Staff Favorites - Daniel Maas

Daniel Maas

Reviews

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-24-2016
So here's the deal. Champagne is awesome! We all know that! What is even more amazing is when you taste something and you are sure that it costs at least $200. That was exactly my thought when opening this, an insanely good example of what one-hundred-year-old vines can do for a wine. For absolutely no reason, other than the fact that I'm Dan, and logic always comes in second after drama, this, the "belle VOYES" makes me think of a VOYAGE. One that transcends reality and takes you into a new world. One of pleasure. And one that comes with an entry fee of $69.99, which is quite simply unbelievable.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-24-2016
One of the following three statements is true, and the others are false! Let's see if you can pick the fact. 1: THE EARTH IS BIGGER THAN THE SUN 2: STANLEY KUBRICK WAS HIRED BY NASA TO FAKE THE MOON LANDING. 3. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET HIGH-END CHAMPAGNE FOR LESS THAN $35. Well? What do you think? I was on the fence between the moon landing and champagne, UNTIL I opened a bottle of this unbelievable Grand Cru offering from what has become a huge staff favorite here in Hollywood. Immensely refreshing with clean peach and citrus fruit, subtle vanilla, and a long finish, this amount of deliciousness is even more ridiculous than those two false facts! Think about it!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Charles Ellner "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-23-2016
Being a small negociant from what some may call "the wrong side of the tracks", here are a few things that Charles Ellner does not do: They don't purchase fruit. The absolutely never do any maloactic fermentation. And they absolutely do not price themselves past what people want out of an everyday champagne. What they DO DO, however, is make insanely elegant sparkling wine that drinks far beyond the modest price. Mostly Chardonnay and a bit of Pinot Noir, this spends an impressive five years on the lees, creating a vibrant and long-lasting complexity reminiscent of the best of sherry wines. Citrus fruit and just a hint of yeasty-dough, this is one to stock up on.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 VN 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-21-2016
Rose. It is possibly one of the most singularly used words in the lexicon of wine, and yet, it is so often mischaracterized. People think it's sweet. People think it is light. Well, listen up, folks, because PEOPLE ARE WRONG! This is clearly evidenced here with Ariston Aspasie's beautifully crafted Brut Rose. Neither sweet, nor particularly, light, what it absolutely is is REFRESHING! Given a supremely unique personality from the method of taking its color from completely vinified red wine as opposed to the more common method of including a degree of skin contact, this is one of the drier rose champagnes I've tasted lately. Cranberry, dried-cherry, and a hint of spice-box all work together to create a medley of wonderment that you won't soon forget!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 05-21-2016
Unimaginable! Unfathomable! Ridiculous! What has me so puzzled, you may ask? The fact that the wonderful folks over at Ariston Aspasie could surpass the quality and value of their "Carte Blanche" bottling. Incredibly, that is exactly what they did with the release of "PRESTIGE". Sourced entirely from the wonderful 2008 vintage, here we have a slightly richer and more dense wine than its slight-lower-priced cousin. Highlighted by both apple and zesty citrus notes, the main attraction here is the weight! This is serious, serious champagne that should age beautifully while also over-delivering here in the present.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-21-2016
I'll be the first to admit it. I grew up somewhat spoiled. When it came to things that really mattered, like what movie to rent, I pretty much had CARTE BLANCHE. Unfortunately, that freedom and joy absolutely PALED IN COMPARISON to the delight that I encountered upon my first taste of this gorgeous bottling from one of our long-time favorite Champagne producers. Composed of almost-equal shares of Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier,there's simply too much to love here: Bright traces of apple; the present-yet-balanced yeast; and the toastiness that I absolutely require in champagne. Simply remarkable, it is, to find a wine so complex and meticulously crafted for such a price!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2013 Challen "Scarlett" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-04-2015
A long-time fan of all things SCARLETT, from the letter itself and Ms. O'Hara, I found myself quite excited upon the discovery of this lovely Santa Maria Valley Pinot's name. This is an absolute dream for November, and all the turkey that comes with it. A plush, velvety texture accompanies the dark fruit, supple tannins, and long finish! This wine is so good that you should VOLUNTARILY wear the letter A in public. Of course, A stands for AMAZING!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-26-2015
I'm a whiskey guy! I love drinking it...smelling it... and collecting it! Easily, of course, my favorite of those three activities is the drinking, which makes this wonderful Nebraska whiskey so dangerous! It's so smooth that, if you're like me, you'll end up drinking way too much. Rich and savory in texture, this 2 year bottling is highlighted by an immense floral and herbaceous qualities. Along with a pronounced element of creamy vanilla, this is such a delight!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 06-24-2015
What a great night we had last evening at Delphine, celebrating this wonderful spirit, and exploring its amazing versatility. Thanks to esteemed filmmaker Steven Soderburgh, this super-clean and floral muscat brandy is finally available here in the states, and is a perfect addition to any bar, especially for when someone wants an amazing cocktail, yet is sick of their usual tequila-gin-vodka selections. Be sure to try this soon!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-23-2014
This Champagne is one of the most perfectly balanced bottles I've tried in quite awhile, especially notable with it being such a complex blend of both Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier, as well as various vintages. Vibrant apple and pear notes, crisp bubbles, and a long finish make this a winner at twice the price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2009 E. Guigal Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 11-18-2014
Ron Burgundy once famously confused Chateauneuf Du Pape with Heinz Ketchup. Obviously, nothing could be further from the truth, a fact especially evident with this 2009 bottling from the famed producer of Rhone wines. Medium bodied and evenly laced with plenty of dark fruit, tobacco, and chocolate, the wine hits you in the face with complexity, while also being very approachable. The moderate tannins sit nicely in the middle of the spectrum between too dry and too sweet,and is sure to please lovers of both fuller, more tannic wines and those wanting something a bit more mellow. A lovely representation of the area.