Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Gevrey-Chambertin "Clos Prieur"
Review Date: 04-06-2018
Wines from Frederic Esmonin never cease to amaze me! This one in particular is a stellar and a steal at such low price. It's incredibly vivid and bright aromatically - dark berries and cherries with smokey and mineral notes bursting from the glass. Fresh and lively on the palate, with beautiful crunchy acidity, black plum and black cherry on the palate. Definitely firm and well structured but also very approachable now with some decanting.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2016 Jean-Claude Boisset Bourgogne Rouge "Les Ursulines"
Review Date: 03-30-2018
This is very attractive little Bourgogne with quite serious profile! It opens up with aromas of black currants and hints of cedar. On the palate it's juicy and firmly structured, with pomegranate, red plum and plum coulis flavors bursting on the palate with touch ofearth and spice. Would be a great accompaniment to duck or quail.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes-Côte de Nuits Rouge
Review Date: 02-27-2018
This is delightful example of craftsmanship of Esmonin. Their attention to detail and desire to achieve perfect balance is showing even in their entry level Burgundy. This wine exhibits bright crunchy cranberry and freshly crushed red cherries flavors with subtle notes of light earthiness and spice. Very clean, elegant with acidity in balance with fruit, this wine is one of the best 2016 to drink right now and in the near future.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Ruchottes-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Ruchottes-Chambertin is less concentrated and rich than Mazy but significantly more taut, racy and mineral thanks to rocky, limestone based soil in the vineyard. It's a charming wine with raspberry, black cherry, floral and sous-bois. Very bright, vivid and juicy on the palate with lots of earthy and mineral notes layering that cherry fruit profile.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
BH 93 VN 92

2016 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Mazy-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Wine of astonishing beauty Mazy-Chambertin is incredibly aromatic. Notes of black cherry, blackcurrants and spice pour from the glass and captivate you immediately. On the palate it's powerful and opulent yet elegant and bright with uplifting acidity and voluptuous texture, full of black cherries and plum. Very dense and concentrated in flavor it will age for a long time though it's hard to keep your hands off it already!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
BH 93 VN 92

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2017
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-18-2017
None of the 2014 Chablis wines from La Chablisienne have disappointed me so far. They are all fantastic! But considering price of this 1er Cru I would say it's by far the best value and my favorite Chablis. It's practically perfect. If you love juicy bright citrus, crunchy minerality and fresh acidity that wakes up your whole palate, this Chablis is for you.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

2008 Louise Brison "Cuvée Tendresse" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2017
This Champagne was the most intriguing and fascinating for me recently. Its flavors are so complex that it's nearly impossible to pin it all down. That's what usually gets me and makes me want to have it again: unique flavor profile that always keeps you on your toes because it constantly changes and opens up with new nuances at each swirl of the glass and each sip. What got me here is amazingly balanced combination of minerality, deep texture, purity of Chardonnay grapes and brisk acidity. It's fresh but also has some richness from barrel maturations. It never gets heavy or toasty, it's just playing on the edge of it but keeps it precise. Perfect balance.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sella e Mosca Cannonau di Sardegna Riserva
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This is not your average fruity Grenache! This is one mighty impressive Cannonau (Grenache in Sardegna)! I was shocked by the incredible complexity of this wine. It's all about savory spice, red fruit and mouthwatering juicy acidity with long brilliant finish. Undeniably Italian in style this wine sparkles from start to finish. It never gets flat or sweet. Fruit is supple and delicious. Just loving it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune is full of ripe bing cherry aromas. The palate is richly textured and layered with spice, dark cherry and plum, firm tannins and bright acidity. It shows ripeness of the vintage, yet stays restrained and well structured
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Deliciously seductive 2015 Jax Cabernet Sauvignon is incredibly drinkable and fully approachable despite its young age. It's full-bodied and rich with velvety, supple tannins and bright acidity which gives this wine good aging potential. But what I love about this Cab the most is amazing flavors: black mulberry, marionberry and black cassis all wrapped up in espresso and dark spice notes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 - 94

2011 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Liquoureux (500ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Liquoreaux is the sweetest and richest expression of Vouvray. It's made with botrytized and ripest grapes. Full-bodied, intense, nectar like, it's full of honey, peach and apple pie-like flavors. It also has interesting baking spice notes. Very unique and exotic dessert wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
This is such a brilliant and perfectly balanced Meursault! Fresh and vivid yet with deep and lush texture and beautiful vibrant acidity that lingers on endlessly. Breathtaking Meursault!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

1998 Haut Franquet, Moulis
Review Date: 05-16-2017
This Bordeaux opens up with very aromatic earthy and savory notes of leather, sweet tobacco and subtle hints of darker red fruit. On the palate it's smooth and soft with well-developed tannins, very savory red and black cassis notes and supple earthiness. The property consists of 65% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot and 5% Petit Verdot.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This Champagne represents elegance in its purity! It's delicate but yet persistent and dry on the palate with distinctive light strawberry and white peach notes with pronounced minerality. Bright and ethereal beauty!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
There is a layer of amethyst crystal underground giving to the wine each year a unique typicity and distinctive minerality to this vineyard, hence the name. This wine has serious structure and incredible depth for Gamay. I would have certainly mistaken it for true Burgundy in a blind tasting. It's full of earthy dark red cherry fruit with notes of forest floor. This is a wine you can age for another 5 years easily, but in meantime enjoy this powerful and balanced Beaujolais with duck confit or leg of lamb.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2014 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 10-03-2016
What an amazing value I should say! I was more than impressed with this wine. I've enjoyed "Bastide Miraflors" in the past vintages, and this one does not disappoint. It is medium to full-bodied, full of black fruit layered with dark spices. Tannins are very soft and velvety and it leads to long juicy finish. Very approachable and classic Cotes du Roussilon with incredible level of complexity. I'm going to make it my everyday house wine, because you really can't find better wine at this price, if you love French wines. Don't miss out on this one!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 92