Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh


2016 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes-Côte de Nuits Rouge
Review Date: 02-27-2018
This is delightful example of craftsmanship of Esmonin. Their attention to detail and desire to achieve perfect balance is showing even in their entry level Burgundy. This wine exhibits bright crunchy cranberry and freshly crushed red cherries flavors with subtle notes of light earthiness and spice. Very clean, elegant with acidity in balance with fruit, this wine is one of the best 2016 to drink right now and in the near future.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Ruchottes-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Ruchottes-Chambertin is less concentrated and rich than Mazy but significantly more taut, racy and mineral thanks to rocky, limestone based soil in the vineyard. It's a charming wine with raspberry, black cherry, floral and sous-bois. Very bright, vivid and juicy on the palate with lots of earthy and mineral notes layering that cherry fruit profile.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
BH 93 VN 92

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Mazy-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Wine of astonishing beauty Mazy-Chambertin is incredibly aromatic. Notes of black cherry, blackcurrants and spice pour from the glass and captivate you immediately. On the palate it's powerful and opulent yet elegant and bright with uplifting acidity and voluptuous texture, full of black cherries and plum. Very dense and concentrated in flavor it will age for a long time though it's hard to keep your hands off it already!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
BH 93 VN 92

2016 Bernhard Ott "Am Berg" Grüner Veltliner Niederösterreich (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 01-10-2018
"Am Berg" Gruner Veltliner from Bernhard Ott has become a beloved wine and go-to for us here at K&L. Consistent and delicious every year, 2016 vintage is brisk, fresh and crunchy. It's full of bright lemon and pomelo fruit supported by serious minerality coming from loess soil in the vineyard. Done entirely in stainless steel to preserve purity of fruit and freshness this wine still has great mid-palate that turns into long lasting finish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2015 Biecher & Schaal Altenberg de Bergheim Grand Cru Alsace
Review Date: 01-09-2018
This wine has stunning floral aromas, accompanied by rich exotic fruit and wild honey notes, which captivate you immediately! On the palate it's off-dry and round with lots of fruit but also with distinctive mineral tone that comes from fossil-rich limestone and marl soil and keeps it fresh and intriguing. Exquisitely complex and beautifully structured wine that comes from one of the oldest vineyards in Alsace dating back to 13th century. I am a fan of it for life now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2015 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria
Review Date: 01-06-2018
Love, love this wine! Bright and brisk, full-bodied but with incredibly clean mineral profile and impeccable freshness. To me this wine is on the same level as 1er Cru Chassagne-Montrachet. If I'd taste it blind I'd say it's Burgundy, because of its precise balance, wonderful acidity and overall pure flavor. Finish is long and lingers on and on.

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2017
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-18-2017
This was rather a pleasant surprise for me! In the past wines of Renaud from Pouilly-Fuisse were rich and on the heavier side. But this 2016 vintage is totally different. wine still has lovely weight of the fruit but there is no pronounced oak and texture is bright and fresh with crisp acidity that sparkles from start to finish. Such a delight!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2017
This Champagne was the most intriguing and fascinating for me recently. Its flavors are so complex that it's nearly impossible to pin it all down. That's what usually gets me and makes me want to have it again: unique flavor profile that always keeps you on your toes because it constantly changes and opens up with new nuances at each swirl of the glass and each sip. What got me here is amazingly balanced combination of minerality, deep texture, purity of Chardonnay grapes and brisk acidity. It's fresh but also has some richness from barrel maturations. It never gets heavy or toasty, it's just playing on the edge of it but keeps it precise. Perfect balance.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sella e Mosca Cannonau di Sardegna Riserva
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This is not your average fruity Grenache! This is one mighty impressive Cannonau (Grenache in Sardegna)! I was shocked by the incredible complexity of this wine. It's all about savory spice, red fruit and mouthwatering juicy acidity with long brilliant finish. Undeniably Italian in style this wine sparkles from start to finish. It never gets flat or sweet. Fruit is supple and delicious. Just loving it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune is full of ripe bing cherry aromas. The palate is richly textured and layered with spice, dark cherry and plum, firm tannins and bright acidity. It shows ripeness of the vintage, yet stays restrained and well structured
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Deliciously seductive 2015 Jax Cabernet Sauvignon is incredibly drinkable and fully approachable despite its young age. It's full-bodied and rich with velvety, supple tannins and bright acidity which gives this wine good aging potential. But what I love about this Cab the most is amazing flavors: black mulberry, marionberry and black cassis all wrapped up in espresso and dark spice notes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 - 94

2015 Domaine des Ruettes Saumur-Champigny Rouge
Review Date: 08-27-2017
2015 Domaine des Ruettes Saumur-Champigny Rouge comes from 30 year old vines grown on clay, flint and calcareous tufa. Aged 12 months in French oak barrels (of which 25% new) it’s more robust, structured, has firm tannins and bright acidity, with earthy components. Flint soil gives it a touch of smoky notes. It’s full-bodied and rich in plum and black cassis with spicy finish. It can age nicely for another 5-7 years.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Rouge
Review Date: 08-27-2017
2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Rouge is an amazing value and quite a gem. This wine made entirely in stainless steel which helps to retain impeccable freshness and minerality that comes from vines grown on predominantly schist soil. It’s full of delicious berry pie notes: mix of blackberry, raspberry and blueberry. Supple, fresh, smooth and gentle, with low tannins, soft acidity, but bright and light texture it’s an incredibly elegant style of Cabernet Franc.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Liquoureux (500ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Liquoreaux is the sweetest and richest expression of Vouvray. It's made with botrytized and ripest grapes. Full-bodied, intense, nectar like, it's full of honey, peach and apple pie-like flavors. It also has interesting baking spice notes. Very unique and exotic dessert wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I love new vintage of Cherrier! Super delicious, classic Sancerre. Pure minerality with very bright crunchy acidity and vivid, slightly tropical fruit expression. Very impressive for Sancerre under $20! Very fresh and vibrant.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
This is such a brilliant and perfectly balanced Meursault! Fresh and vivid yet with deep and lush texture and beautiful vibrant acidity that lingers on endlessly. Breathtaking Meursault!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Joël Taluau "Expression" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This is great expression of young Cabernet Franc. It’s fruit-forward cherry-scented with touch of black peppercorns. Thanks to great conditions of 2015 vintage this wine has lovely concentration of black currants and sweet Bing cherries with low tannins and just a touch of minerality.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
There is a layer of amethyst crystal underground giving to the wine each year a unique typicity and distinctive minerality to this vineyard, hence the name. This wine has serious structure and incredible depth for Gamay. I would have certainly mistaken it for true Burgundy in a blind tasting. It's full of earthy dark red cherry fruit with notes of forest floor. This is a wine you can age for another 5 years easily, but in meantime enjoy this powerful and balanced Beaujolais with duck confit or leg of lamb.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2015 Schmelz Pichl Point Grüner Veltliner Smaragd Wachau
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Smaragd is the ripest, most full bodied wines in Austria. All grapes destined for this designation must attain at least 18.2°KMW (KMW stands for "Klosterneuburger Mostwaage" and is a unit to define the amount of natural sugar in wine must) and all finished wine must be sealed with a long natural cork that is at least 49 mm long and branded with vintage year. The wines have to be aged in bottle and not released till after May 1 following harvest. Smaragd wines tend to be the most sought after and critically acclaimed Wachau wines with the potential to age for more than 20 years. This Gruner Veltliner is a magnificent example of such wine. Very juicy and dense, extra rich and yet elegant, dry and powerful with deep exotic fruit and bright acidity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Michel Delhommeau "Harmonie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-04-2016
What a pretty and easy to drink Muscadet! Clean, dry and mineral, but also full of tropical fruit. It is an amazing combination that I always find incredibly successful. Wine fermented and aged completely in tank and if you love Chablis and crisp white wine in general, definitely try this Muscadet. It's a steal!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-19-2016
One of my absolute favorite Riojas! Dry, savory and spicy. It has predominantly red fruit red plums), bright acidity, low but firm tannins, incredibly long finish that just never quits. Amazing wine to pair with lamb.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92