Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
1989 Mortlach 28 Year Old Faultline First Fill Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-21-2018
Mortlach is one of those distilleries I would always hear about from Scotch aficionados, one that was always described with a wistfulness of how you just cannot find anything that tastes quite like it these days. This single barrel from 1989 is only my third bottling of Mortlach I have ever tried and I finally get what people mean when they talk about looking for this flavor. It is unique, and old, and not sweet or soft in ways I would think but it is good. I love the description David gave of an old house because that is precisely what it felt like to taste this. Old wood, old shoe polish, old leather, but with a warm bubbling pot on the hearth and a finish that feels like it will go on as long as this house of our imagination.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

1995 Mortlach 22 Year Old Faultline First Fill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-21-2018
It's all about the Sherry baby, that is what this bottling of Mortlach sings all the way through. On the nose, there are hints of that smoked meat/savory thing that Mortlach is famous for, although here it almost comes through as a roasted corn note to me. However, once you get into the bottle it is all about that rich smooth Sherry life. Warm nutty layers with marzipan and a touch of cocoa overlay everything with the meaty, woody quality hiding behind. Soft and short on the finish this is an amazingly fun and rich bottle from a distillery that is near impossible to get these days.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1995 Ben Nevis 21 Year Old Faultline Refill Bourbon Hogshead Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2018
This is only my second chance to try a Ben Nevis seeing as they never come into the US and this bottle impressed me as much as the last one maybe even more. Lovely vanilla and white stone fruit on the nose with hints of orange and oak. The palate is balanced and elegant with layers of vanilla, candied fruit, saline and spice notes. On the finish creeps in an earthier grain notes that combined with a touch of salt lead to a long and surprisingly gristly finish. Delicious whisky and with an absolutely gorgeous label art this is one to snag immediately.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 04-19-2018
Absolutely beautiful every day Bordeaux, the Hyot Cotes De Castillon is a superb example of what we can offer here at K&L. Because our buyers go out and track down wine like this we are able to offer easy to drink, incredibly affordable, but still, serious wines that can be stashed away for years. The dark rich berry here is complemented by silky smooth tannin and lots of spice with a core of acid that keeps this wine in balance. I thought this was all gone so I am pleased to see we got more in, but do not wait. This wine sold out quickly last time around and I expect it to do the same this time.

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #3650 (7th Floor, Warehouse B) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-07-2018
I am continually impressed with the Old Forester line, across the board they are lovely go to well priced and easy to drink whiskeys. I especially love when we get single barrel's from them because they are always wonderful for their cost. This one follows that line with creamy vanilla pudding on the nose with notes of Christmas spice. A surprisingly light and delicate mouthfeel that becomes stronger and spicier as it moves to the finish. Just a delightful bottle of bourbon.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark "K&L Exclusive" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-05-2018
I had a customer today ask me if we had any great bourbon in stock that he had not tasted yet which got me to thinking about the bourbon, or American whiskey, market as a whole. To be sure there is a ton a good bourbon in the world now, but it is also sometimes difficult to get a great bourbon. Which is why I have liked the Private Select that Maker's started last year. More than just another single barrel program the Private Select allows those who decided to partake a chance to really play with the flavor through the selection of the staves. In addition, the cask strength allows these barrels to really shine. The selection we have here is all about the exotic spice and beautiful rich chocolate. That being said the classic vanilla and baking spice are still present along with more exotic spice notes and everything is cranked up to be completely unabashed.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Franz Keller "Franz Anton" Spätburgunder Baden
Review Date: 03-28-2018
Lifted, aromatic, high-toned, powerful, spicy, earthy serious Pinot Noir that is affordable and ready to drink? Yes, you just have to know where to look. For example in Germany where the red wines have been getting better and better (hey thanks global warming) although to be honest they have always had amazing reds that have slid under the radar. A beautiful balance of ripe fruit, earth and acid and all ready to enjoy.

2016 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-23-2018
This is one of the most popular domestic chardonnay and for good reason. Big rich creamy oak and fruit all blend together perfectly with acid to balance and a long finish. Despite the riot of flavor, texture, and complexity this is not an expensive offering at all. Despite the fact we all get plenty of this wine we still sell it out more quickly than expected because of how easy it is to serve this wine at every occasion.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jean-Claude Boisset Bourgogne Rouge "Les Ursulines"
Review Date: 03-22-2018
I am really enjoying the entry level 2016 red Burgundy I have had a chance to taste and I especially enjoyed the Boisset Les Ursulines. A somewhat cooler vintage than 2015 the Les Ursuline still shines with pretty and generous fruit. Dark rich fruit with a touch of smokey earth comes through with lovely balancing acid and some oak weight. For under 20 this is exactly the type of easy drinking everyday Burgundy that we have been becoming known for and a spectacular addition to the daily drinkers.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-22-2018
Tuscan sun on a stormy night was how I felt last night sipping this spectacular Brunello. It was the second day of being open and in an absolutely perfect drinking window. Red cherry and spice swirled on the nose and continued onto the palate. The wine that was promised when I first opened it on Tuesday was fully there Wednesday night, generous fruit of the 2012 but with the fantastic structure and dusty minerality of this region.

2013 Fable Mountain "Tulbagh Estate" Syrah Western Cape
Review Date: 03-20-2018
This is one of those deals that we seemingly continuously create and yet somehow are remarkable each time, namely that we get serious, delicious wine at prices seen nowhere else. Take this all estate biodynamic and all the other buzz words and proper practices Syrah, it is actually fantastic and at an incredible price. Seriously, this wine has a lovely nose of ripe berry with touches of savory notes. Medium body with a surprising tart yet broad acid notes leads to a long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JS 90

2015 Paxton "AAA" Shiraz-Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-15-2018
An absolutely delightful wine from a lovely Biodynamic winery. The Paxton AAA Shiraz/Grenache blend shows lifted dark fruit as well as red berry on the nose with hints of spice. There is a surprising amount of complexity here with layers of berry, floral, spice and oak tannin. While the Shiraz certainly adds structure this is not a big heavy wine, rather it leans into a medium fresh body with acid to help move it along to the finish.

1997 Auchentoshan 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-09-2018
I have grown to really appreciate Auchentoshan, it always represents just good whisky for the sake of drinking whisky. Getting to taste this single barrel offers even more of that experience, giving a delightful sipping experience for those just looking for a good glass of Scotch. At 20 years of age the Auchentoshan offers classic Lowland honeyed wheat and toffee with a touch of butterscotch and cream. Lovely vanilla and spice notes creep into the finish with a little salty tang. Easy to enjoy and utterly delicious.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 03-08-2018
Coming from a bartending background, in Texas no less, this is exactly the type of product I wish I could have gotten my hands on for margaritas. From undeniable pedigree, this is a perfect mixing Blanco. Big rich fruit hits the nose immediately reassuring you of all that agave goodness in the bottle. The palate is surprisingly clean and light with a touch of earth and spice. This taste, for this price, in this size bottle is basically a bartending dream come true.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Red Wine
Review Date: 03-03-2018
A spectacular offering from the small but highly regarded production Acumen, the 2014 Mountainside offers a beautifully elegant Bordeaux style wine. Warm, dark fruit are perfectly complimented by the herbal notes from higher elevation fruit and choice of French oak gives beautiful spice notes. While there is plenty of fruit here, this is a balanced and focused style as opposed to a overly lush Napa cab and shows concentration and power that this area can achieve.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 03-03-2018
Coming off a third great vintage the Domaine Renaud wines continue to show up as among the best everyday white Burgundy that we carry. Year after year this direct import shows far more wine than the price would suggest, and in vintages like the 2016 this becomes even more true. Of the Renaud offerings the St. Veran is generally my top pick and 2016 is no different. A little higher acid and lighter than the previous vintage the St Veran shows lovely floral and rich fruit on the nose. There is oak weight here with plenty of golden apple and a balancing acidity. Long finish, this is an immensely pleasing white wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "No.3 - Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 02-21-2018
Absolutely lovely SB from a producer who knows a thing or two about such wines. This delightful bottle shows off beautiful rich fruit on the nose, ripe melon and stone fruit competing for dominance. Still, on the palate, the richness of the fruit is tempered and driven by bright zesty acid and plenty of stony minerality. This is plenty of wine and the price is perfect for stocking up on.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 02-21-2018
I love Pinot Noir in general and I have especially come to love the PN coming from the Loir valley. The high acid and strong minerality of Sancerre lends itself to beautiful clean and elegant red wines for those, like myself, who love the leaner style. Eric Cottat has long been my favorite white Sancerre and I believe that his red may now be my favorite PN from this area. Showing lovely clean red and blue fruit with hints of spice this is a perfect everyday food red that is ready to drink.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Review Date: 02-21-2018
Eric Cottat is always my favorite DI Sancerre we carry year in and year out, and unfortunately, it always seems to be the one that sells out the fastest so I may not be alone in my opinion. The balance of fruit, minerality, and acid are always in spectacular balance with his wines and they tend to go with everything. The 2016 vintage shows more a little leaner fruit than the previous vintage which makes me super happy. This is a serious and seriously good wine especially given the price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Bellevue 19 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guadeloupe Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 02-15-2018
Getting to taste this 19 year old single cask from Bellevue was exciting. With the age and distillation process the powerful vegetal components are softened by dark figgy pudding notes and Christmas spice. The rum is a fascinating blend of warm spice and vanilla pudding all framing a long floral core with a long finish. Any true fan of rum will happily work their way through this bottle, although it may disappear faster than planned.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 02-15-2018
A lovely more lifted expression from one of our best DI white burgundy producers. The 2016 Renaud Pouilly-Fuisse shows wonderful aromas of white blossom, Asian pear, and golden apple. There is a richness of fruit and texture that Renaud is known for while maintaining bright beautiful acid that lifts and drives the wine.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2013 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-14-2018
I love almost everything that Mattiasson touches, the wines always exude elegance, structure, and purity of fruit. That being the case I was excited to find out that the Acumen project was headed up by him and I was not disappointed in the slightest. The 2013 Mountainside is everything a fan of old-school Napa style could hope for from one of the best vintages on record. Floral and herbal mountain fruit with layers of chocolate, cassis, and vanilla are carried by a beautiful layer of acid and tannin. For those looking for a more opulent modern style, this may not be the one, but true lovers of Napa Cabernet will not be disappointed by this wine.

2014 CrossBarn (Paul Hobbs) Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-08-2018
The second label of legendary Paul Hobbs has increasingly become known in their own right for winemaking. The 2014 vintage Pinot Noir is an excellent example of that, pulling in high praise without the price tag of regular Paul Hobbs. Rich lush berry notes with hints of smoky earth and spice are all integrated seamlessly throughout this wine. Smooth and supple on the palate, this is a beautiful example of what many are looking for in a California Pinot.

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
I make no secret of my love of Champagne with plenty of Meunier in it. Something about all that big beautiful fleshy fruit just makes super friendly bubbles for my enjoyment. This is a rich and round style with notes of dried cherry, plum, almond and even a little marzipan in there. There is also some spice and plenty of acid here that makes this a perfect dinner companion.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
New DI Champagne is always exciting to me, mostly because it means I get to taste Champagne and no matter what that is great. Still better when I find ones I really like. This new Rose is definitely our best priced Rose Champagne, but just because it is less expensive does not mean it is less drinkable. Bright fruit with some lovely structure from a little skin contact this all Pinot Meunier rose is a spectacular buy and a tasty bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-07-2018
There is only one thing that everyone in Champagne agrees on, that is their wine tastes best out of a magnum. There are several reasons for this, but rest assured that it is true. Getting to taste Champagne side by side out of different sizes always confirms this, also who doesn't want to show up at a party or event with a large format Champagne? So here we have the best-priced magnum Champagne you will see and it delicious! The extra aging on the lees shows up as big rich yeasty notes with tons of breadth and complexity. There is a lovely golden pear and vanilla note here as well as a dry and long finish. Spectacular bubbles.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "No Name" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2018
At this point it seems like everyone I talk to who knows about Scotch knows who John Glaser is and why the Compass Box whiskies are worth getting into. However, as good as his core line is, I am always excited to get to taste his more limited expressions because here is where he allows himself to get truly creative with his expressions. Take the No Name: it is smoky, complex, tarry, fruity and all the things that make peaty whiskies worth drinking. Although the peat is really on the forefront thanks to malts like the Clynelish add a lovely creamy texture to the Scotch. Some heat here but never overwhelming; there is also a lovely bit of a spice bite for a long finish.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7233K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
I continue to enjoy and be impressed with the Dickel single barrels we get in, not only do they represent such a great value but each one is so unique. Take the #007, the latest in a series we have been offering. This particular bottling is all about the grains. Swirling on the nose are layers of hay, wheat, barley and rye with vanilla and a touch of almond. The palate is dry and a little spice with a beautiful mill grist element and some lovely oak characteristics. Another different, yet delicious, expression for a great price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 117.1 Proof Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
For those who have listened to me drone on and on about whiskey know that I almost never mention Whistle Pig, or if I do I do not tend to wax eloquent on them. I think many of their product is tasty, they are just never my top option especially when looking for the price for performance. I have to admit though that this barrel is making me question that stance. Yes, the bottle is still pricey, but if you are looking to splurge a little and not be disappointed in the slightest then holy hell is this bottle good! Immediate sweet vanilla and a touch of almond greet you friendly and welcoming before taking the palate to a subtle and persistent pepper and spice note. The proof hides so well that I did not even proof it down, which may be a little dangerous. The balance here between sweet and savory is fantastic and I doubt anyone who loves a sweeter American will be able to put down this bottle.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Hissez O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 02-01-2018
The Hissez O represents the most complex and full-bodied of the wines from La Reserve O representing the peak of what these wines can achieve. Dark ripe fruit is perfectly matched by spice and structure. Although the Syrah adds plum and cassis notes the Grenach here helps to preserve lovely red berry and lifted aromatics. Earthy, rich, floral, concentrated, and beautifully made this is is the type of bottle meant for serious dinner and long dark nights.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Moss Wood "Wilyabrup" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2018
I have written several reviews for Margaret River Cabernet because the quality from here for the price is so unbelievable. Moss Wood is one of the greats from this region and their Wilyabrup, the wine that put them on the map, shows why. Perfectly balanced aromatics of blackberry, cedar, vanilla, and cassis blend together on the nose. The wine shows a lush fruit mid-palate while maintaining grace and elegance through the finish. The tannin here is polished and integrated and blend together seamlessly.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JH 97 JS 96

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2018
This is one of the best selling Cabernet blends for us and it is easy to see why. Although we get plenty of this wine it always seems to sell out much more quickly than I expect and that is because of how much you get for this price. Beautiful generous fruit with notes of blackberry and cherry are met with structure and some bramble and a touch of herbaceous notes. This is a wine to stock up on because as I mentioned it always go way to quickly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (White Label)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Margaret River Cabernet has quickly become my go-to for incredibly well done and affordable Cabernet. Often this region can showcase the beauty of New World fruit with Old World sensibilities. That is to say, beautiful rich full-bodied fruit backed by longer, leaner, casking. The Clairault White Label shows just this style beautifully. Lovely ripe black and red berry are tinged with savory herb and tobacco on the nose. On the palate, there is definitely plenty of tannin and structure, yet the finish manages to stay elegant on the finish. A perfect wine for a big meal and good times.

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "La Source" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-24-2018
This was one of the major standouts to me when tasting through the Ferraton line. Although I thought the entire line-up had a lot to offer, this one punched well above its weight class. Bright fresh berry nose with a little savory herb and leather leads to a precise and clean, open but with great length and focus. Classic notes of berry, spice, pepper, and floral all intermingle while leading to a long finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Calendes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 01-24-2018
I thought this was a spectacular offering from northern Rhone especially for the price. There is a lovely nose of red and blackberry that are underlay with a savory, almost meaty, component and dried floral notes. The body was restrained and focused although there was still plenty of fruit and structure. An absolute delight of a sub $20 wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-18-2018
A spectacular every day offering from my favorite Gigondas producer the Petite Gardette showcases the beauty of this area and the producer. Although there is a little funk on the nose when first opening this bottle a half and hour decant time will give you a beautiful wine. Very pretty ripe berry mixed with a nice amount of earth lead to a lovely clean finish. Everything here is in harmony and the balance of the fruit, acid, and tannin mean this is a perfect food wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 01-18-2018
I love the Oakridge label, and to be honest their entry level Over the Shoulder is usually my favorite thing that they do. The OTS line represents an absolutely stunning value for the beauty and complexity that are present in the wines. In the Chardonnay there is generous ripe orchard fruit that is driven by clean acid and a bright freshness that keeps the wine from being heavy. A spectacular wine in its own regards this style also happens to be extremely versatile, pairing well with a number of foods and style preferences.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-18-2018
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Chablisienne Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-26-2017
La Chablisienne has become on my go to labels when looking for spectacular white Burgundy in all price points that consistently over delivers. The 2016 bottling of inexpensive Bourgogne Chardonnay is a great example of the quality one finds in even the entry level wines from Chablisienne. Having no oak influence gives this wine lovely brightness and acidity but it would be a mistake to think that it has no weight or texture. There is still plenty of beautiful rich fruit at play giving notes of golden apple to supplement the minerality and freshness of this bottling. While I feel this is a splendid food wine there is no reason this cannot simply be enjoyed on its own.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-24-2017
The second vintage now from the producers of Banshee, for those who love the Pinot being grown in the Willamette valley. The Averaen showcases ripe fruit with hints of candy and cherry cola; these rich notes are balanced by acid and tannin. The richness that Banshee is known for is integrated into the structure that Pinot from this area is famous for. This is an instantly friendly and easy to love wine from people of whom we have long been fans. Overall this is a balanced and lovely Pinot Noir just in time for the holidays.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
This is another fantastic bottling from Amici, which has had a string of great Napa Cabs for the previous couple of vintages. Amici represents what people want and love about Napa Cab these days for a far better price than almost anyone else for the quality. Big, rich, lush berry flavors are met by herbal and floral notes to keep the wine from being flabby. There is plenty of structure here, giving this wine the ability to stand up to any good holiday dinner. The tannin is already integrated, balances the wine, and works in harmony with the red fruit. This is a wine where every part of it works together and easily over-delivers.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2016 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
The second label of Varner is, in my mind, one the best values in California wine. The Foxglove Cab is simply a super friendly, easy to drink, everyday Cabernet. Dark and red berry notes are balanced by a light, fresh acidity due to the stainless steel fermentation. Lovely fruit and spice open immediately and lead to a lovely finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Overproof Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
Just in time for Holiday party's (and to be honest for a Sunday Funday) this beautiful little bottle of Dark Overproof is exactly what is needed for cocktails, punches, and parties. Seriously, this is excellent, especially given the price, for those who need a good dark and strong rum for winter cocktails. Dark chocolate on the nose with a little coffee on the nose leads to a lighter palate than I was expecting. Caramel and fudge pudding with a rising heat and spice from the proof all come together here. Fantastic!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Enmore 25 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
This 25 year old Golden Devil from Enmore made me come back a couple times to the sample bottle and I had to leave it reluctantly. Dark spice over fruitcake with a subtle wood notes on the nose hint to the richness and complexity. On the palate the rum had a wonderful dried fruit and pudding quality that morphs into savory chocolate and coffee notes. Earthy mocha and baking spice with dark berry notes make up the finish that seems to last forever.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
The single barrel selections we have been getting from Golden Devil, and for me in particular the Jamaican ones, have gotten me to rethink buying rum. The 9 year old Hampden opens immediately with a wonderful fruity butterscotch nose, powerful and inviting. There is a lot of wood tanning here that will immediately cling to the palate, however within that lovely fruit and floral notes complement the warm vanilla components. The butterscotch on the nose comes back at the finish with pineapple and baking spice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Classic Penedes
Review Date: 11-16-2017
This is one of the tastiest, coolest, and most interesting rose bubbly we carry but unfortunately the label does not scream that. Still if you are willing to look past the label you can get into a wine by my favorite cava producers in our store. This is worlds away from a soft strawberry, watermelon and sweet finish. This wine is all tart earthy raspberry with plenty of acid and minerality. Dry finish with that seems to linger forever this is a ridiculously good bottle of bubbly in just a ridiculous package.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 11-11-2017
Holy cow!(See what I did there) just in time for Holiday season the Jax Y3 blend is back and it is even better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed the 2014 and 2013 bottlings from our friends at Jax but this is the best one I have tasted. Beautiful cherry and spice on the nose lead to a silky, seamless palate. The wine has a lushness that never falls into jam and coats the mouth with very soft fully integrated tannins. What is so spectacular about this bottling though is the balance and freshness it delivers even as the warm red fruits are at the front of this wine. This wine is not overly rich and definitely not flabby, there is a sophistication and balance not often found in red blends at this price point here in California. A perfect bottle to have around for this time of year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Domaine Trapet Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 11-10-2017
There is something magical about the 2014 vintage in white burgundy, I think that I have said something along these lines in every bottle of 2014 white Burgundy I have reviewed. The reason is though because it keeps being true. As good as 2015 is, especially in reds, the cooler 2014 vintage with higher acid just leads to a more complex and tasty white Burgundy for me. That being said I love when the high acid meets generous fruit like in the Trapet Bourgogne Blanc. Crisp citrus nose leads to warm generous orchard fruit on the palate. There is a little waxy characteristic along with a touch of minerality and some honey and spice that are all brightened and balanced by the acid.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7234K1004 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-03-2017
While I do love a big rich bourbon I have to say my taste tends to run to ones with more rye in them giving me more herbaceous and spice notes. This is why I have always gravitated to the Four Roses Single Barrels over some of the wheated bourbons so I was excited to taste this Dickel for about 2/3 the price of my single barrel Four Roses. Elegant vanilla and spice are mixed with rich wood and an earthy toasted quality. A dry and surprisingly mild heat finish make this a wonderful addition to any bourbon lover's collection.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2017
Calling this single cask from Fukano a whisky almost places too much of a limitation on the spirit because it seems to beg to be in a category of its own. The nose gives off almost floral jasmine rice notes with vanilla bean, coconut and oak. The palate almost is a cross between an American whiskey and a brandy. The oak gives off bold vanilla and butterscotch while the texture and mid-palate has distinct brandy note with hints of mocha and dried fruit as in an Armagnac. There is a surprising amount of spice with some heat as the finish stays long and lingering on the tongue. This is a wonderful bottle and will make a lovely addition to any whisky drinker's bar.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next