Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Morgan Laurie

Morgan Laurie

Reviews

2015 Douloufakis "Dafnios" Vidiano Crete Greece
Review Date: 11-28-2017
My love for and exploration of Greek wine continues! This is an amazing wine from the island of Crete. The southern most point in Europe, Crete is a wholly unique terrior lending the wines an abundance of character. From a third generation winemaker, I found this wine to be intensely floral with honeysuckle leading the charge. It's waxy and has notes of stone fruit and pineapple, with wet stone minerality. It's round but bright on the palate, and sees 18 months on its lees. This is just an incredible wine from what I suspect will be the next "it" wine producing region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Part of what I love about about working in the wine industry is changing people's preconceived notions about wine; what it should be, what it should taste like, and most importantly, what a good bottle should cost. I can shout it from the rooftops! A good bottle of Champagne does not have to cost over $60! Sure, there are fantastic bottles at that price point (and higher), but if I can find Champagne that I can afford to drink on a regular basis, I'm all about it. This is one such bottle. It's got a rich apple-y nose with a yeasty baguette note and fresh lemon to boot. The palate mirrors the nose and feels vibrant yet rich at the same time with a great balance of texture and acidity. If you love Champagne, this is one to pick up on your next visit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-28-2017
This is what I want from my Pinot Noirs! The first note I wrote down while tasting this was "yum" - not exactly a tasting note but I was impressed. This is so aromatic and enticing. It's complex and lovely. It's....just really good. Along with the fruit and warm baking spice, I get what can be described as a "clean earth" note. Like fresh potting soil. It's like if you were planting peonies and pink roses in your garden with fresh, wet earth. It's subtle, but I love me some clean earth and flowers in my wine. I already love Au Bon Climat and the fact that I can get a ridiculous Pinot from a highly celebrated estate for under $20, makes this even better. I might need one for decanting and drinking now, and one to lay down for a bit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2004 La Tempérance, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Another one of our beautifully matured Bordeaux's that can be had for next to nothing. Well, for under $15 but you get the idea. Soft, complex and showing those secondary notes from the bottle age, this wine is one of my new favorites. Sweet dark fruit, savory, earthy and well balanced. What more could you ask for?
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Back just in time for the Holidays! The grapes for the Insolite cuvée are selected from the chalkiest soils on their property in Bué. Franck and Betty (the husband and wife team behind the estate) allow the wine to macerate with the skins at close to 32 degrees to coax as much aroma and flavor as possible. On the nose the wine is fresh and racy with pronounced mineral tones, freshly cut grass, sweet green herbs and lots of fresh citrus and stone fruit. The wine has some texture, almost a creamy feel on the palate with a zippy, lively undercurrent of acidity. Considering that Dungeness crab season is in full effect, I would happily pair this with a big old plate of the good stuff, but this would work with any seafood really.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-27-2017
This old favorite is back again just in time for the holidays! Perfect as an aperitif, a bottle to toast with or something to open for friends and family who drop by, this little bottle of bubbles is sure to please everyone! Fresh, zippy, lively and full of finesse, this is an inexpensive gem to pick up a few bottles of so you'll always be prepared.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2017
In what's shaping up to be a classic Champagne vintage, this wine delivers a lot for a sub $40 price point. Clean & graceful with mid palate richness and bracing acidity. Intriguing chalky mineral notes and rich brioche add depth to the lovely array of orchard fruit. This wine is a superb value and and drinks well above its price point. Ready to drink now or a wonderful Champagne to age and enjoy down the road.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 11-12-2017
The Greek island of Santorini is one of the most unique viticulture sites in the world. One of the last super volcanoes to erupt in 3500 BCE, the island is awash in volcanic ash and lava rock inflected soil. It's hot, insanely windy and gets only about 12-13 inches of rain per year, which means growers and producers laboriously tend to the vineyards by hand. One of the islands native varietals is Assyrtiko, a refreshing, acid driven and saline tinged wine with immense ageing potential. The Assyrtiko from Santo is produced using all stainless steel to create a mineral driven, fresh white with notes of white flowers, flint and lemony citrus. This wine sees limited time on its lees, giving it a pronounced acidity and crispness. This would be awesome with garlic shrimp, grilled whitefish, octopus, etc. but would also stand up to roast or grilled chicken.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine Glinavos "Paleokerisio" Semi-Sparkling Orange Wine Epirus Greece (500ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2017
An interesting, unique and totally fun semi-sparkling wine from Greece. Unlike any other orange wine I've had, the palate on this has a touch of sweetness to mitigate the tannin that can sometimes overwhelm orange wine aka skin contact whites. It's fruity and floral, while also possessing some savory notes and a whiff of Brettanomyces. Notes of dried mango, spice inflected candied orange peel and gardenia mingle with more savory elements like olives and earthen pots. This is a very friendly entry into orange wines for the uninitiated, but would also satisfy those who are already familiar with the style. This would be killer with a cheese and charcuterie board or a Neapolitan style pizza.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Louis Roederer "Carte Blanche" Demi-Sec Champagne
Review Date: 11-11-2017
I took this home on a whim without realizing it was a demi-sec and opened it one night after bringing home a fried chicken sandwich topped with spicy wasabi coleslaw. Now, some people may scoff at a demi-sec Champagne but if anyone can do it right, it's the house of Roederer. After the first sip I immediately realized that I hadn't brought home a Brut, but was pleasantly surprised (and pretty happy) that of all nights, I decided to open this on a spicy fried chicken sandwich night! Fried chicken and Champagne is already one of those mystical high-low pairings that works like magic, but factor in a little residual sugar and spice...whoa Nelly. The wine is soft, still has some lift from a vein of acidity and elegant all at once. The fruit is ripe and creamy and it all manages to avoid being cloyingly sweet, despite the fact it's dosed at 38gm/L. If there ever was a balanced demi-sec, this would be it.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 11-11-2017
A perfect introduction to white Burgundy and one of my favorite Direct Imports, the Pouilly Fuisse from Domaine Renaud is kept fresh by utilizing stainless steel for the wines maturation and fermentation. Notes of yellow plum and citrus are complemented by crisp acidity and fresh mineral notes. Wonderful as a party wine or with white meats such as turkey and chicken.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-10-2017
For me, Rosé is an any season wine, not just one to sip during Spring and Summer. This Corsican Rosé is juicy, dry and full of ripe fruit with a slightly richer, creamier mouth feel, especially perfect for Fall and Winter months. It's vibrant berry, cherry and watermelon notes make this a perfect aperitif or crowd pleasing party wine.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
Review Date: 11-10-2017
A delicious little everyday white. Food friendly and easy drinking this Pinot Gris would pair well with everything from Holiday dinners to spicy Thai food. It's balanced between rich, ripe stone and orchard fruit and crisp, refreshing citrus. A slam dunk for any night of the week.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre
Review Date: 11-07-2017
With ideal weather conditions toward the end of the growing season the 2016 vintage has produced flavorful and fruit driven wines, especially for the Sauvignon Blanc plantings in Sancerre. This years vintage of Domaine La Clef du Recit is juicy and refreshing with an almost passion fruit like tropical note on the nose along with lime zest and ruby red grapefruit flesh. The fruit meets an intense limestone mineral component and the palate has mouthwatering, lip smacking acidity. Perfect for lovers of a zesty Sancerre, but would also satisfy those who gravitate toward Marlborough Sauvignon Blancs.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2007 Pierres Jacques Druet "Vaumoreau" Bourgueil
Review Date: 11-05-2017
This Bourgueil still shows so much life and freshness, it's hard to believe you're tasting a 10 year old Cab Franc! There is incredible complexity and I sat and assessed the nose for quite a while on this one. It has a forest floor, mushroom-y, green olive savory thing going on, along with a dried lavender type of floral note. The fruit has a blackberry and cranberry quality. The palate has a woody edge, like a cedar plank. There's structure here, but it has a softer edge to it. A really interesting wine to grab under $20 that gives you a sense of the place, the grape and how it all ages.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2009 Pierres Jacques Druet "Clos de Danzay" Chinon
Review Date: 11-05-2017
The wines of Pierre Jacques Druet are difficult to find but worth the hunt. The 2009 Chinon is earthy with notes of cedar and freshly cut fern. It has the most structure out of the line up I tasted and has enough backbone to keep it cellared for a few more years. There's a generous amount of red fruit and a lively quality to the wine as a whole. An interesting, complex wine to snag at an unbelievable price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 10-29-2017
If you're looking for a crowd-pleasing white for a get-together or party, this Sauvignon Blanc from Touraine should be at the top of your list! It's fresh and vibrant with lime, grapefruit and a sort of limestone minerality. There's an undertone of slightly under-ripe pineapple and lemon blossoms. While this is still crisp and zesty, there's a slight roundness on the palate, as this wine spends four months maturing on the lees, giving it a little bit of creaminess that makes this a great cocktail wine to drink on its own or an easy match for any number of food pairings.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2017
I've been super into whisky lately. I tend to order a different producer, style, etc each time I go out so that I can try new things with out amassing a huge collection of spirits at home. That may change with this incredibly delicious single cask whisky from Fukano. I'm going to HAVE to buy a bottle of this. The nose is clean, with salted caramel, creamy fruit undertones and a sweet vanilla bean note. The palate is incredibly smooth, rounded and supple with out being too rich. You could easily drink this neat, but it would be nice on the rocks or with a splash of water. The most easy drinking whisky I've had in a while.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rickshaw Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-23-2017
Rickshaw sources their grapes for this Chardonnay from Santa Barbara all the way up to Mendocino. Blending fruit from warmer weather regions along with fruit from cooler climates gives the wine a lovely balance of richness along with structure and aromatics. It's got citrusy, tropical brightness along with a vanilla and toast undertone from the partial barrel fermentation (20%) and 6 months in French oak. A killer wine for an amazing price, this would please anyone looking for a fresh, fruit forward wine with some texture and structure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Erste e Neue Vigneto delle Dolomiti Rose'
Review Date: 10-23-2017
Alto Adige is Italy's only wine producing region with several high quality wine producing co-ops. Other regions may have a few good co-ops, but not the concentration you find here. Erste + Neue is the product of a merger bringing together the first ("erste") wine co-op (1900) and the new ("neue") wine co-op (1925). This rosé is a blend of the regions indigenous Lagrein (20%) with Pinot Noir (20%), Merlot (30%) and Cabernet (30%). What you get is a fantastically juicy, yet dry and fresh rosé with lots of ripe strawberry and cherry notes along with stony minerality and a slight blood orange peel bitterness on the palate. This has great zippy acidity and is entirely drinkable on its own, although this would be great with a roast chicken or charcuterie.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château de Javernand "Indigene" Chiroubles
Review Date: 10-19-2017
Chateau De Javernand produces out of Chiroubles, the highest elevation of all Beaujolais Crus. The poor sandy, granitic soils, and higher elevation produce light, lifted, fresh wines that are entirely too easy to drink. Beaujolais is an incredibly food-friendly wine and a life saver for difficult pairings. Making spicy anything and want a red wine option? Beaujolas! This is like eating a basket of ripe berries while sitting on forest floor surrounded by fall foliage. There are notes of ripe juicy strawberries and raspberries along with a leafy, potpourri thing happening. This is a natural wine made without sulfur or filtration using organic grapes and indigenous yeasts. This is one of my favorite new discoveries in the store and one I'll buy again sooner rather than later!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2013 Raventos i Blanc "de la Finca" Gran Reserva Conca del Riu Anoia
Review Date: 10-17-2017
Raventós, founded in 1497, has been passed on to family since its establishment with each successive generation involved in wine making or grape growing. That in itself is impressive. Throw in the fact that in 1872 a member of the Raventós family, Josep Raventós Fatjó made the first Cava, and you're talking about a lineage of wine makers that has had a an impact on viticultural history here! This bio-dynamically produced sparkler would give any Champagne a run for its money. There's notes of toasted almonds, lemon tart and roasted golden delicious apples with a touch of brioche. The palate is rich and toasty with excellent minerality and a super dry finish from the low dosage (4gm/L). If you want to branch out and expand your sparkling wine options, buy something special for an occasion coming up, or just treat yourself to some beautiful sparkling wine, pick this up.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
A vintage Champagne for $29.99, from a highly lauded vintage no less?! Yes, you read that right. This wine is drinking excellently now but is also a bottle you could lay down for years to come. It's showing some delicious toasty, creamy qualities on the palate while maintaining mouth-watering acidity and freshness. It has an almost creme fraiche like note on the nose along with freshly pressed apple juice, caramel covered almonds, and butterscotch cheesecake. Just a spectacular showing and a bottle I'd like to see evolve over time. And while I'm waiting, I'll just have to grab a couple of bottles to drink in the meantime.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I always love when we do a Champagne tasting and today's was especially fun, tasting through some of our best values in the category. This bottle was a definite winner for me and one of my favorites in the lineup! The nose is so lovely and I just kept bringing the glass up to smell it again and again. It's floral and fresh. There's a note of cherry blossoms, saline, crisp green apples and crunchy red pears. The palate is so clean and has a really nice creaminess. What a beautiful Champagne for an amazing price! I'll definitely be taking this home to dive into this bottle a little further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Aurore Dezat "Domaine des Chasseignes" Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 10-08-2017
I tried this recently at one of our staff tastings and I was blown away! I always know I really like a wine when I review my notes and there are stars, plenty of exclamation points and lots of underlined words like, "wow" scattered about. This wine has an incredibly aromatic nose, so much so that I wrote about it TWO different times in the margins of my notes. 2016 was a very promising vintage for Pinot Noir, which provided ripeness and concentration of aromas. There's ripe strawberry, red cherries, candied red apples and rose. It's balanced and has nice soft, velvety tannin and medium acidity. I could honestly just drink this by itself and it would make a great hang out/cocktail wine, but if you're looking to pair with food it would be great with salmon, roast chicken, or even a pesto based pasta dish. If you're ordering in this would be great with pizza or Chinese food!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Laubarit Rouge, Bordeaux
Review Date: 09-29-2017
We have a lot of great deals in Bordeaux, and this is no exception. This is a lovely wine for drinking now or in a few years. The 2015 vintage in Bordeaux is considered a potential classic by winemakers and critics alike. With generous dark fruit, great minerality and well-balanced structure, this is a great weeknight wine to open when you want to feel like you're splurging.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 09-19-2017
Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is delicious and crisp with ripe peaches, watermelon, stony minerality and Rainier cherry at its core.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Review Date: 09-17-2017
Domaine Les Pins has been family owned for five generations, working out of the Bourgueil in the Loire Valley. The estate plants Cabernet Franc exclusively, and as a part of the Vignerons Indépendants de France, they are committed to sustainability and respect for their craft. They must work and harvest their own vineyard, make and bottle their own wine and maintain viticultural traditions. The care they take to ensure a quality wine is evident and this Cabernet Franc is a lovely wine to drink now, or cellar for a few years. It's soft and bright with velvety tannin and juicy acidity. An incredibly food friendly wine, this has notes of iris, violets, raspberries, blackberries and a gravely minerality. A great wine to stock up on for fall!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Coteaux du Layon
Review Date: 09-15-2017
The Coteaux Du Layon region of the Loire is dedicated to the exclusive production of sweet white wines from 100% Chenin Blanc. As a huge fan of off-dry and sweeter styles of Riesling, I found a new crush in Coteaux Du Layon. This is rich and has a nice mouth feel from the sweetness of the residual sugar, but still brings a zippy, tingly acidity to the party. There's notes of crushed pineapple, dried peaches and orange blossoms. You could go in several directions with pairings here; pair this with something like a roasted pear and blue cheese salad or drink this with anything you'd typically pair with an off-dry or Spätlese Riesling, like spicy Indian or Thai food. You could go classic and have it with a warm plum cake, or get weird with it and have this with something like Arancini di Riso stuffed with Gorgonzola. It's so tasty, I'd drink this with just about anything though.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 09-15-2017
This is a well balanced, aromatic and complex wine for under $15. What more could you ask for!? It's round and full but carries a bracing acidity to keep things lifted. It's got a great, driving minerality surrounded by notes of delicious dried apples and apricots. There's also something that reminds me of having steeped black tea alongside a pear upside down cake that I find especially appealing. The 2016 vintage in Loire is regarded as high quality. Throw an Indian summer into the mix which helped the parcels of Chenin Blanc ripen to their full potential, and you've got a particularly noteworthy Loire wine to grab. This would be great with a savory tart or a ham, cheese and asparagus quiche.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 09-12-2017
We try a lot of wine as a part of our work here at K&L (it's a tough job but somebody's gotta do it!). When I taste a wine that is so completely unique and full of personality, such as this little gem, I have to stop and sing its praises. Marie Chauffray and her husband Frederic are wine shop owners turned vintners. Marie is part of a consortium of female winemakers called the vinifilles, a group of women who own and operate their estates touching every part of the process from the growing to the label design. They are Ecocert Organic and Demeter Biodynamic certified and even print their wine labels on recycled paper. This is natural winemaking at it's finest. Smelling the wine reminded me of eating a melon salad with mint and some sort of floral honey. It's fresh, enticing and interesting. It's on the fuller side but carries enough acid to prevent it from feeling too heavy. As we like to say, "so much wine, so little time", but I'm glad I found this one sooner rather than later.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rosi Schuster Rotberger (Zweigelt) Burgenland
Review Date: 09-11-2017
Zweigelt is one of three varietals that are the main focus for the line of Rosi Schuster wines. Founded in 1979, the estate is now helmed by Schuster's son, Hannes. Working out of Burgenland, Austria's key red wine region, Hannes pursues small yields of exceptional fruit and allows both alcoholic and malolactic fermentation to occur spontaneously. I tasted this wine after it had seen a good amount of air and it was full of lively, juicy fruit with smashed blackberries, cherries and red plums. It's a little spicy and slightly bigger than the varietal is typically known for. It would be a great pairing for anything remotely resembling the hearty dishes Austria is famous for, such as Spätzle and Schnitzel. Fried chicken or a nice pork chop would be perfect for this.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-05-2017
"Pretty" is a descriptive term I use, and know I should refrain from, but when I come across a wine like Olivier Riviere's Ganko, it's one of the first things that comes to mind. Aromatic, bright, lifted red fruit, fresh, herbaceous...just pretty. It's elegant, light and delicate but still carries some structure. It's refined and drinks just like the 1er Cru village Rioja Olivier considers this to be.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Dimanches" Corbieres
Review Date: 09-04-2017
I brought this home on a whim recently and loved it. From one of the finest female wine makers in Corbières, Sophie Guiraudon, this Carignan, Syrah, Grenache blend is aromatic, plush and incredibly delicious. The three varietals intermingle to create wonderful complexity. Rich, ripe blackberry, wild blueberry and cassis blend with anisette and violets. Incredibly food friendly thanks to the Carignan heavy assemblage, this would fit right in with everything from beef to poultry to heartier vegetable dishes like lentil stew or eggplant parmigiana.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Doqi Mtsvane Kakheti Republic of Georgia
Review Date: 09-04-2017
If you're new to Georgian wines like I am, this is a fantastic introduction to one of the oldest wine making traditions in the world. Doqi is a collaboration between German born Burkhard Schuchmann & third generation Georgian winemaker Georgi Dakishrili. Doqi is one of three labels the duo produces and it combines traditional Georgian qvevri and Western style wine making techniques. Although the Mtsvane in this wine is fermented and aged in stainless steel, the history and tradition of the region is felt when tasting the wine. Produced in Georgia's most important viticulture region Kakheti, which produces three quarters of the country's wine grapes and has a unique soil called "Cinnamonic", consisting of sandy, iron rich calcareous clay said to bring a depth of flavor and a rustic, earthy note. The wine does possess an earthy florality, almost like a Gerber daisy. It's crisp and dry with notes of freshly sliced fennel, Seville orange, green apples and green almond. If you're looking to try something new, pick this up and give it a go, it's interesting and delicious.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Like a tropical dream! Mango, pineapple, guava and kiwi intermingle with notes of vanilla creme brulee. This is bright and lush, with a vibrant acidity and a long finish. For those looking for a plush California Chardonnay without the toasty quality of oak.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Cain "Cuvée NV12" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 08-29-2017
If you're a California wine drinker looking to try something new, or a lover of Bordeaux exploring Californian wines this is a great wine to bridge the gap. Hearty, rustic and balanced all at once, this wine is a great pairing for steaks, stews or burgers. Dark fruit, a little funk and some earthiness make this a complex wine that drinks well beyond its price point.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2016 Seehof Riesling Feinherb Rheinhessen
Review Date: 08-15-2017
Over the past few weeks, I've had a few customers ask for a frizzante Riesling, not quite a fully sparkling sekt, but something with a little bit of fizz. This is the wine that fits the bill! It's fun, lightly fizzy and has a touch of residual sugar from the Feinherb classification that kind of reminds me a bit of a much higher acid Moscato d'Asti. It's got ripe stone fruit, freshness and a floral quality that almost comes across as candied rose petals. This is something I'll be picking up for a catch-up session with friends this evening, as I know it'll be a hit with everyone's varied palates.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This is everything I like my Brut Rose to be. Bright red fruits with raspberry and cranberry, chalky minerality and a creamy mouth feel. The little details of the wine making process add up to a big difference in the way this wine tastes. The smallest amount of oak barrel aging and allowing the wine to age on a cork versus a crown cap give it a slightly nutty complexity that makes this wine taste like it should cost more than it does. As they say, the devil is in the details!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
One of my favorite things about tasting Champagne, besides the fact that I absolutely love Champagne, is the wide range of styles and flavor profiles you experience. This is weighty, complex and slightly rich on the palate with a long finish and a lovely acidity. It reminded me of an apple upside down cake; roasted apples, spicy, yeasty and delicious. This is definitely one of my new favorite direct imports!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

Jean Josselin "Cuvée des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This is a fantastic example of fresh, vibrant and downright refreshing Champagne. It's nuanced and delicate for those who like an understated style with pronounced minerality and under ripe green pear. It's dry, has great acidity and would pair well with a wide range of foods or by itself.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Sigalas Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This is another stunner from Greece! Domaine Sigalas focuses on native grape varieties and has been a pioneer of organic viticulture, participating in a government organic farming methods program since the early 1990's. He works most closely with Assyrtiko, the varietal this wine is made of. It's incredibly refreshing and smells like saline sea breezes and fresh lemons, exactly how I imagine the island of Santorini smells. It's refreshing, zippy and full of life. A must try for those who love mouth watering white wines!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2016 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Situated in the Minervois, an oft-overlooked region within the Languedoc-Roussillon, the winemakers at Chateau Saint Jacques d'Albas favor a more natural approach to wine making, approaching the vinification process with minimal intervention. They limit yields to produce more expressive grapes and utilize organic methods when managing the soil and the vines. What you get is an intensely flavorful wine for an incredible bargain. The blending of Viognier, Vermentino and Roussanne creates a well balanced and aromatic wine. Notes of honeysuckle, lemon zest and stone fruit pop, while the bright acid is balanced by a roundness and overall medium body. Fans of unoaked Chardonnay should give this a try if you're looking to expand your repertoire and try something new.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
Review Date: 07-22-2017
If you're like me and look forward to $1 oyster day at your local haunt, this is the wine you want to bring for your next visit. This incredibly crisp white is from the Languedoc in Southern France, bordering the Mediterranean. Along with the influence of cooling sea breezes, the varietal itself retains a mouthwatering acidity despite growing in a warmer climate. It's racy, fresh, citrusy and loaded with minerality. They are meant to be drunk young, so pick this up for your next seafood feast and drink quickly!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 07-22-2017
The wines of Domaine Franck Millet are always elegant and this is no exception. Millet is a third generation grower/producer working in the highly acclaimed village of Bue in Sancerre. On the nose, there are notes of under-ripe stone fruit, lemon and grapefruit zest and tons of minerality. Millet forgoes malolactic fermentation, preserving the zippy quality of this Sancerre. It has great acidity but also has a rounder palate due to a regular stirring of the lees for a period of three weeks to give this wine some nice roundness and body. This would be a well-suited partner for a salad with chicken and goat cheese.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 06-30-2017
This is a delightfully crisp and refreshing Sauvignon Blanc coming from the Limoux region of the Languedoc, at the foot of the Pyrenees. On the nose there are zesty notes of citrus, mostly lime zest and grapefruit. There are hints of grass, gooseberries and lots of minerality to round things out. The wine is cold-fermented in stainless steel tank to allow the terroir to shine through. Delicious with lighter fare such as seafood, cheese, chicken and salads. Great on its own as well.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-26-2017
A refreshing and bright Sancerre from one of our consistently solid producers. This Sancerre has a fresh lemon zest quality, a present but not overwhelming note of white flowers, and a slightly vegetal green note. It's got a racy acidity and finishes very dry. For those of you who like your white wines crisp, this is a must try. This would be lovely with seafood, chicken and hearty salads. Personally, I want to have a glass with a big bowl of steamed mussels. Delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Made from the same folks who produce Banshee (one of my favorite California producers), this Zinfandel has made me a convert. I'm typically not one to pick up a bottle of Zinfandel, but this is one that surprised me. It's got lift and freshness. There are a lot darker fruit notes such as plum compote and stewed black cherries along with some complexity coming from baking spice, pepper and cocoa to make things interesting. This is the wine you want for BBQ's this summer!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Don't let the bright color of this fuchsia beauty deter you from picking up this fantastic rosé! This is 100% Pinot Noir rosé from Marlborough, made using saignée. There is such a pretty nose of juicy cherry and strawberry. It's crisp, dry and perfect for light summer fare. Delicious!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Having never tried this varietal, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise! Bright stone fruit scents of yellow plums and ripe peaches were the first notes I got out of the glass. This wine is aromatic, refreshing and just plain delicious. The varietal is Moscofilero, and it come from the Peloponnese peninsula in one of Greece's most historic wine regions, untouched by phylloxera. The producer, George Skouras, a Burgundy trained winemaker for the past fifteen years has brought his expertise to Greece and is bringing his estate to the forefront of Greek winemaking. There's some really intersting complexity, with a floral note of orange blossoms and something savory to round out this charming little discovery. Perfectly enjoyable on it's own, but would also pair well with a wide range of lighter fare. Think mediteranean when pairing with food...
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92