Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Chantel Carroll

Chantel Carroll
Chantel Carroll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
This wine has it all, supple fruit, savoriness, and approachability. This Rioja is in a great spot right now, showing supple fruit as well as soft secondary characteristics, and a balance of minerality. This wine is a great example of why I am so drawn to the wines of the region, such elegance and finesse.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 92

2014 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
I really love this wine, an easy drinking Rioja. Fresh red fruited and medium bodied, with nicely integrated oak, and a subtle hint of vanilla. The palate fished with dried strawberry and a scooch of anise. A fun party wine, great with some crudite and 80's pop music.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Cune Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
Cune is one of the oldest Bodegas in Rioja, so its safe to say they make great wine. This Crianza is awesome! The thing that stood out most to me about his wine was the balance. The nose had a nice ripe raspberry characteristic, and a nice aroma of earth and spice. This is a great food wine, with medium body and great acidity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Mas Doix "Salanques" Priorat
Review Date: 12-01-2017
Yes, it is true what Joe said in the earlier review of this wine. I was impressed - very impressed. There is something so special about the Priorat region, truly an area that expresses great terroir. You get generous fruit combined with unique minerality from the soils. On the nose I got ripe black cherry, plum, black pepper and licorice. On the palate concentrated lush black and red fruits, dried flowers and a balance of minerality that only Priorat offers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
DC 98 W&S 92

2014 Bodegas Volver "Tarima Hill - Old Vines" Monastrell Alicante
Review Date: 12-01-2017
This is a great example of old vine Monastrell (Mourvedre) under $20. The nose had a lot of ripe black fruit, strawberry jam, sweet spice and a hint of olive. The palate delivered a nice amount of dried raspberry and fig, black peppercorn and a hint of thyme. The complexity of this wine blew me away, great acidity and a hearty but friendly tannin, with ample fruit. A great wine to share with friends. It's no wonder this wine received 92 points from Robert Parker!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2015 Palacio del Burgo Tinto Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2017
This is a fun and flirty Rioja! Lively lush fruit, with balanced tannin and acid. Hints of violets, juicy red berries and little cola on the nose. This wine does not see any oak, so it is very fresh and ripe on the palate. A great party wine, and under $10!!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 10-21-2017
It's back, with a 95-point rating! A generous and friendly Malbec with great structure and supple fruit. Rich, ripe black plums, mocha and balanced, toasty oak. It has a fair amount of tannin complemented by an equal amount of acid, and juicy red fruit on the finish. An amazing deal!!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 91

Deanston 10 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
This Whisky has so much character! The nose is filled with dried figs, nougat, toffee almonds, and toasted grain. I got a bit more savory notes on the palate, shaved black truffle, and bacon wrapped dates. It really packs a punch, rich with a nicely incorporated Sherry cask flavor.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Raul Perez "Ultreia St-Jacques" Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 09-27-2017
This wine was quite a delight. I was looking for something to pair with braised oxtails, and this was a perfect option. A medium-bodied wine with great acidity to stand up to the unctuous nature of the meat. The fruit was bright with juicy red apples, red fruit and toasted black peppercorns.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

Foursquare Distillery Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-26-2017
I was swept away by this rum. It is truly delicious!! The nose was full of toffee, toasted almond, a little cola, cardamom, and ground nutmeg. The palate was so smooth, and rich. It's amazing to me that there is absolutely no sugar added to this rum, because at the end all I could taste was fresh brown sugar and tamarind.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-05-2017
The Ganko is made up of a an equal bend of Mazuelo and Garnacha. As much as I adore the Tempranillo based Rioja that I am used to drinking, I was super excited to taste such a different expression of Rioja. These old vine grapes grow in the high elevation, this allows for them to ripen slowly. This wine has a beautiful nose, black fruits, mocha, dried violets, and exotic spices. It has great acidity, and nice structure. I think it would drink nicely with chorizo or other charcuterie, it would also do well to rest in the bottle for a while and drink on a special occasion.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Arboleda Sauvignon Blanc Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This Sauvignon Blanc has a lot going on! Just about 15 miles inland from the Pacific coast in Chile's Aconcagua Valley is where this vineyard is nestled. The nose has bright citrus, dried herbs, green apples and Satsumas. The palate has refreshing acidity, with candied lemon and a hint of green peppercorn on the finish.

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is a lovely wine from the Loire Valley in France. It is full of lively acidity, pretty aromatics of delicate white flowers, and fresh squeezed citrus. A great paring with fresh shellfish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is a stellar blend of Carmenere, Carignan and Pais. The Maule Valley is the largest and one of the oldest growing regions in Chile. The valley offers many different soil types and micro climates, which leads to beautiful aromatics and complexity. The nose opens up into ripe raspberries, crushed black pepper, fresh roasted coffee beans, rich coaco and sun kissed wild flowers. It has nice acidity, balanced tannins, lush fruit and exotic spices on the palate.

2016 Bodegas Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 07-07-2017
I don't have a lot of experience drinking Pinot Noir from Argentina, but my goodness this wine really sets the bar high. I was delighted as I sorted through the endless layers of fruit and spice. It had ample acidity, fine balanced tannin, a beautiful bouquet of ripe alpine strawberries, slightly dried rose petals and hints of fresh violet. This wine is ready to drink now! I enjoyed it with a couple friends and a soft pungent cheese.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 92