Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Jim Barry "Cover Drive" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 04-26-2017
A surprisingly serious Cab from South Australia, this has been consistently good in the past few vintages that I have tasted. Medium-bodied with ripe berry notes, this wine does not get overly ripe or jammy. Instead a lovely acid core drives it forward and fine tannin runs along and coats the palate. Notes of mint and eucalyptus mingle with the layers of currant and blackberry making this a wonderful food wine that will go beautifully with lamb or beef.
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WE 91

1995 Craigellachie 21 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-26-2017
This is another one of those bottlings we get from time to time that just seems to good to be true. For those who love the richness that sherry can offer to Scottish whisky and want something that has age and elegance, but do not want to spend hundreds of dollars I would normally say that you are out of luck. Then I get to taste something like this and I am still a little surprised at what is in the bottle and what we are selling it for. Warm rich fruit in syrup on the nose with some almond and vanilla lead to a big rich palate. Dried fruit and brown sugar with warming spices that start and slowly grow as the Scotch sits golden on the tongue. Long finish with growing heat that never seems to overwhelm even at cask strength, all of this and it is under $100. I mean it just seems silly, but oh so drinkable.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2007 York Creek "Horseshoe Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Drinking York Creek is not only a cool way to taste California history, it is one of the few bottlings that one can still get Spring Mountain fruit for a very reasonable price thanks to us buying directly from their warehouse. Red mountain fruit with plenty of minerality showcase a wine that is vibrant and still in it's early drinking days. A strong acid core keeps the wine on the lighter side while promising long aging potential. For those who want to see what a long lived, old school wine ought to taste grab a few of these because it will probably run out quickly.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 York Creek "Track" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Finally we are getting some more York Creek and I will have to be honest this is one of the best I have tasted. Although this does not quite have the richness that the 2005 vintage from Track had it more than makes up for that with elegance and finesse in my opinion. There is an earthy quality to the nose alongside the dark sweet berry and bramble notes. Good acid keeps the wine fresh and moving forward with long tannins also helping to bring about a long finish. This wine is drinking beautifully right now but could easily go for more years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville 50th Anniversary" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Ridge is without a doubt one of the best producers of Zinfandel in California and every year the Geyserville bottling is may favorite. This year proved that once again that pound for pound the Geyserville is my favorite Zinfandel in the store. What I love about this bottling is that there is always a beautiful acid core that drives this wine forward. This year shows lovely cool red fruit with notes of red berry and some spice. The 2015 vintage has excellent structure and like all of Ridge should age but is drinking so well right now it is hard to think about aging when you just want to start drinking.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2017
I will admit that despite my trust in Four Pillars to make excellent gin I was a little skeptical to try the Barrel Aged version. This is mostly due to the fact that I have never really enjoyed barrel aged gin, it just does not hit my sweet spot for what I am looking for in gin. Of course I am always happy to change my mind, and while I still do not love barrel aging gin, I really liked the Four Pillars version. The barrels add lots of complex fruit and citrus notes on the nose. While there is some vanilla here, it thankfully does not dominate. Instead layers of interesting savory spices mix with an almost Meyer lemon citrus with a long finish bolstered with some oak spice. I cannot wait to try it in cocktails, although it is good enough to sip which is something I never thought I would say about gin.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jo Landron "La Louvetrie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine
Review Date: 04-10-2017
This is a superb bottle of Muscadet even if it were at a higher price point. Driven, focused acid and minerality with a salty note. This is a serious little bottle of wine that will be perfect for shellfish, salads, and starry nights.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Castillo de Viñas Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 04-05-2017
For a long time my go to table red for $10 was a Rhone wine, and while I still love it this new Rioja may take its place. Although this wine opens with rich red cherry and blackberry note it is surprisingly light on its feet. Fresh acid moves it along and allows for a somewhat tart finish. This is a lovely little food wine and one that makes a great everyday offering that tastes more complex than the price would lead you to believe.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
This was definitely one of our top sellers last year and it is good to see it back in the new vintage. For those looking for a little more elegance and honesty in their Cab this is the wine for you. Good acid, red berry and bramble, and a touch rustic this wine showcases the grape over manipulation. All of this and the wine is still only $35 which is almost unheard if these days. I believe that this wine may just fly out of here as fast as it did last year.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Pied á Terre Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
I thought this wine was good in the 2012 vintage, but the '13 has me truly impressed. This is not an overly rich and flabby style cab, rather there is a dark and spicy nose with a touch of jalapeno. This leads to a rich body with bramble and cassis and a pleasant coat of tannic structure. A rare find for those who are looking for good value California Cabernet.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cartuxa Evora Alentejo
Review Date: 04-04-2017
It has been fun getting to know more wines from Portugal and this was one that especially stood out to me. Wild ripe berry notes on the nose promise a big wine, and while there was plenty of fruit here there is a long acid core that drives this wine. Juicy without being heavy, this wine ended with a very cool finish and made me ready for another sip.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta do Pinto "Vinhas do Lasso" Colheita Seleccionada
Review Date: 04-04-2017
Super yummy white at a silly good price. This wine opened with a beautiful ripe nose of big orchard fruit and goes into a cool rich mid palate with a touch of salt and sandy minerality. Easily one of the most fun whites in this price range in the store right now in my opinion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

1996 Glen Moray 19 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-03-2017
This is probably the stand out bottle for me in the new lineup of John Milroy because there is a unique thing going on here. When I was young we used to go to Galveston right outside of Houston and there was a candy shop that made fresh saltwater taffy. I loved watching the arms stretch the candy and would gobble up bits the candy master would throw to the watching children. This Glen Moray reminds me of being there, I get notes of butterscotch taffy on the nose, the hints of salt and sweet. On the palate there is a surprisingly fruity, salty, sweet thing. It reminds me of strawberry/caramel taffy. Seriously cool bottle of whiskey.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Mortlach 10 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-03-2017
Superb bottling of Mortlach and a wonderful new dram for those looking for something on the richer side of life. Although this is Mortlach, this is a more elegant and restrained version not always seen. The smoky and meaty characteristics are lightened with citrus hints of tangerine and white orchard fruit. The palate has a dense almond and marzipan overlaid with bbq notes and very low heat on the finish.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 André Ostertag "Barriques" Pinot Blanc Alsace (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-29-2017
This is the type of wine that I have fallen in love with for so many reasons. First and foremost because of how versatile it is for food pairing. There is a beautiful richness here with stone fruit that leads to a mouth-watering acid keeping this wine light and fresh. In other words there is enough body to stand up, structure to keep it long, and acid to keep it fresh and desirable. In addition, it is delicious, seriously good without the serious price tag.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Bernhard Ott "Am Berg" Grüner Veltliner Wagram (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-17-2017
I have only recently discovered the world of Gruner Veltliner, which is a shame because I am forced to realize how long I have gone without drinking these delightful wines. Fortunately for me, seeing as I work for a company that brings in such delicious offerings of this fantastic variable. This being a case in point, seriously this wine has everything I want from this grape and area. Citrus blossom and herbaceous notes on the nose lead to a beautiful body, There is plenty of white stone fruit and apple that is driven and focused while remaining approachable. Long crisp finish and a low (only 12%) abv means this will be one of my go to wines this Spring and Summer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 WE 90

2015 Stony Bank Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 03-13-2017
Weather is turning warmer and during these sunny days some of the most quaffable, quenchable, and downright delightful wines to open are NZ Sav Blancs. For those who are missing the Lake Chalice we used to carry worry not, here is Stony Bank to save the day. Classic grapefruit and gooseberry notes with a stony minerality (how could it not) and super refreshing finish, this is one of the best value whites in the store. Weddings, parties, long evenings with friends, this wine goes with them all.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-11-2017
This is Willamette Valley, long and balanced with delicate sweet raspberry tart cherry intermixing with floral notes and a long finish. Argyle is one of those wineries that I can always count on to make quality Pinot Noir and this just continues that tradition.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 JS 92

2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2017
Sometimes you need a miracle during the month of March and sometimes Someone hears you and you get Champagne that was aged longer than intended. Well that has happened, one of our favorite DI, Bonville, from champagne has found some 2009 that was aging in his cellar for longer than usual. What happens when an amazing producer has his wine age for an extra two years on the lees? Pure magic my friends. This wine has length and plenty of minerality and drive with a beautiful dry finish. However, those extra years add a richness and roundness that is absolutely delicious. Seriously this is good.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2009 Caol Ila 6 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" Single Sherry Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Young Caol Ila always delivers exactly what one thinks it will, and that is no mean feat. Iodine and peat with some subdued floral notes indicate with no uncertainty that this is a young Islay and not just from anywhere. Sharp, almost aggressive peat and iodine with bright young fruit and seaweed notes are all layered in this with a spice that rises like the tide toward the finish. In my book nothing screams young Islay to me in the same way young Caol Ila does, and for those who know there is simply no substitute.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2009 Talisker 6 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" Single Sherry Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2017
Young whiskey, especially Scotch is always fun to taste for me, but it is rarely smooth or well balanced which comes with age. However, this sherry casked young Talisker seems to make a bit of an exception to this rule. Vanilla and iodine floral notes on the nose immediately tell you that this is an Island Scotch with Sherry influence. The taste is a surprisingly complex mix of spiced coffee, peach tea, and sharp peat notes. Not overly smokey and a light finish that is long and lingering and completely tasty. This is still young and has heat but it tastes put together and ready to dink, especially at this price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1996 Allt-a-Bhainne 19 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" Single Sherry Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2017
A couple of days ago I was helping a customer pick out single malts and he was lamenting the lack of exclusive sherry casked goodies on the shelf. I just told him to be patient and that patience has been rewarded. This is another example of when sherry casking and cask strength get it exactly right. A sweet rich nose with hints of chocolate and plum spice pudding lead to a smooth creamy taste. Butterscotch and vanilla pudding with hints of almonds meld into a dry and long finish with baking spice notes. Due to how rich it is there is not a ton of heat here, although opening it up with a little water allows the finish to sing even more.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2015 Einaudi Dogliani (Dolcetto)
Review Date: 02-28-2017
An absolutely beautiful little bottle of red, this dolcetto will hopefully become a regular in my rotation of everyday reds. Ripe aromatics of wild cherry immediately greet you and lead to a lush body. Although there is good ripe fruit here, it is not plump or extracted at all. Rather the wine is soft with notes of dark cherry and spice and a soft finish. A surprisingly good wine to pair with hearty dishes on chilly evenings.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Husch Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-27-2017
This is a very tasty bottle of PN from one of the oldest wineries in the area. Bright red fruit with wild cherry and sweet raspberry notes dance on the acid core that drives this wine. A little herbal and spice on the finish along with very soft tannins help round the wine out and bring about a nice finish. Easy to drink at an easy price point this is worth a bottle or two.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-27-2017
This is one of my all time favorite producers from this region and I always think one of the best deals in Brunello (or Rosso for that matter) in the store. Due to both the location and the winemakers style this Brunello almost always eschews power for grace and elegance. Not that this is a weak wine by any stretch, but rather it has focus, drive, and lots of complexity. These are the bottles that can be enjoyed now, are well worth stocking away in the cellar and opening in a few years.

2014 Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Finding good Central Coast Pinot for $20 should be a daunting task, yet our buyer keeps managing to make this happen time and time again. The Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot opens with a touch of savory notes on the nose in addition to the ripe berry notes. There is a lovely core of acid here that balances the wine and helps to keep the ripe red berry notes from being cloying. The finish is rather soft with just a hint of coating tannins, this wine is well worth getting in to.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Last years vintage of this was one of my favorite go to wines for people looking for serious cab that was not going to cost them $50-$100. Having just tasted the new vintage I can continue to strongly recommend them to anyone seeking good Cabernet. The 2013 vintage is a big, structured vintage with good fruit and chewy tannins. Although this wine is drinking well now, this is one that will age exceptionally well, or needs some decanting time. Drinking a cab with this much length and structure it is almost a shock when I remember that it is $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Super Substance "Northridge Vineyard" Wahluke Slope Merlot
Review Date: 02-24-2017
I am primarily aware of Charles Smith for his high end Syrah under the auspices of K Vintner and his value driven Bordeaux blends (although his newer project Casa Smith is excellent as well). Seeing that we had brought in several cases of the Super Substance label intrigued me, and I was so glad we got to open this wine. Not surprisingly to me, this is a very well done Merlot that captures the dark rich blackberry and plum notes of Merlot without being too sweet. Rather this is a well balanced and soft wine, with plenty of juicy fruit but that does not go overboard in any way.

2013 Thomas Fogarty Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Santa Cruz has quickly become one of my go to areas for serious (and seriously good) wine here in California. Although I am most familiar with the spectacular offerings from Domain Eden I am always happy to taste some one else'. I have had my eye on Thomas Fogarty, but had not had a chance to taste the Chardonnay until now. I must say I am super impressed. The wine has been allowed to go through malo, but in a very natural way. This gives the wine some weight, smoke, and richness. Due to the elevation though there is plenty of acid here to balance that out. Complex with alternating layers of fruit, oak, minerality, and acid this is a serious offering.

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-24-2017
While I love the amazing selection of value wines here at K&L I almost always go perusing through the offerings from France, New Zealand, or Spain hanks to our Direct Import program. So I was somewhat surprised and very pleased when I got to taste this $10 Chardonnay from Lincourt. The wine has a little fruit weight and showcases notes of white stone fruit and apples. There is no oak here so the acid come through really well, more balancing than bracing though and the finish is clean. All in all a perfect little white to throw into a party or drink on a Tuesday night.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Domaine Baud "Ancestral" Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 02-21-2017
Another great wine to throw into the mix of my ever growing list for light, well balanced red wines. This blend of Trousseau and Pinot Noir is earthy and mineral driven as is to be expected from a Jura. However, the Pinot blended into it gives it a little more blue fruit and adds a layer of complexity to this wine that completely works. The acid stays focused driving the wine forward and it finishes with a hint of dusty structure. Super tasty and fun for those looking at other options in light bodied red wines.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Dauliac Cahors
Review Date: 02-21-2017
I love finding red wine that showcases the purity of the fruit without any oak influence. I do not mind oak, but with the foods I typically cook I find that I gravitate toward these types of reds. I also love Malbec, but never did I think these two preferences of mine would ever meet. However, thankfully I just got a chance to taste this Malbec from Cahors and I am thrilled. Beautiful, pure, rich red fruit are present here along with spice and a wonderful balancing acid. The finish is clean and bright due to the lack of oak. So very tasty!!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Yuu Baal Espadin Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This is one of my favorite Mezcal in the store right now and one of the best I have tasted for cocktails and for its price. The line of Yuu Baal is relatively new to us here at K&L and are a great new find and fit. This company is a negociant of growers and producers actually in Oaxaca, people who know their land and their product intimately. The agave here presents as a soft more fruity style, with a lovely elegant core of smoke and earth. Although it is smooth enough to sip on this is currently my go to for making cocktails because it is so well balanced. The entire line is worth a try, and this is the one to pick up to get you started.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-18-2017
This is truly a spectacular tequila, one that helps me to realize how good tequila can be and lure me away from my sweet brown booze. I do not take home bottles of expensive tequila because I am really only interested in turning them into a paloma. However, I must admit I am looking forward to taking home a bottle of this blanco. The balance and purity of the agave are singularly impressive, Although I have not actually gotten to bite into blue agave as David has, I can well believe him when he says that this tequila is what that tastes like. As good as the nose and taste of this tequila is perhaps the finish is what truly sells me, long, beautiful, and elegant. A finish that seems to linger on the palate and in your mind.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2573 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-16-2017
Intense and aromatic nose with layers of wood, hints of spice, almost a savory note alongside the vanilla. The palate is both rich and somewhat creamy with wood baking spice and fruit starting on a low burn and building towards the finish. Long spicy ending that never seems to want to stop and leaves you ready for another taste. This is a bold whisky that is not out of balance and brings a lot to the table.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fredi Torres "Classic" Priorat
Review Date: 02-08-2017
A lovely and surprisingly bright cuvee from Priorat the 2014 Fredi Torres adds structure and finesse to the fruit found here. This is not a big plush dark berry offering, instead notes of cherry and cranberry are backed by a nice balancing acid and a touch of mineral structure. Very smooth tannins play on the palate without ever overwhelming. A tasty red wine for many types of occasions.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2014 Domaine Vincent & Sophie Morey Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 02-06-2017
This is a lovely balanced white that helps to showcase why 2014 was such a beautiful vintage for white wines throughout Burgundy. Notes of green apple, stone fruit, and hints of spice facilitate a aromatic nose. The palate has the rich fruit of the vintage combined with a little oak giving it good mouth feel without making it overly woody. Balancing as opposed to driving acid keep this wine clean and give it a soft finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
It is hard to believe that we are able to get serious, acid driven, balanced wine from excellent vineyards for just over $10. Nevertheless this second label of Palliser delivers all of that and more. Driving acid with notes of tropical fruit and a fresh floral nose showcase a slightly more serious side of NZ Sauvignon Blanc. Long, lingering finish means this wine will go well with a variety of dishes and be a great one to stock for warmer weather.

2015 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-06-2017
Classic Central Coast Pinot Noir from a producer that has intimate knowledge of the vineyards and conditions here. The Wonderwall Edna Valley Pinot features soft easy to drink wine at a lovely easy to afford price. Notes of blue and red berry mix with a hint of spice and a soft supple mouth feel mean this is a wine ready to drink now for any upcoming celebrations and get togethers.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Chenin Blanc Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 02-06-2017
An absolutely beautiful bottle of Chenin Blanc from South Africa, mostly because the producer spends the energy on growing lovely fruit and allows that fruit to speak for itself. There is a very clean, slightly floral nose that then transitions to light notes of peach and nectarine. Balancing acid with some drive allows the fruit to speak while carrying it along. Such a delightful wine to sip on that I will have to come up with more excuses to buy a bottle.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Kimo Sabe Joven Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2017
Our newest Mescal from a small family producer at an amazing price. This is a perfect mescal for those just looking to discover this spirit, and those looking to make cocktails. The fruit here is reminiscent of blue agave in tequila but showcasing a slightly earthier and more complex side. Very light on the smoke, this is more about the tropical fruit and spice notes. Try it in your margarita or as a substitute for gin and see what this spirit can do.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 01-30-2017
Lush juicy wine for an amazing price. Last year this wine flew out the door and I have no doubt it will again. Bold flavors of dark berry, tea and spice are balanced by acid and finished with a finesse rarely seen at this price. There is a silky tannin structure that adds to the mouth feel and compliments the acid.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Cain "Cuvée NV12" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 01-17-2017
Some of the more esoteric wines coming from California, the entire Cain line tends towards a more French style with higher acid, more tannin, and often a little Brett. The Cain Cuvee, though, is spectacular for those looking to branch out of the ripe, rich end of Napa and explore some of its alleyways. Raspberry and cassis along with some leather in the nose are carried along by a fine acid core. A little earth balances the fruit and rather fine tannins create a long finish. Definitely a little off the beaten path for Napa, this is a perfect food wine for the colder months.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sinor-LaVallee San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-11-2017
An exceptionally well-made Chardonnay from a winemaker whom we have long been a fan of, this offering from Mike Sinor strikes a beautiful balance on almost every front. Buttery vanilla on the nose leads one to expect a richer wine, but instead this bottle shows a more racy, elegant side. Acid and oak work in harmony and carry the citrus and stone fruit here. A little maritime note from the seaside adds a touch of exoticism to the wine and really rounds everything out.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 90

2014 Hess Collection Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
Another fantastic value domestic Chardonnay to add to our string of such wines we have been featuring. This sub $20 Napa Chard from Hess boasts a nice buttery nose before getting into some tropical fruit. Layers of mango, peach, and vanilla are matched with a little spice and bright, lively acid that keeps this wine fresh. Medium bodied and nicely balanced this wine eschews richness for freshness and drinkability.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
I am a huge fan of Oregon Chardonnay, and it has been exciting to be here at K&L where I feel like we are a little ahead of the game when it comes to stocking and appreciating it. That being said the Domaine Drouhin Arthur is not some hidden gem only we know about, this wine, from this well known winemaker has turned many heads and for good reason. The 2014 vintage showcase the beauty of Chardonnay from the Dundee Hills. Citrus, white stone fruit, and floral notes are lifted and carried by the acid in this wine. A touch of oak gives a nice toasty quality to the wine. Essentially this is one of the gold standards for Oregon Chardonnay.

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 01-10-2017
There are very few domestic Riesling's that I recommend because of the value you can get in Germany, Kung Fu Girl by Charles Smith is one exception. A lovely little off -dry style this bottle showcases classic honey and floral notes. There is plenty of acid here to balance and helps bring it to a medium length finish. Excellent value Riesling that continues to be a good buy,

Westland "Peat Week" Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-09-2017
I have long been a fan of Westland, and anyone who I have talked their ear off on whiskey will invariably end up with me explaining why they should drink Westland. One of the other things I almost always mention too is that they do so much more than the three bottles that you could find available to buy most places. So when I heard they would be bottling their 2016 Peat Week batch for us I was like a fat puppy looking at a treat. When I was able to actually taste it I was not disappointed in the slightest. The fruit int his bottle is insane! Big tropical fruit notes blend with the peat and create a full rich smokey creamy delicious whiskey. This is no shy delicate type, this is a bottle that is not afraid to go big and bring the flavor.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baracchi "O'Lillo!" Toscana
Review Date: 12-27-2016
A completely balanced Tuscan that brings four varietals into harmony, the Baracchi O'Lillo bursts with dark berry and notes of earth. The acid and minerality in the wine move it forward and keep the richness from becoming cloying. Light soft tannins are well integrated and add to the richness of the wine that balances the acid.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 90

2015 Robert Cantin "Les Grezes" Pinot Noir Vin de France
Review Date: 12-17-2016
Like the others have said this is a surprisingly serious and elegant Pinot Noir especially given the price. It is next to impossible to get good, or even decent Pinot Noir at under $15, but this wine delivers. Chalky minerality, floral notes with some dark fruit, and acid that drives the whole thing. For those looking to get away from overly sweet inexpensive Pinot, buy this before we run out again.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next