Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
If I could pick the perfect food wine, this one would be pretty much there. An incredible blend of fruit and savory notes lead this bottling to enhance almost anything you choose to pair it with. There is good base structure that is overlayed with deep fruits and slight minerality, which definitely makes this wine approachable now.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 92

2016 Grove Mill Sauvignon Blanc Wairau Valley Marlborough
Review Date: 12-01-2017
One of the few Wairau Valley specific bottlings we have for Sauvignon Blanc, this is a great example of regionality. Wairau is considered warmer than the Awatere Valley just to the south, but the bright juicy acid in this wine will bring to light what a cool climate site NZ really is. This wine is a great alternative for lovers of Greywacke ad Cloudy Bay, as it exhibits those notes that thrust NZ into the Savvy spotlight, including tropical fruit, slight herbaceousness, and stunning minerality.
Price: Hidden View Price
BC 96 DC 96

2013 Kay Brothers "Hillside" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 11-13-2017
This is the very definition of a classic Shiraz from one of the most well-respected and oldest producers in McLaren Vale. It has a rugged, yet polished feel to it, clearly letting the land the grapes were grown in shine through. The centuries of practice this winery has had to perfect it's Shiraz have clearly paid off with a wine that showcases the best the varietal has to offer. Rich, but not fat, earthy, but not harsh, this is the epitome of balance and a beautiful example of what happens when McLaren Vale fruit and years of winemaking experience meet up.

2015 Penfolds "Bin 389" Cabernet-Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 11-05-2017
What an unconventional, but genius combination of varietals to blend into one wine! Often what is missing from Shiraz can be the erathy tones and structure that Cab showcases so well, and Cab Sauv's fruit can be lost behind the tannin and savory notes. To combine these two perfectly balances the best qualities of both so the sum is greater than their parts. This has the fruit from the Shiraz that makes this big wine more approachable now, but the backbone from the Cab to hold up to whatever you pair it with. Nothing flabby or overdone here. Just extremely well-balanced, tasty, tasty wine.
Top Value!

2015 Shaw + Smith "M3" Chardonnay Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-30-2017
The two man team behind the Shaw & Smith wines have really come onto something great in their winemaking style. This Chardonnay comes from coastal vineyards and the cooler site is really reflected in the bright, high acidity present. That acidity is not overwhelming however, thanks to the aging on lees in French oak. This gives some good weight to the wine and draws out the fruit characters as well. I'm loving this producer now and if you're a fan of Chablis, this is right up your alley.

2014 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 09-30-2017
This is a great alternative to Domestic Pinot Noir for people looking to expand their scope and knowledge. Fruit-forward and soft on the oak, this Pinot is approachable, yet shows enough body and structure to keep it from being flabby. A great one to try if you've found other NZ wines to be too high in acid in the past.

2014 Trinity Hill "The Trinity" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 09-30-2017
Trinity Hill has stood out to me as one of the highest end, most serious producers in Hawke's Bay, and this $10 red is a good indication of why. To produce this quality of product at their least expensive level blows me away, as I know this would be considered a top-tier wine for many wineries. It shows medium body with a good amount of structure and acid. The fruit is present, but definitely not overly dominant. There is power to this wine that comes from deliberate, careful winemaking and this certainly does not feel like something the winemaker had to produce to hit financial obligations. I'm excited to see consistent, spot-on winemaking from Trinity Hill from their $80 Homage Syrah to this $10 red blend.

2015 Shaw + Smith Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-30-2017
This is a very elegant Pinot Noir from a higher elevation site. Its location gives it lifted, bright acidity and a strong spicy quality. Sweet, soft fruit complements the acid and spice and they all feel perfectly in balance. This really is phenomenal Pinot Noir, more similar to Burgundy than California. Would be a fantastic dinner or gift bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 JS 95

2014 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Grown on a high elevation in Adelaide Hills, this Shiraz is nothing like one you would find in Barossa. It's leaner, higher acid, bright, with juicy, but not big or flabby fruit. If you are hesitant to try Aussie Shiraz because you think they might be too jammy, this is THE ONE you want to get your hands on.A winner and a great food or cocktail wine.

2016 Shaw + Smith Sauvignon Blanc Adelaide Hills
Review Date: 09-26-2017
Grown in a high elevation vineyard in the Adelaide Hills, this Savvy definitely highlights the cooler climate with bright acidity and zippy citrus fruits. This is not your typical Sauvignon Blanc from Australia and not one you will find by many other producers in Oz. This is more akin the Sancerre than to other whites in the same area. It’s expressive, vivid, and juicy. A great choice if you’re looking for something different or are new to Adelaide Hills.

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This bottle of Champagne defines balance for me. I think it is the perfect blend of fruit and acidity, while still showing depth and richness from the Pinot Noir. I think this is an incredible value and is the absolute perfect choice for an occasion, not only because of the great price-point, but because it exhibits qualities that could please even the most discerning palate. This is my new house sparkling for sure.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2017
All of the elements you would expect in a complex and pricey bottle of Champagne come in this wine at a truly unbelievable price. A vintage Champagne that is fully aged in oak barrels from such a well-respected producer almost always costs twice this much. This vintage of Brison is made by a phenomenal female winemaker, Delphine Brulez, with an extensive background in both the science and art of great Champagne making and it really is a labor of love for her. A wonderful balance of soft fruit and richness without being heavy, this wine is drinking fantastically now. The Pinot Noir adds a great depth and the Chardonnay keeps it bright and energetic. A great choice for the hot days of Summer, but will also lead you right through the Fall.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Red fruits really dominate this wine, making it a super fun, approachable red blend that's just rockin' for Summer and rolling into Fall. Juicy bright fruit and a medium weighted palate are showcased and the flavors are really expressive and punchy. This is certainly an easy-drinking, but not over-simplified, wine which would be as fun to drink with food as it is on its own. I will definitely be happy to drink this one any night of the week.
Top Value!

2016 Arboleda Sauvignon Blanc Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This Savvy is extremely expressive with the fruit and bright acidity punching right out of the gate. I loved the tropicality of it and the minerality lended to it by its coastal clime. The fruit is juicy, energetic and fierce and the mouthfeel is full thanks to its time in both stainless steel and French barrique. This is a fun and lively Sauvignon Blanc and an absolutely perfect Summer wine.
Top Value!

Arette Artesanal Blanco Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 08-18-2017
This tequila really showcases the pure, bright flavors that agave is known for when not muddled by added sugars or over-manipulation. With a lighter finish than many of the other tequilas on the shelf , this Arette Suave Blanco lends itself to sipping on its own quite nicely, without being overwhelmed by alcohol. Though I find it would do equally well in a cocktail since its lighter style can help it blend seamlessly with other elements without being an overpowering presence. The Arette is back in stock, but with its ability to appeal to such diverse tastes, it is sure to be gone again soon.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Pahlmeyer Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 08-11-2017
This is what a perfect Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend is supposed to taste like and Pahlmeyer has become my benchmark against which I measure all others. There is incredible depth and complexity in this wine, while being simultaneously velvety and soft. Most importantly, this wine is just incredibly delicious, balancing strength and elegance and present, but not jammy fruit. A phenomenal wine that I would feel privileged to drink again and I think people will find this vintage turned out much better than some expected.

2014 Woodlands "Margaret Reserve" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Wilyabrup Valley is essentially the Rutherford Valley of Australia, i.e. it's one of the highest end sites in the region, and this wine definitely lives up to the region's reputation. This is a powerful, but refined Cabernet with plenty of fruit character. Margaret River can at times produce wines that are too woodsy and vegetal, but Woodlands hits the nail on the head by pruning the vines correctly and picking at just the right time. Margaret River wineries are well on their way to perfecting their Cabernets and the "Margaret" from Woodlands certainly deserves the high scores and praise it has gotten. Absolutely delicious wine!
Top Value!

2013 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-02-2017
The reviews on this wine are phenomenal and for good reason. This Chardonnay from one our our top Aussie producers is energetic and dynamic, while remaining elegant and refined. The price on this Chard is lower than you'll find anywhere else and I will be taking advantage and picking up some of it for gifts and elegant dinner parties. It shows fantastic balance and nuance of flavors, with just a touch of oak and brioche flavors complimenting the stone fruit. Even if you are not familiar with the Leeuwin label, I encourage you to give it a try and don't think you'll be surprised that it stands up to any high end Chardonnay from California or Burgundy.

2014 Man O' War Bordeaux Blend Waiheke Island New Zealand
Review Date: 07-25-2017
It's awesome to see a wine from Waiheke Island stateside, especially at this price as they are often much higher, simply due to the cost of getting them over here. This is a smooth, soft, deep-fruited red blend that would pair greatly with a steak dinner. I love that it has some soft tannin and juicy acidity to give it structure and brightness, but overall it's silky and perfect for different kinds of red lovers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2012 Tour Léognan, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-22-2017
I was very happy when I found myself lucky enough to be handed a bottle of this wine to try. It shows a good amount of soft fruit and the tannins are present, but not overwhelming or harsh. I found it to be very approachable now, which is not always the case with Bordeaux only 5 years old. It has many of the Cabernet characters I look for and I would definitely turn to it for a steak dinner any night of the week, especially at this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2017
I picked up a bottle of this and had it over the weekend and it was the perfect choice for the warm California summer we have been having. It was incredibly bright and fresh and had super juicy tropical fruits. The minerality and acidity really brought it to life and the bursting fruit quality smoothed it out and made it incredibly easy drinking. It's a smashable wine, but also a very interesting one at the same time. A great NZ Savvy, perfect for warm summer nights. Loved it!
Top Value!

2015 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Along with the Penley Shiraz we carry, I was blown away when I saw the price on this wine. This is an absolutely delicious Cab from an old school producer and one I would be happy to present at any event, especially at this price point. It's deep and the Cab Sauv woodsy qualities shine though without overwhelming the fruit. I found it layered and interesting and was super excited to see this as the entry level wine for such a well respected producer. If this is how good their least expensive wines are, I can't wait to see the higher tier bottlings.
Top Value!

2015 Penley Estate "Atlas" Shiraz Coonawarra
Review Date: 07-10-2017
I was shocked after tasting this wine when I saw what it was priced at. I think this is an unbelievable deal for what I consider to be one of the better Shiraz's I've had this year. There is a lot of complexity in this wine and it hits all the elements I look for in a Shiraz. I appreciate the weight, but at the same time it's not overly ripe or flabby as some warm climate Shiraz's can be. The bottom line is, it is utterly delicious and something I'd be happy to pick up for any crowd.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Yalumba "Triangle Block" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-30-2017
This is an incredibly unique take on Shiraz from Yalumba. This winery has knocked it out of the park with a wine that is mineral driven and more elegant than many Barossa Shiraz's. This wine exhibits the richness that Shiraz in Oz is known to possess, though it manages to do it without any of the overly ripe flabby character. I was pretty blown away by the price on this guy given the value I think it brings to Aussie Shiraz. If you are unfamiliar with Eden Valley, this is the perfect, affordable wine to bring you into the fold.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 93 VN 90

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I was extremely fortunate enough to go through a tasting of the Launois Quartz with some fellow staff members the other day, which markedly demonstrated the undeniable benefits of letting that Champagne sit for a year before popping it open. I have been told to follow the same principle with this Launois and if the extra aging time improves it, I can only image that this will be one of my favorite wines of all time. It is phenomenal now, but because it contains that backbone of acidity, it can age for decades and will unbelievably only get better. Like Gary Westby, I am going to have to hide it to keep from opening it tomorrow, but I know it will be so worth it when I do.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tahbilk Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Nagambie Lakes Victoria
Review Date: 06-26-2017
I cannot stress enough the incredible value I think this Cab is for the price it is listed at. It is a legit Cab Sauv with soft oak notes and rich fruit. The tannins are subtle, but the complexity is there, detailing the experienced winemaking, as this is a hard balance to hit. This Cab tastes as though it has aged for years as it holds the complexity I look for with the softness of long-lasting wine. This producer should be on your radar if it's not already.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94 WS 90

2014 Dog Point Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The incredible scores this Pinot Noir has received are well deserved in a wine such as this. This Pinot is incredibly soft and supple and is sure to be a favorite of any Pinot lover. It is velvety in mouthfeel with deep fruit and a slight woodsy character. It has a well-balanced nature and a long lasting mouthfeel. I truly feel this wine would please most palates with its approachable yet sophisticated style.

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Absolutely lovely Provencal Rose that will be perfect for almost any occasion this Summer. It is bright and high acid, while still showcasing brilliant fruit and minerality. A good balanced, lighter style wine that stands out apart from many of the other Provence Roses out there.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is a great find right now as very few stores have this wine available for purchase. This Champagne is made from all estate fruit and is fully barrel fermented. The vintage was a unique one, with early bud break, but luckily no frost, though it was cold and wet. Harvest came early though in August, but acidity levels remained high, which has allowed this wine to age beautifully over the last 10 years. It's still showy pretty racy, though it now has some good richness. This would be a great one to pick up and see how it develops over the next 10 years. An absolutely fabulous offering from Bollinger.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
I find this to be one of the most interesting Champagnes we have on the shelves right now because of how many different notes and tastes it possesses. While Bollinger is one of the larger houses in Champagne, they are absolutely one of the best. The amount of care and work they put into their Champagne is unreal and the dedication to quality is beyond almost all others. The average age of the wine in this bottle is ten years old and one third of it is barrel fermented, which is far less common in Champagne. Topping wine in this house is kept in magnum bottles, separated by cru and vintage, which means they have to pop every single one when it comes time to add dosage to the bottles. This painstaking work results in an unbelievable wine and one I would be happy to have anytime.

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
Vintage Champagne can be difficult to come across as it accounts for less than 5% of production, so when you find a vintage bottling this delicious, that makes it all the more special. K&L Champagne buyer Gary Westby introduced me to Baron Fuente and it was a light bulb moment in how complex and interesting vintage Champagnes can be. This bottling is a unique blend of estate fruit (which is rare for a house this size) made of 45% Chardonnay, 40% Pinot Meunier, and 15% Pinot Noir. This is a delicious balance and a great value for a vintage Champagne.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is a rare example of a Champagne that can appeal to any person and style of Champagne drinker. This bottling is made from all estate fruit, with a slightly higher percentage of Chardonnay (60% Chardonnay, 40% Pinot Noir) and spends four years sur lees. All of these elements together, from the higher acidity of the Chardonnay, to the richness and heavier mouthfeel of the lees aging add up to create an extremely well-balanced Champagne. Charles Ellner is a great producer that should be on everyone's radar, whether new to Champagne, or an old pro.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This Champagne exhibits the very highest end of production from one of the great Champagne houses. It is literally the best parts of their production from the 1997, 1999, and 2002 vintages. The aromatics in this bottle are some of the most expressive I have ever come across in any Champagne and the 50/50 balance of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir give it incredible balance and roundness. A special bottle and a wonderful alternative to other tete de cuvees on the market.

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
The "La Cuvee" is one phenomenal release from well-known and highly regarded Champagne producer Laurent Perrier. Aged three and a half years on the lees, this wine exhibits the dedication LP shows to the quality of their Champagne. They have chosen to hold this wine back until it is perfected, rather than release it before it has had time to fully develop, even if that means potential years of lost income. The bottling exhibits a juiciness and fuller body than their "Brut" sparkler, but is still bright and lively from the acid-driven Chardonnay. While many Champagne houses believe great wine is made in the cellar, not the vineyard, LP shows a dedicated respect to the fruit in their bottlings, with the Chardonnay in "La Cuvee" being of exceptional quality. This is a special bottle that is still incredibly affordable and available for everyone to enjoy.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This Champagne offers quite an amazing value for the price when you consider the value of the Chardonnay that goes into this bottling. This is a great choice for one of the big-name Champagnes as a lot of care and work goes into producing this wine. This guy spends three years on the less, which is not required for a non-vintage Champagne and just furthers shows the dedication of LV to producing great Champagne.

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This bottling presents an amazing steeliness and edge for being composed of wine from the 1999 and 2002 vintages and having been aging in the bottle for as long as it has. Combine this with a barrel fermentation, when Fallet-Dart uses stainless steel on the rest of their sparklings, and you've got a wine that absolutely defied my expectations in a really good way. The Chardonnay in this bottling comes from their Clos du Mont vineyard, which is prized as some of the best fruit in the village and it truly shows through here. An amazingly balanced bottle of Champagne, that not only tastes incredible, but is crafted with years of diligence and care over value for high production.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1999 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
Even though this Champagne is made from majority Chardonnay (70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Meunier), it exhibits terrific weight and richness from the age in bottle and years on the lees. This bottle really shows how the team at Fallet-Dart has perfected the art of making ageable Champagnes in any vintage because they have managed to retain a balance even as the wine mellows out and softens. This vintage is showing the qualities of an older Champagne, exhibiting much more of the brioche and nutty quality than a younger one, yet still manages to come across as fresh and lively, even 18 years later. Definitely one for vintage Champagne lovers to try.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This Champagne hits all of the elements for me that I expect in a great sparkling and is one of the most well balanced I have ever come across, which is incredibly rare at this price. Fallet-Dart is situated in the far western, slightly lesser-known village of Drachy and this wine benefits from being made from only fruit grown on the estate. With up to seven years aging on the lees, this Champagne exhibits fantastic body and depth and the Pinot Noir heavy blend really showcases that varietal. The Chardonnay brings brightness and acidity and rounds of the palate fantastically. Definitely my favorite Fallet-Dart and at this price can be one approachable for any Champagne lover.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
The Fallet-Dart house has a mind blowing history with 17 generations behind the line to perfect their Champagne and perfect it they have. With majority Pinot Meunier and four years of aging sur lees this bottle shows a richer, toastier style while still showcasing brightness and freshness hard to achieve with this blend. I love that Fallet-Dart is not afraid to experiment with a Pinot Meunier heavy blend, though it is not by chance it turned out phenomenally with the clear dedication and hard work in the craft they put in year after year.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Neil Ellis "Amica" Sauvignon Blanc Stellenbosch
Review Date: 06-05-2017
This is an absolutely killer Sauvignon Blanc from one of South Africa's most well-known wine regions. Juicy and expressive, with layers of complexity, this wine is sure to rival any high end Savvy you've had. Really one of the best versions of this grape I've seen coming out of South Africa in a while.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-06-2017
This is an incredible value for a vintage Champagne that comes with so much complexity and aging potential. Right now this wine is zippy, mineral driven, and bright, with rich undertones and steely drive. In a few years I image the vivid acidity will mellow and the wine will become softer and even more complex while still exhibiting freshness. 2008 is proving itself to be one of the most interesting Champagne vintages in a while and at this price, I will be picking up a few bottles, both to drink now and to hold onto. Can't wait to see what this wine will exhibit in a few years!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 04-22-2017
It's easy to see why the Torbreck winery has stood the test of time with wines like these. Definitely crowd-pleasing and a good representation of the popular style of Shiraz coming out of the Barossa. This wine is not shy with its fruit and depth and has some structure and spice that play up those qualities nicely. If you are looking for a light bodied, lean-style wine, this is definitely not for you. It is unabashedly big, but seems to represent that style very well. A great BBQ wine and something many tastes will enjoy.

2016 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 04-19-2017
A truly delicious Riesling that possesses a near perfect blend of juicy sweetness and crisp acidity. It is fresh and zesty and incredibly easy to drink thanks to the later harvest pick that adds character, depth, and a higher residual sugar. Andrew Hedley is the master of Riesling in New Zealand, making wines ranging from bone dry to dessert, and this sweet spot right in the middle is my absolute favorite. This is one I'd be happy to have any night of the week all year round.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 97

2015 John Duval "Annexus" Old Vine Grenache Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 04-19-2017
What a unique and fascinating wine we are fortunate to be able to provide to customers. This old vine Grenache come from a mix of 130 and 80 year old vines, and the character of those years really shines through in this wine. It is complex, lifted yet concentrated, delicate, and has an absolutely elegant finish. Rich red fruits mingle with spice and and underlying acidity to produce one of the most engaging wines in the store. If you are looking for a wine that is both captivating and incredibly delicious, this should be your first choice.

2015 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is a killer BBQ wine and should not only be at all of your Summer parties all season long, but can take you into Fall and Winter as well thanks to the deep, slightly spicy fruits. Even though Hawke's Bay is one pf the warmer appellations of New Zealand, it is still quite cool, thanks to its very southerly position on the globe. This ensures that all of its wines retain a good amount of acidity, which means you can produce a killer red blend like this at only 13.5% alcohol. The red shows great structure, but is not heavy or flabby thanks to that preserved acidity. The different characters from the 3 vineyards play epically into this and give great depth and character. This is definitely something I will be drinking over the months to come.

2015 Framingham: F-Series Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is a killy Savvy from one of New Zealand's most exciting producers. The fruit is coming off a malnourished, stony part of the vineyard, which may not sound like ideal conditions, but actually forces the vines the concentrate all their energy into the flavor of the grapes, because they struggle in that environment. The Sauv Blanc is light and bright with great concentrated fruit and no vegetal character thanks to a lot of leafing in the vineyard. Andrew Hedley is a minimalistic winemaker utilizing wild yeast fermentation, neutral barrels and extended lees contact to give depth and body to the wine. Finally, a different expression of the most popular NZ varietal and definitely something to put on your tasting list.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RC 92

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is a very serious Pinot Noir and its complexity rivals that of many $70 Pinot Noirs. The fact that 2015 was a very small, concentrated vintage really is showcased in this wine with layers of flavor unveiling with every sip. The team at TWR care deeply about their wines and how they are farmed and aim to create wines of true place and substance rather than a pretty label. If you're looking for an authentic NZ Pinot, look no further. These guys are putting Marlborough on the the map for stunning, premium Pinot Noir.
Top Value!

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is one my absolute favorite Sauv Blancs from any country and it's a bonus that it also comes from one of my all time favorite producers. This wine packs a lot of flavor in, thanks to low cropping in the vineyard, which concentrates all the energy and flavor into the grapes instead of the canopy. It possesses loads of tropical fruit notes and is juicy, bright, and fresh. Subtle herbal character is present thanks to the soils from the Awatere Valley, but overall the vegetal qualities are low thanks to heavy leafing in the vineyard. The people at TWR are farmers and really care about making quality, organic wines instead of something fancy and overblown. A truly great Sauv Blanc.
Top Value!

2014 Elephant Hill Hawke's Bay Syrah
Review Date: 04-17-2017
This vintage of the Elephant Hill Syrah is blend of 3 vineyards from around Hawke's Bay. This combo really helps to give the wine a great sense of balance with elements from all 3 vineyards and a true expression of the appellation. This Syrah has meaty notes that are balanced with stunning purity of fruit. Spice and structure from the small percent whole cluster shine through and the fruit is weighty and dense without being overly ripe or flabby. A killer red from a very highly regarded NZ producer, this wine showcases why Hawke's Bay has the stellar reputation it does from producing stunning Syrahs.

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 04-03-2017
There is no more perfect way to usher in the warmer weather than with a fantastic Rosé from one of our favorite NZ producers, TWR. Darker in color than the 2015, this vintage showcases the standout qualities of the single vineyard this wine is sourced from in Marlborough. Rich, juicy fruit is king is this Pinot Noir Rosé, which has a touch of acidity and minerality to balance it thanks to New Zealand’s cool climate. An excellent choice for a spring or summer dinner, this wine can hold its flavor against many different dishes. This is definitely one of the top Rosé picks in the store!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next