Staff Favorites - Ryan Moses

Ryan Moses


2015 Paxton Wines "AAA" Shiraz-Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-16-2018
Every once in a while there's a buzz around the shop for a particular producer - folks that try dozens of wines a day will make sure their colleague took the time to taste a certain wine. Such is the case for Paxton's 2015 AAA. It shows great purity and freshness, refined texture, and is a very graceful rendition of a Grenache and Syrah blend. Those who adore cool-climate Syrah or elegant CdP will find a lot to love, while those looking for a top under-$20 pick will be thrilled with this gem.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 02-27-2018
If you're looking for quality that outperforms a price-point, just look for Felsina on the label (especially for a vintage like 2015). Another homerun in the Tuscan value category, this Chianti Classico shows a classic Chianti character while borrowing from the robust nature of the vintage, adding a beautiful brightness and refinement. It is first a food wine with focus, acidity and tannin. It does have enough fruit, however, that it can stand on its own if need be. It'll be hard to keep your hands off now since it can drink effortlessly with a quick decant, but it'll be fun to follow for the next 5-10 years for those with a bit more patience. Either way, another superb vintage for Felsina's flagship Chianti Classico.

2013 Bodegas Aleanna "Gran Enemigo" Cabernet Franc Gualtallary Argentina
Review Date: 02-23-2018
The last vintage of this sold in a flash due to Luis Gutiérrez (Wine Advocate) comparing it to Lafleur in his lofty 98+ point review. Although I didn't get a chance to try that one, tasting the 2013 it became incredibly apparent why. It is an incredibly seamless, elegant, compact Cab Franc that will age beautifully for years. It is also one of those wines that will be fascinating to follow as it develops and I find myself hoping for that opportunity. One of the most refined Argentinian wines I've ever tried, it also shocked and impressed some of the most devoted Old World wine lovers here at K&L. This is one that should be on any collector's radar for sure.

2015 Pavie Macquin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Tasted at our UGC event on Jan 25th, 2018. This is the first St. Emilion that I tried at the tasting and one that kept me coming back - what an introduction to a superlative vintage for the Right Bank. Showing a ton of balance and poise, it is a luxurious claret without ever going over the top insofar as concentration or extraction. Beautiful purity a depth back up a long finish in what is sure to be a highlight of this terrific vintage for the decades to come. Hard to resist young, it is one that will reward a bit of time in the cellar and can be enjoyed for the two decades following.

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-15-2018
The past two vintages of this remarkable Syrah sold out in a matter of days and it's very easy to see why. On the palate, this is dead ringer for a refined, cool, and vibrant Northern Rhone collectible - a young and extremely promising bottling. Perhaps a bit more lift and tension than the past few vintages, it has all the structure and depth to age for a few decades but will turn heads even now with a good decant. If you're looking for finesse in Syrah, or value in collectible, ageworthy reds, this is a bottling that needs to be on your radar.

2013 Ramey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-16-2017
I can't say it enough - those who load up on the best deals in 2013 Napa Cab will be thankful they did for the years to come. Akin to the premium that 2007 Napa fetches these days, 2013 buyers will consider themselves savvy in the years to come. This particular one has everything going for it: One of Napa's elite producers? Check. Big vintage? Check. A price you won't find anywhere else? Double check. And the wine is stellar - everything you'd want in a $50+ Napa Cab - depth, refinement, structure, all in the right proportion. It's hard to go wrong with a top vintage selection from Ramey, and this speaks loudly to that.

2014 Tilia Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 11-30-2017
I've always had a soft spot for this over-delivering Malbec, but perhaps never more so than for the 2014. It's a ton of wine, especially for our sub-$8 price and it probably won't be long for our shelves at that. The color is a deep ruby, but the aromas are lined with blue and red fruit. The palate is fresh and vibrant, exceptionally balanced, and concentrated without being heavy. The style almost has me thinking $25 Côtes du Rhône. Either way, an easy-going bottle that begs to be shared and one you won't have to think twice about opening at a modest $7.99.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Star Lane Santa Ynez Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-17-2017
I've enjoyed Star Lane Cabs for over a decade now and am thrilled to see them getting some long overdue mainstream recognition. Not only are the wines better than ever, but the pricing is stunning - basically the same on our shelves as they were back in the day. That probably won't be the case for long considering what's in the bottle with the 2014 vintage. Beautiful bright acidity carries red and black fruit to go alongside a chalky tannin that's almost reminiscent of Bordeaux. But the brightness and concentration shows a sense of place and a home in California. Drink now with a healthy decant, or follow over the next 10 to 15 years. (83% Cabernet Sauvignon, 8% Merlot, 4% Cabernet Franc, 4% Petit Verdot, 1% Malbec)
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 95

2013 Hall Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Hall made the scene, so to speak, with their RP95 Napa Cab in 2008 and quickly became one of the great go-to value Cabs on the market. But what is more exciting is the overall jump in quality at the winery to rival some of Napa's greatest wines. I think that is the story with the 2013 Napa Cab more than any score that's been put on it. Straight out of the bottle there's pure cassis and vanilla aromas. The palate is very soft with explosive red and black fruit, well-integrated tannins, and a string of acidity that carries an impressive finish. I would decant now for 2-4 hours or leave in a cool cellar for five years, but I'm sure those that see this to maturity will have a gem in their collection that will defy the sub-$50 price-point. For those looking for a sweet spot wine in 2013 Napa Cabernet, it doesn't get much better than this.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-11-2017
At a recent staff tasting, this outclassed the rest of the table in a way that you'd imagine a grand cru to perform at a table of village wines. Not only is this full of class, refinement, and structure, but I've really enjoyed how 2014 Napanook has developed over the past few months since release. Coming from the same exact vineyard as the grand vin Dominus, Napanook is still the poster child for value in collectible Cabernet. Very few Napa wines this good are still found at this kind of price-point, and this fact is exemplified beautifully in the 2014 vintage.

2014 Red Stitch "Sierra Mar Vineyard" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-31-2017
This was a hit with our team when tasting - it balanced an earthiness with finely-tuned fruit that exemplified a well-built Pinot that's full of surprises. Perhaps the most aromatically complex of the lineup, it still delivers depth on the palate with ripe strawberry, baking spice, black tea, and light oak. Another winner from the team at Red Stitch, who is proving their mettle with Pinot Noir alongside their already renowned Cabernet.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Red Stitch "Soberanes" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-31-2017
This was my favorite of the lineup - a striking, bright, delineated Pinot that represents one of the up and coming, celebrated Central Coast sites in Soberanes Vineyard. The balance and tension keeps this lively and it highlights what high-end California Pinot should be - aligned with a sense of place but with the ability to do so with refinement and class. Drink now with a bit of air, or follow over the next decade. Great stuff.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 Red Stitch Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-31-2017
This is a no-compromise effort from the great 2013 Napa vintage that shouldn't be overlooked. Deep cassis and black cherry highlight bright aromatics and a composed and well-balanced effort. It has the structure to age for another decade and a half, but will thrill any Cab lover sooner than that with a quick decant. The folks at Red Stitch have been making serious wines for over half a decade now and this will most likely mark their greatest release to date. Tiny production here - around 250 cases produced.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2015 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This is the kind of wine that we search endlessly for, find rarely, and can't keep in stock when we have it. We spend most everyday trying to find that domestic red that drinks like a cult cab but spends like a house pour. For me, this is it - my go-to red in a generous, refined, and delicious style that doesn't hide where its from, but could also go toe-to-toe with Napa bottlings in the $40 to $60 range. And while I've dabbled in the Wines of Substance releases before, this is probably the most impactful rendition I've tasted to date. At $15, this will be hard to beat now and for a long time to come. Load up.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Laventura Viura Rioja
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Perhaps one of the best kept secrets in the store for white wine. The textural refinement combined with refreshing, vibrant fruit and acidity make for a complete and delicious wine that stands out at nearly every tasting we've had. And not just telling the folks next to me that I enjoyed it, but folks from all three stores rallying to this wine because they had the same enthusiastic "we need to get the word out" type reaction. Every bit as good as the instantly sold-out 2013 vintage, but more attractively priced. This is a must-try wine for any palate.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Rustenberg Chardonnay Stellenbosch South Africa
Review Date: 07-17-2017
After reading the Decanter review, I had to try this for myself. Usually such bold promises at modest price points can be tough to live up to, but this hits the mark with room to spare. I can't say I'm surprised after tasting the remarkable Chardonnay values that our buyer brings in from South Africa, Australia, and New Zealand...but this one quickly became my favorite to date. A stunning seamless texture supports a bright, vibrant, balanced Chardonnay that reminds me of the poise and focus of a white Burg at multiples of this price. And although it is rote to grasp for a Burgundy corollary to qualify and Chardonnay, I just couldn't shake the thought while enjoying this bottle. Load up while available and enjoy anytime now or over the next 5 to 10 years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 VN 91

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 05-26-2017
Produced for nearly three decades, Fontalloro remains one of the reference-point examples of pure Sangiovese, and one of the few that you can still find for such an immensely reasonable price considering its pedigree. On the nose it is textbook Sangiovese all the way with strawberry, licorice, and a touch of vanilla and leather. Superb purity on the palate, it has a core of bright red cherry, red plum, and mouthwatering acidity that sustains a clean and lingering finish. It is texturally seamless and barely showing any age at all approaching six years from the vintage. All of these pieces culminate in a wine that will age gracefully for the next fifteen-plus years (although even as a pop-and-pour right now it is extremely dynamic and rewarding). A superb vintage of Fontalloro.

2013 Bond "Quella" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Melbury’s neighbor to the west, it is the youngest of Bond’s vineyard designates, making its debut in 2006. An elegance and grace dominate this wine. Although aromatically reticent at the moment, it is night and day contrasted against Melbury’s density. Bright blue and black fruit frame a soft wine that never lacks for extract or depth. It evolves beautifully with a bit of air (all wines were popped and poured an hour in advance) and keeps showing another dimension when going back to the glass. Gorgeous now, but one that will be fascinating to follow for years. Drink 2020 to 2030.
Price: $599.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 96 VN 95
Limit of 3 per customer

2013 Bond "Melbury" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 04-25-2017
First made in 1999, this red-fruit dominated Cabernet hails from a seven-acre hillside vineyard just north of Lake Hennessey. Aromatically it is perhaps the most striking of the 2013s, if not for its complexity then at least for its intensity. It was a perfect preamble to how serious the following wines were going to be. Very silky, it had a distinct savory note and is very tightly coiled. The finish is lined with baking spices, bitter chocolate, and bright fruit. It is a wine that seems to be apt to age, although not as demanding as the Vecina for example. Enjoy 2022 to 2035+.
Price: $599.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 97 VN 97
Limit of 3 per customer