Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 Columbia Crest "Grand Estates" Columbia Valley Syrah
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Talk about bang for your buck! The 2015 Columbia Crest Syrah is a juicy, medium-bodied red that jumps from the glass with flavors of cocoa powder, spice, vanilla bean and black cherry fruit. The lingering finish is smooth and creamy--perfect for those holiday dinner parties where quality and quantity matter!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-27-2017
If I wanted to trick someone in a blind tasting, I would pour this and watch them guess Pinot Noir from Burgundy. This wine is very delicate with a pleasant amount of strawberry fruit that is rounded out with hints of clove and spice. This is a crisp, nearly tart wine that is perfect for the upcoming holiday dinners.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 WE 91

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Lots of wine for the money here- The Taken is a fairly sturdy, muscular wine that is almost reminiscent of a Bordeaux red from a riper vintage. Tannins are present but are ripe and integrated; hints of oak and lots of black cherry and mocha flavors round out this winner!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Dashe Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Zinfandel that is done in a classic, “not over-the-top” style is hard to find these days. The Dashe is just lovely. Lots of red fruits flavors and blackberries explode from the glass! They are followed by a lively, spicy finish that lingers on for minutes. This is excellent food wine that will not tire your palate out. It kind of reminds me of older J Swan Zinfandels that I grew up loving!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
CG 90 RP 90

2016 La Chablisienne Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-25-2017
Perfect for the customer who wants an everyday white that displays citrus notes along with mineral and saline qualities—and zero oak.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Evening Land "Seven Springs Vineyard" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-25-2017
Evening Lands Winery is a partnership between famed wine maker Sashi Moorman and famed sommelier Rajat Parr. The Seven Springs Vineyard is dry-farmed, is Live certified and was converted to biodynamic viticulture in 2007. The 2014 Seven Springs Pinot Noir comes from vines planted in 1984. These 31-year-old vines are harvested by hand, the grapes hand sorted, and roughly 65% of the fruit was destemmed. There is a wonderful purity to this wine. I would not call it light, but delicate, as Pinot should be. Flavors of strawberry, minerals, tobacco, spice fill the glass. This is a delicious food wine that can and should be enjoyed now.

2015 d'Yquem, Sauternes
Review Date: 09-14-2017
The 2015 Y'quem was one of the highlights of the highlights of the 2015 Bordeaux vintage trip! Ultra rich and complex with layers upon layers of fruit, this wine shows hints of pineapple, citrus and honey. The finish seems to go on forever. This is truly a special wine that I would love to have in my cellar!

2014 Neyers "Neyers Ranch - Conn Valley" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-12-2017
Loaded with concentrated ripe fruit, the Neyer’s Cab is a full bodied wine that is not harsh or overly tannic. The tannins are hidden under the impressive amount of ripe fruit. The texture is round and velvety with hints of minerals, cassis and blackberry. Surprisingly this wine shows very well, even at this early stage. Enjoy tonight!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 90

2014 Domaine Bruno Colin Santenay Rouge Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 09-12-2017
The average age of the vines used in this wine are over 50 years old! The Santenay 2014 from Bruno Colin is a crunchy, fresh, vibrant wine. Fruit flavors are definitely on the red side of the spectrum, with plenty of strawberry and cherry hints. The wine shows lots of zip and acidity, with hints sweet herb and menthol flavors which lingering in the background. Enjoy this wine tonight grilled chicken or salmon.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Oncle Vincent"
Review Date: 08-31-2017
The “Oncle Vincent” Cuvée pays homage to Vincent Leflaive, uncle of Olivier Leflaive, who died in 1993. This wine is the richer, rounder offering of Leflaive’s two Bourgogne Blancs, the other being the delicious "Les Sétilles". The differences are even more apparent with the riper 2015 vintage. The “Oncle Vincent’ shows a rich, broad mouth-coating texture, which shows flavors of golden apples, white peach and cream. The finish is long and juicy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Domaine Bruno Colin Chassagne-Montrachet Rouge Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 08-31-2017
The Bruno Colin wines were a huge hit off one of our email offerings this past month. Many of the offerings sold out, but there are few wines left. The 2014 Chassagne-Montrachet Rouge “VV” is an absolutely delicious Pinot Noir that will be appreciated by fans of “classic” red burgundy. It shows wonderfully crunchy red cherry fruit, a bright, lively texture and hints of minerals and earth. This is great food wine and a pleasure to drink.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 08-23-2017
The base for this wine comes from a Dry Creek Valley vineyard planted in 1972. Since this was a year before I was born, I think even by French standards this is considered “old vines.” Deliciously fresh and juicy, the Cortina Zinfandel glides across the palate with grace and ease. There is a wonderfully purity to the fruit in this wine. It is not heavy or overbearing but still a ripe, full-bodied wine. Alcohol is under 15%.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2014 Shafer Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Still a big California wine, the 2014 Shafer Merlot also shows a bit of a soft side. It is a lush, well-oaked and rich wine that coats the mouth with flavors of plums, spice and mocha flavors. The finish is long and supple. Blended with a large percentage of Malbec (14%) and some Cabernet, this is a really nice pick to enjoy with some air or lay down for a few years!

2015 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-19-2017
This wine has a lot going on for a $15 bottle! Produced by the K Vintners folks up in Washington, this wine could easily pass for double the price. Up front the wine is loaded with cassis and blackcurrant fruit, while the mid-palate is round and velvety. There is a fair amount of grip and backbone to this wine. Really a great value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Stag's Leap Wine Cellars "Artemis" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-17-2017
The Artemis is a blend of Estate fruit and purchased fruit from throughout the valley. The 2014 is loaded with cedar, black currants, red cherries and shows hints of menthol, savory herbs and spice, which linger on the finish. Excellent BBQ steak wine! For those with a cellar and a little bit of patience, the Artemis is a great pick to hold for 3-5 years after release. The extra time in bottle really allow this wine to flesh out and open up!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 90

2013 Antica Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Antica Cabernet is the flagship wine from the Antinori project in the Napa Valley. The 2013 is just delicious! Savory herbs, ripe cassis flavors with a lush velvety texture, this wine is just touched with toasty oak. The finish is long and sweet. Being mountain fruit, there is a fair amount of structure and density to this wine, but it shows surprisingly open and fleshy. Enjoy now!

2013 Raymond "Reserve Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-01-2017
Raymond wines always strike me as being very well rounded and supple. The 2013 is another winner from Raymond! Even more lush and fruit driven then the 2012, it is loaded with cassis, mocha, and hints of vanilla that linger on the finish. This is a great drinking Cabernet that can be enjoyed now!

2013 Groth Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-01-2017
It is always a pleasure to taste Napa Cabernet that is made in what I would call a “classic” style. The 2013 Groth is a wine like that. Instead of that vanilla bean and over-ripe fruit character, I get tons of red cherries, cassis, coffee and five spice. It is a firm, full bodied wine that shows a "terroir" driven backbone which I would consider refreshing these days.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93 WE 91

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This is my new “go-to” summer red! The aromas of black cherry and cassis jump from the glass and are followed by hints of cassis, plums, mocha and blueberries. The wine is fresh and does not come across as heavy. This will pair perfect with your summertime grilling and comes across as a $50+ bottle!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The 2016 Leoville Barton shows dark concentrated fruits, minerals, cedar, allspice and a firm structure. This is a sturdy wine with lots of power. A good cellar candidate!

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "La Sereine"
Review Date: 07-05-2017
Crisp with a lovely citrus component, this wine is fresh and lively. A very classic Chablis from a great vintage!10% barrel aging for the “La Sereine” helps round out this beauty.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay
Review Date: 06-29-2017
My two favorite wines from the Domaine Bart lineup were the “Ouzeloy” and the “Clos du Roi”. Of the two, the “Ouzeloy” was the more upfront and sweeter wine. It shows a velvety texture followed by a seductive, fresh, slightly toasty finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
BH 87 - 90

2016 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 Siran, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release.

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The 2016 shows classic Pichon Lalande aromas of earth, spice and clove. Upfront the wine is velvety, round and juicy. Elegance abounds in the mid-palate and the finish shows wonderful lift and verve. This is another example of a 2016 that far outshines 2015.

2016 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Very dark in color with intense black currant fruit, this is a wonderful Lynch Bages that far surpasses the 2015. It shows lots of power while still showing a velvety texture and mouthwatering finish. Tannins are integrated, ripe and fresh. This is the wine for the cellar but should still show well early on.

2016 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rose
Review Date: 06-09-2017
When traveling in France, there is always a risk of tasting a wine that shows amazing while on the trip but disappoints when it arrives in the US. When we tasted this wine at a lunch at Chateau de Javernand in the Beaujolais, with the weather being nearly perfect, I knew as I committed to 100 cases that this could be one of those times. After tasting a bottle here at the Los Angeles store when it just recently arrived, I am happy to report that this wine is still spot on! It is fresh, clean, very lively, soft on entry and perfectly delicate on the finish. Perfect summer rosé!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Beaune 1er Cru "Clos des Vignes Franches"
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Benoit Giradin’s Beaune “Clos des Vignes Franches” is the darkest, deepest of the bunch. It is round, rich and velvety in the mouth with hints of cherry cola and blackberries. This wine has a nice tannic backbone and should age quite nicely.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Santenay 1er Cru "Gravieres"
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Benoit Girardin took over for his father about 5 years ago. The 2015’s are the best wines that I have tasted from this propert. The aromas from the “Gravieres” just jump from the glass like a basket of freshly picked fruit. The texture of this wine is silky and elegant, with spicy red fruits that linger on the finish. Delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Gravains"
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Of Giboulot’s single vineyard Savigny’s, "Aux Gravains" is probably my favorite. 1/3 of the grapes used for this wine are whole cluster pressed, which adds a bit of grip and complexity to the wine. The fruit is explosive in the mouth with a sweet, juicy middle core which is balanced with structure and acidity. Tannins on the finish are velvety and the finish is long.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is one of the darker, juicier Savigny Les Beaunes I have had the pleasure of tasting. Lots of black currants, plums and blueberry flavors with a hint of mocha fill the mouth and linger on the finish. Quite delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes-Côtes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
What gets me about this wine is the terrific balance it shows between the ripe, fruit driven 2015 vintage and a “hands off”, classic winemaking approach. Of course this “hands off” approach works best when Mother Nature works in your favor, as it did in 2015. This wine does see 1/3 new oak, which helps to add that lush, round mouth feel that is followed by a lovely freshness.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 12-14-2016
The 1935 Morgon shows a concentration and depth that you would not expect from the Gamay grape at this price. It is well balanced, deep and shows hints of graphite and pepper!

2013 Araujo "Altagracia" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-06-2016
The blend for the 2013 is 80% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, 6% Petit Verdot and 4% Malbec. The majority of the fruit comes from the Eastern parcels of the Eisele Vineyard. The new owners have cut back a bit on the heavy toasted barrels and have switched to a lighter toast. For 2013 the fruits are dark, spicy and rich. It shows a round, velvety texture, hints of cedar and minerals and finishes with great freshness and focus.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 93

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 09-13-2016
The Renaud wines have been my “go-to” picks for many years now when I am looking for inexpensive refreshing Chardonnay. The St Veran is probably the most aromatic wine in their line-up. The mouth is round and creamy with nearly tropical fruit and hints of toast and spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vieux-Château-Certan, Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This one wowed us! Amazingly pure and elegant, with a velvety texture and seamless lush sweet core of fruit that goes on and on in the mouth; it is not a monster but the definition of elegance, balance and finesse -A blend of 80% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc and 1% Cabernet Sauvignon.

2015 La Mission Haut-Brion Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Densely concentrated fruit with hints of graphite, minerals and spice, the 2015 La Mission is very rich and sweet in the mouth yet still shows amazing freshness and purity. Could be a pick for wine of the vintage!

2015 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Love this nose! Hints of cedar, spice, black cherry and licorice, this wine is polished and pure. The mid-palate fruit is round and full with a long spicy finish. This should be an excellent wine for the cellar but will be quite approachable upon release.

2015 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Loaded with tons of red fruits and a velvety texture, the 2015 Malartic is a big time winner in my book! There are hints of minerals, chocolate and spice, the wine is full and rich in the mouth, with a super long fresh finish. Tannins are ripe and integrated.

2014 Jacques Bavard Santenay Rouge
Review Date: 05-31-2016
This is a new wine for Bavard. It shows a bit more concentration, depth of fruit and grip. The fruit here is also a bit darker and more mineral. Another excellent food wine!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 05-31-2016
This vintage shows a bright cherry character, with fine-grained tannins, lovely perfume and spice along with a very red-fruited long finish. It is fresh and lively! Perfect wine for summer sipping and will pair well with a variety of food.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Troplong Mondot, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-30-2016
2015 Troplong Mondot shows a rich, ripe and nearly exotic fruit character that is touched with a hint of toasty oak and chocolate. The mouth is broad and concentrated. This will be a good wine for mid-term cellaring!

2015 l'Evangile, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Along with 2010 Petrus and a few others, this could be one of the greatest wines I have ever tasted out of barrel. In the mouth the wine is so rich, polished and lush that it practically melts into you. Hints of cedar, cola and black currants are followed by a long, sweet and spicy finish that last for at least a minute. A blend of 84% Merlot and 16% Cabernet Franc, this wine has a nearly perfect balance between power and finesse. Wow!

2015 Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A blend of 44% Merlot, 50% Cabernet Sauvignon and 6% Petit Verdot, this wine is dark and inky in color, loaded with black licorice, mocha, and sweet blueberries. This is a big wine with lots of structure and tannin but it shows amazing purity of fruit, length and freshness. I liked this more than the rest of the group. Having recently tasted the 2005 and 1990, it is difficult to beat Chateau Palmer when it is firing on all cylinders!

2015 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This was a candidate for wine of the vintage from most of our group. It is quite open in the nose for Ducru with layers of sweet fruit, mocha, graphite and minerals in the mouth. There are firm but ripe tannins. The wine is very balanced and long on the finish. It is dense and powerful but deceptively supple and fleshy. I must buy this wine for my cellar!

2015 Petit-Village, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Aromatic nose, round and lush fruit, juicy texture with hints of mocha and black cherries; Easy to taste- soft and fleshy! This was one of the first wines we tasted on our first full day so I was a bit unsure of my notes. Luckily we tasted it several more times and I enjoyed it every time. A winner in 2015!

Page: 1 2 next