Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2016 Climens, Barsac
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Steve and jeff and Jason actually tasted almost every barrel of this liquid gold. Berenice Lurton did bring to our last night's dinner samples from the North, South, West, and East part of the property. They were very different and all were quite good. Final product must be good.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2016 Coutet, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-24-2017
One of the better 2016 stickies we tasted. 75% Semillon-the wine is fresh, lively, racy with coconut aromas and flavors mixed with pineapple.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 La Patache, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-24-2017
A Peter Kwok wine, this Pomerol is delicious. Very round and supple on the palate while still very concentrated on the back palate. Lovely value of the vintage!
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de Bouard, Montagne St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-24-2017
The first vintage for Coralie de Bouard and it is a big success. 85%M,10%CF, 5% CS and 100% satisfying on the palate. So sweet and sexy with lovely texture. Perfumy aromas of black cherry-great acidity on the palate. Try this.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Plus de la Fleur de Boüard, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-24-2017
One of the best Plus I have tasted. Very well-balanced and restrained-not over the top. Deep blackish color-plenty of structure for the long haul.
Drink from 2023 to 2023
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 - 95

2016 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Outstanding value wine that is as good as their excellent 2015. Very focused wine with tons of sweet, ripe fruit. Very well-balanced and easy to taste.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 Maillet, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-24-2017
We missed tasting this, but we heard from very good sources that the wine is as good as 2015 and that is saying a lot. Great Pomerol for under $40? Tough to beat.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 - 95

2016 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-24-2017
This wine is off-the charts great. 13.07 degrees Alcohol like the old days of great Bordeaux wines. Incredible, intense, spicy aromas with cinnamon undertones on the palate. So silky and precise-pure as can be. Long and lovely-so good you can drink it soon, but it will cellar well for many years. Bravo on the reasonable price. A very special wine and one of the top ten I tasted in April.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
A no-brainer. Beaumont makes elegant, soft style wines and has for many years. This one is lovely and worthy of your cellar. A superb value with plenty of elegance and flair.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
And the value wines from the left bank keep appearing at very reasonable prices---so far. This wine is about 63% Cabernet Sauvignon and is located very near Pauillac in the North Medoc. We have never offered this wine on futures, but the 2016 is so good and we are selling many vintages of this wine over the last five years, I decided to offer it out. Spicy, very red berry dominated aromas that follow to the palate. So sweet and lovely and so reasonable in price at under $15.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Wow! This could be the best ever by them--much better than their 2015 or even 2009. Fine structure from this 48% Cabernet Sauvignon, 37% Merlot blend. Red berry aromas with a touch of oak. Quite perfumey. Deep color and great structure on the palate-sweet, long finish. Superb value for $15.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
No store in the USA sells more lanessan than K&L. This 2016 was tasted three times by our staff in early April. 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 100% delightful. So aromatic like many of the 16s-tons of fruit covers the abundant tannin (ala 2009 but this one is much better). Paz Espejo has found her niche at Lanessan and this is the best she has made there. Tons of red fruit flavors linger on the palate. Lovely, smooth, tastes great now.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Marsau, Côtes de Bordeaux
Review Date: 04-20-2017
According to James Suckling, our friend and fellow Bordeaux wine lover, this is a great value--we missed it on the April trip, but we love the 2012 which we carry. Only one negociant has the exclusivity for the USA for marsau and we did not go to that office. I trust james and he says “This is a rich and dense Marsau and probably the best ever. Full body and a wonderful depth of fruit and chocolate. Love the texture and intensity. Shows sophistication.” 93-94
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-10-2017
Just like last year, but perhaps a bit better? Pure and precise. 20% new oak. Fresh and lively aromas of boysenberry that follow to palate. Lots of mineral from the limestone and clay soil. Outstanding value. These guys are on a roll.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 Haut-Brisson, St-Émilion
Review Date: 04-10-2017
Great value here. Coffee and tea aromas with some black fruit underneath. A powerhouse on the palate, but so sweet and lush. Very round tannins.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 - 95

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-10-2017
Like the 2015, but maybe a bit more precise and focused. Blackish color, Very aromatic aromas of blackberry and black cherry. So rich yet so balanced. Only 3000 bottles produced.
Drink from 2021 to 2021
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 - 97

2014 Tour St-Christophe, St-Émilion
Review Date: 04-07-2017
One of our best new discoveries during our trip to Bordeaux back 2015. This property is owned by the Peter Kwok Group and it sits on terraced slopes just across from Barde-Haut. This is quite a big wine with a lot going on. It's rich, lush, sweet, and finely-structured, plus it drinks beautifully right out of the bottle. Tour St. Christophe has quickly become one of our top value properties to watch.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

1999 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-03-2017
Drinking perfectly now! One of our favorite wines is back in house. For under $20 at this age, it doesn't get much better. Grab some while its still available. One of the sleepers of the vintage
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet "K&L Cuvee" Sancerre Blanc Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 03-22-2017
Outstanding wine from a great Sancerre vintage. This is the K&L Cuvee of Millet's traditional cuvee. Very earthy and mineral on the nose with citrus undertones.Clean and very crisp on the palate with lingering finish. Much better than their 2005. I love it.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Siaurac, Lalande de Pomerol
Review Date: 03-22-2017
Our first vintage from this property-and what a great wine for the price. 2010 Bordeaux tend to be a bit on the hard side, but this is super polished. Great blackberry aromas and flavor. A touch of toasty oak. Sweet and sexy on the palate. We expect great things from this property in the future. Do not miss this.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2013 Accendo Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-03-2017
I travelled to Oakville to see my high school friend and baseball teammate Bart Araujo, who is most notably known for his Araujo Eisele Cabernets. This time I went to taste his new project Accendo-Accendo Cellars 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon is outstanding. Very much like a Bordeaux first growth in richest and complexity while holding the line on alcohol and oak. Red fruits abound on the nose and palate with nuances of Asian spice and cinnamon. Lush mid palate with great acidity and very round tannins. Like 2009 Bordeaux the fruit here covers the tannins. So sweet on the palate I drank three glasses-I don't spit these kind of wines. yes it is expensive but well worth the price. Bravo! Only 500 cases produced.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WS 92

2014 Maillet, Pomerol
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Outstanding wine for a low price—it is Pomerol, you know. Blackberry aromas and flavors. Drink this one and wait for their stupendous 2015 to cellar a bit. This 2014 needs some air and then it blossoms forth with blackberry aromas and flavors. Some spice and cloves on the nose.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: Hidden View Price
Limit of 12 per customer

2014 Poesia, St-Emilion
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Do not confuse this beauty with the Argentinian Poesia. Another April 2016 discovery at Barde Haut. Tons of fruit with some earthy, mineral aromas. Very ripe on the mid palate and soft, lingering finish. This new Garcin property really blossoms out after decanting. Great first vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 Nenin, Pomerol
Review Date: 03-03-2017
A winner at our 2016 Las Cases family tasting. perfumey, oaky aromas. Must decant for two hours and it blossoms. Enjoy now or cellar for 10 years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Fonplégade, St-Émilion
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Fabulous 2014 but on the modern side for you old school lovers. Rich, thick, lush, mouth-coating wine. Super sweet and oaky aromas too. Toasty oak abounds on the palate. Rather full-bodied, fat and rich. I love it.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Some chocolate nuances on the nose with underpinnings of cracked pepper. Great aromas, but the flavor is also superb with minerals and roses mixed with fine acidity and round tannins. Value.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Dassault, St-Emilion
Review Date: 03-03-2017
We have been tasting this wine for 25 years-this is the first time we have bought it in any quantity.Why now-because it is delicious with an intriguing nose of toasted oak and Asian spices. Decant now for one hour, but better to cellar it. 90% Merlot. Lush on the palate but very focused on the finish. Will cellar well.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2010 La Dauphine, Fronsac
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Great value 2010 that really opens up after decanting one hour. Rich, blueberry aromas and black fruit flavors. Sweetness really comes out in the finish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2010 Berliquet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 03-03-2017
The new home of Nicolas Thienpont the famous winemaker of Larcis Ducasse, Pavie Macquin, Beausejour Duffau, etc. he has turned this small property around and the wines sing these days. This 2010 is one to cellar at least ten more years. 5% Cabernet Sauvignon gives it more backbone than most right bankers. Superb value.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 91

2014 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 02-24-2017
This small, relatively unknown area of the Languedoc is mostly known for Rosé. Ninety-five percent of the wine made in Fontès is Rosé. If some of the best Rosé comes from this area’s Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre or Cinsault (all Rhône varietals) then it stands to reason that those grapes must also provide the raw material to make pretty damn good red wine. That is exactly what the people at Prieuré Saint Hippolyte knew. We have absolutely loved their rosé—it has been our biggest selling rosé for the last few years—and this red is equally good. The 2014 Prieuré Saint Hippolyte Languedoc Rouge is a blend of 75% Syrah and 25% Grenache with aromas of freshly picked blackberries, wild black plums and spicy black pepper notes. The palate is a nice medley of blackberry, plum, and Asian spice notes all framed against supple tannins and racy acidity. There is a touch of minerality on the palate. The finish is smooth and lingering with a nice snap on the end. I think this 2014 is a step ahead of the 2013. Pair this with lamb, pork or a nice flank steak fresh from the grill.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 02-15-2017
I give this a perfect score and it is the best Sauvignon Blanc we have made so far. And that goes back to the first one 1984 from Boeger (still holding great color). This wine was made by a very famous winemaker from a very famous winery in the Napa Valley. Hint- Mr Parker scored this winemaker as "winemaker of the year" a few years ago. And that is winemaker of the year for the whole world as we know it. Perfumey, floral aromas mixed with citrus nuances. Rich and lively on the palate-great zest and verve. Some spice, some lime and a very toasty character. Summer is approaching but this will do well served with a chicken dish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2010 Vieux Taillefer, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-07-2017
From a single vineyard more than 75 years old, located exclusively in the village of Saint Christophe des Bardes on limestone soil. Neighbors include Barde Haut and Tour St-Christophe. Only 3,000 bottles produced and only in the best years. Very spicy aromas that follow to the palate. Very full and rich wine with tons of black fruit flavors. A very powerful, young, yet delicious wine. Will cellar well and provide great enjoyment in five years. I highly recommend it.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-07-2017
We tasted a barrel sample back in 2015, then again at the UGC just a few weeks ago. The wine is lush and very mineral with lots of earth and red berry. Another winner for this overachiever. Silky tannins and a lingering finish. One of the top values around in Bordeaux reds, These guys know how to make great wines that are also great values.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 Pavillon de Taillefer, St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-07-2017
Great toasty oak aromas mixed with black/red currant fruit. Surprisingly more red fruit flavors. 100% merlot. This wine will benefit from a few more cellar years
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

1990 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-31-2017
100 points Robert Parker-back when 100 points meant a lot. This wine does not disappoint. I tasted 2 bottles on 2 separate days in january 2017. Both bottles were perfect. Quite rich and full-bodied with a mouth coating flavor of cassis and some toasty oak. This is an intense wine and really does deserve 100 points--i was quite skeptical before tasting these two bottles. A fifty year wine for sure.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart
RP 100

1991 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-21-2017
Garnet color on the lighter side. Mineral aromas with some sweetness. Great palate entry--rustic style but still very sweet on the finish. Old school Bordeaux and a fine value at under $60 for the magnum. We have sold 2,000 bottles of this wine. DO NOT buy it if you like big, and very rich California Cabs. You must love old-school Bordeaux to enjoy this. Definitely worth a try. One of our favorite "value" chateaux. The older wines are solid and very old school. The newer vintages are more modern. Give this wine a try--pork roast? The last cases at the Chateau-THERE is no more.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau l'Avocat (Sweet), Cérons (500ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
A superb value for everyday drinking. Some pineapple and apricot aromas with citrus notes. Smooth and lingering on the palate.
Price: Hidden View Price

2004 Nairac, Barsac
Review Date: 01-15-2017
We found this gem on our April 2106 Bordeaux visit. This is half the normal price. I do not like 2004 Sauternes in general, but this is one of the best there is. Great balance of sweetness with crisp citrus acidity. A great party wine and very good before dinner or with foie gras.

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 01-15-2017
Perfect gift for that fortieth birthday or anniversary. There are not any real good 1977 California or Bordeaux wines.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

2013 Gazin-Rocquencourt Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This property is under the auspices of the Bonnie family of Malartic-Lagravière. The white is so citrusy and focused with lots of mineral nuances.

2012 Gazin-Rocquencourt, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This property is under the auspices of the Bonnie family of Malartic-Lagravière. The red is fruity and forward and represents an excellent buy.

2011 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This third wine from Latour shows plenty of structure and ripe fruit—superb value for such a pedigree.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I love the dry white wines of 2014—they have the richness of 2012 and 2015 with the crisp acidity of the 2013s. This is a “house white” for us. Plenty of citrus aromas and earthy nuances with a splash of oak. Great now and for several more years.

2014 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-15-2017
The deep purple fruit of blueberry and blackberries is very zesty and bright, and features racy acidity. Firm, more rounded tannins than in many of the great Barton vintages, with just the right amount of extraction. One of the best-selling ’14s at K&L.

Magdelaine "Legends 12 Pack," St-Emilion 12 pack in OWC
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including this "library" set.
Price: $1,999.99 Add To Cart

2009 Magdelaine, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property. The 2009 is a cellar candidate.

2005 Magdelaine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property. The superb 2005 is a cellar candidate.

2001 Magdelaine, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including the super delicious 2001.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WS 92

2001 Magdelaine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including the super delicious 2001.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WS 92

1975 Magdelaine, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including the 1975.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart
ST 92

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next