Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Bodegas Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 06-26-2017
As I tried this wine Joe told me that the name meant that it was without sulfites. That is cool but I was worried that if that was the big selling point for them the wine may not really speak for itself. Thankfully I was completely wrong, instead I was delighted to try a Pinot that hits a beautiful spot for me. On a lighter an more delicate side of Pinot, which is where I love this grape to be, this wine was not at all weak or watery. Rather it shows red berry, floral, a little spice note opting for balance over brawn. This is precisely the kind of wine that I love, long, elegant, and perfectly in my particular price range.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 92

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Finding both rare and extremely good bourbon that can be a gift (for you or if necessary someone else) has become a difficult task. Good, aged bourbon is increasingly scarce in the market, and while I love just good everyday bourbon sometimes you need that bottle that will catch the eye and the imagination. Enter the Wild Turkey Decades, the new expression from Master's Keep collection. Essentially this is a blend of carefully selected barrels of older Wild Turkey, the nose is warm, sweet and inviting with vanilla and candy corn notes. The palate shows a soft richness with rising heat and spice from the 104 proof. This bottle showcase the depth and breadth of Wild Turkey that few other places can boast, a supple smoothness that speaks to craft.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Our long standing relationship with Paul Pernod led us to the Pernot Belicard wines in our quest to continually bring in Burgundy that is affordable and ready to drink, The entry level Bourgogne Blanc from Pernot Belicard shows a rich, softly inviting nose with tropical fruit notes. Due to the low acid vintage of 2015 this wine is more open and generous with the fruit, less acid driven and fruitier.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
A delightful bottle for those looking for a little more richness in their Burgundy while still being a wine from this area. The Hautes-Cotes de Beaune features a clean nose with perfectly ripe raspberry and hints of cherry. There is a lovely amount of fruit in the wine and very soft tannins that coat the palate on the finish. The acid here really is to balance the wine, not to drive it. A soft, easy to like Pinot for those dipping their toes into Burgundy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
The Giboulot wines are really showcasing the warmth and ripeness of the 2015 vintage in Burgundy. This Savigny-les--Beaune opens immediately with ripe wild cherry, sweet raspberry, and notes of darker berry with just a little earth. The body moves along with balancing acid, rich lovely red fruit and a grippy finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Having recently tasted through the lineup of Highland Park I was pleased by how consistently good they remained, having not tasted them in years. Then a week later we received in the new Valkyrie and I was excited to try a brand new expression from them after having so much fun revisiting the others in their line-up. The new Valkyrie in no way disappoints. A rich creamy nose resplendent with almond, vanilla and the smoke of a just started campfire that is just beginning to waft into the air mingle together. A lovely rich and creamy palate has a cooler smoke element with ripe fruits and soft creamy caramels and a dash of baking spice. The heat builds but does not overwhelm as the spice leads the way on the finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
My colleague recently told me that he intents to create a database for all of our gins and what our favorite cocktails were with each one. I loved this idea because I have several gins at home and I use different ones for different drinks. This is because gin is still probably the bartenders best friend, one of the most versatile of spirits with an ability to showcase a particular place and play with other flavors. That being said I am definitely going to put a bottle of the Copper & King into my bar because I feel like it is going to make some amazing cocktails. This is a big bold style gin with plenty of citrus and spice. However, this is not out balance at all, the flavor all works with each other. Lot's of aromatics and botanic notes hint at some amazing ways to play with this gin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hahn "SLH" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-09-2017
For those who have been coming in and asking, the wait is over: the new vintage of Hahn SLH Pinot is in stock! This wine has flown out the door in the past two vintages for good reason: it is incredibly balanced for the price being asked. Sweet red berry with notes of baking spice are all blended upon a layer of acid that keeps the wine fresh and focused. A true crowd-pleaser in that it is both immediately approachable, and has layers of complexity to hold your attention.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

El Silencio Espadin Black Bottle Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This is a perfect addition to my rotation of Mezcal that I can cocktail with and I am excited to see how it plays in my favorite drinks. The El Silencio has classic big notes from the Espadin, rich waxy rounded fruit with plenty of smoke. This is an unctuous fruity Mezcal that holds nothing back, but not in an overwhelming style. All of that big fruit typically play so well in cocktails and are necessary to stand up to other flavors when I make my Mezcal Negronis. Add to this the fact that the bottle is under $30 and we have ourselves a winner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
There is a reason Laurent Perrier has such a following and reputation and that is because it sits at the perfect intersection of taste, recognizability, and value. Lovely notes of orchard fruit with some creamy richness and notes of yeast are all balanced by a core of acid and a beautiful finish. This is a wine for celebrating the small things like going over to a friends house, and the big things like ordering a pizza once you get there.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Bollinger is one of my immediate go to houses for people looking for a known name that delivers stunning wine for the price. The special cuvee from them is the perfect place to start with this all family owned estate. Lovely fruit notes of early plum, red fruit, and green apple with a little wood and spice are all firmly in balance here. The level of complexity is impressive and the finish is soft but does not fall flat in any way. There is also a beautiful tartness to the wine from the acid that serves to enhance the overall experience.

2008 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
I am so happy vintage Baron Fuente is back!!! Seriously these wines are insane, vintage champagne for under $30 and not just any vintage, but the great 2008 vintage! Baron Fuente does a lot with Meunier, and although this blend is only 40% Meunier and 45% Chardonnay and the rest Pinot Noir. there is the classic rich nutty notes that I love in these wines. Floral, almond, and vanilla are all at play here with the high acid one would expect from this vintage to play against the richness of the fruit. A wonderful finish helps to draw this delightful wine to a close and ensures me that this will be a wine to buy more than one of because I may go through it fairly quickly.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
The Laurent Perrier Grand Siecle is one of the most selective Tete Cuvee in production today. Given the scale of Laurent Perrier the fact that so little Grand Siecle Brut is available speaks to the selectiveness of the process. A blend of about 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Chardonnay done in stainless steel the wine presents a lovely earthy note on the nose with hints of early orchard fruit. Earthy pear, yeasty notes, lingering acid, and a long finish help to create a truly compelling wine.

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This is one of those Champagnes that helps you to truly understand the history and lasting love affair the world has had with wine from here. From a vineyard that was first planted in 740, this is truly a impressive bottle just for that fact alone. However, that is not what makes this wine compelling, it is in fact what is in the bottle. This blend comprising mostly '99 and the glorious 2002 vintage presents a dustier nose with notes of vanilla that come from barrel fermentation. There is tons of complexity here, layers of dried fruit and balancing acid that lead to a long, lingering finish. This is a bottle that can go toe to toe with some of the best Clos vineyard Champagnes out there but for a fraction of the price.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart Grand Reserve Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
One of our newest DI from Champagne and again I feel that it is a little ridiculous to drink Champagne at this level for this price. The Fallet-Dart wines all share a beautiful toasty note to them that comes from long aging on the lees. Although there are other, more manipulative ways, to create this toasty note, the fact that Fallet-Dart can achieve it and have it age is only because they allow their wine to rest until it is ready. As toasty and rich as the nose is, there is no buttery note here; instead bright, clean acid and notes of lemon and spice zip along the palate and help give it a long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Spectacular champagne from a spectacular vintage, always a good combination. The fact that the Fallet Dart House has been around since the 17th century means that they have learned a few things about making champagne, fortunately for us we can directly import them and offer just a little ridiculous pricing. A creamier nose with the toasty character of Fallet Dart leads to a body showcasing both the ripeness and acid of this vintage. Hints of vanilla from the barrel aging add layers of complexity and the finish is truly magnificent.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-01-2017
I liked these wines when I first tasted them a couple of vintages ago, but in the past two years Rhedon's Macon has absolutely astounded me. This wine is silly good for what the bottle costs. Beautiful notes of green and golden apple notes with plenty of acid and mineral drive. This showcases the beautiful richness of the 2015 vintage with fruit weight, but with such a long drive that the finish seems to go on and on. A perfect everyday Chardonnay from Burgundy.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rose
Review Date: 05-31-2017
It is always fun to look outside Provence for delightful little additions to the rose season and here is one from Beaujolais worth looking at. This is a prefect picnic wine with zippy acid, notes of stone fruit, lemon and a dry finish. Pairs well with seafood, salad, pool days, picnics and Sunday funday.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Edinburgh "Christmas" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 05-31-2017
I was so delighted to taste this gin due to the fact that Christmas and Gin are big deals in my house. I was even happier when I found out it was delicious. This did not come across as a gimmick, rather the frankincense and myrrh are just added botanical elements in the mix that certainly add their own note but still play well with others. There is an exotic element with Christmas spice that influences but does not overwhelm this gin which is still well balanced. Happy Christmas in June to me!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 05-30-2017
This is one of those dynamite, I can hardly believe it, finds for me. This little bottle of white delivered so much more than I was expecting despite having heard good things about it, I was still amazed with how much is going on here. The nose immediately opened with fairly fruity notes of melon, honey, and peach with these notes continuing on the palate. However this bottle has so much lip smacking acidity that the big fruit comes of super fresh and clean. The acidity does not shoot straight back but instead acts as a palate cleanser and makes you ready for more. A perfect food wine for any type of shellfish.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Spirit Works Distillery Sloe Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 05-27-2017
I got very lucky and happened to pop into our RC store about 10 minutes before David was set to taste the full Spirit Works lineup. I had been curious about them when we used to carry them and so I jumped on the chance to taste with him. Let me tell you they are all good, however the Sloe Gin is more than good. They start by importing whole Sloe berries, as opposed to a compote or syrup, and the result is a sweet flavor that still has tons of vibrant acidity and becomes part of the botanicals in the gin rather than masking them. I brought a bottle home last night and used the rep's idea about substituting it for Sweet Vermouth in a Boulevardier and let me tell you, yummy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Haras de Pirque "Hussonet" Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva Maipo Valley
Review Date: 05-25-2017
Oddly enough about a week ago I had a customer mention that we had carried an excellent Cab that was really well priced from South America and that they wanted to get another case, I told them it was the Hussonet and unfortunately we had been sold out of it for a while and no I did not know if it would ever be back. Then yesterday Joe's ears must have been ringing because he said he had the new vintage of Hussonet to taste. That is correct, Hussonet is back! The year it has all of the same qualities that people loved in 2011 but with a little more structure and length. Leafy notes of tomato lay alongside the plum and berry notes. This is not a big juicy bomb, this is a cab that exudes structure and green notes to match the ripe fruit and is finished with silky tannins. Best of all we get to keep the $10 price tag.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Rebel Yell "Reserve" Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2017
When Driscoll told me I would be meeting with a Luxco rep to taste through their line, he asked me if I was familiar with the Rebel Yell line. I laughed because I am not sure there is a sub-$25 bottle of bourbon out there I have not tried yet, still it is always fun to retaste something I have not had in a long time. I was super impressed: I mean, not only have they done a great job updating the packaging but what was inside was not what I remember. I had always liked Rebel Yell, and this time around I was more impressed with what I was tasting. Soft vanilla notes, with notes of caramel and baking spice are all well balanced and the finish was super smooth and surprisingly long, huzzah!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2001 Chateau de la Grangerie 14 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2017
I remember being super impressed with this bottling last time we had it around and getting to taste it again has actually made me up my opinion. This is a dynamite bottle of Armagnac and one that I am looking forward to being on my shelf (which will likely be tonight). The Grangerie for me always has a beautiful balance between the vanilla and spice from the wood, and a warm fruity nature from the gapes. Just an iminently sippable little bottle of brandy that can immediately appeal to a wide range of people and priced oh so right.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Offering a more decadent style the Lies Thorins from Jean Paul Brun is all about rich round fruit with a ripe red berry nose. This may sound like it is some overly fruited Gamay, but this wine has depth and weight to stand up to the fruit. Seriously, this almost goes outside of the Beaujolais realm and could easily fool me in a blind tasting. A long finish with minerality sneaking in completes this wine and further cements it as a new regular in my lineup of wines to bring home.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie "Grille Midi"
Review Date: 05-18-2017
This was my second time getting to taste the Grille Midi and it is showing so incredibly well. Dark cherry nose with an herbal undertone that can be confused for Pinot Noir leads to a surprising layered and complex body. The berry here is a bit darker with earthier notes and tannic structure to balance out the acid. Notes of smoky spice also add to complexity here and the finish is super smooth. Drinking beautifully now, this bottle will also be good for a number of years.

1982 Miltonduff 34 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Like so many of the Milroy line this bottle of Miltonduff is all about beautiful complexity and elegance, the finesse of a master rather than the punch of youth. Slightly sweet floral notes with hints of mint and citrus give way to a layered mid palate of dried orchard fruit, a touch of vanilla and toffee with a long finish. This is the magic of old Miltonduff, this is beautifully matured Scotch.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Showcasing the warmer vintage of 2015 does not mean this wine falls flat and flabby in any way. Dark and smokey notes on the nose play with the wild cherry and spice. There is plenty of structure here with some herbal notes and a mouth-coating tannic feel that can fool you into thinking you opened a bottle from another area of Burgundy. Looking for a Gamay that will happily play with a roast or pork loin? This wine will happily come to dinner.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Although this wine starts on the nose with bright red berry and spice it hides a surprisingly weighty structure. Tart acid and spice are wrapped around dense crystalline bones that hold this wine up and make you take note. Very complex layers of cranberry, spice, wild cherry, and herbal touches mean this will be a phenomenal food wine and also give hints to the ageability this wine has to offer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 VN 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 05-18-2017
With notes of wild cherry and raspberry on the nose and a lovely tart mid palate, this is precisely the type of Beaujolais I tend to gravitate to. There is a pleasing balance between the fruit, acid and structure that keeps the wine fresh, but does not sacrifice length and depth. On a sunny day like today this is exactly the type of red that calls my name.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2015 Gabaron, Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-17-2017
I often tell people that the real value, bang-for-your-buck, go-to, everydayday drinking Cabs are mostly found outside of California despite the fact that we are in Sonoma's backyard. Well here is a perfect example of what I mean, the 2015 Gabaron Bordeaux for under $10. This bottle is all Cab and while it showcases the ripeness and fullness of the vintage, being vinified all in stainless steel gives the wine a lovely freshness. Super easy to drink with lovely red fruits, balancing acid, and a low ABV at 13.5%, this is a perfect BBQ, pizza, Tuesday night tacos kind of wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé
Review Date: 05-16-2017
This wine hits a a fair amount of sweet spots for me and is quickly becoming my go to recommendation for a lot of different types of customers because of it's ability to fulfill many roles. With a generous amount of fruit that smells of early orchards and a beautiful blend of peach, melon, green apple and spice on the palate the wine has the texture to be a wonderful food wine. Additionally there is a lovely persistent acid that balances the fruit and moves to a surprisingly long finish. Add to that a great price point and this becomes a wine that can be enjoyed by both New World and Old World fans.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Rancho Tepua Bacanora (750ml)
Review Date: 05-13-2017
It should have come as no surprise to me that all over Mexico people have been distilling the agave to make spirits, just because tequila and now mezcal are the best known here does not mean other forms of mescal don't exist. This however was my first time trying another form of this most delightful spirit and I almost did a happy dance. This is everything I like about good tequila and mezcal, wild bold tropical fruit notes in the nose are balanced by a touch of smoke and a little earthiness. Then you have big almost waxy fruit on the palate with a heat and spice that build but never overwhelm. There is some smoke here (as there should be) and the finish is absolutely stunning. Summertime sipping here I come!!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1996 Longmorn 20 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-13-2017
This bottle is just straight up yum, I pretty much liked everything about it. The nose was an almost perfect sherry nose for me, starting with a slightly oxidized floral note that quickly developed into a rich creamy almond. Although the taste was definitely rich this was not an overly decadent whisky, rather it has plenty of caramel, and butterscotch with vanilla and almonds while maintaining an elegance and length. Soft and creamy with a little water added this has low heat and is oh so very tasty.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1997 Benrinnes 19 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-13-2017
I am always excited when I see a new bottling from Benrinnes, being introduced to them when I started at K&L opened my mind up to what truly elegant single malt could taste like. For those seeking the lighter more refined and subtle side of a bottle here is a truly delightful offering. Very light nose of vanilla and early orchard fruit lead to a long and lean mid-palate with vanilla, very light milk chocolate, some grassy notes and a touch of sweet custard. The finish was classic Benrinnes for me being long with some heat and spice that fade to a nutty aftertaste and just seem to go on forever.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2013 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 05-04-2017
This was my go to bubbly rose last year and with the recent heat wave I was so glad it came back in. I was excited to see it and even more excited when I tasted it and thought it was even better than last year. Wild strawberry and some yeasty notes in the nose lead to a rather creamy palate with bright red berry notes, plenty of acid and tons of complexity. The finish is wonderfully dry and refreshing and goes on far longer than I expected. Seriously this little rose is silly good especially at this price, bring on the heat!!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax Vineyard "Y3" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-04-2017
It is exciting to taste another winner from our friends at Jax, who have consistently managed to give us good wine at great pricing. This chardonnay has everything you want from a Napa Chard, big intense tropical fruit notes with oak and weight, but not out of balance. Although this is a big rich wine there is enough acid here to keep it from falling flat and move it forward and brings about a long, lovely finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 05-03-2017
This represents so much of what I love about the wines we are bringing in from NZ, beautiful new world fruit done with old world elegance. Elephant Hill is one of my favorite wineries in this area (and is a spectacular place to visit from what I hear) and this red blend is one of the reasons for that. Dark, rich berry notes are balanced by plenty of acid that never feels out of balance. Notes of licorice and eucalyptus play against the red and black berry and are surrounded by silky tannins, and at only 13.5 abv and under $20 this is a perfect wine to stock up on. You can drink this beauty now or hold on to it, or just get enough to do both.

1995 Tormore 20 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This is one of the richest of the Milroy casks I have tasted so far and a super cool example of how Sherry casking can work. Although there is some richness on the nose, I also get notes of slightly oxidized floral and almonds that you find in Sherry. The palate was creamy and smooth with vanilla, butterscotch, and a warming heat towards the finish. That heat and spice lead to a super long finish and help keep this bottle in your mind as you sip.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1995 Glen Garioch 20 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2017
There is something really unique that Glen Garioch does that I can almost always identify, yet it is difficult for me to describe. Tasting this bottle I again was pleased to taste this beautiful note that is so quintessentially Glen Garioch to me. What is perhaps even more exciting is that this is what I was always told was old school, classic Highland style that I have rarely gotten to taste. The nose is light vanilla and cut hay with hints of cereal. Sipping it I got oatmeal and light grassy grain notes with a little vanilla and heat. This is light and beautiful whisky, low heat and a little wood spice, truly old school cool.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jim Barry "Cover Drive" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 04-26-2017
A surprisingly serious Cab from South Australia, this has been consistently good in the past few vintages that I have tasted. Medium-bodied with ripe berry notes, this wine does not get overly ripe or jammy. Instead a lovely acid core drives it forward and fine tannin runs along and coats the palate. Notes of mint and eucalyptus mingle with the layers of currant and blackberry making this a wonderful food wine that will go beautifully with lamb or beef.
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WE 91

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville 50th Anniversary" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Ridge is without a doubt one of the best producers of Zinfandel in California and every year the Geyserville bottling is may favorite. This year proved that once again that pound for pound the Geyserville is my favorite Zinfandel in the store. What I love about this bottling is that there is always a beautiful acid core that drives this wine forward. This year shows lovely cool red fruit with notes of red berry and some spice. The 2015 vintage has excellent structure and like all of Ridge should age but is drinking so well right now it is hard to think about aging when you just want to start drinking.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
CG 95 WS 90

Four Pillars Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-19-2017
I will admit that despite my trust in Four Pillars to make excellent gin I was a little skeptical to try the Barrel Aged version. This is mostly due to the fact that I have never really enjoyed barrel aged gin, it just does not hit my sweet spot for what I am looking for in gin. Of course I am always happy to change my mind, and while I still do not love barrel aging gin, I really liked the Four Pillars version. The barrels add lots of complex fruit and citrus notes on the nose. While there is some vanilla here, it thankfully does not dominate. Instead layers of interesting savory spices mix with an almost Meyer lemon citrus with a long finish bolstered with some oak spice. I cannot wait to try it in cocktails, although it is good enough to sip which is something I never thought I would say about gin.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-19-2017
The Les Pins "Les Rochettes Bourgueil" has already been one of my go to wines for interesting people in Cab Franc from Loire who may not be very familiar with this varietal from this area. However in the 2015 vintage this good wine has become spectacular especially for the price. The lushness of the vintage shows itself in a more dark and bing cherry characteristic and practically no bell pepper unlike previous vintages. Although there are still lovely notes of savory herb and a touch of spice the fruit really sings in this bottle. A somewhat chewy finish compliments the medium body and makes this a fantastic everyday food wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
This was definitely one of our top sellers last year and it is good to see it back in the new vintage. For those looking for a little more elegance and honesty in their Cab this is the wine for you. Good acid, red berry and bramble, and a touch rustic this wine showcases the grape over manipulation. All of this and the wine is still only $35 which is almost unheard if these days. I believe that this wine may just fly out of here as fast as it did last year.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Pied á Terre Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
I thought this wine was good in the 2012 vintage, but the '13 has me truly impressed. This is not an overly rich and flabby style cab, rather there is a dark and spicy nose with a touch of jalapeno. This leads to a rich body with bramble and cassis and a pleasant coat of tannic structure. A rare find for those who are looking for good value California Cabernet.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cartuxa Evora Alentejo
Review Date: 04-04-2017
It has been fun getting to know more wines from Portugal and this was one that especially stood out to me. Wild ripe berry notes on the nose promise a big wine, and while there was plenty of fruit here there is a long acid core that drives this wine. Juicy without being heavy, this wine ended with a very cool finish and made me ready for another sip.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta do Pinto "Vinhas do Lasso" Colheita Seleccionada
Review Date: 04-04-2017
Super yummy white at a silly good price. This wine opened with a beautiful ripe nose of big orchard fruit and goes into a cool rich mid palate with a touch of salt and sandy minerality. Easily one of the most fun whites in this price range in the store right now in my opinion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

1996 Glen Moray 19 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-03-2017
This is probably the stand out bottle for me in the new lineup of John Milroy because there is a unique thing going on here. When I was young we used to go to Galveston right outside of Houston and there was a candy shop that made fresh saltwater taffy. I loved watching the arms stretch the candy and would gobble up bits the candy master would throw to the watching children. This Glen Moray reminds me of being there, I get notes of butterscotch taffy on the nose, the hints of salt and sweet. On the palate there is a surprisingly fruity, salty, sweet thing. It reminds me of strawberry/caramel taffy. Seriously cool bottle of whiskey.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next