Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

  
2016 Stoller "Estate" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This wine is a game changer for anyone who thinks Chardonnay is not for them. Made with early-picked fruit from volcanic soils, it does not see any oak. It is bright, youthful and crisp with plenty of lemon and green apple notes on both the nose and the palate, vigorous acidity, and a long, mouth-watering finish. If you think all wines made with this varietal are buttery and rich, this super fresh and lean Chardonnay will prove you wrong.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2017
I had the pleasure of tasting the lineup of new releases from Chehalem on a recent trip to their vineyards in Oregon. Among several that stood out was this Chardonnay. Seeing no malo or oak, it has so much beautiful white peach, green apple and citrus fruits, dazzling acidity and fresh juiciness on the palate that my taste buds were craving a full glass. Don't snub this varietal! Oregon Chardonnay is on the rise and this bottling from Chehalem is a wonderful representation of what the region has to offer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Alain Corcia Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 08-06-2017
This wine never disappoints. The nose is superbly fresh with generous aromas of ripe pear and apple while on the palate it is packed with lemony zest, soft, round texture, nervy acidity and a long, lasting finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Bieville is back! The 2016 vintage may not possess the same weighty palate that the hot 2015 vintage did but all the classic flintiness, citrus profile and racy acidity that Chablis is known for is all there.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Groth Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-06-2017
A very alluring California Cabernet with lovely restraint and finesse. Its dark fruits, the warmth of baking spices, pleasantly grippy tannins and solid structure will sway anyone who shuns all California Cabs.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93 WE 91

2013 Domaine Bruno Colin Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Outstanding! With its sultry, soft texture, expressive notes of stone fruit and white flowers and such fetching acidity, this has to be the best value in white Burgundy that I've seen in some time.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
Review Date: 08-06-2017
The 2016 Bilbo is a stunner! Gorgeous fruit, spicy notes and bright acid make this a very approachable everyday wine that is juicy, fresh and perfect for any time of the year.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bruno Colin Chassagne-Montrachet Rouge "Vieilles Vigne"
Review Date: 08-05-2017
High-toned fruit, supple tannins, a backbone of acidity and minerality plus an incredible price point make this a fresh choice for daily drinking.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 07-26-2017
I fell in love with the last vintage of this wine, which was a 50-50 split of Syrah and Grenache. This time the Syrah is a bit higher at 70% and contributes a touch more of those savory, peppery characteristics that seduced me last year. On top of this, beautiful red fruit, bright acidity and overall smoothness has lured me in once again.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valreas
Review Date: 07-26-2017
This wine's beautiful dark fruit, licorice, spice and earthiness opened up absolutely beautifully after 30 minutes of air. It still possesses an intensity that has plenty to offer but with just the right amount of restraint to prevent this intensity from being overwhelming. Tannins are present but very smooth and the mineral notes and soft acidity provide the perfect balance. This is an incredible price point for this wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Here is a Cabernet Sauvignon to keep handy this summer and through the rest of the year, frankly. There is plenty of juicy red fruits but the kicker for me is the freshness, the energetic acidity, sweet spices, supple tannins and overall structure that keep me reaching for the bottle. I usually lean in the opposite direction for my wines at this time of the year but it seems I've been swayed to the other side. And I love it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Morey-St-Denis
Review Date: 07-12-2017
Bottles of wine that are ready for immediate consumption are necessary if the hot Southern California summer sun is baking your home and creating less than ideal conditions for wine storage. Make this release from Aurelien Verdet first on your list. It carries plenty of luscious red berry and spice notes, vivid acidity and maintains that perfect balance between body and fruit. I enjoy the entire lineup from this producer but for drinking now, this is truly my favorite of the lot.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$27.99

2013 Yalumba "Triangle Block" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 07-12-2017
A bright and spicy Shiraz with the perfect amount of juicy fruit without the opulent texture that many have associated with Australian Shiraz. This is alive with red berry character and that high elevation, cool climate acidity that balances everything out. A great value.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2014 Domaine Comte Abbatucci "Cuvée Faustine" Ajaccio Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 07-12-2017
I tried Corsican wine for the first time about 3 years ago, it was this wine in fact, and I fell in love with it immediately. Fresh herbs, red berries, and bearing a tart and juicy edge, this is slightly reminiscent of a bright Rosso from Tuscany. Spectacular and vibrant it is fermented in stainless steel and cement tanks and does not see a speck of oak. Trust me when I say the wines from this island are worth seeking out. Fantastic with grilled, charred meats during BBQ season. If you're trying them for the first time, Jean-Charles Abbatucci sets the bar high.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 07-12-2017
Chateau de la Charriere never disappoints. The 2015 vintage has resulted in an abundance of red berries, a slightly earthier component than the Bourgogne Rouge (which sold out quickly!) some black currant notes and smooth as silk tannins. Fresh, balanced and very easy to drink, I suspect this one will sell out too, especially at this price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Hautes Côtes de Nuits "Les Prieure" Rouge
Review Date: 07-12-2017
This is a crowd pleasing style that is beautifully aromatic and rich in dark fruits, earth and spice. Anyone who likes a bolder style of Pinot Noir without the opulence of hot climate fruit would enjoy this.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-12-2017
Absolutely delicious. Gaglioppo is a tannic varietal so the tannins are present here but they are very smooth. The nose is full of fun, fruity aromas like watermelon and cherry candy but on the palate you'll detect more spice and it maintains a pleasantly dry finish. This drinks more like a lighter red wine than a rose and it packs a lot of punch.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Mont de Milieu" 1er Cru
Review Date: 07-03-2017
This 1er Cru from La Chablisienne is more luxurious on the palate than some of their other wines but it still has the racy acidity and flinty quality that makes it classic Chablis. If you want a Chardonnay that has more richness but without that prominent oak profile, this is a great choice.

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 07-03-2017
This is one of my top 3 picks in the rare "under $25 Burgundy" category. This has a little something for everyone - plenty of succulent red fruits, a hint of sweet spice and bright acidic lift. A great starting point for anyone who enjoys domestic Pinot Noir but is looking to explore the wines from this area. This is a wine meant for drinking now, and I suggest you do.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Viñátigo Listán Negro Rosado Tenerife
Review Date: 06-27-2017
If you drink rose often but have grown restless and want to spice things up a bit, this should fit the bill. Don't let the dark color fool you - this is still fresh and dry but instead of the typical citrus and floral tones found in most roses, this one is full of red cherries, white pepper and spice. It reminds me of wines made with the Pineau d'Aunis grape from the Loire Valley. Complex in the nose and on the palate and just scrumptious. I love this wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2016 Proprieta Sperino "Rosa del Rosa" Piemonte
Review Date: 06-26-2017
I look forward to the arrival of this rose every season. Wonderfully aromatic with bright cherry fruit, pink flowers, a hint of blood orange, wonderful structure, and plenty of crisp, fresh acid, this is great for outdoor drinking with a charcuterie board and good friends.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The bouquet of this wine instantly brought me back to my childhood in Ontario, Canada, where, every summer, I'd pick wild strawberries and make preserves with my mom. Wonderful berry fruit from the warm 2015 vintage is present, along with purple flowers and a savory element not unlike black olives. On the palate the fruit has plenty of juicy depth and character with mineral notes and tannins that balance, not overwhelm. I enjoyed this with shredded, leftover roasted chicken leg tossed in a simple spinach salad with fennel and shallots. It would be equally enjoyable with pork tenderloin or warm farro salad with roasted vegetables. This is a fantastic wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Fallet-Dart Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 06-12-2017
A pleasing, plush style with plenty of red fruits, subtle herbal notes due to the percentage of Pinot Meunier, and a very favorable toasty quality. I enjoyed this with friends after a long work week and it certainly did not disappoint.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 06-12-2017
Drink any of Jean-Paul Brun’s wines and it’s obvious the emphasis is on fruit, not weight. He prefers to de-stem instead of fermenting with whole clusters and he relies on native yeasts. The result is vibrant wines that express the true personality of the Gamay grape. This wine from the northernmost cru in Beaujolais, Saint Amour, is so fresh and pure. It has fruit, structure, complexity, and precise acidity, making it a worthy companion for grilled meats. Plus the ABV is a refreshing 12.5%. Perhaps you enjoy Pinot Noir from France or Oregon but not the price tag? Or perhaps you think all Beaujolais wines are Nouveau? If so, then it’s time you tried this fine offering from Jean-Paul Brun.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2015 Joseph Drouhin "Laforet" Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-03-2017
How does one produce delicious, pleasantly crafted wine at this price point – from Burgundy no less? If you’re a top producer in the region, with access to good fruit and a solid team behind you, it can be done, as demonstrated by the Drouhin family. This blend of fruit from different vineyards is pure, easy-drinking Pinot Noir and it’s under $16. So how does it taste? Think wild strawberry, raspberry, some red currant perhaps, and a very mild hint of black pepper on the palate. Being from the hot and dry 2015 vintage there is plenty of fruit here but it’s fresh and alive, not jammy and vibrant acidity is there to balance it all out. This will knock your socks off in terms of drinkability and price. It is a wonderful option for those backyard summer soirees or as an everyday red with your weeknight dinner. Put a slight chill on this one to really make those fresh flavors sing.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 05-29-2017
“Rosé all day!” You’ve seen this smattered about on social media, maybe you’ve heard it shouted by pink wine enthusiasts at your local Sunday brunch spot. People go nuts for the stuff. And what's not to love? It's tasty, versatile and a great value. I am nuts about this one in particular. If you have not tried rosé from the island of Corsica, I can’t think of a better introduction than this stunner from Domaine Petroni. With its beautiful, pale pink color and exhilarating bouquet of stone fruit and flowers, I imagine myself basking in the sun somewhere in the Mediterranean with a glass of this in my hand. It is dry yet succulent, versatile with many foods or satisfying simply on its own. And it's only $12.99. We may not live in the Mediterranean but we have the Pacific Ocean and plenty of sun. Keep your fridge stocked with this gem and see where it takes you.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 05-22-2017
Two weeks ago, after ten years in business, my favorite restaurant permanently closed its doors. I don’t consider the closure of any good restaurant cause for celebration but this one in particular holds a special place in my heart so I made plans to commemorate their final dinner service with a fine bottle of wine in tow. Wanting something special to complement their food, I selected this Châteauneuf du Pape from winemaker Rudi des Pins. I could not have chosen a more perfect wine for the menu and the moment. Delicately restrained and beautifully elegant, we let this breathe a bit before consuming and it opened up to reveal gorgeous, bright red cherry fruits and exotic spices. This wine is drinking wonderfully now but do not hesitate to put one away for a few years as there is much to offer in this bottle.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Becker-Landgraf Sankt Laurent Rheinhessen
Review Date: 05-08-2017
With ample flavors of ripe raspberries and blueberry coulis, this is a juicy, lip-smacking wine with a very respectable ABV of 13%. There is a touch of black pepper on the mid palate and energetic acidity to support the scrumptious fruit. Once it has time to breathe, it shows elements that are reminiscent of a domestic wine, perhaps a fine Santa Rita Hills Syrah. Dense and elegant, here is a wine for those saucy barbecue ribs.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Borell-Diehl Pinot Noir Pfalz
Review Date: 05-08-2017
This is a more modern style of Pinot and there is plenty to enjoy about this fleshy red. Strawberry, cherry and mushroom aromas are followed by plenty of juicy fruit on the palate with a hint of white pepper towards the finish. This is a fuller style than some of the other German Pinot Noir I've recently tried but it is still quite refreshing. There is length to the finish and acidity that balances. Pairing suggestions include roasted game, grilled sausage and scallops.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jim Barry "Cover Drive" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 04-26-2017
A congenial wine that is chock-full of classic Coonawarra character: blackberry, cherry, mint and baking spices. This is a lip-smacking wine with bright acidity, fine tannin and spice on the finish. Invite friends over, fire up the grill and serve this with those burgers that you're famous for. Summer is here.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 91 WE 91

2014 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 04-18-2017
This wine strikes a balance between fruit notes and savory qualities that I really enjoy about New Zealand Pinot Noir. It is clean and pure with plenty of cherry, red currant and blackberry and has a hint of freshly cracked black pepper both in the nose and on the palate. Cheerful acidity and a lasting finish ties everything together, making this a tasty anytime wine.

2014 Elephant Hill Hawke's Bay Syrah
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Notes of blackberry, violet, plum, white pepper and smoked meat are followed by silken texture and balancing acidity. An inviting Syrah that has depth, complexity and elegance all at a reasonable price point. Grill and chill with this full bodied gem from Elephant Hill.

2013 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 04-03-2017
My fetish for Margaret River Cab lives on, thanks to our Aussie Buyer, Ryan Woodhouse. The wines have such a distinctive nose, are not unlike Bordeaux in style and flavor, and have excellent aging potential. The Xanadu is full of notes like cassis, plum, dark cocoa and eucalyptus. There is plenty of the same on the palate, with the addition of baking spices, pepper and gentle tannins towards the finish. There is a lot going on here that makes it ready to enjoy now but it can hang in your cellar for a few more years too. Frankly, at this price you'd be crazy not to stock up with bottles for the upcoming grilling season (which is now, in Southern California) or for that milestone birthday BBQ or pot roast dinner in a few years time.

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-19-2017
I've become quite fond of Margaret River Cabernet Sauvignon. It has plenty of fruit, body and structure that is just so fresh, precise and elegant. This bottle in particular offers such a variety of aromas and flavors: violets, black currants, cherries, pencil lead, eucalyptus in the nose. Cassis, tart cherry, dark cocoa, cedar and black pepper on the palate. The tannins are delicate and the finish lasting. A distinctive and delicious wine.

2010 Anderson's Conn Valley "Eloge" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-14-2017
I love the nose on this wine, with all of its ripe figs, black raspberries, violet and herbs. The palate reflects more restraint than the nose and I find myself pondering what's in the glass a lot longer than normal. This is a good thing. Velvety, great supporting acidity and a lingering finish. Run, don't walk to the store because this will not last long.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

2014 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-11-2017
Straightforward Willamette Valley Pinot with lovely notes of cherry, smoke, mushroom and spice. Plenty of bright acid to support. It is refreshing, flavorsome and very worthy of your consumption.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 JS 92

2016 Bayten Sauvignon Blanc Constantia
Review Date: 03-11-2017
This delectable Sauvignon Blanc is stocked in our cold box, ready for your drinking pleasure. Ripe golden apple, delicate white flowers and barely-ripe stone fruit in the glass. Energetic acidity and slight salinity leave you smacking your lips and reaching for the next pour. Grab this for your next outdoor gathering with friends.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 ST 90

2012 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-06-2017
I could go on and on about this magnificent wine. For the sake of brevity I'll focus on just a few of its qualities so you can click the “Add to Cart” button to the right of your screen before our inventory is depleted. In the glass is an intoxicating bounty of dark fruits, tobacco, cassis, clove and a hint of eucalyptus. The first sip seduces the palate with black currant, black cherry, warm baking spices and well integrated oak. The acidity is lively, the alcohol level respectable (13.5%), the tannins present yet gentle and the finish perpetual. This wine exudes purity, elegance and finesse. Now click that button.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 JH 96

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 02-19-2017
The grapes for this wine were picked approximately 10 days after neighboring Chablis producers had begun their harvest—expect a rounder style with extra levels of ripeness and intensity. This is brimmingwith cheerful citrus, crisp green apple, peach pit and melon, and mouthwatering acidity lingers in the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes-Côte de Nuits Rouge
Review Date: 02-18-2017
It is a struggle to find Pinot Noir below $30 that delivers this much pleasure. This release from Frédéric Esmonin shows rich raspberry and cherry notes, and the acidity is soft but present, with a clean finish that will have you reaching for a second glass. This balanced, easy-drinking wine is wonderful over conversation with friends and a simple meal of roasted chicken and seasonal vegetables. At a recent dinner with friends, the bottle was empty before our meal was finished cooking so we had no choice but to open a second. Darn.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Thistledown "Vagabond" Old Vine Grenache Blewitt Springs McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2017
Perhaps you think Australian red wines are only suitable for pouring over your pancakes? If so, you are sorely mistaken. Take for instance, this spirited Grenache. Cloying, it is not. Bright and elegant, it is. This bottle is chock full of lifted, just-picked raspberries and strawberries along with dried flowers in the nose and the same berry notes on the palate. Sweet spices like cinnamon and clove are present and spry acidity is perfectly balanced, leaving a finish that persists. Its super fresh, juicy personality will have you reaching for that second or third glass. This is tasty, tasty wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 93 RP 90

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 01-25-2017
Looking for a delicious, thirst quenching red that will satisfy your palate and your pocketbook? Look no further! This generous Cabernet Sauvignon is full of rich dark fruits, soft but noticeable structure and juicy acidity. This is a great bottle to ease you into the work week or to get the party started on the weekend.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seabold Monterey Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-22-2017
I'm rather impressed with this debut from Seabold Cellars and judging by the repeat purchases by our customers, they are too. This is quintessential dynamic California Pinot that has an abundance of Monterey fruit and spectacular vigor, elegance and structure. This has all the elements that make it an age-worthy wine: fruit, tannins, acidity and alcohol. So is this drinking nicely now? You’d better believe it! But this is small production wine, with less than 400 cases made so get one for tonight and one for your cellar before it's all gone.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Loyasson, Bordeaux
Review Date: 01-21-2017
Think inexpensive Bordeaux that is actually good is impossible to find? Think again. This is a balanced and approachable wine with plenty of dark red fruits, a hit of earth, freshness, and tannins that are easy on the palate. From the superb 2015 vintage come many gems, this one being a top pick for me in this price category. Definitely a case-worthy purchase.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2015 Domaine Dugois Ploussard Arbois Rouge
Review Date: 12-23-2016
Customers frequently ask me what my favorite wine in the store is. I enjoy a variety of styles from different countries, plus it all depends on what I'm eating, who I'm with, and what kind of mood I'm in. The truth is, I don't have one... until now! I simply cannot get enough of this wine. As soon as the bottle is popped open you're smacked with an infinite bouquet of just-picked wild strawberries and raspberries. The palate is a mouthful of said berries with some red currant and a touch of white pepper and minerals on the finish. This is such a tasty little bottle of wine I unknowingly consumed three quarters of the bottle in one sitting, sans buzz. The ABV is only 13% and this is a lighter style of red so a slight chill would do it just fine. I love this wine - it's light, fresh, frolicsome and absolutely delicious!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Holus Bolus Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 12-06-2016
Another outstanding effort from Black Sheep Finds. Showing substantial blackberry and blueberry fruits upfront with voluptuous body and a trace of sweet spiciness on the nose. Oak is present but elegantly restrained and there is a vivacious acidity that balances everything out into a long, satisfying finish. A fantastic expression of Sta. Rita Hills fruit from producers that never disappoint.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 10-26-2016
This is a very congenial wine from the Cotes du Rhone that shows rich, ripe red berries on the nose yet on the palate there is a tartness to the fruit and the essence of sweet spices and earth. A fantastic everyday red!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Lirac Blanc
Review Date: 10-26-2016
A scrumptious wine with delicate flavors of stone fruit and melon, a texture that caresses and a cheerful acidity that gives it overall balance and finesse. Delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90