Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Kaiken "Ultra" Malbec Mendoza Las Rocas
Review Date: 06-19-2018
The first thing that hits you is the deep-fruited nose on this Malbec, which is quickly followed up by a duskiness, an d hardy backbone of structure. Not ultra rich, there is a nice lift to this wine, with chocolaty, toasty notes flowing through.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Bodegas Abanico Hazaña Viñas Viejas Rioja
Review Date: 06-19-2018
There is a freshness and crunchiness here that is unique for Rioja and this wine is showing super fresh for a warmer vintage. With a lighter body than I expected, I think this one will make a fantastic Summer BBQ wine, with a slight herbaceous note that will really complement food. I like that the structure and alcohol are restrained here and will be recommending this one as a fresh take on Rioja.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Calera "40th Anniversary Vintage" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-19-2018
I was really impressed by the quality of this Pinot from long-established winery Calera. Lots of minerality here really sets this wine apart from others of the region. The elegance of the wine should come as no surprise given the great set of well-known vineyards this bottling comes from. A unique blend of fruit from Santa Barbara up to Monterey comes together to make a wine unlike any other on the Domestic shelf. There is a slightly riper flavor profile here, but there is a lift as well, which keeps the balance on point. A lighter style Pinot, but incredibly expressive at the same time.

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-19-2018
While you may have to hold most current release Brunellos for a few more years, this one is drinking particularly well right now. Fresh, lively acidity provides a nice counterpoint to riper fruit, with a little savory note thrown in for balance. The classic Brunello structure is there, but is soft, not overpowering, and the juiciness of the fruit brights life and punch.

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This is the classic, light, fresh rosé that we have come to expect from Provence. What I like about this particular one is the juicy berry fruits that shine though and though there is delicacy, the fruit is not lost. With such a great score, I won't be surprised if this one flies off the shelf before Summer even gets off the ground.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This bottling features the same estate and same winemaking that is responsible for producing one of the best reviewed and highest-end Shiraz's in Australia, the Langi Shiraz. This is the little brother of that wine, though it features nearly all the same phenomenal, cool-climate characteristics. This Shiraz come from the mountainous regions of Victoria, which are Yosemite-like in their setting. The granite in the area lends fantastic minerality and depth to this wine, with lifted fruit and bright acidity punching through. There is a nice spice backdrop here, with deep flavors and a silky finish. Those familiar with the label will no be surprised at the quality here, and newcomers will be in awe of the elegant style.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

2017 Bayten Sauvignon Blanc Constantia
Review Date: 06-18-2018
Constantia is well known for producing some of the most unique, delicious and interesting Sauvignon Blancs in the world and this Bayten definitely showcases why. It packs an incredible punch of flavor with vivid fruit, bright acidity, and a touch of herbality cool climates are known for. South Africa is certainly gaining a reputation for must-have wines, especially when they price a gem like this at $13. This is an incredible value and showcases what makes Constantia such an amazing area.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Pacory "L'Ideal" Ferme des Grimaux Poiré Domfront Organic Pear Cidre
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This cider is just purely delicious. It's super fresh with no funkiness at all, a ton of rich pear flavor and a slight sweetness to make it go down very easily. The bubbles add to the appeal and I think this would make a great summer appertif or dinner wine. Great for warm weather days.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Pacory 15 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Domfrontais Calvados (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is a super fresh, clean Calvados with a LONG finish. This is pure, unadulterated fruit, made the right way, not necessarily the most profitable way. What a great intro to this producer and I look forward to having more from them.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-12-2018
The customer and staff favorite is back in stock! Fans of the 2005 vintage will go nuts for this one as well. The use of older barrels with a lighter toast means this wine is not inundated with vanilla and spice flavors. It is full of juicy red and purple fruits, with a deeply developed structure. After twelve years in the bottle, I was psyched to see how fresh this wine was. This is an unbeatable price for a Reserva Rioja of this age and I'll be stocking up before this vintage is gone too.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Casa Lapostolle "Cuvee Alexandre" Cabernet Sauvignon Apalta Vineyard
Review Date: 06-12-2018
Old vines are a rare find in Chile, which makes the wines that come form them all the more special. The 60+ year old vines used here impart fantastic concentration, deep fruit, and nice crunchiness to the wine. A classic Cabernet Sauvignon nose with a fresh and expressive palate. The French oak adds a nice rounded edge and tames the tannins, while adding a little backbone of richness. What a great find from a phenomenal producer.

2013 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is consistently one of my favorite Cabernets coming out of California year after year. A little crunchy right now, there is a lot of structure here. The cooler climate of the Santa Cruz Mountains definitely aids in the higher acid, lower alcohol components of this wine, making it one of the few in California that can actually last decades. Jeffrey Patterson's decades of experience in the wine industry is highlighted in this wine, showing great length, complexity, and dynamic flavor.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is an elegant and silky Pinot Noir from one of my favorite California producers. It shows elegance and balance, yet is bright and fresh and wonderfully classic. Jeffrey Patterson has rocketed to the top of my list of all-time favorite winemakers in CA for his light hand, terroir-driven style. He knows the Santa Cruz Mountains well and this wine reflects his expertise.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-12-2018
Mount Eden has always been one of my favorite California producers and this Chardonnay is a great example of why. Jeffrey Patterson is one of the smartest, most experienced winemakers in the state and the Mount Eden Estate Chardonnay is what he does best. There is a toastiness and richness to this wine resulting form the higher percentage of New French oak. That creamier mouthfeel though is counterbalanced by the bright, zippy Santa Cruz Mountains acidity. Another great wine from a phenomenal winery.

2015 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This wine is deep and flavorful, showing simultaneous structure and suppleness. Juicy purple fruits shine, thanks to the larger addition of Merlot, but the Cab Sauv come through too, lending fine tannin and spice. This is definitely one you can hold on to, but at this price I think it's better to stock up and drink some now with the way it's showing. One of my current favorite under-$20 Bordeauxs.
Top Value!

2015 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is definitely a Bordeaux I can get behind. This wine is fresh and clean and carries more acid and structure than I expected from the 2015 vintage. There is a deep juiciness to the fruit with a great balance of weight and lift. This is a phenomenal wine for this price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Castello di Volpaia Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-12-2018
This is a Chianti that is drinkable for everyone. It is balanced and expressive, with good purity of fruit. It shows a supple and rounded quality, but good structure keeps it fresh and lively, thanks to its high elevation origins. This will make a fantastic food wine as it hits that prefect balance between bright red fruit and dusky tannin base. This winemaker really knows what he is doing.

2015 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-12-2018
The master of Barossa Shiraz has done it again with this year's Entity. More reminiscent of cool climate Shiraz, this wine has a lot of structure behind it, along with a healthy dose of acidity and tannin. This one is a no-brainer if you are a fan of Aussie Shiraz and a great entry point for newcomers who may be worried about over-extraction or too ripe fruit. The critical accolades are well-deserved here and John's extensive experience for one of Australia's top wineries is quite apparent.
Top Value!

2017 Frenzy Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
Review Date: 06-12-2018
Fresh, crisp, tropical, basically everything you want in an easy-drinking Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc. The cool climate sight is really reflected in the acidity this wine carries and the slight herbal note is what so many people expect from NZ savvy. This is a quintessentially great Summer wine, super refreshing for hot days and big crowds.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WS 90

Woodinville Straight 100% Rye Whiskey (750ml )
Review Date: 06-09-2018
I can't say that my experience with 100% Rye Whiskeys is all that extensive, mostly because it's so finicky to make, people don't usually bother. I was struck by how light the nose was and how fresh the taste. I was expecting bitterness and punch, but what I got was floral and modern. The palate was smooth and a little woodsy and herbal. If this is the style of 100% rye we should come to expect, I plan on drinking them much more frequently. I'm very excited to see something so unique on the shelves and will definitely be adding this to my bar for something original.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Woodinville Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2018
From the first smell in the glass you know this Bourbon is going to be something special. The rich, caramel, spice nose gives off pure, sweet aromas and the surrounding area is filled with lush notes of unadulterated whiskey. Though this one is on the plusher side, it results from softening and developing in barrel rather than through additions or intervention of any kind. This is Bourbon as it should be made, through patience and care, not through manipulation. It's exciting to see people recognize this style as worth investing in. I'm glad this made it's way to California and hope to see it on the shelves for years to come.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 06-07-2018
A perennial customer favorite for good reason, this Cab/Merlot blend is everything you want from the Yarra Valley. The fruit is deep and husky, but the cooling ocean breezes bring lift and finesse to the wine and keep it from plushness. Structure and woodsy tannin balance the purple fruits, making this not a shy wine, but immensely drinkable still. This is a killer deal for a wine of this complexity and nuance for under $10.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Cantina Valle Isarco "Aristos" Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 06-05-2018
This is unlike any other Pinot Grigio we have on the shelf right now. It's incredibly intriguing because it manages to combine so many elements in such a perfect balance. It shows richer than many other Pinot Grigio's, but this gives it depth and finesse. The weight is counterbalanced by its minerality and juicy fruit, providing punch and succulence. I was blown away by how complex this wine was and yet it is so approachable and perfect for a Summer meal. I'm excited to be introduced to this one and will keep it on my table for a while to come.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2015 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 06-05-2018
I can't possibly think of a better example of top quality Pinot Noir from Central Otago. Winemaker Duncan Forsyth has made every right move here. This wine is fresh, elegant, and super expressive. The balance of fresh fruit and dusky tannin is spot on and the minerality from the tight soils of the region punches through. I was truly blown away by this one and am excited to see the critics agree with me. This is a winery that should be a household name and is far and away one of the top in the region.
Top Value!

2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Waipara Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-02-2018
When I taste a wine like this, all I think is that I have the best job in the world. This Pinot is bright, lifted, minerally and just so incredibly delicious. The fruit shines, though it's not so much rich as it is as driven. This wine is light bodied, but manages to pack so much punch and flavor that every time I take a sip I want to give the winemaker a big hug for what a natural genius they are. This one sold fast last vintage and I am now reminded why. The package may be funky, but don't let that fool you, as the wine inside is sophisticated and serious. I expect this vintage to go as fast as the last, for good reason. It really is just that incredible.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
BC 93 RP 91

2014 Thorne-Clarke "Shotfire Quartage" Barossa South Australia
Review Date: 05-12-2018
What a great take on an under $20 Cab blend from a great Aussie producer! A blend of Cab Sauv (36%), Cab Franc (28%), Petit Verdot (20%), Merlot (16%), this wine comes from a family that's been in the Barossa since 1870. They are one of the largest vineyard land owners in the area, but have only been producing their own wines since 2001. Thank goodness they did decide to start their own label. This wine has great body and structure and rich, but not plush fruit. Well balanced and a great alternative to a Bordeaux for a steak dinner. Don't miss this one!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 05-12-2018
This is everything I want in a Rhone blend. It has the juicy red and purple fruits I expect, but they are lifted, bright and fresh. No flabbiness or alcohol notes in sight. The balance of fruit, acid, and structure is perfect and I was really impressed by how integrated this wine tastes. Especially at under $20 this is going to become a staple in my house for fresh, interesting, and delicious red wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2016 Birichino “St. George Vineyard Old Vine” Santa Cruz Mountains Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-02-2018
A unique take on Zinfandel. The 96-year-old vines are planted in a cool environment in the Santa Cruz Mountains. The marine influence, along with stainless steel fermentation and neutral oak aging, keeps the alcohol level low, and fruit flavors bright and fresh. This is a lighter take on Zinfandel without compromising on flavors, and the limestone soils really elevate the wine’s profile.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Birichino "Old Vines" Mourvedre Contra Costa County
Review Date: 05-02-2018
The sandy soil of the Sacramento River Delta in which this vineyard grows has inhibited any phylloxera infection over the years. This has permitted the vines to remain on their original roots, which are now over 100 years old. A lighter hand is used in making this wine and aging is done only in neutral oak, so as to not overwhelm the delicate flavors.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Birichino "Besson Vineyard Old Vine" Central Coast Grenache
Review Date: 05-02-2018
he vines for this wine were planted in 1910 a short distance from the Santa Cruz Mountains. The lack of irrigation and the advanced age of the vines result in very low yields, producing grapes of great intensity and focus. Unlike some of its counterparts in the Rhône, this Grenache is light and mineral driven, but still shows great depth of flavor and complexity.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Birichino "Bechthold Vineyard Old Vines" Mokelumne River Cinsault
Review Date: 05-02-2018
This wine is made from 130-year-old, head-trained, non-irrigated, organically farmed vines. It shows intense concentration, dark purple fruits, and dimension resulting from native yeast and varied soil types. After it is picked, the fruit is saignéed for Birichino’s vin gris, making the juice that remains for this wine even more intense.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Birichino Malvasia Bianca Monterey
Review Date: 05-02-2018
The drought-ridden soils of California really started showing their presence in the fruit in 2015. Yields were lower and fruit more concentrated due to the lack of rain. This led to a richer, if more savory, profile for this wine than in other years. The shale, clay, and granitic soils are well showcased here, leading to notes of almonds, ginger, salinity and citrus blossom.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fable Mountain "Night Sky" GSM Coastal Region
Review Date: 04-02-2018
If South Africa is not yet on your radar for producing fine wines, I hope you pick this one up as it will inevitably change your mind. The ancient, vertical shale soils lend a ton of minerality here and the afternoon sun this vineyard gets just touches the fruit without overripening it. The mouthfeel is rich, but also lifted, which really showcases the individual characteristics of each variety represented here. I think I'd be hard-pressed to find someone who didn't like this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 VN 90

2015 Aquitania Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 02-20-2018
I find this wine to be a great middle ground between the richer, softer Cabs of California and the savory, structured ones of Bordeaux. The bright fruit notes really stand out in this Cabernet and the accompaniment of some herbal and gravely notes balance it out beautifully. It doesn't exhibit too much heft, instead tending toward the easy drinking, juicy red fruit style. Super tasty and an easy choice for the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 RP 90

2015 Bethany Estate "Old Vine" Grenache Barossa Valley
Review Date: 02-17-2018
This is truly a wine that stands apart from the rest in the Barossa. The vines were planted in 1852 and yield fruit that is concentrated and interesting, while still being delicate and intricate. There is fruit here, but not the fat, rich kind. It is soft, dusky, and full of nuance. Bethany is one to know in the Barossa.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jules Taylor Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 02-04-2018
Chardonnay coming out of Marlborough is not a common thing to come across as the land is often utilized for the more popular Sauvignon Blanc. After tasting this wine, I find the lack of Chardonnay to be a tragedy. This wine has a great acid line from the cooler climate site, yet great richness of fruit from the long, bright sunny days of the South Island. The Southern Valleys tend to produce wines with a little more texture and richness, and while this wine possesses these qualities, it is not in any way cloying or sweet. It is bright, fresh, with just a hint of texture from oak. This is a great value for such a rare find and most definitely a Chardonnay to suit any palate.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2015 La Honda "Sequence" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-04-2018
This is a great find from the Santa Cruz Mountains from vineyards exclusively farmed by La Honda Winery. This Pinot has great freshness and a juicy line of fruit backed by the 10% whole cluster, which adds just enough structure to this wine. I think they added the perfect amount of new oak to this wine, because while I get the texture and strength from oak aging, I don't taste any oak characteristics, such as vanilla or coconut, which leaves the fruit to be the shining star. This is a great value in Santa Cruz, a region that is quickly gaining recognition for its sophisticated Pinot Noirs. A great find and addition to our California portfolio.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 La Honda Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-04-2018
La Honda Winery has access to some very small and exclusive vineyards in the Santa Cruz Mountains and I relished the opportunity to taste wine from vineyards no one else has can utilize. This is a great balance between bright and fresh flavors, with a nice acid line form the partial malolactic fermentation, and just enough richness, texture, and depth from the oak use. The Santa Cruz Mountains are fast gaining recognition for their sophisticated Chardonnays and La Honda is no exception. It's amazing to have such tasty wines in our own backyard and at such an affordable price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Moss Wood "Wilyabrup" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Margaret River has recently been producing some of my favorite Cabs and this Moss Wood certainly gets on the list as on of my tops. It comes across as bright and fresh, with the quintessential woodsy Oz backdrop. It is more juicy than other Cabs of the region, but I find that to be a revelation and makes the wine so fun to drink now. This is phenomenally good Cabernet and Moss Wood has hit the top of my list as the new great producer.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JH 97 JS 96

2015 Schwarz "META" Shiraz Barossa South Australia
Review Date: 01-29-2018
OH MY WORD, this is a tasty, tasty Shiraz. Made from grapes from cooler sites, there is nothing but finesse, juicy notes, subtle minerality, and crisp dark fruits here. The hand-picked grapes are a revelation here as much of Oz is machine harvested because their innovative tech is often used in the vineyards. The gentle touch with the grapes is obvious, giving a vibrant and fresh mouthfeel. The inclusion of whole cluster gives more texture and structure to this wine and the unfiltered sediments mean it will age beautifully. This is one of the better Shiraz's I've come across in Oz and I sincerely hope I don't buy it all before the customers have a chance to try it.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 95

2016 Schwarz "META" Grenache Barossa South Australia
Review Date: 01-29-2018
I love that this winery was able to pull fruit from the Bethany vineyard, one of the oldest Grenache sites in the Barossa. The fruit is concentrated, yet light, and the high percentage of whole cluster lends a smoky note and some underlying steminess. A different, lighter take on Grenache that I enjoy as it doesn't overload you with juicy, ripe red fruits. It's more subtle and complex even if the label is not.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 90

2015 Carrick Sauvignon Blanc Bannockburn Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 01-09-2018
I'm always amazed when I taste the Carrick wines that they can be priced so incredibly low given their undeniably phenomenal quality. Everything that would make this an expensive wine - organic farming, hand picking, barrel fermenting are applied here and yet the price does not reflect these insane labors. Francis Hutt is without doubt one of the best winemakers in New Zealand and his farming and cellar skills are evident in this wine. Carrick is an underrated label and I wish I could put it in as many hands as possible. This wine is layered and complex, mineral driven, bright, juicy, and insanely delicious. One of the best white values in the store by far.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 01-02-2018
What a great deal on this unconventional combo of varieties. This is a fantastic wine for both food pairing and even drinking on its own. It carries some acid, which will highlight any food its paired with, but not so much it becomes too harsh to cease being a cocktail wine. Great fruit and just a hint of structure, without being overly tannic or tight. More interesting than most wines of this price point, the concentration is ideal here and a top value for an everyday dinner red.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Streicker "Bridgeland Block" Syrah Margaret River
Review Date: 12-30-2017
You don't often see Syrah coming out of Margaret River, as it is often regarded as Cab Sauv and Chardonnay territory. With incredible flavors like these though, I wish more people in the area were making it. There is a leanness and brightness here that can sometimes get lost in the warmer Aussie areas and a great mineral character from the soils here. I love the spice notes and thee pure fruit quality. This is one I will keep in my rotation.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2012 Streicker "Ironstone Block" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 12-30-2017
While I thought all of the Streicker wines I tried were fantastic, this is the one I kept coming back to over and over again. Leaner and more mineral driven than most Cabernets, this went perfectly with my steak dinner as the fruit didn't overwhelm the meal. You can taste the terroir in this one, which is a testament to very little manipulation by the winemakers. A great find in Margaret River Cab, this is a break from the ordinary into the extraordinary. Truly delicious.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (White Label)
Review Date: 12-30-2017
If you are looking for an affordable, quintessentially Margaret River Cab Sauv, look no further than this guy. It shows the classic hints of stemmy, woodsiness many of the Cabs from this area carry, and that is a great thing. These are unique wines and an incredible value from a well-loved estate. Still tasting pretty young, I believe this one to have great aging potential. Well deserved of its 94 point score, Clairault Cabs should be on you radar if they are not already.

2012 Clairault "Estate" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (Black Label)
Review Date: 12-30-2017
The older vine age of the grapes used in this wine are really showcased here with the richness and concentration of fruit in this Cab. It's not hard to see why this is a top wine for Clairault and the high scores are well deserved on this one. This is truly a "wow" wine with great backbone and length and the softness of deep fruit and slight French oak influence to complement it. The few years of age it has already seen make it delicious now and the price point makes it within the reach of every Cab lover.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
DC 95 JH 95

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
If I could pick the perfect food wine, this one would be pretty much there. An incredible blend of fruit and savory notes lead this bottling to enhance almost anything you choose to pair it with. There is good base structure that is overlayed with deep fruits and slight minerality, which definitely makes this wine approachable now.
Top Value!

2016 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 12-01-2017
Torbreck does it again with a crowd-pleasing Shiraz that brilliantly showcases Barossa fruit. While this is a rich, full-fruited wine, it manages not to cross over the line into too fat or flabby. This is a delicious, soft, easy drinking red, and a great old school example of what people expect out of Barossa Shiraz.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 95

2013 Kay Brothers "Hillside" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 11-13-2017
This is the very definition of a classic Shiraz from one of the most well-respected and oldest producers in McLaren Vale. It has a rugged, yet polished feel to it, clearly letting the land the grapes were grown in shine through. The centuries of practice this winery has had to perfect it's Shiraz have clearly paid off with a wine that showcases the best the varietal has to offer. Rich, but not fat, earthy, but not harsh, this is the epitome of balance and a beautiful example of what happens when McLaren Vale fruit and years of winemaking experience meet up.

Page: 1 2 next