Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-07-2018
As soon as the 2016 vintage landed, I pulled a bottle of this and was delighted as in every past vintage. White Rhone wines have always intrigued me with their combination of texture, weight and freshness. Montfaucon is one of our best producers, and this little wine is one of my personal favorites from their production. You've got great orchard fruit here, mixed with subtle papaya and mango notes. There's almond and a very creamy texture to the wine, as well as citrus-driven acidity to keep things fresh and lively. The new vintage of this wine does not disappoint!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2016 Brezo Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-05-2018
The small region of Bierzo is one of my favorite treasures of Spain. Mencia is at its best here, and produces lovely medium bodied, dark-fruited wines with plenty of savory herbal character. This expression from Brezo is a bit fuller bodied than most, with very bright youthful fruit and complementary sweet oak spice. It still retains its dark berry character, and hints of thyme and sage. Over all and fun and complex little wine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 05-05-2018
I love the way that Bryan MacRobert does Rioja. It's a new take on this area, that certainly rocks the boat for some of us. I'd advise putting the concept of "Rioja" entirely out of your mind when you try this wine, and taste it for what it is: a clean and honest expression of Grenache and Tempranillo grown in a long-proven region. One of the more surprising elements that jumps out in this wine is the raw spice and earthy umami notes that I find particularly food friendly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Halcón "Cerise Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-05-2018
Halcon is a great winery making restrained, elegant styles of Pinot Noir from cooler areas such as Anderson Valley. This is as delicate and expressive as I could ask for in a Pinot. The aromas are clean, with notes of cherry, wet stone, clove and raspberry. On the palate the wine is lighter in body with very fine tannin, and a consistent sweet spice. It lingers beautifully on the palate and continues developing for a full minute or more.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Giscours, Margaux
Review Date: 05-05-2018
I was very impressed with this wine in a recent tasting of '14 and '15 Bordeaux. It not only has elegance, depth and power, but is already starting to integrate its tannin and acidity structure, and with a good decant it is showing very well now. The aromas are clean and lifted, with signature Margaux violet and black plum, and the palate is surprisingly soft. There are hints of wild herb and olive just beginning to show through the powerful black fruit and sweeter oak spices. I'd highly recommend this reasonably priced Margaux, which drinks like one of its pricier neighbors.

2016 Trellis (Amelia Park) Bordeaux Blend Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 05-04-2018
Amelia Park's "Trellis" Bordeaux blend has been a perennial favorite at K&L since we first brought it in a few years back. The Trellis is the ultimate in high quality to price point ratio. It is particularly hard to find value in the Cab and Cab blend category. This little wine is seriously made, with elegant, honest structure, boisterous black cassis and blueberry fruit, and a healthy dose of eucalyptus and mint notes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-04-2018
This is a classic K&L find for Bordeaux--an under rated vintage from a larger appellation which is drinking far above its modest price point. If you're looking for a great weeknight claret that is ready to drink now, you should absolutely try the 2007 Malescasse.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vasse Felix Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Vasse Felix is deservedly a well known name in Margaret River. Sometimes its tempting to pass by the big names in search of something new and exciting, but when it comes to Margaret River Chardonnay, I come back every time to Vasse Felix. It's really not to fair to this incredible region to draw comparisons to Burgundy, but still the word "Meursault" keeps popping into my head. I think its because there is such a strong sense of mineral drive combined with elegant fruit and a slight nuttiness that is perfectly married.

2017 Aerena San Francisco Bay AVA Rosé
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Bay area folks, if you like to shop local Aerena is a great find! This little rose was one of the first I tasted this season and it really left nothing to be desired. It's light, crisp and dry, and even has a sublte savory note that is begging for food. I'd love to try this with sashimi or poke. It would also play well with bacon roasted brussel sprout flatbread.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Gruner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 05-03-2018
Sometimes I have a mental block with Gruner, boxing it in as peppery, lean and astringent. However, this wine was a good wake up call for me. This is a lovely, complex, versatile Gruner with texture, weight and multi-dimensional fruit. All this without losing its snappy acidity and lean precision. Its a great buy for a white wine in any category, and one of the best Gruners I've ever had.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2016 Fratelli Barale Dolcetto d'Alba "Le Rose"
Review Date: 04-09-2018
A slightly lighter, fresher style of Dolcetto such as Fratelli Barale makes is one of my favorite go-to Italian wines. This 2016 vintage is no exception--what with the excellent winemaking and the great pricing thanks to our direct import, this is a no-brainer for your weeknight enjoyment. Did I mention how food-friendly this little wine is?
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Keenan "Reserve" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2018
When it comes to Napa, and especially when it comes to such prestigious areas as Spring Mountain, the expectation is high. Even so, Keenan's Reserve Cabernet exceeds all expectations. This wines is powerful, layered, and complex, yes, but it also is crafted to age for the long haul. I was immediately reminded of a young Bordeaux from one of the more pricey Chateaux on the left bank. But it goes without saying that the Keenan wine packs a heartier punch than its French counterparts. I truly can't wait to see where this wine goes in 10 or 15 years.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 93

2015 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Clean honeydew melon aromas accented by apply blossom and nectarine compose the aromas of this wine. On the palate it is light, crisp and pleasantly round, with a dominating white peach and lemon curd note. Very much out performing its price! This little wine is easily one of my favorite Springtime finds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Possibly my favorite new under $20 white from anywhere! This wine is light and clean, without any of the funk that can sometimes crop up in Chenin Blanc. It starts with a lovely honeysuckle and apricot nose, and then expounds on the theme with peach blossom and nectarine on the palate. Though well balanced with a fresh cut of acidity, the wine still has some of the weight and texture commonly seen in wines from the area. This is thoroughly delightful on its own, but will absolutely be food friendly as well.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Marietta "Game Trail" Yorkville Highlands Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2018
This is a fantastic new arrival from one of our favorite producers and from a stellar vintage! The Game Trail Cabernet is a lovely full bodied wine with silky tannin and succinct, currant and olive notes. This is neither too shy nor too fleshy, but as with all the Marietta wines, it's classic California in style, in all the best senses. Definitely one of the top Cali cabs in the store at any price point.

2012 Louis Jadot Beaune 1er Cru "153rd Anniversary Cuvee"
Review Date: 04-09-2018
Burgundy, of course, is often sited as the origin of the "single vineyard" concept. In many other regions, producers will blend fruit from various sites to achieve a certain style. It is rarely done in Burgundy, except for lesser "rouge" wines. But here we have an exception--Louis Jadot blends fruit from various 1er cru vineyards in Beaune to accomplish something greater than the sum of its parts. With six years aging, this wine is just starting to come into its own--elegant, beautifully balanced, and layered with complexity. One of the best deals for red Burgundy currently on the shelf!

2015 El Lugar "Rincon Vineyard" Arroyo Grande Valley
Review Date: 04-07-2018
A great example of the quality and power coming from this excellent site! El Lugar's "Rincon" Pinot shows luscious aromas of blackberry, cola, and currant leaf. On the palate it strikes a lovely balance of soft fruit, ripe tannin and subtle baking spices. The wines is of a medium body which is quite supple, and much too easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2016 Clementine Carter "Larner Vineyard" Ballard Canyon Grenache
Review Date: 03-31-2018
Ballard Canyon is one of the warmer sites in the central coast, so I was surprised at how delicate this Grenache is. The wine has a lighter color, with clean red plum and baking spice on the nose. Medium bodied, with excellent structure and a perfect balance of red fruits, pepper, and savory herbal notes, this wine is quickly becoming a new favorite for me.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 03-31-2018
If you're looking for a good weeknight red that's food friendly, you can't go far wrong with Domaine Cabirau's Cotes du Rousillon. A blend of old vine Grenache, Syrah and Carignan, this wine is medium bodied, full of fresh plum and berry fruits, and accented with smoky, game-y notes. Don't be afraid to stash some of this wine in your cellar either, despite the modest price, this wine is very seriously made, and will undoubtedly gain additional complexity and character with a few years under its belt.

2015 Corofin "Carter Ashmore Vineyard - North Corner" Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 03-26-2018
The Corofin wines are a newer discovery for K&L, and what a great find! Ryan Woodhouse found this label a little while back, and we have finally gotten a good quantity of the wines in stock. Mike & Anna Patterson have selected some of the best and most interesting vineyard sites to source their wine from, and the wine making here is pristine. The Carter Ashmore Vineyard North Corner Chardonnay is one of my favorite wines tasted this year. It walks a line of precision and elegance that is full of terroir expression, exhibiting lovely floral and stone fruit aromas, with a mineral laden palate, and great textural balance from a little lees work.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Fable Mountain "Night Sky" GSM Coastal Region
Review Date: 03-26-2018
A GSM as elegant as they come! This wine shows lovely round red fruits, with a hint of peppery spice, but neither too tannic and harsh, nor too jammy and ripe. It strikes the perfect balance for a medium bodied, food-friendly wine. Tending more toward the French style than the California style of GSM, this wine is easily one of the best values and finest quality deals coming from South Africa at the moment.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 VN 90

Wiston Estate NV Brut West Sussex England
Review Date: 03-26-2018
As a big fan of sparkling wine generally, I am always eager to see what different regions bring to the table. Lately, I have fallen in love with the truly fabulous wines coming from England. Wiston Estate is one of the top producers there, and this NV Brut is a great example of the unique quality of English sparkling wine. The wine feels quite dry on the palate with lively acidity and heavily laden with chalky minerality. On the palate the fruit is surprisingly round, with pleasant apricot and nectarine dominating. Well worth putting a bottle or two aside for your next sparkling adventure!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (White Label)
Review Date: 03-26-2018
I'm always on the hunt for Cabernet values, and this lovely wine from Clairault is a great new arrival, that completely blows me away at this price point. Don't hesitate to try this Cabernet--the wine shows serious attention to detail from the cool black fruit, subtle savory herbal notes, through to the well-integrated tannin and fine cut of acidity. Absolutely a food-friendly wine, this Cabernet is one of our very best new bottles!

2012 Streicker "Ironstone Block" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 03-26-2018
I may have a new favorite source for classic Cabernets! The Margaret River in Australia is slowly winning my heart with its elegant, structured, and expressive wines. This Cabernet from Streicker is one of the best examples of what this area is capable. Elegant red and black cassis fruit with pleasant ripeness is balanced against herbal eucalyptus notes, and the whole is showcased by fine boned tannin and fresh acidity. Vibrant yet self-contained, this wine is everything I love about classic Cabernet from a truly great region.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2015 Domaine Faiveley Gevrey-Chambertin Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 03-23-2018
What a beautiful example of the power and scope of this great vintage in Gevrey Chambertin! Faiveley's Old Vine bottling is vibrant and full, without losing its poise and structure. Full of dark cherry and plum aromas, accented with baking spice, the wine is medium bodied with soft tannin and round red berry fruits. The finish shows some oak, but not in excess. Rather, the soft notes of mocha and vanilla complement and highlight the beautiful fruit and spice elements. This is a wine built to age, and will drink beautifully after a good 5 years or more in the cellar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Thomas Morey Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 03-23-2018
There has been much praise for the 2015 vintage in Burgundy, with the only caveat that some of the wines are almost too ripe. That is certainly not the case with this delightful Bourgogne Blanc from Thomas Morey. The wine is perfectly well balanced, with extraordinary texture and elegance. On the nose it displays white peach, honeysuckle, apple blossom and lemon curd. The body has great lees-y texture without being too heavy, and the finish is long. Probably best in a few years, this wine is truly excellent quality for a Bourgogne Blanc.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Banshee Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Ask any K&L staffer, but around here Banshee is synonymous with straightforward, true quality wine at a price-point anything but exorbitant. The 2014 Banshee Cab is a Napa classic, though coming from a newer label. With the blend of valley floor fruit, and mountain fruit, the complexity builds nicely, and the wine shows both great structure, and soft, open texture. Probably one of our best Napa cabs price-to-quality wise.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "No.3 - Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Possibly one of the best deals in the store, "HPF" not only has everything you want in a crisp, refreshing little Sauvignon Blanc, but also is yards ahead of almost any other wine this price in sheer quality. Avoiding the stylistic pitfalls of being either over-ripe in fruit, or too vegetal, this is the perfectly balanced expression of the varietal. As is traditional for many top Sauvignon Blancs around the world, just a touch of Semillon has been added to fill out the texture a bit on the wine. In my opinion, it's the perfect highlight to this fresh, zesty and melon fruit-laden Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-28-2018
With a warmer, riper-fruited year in 2015, Argyle's Reserve Pinot Noir shows a fuller bodied character, with unabashed fruit. And yet it's ebullient character is well balanced with classic acidity and fine boned tannin. With plenty of clean, blackberry and plum notes, this wine reminds me of some of the best Pinots coming from Russian River, but with a lovely Oregon twist.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 93

2015 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 02-23-2018
This may be one of our greatest under $20 finds from the vintage! Don't underrate the wines of the Graves. Although the vintage was warm and many of the wines are quite big, Chateau l'Avocat has kept their wines very restrained and elegant in style. Yes, there is rich red fruit here, but it is well balanced by acidity and fine-boned tannin. The palate is loaded with red plum, cassis, baking spices, licorice, and menthol. This is a pretty little wine that will age like something of a much higher price point.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Charmes Godard Blanc, Côtes de Francs
Review Date: 02-23-2018
White Bordeaux can be made in a variety of styles, but often the best, and most long-lived styles are made with a blend of Semillion, and see some oak influence, as is the case here. The oak influence, however, is minimal, since the barrels used are large format. The wine retains plenty of fresh acidity and grassy/citrus notes from the Sauvignon Blanc, but has an added richness of texture and fruit presence due to the Semillon, and the sur lie aging. This is a serious and well-crafted little wine that, although pleasant now, will undoubtedly age phenomenally well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2016 Jean Reverdy "La Reine Blanche" Sancerre
Review Date: 02-19-2018
Tasted in a lineup of other white wines, this little Sancerre immediately stood out to me. Not only is this one of my favorite regions, but this wine has achieved near perfect balance of fruit and minerality. It remains light and crisp, as is classic in Sancerre, with striking aromas of white flowers, honeydew and lemon curd. On the palate it is taught and focussed, but with a nice rounded fruit presence that works seamlessly with the bright acidity and chalky mineral components.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Catena Appellation Malbec Lunlunta
Review Date: 02-19-2018
For those of you who prefer a lighter style of Malbec with more elegance than force, this is the wine for you. The aromas are more pronounced and have plenty of red fruit character, with some intriguing baking spice. On the palate the wine is a medium-light weight and has excellent, fine-boned tannin and fresh acidity. It reminds me more of a Cahors, though with softer tannin than is typical there.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2017 Viña Maquis "Calcu" Rosé Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 02-19-2018
When you look at the back of this bottle and read 90% Malbec, 10% Petit Verdot, you are expecting quite the pop of flavor out of this little bottle. But I have to say, it surprised me how elegant and understated this wine is! The color is quite light, and the style is very much in keeping with the dry, French rose traditions from Provence. The delicate aromas are of peach, cherry and cranberry. On the palate the wine is dry, with the fruit following through and balancing out the tangy acidity. A lovely little wine, and well worth the modest price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mad Furmint Dry Tokaj Hungary
Review Date: 02-17-2018
I absolutely love this wine! Yes, its dry and crisp, but also bursting with flavor. The fruits are rather exotic, and there is a fair amount of spice to the wine, adding to the complexity. I would easily drink this wine in a variety of settings, and although it could compliment a number of dishes, I think works very well in a stand alone situation.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 02-05-2018
With the frosts in the early part of 2016, the crop was reduced drastically, but what wine were made from this vintage are phenomenal. This little Chablis is still young, but has all the classic character that you are looking for in such a wine. Crisp, focused, and mineral-laden, the wine is more structured than 2015, and more representative of the area. This is the perfect shellfish wine, and for those of you in search of your crab pairing, you need look no further.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 02-05-2018
I am always thrilled and surprised by the white wines of Italy. At first this wine struck me as a simple, grassy, crisp wine. Perhaps I was judging it too quickly by the aromas, though, because on the palate it was surprisingly weighty, with soft stone fruits, and a lovely round quality. Overall, I love how this wine is very multi-dimensional, with great freshness and cut, but also a a depth of character that is surprising at this price.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Cavallotto Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 02-05-2018
Beautifully made Nebbiolo from the excellent vintage of 2015! This wine is young, yes, but it has all the right components. Elegant and restrained in style, the wine shows pretty floral/tobacco notes on the nose, followed by a slightly savory red cherry on the palate. The tannins are firm, but fine-boned, and the acidity is, of course, striking. While the wine probably needs a couple of years in the cellar, it is truly a stunning bottle, and will undoubtedly reward your patience.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 02-05-2018
Well-made Barbaresco at an affordable price-point? Yes please! This lovely bottling has all the elements that I look for in a good Barbaresco, and certainly has the bones to age, even though the fruit has a youthful charm right now. If you do open it now, I'd recommend at least an hour decant to open up the wine, and make sure to enjoy with food. Barbaresco is such an excellent food wine, and this is no exception. Medium bodied, with savory olive, red plum and sandalwood, this wine is absolutely stunning, and a crazy bargain at the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-05-2018
I love this winery in most vintages, but for me the 2012 vintage is drinking particularly well. There is a great marriage of savory notes, black cherry fruit, and olive in this wine, that is irresistible. I'd highly recommend a good decant (1-2 hours) before enjoying, so that you can access all the layers of flavor present here. Don't think that the goodness ended with the 2010 vintage in Montalcino, this beautiful 2012 is so elegant and well-balanced, that it would be hard to point to a better wine for the price.

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 02-03-2018
The 2007 vintage is just hitting its stride, and we are loving it! Although it was a cooler year, the wines have aged beautifully and are showing great just now. An old favorite at K&L, Tronquoy Lalande gives us a slightly more Merlot dominate wine, which is more aromatically driven, and is now displaying a beautiful savory component. The wine certainly benefits from a couple of hours in a decanter, to encourage it to open fully and display all its layered complexity.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Our friends at Amici have produced another beautiful vintage of their flagship Cabernet. If you loved the 2012, the 2014 is quite similar, but perhaps even more outstanding. Whereas the 2013 was a bit more structured and destined for the cellar, the 2014 is open and soft right off the bat, with elegant berry fruit, cassis, eucalyptus, and sweet spice showing on the palate. I would recommend drinking this with a good steak, or another heartier meal to stand up to this big beauty.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2015 Domaine de l'Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
Review Date: 02-02-2018
One of my favorite parts of the wine business is finding little-known gems that completely out perform their price-point in every way possible. This is one such wine. It's full-bodied and open, with soft black fruit and an elegance of structure that rounds it out perfectly.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Lioco Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Lioco has done an excellent job making an affordable Chardonnay that maintains high quality and character. This elegant wine is both full-bodied and robust, while still keeping a clean, polished palate. Although some oak is incorporated into it, that is hardly the dominate flavor. Rather, the small usage of oak highlights and fills out the very pretty orchard fruit which is the main component of the wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 J. J. Vincent Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 02-02-2018
This is an excellent quality Bourgogne Blanc, and more closely resembles a village Puligny or Meursault. The wine is open and creamy, with lots of ripe pear and white peach flavors on the palate. Yet it also retains an excellent structure, with striking citrus-laden acidity and a lovely mineral backbone.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Abbotsdale" Shiraz Swartland
Review Date: 02-02-2018
Let me start by saying I'm not always a huge fan of Shiraz/Syrah, but this wine I just can't argue with. Perhaps you haven't heard of Bryan Macrobert or Eben Sadie, or know of the new wave of winemakers that they represent, but you don't have to know any of that to love this wine. Suffice to say, it's top quality fruit, top quality winemaking, and this is one of the best expressions of shiraz that I've come across. The aromatics are clean, lifted, and gorgeous. The palate is focused, with a great balance of tannin, fruit, and savory aspects. Its a clean and easy drinking wine, with lots of depth. I'd have to say this is one of the best new values in the store.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-02-2018
You may know that this is one of K&L's best-priced Champagnes, but more than that, it is one of the best wines at this price from any section in the store. Although I love the other wines from Baron-Fuente, I find myself coming back again and again to their Grande Reserve. It's classic Champagne: using all three varietals to achieve a perfect balance of crisp, clean minerality, toasted brioche notes, and creamy orchard fruit. This is precisely what I'm looking for when I want Champagne, and at this price, it's easy to drink Champagne regularly!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 01-27-2018
This wine is a great example of the incredible value that can be found in Southern France, if you know where to look. Thanks to Keith for finding this great little winery! Lovely red plum and berry fruit open on the palate, with just the right touch of black pepper to complement the silky tannins. The wine is very clean and polished, but still full of a sense of terroir. I would easily recommend this as a new house red for anyone in the market.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Danjean-Berthoux Bourgogne Rouge "Chaume Ronde"
Review Date: 01-27-2018
Well, folks, we've found it! A phenomenal value for 2015 Bourgogne Rouge, well under 20! This wine has all the lovely round fruit and palate weight that we are finding in many wines from this vintage, but it doesn't sacrifice structure. Don't be deceived by the price point here. This little wine could easily age gracefully for 5 to 10 years. That's the beauty of Burgundy in a great vintage like this. You can find phenomenal wine with structure and depth from a lesser known area that is built to age.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Prestige" Cahors
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Don't think of this Malbec in quite the same way that you're accustomed to thinking of the grape. This is French Malbec at its best--with restraint and structure, capable of aging, and an excellent complement to steak. While it still has the enchanting black fruit and spice characteristics that we love in this varietal, it is neither jammy nor sweet-fruited, but well-balanced, with an excellent structure. If you're a Bordeaux fan, or love Bordeaux-style wines, this is absolutely one you should try.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2011 Los Autores "El Brujo" Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2016 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Blanc (Corsica) ($13.99)

2016 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc ($8.99)

2016 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage ($15.99)

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($24.99)

2013 John Duval "Plexus" SGM Barossa Valley South Australia ($29.99)

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($29.99)

2012 Haras de Pirque "Hussonet" Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva Maipo Valley ($9.99)

2011 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2009 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja ($39.99)

2015 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($34.99)

2009 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien ($39.99)

2012 du Glana, St-Julien ($24.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)

2016 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Vignes du Chateau" ($21.99)

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino ($29.99)

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana ($39.99)