Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
2013 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Pinot Noir Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  This is probably one of my favorite value wines. As New Zealand pinots gain the recognition they deserve, the prices have begun to reflect the wines, but Henri Bourgeois's Petit Clos pinot from Marlborough is an exception. Here we have a lovely wine with characteristic bright cherry and strawberry notes, a generous, soft body, and great balance. Yet somehow it's still only 15.99!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  Yet another tasty, crisply red fruited Malbec from Elsa Bianchi. One of our most popular Malbecs, year in, year out.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  Pour me a glass of Launois Champagne any day, and I'll be happy. The 2006 Special Club is a richer, fuller style with plenty for all to enjoy. Save this one for a special occasion.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  This is a very quaffable red, as usual per this cooperative in the Cariñena D.O., locate in Aragon, the heart and Spain's extensive plantings of Garnacha. Red fruit flavors abound, and at 12.5% ABV this is fresh and easy to drink.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Del Professore Vermouth 750ml
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  Looking for a great Spring Time Apertif? This is semi off-dry Italian White Vermouth is soo delicous and refreshing! Its a great option for someone who wants something a little different than there typical Litllet Blanc or similar. I love it over the rocks with a twist of lemon or other citrus! I will be enjoying this all summer!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Château les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clémentine" Côtes de Provence Rosé
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  One of my favorite Rosé, year in and year out! When people ask me for Provence Rosé it does not get much better than this. All organic methods of farming in this beautiful little part of Cotes de Provence. When people ask for that light salmon color this wine has that. Delicate with a fresh acidity for a truly magically experience. Got that too. As we used to say back home. This is a true porch sipper!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  There is something to be said about less thinking more drinking. Opinions and scores be damned! This my friends is just a fantastic glass of wine! Aromatics on this wine are stunning. Picking up just a hint of vanilla. Then comes the dark cherry and violets. Luscious fruit and a rich refined spice pop in your mouth. What a treat to drink. Food or not this wine does not disappoint. This is one wine that is not easy to share. So choice your friends wisely.

2011 Ornellaia "Le Serre Nuove"
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  This is the second label for Ornellaia. Younger vines go into the wine. Pour it in the glass and you can see you are in for a wonderful experience. Deep, dark ruby red greets the eyes. Burst of berry fruits and crushed floral on the nose. This is a full body wine. Great weight on the mid palate. The tannins and acidity are all there for a seamless finish. Great with grilled meat or a heavier cheese. Elegance and power have never paired so well!

Venus "El Ladron" Blue Agave Spirit 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Pure Agave encapsulated in a spirit. Fresh, spicy, peppery, Aloe juice, yellow florals. Incredible soft, viscous texture, supple and pure. I get salinity again here...I have found this a few Venus Distilling products...perhaps it relates to the address just a few hundred years from Santa Cruz's rugged coast? Great stuff!
Top Value!
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Batch #1 Gin 750ml
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Best Gin I have tasted in a long while. Incredible floral nose, white blossom, freshly grated ginger, cardamon, hard spice, clove, meadow flowers and salty air. There is also subtle, savory, grassy, even earthy note that distiller Sean Venus attributed to the Angelica root. I found it very fresh, balanced and complex. Every sniff / sip found another botanical singing its own tune in perfect harmony with the rest.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
  This K&L exclusive bottling comes from Tobermory’s unpeated stocks but still shows earthy and savory characteristics. A nose of toffee, salt and nuts combine with a palate of malt, sea salt and herbs makes for one of my favorite whiskies of the year!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Kalex Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Really interesting wine. This is carefully and very deliberately made to be a true "Central Otago" Pinot. By this is mean winemaker Theo Coles selects fruit from top vineyard sites in various sub-regions of Central Otago (combining warm areas / cool areas, schist soil, clay soil, glacial deposits and different aspects). Therefore what you get here is not a snapshot of one site or a particular sites specific terroir, but rather a broader more inclusive flavor composition of the region as a whole. The hope is that the whole expression will be greater than the sum of it's parts, and I think Theo has done a great job synthesizing these elements together. The wine is very powerful and masculine in structure (60% whole cluster) with dark spicy berry fruits, plum, briary notes, clove and struck stone. The wine has considerable extract but is not sweet or too viscous, just powerful and brooding. With air the wine gains some nice floral high notes which help give lift and hint at the wines potential a few years along. This is very serious, ambitious and dense Cental Otago Pinot that is worth checking out.
Drink from 2016 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Pinot Noir Marlborough New Zealand
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I'll keep this very simple. This is one of the (if not THE) best value Pinot in the store. Pinot Noir is notoriously hard to grow and make, thus many inexpensive / mass produced versions are very lacking in depth, complexity and balance. This wine is not. It smells and tastes like classic Pinot of a much higher price point. It grown on a small, organic, family owned estate. Hand-crafted in small open fermenters and matured in quality French oak. In addition, 2013 was an exceptional vintage in New Zealand elevating the quality even further than in previous renditions. If you are a Pinot fanatic searching for a great everyday bottle that delivers without breaking the bank you can't miss this!
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2018
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2013 Domaine du Tariquet "Classic" Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 3/27/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Distinctive aromas of lime-zest and dandelion greens, which carry over in the mouth to a really crisp, clean, mouthwatering set of flavors. From Southwestern French regional, this Gem is comprised of Ugni Blanc [hey, Wente Brothers use to call this varietal Grey Riesling back when I first started in this business many, many, many years ago and they even allocated it], Colombard, Sauvignon Blanc, and Cros Manseng [native grape to that area] and provides a wonderful bright, flashy finish with a slate-like mineral note. This Gem is a go-to wine when you want to serve shellfish or lighter seafood dishes. The Bean has informed me that I need to bring home this delicious wine in case lots. Don’t miss it! ....... 10.5% ABV
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 La Cabotte "Colline" Côtes du Rhône
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/26/2015 | Send Email
  The 2013 "Colline" Cotes Du Rhone is a great effort to produce great quality table wine while offering it at a more than fair price. This biodynamic wine has a dark crimson/purple hue with dark cherries and spice on the nose following through with great length and grip on the palate. With rich, ripe fruit and smooth medium tannins, pick up a few of these gems for everyday enjoyment with friends and family. 14% ABV.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Couly-Dutheil "Clos de l'Echo" Chinon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 3/26/2015 | Send Email
  2002 is still very young for this producer but this bottling is showing great potential! The nose provides notes of tomato leaf, crushed herbs and leather while the palate expresses cherry, cassis, earth, tobacco and raw mushroom. With so much structure, this bottle is sure to age well for another 10-15 years, easily.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1989 Couly-Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 3/26/2015 | Send Email
  An old bottle of Couly Dutheil Chinon always holds up so well, and the price is always such a steal. The 1989 shows pretty notes of crushed flowers, leather, dry earth and meat. The palate brings tertiary flavors of sweet mushrooms, iron and salted meats. There’s still sweet cherry and cranberry notes, and the dusty tannins and acidity are still prevalent, this wine is sure to have another 5 years in it at least, just look at how well the 1976 is doing!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 3/26/2015 | Send Email
  Wow!! At 39 years old this Chinon is more beautiful than ever. We had this bottle open for 3 days and it only got better. The wine is all umami while still having a backbone of fruit. On the nose notes of dill, iron and tomato show through while on the palate there’s soy, mushrooms, organic earth, meat, and soft cherry tannins. It’s somehow so elegant while showing so much flavor. Just stunning!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Craigellachie 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This massive cask is definitely one of my favorites from this year. Craigellachie is a wonderful and under-appreciated distillery that's only now getting recognition as a true Scottish Blue Chip. Its OB 17-year offering has recently won Speyside whisky of the year and this 18-year-old first-fill sherry version is another example of why the distillery is so well regarded by those in the know. Here we have some really classic sherry aromas, some fudge, wisps of gun smoke, dark dried plummy fruit. The palate dries up nicely (this is definitely Oloroso, not PX), but still brings out some Christmas cake and other dense fruity/spicy aromas. A real winner and an absolute steal considering where other malts in first-fill sherry are fetching these days.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Wildly light in color for the age, but it makes up for it by being so soft and easy. Notes of fondant, vanilla, wild fruit and some pomace fruit continue from the nose to the palate where the malt factor turns up a few notches. Ultra clean, fun and not hard to appreciate. It's nice to have a single barrel cask strength option that you can pour for anyone without worrying that you'll scare them off.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Smoky & Peaty Tobermory (Ledaig) 8 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is one of the better Ledaigs we've tasted. Considering this is the same price as the 46% standard bottling I think it's a steal. Last year we destroyed it with a nice 7-year-old "smoky island" whisky from this same distillery. Here we have a whisky that's listed as an 8-year but is actually closer to 10 years (distilled 2004 - bottled 2014). It's a slightly cleaner version of this special malt than last year's offering from Exclusive Malts. It's old, better, and the EXACT same price. NO BRAINER! Stock up before the geeks realize what they're missing and it's gone forever.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  A test... see if you can spot this one on our domestic shelves. I'll give you a few hints: Red vines, classic nail polish, fire extinguishers. Big Juicy Glorious, Five-Alarm Red. OK, try not to be put off by label shock, for this one definitely has the juju within, and whoever the heck this Simone is, she must be quite the ravishing head-turner. A gorgeous blend of opulent, spicy, peppery Zinfandel and dark, fathomless Petite Sirah, this astonishing wine possesses enough weight, mouthfeel and serious Zin flavor to seduce any dish bold enough to flirt with it. Enchiladas dancing in a rich mole sauce maybe?
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  I'm totally in love with Bowmore, as I regularly mention, and some might argue that we focus too much on this special distillery. The truth is when we find casks from Bowmore, which is rare, they're generally so good, that it's nearly impossible to say no. Recently, prices have been increasing and I'm fearing the young affordable Bowmore of years past might be increasingly difficult to find in the current market. Therefore, we will continue to buy every great Bowmore we can find. This is the second 12 year old Bowmore in stock and a wonderful educational contrast to the style of the Signatory. Coming out of a traditional refill hogshead, we get a very old school style peater. Dark smoke, with hints of motor oil and old wooden rafters. In the back a subtle dark cocoa peaks through. The palate is full force on that slightly earthy veggie peat. All this is wrapped around some salted pickled fruit and the mid-palate really turns up that wonderful balancing sweetness. In the back the salt and brine kick up a bit. The stuff of legend I tell you.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1993 Macallan 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Don't knock it til you try it. Some people looked at this and said, "Oh wow, expensive!" Well not really considering the distillery bottling is $350, but that's besides the point because we bought this cask for its flavor not its pedigree. A phenomenal cask--albeit not in the typical distillery--there is nonetheless something that feels distinctly Macallan about this whisky. Massive nose of aged tobacco, exotic wood and special lacquer. The palate brings out more classic Macallan fruit (a surprise) with hints of white pepper and wild honey. A stupendous bottling that will turn heads equally for its fine provenance as well as its wonderful character.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Tamdhu 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Tamdhu is one of the unsung heros of Speyside. The distillery, which until recently was scheduled to be demolished, has seen somewhat of a resurgence with the new ownership offering a new, attractively packaged 10-year-old. This splendid cask is just a fruit monster! Like you've blended and reduced a ton of fresh orchard fruit. On the palate, the malt comes roaring back with some balancing pepper, clove and other baking spices, along with a dollop of fresh vanilla extract. Fun, but easy to appreciate. From all the feedback so far this one has been a real hit with bourbon lovers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Laphroaig 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  We all know Laphroaig is a love or hate proposition and this, my friends, is proper Laphroaig. Aged in a hogshead for 16 years, the nose starts exactly where you'd hope -PEAT! The massive smoke is not one dimensional however, moving from sooty embers to oceany briny and back again. One the palate, the sweet malt balances the intense peat nicely with the slightly lower ABV making it shockingly easy to consume. This reminds me of somewhere between the old 15 year and the current 10 year cask strength. A stupendous offering that we're absolutely lucky to have.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  BOOOOOOOOOM! This is definitely my favorite Tobermory to date. This fun and funky little distillery from the gorgeous Isle of Mull, is considered very high quality. That said, the distillery offering, their 15-year-old, sells at close to $140. This is several years older and from one single cask, but also has even more character than the standard offering. Perhaps it's the fact the half the time the little distillery on Mull is devoted to creating peated whisky, but this definitely has a phenolic background note which makes it very intriguing at first glance. While the distillery is officially in the highlands, this bottling is the epitome of an "Island" whisky. It has a certain sense of place that is just unexplainable. Fruit, salt, malt, and the tiniest hint of smoke - pure joy! The finish has this fabulous earthy gravel note that slowly merges into a dark fudge quality. Probably the most unexpected of this years offerings and the obvious contender for sleeper hit of the year.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Girvan 24 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is single grain and from the same distillery that recently released a 25-year-old version at nearly five times the price. This is ULTRA easygoing whisky. Not for your big peat heads, this is the stuff you give to the guy that loves high-end blends or just easy drinking. Maybe not the most complex whisky on offer this year, but certainly one of the easiest we have right now. The nose is low aroma, with subtle yellow fruit aromas. Hints of vanilla and fresh cut wood continue on to the palate where the sweet grain takes over. Won't scratch the itch for some of the malt guys, but will make all the normal drinkers in the world VERY happy.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1964 North British 50 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Just think about what 50 years in a barrel does to a whisky. This was luckily coming from a large hogshead considering we got nearly 120 bottles out of the cask. With the amount of expected evaporation that means that possibly as much as 80% of this whisky evaporated over the course of its five decades of maturation. The resulting whisky is surprisingly light on its feet without a bitterness or a sense of being "too old." The nose is one of the closest to bourbon I've seen in Scotch. It reminds me of an old school wheater of the highest order. The exotic wood, deep vanilla, and melted brown sugar don't translate over to the palate, which is oily and surprisingly lifted. The creamy texture is what really takes over on the palate, framed by subtle sweet grain and a dark caramel note on the finish. More stupendously drinkable whisky that despite the high price remains an incredible value by any measure.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  We all know the Dr. Bill can do no wrong and this fabulous new offering from Glenmo's Private Edition line is no exception. I love it when instead of getting super experimental (think Ardbeg Space Whisky) the guys at Glenmo kind of go back the other way. Producing whisky by hand from heirloom varieties of barley is not a first for the modern whisky industry, but Dr. Bill has done it in such a thoughtful and delicious way, you're almost glad he didn't do it first. We absolutely loved the Bere Barley from Bruichladdich a couple of years ago and this takes the idea of barley varietals one step further by including an in house malting scheme. The result is something utterly unique and perhaps wildly authentic. This feels like old school whisky (although retaining Glenmo's classic elegance) and has a depth and soul hard to come by in modern releases. The high protein variety of barley producers far less alcohol (less starch), but much more character than the spring varietals typically used. Robust and round, with tons a fruit and small but persistent spicy quality. We've got a decent supply right now, but like all the Private Editions we'll have people asking about this one for years to come (not to mention it's likely to take home some serious awards later in the year).
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Kerner
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  A cross between Riesling and the local red grape Schiava. Though something of a mongrel in terms of ancestry, in the right hands, such as those of the very capable people at Cantina Valle Isarco, it produces a medium-bodied, un-oaked wine full of vibrant fruits and ethereal floral highlights, loves something spicy Thai of Mexican.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Lagrein
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is medium-weight and savory on the palate. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSF (11 year & 6 months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  We all know that these Four Roses Single Barrels can be off the chain, but this one is just a whole different thing. We're talking about ULTRA rich nose of maple and spice. Subtle dusty earth tones build around that base moving toward the darker chocolate and flambéed fruit. On the palate, the surprising dryness is refreshing with that lovely gravelly earthiness and a strong peppery spice. Watch out!!!
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cantina Valle Isarco Pinot Nero/Blauburgunder
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Südtiroler Blauburgunder or Alto Adige Pinot Nero, the wine is fantastic. Like a cool mountain lake, with fine acidity and focus and layers of cool red fruits. Chill it slightly and serve with wild mushroom pasta dishes or trout.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSK (9 year & 8 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  I tend to lean toward the older offerings from Four Roses when we get the single barrels as they tend to have additional concentration and power that's not seen in the under 10-year-old stuff. My rule of thumb has officially been thrown out the window (it was a terrible one anyway, considering I'm always talking about how older doesn't always equal better), because this little OBSK is just singing on every level. I'm glad we didn't wait one more day before dumping this baby, it's got everything I want in a high rye bourbon. Sweet candy and savory spice on the nose. Behind those powerful aromas, a deep dark woodsy thing that reminds me of old glories from the 60s and 70s. The palate is a constant struggle between the dusty spice and the sweet vanilla-laden oak. Whoa, it's a big boy! Absolutely delicious!
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart BC 0

West County Cider "Reine de Pomme" Cider, Massachusetts 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This dry cider is deep gold, has a fruity, appealing "apple juice" aroma, and virtually no funky/earthy aromas, desirable though they may be to hard cider fans. But make no mistake, it is dry, dry, chalky dry on the finish. Bottled Champagne-style, it's got a high degree of effervescence. If you like fresh apple aromas but want to move to something more austere and serious than big-brand ciders, check this out.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lagavulin Distiller's Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This stuff is so overtly awesome it's hard not recommend it even to people who adamantly hate peat smoke. Something about putting that sweet syrupy sherry note on top of the oily robust spirit that we get from Lagavulin is so satisfying, I see why every other distiller in the world is trying to emulate it. Of course, nothing is like Lagavulin so where others fail miserably, the Lagavulin Distillers Edition is a triumph. Massive, oily, all encompassing - this is whisky you'll need to savor slowly. It borders on dessert level sweetness, but all that oil and smoke keeps it in range. As always, there is a limited supply of this whisky and once it's gone we'll have to wait for the new release.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Louis XIII de Remy Martin Grande Champagne Cognac 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Louis XIII is all about history and authenticity. It's absolutely silly the time and expertise that goes into creating this special blend. It's the ultimate luxury experience and a window into the History of Cognac. This special cognac represents a continuity between the first bottling many decades ago. Want to actually taste the cognac that Charles De Gaul opened at the end of WWII - this is the stuff. With a minimum age of 40 years, none of the 4 master blenders has actually tasted their final blend, but they have compared them to older bottlings to make sure that the quality remains identical through out each bottling. The gorgeous hand blown crystal just adds to the majesty. Truly decadent and totally worth every penny.
Price: $3,299.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1978 Port Dundas 36 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is an enigmatic whisky from an equally mysterious distillery. The whisky needs some time, it needs you to take a step back and take some time with it. Big powerful vanilla nose (almost like a roasted vanilla). The palate has tons of phenol (it's not peat) but definitely some dark earthy flavors. There's also tons of fresh exotic botanicals in there (ginseng, orris, ginger, meadowsweet?) and then those dark dense phenolic flavors coming back. Diesel oil, roasted chestnuts, burning coal. Massively weird and totally special.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Mortlach 7 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This fun and educational little monster whisky is the sort that makes geeks giddy and noobs cringe. I seriously heard two different groups at the Scotch Club tasting of this product proclaim that it was fabulous, while the other announced that they didn't get it at all. It's naked young Mortlach in all its malty splendor. If you're looking for something sweet and soft this is not it. It does have mounds of vanilla fudge (cake frosting), yellow flowers, snappy malty spark. Linear and structured. Takes water pretty well, but quickly looses intensity after a few drops.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Caol Ila 5 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This young Caol Ila has gone over well with some of the more serious drinkers that frequent our spirits department. Like a briny wave crashing over your head, the Caol Ila is as fresh and vibrant as any Islay you've ever had. Definitely with the lemony briny and maybe the slightest hint of kippers, the smoky is clean and billowing. Takes water nicely, but beware of the high ABV!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Lagoon Hill Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Exceptional value thanks to our importer direct deal. Single vineyard, organically farmed, Martinborough Sauvignon Blanc. A super easy drinking style with juicy ripe citrus, passionfruit, fresh cut herbs and wet stone. Round juicy texture and refreshing ripe acidity. Such a great summer wine, stock up now while it lasts at this crazy good price!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price WE 90 BC 0

2012 Vincent Girardin St-Aubin 1er Cru "Murgers Dent de Chien"
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  This rich and delicious Saint Aubin comes from one of my favorite vineyards in Burgundy. It is located just over the hill from Chevalier Montrachet, and cheek by jowl with Puligny-Montrachet Champs Gain 1er Cru. If this said Puligny 1er Cru on the label it would sell for twice the price. This is rich and focused, long on the palate and quite delicious. Don't miss it!
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Hirsch "San Andreas Fault" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  I have been waiting a long time for this wine to be released, and of course, it wasn't in vain. Bright red fruit with layers of rose petals, cinnamon, forest floor and herbs. Acidity is nicely integrated and the tannins are apparent. After a couple of hours in a decanter, the wine opens up beautifully and shows incredibly. If you're patient, several years in your cellar will be even better.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  The former 2nd label of Romabauer, this wine continues in that rich, ripe style with hints of oak. If a bigger Chardonnay is what you like, this wine over-delivers.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  A beautiful vintage for the Flowers Sonoma Coast. Light bodied with a candied red fruit, cola, forest floor and a hint of cinnamon. The wine has integrated acid and great length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Butternut Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  The name says it all. For a great value California Chardonnay, this is your bottle.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rochioli "Estate" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  Rochioli has been a Russian River Valley legend for many years. Originally bought in 1953 by Joe Rochioli Sr., the 135 acres ranch at that time was called Fenton Acres. Originally planted to many of the jug wine varietals like French Colombard and Napa Gamay. Joe Sr and Joe Jr planted Cabernet Sauvignon and Sauvignon Blanc in 1959. The Sauvignon Blanc was successful and the original plantings still produce grapes today. The Cabernet Sauvignon didn't work very well and Joe Jr decided to plant Pinot Noir in 1968. Shortly after, Chardonnay was planted and as they say, "The rest is history". The first Rochioli wine was released in 1987 and from day one has been known for great wines. Today, third generation Tom Rochioli is the winemaker and continues the work that his Grandfather and Father did before him.

2001 d'Escurac, Medoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Toasty aromas and a very fruity palate impression. Super value. Very elegant wine from one of my favorite ready to drink vintages. Enjoy with a rack of lamb.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Salle de Poujeaux, Moulis
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Toasting, oaky aromas. After decanting the wine opens up to a red fruit forward beauty.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>