Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Belle Glos "Dairyman" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-01-2018
If you have tried a Belle Glos wine in the past you know what to expect! A fruity and very fleshy, rich Pinot Noir that coats the mouth with hints of vanilla bean, coffee and jammy fruit flavors. It is a smooth and decadent Pinot Noir that can be opened and enjoyed. Very tasty stuff!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
The term "Classic Napa Cab" refers to wines like Dunn Howell Mountain, Mayacamas Vineyards and even Groth Cabernet. If the term “Classic Washington Cab” existed then I would put the Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Cabernet in that group. We tasted the 2013 the other day and it was a reminder that while in general Washington wines can be quite rich and somewhat toasty, the Cold Creek shows wonderful precision and complexity. Planted in 1972, these vines are really producing some excellent fruit that is creating one of the best cabernet values around!

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-11-2018
Jacques Bavard has always made one of my favorite Bourgogne Blanc's. When we visited him last March, we were super excited to learn that there was the possibility of doing our private Kalinda Label with him. This is a typical example of the wonderful 2016 vintage in the region. It shows terrific freshness, bright acidity and finesse, whiles still having a fair amount of richness and body. Just in time, this is perfect to pair with lighter dishes or just enjoy as a summertime sipper!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda "Lot 2" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-30-2018
Napa Cab for under $25 is not easy to find- period. Even more difficult is a Napa Cab under $25 that tastes good. The 2016 Lot 2 Cabernet is loaded with fresh red cherry fruit, blackberries, hints of vanilla bean and a lush round mid-palate. The finish is ripe and silky with integrated tannins. Although quite fruity, the wine doesn’t come off as heavy and overbearing. It still maintains a nice balance. This is the perfect wine for your upcoming summer BBQ’s and dinner parties. They will be impressed you’re serving Napa Cab!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

2015 Mount Veeder Winery Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-21-2018
At elevations of 1,000 to 1,600 feet, the mesoclimate up on Mount Veeder is completely different than the valley floor. You can definitely taste this in the wine. 2015 was a warm year with tons of fruit, so this wine can be enjoyed now if you are looking for something to pair with your grilled meat dishes. This is a dense, full and sturdy Cabernet that should hold up well in a cellar as well.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JD 90

2015 Austin Hope Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-24-2018
Cabernet drinkers looking for an intensely rich, decadent, and seductive Cabernet will love this wine! It is loaded with flavors of espresso bean, vanilla, blackberry jam and plums. The finish is velvety with sweet flavors of raisins and chocolate that linger. This is very much made in a style similar to Caymus Cabernet. I would say this wine even takes that style a step further. Lots of wine here for under $50!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

2013 Silverado "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The 2013’s sure do impress! One of the later releases, the Silverado Estate Cabernet, is a great example of a California Cabernet that is not overdone. The fruit is full and ripe but is balanced with the rest of the wine. This is a big, sturdy Cab that shows lots of complexity but still manages to show some finesse. This should please most if not all California Cab drinkers.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
JS 93 W&S 93

2014 Chateau Montelena Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-09-2018
Sticking to its roots, the Chateau Montelena Napa Cabernet is a balanced, fresh, well rounded Cabernet that doesn’t hit you over the head with a big dose of sweet vanilla oak. The fruit, oak and tannins are all working together in this wine. Flavors of red cherries, strawberries, cedar and plum jump from the glass, while the finish is firm but not harsh. This is a great wine to enjoy now with a steak or any other red meat dish and should age quite well over the next 5-10 years.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-08-2017
I have always enjoyed the Louis Martini Sonoma Cabernet. Year after year it is possibly be the best value in California Cabernet. The step up in price for the Napa is about double but the quality is way more than that. This is a seriously delicious, rich, dense yet supple Cabernet that surprises the palate with a fleshy, toasty mouthfeel and long, lingering finish. I find the tannins silky and ripe, even with this vintage. I would have no problem enjoying this bottle now with a bit of air.

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Lots of wine for the money here- The Taken is a fairly sturdy, muscular wine that is almost reminiscent of a Bordeaux red from a riper vintage. Tannins are present but are ripe and integrated; hints of oak and lots of black cherry and mocha flavors round out this winner!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 08-23-2017
The base for this wine comes from a Dry Creek Valley vineyard planted in 1972. Since this was a year before I was born, I think even by French standards this is considered “old vines.” Deliciously fresh and juicy, the Cortina Zinfandel glides across the palate with grace and ease. There is a wonderfully purity to the fruit in this wine. It is not heavy or overbearing but still a ripe, full-bodied wine. Alcohol is under 15%.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2015 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-19-2017
This wine has a lot going on for a $15 bottle! Produced by the K Vintners folks up in Washington, this wine could easily pass for double the price. Up front the wine is loaded with cassis and blackcurrant fruit, while the mid-palate is round and velvety. There is a fair amount of grip and backbone to this wine. Really a great value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This is my new “go-to” summer red! The aromas of black cherry and cassis jump from the glass and are followed by hints of cassis, plums, mocha and blueberries. The wine is fresh and does not come across as heavy. This will pair perfect with your summertime grilling and comes across as a $50+ bottle!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Dare I say one of the best wines ever from this Chateau? Lovely freshness, juicy fruit, lots of complex mineral flavors mixed in with a ton of fresh bright fruit, this wine is still a value.

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The 2016 Leoville Barton shows dark concentrated fruits, minerals, cedar, allspice and a firm structure. This is a sturdy wine with lots of power. A good cellar candidate!

2016 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 Siran, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is one of the darker, juicier Savigny Les Beaunes I have had the pleasure of tasting. Lots of black currants, plums and blueberry flavors with a hint of mocha fill the mouth and linger on the finish. Quite delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
The quality of 2015 Beaujolais is really something special. These are wines that we all should be buying and not only drinking but cellaring as well. The Amethyste is a dark and broad wine that has a bit more structure and depth than the Vieilles Vignes. This is the perfect Beaujolais to put a case in your cellar and enjoy over the next 5 years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 09-13-2016
The Renaud wines have been my “go-to” picks for many years now when I am looking for inexpensive refreshing Chardonnay. The St Veran is probably the most aromatic wine in their line-up. The mouth is round and creamy with nearly tropical fruit and hints of toast and spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Mission Haut-Brion Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Densely concentrated fruit with hints of graphite, minerals and spice, the 2015 La Mission is very rich and sweet in the mouth yet still shows amazing freshness and purity. Could be a pick for wine of the vintage!

2015 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
This is a lush mouth coating wine; hints of coco and vanilla bean in the nose is followed by fleshy fruit that feels broad in the mouth and carries through to the finish; there are no holes in this wine; the tannins are firm but ripe and are hidden by the copious amount of fruit. This is a very solid effort.

2015 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Love this nose! Hints of cedar, spice, black cherry and licorice, this wine is polished and pure. The mid-palate fruit is round and full with a long spicy finish. This should be an excellent wine for the cellar but will be quite approachable upon release.

2015 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Loaded with tons of red fruits and a velvety texture, the 2015 Malartic is a big time winner in my book! There are hints of minerals, chocolate and spice, the wine is full and rich in the mouth, with a super long fresh finish. Tannins are ripe and integrated.

2015 Figeac, St-Émilion
Review Date: 05-30-2016
Always made in a “classic” style, the Figeac 2015 shows lots of bright high toned fruits, a focused and lean mouth feel with lots of spicy edges and hints of tobacco and sweet herbs. I would think this wine comes together nicely with some more barrel age. Should prove to be a excellent if not great Figeac!

2015 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
The 2015 Margaux is a dense, rich and powerful wine that shows a velvety texture and a long, sweet finish. There is plenty of structure and tannin here for the long haul but it is difficult to find underneath such copious amounts of fruit. Along with nearly perfect balance this definitely a candidate for wine of the vintage!

2015 Vieux Château Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This one wowed us! Amazingly pure and elegant, with a velvety texture and seamless lush sweet core of fruit that goes on and on in the mouth; it is not a monster but the definition of elegance, balance and finesse -A blend of 80% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc and 1% Cabernet Sauvignon.

2015 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This was a candidate for wine of the vintage from most of our group. It is quite open in the nose for Ducru with layers of sweet fruit, mocha, graphite and minerals in the mouth. There are firm but ripe tannins. The wine is very balanced and long on the finish. It is dense and powerful but deceptively supple and fleshy. I must buy this wine for my cellar!

2015 Petit-Village, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Aromatic nose, round and lush fruit, juicy texture with hints of mocha and black cherries; Easy to taste- soft and fleshy! This was one of the first wines we tasted on our first full day so I was a bit unsure of my notes. Luckily we tasted it several more times and I enjoyed it every time. A winner in 2015!

2015 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-04-2016
72% Merlot and 28% Cabernet Franc, this wine is toasty upfront with lots of red currants and red cherry fruit, a seamless mid-palate and a long spicy finish. This wine has a lot of finesse and elegance. Great purity and precision!

2015 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A blend of 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc, this is a seriously good wine. Dark chewy fruit, intensely concentrated, hints of black cherry and smoke but not overdone, spicy, ripe and fleshy in the mid-palate; the finish is long and fresh. Definite buy!

2015 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Very fresh and ripe nose, velvety, sweet fruit, hints of red licorice, elegant with a long, spicy finish. Complex and very fine, fresh; should drink well upon release

2015 Smith-Haut-Lafitte, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
The all black label for the 2015 will represent the 25th year anniversary of the Cathiard’s buying the property. The 2015 is dark, black in color with a rich, nearly exotic fruit profile, hints of graphite, cassis, chocolate and Asian spice. The tannins are fleshy and juicy; this is a delicious wine!

2015 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another one of the top wines from the vintage, this is an elegant, sweet and fleshy Haut Bailly. It is loaded with a wonderful core of red fruits which is complemented with hints of minerals, cedar and graphite. It is well structure and balanced and should be a good candidate for cellaring.

2015 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
One of my possible candidates for wine of the vintage! Very dark color, lovely spicy nose, hints of bittersweet chocolate, polished juicy texture with a hint of mint and savory herbs. Tannins are ripe and integrated. Very fresh and balanced with a long lingering finish- a wine to buy for the cellar!

2015 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Hints of coffee, spice and red currant fruit is followed by a rich, fleshy texture and velvety finish. This wine is juicy and spicy. Usually not one of my favorites out of barrel this is another winner from Margaux!

2015 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another winner from the Margaux appellation - The Rauzan-Segla is polished and concentrated with hints of cola, cassis and red cherries that linger on the finish. Lots of layers here – excellent focus and polish here!

2015 Giscours, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Dark and aromatic, this rich and fleshy wine shows tons of chocolate, black cherry and mocha flavors. Tannins are integrated and firm yet ripe. This is a sleeper from the vintage and one of the best Giscours I can remember tasting out of barrel!

2015 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-04-2016
As we heard from many properties in the Medoc “this is not a second wine” but another expression of the vineyards. Either way the Alter Ego is fabulous in 2015. The color is dark and inky, with black cherry, cassis and chocolate flavors that are intertwined within the lovely velvety texture of this wine. This wine is nearly exotic but still shows a wonderful freshness and finesse.

2015 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
At the right price this wine will be a great buy! As always this wine has a minerality at its core but with the 2015 its freshness and lively fruit grabs your attention. This is an elegant and sweet D’Issan that should show well right upon release.

2015 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Dark inky color, quite extracted and rich with layers of fruit that coat the mouth; Tannins are firm but ripe. Solid wine

2015 Lalande-Borie, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Another sleeper from the Bruno Borie, the Lalande-Borie is velvety, supple and lush with a round, silky mouth-feel and lingering spicy finish. This is going to drink great upon release!

2015 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A winner in St Julien, this wine is elegant and sweet with spicy red fruits and fresh, crisp backbone that holds all the sweet fruit in check. Should be excellent to drink right out of the gate.

2015 Duhart-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Most times while tasting at Lafite “En Premier” I am puzzled by the majority of the wines, including Lafite but especially by this wine. Not with this time. This wine showed sweet and savory, loaded with ripe fruit while still maintain wonderful freshness and lift. This should be a drinker right upon release but has the structure, acidity and freshness to age well for mid-term cellaring.

2015 Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Aromatic and toasty in the nose, lots of ripe fruit, velvety middle, nice balance and length. Usually a bit tough for my taste but this wine is delicious and well made. Excellent effort in 2015!

2015 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Bright and fresh with hints of lemon and orange, the Doisy Daene is clean and elegant in the mouth. It is high toned and lively on the finish. Great acidity!

2015 Pibran, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Toasty and ripe in the nose, the Pibran shows dark extracted fruits, hints of mocha and spice that lingers on the finish. Good Value!
Top Value!

Page: 1 2 next