Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 La Honda "Sequence" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
This is exactly the kind of Pinot Noir that I love having piled around the house. This example from La Honda is simultaneously savory and energetic with a persistence and juiciness that begs another sip. It has plenty of stuffing and a certain seriousness to the profile, but this bottle doesn't depend on cellaring to shed superficial baby fat. I find that to be a rare virtue, not a knock. The complexity here is really highlighted by the wine's purity. Such is the virtue of the Santa Cruz Mountains, which experienced particularly low yields of exceptionally high quality Pinot Noir in 2015. This bottle is equally fun for the SCM geek, or as a "gateway" wine for the uninitiated to get into the region's Pinots for a steal of an entry fee.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
An icon in Australian Chardonnay. The 2015 Vasse Felix "Premier" Chardonnay (not to be confused with the lower tier "Filius" Chardonnay) is the culmination of many decades of vineyard development, vine age and rock star winemaker Virginia Willcock's endless pursuit of Chardonnay perfection. This wine is both beautifully representative of classic Margaret River chardonnay but also a stunningly refined example of Virginia's inimitable wine making style. Baked pear, toasted barley, some slightly tart peach notes and plenty of signature stony minerals. Whisps of struck match, and split white oak. Such a complex wine but so quaffable and refreshing at the same time. Concentrated and flavorful but brisk and lively. Exceptionally good Chardonnay especially at our too low to show pricing.

2014 Kumeu River "Coddington" Single Vineyard Chardonnay Kumeu
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
A classic rendition of one of New Zealand's best Chardonnays. All the hallmarks of what makes Kumeu River so special. Tension, texture, packed with flavor but lithe and energized at the same time. Crunchy quince, greengage plum, citrus rind, flint, almond skin, freshly baked bread. The wine has a broad and rich texture but also line, length and mouthwatering acidity. This wouldn't look out of place in a high-end Meursault tasting. Tons of class at a sharp price.

2014 Kumeu River "Coddington" Single Vineyard Chardonnay Kumeu
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
Situated between the Tasman Sea to the west (12 miles away) and the Pacific Ocean to the east (19 miles away) the Coddington vineyard stays moderate to very cool all season long, and it rarely ever gets past the mid eighties. This long, slow ripening of the grapes combined with deep rooted vineyards that see no irrigation is the real secret behind Kumeu’s clean, elegant, and famously precise wine style. In the glass you’ll find freshly baked lime tart, breakfast toast, citrus blossom, and an undercurrent of mineral water packaged together harmoniously. On the palate the balanced acidity carries a clean translation of bouquet’s notes with some white peach and bolder citrus blossom. This bright, elegant wine has a lasting finish that you may never see the end of as you regularly return for follow up sips…

2005 Can Mayol Loxarel "109 Mesos" Gran Reserva Brut Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
109 Mesos is the tete de cuvee at Can Mayol. The oldest vine Xarel-lo vines are blended with a 10% dash of Chardonnay, and as the name suggests aged on its lees for 109 months, under cork. In fact, it is never disgorged, as winemaker Josep Mitjans believes that for this cuvee the lees, which contributes to the wine's complexity, longevity and freshness, should be allowed to do so right up until the point of purchase. That said, you will need a toolbox on hand to grab a pair of pliers, bend the iron prongs and disgorge this beauty yourself. You will be amply rewarded with one of the most original bottles of bubbles in our inventory. Maybe about seven years ago, I tasted just a few of the bubblies from Loxarel at a Spanish wine trade show. Ever since then I have been hooked. I have consumed so many bottles across their dizzying array of products, and built up so much product conviction along the way, that I would put these up against any sparkling wines in the store.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2013 Can Mayol Loxarel Garnatxa Blanca Brut Nature Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
Maybe about seven years ago I tasted a few of the bubblies from Loxarel at a Spanish wine trade show in San Francisco. Ever since then I have been hooked. I have consumed so many bottles across their dizzying array of products, and built up so much product conviction along the way, that I would put these up against any sparkling wines in the store. This is the first vintage of Garnatxa Blanca, and the only bubbly made from this grape that I have yet to try. Loxarel's trademark fine bubbles combine with slightly weightier fruit from the high elevation Garnatxa blanca grapes to create something that is equal parts food friendly and refreshing.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Can Mayol Loxarel "Apel" Ancestral Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
Josep Mitjans, winemaker of Loxarel, is not one to rest on his laurels. One of his more recent creations is Apel, a methode ancestrale sparkling consisting of 100% old vine Xarel-lo, fermented with indigenous yeasts and without any liqueur de tirage or dosage (aka, in both cases, sugar). The resulting wine is nicely dry, perhaps with a softer bead and less savory Mediterranean notes when compared to their flagship Reserva Familiar. I love them both, and expect to go through many bottles of the Apel (as well as many more of Loxarel's other delicious sparklers!) Maybe about seven years ago, I tasted a few of the bubblies from Loxarel at a Spanish wine trade show. Ever since then I have been hooked. I have consumed so many bottles across their dizzying array of products, and built up so much product conviction along the way, that I would put these up against any sparkling wines in the store.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2011 Can Mayol Loxarel "MM" Gran Reserva Brut Nature Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
A blanc de Noir of Pinot Noir and the red skin Xarel-lo Vermell, this is actually an oeuil de perdrix, light coppery pink color. Flavors are precise, with red currant, fennel and subtle herbs, an underlying calcareous minerality and a wonderfully elegant bead. Super classy stuff for under $25. Maybe about seven years ago, I tasted a few of the bubblies from Loxarel at a Spanish wine trade show. Ever since then I have been hooked. I have consumed so many bottles across their dizzying array of products, and built up so much product conviction along the way, that I would put these up against any sparkling wines in the store.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
Maybe about seven years ago, I tasted a few of the bubblies from Loxarel at a trade show. Ever since then I have been hooked. I have consumed so many bottles across their dizzying array of products, and built up so much product conviction along the way, that I would put these up against any sparkling wines in the store. The 999 is quite a dry expression of high elevation Pinot Noir and Xarel-lo Vermell (red skinned mutation of the indigenous Xarel-lo and a key component to most cava and sparkling Penedes wine). The wine is recently disgorged, stylish, and very easy to drink!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Alheit Vineyards "Cartology" Chenin Blanc Western Cape
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
Cartology “maps” out the most significant and favored old vines this dynamic husband and wife winemaking team (Chris and Suzaan Alheit) own or have access to from their neighbors. This bottling brings those plots together in a meaningful cuvee that is the picture of South African’s finest expressions. A full dense nose alerts you immediately that this will be a full bodied wine ready for deep thoughts and lots of return sips to watch the wine graduate through many beautiful cycles. Lemon curd and mineral tones start the procession as yellow plumb and a variety of dry field herbs start to file into place. The first viscous sip confirms the nose’s intuition as the palate fills with briny lemon, ripe plum that is carried by the acid balance you hoped would structure the wine. The finish is long and almost unending…

Jansz "Premium" Brut Rosé Tasmania
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
Personally I cannot wait to show up to my next party with friends and bring a bottle Tasmanian Sparkling Rose; conversation starter in a bottle (and only $20!) Champagne is grown at the far northern reaches of where grapes can ripen due to cold temperatures and a short growing window. The same is true at the far southern reaches of our planet where Tasmania takes wine growing to the extreme producing a strikingly similar tart, small berried production of extraordinary grape juice. Jansz’s Brut Rose is a soft pale pink (not over extracted) and greets you in the glass with the chalky, bready nose you hoped for with raspberries and rosewater adding to the bouquet. As you sip the wine you find tight bubbles and the fruit broadens to introduce white satellite peach to the persistent red berries. Cheers Mate!

2015 Domaine Eugène Meyer Pinot Blanc Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/14/2017 | Send Email
The Meyer family has been making wine since 1620 in Bergholtz in southern Alsace on approximately 22 acres of land bought by the family after the French Revolution. Today the family continues farming their land with the next 350 years in mind for future generations; cultivated biodynamic and organic certified since 1991. The 2016 Pinot Blanc is bright in the glass with a dense aroma of yellow plumb and honeydew accented with gooseberry citrus notes and some wet granite like minerality. On the palate the wine is viscous and round with the melon building around secondary notes of white pepper, honeycomb and wild flowers.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

1977 Taylor Vintage Port
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/13/2017 | Send Email
Powerful and elegant. Just like it'd expect it to be. This is drinking supremely well as its 40th comes to a close. The nose has a great cocoa note to complement the fruit which carries all the way through to the finish. It's lively and still very fresh and the brandy is nicely integrated into the wine. It's a classic wine from a legendary house in a perfect vintage. What more could you ask for on top of the outstanding price?

1977 Taylor Vintage Port
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 12/13/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Always a favorite of mine from the 1977 vintage, the Taylor is now (2017) drinking beautifully and still showing it's complex house style of plenty of rich mid palate fruit, sweet and dark with an incredible violet and rose petal overlay with a lovely silken finish. The finesse that this port has developed over the years compliments the still noticeable power perfectly.

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength (115.8 proof) Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/13/2017 | Send Email
I think I'm going to look back at this string of Whistle Pig barrels years from now as some of the finest procurements of my spirits buying career. I remember being very excited when first tasting through a number of 10 year selections, but tasting this 115.8 proof barrel again I'm overwhelmed by the concentration of flavor. It's simply delightful whiskey, in the way that I remember rye and Bourbon tasting ten years ago when I first started: full of sweet oak flavor, nuanced and distinct, of a quality that clearly stands above the standard $20 bottle of Bulleit or Rittenhouse. In a world where Thomas Handy rye is considered the best whiskey in the world by some, I'd make a case for these Whistle Pig cask strength editions. They are older, equally as potent, and simply gorgeous from front to back. This will be the first of four barrels I've locked down and once people try this cask I'm expecting all of them to come back for each subsequent release. It's that good.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/13/2017 | Send Email
This is phenomenal wine for the price-so sweet, warm and fresh with plenty of ripe, fine tannin on the finish. Decant this tonight or lay some away for 10+ years.

1995 John McCrae 22 Year Old "K&L Exclusive - Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
This struck me as my favorite of the 3 new Sovereign casks. It's lovely, rich, clean, and bright. There is an easy fruitiness full of apples and stone fruits. The spices lean towards the baking type, not peppery or savory. The palate is creamy and smooth, almost like a caramelized marshmallow. The finish is long and clean. All in all a special cask of whisky.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1997 Hector Macbeth 20 Year Old "K&L Exclusive - Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
If you're not excited by the value proposition of a teaspooned cask - read David's explanation and you will be. The Hector Macbeth is a home run. I found it surprisingly salty on the nose with a touch of pretty and fresh herbs. The mouth is rich and velvety, loaded with baked bread, cinnamon, and apples. It's basically an American Apple Pie in a scotch. There is a little sandalwood on the finish which is long and full. This is an absurdly good deal.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Champagne is always a welcome choice and not just for special occasions, but when you open a bottle of single village Grand Cru Champagne that is an occasion all unto itself. Mesnil sur Oger is a quant hamlet in southern half of the Cote du Blanc with many famous parcels, and the Launois family captures that specific essence perfectly. The toasty, brioche nose opens up quickly to reveal yellow fig, Golden Delicious apple, fields of jasmine, a walnut nuttiness and then you find the hints of chalk you were looking for. On the palate the apple gets firmer and a little more Granny Smith, pear and white pepper can be found, and the chalk is easily detected. The wine has firm acidity but leaves plenty of room to experience the softer elements.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2002 Le Cleméntin du Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We discovered about thirty cases at Chateau Pape Clement when we were tasting there in April 2016. We bought it on the spot. Lots of earth and minerals. Sweet on the palate after one hour open. The second wine of Pape Clement is a great value. The wines of the Pessac area were quite good in 2002-much better than the north medoc.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
NEgroamaro+PRImitivo+CAbernet Sauvignon = 'Neprica', a fresh, upbeat, ever-so-drinkable cooperation of pure boysenberry, plum and cherry fruit imbued with floral nuances and aged in stainless for about 8 months, with some sleepovers in older oak barrels to add a smidgen of spice to the mouthwatering, unbeatable blend. Impossible to resist this food friendly bottle of red ( try baked polenta with Italian sausages) that will be empty before you know it. Perhaps that's why it's priced to disapppear!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1988 Le Cleméntin du Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
A thirty year old great value wine for less than $40. We discovered about fifty cases at Chateau Pape Clement when we were tasting there in April 2016. We bought it on the spot. Lots of earth and minerals. Sweet on the palate after one hour open. The second wine of Pape Clement is super.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Famille Perrin "Les Cornuds" Vinsobres
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Vinsobres is one of those Cru appellations that is still earning its bones much like Gigondas or Vacqueyras were 10 years ago. Once a Cotes du Rhone Village it was elevated to Cru status because of its beautiful terroir and exposition. Sitting towards the north end of the Southern Rhone, this is a much cooler climate compared to Chateauneuf du Pape and Gigondas. Also, Syrah plays a much more important role in the blends here. What you get are more aromatic and perfumed Rhones that have higher spice notes and more supple fruit. The Perrin family has such an amazing eye for detail as well and they would be the ideal candidate to suss out the best that this region has to offer. They are of course the family behind Chateau de Beaucastel, probably the most iconic of all the Chateuneufs. All fruit is farmed organically, all winemaking is top-notch and it all shows in the finished product. The 2013 vintage was challenging to say the least. Grenache was afflicted with collioure, where flowering doesn't occur properly and you are left with bunches of berries with lots of fruit missing. This means lower yields overall but not bad fruit. In fact quite good fruit. Not as concentrated as in vintages like 2010 or 2012 but definitely classically styled flavors. To finish the story, the supplier was a little long on the 2013 vintage, so of course they made us an offer and we made a counter-offer and we were able to land this normally $20+ wine for $13. A Cru wine for a Village price! So what about the wine? Beautiful drinking for certain. It is perfumed and harmonious with lovely currant and cherry notes. Lots of potpourri and baking spices develop in the glass. This has quickly arrived as one of my favorite go-to Rhones in the stores right now. Ideal drinking now and for another 5 years or more.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

2014 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae - Old Vines” Grenache-Syrah-Mourvèdre Côtes du Roussillon
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Shouting it from the rooftops - "Jean-Marc Lafage produces southern France's greatest values." Critical press aside, Jean-Marc's wines pinch the nerve that get people to buy and rebuy his wines over and over. The Bastide Miraflors was one of our greatest success stories this year and it's not just all press. You (and we) as consumers just love drinking these wines. There is a hedonistic pleasure in all of them and I think this overlooked gem is the perfect representation of that notion. The "Old Vines" is a blend of Grenache, Syrah and Mourvedre but it is at once greater than its parts. Rich red fruit flavors of candied strawberry and red cherry are surrounded by supple tannins and ripe long finish. It is pure pleasure in a glass. Since the supplier is ready to move onto a new vintage we have an outstanding price on this. This wine is sure to please all comers from holiday gift giving to Christmas parties and of course your everyday drinking needs.
Price: $7.98 Add To Cart
RP 90

1997 Hector Macbeth 20 Year Old "K&L Exclusive - Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Of the three Sovereign teaspooned casks we have to offer this December, the Hector MacBeth is the darkest, oakiest, and most concentrated of the bunch and when you taste it there's really no doubt about where it was made. You've seen the ubiquitous green tins for the 12 year lining the major liquor stores and airport duty free shelves all over the world, the mark of the deer above the distillery name. This is a 20 year old, single barrel cask strength edition of that classic Highland profile for a cool $99.99. Why the deal? Because of the small teaspoon of a second whisky added into it. I'll take that deal every time, however. I'm guessing at least 200 other fans of the Glen will take the plunge with me.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1995 John McCrae 22 Year Old "K&L Exclusive - Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
We have to be very careful revealing the source of this particular barrel as we got in trouble last time around from the distillery who wanted to know where we had tracked it down and how it made its way into our hands! All I can tell you for right now is that it was made by one of the most famous producers in the Speyside and that it tastes every bit as soft, creamy, succulent, and refined as all of the official distillery releases. If you're a classic Highland fan who loves the purity of single malt that tastes like fruit, barley, oak, and spice, then you're going to treasure this bottle. It's simply Scotch whisky perfection without gimmicks, barrel enhancements, or any other unnecessary additions.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2006 William Hepburn 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Those of you who just bought our 24 year old Macallan Old Particular cask on pre-order, might also want to have a look at this special 11 year old mystery barrel from "William Hepburn" as both ultimately emanate from the same place. This 11 year old edition is distilled Highland refinement in a bottle. It's gorgeous from front to back, no frills, nothing out of the ordinary, just classic sweet stone fruit, grains, vanilla, oak, and malt flavor at full proof with no water added. The only thing that's been added is a teaspoon of a second malt whisky, rendering this barrel a "blended malt" rather than a single malt. That means 99.99999999% of it is from....William Hepburn....and the other .000000001% is from somewhere else. That's why the price is so good. I'll take the secret deal over the expensive brand name every day of the week.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Maury is the deep dark flip side to Spain's Priorat. The regions are part of what used to be (any may one day be again) Catalon. They sit on opposite sides of the Pyranees (Priorat in Spain, Maury in France) with a shared cultural heritage which is where the joint characteristics begin. Each region sits on the desirable black-brown slate/schist soils which make the terroir special, both revere the grapes Grenache and Syrah and both regions produce deeply concentrated wines of power and depth. The big distinction though is many of the Priorat wines have reached price points higher than the elevations of their vineyards. Not so much in Maury though. Longer known more for dessert wine production, Maury is still establishing its footing with regards to pricing which has kept costs depressed. That's to our benefit as consumers though because we get so many incredible dry wines for less than $30. Now, throw Jean-Marc Lafage into the mix, who has established himself as one of the great value producers in the whole south of France and you have one of the most exceptional Catalonian buys this year. The Saint Roch property really allows Mr. Lafage the freedom to let his vineyards fully express themselves. The "Kerbuccio" is supple, rich and full of blackberry, currants and fig flavors. The palate is sweet with fruit but has underlying slate notes and structure. There is also an intriguing garrigue (coastal herbs surrounding the vineyards) note that really adds that next layer of depth which makes me think of one other great region - Priorat. You would pay 2-3 times this much for a wine from the Spanish side at this quality (and with this kind of review). This has as much to offer in terms of flavor, style and longevity but at a price that doesn't quite feel so hard on the pocket book.

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Send Email
Classic 2015. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins. Two Thumbs up !!!

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/11/2017 | Send Email
Where's the love … I always overlook this Cabernet. Always looking for the new, best, Napa red! We opened this the other day and much to our surprise, we discovered it to be a classic –a truly balanced Napa Cabernet! It certainly was more than approachable with the big 2014 fruit up front, alluring blackberry jam, cocoa powder and integrated oak on the nose. It has that great depth which lingers with the richness of black fruit. Why not tempt yourself with that elegant, velvet juciness, melting into polished tannins, with a delightfully long finish. I was so glad to have the opportunity to try this wine! With so many choices out there, I will not overlook this one anymore.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 Picard, Lussac-St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/10/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Here is your Tuesday night hamburger wine, but it will also do well with Thursday night pork roast dinner. Sweet black fruit aromas and flavors — goes down easily. Great wine for California Cabernet lovers. Enjoy young and fruity.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 de Birot, Côtes de Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
From the fine 2014 vintage comes an absolute killer Bordeaux value. The blend contains about 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, lending dark fruit and structure to the base of juicy Merlot fruit, with some Cabernet Franc for aromatic lift. We last carried their 2009.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Poesia, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Do not confuse this beauty with the Argentinian Poesia. An April 2017 discovery at Barde Haut. Tons of fruit with some earthy, mineral aromas. Very ripe on the mid palate and soft,lush, lingering finish. Much better than their 2014. Decant one hour and enjoy.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Godeau, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This is the last to arrive of our April 2017 tasting trip finds for value. Vinous scores it 90-93 and we agree. Black raspberries abound on the nose and palate. A sort of new wave entry, but fine acid balance is a hallmark of this wine. First time for K&L to carry this beauty-it won't be the last I am sure. I am loving these 2015s.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Motte Maucourt, Bordeaux Supérieur
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A fine 2015 Bordeaux for $11? Sweet oaky, cassis aromas with sweet blackberry flavors. So easy to drink, but it will age well for a few years. Buy cases. Here is you large party red-even California red wine drinkers will love it. Jammy style.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Loyasson, Bordeaux
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
$10.99 are you out of your mind? The 2014 and 2015 sold out quickly-this will also. Another of our finds on the 2017 Bordeaux trip. Spicy, jammy, vibrant red-just like most of the 2016s. Lively and sweet with red berry flavors. A must buy. Toasty oak for $11?
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2009 Larrivet Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This property always flies under the radar and is becoming one of my favs from the region. I much prefer their red to their white. We have sold over 1000 cases of this and we just got a bit more. 2009 is my favorite vintage since 1945.. I have a case of magnums in my cellar. That means you should buy some. Decant one hour. Sweet and sexy. Re-tasted on 12/10/17-so good it is sinful. Sweet and round-no edges-all fruit.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Medoc de Beychevelle, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The great St Julien property Beychevelle has some land just south of St Julien in the haut medoc. This pretty wine has all the characteristics of St Julien-cola aromas, silky texture, etc. Cassis aromas and just all crushed berry sweetness on the palate. Very close to Beychevelle in style. A must try. First time we have bought this label. Tasted 12/9/17--very lively with a fine minerality on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin du Sud Bordeaux Superieur
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
What a great value here. We tasted it during April 2017 Bordeaux trip-Organic wine made by Ch La Croix Taillefer, Pomerol. A blend of merlot and Cabernet, it is so lush on the palate-a bit new wave and quite California style. Sweet and sexy with some savoury notes. A steal at $13. These 15s are super delicious at this early stage. This one is spicy and vibrant.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The first wine we tasted on the 2016 Bordeaux trip and we loved it. In fact we preferred it to the Marquis de Calon. It has just arrived and wow is it good. These 15s are easy to drink, but they are young so decant one hour on this one. It is sweet and silky. The finish screams St Estephe. Great balance and tremendous depth of flavor for just over $20. Buy a case and taste it in three years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
This 2014 Crianza primarily consists of 90% Tempranillo, with the remaining 10% comprising of Garnacha, Graciano, and Mazuelo. The oak influence in this wine draws from multiple sources: the oak barrels used in fermentation are French Oak barrels and the barrels used in the 13-14 month aging process are American. Dominant fruit aromas of ripe blackberries and raspberries, macerated cherries, and plum. Bouquet of vanillas, balsamic, cedar, and dill. Warming spices as well, underlying. On the palate, dried berries and cherries play with a wonderful lively acidity. Tannins are there, but certainly not overwhelming. The mouthfeel and acidity lend it to being a great option with food pairings: think roast chicken and bell peppers or pork chops
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
The delicate straw color of the 2015 "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura is followed by beautiful aromas of almonds, oranges, lemon, honey, apple skins, and a hint of tropical fruits. This crisp, elegant, Full-bodied white has layers of herbs, citrus and a touch of apricot,, with excellent acidity, fresh and long. I love this as an aperitif, or as a broadly useful table wine (roast chicken, fish...).
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
Concentrated Sangiovese fruit with layers of subtle earth and mineral scents in a soft and forward body. Wonderful to drink now! Two Thumbs up !
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Famille Perrin "Les Cornuds" Vinsobres
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 12/9/2017 | Send Email
If you have ever been in the LA Store and spoken with me, you would know I like anything under $15.00 that can claim to be amazing. This Rhone Red fits the bill. I am speaking of an ideal party-pleasing wine that anyone, no matter the palate, will enjoy. The nose is great with floral and spice. The taste combines round mouthfeel and a surprising minerality, which leads to a plush, subtle finish. Reach for this as a perfect pick for any holiday party or late night taco truck.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

2015 La Honda "Sequence" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
Highly perfumed crushed red berries. Brambly fruit, orange peel, Christmas cake spice. Lifted aromas of Redwood grove and fresh rain. Pure, long, elegant on the palate, weighing in at 13.7% alc. A lovely combination of fresh fruit and savory forest floor notes. It finishes clean, supple and bright with moreish acidity.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 La Honda Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
A complex nose dancing between toasted hazelnut and saline oyster shell notes; spiced pear, autumn barley and crushed rock. A very mineral driven style, very Chablis like. It has a keen acid line and verve to it; great for Dungeness crab I imagine (I'll have to test it out)! Such a stunning value for Santa Cruz Mountain Chardonnay. Hand-selected from a patchwork of small, local vineyards around the appellation skillfully and seamlessly woven together by winemaker Colin McNanny.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Brian Fogarty | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
A good, go-to Bordeaux keeps us all happy. Chateau Capbern of St Estephe delivers in a bright, energetic profile bursting with fresh cherries, violets, spicy notes and a skosh of mineral in the background echoes. On the palate the cherries remain dominate, filling your mouth with a juicy, savory charisma accented with blackberry, bramble and dark toast on a well structured frame.

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
I have always enjoyed the Louis Martini Sonoma Cabernet. Year after year it is possibly be the best value in California Cabernet. The step up in price for the Napa is about double but the quality is way more than that. This is a seriously delicious, rich, dense yet supple Cabernet that surprises the palate with a fleshy, toasty mouthfeel and long, lingering finish. I find the tannins silky and ripe, even with this vintage. I would have no problem enjoying this bottle now with a bit of air.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

Enmore 25 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 12/8/2017 | Send Email
This 25-year rum is lively and delicious. In the nose if offers sugar and floral aromas. In the mouth it is round and lush with deep dried fruit and dark chocolate flavors. There is a creamy mouthfeel. A beautiful expression of a mature rum. I tasted it with with a splash of water.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>