Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith

Reviews

2015 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 12-08-2017
My pick for best value in Languedoc-Roussillon. Hands down. The blend is 50% Grenache, 30% Syrah, 20% Cinsault, and 10% Carignan. It's built with a little more Grenache than the Bleu Velours, but absolutely outperforms its price point. The nose is full of smoky and gamy notes. The palate is all black cherry, with really sumptuous fruit and charming rustic tannins. Totally unique and one of the wines I recommend most for those looking to explore the Languedoc.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae - Old Vines” Grenache-Syrah-Mourvèdre Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 12-04-2017
Despite the fact that we've seen some killer power-reds coming out of the Roussillon this year, I've also noticed the prices have seemed very un-Roussillon. The Tessellae is the perfect answer. At its price point it has a lot to offer as a table wine: great concentration, spice, and red fruits. It has all the fruit you need without sacrificing acidity, which really anchors the wine. This wine really delivers on big fruit, putting everything else in its price range at a distant second. For those of you who love those big, rich South West France wines--this is an excellent contender for your house red.
Price: $7.98 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Famille Perrin "Les Cornuds" Vinsobres
Review Date: 12-04-2017
Vinsobres is another tiny commune making up the vast area of the Rhone Valley. Located in the far, northeast corner of the Southern Rhone, you'll find the usual varieties like Grenache and Syrah, and like its neighbor Valreas, Vinsobres is known for wines of finesse and powerful aromatics. The Les Cornuds, made by Famille Perrin (Chateau Beaucastel), is a single vineyard blend with excellent concentration, crisp, up-front acid, and aromatics of dark fruits, brambles and spice. Clean and polished, but still true to its place, it reminds me of a handful of great everyday Rhones from this year like the Delas Cotes-du-Rhone and Petite Bellane. I'm a total sucker for everyday wines that outperform their price point and have a sense of place. This wine nails it on all accounts.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

2015 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Review Date: 12-01-2017
We absolutely love the wines of Jean-Marc Lafage around here. You may know him from wines like the Bastide Miraflors, Narassa, and Albion--customer favorites that are always incredible values. The 2015 shows a darker side of Lafage. Tons of smoke, brambles and dark purple fruit on the nose, the wine showcases depth and power, but with remarkably sustained acidity. Just a hint of sweetness, melted tannins and a little bit of spice round out the palate, but overall the wine is lifted and beautiful.This another killer wine from southwest France anyone with a taste for power reds and exceptional value.

2016 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-28-2017
I continue to be really pleasantly surprised by the rosés coming out of Corsica. I never would have thought that Niellucciu, the native red grape of Corsica, to be an ideal candidate for rosé. But it works so well. The Santamaria rosé has that effortless, refreshing weight and texture. The acid here is bright and energetic, with light fruit notes of strawberry and cherry. Corsican rosé continues to really impress me, and for anyone who loves rosé from Provence, I highly recommend you check these out.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-28-2017
How awesome is it when you're tasting wine that is unique, interesting and delicious only to find out it's less than $15? This is exactly my experience with the Petroni blanc. The quality vs. price ratio on this wine is out of control. It has tons of citrus and tropical notes. It's got that very angular acidity that's particular to Vermentino, but not harsh or overly done. Lots of interesting spice notes tucked away into dark little corners. How much more French Regional can you get than something like this? Dang it, I'm so into this.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 11-28-2017
Typically, when I taste Chateauneuf-du-pape, I often ask myself whether the wine fits into the traditionalist or modernist grouping of Chateauneuf. This not to declare one better than the other, its simply way of distinguishing two different sets of objectives. Chante Cigale really nails the modernist style right on the head. When fruit, balance, and depth of flavor are the main focus of a wine and these elements are well-executed you get wines like the Chante Cigale. There's tons of dark fruit to this wine, clear and clean notes of black berry and blueberry are layered over a rich texture, with downplayed acidity and pleasing tannic structure. This packs a lot of punch for the price, and fans of power reds from the Languedoc and Roussillon should take note.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-14-2017
There is something charmingly special about Poggiarellino. I’ve tasted these wines back to 1997 vintage and I’ve always found these wines to be true Brunello, through and through. There’s the beautiful acid line, the cherry liqueur notes, savory undertones, and that deadringer mocha tone that only Poggiarellino has. The 2012 continues to express all these elements, with additional touches of earthiness and rustic tannins. The 2012 is totally approachable in the near term and an exceptional complement to food. Poggiarellino continues to be my favorite Brunello producer and the 2012 has only served to reaffirm the exceptional quality of this traditional producer.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 93

2014 Vidal "El Legado" (Legacy Series) Chardonnay Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 11-13-2017
I'm rarely bullish regarding Chardonnay from New Zealand, but this one is different. This wine draws a clean line from Burgundy to Hawk's Bay, and is a standout for anyone who loves new world fruit in an old-world package. Tons of lemon and honey on the nose, excellent, forward acidity. Beautiful oak integration and that flintiness that you almost only get from old world Chardonnay. If you like Domaine Eden from the Santa Cruz Mountains--you need to try this. If you like Hamilton Russel from South Africa--you really need to try this. Big bold, lemon drop new world flavors tied up with gorgeous minerality. I dare you to send this into a blind white burgundy tasting as a ringer.
Price: Hidden View Price
BC 96 RP 91

2013 Valdez "St Peter's Church Vineyard" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-13-2017
I've been really excited about the new wave of Zinfandel producers that are finally getting their time in the spotlight these days. Focused on lighter, acid driven styles and concentrating their efforts on historic old vines, winemakers like Morgan Twain-Peterson of Bedrock and Mike Officer of Carlisle are shedding new light on one of California's oldest wines. This Valdez Zin fits perfectly into this new wave of producers. The St. Peter's Church Vineyard in Alexander Valley was planted in the 1880's and the average vine age on this wine is 90+. Light and spicy, lifted and yet structured, this is a great wine for anyone who looking for a monumental California Zinfandel that will definitely appreciate with age. .
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 11-13-2017
I was blown about by the 2014 Tourelles De Longueville. I tasted in a line-up with other '14s that were over twice the price and it outperformed all of them. Gorgeous nose with earth and savory notes. Dark fruited with powerful acidity that I've found totally characteristic of the '14 vintage. Structured, yet accessible, this is one of the clear standouts of the '14 vintage at its price point.

2015 Chateau Puech-Haut "La Closerie du Pic" Coteaux du Languedoc Pic Saint Loup
Review Date: 11-04-2017
Languedoc aficionados take note: the 2015 Closerie is a remarkably delicious wine with rich, layered fruit and graceful power.The Closerie empitomizes the “new world style” of wines currently streaming from the Languedoc, where recent years have seen tremendous advances in winemaking and quality. This is blend of Grenache aged in concrete and Syrah aged in both new and 2nd-fill French barriques. The result is a silky wine with a concentration of dark fruit flavors, with a mild, tasteful oak influence. Smooth and accessible, yet still bold, this is a must have for those who love powerful reds from Southwest France.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 96

2014 Domaine Tourbillon "Vieilles Vignes" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-28-2017
Whenever we taste wines at K&L, I typically open a bottle or two and send out an email to the staff asking them to head over to the tasting room to sample new products. This time was different. I was grabbing my co-workers by the sleeves and dragging them into the tasting bar for the Tourbillon Wines. Everyone needs to try these. The value is absolutely unbelievable for the price. Chateauneuf tends to get pretty pricey these days, and I’ve been finding less and less to love at affordable price points. The 2014 Tourbillon totally blew me away. It walks the line between modern and traditional in the most beautiful way with bright, clean fruit notes and just enough savory hints to make it captivating. Totally well-built and delicious enough to pop tonight, this is an absolute stellar wine that is soft, supple, earthy and gamey. Oh dang, this is good stuff.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 - 93

2012 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Review Date: 10-21-2017
An absolute stunner of a wine that reveals an incredibly concentrated, dark-fruited character with a polished tannic structure. Plum preserves, blackberries and bitter chocolate notes jump out of the glass along with more refined touches of allspice and vanilla. The tannins on this wine are so dialed-in for a wine at this price--you can see exactly where this wine is going with a little age. After I tasted the wine, I went back a few hours later, and the tannins had softened considerably. This is a inky, concentrated wine that shows impressive winemaking skill, and showcases the regional character of Madiran.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-16-2017
This wine is an absolute bullseye, every single time. The level of concentration, richness and power is totally unheard of at this price range. It makes a perfect bottle to bring over to a friends for dinner, or as an everyday house red--either way its going to impress. I found it to be beautifully aromatic, with flavors of black pepper, cherries, dark fruits and dry herbs. Totally polished, sleek and effortlessly smooth, there is plenty of acidity, making it an exceptional pairing wine, and it is also jam-packed with fruit flavors, resulting in a wine that is undeniably delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2015 Domaine Viticole "Malmont" Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret
Review Date: 09-19-2017
Tucked into a small hillside to protect its vines, the village of Séguret is situated between the more recognized villages of Rasteau to the north and Gigondas to the south. The wines of Séguret may be less powerful than those of its neighbors, but they possess both freshness and structure. The 2015 Domaine Viticole “Malmont” is an excellent example of this high-value village, which offers exceptional quality in vintages like 2015. The Séguret is a blend of 55% Grenache and 45% Syrah. This wine has aromas of violets and peppery notes, with dark cherries and blackberries on the palate, all while maintaining vibrant acidity and impeccable balance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 La Source du Ruault "La Coulee d'Aunis" Saumur Blanc
Review Date: 09-12-2017
Seriously, why am I not drinking more Chennin Blanc? Especially when there are wines like this that have unbelievable complexity and totally reasonable prices. I swear there is something wrong with me. I am way into the La Coulee from La Source du Ruault. It's from a 1 hectare parcel, barrel fermented and aged. There is so much to get into here: a nose with mandarin oranges, candied lemon peel, navel oranges, honey and guava. A palate that is big, rich, heavy and intense. It may sound sweet, but is totally dry and beautifully crisp. If you ever come into Redwood City yell at me, tell me to buy a bottle of Chenin; you should probably pick one up too.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 09-12-2017
Totally unique. Exceptionally elegant. Beautifully perfumed. These were the impressions of the staff when we tasted the Marcoux CdP at our last Southern Rhone tasting. Never overly dark, but packed with soaring red fruit, aromas of lavender, and layers of strawberry and cherry notes. This is a Chateauneuf that moves towards a slightly lighter style and executes it with stunning success.

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-12-2017
I looked at my K&L purchases the other day and no big surprise--it's almost all Syrah. Needless to say, when the L'Ou wines arrived, I was extraordinarily excited. The Infiniment, Velours Noir, and Secret de Schistes are all focused on specific terroirs, each one showcasing a different site and soil type. The Infiniment is 100% Syrah grown entirely on Alluvial Marl, and the wine shows much more accessible fruit than its counterparts. Rich without being syrupy, and aromatic without lacking concentration I was surprised that this was my favorite of the L'Ou Syrahs and better yet, it has the best price of the three. This is the kind of Syrah that I am always looking to buy and comes along so rarely: it has an expression of place, exceptional value, and is downright delicious Syrah.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 94

2015 Kalinda Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-09-2017
Bar-none my favorite Kalinda offering to date. This is true Sonoma Coast pinot noir through and through. There's that agile, driving acid, a razor sharp focus, and an absolutely purity of fruit. This pinot noir holds its own against top shelf Sonoma Coast pinots and blows most of them out of the water--an unheard of feat for a wine at this price. Pinot noir fans take note: you need to try a bottle of this to believe it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Woodlands "Margaret Reserve" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 09-07-2017
Nicely aromatic. There's blackberries, brambles, and spice. Excellent concentration, good fruit intensity. A nice band of ripe, red fruit on the palate and a great finish. Very clean, very approachable. This is a good, upfront, easy drinking wine that is absolutely new-world classic Cabernet.

2015 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 09-03-2017
The 2015 Ganse does an exquisite job of walking the fine line between power of fruit and elegance of balance. The blend is 70% Grenache and 30% Syrah and its nose leans towards perfume and nuanced spice. The palate shows gracefully restrained ripe plums and figs, managing to keep the wine in balance and expressive. Concentrated and full of latent energy this is a wine I would easily drink tonight, but would only expect to improve in the next 5-10 years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 89 - 91

2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Coteaux du Layon
Review Date: 09-01-2017
I was totally blown away by this wine when we tasted it recently at a staff tasting event. I was utterly shocked when I found out the price. Sweet, but not too sweet, bright and vivid with gorgeous acidity, it's a stunning wine that is totally unique. Yes, this may be a dessert wine, but for those seeking more adventurous pairings, this wine would absolutely kill with spicy Indian or Thai cuisine. This chenin blanc is such an unbelievable value--I totally recommend it.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine L'Ostal Cazes "Grand Vin" Minervois La Livinière
Review Date: 08-25-2017
It seems like everyday we're just getting in hit after hit from Southwest France. The L'Ostal is no exception. Having a soft-spot for Syrah, I particularly this love Syrah-based blend, rounded it out with Carignan as well as a touch of Grenache and Mouvedre. The Syrah gives the back bone of dark fruit, while the Carignan brings a light rustic touch that you won't find in Southern Rhone Blends. Original and delicious. It's definitely going in my mixed case of under $20 reds I take home every month.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2016 Friedrich Becker Rosé Pfalz
Review Date: 08-22-2017
This is kind of a guilty pleasure for me. The whole White Zinfandel phenomenon of lush, sweet, and poor quality rose that was, and is still, so widely available has scared most rose lovers away from anything with even a hint of sweetness. Shoppers still continue ask whether any of our Provence roses are sweet as a rough gauge for quality. But this off-dry rose from Germany is delicious. It's not overly sweet, just enough to round out the palate and work against the zippy acidity. There's even a little fizz this wine too. Tons of watermelon and cherry notes with great weight and texture. I'm totally a sucker for this wine.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 08-21-2017
When was the last time you've had Chenin Blanc from the Languedoc? I'd venture to guess never. There's almost none grown in this region, but I'm surprised there isn't more after tasting this Chenin-based blend. It has an incredibly distinct aromatic profile with citrus, floral, and herbal notes. Big and round on the palate with a nice zap of acidity, and totally distinct from its counterparts in the Loire or South Africa. A seriously distinct and tasty wine.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 08-21-2017
For those of you who loved power-wines like the Saint Roch Kerbuccio and the Bila-Haut Roussillon this year, take note of the Domaine Cabriau. Holy smokes, I thought I had topped out on big wines until this one came along. The nose here is black pepper and meat. Stone cold. The palate is well-structured with a deep, dark blast of black fruit that totally consumes the palate. This is a wine that pushes big fruit to the brink while managing to keep the rest of its elements intact. Elegant wines go home. This one doesn't pull punches.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2013 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Unbelievable depth on the nose here. Tobacco, Tar, Anise. Great concentration, great intensity. Just a touch of juiciness. I thought the tannins would be more abrasive, but it really just perfect. It sits in pockets of your mouth and glow through the finish. What a dark, delicious wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 RP 95

2013 Rudi Pichler Riesling Federspiel Wachau
Review Date: 08-21-2017
As much as we like to triumph German Rieslings, I've had plenty of Austrian Rieslings that go toe-to-toe with just about anything coming out of the Mosel. The aromatics on this wine are a bit of a show-stealer. There are tons of white flowers and citrus bursting from the glass. On the palate, the wine comes off razor thin and super intense. The acid is off the charts here, but in a way that isn't overpowering or too extreme. An absolutely killer wine that I would happily drink anytime.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bois-Malot Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-21-2017
It's official: the ballots are in, the arguments over, the tears have dried. We have a winner. The Bois-Malot blanc is officially the best $10 white in the store. This is a wine that is simply delicious. It is aromatic with mellow tones of white flowers, green apples and vervy acidity. It has style, complexity, and a sense of place. It is totally bonkers that this is a $10 wine. If you're unexpectedly coming over for dinner, this is what I'm serving--and you're going to be delighted.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Réserve d'O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 08-15-2017
The 2014 was one of the first wines I took home when I first starting working at K&L. Its still an absolute knock-out of a wine. The 2015 is highly aromatic and intensely expressive. I found notes of tar, plum, vanilla and cherry with just a hint of bacon fat. Sweet and spicy, but clean and polished this wine is big on decadent fruit, and makes for delicious drinking. One of my go-to wines for customers because it never fails to show spectacularly.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 08-08-2017
I've had the good fortune to try 2014 on a number of occasions now and I continue to find myself totally stunned by the quality. Beautiful aromatics of black pepper and spice with just a hint of beautifully integrated oak, finishing with garrigue--the kind you only get from Languedoc wines. Looking at the varieties, I'm so surprised by the weight and body on the palate. It's light, fresh, and acid-driven in a way will kill with a good meal. Fresher and more acidic than blends from the Southern Rhone, and more interesting and complex than new-world blends, its a consummate reminder that Minervois produces exceptional wines that deserve a place at the table.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Domaine de Viranel "Trilogie" Cessenon Rouge
Review Date: 08-04-2017
OK wine geeks--here we go. This Viranel is 1/3 Syrah, 1/3 Cabernet Franc and 1/3 old vine Alicante Bouschet planted in 1939. This is a totally unique blend that I doubt exists anywhere else on earth... and it's only $10... and it's actually really good, too. There's spice, dark cherry liqueur, and a touch sweet fruit. Acid is there right off the get-go, and the tannins are soft and easy on the palate. This is an epic take-it-home-for-dinner-tonight bottle that's totally unique and really delicious.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Viranel Alicante Bouschet "Arome Sauvage" Cessenon Rouge
Review Date: 08-04-2017
In California, there's a bit of variety fever going on. Hip winemakers continue making more and more obscure varieties, searching for something different and exciting. Recently, I've been hearing a lot of buzz about Alicante Bouschet--a variety traditionally blended into wine for color and tannin. Typically, you can only get these if you're on the wineries mailing list or in a few select restaurants. But for those of use who are still interested in these unique wines I'm really excited to have this Alicante Bouschet from French producer Viranel. It's hyper-dark, full of smoky plum tones and earthiness. I expected it to be darker, but in fact was agile and energetic--inherently drinkable, and exceptionally tasty. And where those hip California Alicantes will set you back $40, the price on Viranel makes it a no-brainer.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 07-21-2017
When you taste a lot of rosés, you start to discover that many end up being forgettable. It's clean, it's dry, it's fresh--end of story. Not this one. It goes out of its way to be bigger and fruitier than every other rosé on the block. With the roaring aromatics coming out of this glass I totally would have expected a dull, flabby wine. But instead there's this beautiful acid profile that is refreshing and invigorates the fruit profile. At $10 this is a total standout on the rosé shelf.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Smith-Haut-Lafitte Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-11-2017
There are some grassy, maybe slightly musky aromas on the nose, but a nice clear, floral aroma that is able to punch through. Yet the real exciting part of this wine is what happens on the palate. I was totally blown away by this wine. It has the beautiful, refreshing body and texture. The acidity is totally dialed in and exactly where it needs to be. The fruitiness is scaled back--this wine exudes sheer elegance. The lemon notes are there, as well as some quiet tropical tones, but the texture, weight, and balance of this wine really does all the talking.

2013 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-07-2017
This is my pick for entry-level Napa Cab any day of the week--precisely because it doesn't drink like entry-level Napa Cab. The Freemark Abbey performs as well or better than other producer's single vineyard and prestige cuvees. It's dark and smoky with an underlying dark, sweet cherry component that just hits all the right nerves. It's structured for aging, but smooth enough for tonight, with a light touch of oak, and beautiful fruit expression. Anybody who wants a $30 Napa Cab should really consider jumping to the Freemark Abbey, it's a huge step up from anything else on the shelves at its price point.

2015 Chappellet "Mountain Cuvée" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 07-07-2017
I get a lot of customers who come into the store looking for a bottle of Napa Cab for a dinner they are on their way to. At $30 Napa Cab can be really hit and miss, but this Bordeaux blend is an absolute home run. This wine has tons of intensive fruit, is totally upfront an accessible, and an exceptionally balanced bottle that will wow the table from the moment it is opened. I can't stress enough the quality here, but anyone who loves full-bodied reds from Napa should really consider this a house wine whenever having guests for dinner. If you're looking to wow someone with a bottle, this is a total bullseye.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 07-07-2017
I absolutely love this producer. The 1935 is super aromatic and totally gamey. Lots of big fruit driving acid, and every-so-slightly structured tannin. Clean, delicious and at a price point that I can never say "no" to. An incredibly awesome value.

2009 Château de Chambert Cahors
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Wow. Talk about intensity--this wine is on the next level. I rarely stumble into wines that have this level of power and structure to them--and never at this price range. Whiplash acid, densely focused fruit, and a structure that will hold for years to come make this solid value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Totally loving this wine right now. There are beautiful floral aroma drifting from the glass, but on the palate--all strawberries and cream. This wine fits neatly into the Provence rose category but with a an interesting twist. The acid is forward and refreshing, but the real star here is the texture. There is a beautiful richness to this wine that makes it absolutely stand out among its peers. Crisp, balanced, and beautifully textured this is flat-out one of the best roses I've had this season.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-19-2017
I'm starting to get more and more used to 2010 Southern Rhones. In unbelievable vintage conditions, a serious wine like this gets kicked up a notch into totally different territory. The aroma has a huge amount of depth. On the palate, the structure really takes over. Tannin is hitting every corner of your palate, with acid jumping around the spots in between. This is a proper wine. A tightly coiled spring, packed with flavor that will go, and go, and go. An great example of what is capable in the Southern Rhone with ideal growing conditions. A total powerhouse of a wine that is sure to impress seasoned drinkers.

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Not as powerful as many of its Southwest France counterparts, the wine has a weight that skews much more towards medium rather than heavy. Super-smooth and very fruity, this is a nice little wine that’ll definitely be a dinner party crowd-pleaser.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Viognier lovers take note--this is an exceptional blend that has all of those stone fruit flavors and a surprising elegance. The aromatics of this wine really took me by surprise: tons of peach, apricot and pear come singing out of the glass. There is definitely some weight here along with a rich texture. The acid is medium-low, but not atypical for viognier, which makes up 60% of the blend. I hadn't had this wine in years and have forgotten what a stellar value it is. This one’s definitely going on my regular take-home list.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91