaison uses a higher percentage of Merlot in their blend so the wine is much more approachable and be enjoy at a younger age. This is one of the best value for 2009 Bordeaux and we don't have much more in stock. I recommend trying a bottle now!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Ancient Peak is truly an amazing property full of history. Total of 17,000 acres but only 850 planted under vine, there are so many micro-climates, aspect and soil type it will blow you away. their wines comes at great value for the depth and complexity it offer! The 2011 Cabernet is a solid value Cab! Classic green olive tone, red current, spicy nutmeg and cinnamon on the palate with meaty, tobacco flavors. Great value delicious cabernet!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lustig Grüner Veltliner (1L)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Asparagus is in the farmers markets which means it's Gruner season! What could be better than a bottle of this at lunch with a chilled asparagus salad and a bit of fresh cheese?
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Beaulieu Comtes de Tastes, Bordeaux Supérieur
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Warm, soft sweet fruit, balanced, and drinking very well now. A great wine to have on hand.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $9.99
WS 88-  91 WE 89 BC 0

2010 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  You are tasting promise and potential when you taste this wine now. Still very tight, blackberries, pencil lead, river rocks, bittersweet chocolate truffle, and well integrated acid will be extraordinary in another 10-50 years.

2011 Lustig Grüner Veltliner (1L)
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Clean, yellow fruit takes center stage, with a dry spice accent adding a little intrigue. While the overall impression is refreshing, there is some weight to the mid-palate and finish. I can’t think of too many wines that we have right now that can go toe-to-toe with this one for a good, super-value, everyday white wine, nor any, at all, that sport a man cavorting in lederhosen on the label.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 True Myth Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  A California chardonnay with a generous amount of citrus fruit, a hint of cedar and vanilla along with great acidity. A balanced and dry wine with an all around, easy to drink style. 65 % oak barrels in which 38 % are new wood. 10 % Malolactic fermentation. Lees stirring for 3 months. All of this for only $ 12.99. I think every chardonnay fan will be impressed. This is no joke. Made by the folks at Niven Family Wines, who planted many of the vineyards in Edna Valley in the 1970's.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2011 Rouget, Pomerol
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Ripe and bold fruit, framboise mingled with sandalwood.

2011 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Zinfandel
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Ancient Peak is truly an amazing property full of history. Total of 17,000 acres but only 850 planted under vine, there are so many micro-climates, aspect and soil type it will blow you away. their wines comes at great value for the depth and complexity it offer! The 2011 Zinfandel offers sweet and juicy red fruits such as cherry, raspberry and strawberry. Those fruit characteristics are just perfectly ripe for my palate. After the fruits subsides a hint of peppery and spicy notes lingers behind. Great little Zinfandel!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Merlot
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Ancient Peak is truly an amazing property full of history. Total of 17,000 acres but only 850 planted under vine, there are so many micro-climates, aspect and soil type it will blow you away. their wines comes at great value for the depth and complexity it offer! The 2011 Merlot shows dusty minerality,black cherry , cassis with classic merlot markers of bay leaf, tobacco and bittersweet chocolate. Very silky on the palate and finish with just a hint of nutmeg spice! Merlot is making a come back with this one!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Vina Robles "Red 4" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Vina Robles is located at the eastern boundary of the city of Paso Robles, planting started in 1999 with total of 19 varieties. Their 2011 Red 4 (Red to the power of 4) stands for the 4 grapes in the blend (35% Syrah, 25% Petite Sirah, 25% Mourvedre and 15% Grenache) and aged 16 months in 30% new French and American oak. The wine show case warm and baked raspberries and cranberries; with secondary earthy notes of smoke and leaves. Ripe and full bodied mouth also lively and easy drinking, easily one of the best value red in our store!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Mauvesin-Barton, Moulis
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  This is my first experience with this bottling from the Barton's. An incredible price for such a lovely wine. Rich and lively fruit, spicy, and herbaceous.

2011 Domaine Les Bruyères "Georges Reynaud" Crozes-Hermitage
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Rich, dynamic, juicy fruit with a savory, spicy, smokey quality.

2012 Talley Estate Arroyo Grande Pinot Noir
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  The 2012 Talley Estate Pinot Noir is sourced from their Rincon Vineyard (planted back in 1984, producing more reserved and Burgundian style fruit) and their Rosemary Vineyard (usually produce more lush and full bodied style Pinot Noir). Ripe black cherry notes, dark tea leaves, and soft baking spices. Full fruit flavors finish with some stemmy notes. Age worthy and delicious!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

2012 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Pinot Noir
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Bishop's Peak is Talley Estate's second label. The 2012 Pinot Noir is a great wine with many old world "Burgundy" flare; Earthy, pretty red rose, just ripe cherry with some savory notes on the palate. A great value pinot for under $20!!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2012 Talley Estate Arroyo Grande Chardonnay
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Talley Estate has always over deliver on quality of wines. Their 2012 Estate chardonnay is 70% from their Rincon vineyard planted back in 1984. Expressive lemon, honey, just ripe apple follow by little bit of vanilla and crushed nuts. It's extremely well put together; you can feel the body and intensity, layers of complexity and long finish, but overall very balanced and makes you want to take another sip!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  I love Au Bon Climat wines! For me they are the perfect bridge between a new world and old world style winery. Their 2012 Chardonnay was just pretty, juicy apple, ripe lemon up front with hints of Burgundy minerality (some chalk, hazelnut notes). My favorite about their wines is always the palate texture, it goes down silky smooth, crisp, elegant, not flabby or heavy at all! Definitely worth a try!!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Pinot Gris/Pinot Blanc
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  I had the pleasure to visit this winery as they celebrate their 31st anniversary! These people really know what they are doing! This 75% Pinot Gris 25% Pinot Blanc blend kick start the tasting for us that day. Crisp, clean, very elegant with fresh white peach notes, layered with honey and waxy notes. On the palate it shows great balance of fruit and acidity, a perfect white wine to start a meal with!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Bodega Eguren Tempranillo Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This is a super value red wine. Medium-deep ruby in color, the wine offers a lovely perfume of bright rose petals, black cherry and cranberry fruit qualities with undertones of anise spiciness and a wet river stone minerality. This carries over nicely to a bright, flashy, brilliant flavor presentation with integrated tannins and a refreshing, clean, mouthwatering finish. This will be one of our house reds for the next several months - I will be bringing this home by the case. Lots of cases! Enjoy! 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

St. George NOLA Coffee Liqueur 750ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  You know when you taste something, and you just get it? It happens time and time again with these guys. Take-your-breath-away essence of a time or place, in a bottle. All of the magic, and lore, and craft, and beauty, (no pun intended) distilled. This is so pretty, so pure, so nuanced. Not cloying, not over the top, and just a whisper on the finish. You are transported to New Orleans in this glass. This is going to be incredible in cocktails, but so wonderful on its own as an after dinner drink or paired with chocolate or cookies. It's an honor for K&L to know and work with these guys, and experience their mastery in every incarnation.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Americo Nunes Seabra "Americo" Dão
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/26/2014 | Send Email
  Have you had Portuguese wine recently? Though it shares the Iberian peninsula with Spain, whose wines we feature regularly, somehow Portugal unfairly does not garner as much press or respect. We want to change that. Here we have a delicious, balanced (13% ABV) and notable value from the Dao, across the mountains from the Douro and port country. Not only is it a great under $10 value, there is nothing from Spain (or elsewhere) that is at all similar to this unique red.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2012 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhone Blend
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
  "This is killer." That is what I wrote as my final tasting note for this wine when I first tasted it back in late February. And after tasting it again with the staff recently I think I nailed it on the head. A blend of Carignane, Grenache, Syrah and Mourvedre from some of the truly "heritage" sites from around California, this is a stunning Rhone blend that will easily rival the best from Gigondas or the New World. With its boisterous, expansive nose of fried sage, black pepper, roast pork and crushed lavender, I can't help but think that this is what all the "modern" producers in the Southern Rhone are shooting for but rarely achieve. Fully black fruited and full of juicy richness this is a treat to drink with its unabashed ripeness and the complex spice coming from fermenting 100% of this wine by whole cluster. No new oak was used in making this wine and I don’t think it needs it; the raw materials are already intriguing and charming enough on their own. I just can’t see any Rhone blend fans not loving this!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

Henri Giraud Fût de Chêne Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Henri Giraud is the only producer in Champagne to use the oak of the Argonne forest for fermenting and aging his wines. This is evident in this gorgeous release of the Fut de Chene, which offers richness, nuttiness, and extreme complexity. The Argonne oak adds to this complexity and it never overwhelms. It is a component that adds depth and richness. Initially full on the forefront and the mid-palate, the almond, apple, brioche and apricot flavors finish with surprising acidity, minerality, salinity and notes of honey. This champagne is perfectly suited to main courses of white and (light) red meats or game bird. Those of you who are Champagne collectors (and lovers) should really consider this beautiful bubbly and step outside of the box! This producer has a very small production of 25,000 bottles, for ALL of their selections, so this bottling is sure to sell quickly. Don't wait!
Drink from 2014 to 2029

2008 Fanti Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  The 2008 vintage was rated 4* out of 5* by the Consorzio of Brunello di Montalcino, some critics thought a little high but the wines in general are pretty solid. However, a little bad press for the region about not being a stupendous vintage--especially after the spectacular 2006 and 2007 vintages--can really slow the wines down. The 2009 vintage is on its way, and when we were offered the end of this vintage at this ridiculously low price it was a no-brainer. The wine has a very complex blend of fruit and earth with excellent balance really making a Sangiovese statement. Wood aging was in a mixture of barrique and larger barrels for 24 months. I'm generally not much of a fan of barrique aging, but this combination, and especially for this year, really delivers a supple and quasi-neutral wood signature. Superb drinking now or for another 6-7 years.
Drink from 2014 to 2021

2010 Fanti Sant'Antimo Sassomagno
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  OK, maybe you think 4* for a $9 wine is too much, but I ranked it this high because it is such an extraordinary deal! First off, 2010 in Montalcino is a truly sensational vintage and yes, this wine comes from Montalcino but because of its grape blend of Sangiovese, Merlot, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon it can't take one of the "Montalcino" DOCs. It does, however, have incredible aromatics--bold dark fruit flavors that tantalize your palate as its supple yet very structured core opens across your palate. This spectacular red wine really shows excellent balance and a depth of flavors that is amazing at this price. OK, how can they do that? Because this wine isn't normally at this price; it was the last of the vintage in the California warehouse of a New York importer who decided it would be better if they could move on to the next vintage and move this wine all at once. We swooped in at the opportunity and took all that was left. You should hurry because this wine won't last long!
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2005 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 3/25/2014 | Send Email
  Intense coconut, with pineapple and banana. So incredible, and fairly unique for a d'Yquem. Serve with coconut dusted deep fried foie gras lollipops.

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>