Staff Favorites - Muriel Sarik

Muriel Sarik


Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2018
This is the best value champagne we have and it is absolutely delicious. I serve this a lot at home and it never seizes to amaze me how complex it is. Whether I'm cooking, eating or mingling this champagne keeps grabbing my attention to all its flavors and textures The added bonus is that we have 3 different sizes 375ml, 750ml and 1.5lt. It is so much fun to taste them, side by side, to taste the similarities and the differences.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Vigneti Massa "Terra Petit Derthona" Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 02-01-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
There is nothing more exciting for a wine educator than to be introduced to a grape they've never heard of. I was introduced to Timorasso. Our staff tasted 5 wines made by this same producer. All 5 were fantastic, however this is the introductory wine that got me hooked,and made me want to taste the others. This wine had mineral elements to it, a fresh saline nose and savory herbs on the palette. No oak gave it that crispness I adore. I could go on and on but I don't want to be a spoiler. Just try it and see if you don't want to explore more of this grape.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-24-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Champagne is TRUE value and TRUE pleasure! The work and time spent on making this alone is worth more than $27.99. It shows aromas of sourdough yeast and crisp green apple on the palate. The price allows one to buy a case for all the celebrating to be done from now until next year.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2017
I was very impressed with this young blanc de blancs from Roederer. The nose reminds me of yellow flowers because there is a richness to the floral aromas, yet very fresh. The same continues in the mouth, a rich, thin caramel-like texture with good acid and lots of crispness throughout.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2014 Quintessa Rutherford Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 08-04-2017
I tasted this wine during a vertical tasting of 2011-2014. This wine is simply beautiful. These are elegant, classic structure and complex wines. The only thing I can add to the 2014 vintage is that the fruit is more pronounced but the still contained. Fans of Quintessa will not want to miss out on this one. Superb!

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This is an elegant Cabernet from the Napa Valley. It is smooth, balanced and just the right amount of fruit. I love those dusty tannins. This is the true mark of a Rutherford red wine. All this for $27.99!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ehlers Estate "1886" St. Helena Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-20-2017
With 95% Cabernet Sauvignon, 2% Cabernet Franc, 2% Merlot and 1% Petit Verdot, this is the flagship red blend. The aromatics of black raspberries, cocoa powder and chai tea are so inviting. This is a powerful wine, but the firm structure is holding it in for now. It has substantial acidity and dry, leathery tannins. This should age well.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Ehlers Estate St. Helena Merlot
Review Date: 06-20-2017
I found this wine to be like a New World Pomerol. There’s the spirit of the Old World in the blend, especially when I got the fresh-rolled cigars, herbs and cassis on the nose. I found bold flavors of spicy, dark plums on the palate, yet it has enough acidity and structure to keep it balanced. The fine tannins just made the long finish more enjoyable.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Ehlers Estate Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This wine is fresh, with a slick texture and a round mouthfeel with edgy acidity. The fruit and minerality complement each other beautifully. A crisp white wine that has great flavors and a long finish—what more can you ask for?
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-03-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
We have so many wonderful Champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this Champagne is "balance," where all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid-palate, due to 5 years aging on the lees. Then it has an extra long, intense finish, with a slightly tart aftertaste—as one gets from eating tropical fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90