Staff Favorites - Cliff Spinola

Cliff Spinola

Reviews

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Looking for a place to start in the Champagne category? Look no further! Thanks to the efforts of our fabulous Champagne buyer Gary Westby, we are able to bring in this great expression of the variety that won't break the bank. My go-to Champagne for every occasion; be sure to have a few bottles on hand at all times!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

Baron-Fuente "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Need a half bottle of Champagne for pre-gaming or just don't have anyone to share a full size bottle with? Here you go! Everything to love about Champagne is in this bottle, at an unbeatable price. Aromatic, toasty and refreshing, this is a great way to start any evening!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
The dry, low dosage characteristics of this Champagne make it a truly lip-smacking wine that screams for food. A great way to start your meal and enjoy with a savory amuse bouche. Baron Fuente never fails to deliver quality at a great price and you can always feel confident opening a bottle of this at your next dinner party.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
The Baron-Fuente house has found a winner in this newest offering of finely aged juice. The extra time on the lees make for a darker yellow hue, refined and concentrated bubbles, and a long, elegant finish. Combining quality and value in a bottle, the 7 is an absolute must try for any Champagne lover!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
During our staff Champagne tasting today, this one stood out for me. Based on the 2015 vintage and using their estate-grown Grand Cru Chardonnay (50% of which are reserve), this wine is supple, refreshing, and refined. It checks all the boxes of what Champagne is supposed to be and leaves you wanting for more.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
This was the bottle I brought to my Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve parties last year. There's something about Champagne in a magnum that just screams celebration! There's also a reason it tastes more refined than its counterparts in smaller formats. Longer aging on the lees adds levels of depth and complexity to Champagne that is worth the price difference -- and in this case, that is not much! A $50 1.5L bottle of Champagne is truly worthy of a celebration.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
If you have an itch for something different from the Champagne category, this is a must try! I personally never had a 100% Meunier Champagne before and I was pleasantly surprised. It had a sweet, inviting nose with hints of caramel apple that lead to a tangy and juicy mouthfeel with kick. A great value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
If you're looking for a big hitter in the mid-priced range of Champagnes, you've found it! I got some vanilla bean on the nose, tart green apple on the front palate, and a savory, medium-long finish. It is quite subtle at first, but continues to build as it opens and warms up in the glass.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Qualite" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-04-2018
As I tasted through our February club selections I came back to this Champagne a couple of times. The best way to describe this is as, "a perfect start to any occasion." Whether it's after a long day of work and starting a quiet night at home, or before an intimate dinner with a loved one, or to kick off a social gathering... this is a great wine to have in your glass to get things going! It's refreshing and uplifting with superb balance and a great mouthfeel. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2010 Vigneti Massa "Monleale" Barbera
Review Date: 01-31-2018
This is a juicy, big, bold wine that perfectly captures the essence of Barbera! It has a beautiful harmony of fruit, depth, and character that lingers on the palate. Vignetti Massa has quickly become one of my favorite Italian wine producers-- his expressions are unique and far from shy. If you're looking for something equally unique in a white wine, grab a bottle of one of his Timorassos!!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2016 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 01-31-2018
One of my favorite go to wines here at K&L! Great expressions of fresh, ripe fruit lend to a succulent, and juicy all around mouth-feel. I could open a bottle of this every day!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vigneti Massa "Derthona" Timorasso
Review Date: 01-31-2018
Our staff tasting of the wines from Vigneti Massa was truly a revelation! As someone who does not drink a lot of white wine, this introduction to the Italian grape Timorasso was an exciting new adventure. While it draws on some familiar tastes and sensations comparable to White Burgundies and Rieslings, this grape has a depth and character all of its own. This particular bottling was light, bright, with great minerality and stonefruit undertones. Slightly sweet, refreshingly crisp, this $25 bottle is a heck of a value and a great introduction to a new varietal and producer. Give it a try, and you'll want to know, and taste, more!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 01-18-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The first white wine from the Loire that I've tried during my K&L career, and my favorite! This is, simply put, a delicious, well balanced, well structured wine with layers upon layers of flavor. A perfect harmony of sweetness and acidity that lingers beautifully on the palate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 01-02-2018
The depth and complexity of this wine is off the charts for the price point. With good, dark fruit and a medium-long finish, this is a wine that I keep a case of at home for every day drinking!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 11-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
A shining star in a stellar vintage from the Duoro. The nose seemed soft and delicate to me for a 40 year old port. The first taste was packed with dark red berries and plum of medium sweetness. The long, lasting finish was earthy and divine. A classic celebratory bottle for any special occasion or just because!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-11-2017
This very developed wine has deep, earthy tones characteristic of the biggest, boldest brunellos. Very savory, rustic, and full-bodied.

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2017
I don't drink a lot of rose wine or champagnes but this was a delightful surprise. Just enough cherry and strawberry notes to give this wine a freshness without being overly sweet. One touch to the lips and your mind thinks of the fantastic pairing possibilities from savory a amuse-bouche to sweet desserts.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2017
An extra 2 years of aging on the lees really shows in this fantastic vintage champagne! A little toasty with fantastic notes of green apple, this is a delightful celebratory Cuvee that won't break the bank. Enjoy this wine this holiday season and for years to come!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2017
Right away my curiousity was peeked while sticking my nose into the glass. Distinctive floral and mineral characteristics develop into a long lasting, toasty finish with bright fruit and acidity. A steal of a deal at this price point!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2017
The wines of Ariston Aspasie are a true delight for even the most seasoned Champagne aficionado. This seasoned and developed bottle from the 2008 harvest drinks beautifully now and will for some time to come. A win-win at this price point!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 10-08-2017
As a fan of big Napa Valley Cabs, I am always looking for deals on wines that will deliver familiar flavors and feelings. This wine definitely delivers the familiar fruit and complexity of much more expensive wines. A great value now, and it will only develop further!

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 10-08-2017
A wine that I will be keeping around the house! Great value from a superb bordeaux vintage-- lots of dark, red fruit makes this wine very approachable and easy to drink while still showing the typical signs of depth and complexity of the great bordeaux grapes.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart