Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
Jefferson's "Special Wheated Mashbill" Ocean Voyage #15 Aged at Sea Very Small Batch Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 05-22-2018
Getting any kind of wheated bourbon is becoming increasingly difficult, so of course, the innovators at Jefferson set out to make one that was even more unique. The primary flavours here are everything one wants in a heavily wheated bourbon, soft rich vanilla, baking spice, notes of cream and caramel. What the voyage does is add a layer of salty goodness to all of the richness, mingling in all that richness is a salt water taffy note that is absolutely spectacular. This is one of those offerings that I do not expect to last long.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

Auchentoshan "Bartender's Malt - Edition 1" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-15-2018
There was a time when certain things were simply not done. One would never mix a fine single malt into something so crass as a cocktail. I come from a bar background and will happily mix up great spirits into great cocktails. Fortunately for me, that rigid way of thinking is becoming more flexible and certain distilleries are embracing this trend. Auchentoshen is a perfect example, a blend of selected casks from different bartenders the whisky itself is beautiful. Soft, clean, supple, with beautiful vanilla, citrus, peaches, and white chocolate plus the texture that triple distilled Auchentoshan brings this is a delightful whisky all by itself. However, this is also a blend created by bartenders and for the bar. It is priced perfectly to allow someone to get creative, or go for a classic scotch and soda. If you are feeling daring maybe do what I am planning on doing this summer and mixing it with lemon juice, ginger syrup and floating a mellow IPA on top for a fantastic shandy.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart

2001 Peyrabon, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-15-2018
The Peyrabon was one of the first Bordeaux I remember tasting when I started working at K&L and I am stoked to see that we now have it in the 2001 vintage. I have really come to appreciate the 2001 vintage because many of the wines are in a fantastic drinking window and are just begging to be open and drunk. The Peyrabon showcases soft fruit and lovely integrated tannin with a beautiful acid core. Balanced between the sweet fruit and the earthy leather and tobacco, this is a perfect wine for today, not necessarily for cellaring.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 05-15-2018
Summer sippin goodness in a bottle. That is what I thought the first time I tried this wine a few years ago and that thought has remained each time I taste it again. Perfect thirst quenching, low alcohol, slightly fizzy sipping goodness. This is the wine to grab by the case and find a reason to open on a beautiful afternoon.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Leviathan California Red Blend
Review Date: 05-01-2018
Big bold California red wine from a prestigious Napa winemaker? Check, now add the fact that it is under $50 and you have an amazing deal. This blend gives you ripe red fruit with plenty of lush oak and vanilla. The result is a plush soft mouthfeel with lots of generous fruit and a warming baking spice finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Lucien Lardy "Les Chenes" Fleurie
Review Date: 04-29-2018
The brightest and freshest of the new Lardy wines, this Fleurie is bursting with wonderful red fruit and dark berry. Higher acid brings a wonderful freshness to the wine and the balance of tannin and spice mean this is a perfect food wine. Although it is drinking well now, this bottle will easily last a few years in the cellar.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JG 90

2016 Lucien Lardy "Les Thorins" Moulin-à-Vent
Review Date: 04-23-2018
The Lardy wines are a new label for of and another fantastic example of what our buyer is finding for us in Beaujolais. Finding a Moulin A Vent for this price is rare enough, but also finding one of this complexity for the same price is remarkable. A beautiful mix of blue and blackberry with floral notes and layers of spice. The palate is smooth and supple with acid and silky tannin adding structure. A powerful wine with lots going on at a beautiful price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WE 92

2016 Lucien Lardy "Côte du Py" Morgon
Review Date: 04-23-2018
Another delightful example of how good Beaujolais can approach the complexity of Pinot from Burgundy. This new Direct Import from Morgon features lovely dark berry fruit with layers of spice and a little earth. A wonderful balancing acid keeps the wine fresh and helps with the finish. Anyone looking for a darker more complex Gamay or just wants a fantastic inexpensive everyday wine this is one to grab a few of.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 RP 90

2014 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 04-19-2018
Absolutely beautiful every day Bordeaux, the Hyot Cotes De Castillon is a superb example of what we can offer here at K&L. Because our buyers go out and track down wine like this we are able to offer easy to drink, incredibly affordable, but still, serious wines that can be stashed away for years. The dark rich berry here is complemented by silky smooth tannin and lots of spice with a core of acid that keeps this wine in balance. I thought this was all gone so I am pleased to see we got more in, but do not wait. This wine sold out quickly last time around and I expect it to do the same this time.

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #3650 (7th Floor, Warehouse B) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-07-2018
I am continually impressed with the Old Forester line, across the board they are lovely go to well priced and easy to drink whiskeys. I especially love when we get single barrel's from them because they are always wonderful for their cost. This one follows that line with creamy vanilla pudding on the nose with notes of Christmas spice. A surprisingly light and delicate mouthfeel that becomes stronger and spicier as it moves to the finish. Just a delightful bottle of bourbon.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Franz Keller "Franz Anton" Spätburgunder Baden
Review Date: 03-28-2018
Lifted, aromatic, high-toned, powerful, spicy, earthy serious Pinot Noir that is affordable and ready to drink? Yes, you just have to know where to look. For example in Germany where the red wines have been getting better and better (hey thanks global warming) although to be honest they have always had amazing reds that have slid under the radar. A beautiful balance of ripe fruit, earth and acid and all ready to enjoy.

2016 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-23-2018
This is one of the most popular domestic chardonnay and for good reason. Big rich creamy oak and fruit all blend together perfectly with acid to balance and a long finish. Despite the riot of flavor, texture, and complexity this is not an expensive offering at all. Despite the fact we all get plenty of this wine we still sell it out more quickly than expected because of how easy it is to serve this wine at every occasion.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jean-Claude Boisset Bourgogne Rouge "Les Ursulines"
Review Date: 03-22-2018
I am really enjoying the entry level 2016 red Burgundy I have had a chance to taste and I especially enjoyed the Boisset Les Ursulines. A somewhat cooler vintage than 2015 the Les Ursuline still shines with pretty and generous fruit. Dark rich fruit with a touch of smokey earth comes through with lovely balancing acid and some oak weight. For under 20 this is exactly the type of easy drinking everyday Burgundy that we have been becoming known for and a spectacular addition to the daily drinkers.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2013 Fable Mountain "Tulbagh Estate" Syrah Western Cape
Review Date: 03-20-2018
This is one of those deals that we seemingly continuously create and yet somehow are remarkable each time, namely that we get serious, delicious wine at prices seen nowhere else. Take this all estate biodynamic and all the other buzz words and proper practices Syrah, it is actually fantastic and at an incredible price. Seriously, this wine has a lovely nose of ripe berry with touches of savory notes. Medium body with a surprising tart yet broad acid notes leads to a long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JS 90

2015 Paxton "AAA" Shiraz-Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-15-2018
An absolutely delightful wine from a lovely Biodynamic winery. The Paxton AAA Shiraz/Grenache blend shows lifted dark fruit as well as red berry on the nose with hints of spice. There is a surprising amount of complexity here with layers of berry, floral, spice and oak tannin. While the Shiraz certainly adds structure this is not a big heavy wine, rather it leans into a medium fresh body with acid to help move it along to the finish.

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 03-08-2018
Coming from a bartending background, in Texas no less, this is exactly the type of product I wish I could have gotten my hands on for margaritas. From undeniable pedigree, this is a perfect mixing Blanco. Big rich fruit hits the nose immediately reassuring you of all that agave goodness in the bottle. The palate is surprisingly clean and light with a touch of earth and spice. This taste, for this price, in this size bottle is basically a bartending dream come true.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Red Wine
Review Date: 03-03-2018
A spectacular offering from the small but highly regarded production Acumen, the 2014 Mountainside offers a beautifully elegant Bordeaux style wine. Warm, dark fruit are perfectly complimented by the herbal notes from higher elevation fruit and choice of French oak gives beautiful spice notes. While there is plenty of fruit here, this is a balanced and focused style as opposed to a overly lush Napa cab and shows concentration and power that this area can achieve.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 03-03-2018
Coming off a third great vintage the Domaine Renaud wines continue to show up as among the best everyday white Burgundy that we carry. Year after year this direct import shows far more wine than the price would suggest, and in vintages like the 2016 this becomes even more true. Of the Renaud offerings the St. Veran is generally my top pick and 2016 is no different. A little higher acid and lighter than the previous vintage the St Veran shows lovely floral and rich fruit on the nose. There is oak weight here with plenty of golden apple and a balancing acidity. Long finish, this is an immensely pleasing white wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau"
Review Date: 02-22-2018
I was introduced to the Chateau Vitallis last year and was enchanted by their wines which showed rich weight and depth without losing acid or balance. The 2016 Les Vignes Du Chateau continues this tradition and style I came to know last year. Ripe warm fruit and weight greet you immediately with notes of golden apple and vanilla. The midpalate is driven by citrus like acid and there is still a layer of minerality that shows up. A lovely affordable wine that will please any who desires the weight of Chardonnay while still desiring lift and length.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 02-21-2018
I love Pinot Noir in general and I have especially come to love the PN coming from the Loir valley. The high acid and strong minerality of Sancerre lends itself to beautiful clean and elegant red wines for those, like myself, who love the leaner style. Eric Cottat has long been my favorite white Sancerre and I believe that his red may now be my favorite PN from this area. Showing lovely clean red and blue fruit with hints of spice this is a perfect everyday food red that is ready to drink.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Bellevue 19 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guadeloupe Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 02-15-2018
Getting to taste this 19 year old single cask from Bellevue was exciting. With the age and distillation process the powerful vegetal components are softened by dark figgy pudding notes and Christmas spice. The rum is a fascinating blend of warm spice and vanilla pudding all framing a long floral core with a long finish. Any true fan of rum will happily work their way through this bottle, although it may disappear faster than planned.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
I make no secret of my love of Champagne with plenty of Meunier in it. Something about all that big beautiful fleshy fruit just makes super friendly bubbles for my enjoyment. This is a rich and round style with notes of dried cherry, plum, almond and even a little marzipan in there. There is also some spice and plenty of acid here that makes this a perfect dinner companion.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
New DI Champagne is always exciting to me, mostly because it means I get to taste Champagne and no matter what that is great. Still better when I find ones I really like. This new Rose is definitely our best priced Rose Champagne, but just because it is less expensive does not mean it is less drinkable. Bright fruit with some lovely structure from a little skin contact this all Pinot Meunier rose is a spectacular buy and a tasty bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-07-2018
There is only one thing that everyone in Champagne agrees on, that is their wine tastes best out of a magnum. There are several reasons for this, but rest assured that it is true. Getting to taste Champagne side by side out of different sizes always confirms this, also who doesn't want to show up at a party or event with a large format Champagne? So here we have the best-priced magnum Champagne you will see and it delicious! The extra aging on the lees shows up as big rich yeasty notes with tons of breadth and complexity. There is a lovely golden pear and vanilla note here as well as a dry and long finish. Spectacular bubbles.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92

Compass Box "No Name" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2018
At this point it seems like everyone I talk to who knows about Scotch knows who John Glaser is and why the Compass Box whiskies are worth getting into. However, as good as his core line is, I am always excited to get to taste his more limited expressions because here is where he allows himself to get truly creative with his expressions. Take the No Name: it is smoky, complex, tarry, fruity and all the things that make peaty whiskies worth drinking. Although the peat is really on the forefront thanks to malts like the Clynelish add a lovely creamy texture to the Scotch. Some heat here but never overwhelming; there is also a lovely bit of a spice bite for a long finish.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7233K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-02-2018
I continue to enjoy and be impressed with the Dickel single barrels we get in, not only do they represent such a great value but each one is so unique. Take the #007, the latest in a series we have been offering. This particular bottling is all about the grains. Swirling on the nose are layers of hay, wheat, barley and rye with vanilla and a touch of almond. The palate is dry and a little spice with a beautiful mill grist element and some lovely oak characteristics. Another different, yet delicious, expression for a great price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Hissez O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 02-01-2018
The Hissez O represents the most complex and full-bodied of the wines from La Reserve O representing the peak of what these wines can achieve. Dark ripe fruit is perfectly matched by spice and structure. Although the Syrah adds plum and cassis notes the Grenach here helps to preserve lovely red berry and lifted aromatics. Earthy, rich, floral, concentrated, and beautifully made this is is the type of bottle meant for serious dinner and long dark nights.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Moss Wood "Wilyabrup" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2018
I have written several reviews for Margaret River Cabernet because the quality from here for the price is so unbelievable. Moss Wood is one of the greats from this region and their Wilyabrup, the wine that put them on the map, shows why. Perfectly balanced aromatics of blackberry, cedar, vanilla, and cassis blend together on the nose. The wine shows a lush fruit mid-palate while maintaining grace and elegance through the finish. The tannin here is polished and integrated and blend together seamlessly.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JH 97 JS 96

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2018
This is one of the best selling Cabernet blends for us and it is easy to see why. Although we get plenty of this wine it always seems to sell out much more quickly than I expect and that is because of how much you get for this price. Beautiful generous fruit with notes of blackberry and cherry are met with structure and some bramble and a touch of herbaceous notes. This is a wine to stock up on because as I mentioned it always go way to quickly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia (White Label)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Margaret River Cabernet has quickly become my go-to for incredibly well done and affordable Cabernet. Often this region can showcase the beauty of New World fruit with Old World sensibilities. That is to say, beautiful rich full-bodied fruit backed by longer, leaner, casking. The Clairault White Label shows just this style beautifully. Lovely ripe black and red berry are tinged with savory herb and tobacco on the nose. On the palate, there is definitely plenty of tannin and structure, yet the finish manages to stay elegant on the finish. A perfect wine for a big meal and good times.

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "La Source" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-24-2018
This was one of the major standouts to me when tasting through the Ferraton line. Although I thought the entire line-up had a lot to offer, this one punched well above its weight class. Bright fresh berry nose with a little savory herb and leather leads to a precise and clean, open but with great length and focus. Classic notes of berry, spice, pepper, and floral all intermingle while leading to a long finish.
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Calendes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 01-24-2018
I thought this was a spectacular offering from northern Rhone especially for the price. There is a lovely nose of red and blackberry that are underlay with a savory, almost meaty, component and dried floral notes. The body was restrained and focused although there was still plenty of fruit and structure. An absolute delight of a sub $20 wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 01-18-2018
I love the Oakridge label, and to be honest their entry level Over the Shoulder is usually my favorite thing that they do. The OTS line represents an absolutely stunning value for the beauty and complexity that are present in the wines. In the Chardonnay there is generous ripe orchard fruit that is driven by clean acid and a bright freshness that keeps the wine from being heavy. A spectacular wine in its own regards this style also happens to be extremely versatile, pairing well with a number of foods and style preferences.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 93

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-18-2018
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-24-2017
The second vintage now from the producers of Banshee, for those who love the Pinot being grown in the Willamette valley. The Averaen showcases ripe fruit with hints of candy and cherry cola; these rich notes are balanced by acid and tannin. The richness that Banshee is known for is integrated into the structure that Pinot from this area is famous for. This is an instantly friendly and easy to love wine from people of whom we have long been fans. Overall this is a balanced and lovely Pinot Noir just in time for the holidays.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
This is another fantastic bottling from Amici, which has had a string of great Napa Cabs for the previous couple of vintages. Amici represents what people want and love about Napa Cab these days for a far better price than almost anyone else for the quality. Big, rich, lush berry flavors are met by herbal and floral notes to keep the wine from being flabby. There is plenty of structure here, giving this wine the ability to stand up to any good holiday dinner. The tannin is already integrated, balances the wine, and works in harmony with the red fruit. This is a wine where every part of it works together and easily over-delivers.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

Enmore 25 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
This 25 year old Golden Devil from Enmore made me come back a couple times to the sample bottle and I had to leave it reluctantly. Dark spice over fruitcake with a subtle wood notes on the nose hint to the richness and complexity. On the palate the rum had a wonderful dried fruit and pudding quality that morphs into savory chocolate and coffee notes. Earthy mocha and baking spice with dark berry notes make up the finish that seems to last forever.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive 9 Year Old Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
The single barrel selections we have been getting from Golden Devil, and for me in particular the Jamaican ones, have gotten me to rethink buying rum. The 9 year old Hampden opens immediately with a wonderful fruity butterscotch nose, powerful and inviting. There is a lot of wood tanning here that will immediately cling to the palate, however within that lovely fruit and floral notes complement the warm vanilla components. The butterscotch on the nose comes back at the finish with pineapple and baking spice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Classic Penedes
Review Date: 11-16-2017
This is one of the tastiest, coolest, and most interesting rose bubbly we carry but unfortunately the label does not scream that. Still if you are willing to look past the label you can get into a wine by my favorite cava producers in our store. This is worlds away from a soft strawberry, watermelon and sweet finish. This wine is all tart earthy raspberry with plenty of acid and minerality. Dry finish with that seems to linger forever this is a ridiculously good bottle of bubbly in just a ridiculous package.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 11-11-2017
Holy cow!(See what I did there) just in time for Holiday season the Jax Y3 blend is back and it is even better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed the 2014 and 2013 bottlings from our friends at Jax but this is the best one I have tasted. Beautiful cherry and spice on the nose lead to a silky, seamless palate. The wine has a lushness that never falls into jam and coats the mouth with very soft fully integrated tannins. What is so spectacular about this bottling though is the balance and freshness it delivers even as the warm red fruits are at the front of this wine. This wine is not overly rich and definitely not flabby, there is a sophistication and balance not often found in red blends at this price point here in California. A perfect bottle to have around for this time of year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2017
Calling this single cask from Fukano a whisky almost places too much of a limitation on the spirit because it seems to beg to be in a category of its own. The nose gives off almost floral jasmine rice notes with vanilla bean, coconut and oak. The palate almost is a cross between an American whiskey and a brandy. The oak gives off bold vanilla and butterscotch while the texture and mid-palate has distinct brandy note with hints of mocha and dried fruit as in an Armagnac. There is a surprising amount of spice with some heat as the finish stays long and lingering on the tongue. This is a wonderful bottle and will make a lovely addition to any whisky drinker's bar.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-17-2017
The lightest and cleanest of the three Premier Cru Chablisienne we are carrying the 204 Beauroy is a lovely bottle of wine. Bright citrus fruits are met with some flashy minerality and cutting acid. Minerality drives this wine and helps it to finish strong, however all of the have a beautiful balance and poise.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-12-2017
I recently re-tasted this delightfully inexpensive little Muscadet and was reminded of how good this wine tastes. Even with the long aging on the lees this wine has everything people are looking for in a Muscadet. Bright, clean, a little floral and saline characteristics all come together with plenty of acid and lift. There is a surprising amount of fruit weight here but with an incredibly clean finish. This is definitely a bottling that one could keep around for tons of occasions.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-05-2017
I have been hearing about this gin since its inception and have been eagerly awaiting its arrival. Finally our new Faultline gin is here and it is downright delightfully delicious!! The aromatics leap out immediately, but like all of the Four Pillars Gin everything is in balance, lots of different aromas all acting in harmony with each other. There is some fantastic spice notes in here to bolster the juniper and the texture from the nuts adds a wonderful creamy layer. Finally the gin ends with a burst of lemon and spice that keeps the mouth fresh. I was planning on drinking wine tonight but I think I may do Negroni's instead.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 10-03-2017
I became an instant fan of this producer and especially the entry-level Rhone offering when I first tasted them, and they just seem to be getting better. The 2016 Cotes du Rhone showcases a greater elegance and brightness as opposed to the richer 2015 vintage. With the high level of Grenache, this wine is exactly the kind of Rhone that I love. Beautiful high tones of red fruit, notes of cherry, spice and cigar box with subtle tannin from the Syrah make this a wine easy to love with tons of different dishes.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I recently took a bottle of this home, not having tasted it in a couple of years, and I was struck by just how good this offering from our only Direct Import negociant truly is. The long aging on the lees give this wine a natural toastiness while maintaining plenty of bright acid. Notes of baked apple, creme brulee, and lemon zest make this a wine that pairs with food especially well in the fall. An absolutely lovely bottle from our friends at Baron-Fuente.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
For anyone looking to get into rum or for those who need something to drink so as to not drink their single barrel limited release rums the Real McCoy is here. This is just rum for rum's sake, done by one of the best distillers I have tasted out of Barbados. Foursquare is known for their dedication to transparency and lack of additives and this bottling delivers the real deal. Wonderfully balanced with a nose of tar, molasses, and burnt sugar. The body is exactly what I expected it to be with a smooth richness, some funk from the pot still and overall deliciousness. Captain Jack would cry to see this used as a fire starter.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Review Date: 09-14-2017
This is a delightful bottle of white that goes well with practically any occasion. Fresh aromatics give way to notes of orchard fruit and mineral tones. Bright crisp acid drives the wine but there is still some texture from the grapes and it all culminates in a clean tart finish. Light and lovely this is a beautiful wine for the end of summer.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
This is a killer bottle of whiskey especially for the price, it is not often you find a Scotch under $30 period much less one with such complexity in it. I should not doubt the people at Highland Park, but I was still a bit surprised by this one. Sweet peat, oak spice, and a little fruity nose invite you into a rich warm palate of toffee, vanilla, salted caramel and a smooth gentle smoke. The finish is probably my favorite part here, toffee and bitter coffee notes with a little spice linger far longer than I would have thought.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Bloody Shiraz" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-30-2017
I was willing to buy this bottle based on the aromatics alone, well that and the fact that Four Pillars seems incapable of making a bad gin. Watching this come in and getting to finally taste it makes me do a happy dance. The aroma juniper, sweet orange, bitter herb, red berry are all present here and hint at the tastiness hiding within this bottle. The flavor here is reminiscent of a SloGin but brighter and drier than most I have tasted. The beauty of the Four Pillars botanicals are still here just surrounded and submerged in sweet red fruit, more spice and a perfect amount of sweetness. I can't wait to try it in a Negroni and I feel I won't even need the sweet vermouth.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next