Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Fromm "Clayvin Vineyard" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-16-2018
It's not difficult to understand why fruit from the Clayvin vineyard is the most highly sought after in Marlborough by nearly every winery after you taste this wine. This bottling is very classic Clayvin, with rich, deep, succulent fruit and a crazy long palate. Not showing quite as brambly or mineral-driven as the "Fromm vineyard", this bottling has the advantage of appealing to almost every style of Pinot drinker. The vines are hitting their stride and producing some very complex wines at this stage, and the breadth is only aided by the power the rich clay soils give. A winner in every sense and one I'll be purchasing a few of both to try now and to cellar.

2016 Fromm "Fromm Vineyard" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-16-2018
My colleague Ryan Woodhouse was certainly spot-on when he said this is a Burgundy lovers Pinot Noir. It definitely carries with it a savory undertone, with lean fruit and mineral-backed structure. The soils in the Fromm vineyard are not as giving in rich fruit as the Clayvin vineyard, which I think is great as it provides for a completely different, equally as interesting wine. This one is definitely made for food and lucky for us, it is drinking phenomenally now, but for those who can hold it, your patience will not be in vain.

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-14-2018
It's not hard to see why the winery would create a wine like this to honor their winemaker who has been with them for decades now. It has everything you could want in a high-end Pinot Noir - great freshness of fruit, a beautifully long acid line, and subtle dusky tannin from the whole cluster addition to bring up the intensity and round out the structure. These are the best of the the best barrels from that vintage and a truly great homage to one of the best winemakers in New Zealand.

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-14-2018
Fans of the Wanaka Road Pinot Noir from Mount Edward should make sure to get their hands on the TED. This wine shows incredibly liveliness and energy and is a blend of Pinot grapes from Mount Edward's top vineyards. I can't believe this is their "entry level", with such an array of tasting notes and multitude of interesting flavors. This is unique from the other Pinots we have on the shelf and nice that you don't need to hold onto this one for years before its ready. Drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 90

2016 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Coonawarra is one of the most unique sites in the world for Cabernet and this wine reflects the flavors of their unique Terra Rossa soils. Australians are making Cabernets that are medium bodied, and they very intentionally set out to make them fresh and bright. It certainly has the fine tannin building up in the background to remind you it's Cab, and the fruit and herbal notes create a lengthy, complex package. The initial barrel aging this wine undergoes provides roundness and power, and the following six months in stainless steel brings a youthful quality to the wine. There are no holes in this wine, it encompasses the whole mouth, and you are left wanting for nothing. Another fantastic vintage from this incredible winemaking team.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2016 Arboleda Pinot Noir Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This is a truly unique and interesting wine coming out of Aconcagua. It is packed with flavor which leans more toward the herbal and savory side, though the fruit is not lacking, it just isn't overwhelming. The use of only 10% new oak is spot on to soften and smooth the body, without covering up the delicate flavors with woodiness. I love the spice character because it manages to be powerful and elegant simultaneously.

2011 Foundi "Estate" Xinomavro Naoussa Greece
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This is one of the best red Greek wines of any variety I've ever had. There is a hefty dose of structure from the grape tannin here, though it comes across as an integral part of the grape, not as a competing force. Savory elements balance against dark red fruits and the unique flavor profile is exciting and atypical. This is going to make an excellent food wine with its brambly, herbal character.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 DC 91

2015 Domaine du Somail "Vin de Plume" Minervois
Review Date: 07-17-2018
Deep purple/black fruits and peppery spice are the stand-outs here. The 20% Syrah adds richness and depth and the 80% Mouvedre gives depth and structure. There is a lot of wine here for the price. A unique wine from a unique region that is screaming for rustic French cuisine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 07-17-2018
What's better for warm Summer weather than fresh, juicy Sancerre Blanc? Fresh and flinty, almost tropical in nature, this wine is crushable, but sophisticated at the same time. White flower notes complement the zippy acidity and the stony soils give drive and length.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Jospeh Faiveley Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This wine is mighty fine for a non-village-specific red Burgundy. A little chewy, dusky, with dark fruits and a medium body. This is definitely an Old-World style, with more savory than fruity character, and a long finish. A winner from one of my favorite producers on the Burgundy shelf.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 07-17-2018
Just when you might think white Burgundy is getting over-hyped and over-priced, you come across a wine like this and fall in love with it all over again. There are still a few unbelievable finds from Burgundy and this is one of them. This is the classic style with everything you want from Burgundian Chardonnay. Fresh, lifted, bright, smooth, and nuanced. I'm stocking up on this unbelievable vintage, knowing it tastes great now, but will remain lovely for years to come.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Baracchi "O'Lillo!" Toscana
Review Date: 07-17-2018
Those looking to delve into the world of super Tuscans without wanting to pay the high price tags many are going for these days should definitely give this one a try. The Sangiovese character still dominates here and that makes this the ultimate Summer/Fall food wine. A budget Super Tuscan with these incredible flavors, yes please!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Montes Alpha Pinot Noir Aconcagua Valley
Review Date: 07-17-2018
Fans of the New-World style of Pinot will undoubtedly love this one. This wine shows lovely dark fruit and a fresh palate. I expected the rich fruit to be accompanied by a softer, fatter mouthfeel, but there is a lot of lift and life here. California Pinot lovers who are getting tired of the ever increasing prices will be ecstatic to come across this deal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This is a great alternative to most of the wines you currently find coming out of California. I haven't seen an over abundance of white Rhone blends coming out of the Central Coast, so it's fun to encounter something with unique notes and flavors. Fans of a richer, softer style aromatic white will find something to like here.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The Yarra Valley continues to shine with its cool climate wines and this Chardonnay is no exception. Coming from the Upper Yarra, in the coolest part of the valley, this single-vineyard Chardonnay displays great depth, with a broad palette and an incredibly long finish. The Willowlake vineyard is one of the oldest in the area, originally planted in 1981, and the great concentration of fruit is evident of how developed those vines have become. In Napa, vines of this age would have been grafted over 3-4 times by now. There is more acidity here than I expected when first tasting this wine, which I was so excited about, because I knew this wine would be a powerhouse for years to come. It's nearly impossible to find an under $20 Chardonnay of this caliber with these high critical reviews. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

2015 Walter Hansel "Cuvee Alyce" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-10-2018
Fans of rich, opulent California Chardonnay will go gaga over this wine. It shows lush, toasty, vanilla and cream notes with an unexpected lift from green apple acid. Walter Hansel has become a go-to for this style for very good reason, they do it right there. This is a good example of the style Russian River is producing and is showing brilliantly right now.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 93

2015 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-10-2018
I was super impressed by this almost half and half blend of Cab Sauv and Merlot. It is showing quite lovely now, with nice structure, a clean finish, and rich deep fruit. I am already a fan of the 2015 vintage from Bordeaux and this wine proves why. A classic style with a modern edge and a fantastic under-$20 find.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta
Review Date: 07-10-2018
What more could you want for the perfect Summer white wine than what is contained in this bottle? It has a great, highly-aromatic nose that is fresh and slightly saline. The high elevation of the vineyard brings acidity and brightness. This would make a great accompaniment to fish and fresh veggies.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 JS 91

2013 Villa Poggio Salvi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-10-2018
This Brunello is beautiful, displaying lift and structure simultaneously. The tannin are dusky and well-integrated for such a young wine, and there is no harsh or bitter quality at all. Each component of this wine complements the others, not competes with them. That is a hard feat to achieve and demonstrates great skill in the vineyard and winery.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 91

2015 Martin Ray Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-10-2018
What a phenomenal price point for a wine that not only bears the Napa Valley appellation name, but the undisputedly great name of the respected producer Martin Ray. California Cab lovers will only find great things to say about this wine. It is rich and supple with cocoa and coffee flavors, and displays great balance in spite of the hardships of the vintage.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Helen's Hill "Range View Reserve" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-10-2018
Planted exclusively to the Pommard clone, the “Range View” vineyard sits near the top of Helen’s Hill. This clone gives deep, concentrated, powerful structure and flavors with plum and cherry dominating the fruit side and earthy notes complementing. This wine shows a little more meaty and powerful than “First Light”, with deeper structure and duskier tannin; however, this wine still displays an incredible amount of elegance and lift.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Helen's Hill "First Light" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-10-2018
The original cuttings for this clone came from the Clos Vougeot vineyard in Burgundy, and it's origins are very apparent in this expression. Displaying the qualities typically found in Burgundy, this wine if elegant, lifted, and lighter bodied. This particular vineyard was planted in 1980 and the 38 year old vines produce small and concentrated berries, which give dried herb and spice notes. This clone does particularly well in cool-climate Australia, showcasing elegant dark berry and cherry flavors.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 95

2017 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-09-2018
If you're looking for the perfect Summer BBQ wine, you're search is over. Once you taste this guy, it's obvious why it makes the perfect pair. There is a slight smokey quality to it, complemented by a savory herbality. There is a lot of lift and freshness coming from the cool climate sight. Another fantastic vintage for Oakridge Over the Shoulder. This one has never disappointed us in the past and this vintage is no exception.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The incredible scores this Champagne has received are very well deserved. It strikes the perfect balance between fresh and bright and toasty, nutty brioche. The blend of Chardonnay to Pinot Noir is spot on and the stainless steel tank fermentation has kept it from becoming too soft. This is by far one of the better Champagnes I've had of this vintage and style and I hope I get another chance to try it before its gone.

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This Seghesio Zin has long been a customer favorite and it's easy to see why. This vintage is as good as ever, with classic Zin aromas and flavors and enough lift to keep it from falling into jammy territory. Consistency has served these guys well and is a great go-to for Summer BBQs.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

Jim Beam Bonded 100 Proof Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-03-2018
What's not to love about a bonded whiskey? This Jim Beam offers fantastic quality at a low price and the 4+ years of aging adds great complexity. Don't look at the name and write this one off! This is proof great Bourbons don't have to be crazy expensive. Super tasty and an easy choice at this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 07-03-2018
Like my colleague Gary, Garnacha Blanca is not a varietal I have had many times before, but I was very excited by the aromatics it offered. It has a toasty, creamy note to it, but manages to be really bright at the same time. The length is also incredible, which makes me conclude it would make a great food wine, that could hold its own against many dishes. The 5 months on the lees does give it lots of texture, though it's not overwhelmingly rich since they hold off on stirring. This is definitely unique, which is getting harder and harder to come across in the wine world today.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Black Slate "Escala Dei" Vi de la Vila Priorat
Review Date: 07-03-2018
I was very impressed by this Priorat. The high altitude vineyards give it nice freshness and lift. The fruit is still deep and dark, but not overtly rich or soft. The large foudre barrels add a complexity and intensity. This wine has nice balance and is my top choice for Priorat.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 RP 92

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
Louise Brison has been one of my absolute favorite Champagne producers in the store since I tasted it over a year ago. The care, dedication and smart winemkaing moves Delphine Brulez puts in is obvious when you taste her wines. There is such a great balance here with bright fruit, zippy freshness, and a deeper richness than in years past. The barrel fermentation helps round any sharp edges and the 50/50 blend gives great depth. I was surprised that this went through full malolactic fermentation, given the lengthy acidity present. That's exciting as it's one more element that is going to help preserve this wine for years to come.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Robert Oatley Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This is a serious Chardonnay and truly showcases Margaret River at its best. Robert Oatley has become one of our go-to producers for top quality wine out of Australia and I'm so excited to be able to offer their wines at such a killer price point. I was thrilled to see the staff's reactions and how enthusiastic they were to get behind this wine and bring it to people's attention. Margaret River is gaining notoriety for its top quality producers from Leeuwin to Xanadu, and Robert Oatley can certainly be counted among them.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 WE 91

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-02-2018
This Chardonnay has incredible balance and breadth, with rich tone fruit notes and roundness from the oak toast. The cool climate influence is pure here with a fresh palate and crystalline lift. Whatever formula Helen's Hill has discovered working with their terroir has paid off. This wine has elements that would appeal to every Chardonnay enthusiast, from generous acid upfront to a rounded, creamy base to end. This will be one of my go-to's in Chardonnay for a long time coming. Sure to please the entire crowd.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
JH 94

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-02-2018
Unbelievable - that's the best word I can find to describe this wine. It absolutely blew me away with how good it is. There is a flintiness and herbal character that I haven't come across in any other Pinot Noirs coming out of Australia. This wine is crunchy and super bright and this incredible length that stays with you for an unprecedented amount of time. Helen's Hill has truly found some secret formula and their cool climate sites are on full display here. Whatever they have done, I'm in awe of the result. Top value for sure.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L8040K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-26-2018
What a great offering coming out of Tennessee from Dickel. There are definite sweet, rich, candied banana notes, but they seem to float over the palate, not overwhelm. Kudos to the Spirits buyer for getting us such a great single barrel selection from such a standout distillery!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 06-26-2018
If you are looking for an alternative to the super light, higher-acid Provencal roses, this is the wine you should pick up. There is a wide breadth of fruit here, with weight and richness shining through. The softer fruit notes make this a good food rose that won't get lost with bolder flavors. I appreciate the unique Syrah heavy blend, especially at the under $10 price point.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ritual Chardonnay Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-26-2018
Now this is a wine for California chardonnay lovers. There is nice richness and depth here with nice weight and a creamy texture. The body is not overwhelming though, with nice vibrancy to lift it up. There is a touch of oak, which is evident here, but that adds another great layer and envelops the fruit.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Pence Ranch Estate Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-26-2018
There were so many mineral notes to this wine I was completely taken aback initially by the uniqueness of it and its site. I found it to be totally different than anything else coming out of the Santa Rita Hills, in a great way. There is nice fruit here, and it's highlighted by the intricate expressions of the different vineyards. If you're looking for something new and different out of California, this is the one for you.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WE 92

2015 Nozzole Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-26-2018
There is a nice contrast here between softer, richer flavors and grip, lead and earth. I'm so excited we are able to offer this wine to customers as it is not available any where else locally. This is a great blend of Old meets New World in Chianti and there is so much to like here, I can't help revisiting it again and again to see it's evolution.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Savage "White" Western Cape
Review Date: 06-26-2018
A fantastic, unexpected blend from South Africa, encompassing 44% Sauv Blanc, 36% Semillon, 11% Clairette Blanche, and 9% Chenin Blanc,. This wine is incredibly fresh and lively with bright acidity and great length. The old, large format French oak used helps round out the sharp edges and the minimal cellar intervention lets each varietal shine. From a mix of altitude and maritime vineyards, this wine shows great complexity and evolving notes. A winner from one of the nicest and most talented winemakers coming out of South Africa.

2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Review Date: 06-19-2018
The first thing that hits you is the deep-fruited nose on this Malbec, which is quickly followed up by a duskiness, an d hardy backbone of structure. Not ultra rich, there is a nice lift to this wine, with chocolaty, toasty notes flowing through.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Review Date: 06-19-2018
There is a freshness and crunchiness here that is unique for Rioja and this wine is showing super fresh for a warmer vintage. With a lighter body than I expected, I think this one will make a fantastic Summer BBQ wine, with a slight herbaceous note that will really complement food. I like that the structure and alcohol are restrained here and will be recommending this one as a fresh take on Rioja.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-19-2018
While you may have to hold most current release Brunellos for a few more years, this one is drinking particularly well right now. Fresh, lively acidity provides a nice counterpoint to riper fruit, with a little savory note thrown in for balance. The classic Brunello structure is there, but is soft, not overpowering, and the juiciness of the fruit brights life and punch.

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This bottling features the same estate and same winemaking that is responsible for producing one of the best reviewed and highest-end Shiraz's in Australia, the Langi Shiraz. This is the little brother of that wine, though it features nearly all the same phenomenal, cool-climate characteristics. This Shiraz come from the mountainous regions of Victoria, which are Yosemite-like in their setting. The granite in the area lends fantastic minerality and depth to this wine, with lifted fruit and bright acidity punching through. There is a nice spice backdrop here, with deep flavors and a silky finish. Those familiar with the label will no be surprised at the quality here, and newcomers will be in awe of the elegant style.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

2017 Bayten Sauvignon Blanc Constantia
Review Date: 06-18-2018
Constantia is well known for producing some of the most unique, delicious and interesting Sauvignon Blancs in the world and this Bayten definitely showcases why. It packs an incredible punch of flavor with vivid fruit, bright acidity, and a touch of herbality cool climates are known for. South Africa is certainly gaining a reputation for must-have wines, especially when they price a gem like this at $13. This is an incredible value and showcases what makes Constantia such an amazing area.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Pacory "L'Ideal" Ferme des Grimaux Poiré Domfront Organic Pear Cidre
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This cider is just purely delicious. It's super fresh with no funkiness at all, a ton of rich pear flavor and a slight sweetness to make it go down very easily. The bubbles add to the appeal and I think this would make a great summer appertif or dinner wine. Great for warm weather days.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Pacory 15 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Domfrontais Calvados (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is a super fresh, clean Calvados with a LONG finish. This is pure, unadulterated fruit, made the right way, not necessarily the most profitable way. What a great intro to this producer and I look forward to having more from them.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-12-2018
The customer and staff favorite is back in stock! Fans of the 2005 vintage will go nuts for this one as well. The use of older barrels with a lighter toast means this wine is not inundated with vanilla and spice flavors. It is full of juicy red and purple fruits, with a deeply developed structure. After twelve years in the bottle, I was psyched to see how fresh this wine was. This is an unbeatable price for a Reserva Rioja of this age and I'll be stocking up before this vintage is gone too.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Casa Lapostolle "Cuvee Alexandre" Cabernet Sauvignon Apalta Vineyard
Review Date: 06-12-2018
Old vines are a rare find in Chile, which makes the wines that come form them all the more special. The 60+ year old vines used here impart fantastic concentration, deep fruit, and nice crunchiness to the wine. A classic Cabernet Sauvignon nose with a fresh and expressive palate. The French oak adds a nice rounded edge and tames the tannins, while adding a little backbone of richness. What a great find from a phenomenal producer.

2013 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is consistently one of my favorite Cabernets coming out of California year after year. A little crunchy right now, there is a lot of structure here. The cooler climate of the Santa Cruz Mountains definitely aids in the higher acid, lower alcohol components of this wine, making it one of the few in California that can actually last decades. Jeffrey Patterson's decades of experience in the wine industry is highlighted in this wine, showing great length, complexity, and dynamic flavor.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is an elegant and silky Pinot Noir from one of my favorite California producers. It shows elegance and balance, yet is bright and fresh and wonderfully classic. Jeffrey Patterson has rocketed to the top of my list of all-time favorite winemakers in CA for his light hand, terroir-driven style. He knows the Santa Cruz Mountains well and this wine reflects his expertise.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-12-2018
Mount Eden has always been one of my favorite California producers and this Chardonnay is a great example of why. Jeffrey Patterson is one of the smartest, most experienced winemakers in the state and the Mount Eden Estate Chardonnay is what he does best. There is a toastiness and richness to this wine resulting form the higher percentage of New French oak. That creamier mouthfeel though is counterbalanced by the bright, zippy Santa Cruz Mountains acidity. Another great wine from a phenomenal winery.

Page: 1 2 3 next