Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-05-2017
Probably one of our best values in Chardonnay, vintage after vintage! While this Chardonnay does not lean toward the large, oak-laden variety, it does still exhibit some richness and texture to complement the orchard fruit on the palate. Overall, it is a cleaner, crisper style of wine, with beautiful creamy white pear and honeycrisp apple notes.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 12-05-2017
This is an excellent value in Pinot Noir. Marlborough is a world-class area for Pinot, but surprisingly, you can still find stunning values here as well. This wine is bright, medium bodied, full of lovely, clean, red berry fruit with just a hint of clove spice. The tannins are very fine and the acidity, while quite crisp, is well-integrated to the whole.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Comartin Cellars Zabala Vineyard "Stone Row" Arroyo Seco Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 12-02-2017
Snappy and focused, this single vineyard Sauvignon Blanc from Comartin is a new favorite for me. The wine is neither too light nor too vegetal, yet maintains a crisp, citrus-dominated acidity that keeps it fresh and vibrant. On the mid palate it shows lovely round exotic fruit and honeydew melon notes. Very well-made and sure to appeal to a variety of palates!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2000 Sarget de Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 11-25-2017
I may be partial to wines from St-Julien, but this particular bottle certainly outshines its price point by a long shot. It's drinking beautifully at present, but still shows plenty of structure to continue aging. On the palate, the wine shows plenty of bright, red fruit, elegant cigar box spice, and just the right amount of savory development. If you are in the market for a nicely aged Bordeaux that drinks beautifully, I wouldn't hesitate to try this wine.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Domaine des Chezeaux (Ponsot) Griotte-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 11-25-2017
The Domaine de Chezeaux wines are one of the best values in Burgundy. Considering that they also produce the Ponsot wines, you can hardly go wrong with any of their selections. I was most impressed with their 2015 Griotte Chambertin. The wine, of course, is built to age with a ponderous structure, but the fruit and spice elements are also in perfect balance. Even at this young stage, the wine is elegant, with refined wild cherry, clove, and a savory element that I can only attribute to the soil of the vineyard. All in all, a wine well worth investing in.
Price: $229.00 Add To Cart
BH 92 - 95
Limit of 6 per customer

2015 Domaine Gros Frère & Soeur Echézeaux Grand Cru
Review Date: 11-25-2017
If you're serious about aging something from the incredible 2015 vintage in Burgundy, you can hardly go wrong with this wine. I tasted through a number of Grand Cru offerings from this vintage, and was highly impressed with Domaine Gros Frere Soeur's Echezeaux. The wine is fuller bodied, as you would expect from the vintage, with black fruit notes as well as the classic red fruit. The nose is already highly complex and perfumed, with spice, fruit, floral, and earth elements. On the palate, the wine is tightly structured with full fruit and a lengthy finish. All of the elements for aging are here in spades.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart
BH 90 - 92

2015 Powell & Son G-S-M Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 11-25-2017
If you are looking for a powerful wine that is not too dense or fleshy, this is a great buy. Of course the wine is big, coming from the Barossa, but at the same time it is very well balanced, showing plenty of red fruit (particularly plum) and a pleasant structure that is neither too abrasive nor too flimsy. Very well-made. It could certainly age, though I personally love how it is showing now.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This is an absolutely lovely Sauvignon Blanc which shows round fruit, pretty, apricot blossom aromas, and doesn't fall too far into the peppery, green category of New Zealand Sauvignon Blancs. Rather, its refreshing, pleasant and crisp. A great buy at this price!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2015 Bryan MacRobert "Steen" Hillside Vineyard Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 11-25-2017
Another great bottle from this very talented winemaker! If you're looking for a white that appeals to a variety of palates, but avoids the common choices of Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc is a great choice. This example from Bryan MacRobert has everything a good Chenin should--crisp, clean cut acidity, with good weight and a lovely, honeyed, floral nose.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 11-25-2017
If you're looking for a great little rosso for everyday drinking, this is an excellent choice! I love the value and complexity of this wine. It hits all the classic Sangiovese notes--cherry, sandalwood, earth and perfect structure--while being totally open and ready to drink. This is the wine you want to drink on your weeknight, or with a good crew of friends while you're waiting on your Brunelli to age.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-25-2017
In general, I don't drink a lot of rose champagnes, but this is one major exception. When we tasted this wine with the staff, I knew there was a big difference here, and hearing more about the wine-making process from Gary, I quickly saw why I was falling in love with this bottle. This is a drier expression of rose champagne, with plenty of rich, red fruit, and lots of texture, weight, and nuttiness from aging on the cork. Its really an ideal food wine, and I can easily see pairing this with main dishes, whether that's poultry, pork, mushroom-based veggie dishes, or anything you might pair a good Pinot with.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pierre Gelin Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 11-25-2017
I am so excited that we finally have a Bourgogne Rouge from one of my favorite producers, and in such a great vintage! This is a great buy. Not only does this wine offer the finesse and polish that is the Gelin signature, but it also displays plenty of fullness and body, a tribute to the warmer vintage. This would be a great bottle to drink over the next few years as you wait for your premier cru and grand cru bottles to age. It has an excellent earthy, forest-floor quality as well, that would make it a great candidate for pairing with pheasant or other game birds.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Philippe Foreau "Domaine du Clos Naudin" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This wine is exactly why I love Vouvray. All the richness and texture of the Chenin Blanc shows beautifully in the wine, but restrained and shaped by clean wine-making, and a cool climate. The wine is both elegant and powerful, with great acidity and texture, full, honeyed melon fruit, and clean, floral aromas. Delightful now, it will undoubtedly age beautifully as well.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-16-2017
La Massa is a K&L "staple". Year after year we've found this wine to be extremely versatile, friendly, and appealing to many palates. With all the earthy/savory elements of Sangiovese and the power and richness of Cabernet and Merlot, this super tuscan has much to offer. The 2014 is no different, and at this price, you really can't go wrong. Although the wine has all the right components now, I would recommend holding onto it for another year or so to reach its peak drinking window.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Stargazer Riesling Coal River Tasmania
Review Date: 10-06-2017
Open, spice-laden aromas give way to a lovely medium body with great acidity and freshness. The wine is perfectly balanced, with a hint of sweet stone fruit, complementing the exotic and mineral elements. I'd love to try this with a nice curry dish or perhaps some Stilton and dried fruit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JH 97 BC 96

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I am a big fan of Four Pillars, so of course I was excited to see this gin coming in, but what I encountered in this bottle both surprised and delighted me. Rather than jumping out of the bottle at you aromatically, this gin is a bit more subtle, highlighting sweet citrus and spruce notes and developing complexity as you let it sit on your palate. You may not think of gin in terms of sipping, but this would definitely work well for sipping with the complexity and smoothness it exhibits.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Truly a remarkable deal in Crozes-Hermitage! This wine is not only priced irresistibly, but drinks remarkably well even at this young age. Elegance and richness play well together here, presenting a wine that is full of open, soft, black fruit, but retains some cut and minerality that keeps the wine from being flabby or over-ripe. Domaine des Remizieres continues to impress at every level, and will no doubt reward some cellar time, if you can manage to hold on to a few bottles.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2009 Chateau Bouscassé "Argile Rouge" Madiran
Review Date: 04-25-2017
For those of you who love bold, full-bodied, dark-fruited wines at a great price point, this is one not to miss! This Madiran from a stellar vintage is perfectly aged, with soft, black plum fruit, well-integrated tannin, and lovely savory, earthy notes on the finish. Madiran may have a reputation for being aggressive and overly tannic, but here is a perfect example of why that stereotype is outmoded. Here is a lovely, silky, smooth and perfectly developed bottle whose tannin is quite well placed, and merely adds to the overall power of the wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 90

2016 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Year after year one of my absolute favorite Rose wines comes from Corsica. The Ile de Beaute Rose is light, elegant and dry, yet has a soft, creamy texture that is hard not to love. The 2016 vintage may be the best year yet for this wine! Composed of 100% Sciaccarellu, this wine has a character all its own. Yes, it is still light, crisp and dry like a classic Provence rose, but there is a bit rounder fruit here, with a softer palate that masks the acidity a bit better than a Provencal wine might.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This is a truly lovely bottle of wine, whether you are accustomed to Bourgueil, or just looking for a new value red wine. The Cabernet Franc in this wine is neither harsh nor green, but rather displays soft and succulent black berry fruit with a medium body and just a hint of black pepper spice. The wine is extremely well-balanced and quite accessible right off the bat. We owe a lot here to the character and quality of the vintage, but the elegance of the wine making also contributes to the overall harmony of the wine. Try one and see why we are all so excited about this offering!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 04-15-2017
This year's rosé is rather different from last year's, but just as delicious! While the 2015 rosé boasted lighter, classic Provencal style, the 2016 is much darker in hue, made in saignee style from the Rawiri vineyard. The wine shows lovely blackberry and raspberry notes, with some heft and weight. It's still quite dry, but with a peppery spice and richer fruit component that makes this an ideal food wine. Try this with lighter poultry dishes, veggie dishes, and salmon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 04-14-2017
Framingham's "Select" Riesling is possibly the best wine in their production. I love this wine--it's a perfect balance and expression of Riesling that is neither too austerely acidic nor too cloyingly sweet. It is made in a "Spatlese" style, with slightly later harvest, and some residual sugars, yet it is still very crisp and fresh, with no botrytis influence. Rather, you have the pure fruit flavors of apricot, candied tangerine peel, and ripe honeydew in the forefront, with clean, stony mineral notes and fresh grapefruit acidity in the backdrop. Perfectly composed, and well-structured for the long-haul in terms of aging.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 97

2015 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-13-2017
This is one of my favorite $20 reds in the store! I would be happy to find a Bordeaux style blend of this caliber for under $30, but at this price I'm thrilled. Stylistically, this wine sits at a juncture between a polished, modern fruit-forward expression, and an iconic, structured, traditional take. The wine can appeal to both California Cab lovers, and Bordeaux enthusiasts. However, there's a twist! Elephant Hill also incorporates a small amount of Syrah, which adds just the right amount of black pepper spice to make this an all-around stellar selection for almost any occasion.

2014 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 04-13-2017
I am typically not one to be attracted to bigger, full-bodied wines such as Shiraz from the Barossa, but on occasion I run across one which changes my perspective. Duval's Entity Shiraz is just such a wine. With lengthy experience both at Penfolds and on his own, Duval is a winemaker who truly understands the Barossa, with its particular strengths and shortcomings. His wines are neither too over-blown, nor too restrained, rather they showcase the power and richness of the region in a perfectly balanced way. The Entity Shiraz is dark-fruited, full-bodied and soft, with excellent structure and good spice, but also clean and poised, without being over-ripe or flabby.

2014 Elephant Hill Hawke's Bay Syrah
Review Date: 04-11-2017
The Elephant Hill wines from Hawke's Bay have long been a staff favorite, but I think in this 2014 Syrah, the winery has reached new heights of greatness. This is honest, clean and classic in style, but with nice depth and intensity. Stylistically, this reminds me of some of the better northern Rhone wines, with strong black pepper spice, medium body and elegant red berry fruit. Yet there is a generosity and openness here that makes the wine eminently drinkable and delicious without having to stash in the cellar for years. Easily one of our best Syrah values in the store!

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-11-2017
Every year I review the new TWR Pinot Noir and attempt to put into words why this wine stuns with every vintage. Perhaps its because this lovely Pinot Noir sits at the juncture of several styles, incorporating boisterous fruit, elegant tannin and acidity, clean purity, and savory spice notes into one wine. Or perhaps it is the fact that this wine drinks beautifully now, yet has the potential to age nobly, or that it drinks perfectly on its own, yet pairs with a variety of foods. In any case, we have another great vintage in stock, and I'd highly recommend picking up a case or two.

2013 Pied á Terre Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-07-2017
It's always a struggle to find a well-balanced California Cabernet that is neither too lush and jammy with surprisingly high alcohol, nor too strict and structured, with a lack of California character, but that will still cost you less than $30. Well, here we have a solution! I tasted the Pied a Terre Cabernet from Sonoma the other day with some of my colleagues, and was immediately impressed with the flawless balance and fantastic depth of the wine, particularly given the price point. I have had beautifully structured, silky Cabernets of this caliber before from California, but the price tag usually contained at least 3 figures. This is a definite steal, and will be a go-to Cabernet for me in the future.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ridge Vineyards "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Merlot
Review Date: 04-07-2017
I believe the Ridge Merlot is one of the most understated and possibly under-appreciated wines in the winery's Estate lineup. Wine-drinkers unfortunately often have a stigma against Merlot, especially from California, but it is truly a noble grape with so much potential. This wine reminds me of some of the best Right Bank Bordeaux I've tasted, though with elements entirely its own. The wine is dark, luscious and silky, with velvety tannins and elegant, perfumed aromas. However, it certainly does not lack for structure, and, like its French counterparts, will absolutely benefit from some time in the cellar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JD 91

2014 Montes "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 04-06-2017
This is an honest and delicious little Cabernet from the Colchagua Valley. Full, rich, dark fruit plays well against that classic peppery spice so often found in Chilean wines. This wine is easy-drinking and fun, with polished fruit and excellent balance, but doesn't lose its earthy, Chilean charm. Great buy for the price!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Ridge Vineyards "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-06-2017
It seems like only the other day we were all crooning over the 2013 releases from Ridge, yet here is another pristine Cabernet from the "Estate" line. 2014 keeps up the same excellent quality and depth that we have all come to expect from the Estate Cabernets, showing lovely resin, rosemary, and green olive aromas, with excellent, full-bodied dark fruit, lithe tannins, and well-placed acidity that highlights rather than overshadows the fruit. I highly encourage all of you to pick up a bottle or two or six! Always under-rated next to the more famous "Montebello", the Estate Cabernet is quite exquisite, and one not to be missed!

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-06-2017
It's Geyserville's 50th anniversary, and the wine is everything you love about Geyserville. Always one of my favorite Zinfandel bottlings from Ridge, Geyserville is full, rich and luscious, without being flabby or sweet. The 2015 is already fairly open and expressive, with boisterous black fruit and subtle pepper spice. I can't wait to see where this vintage goes with a little time, though. There is plenty of structure and elegance here that will certainly make for great aging.

2015 Don Rodolfo Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 04-06-2017
We all know Malbec can be a great wine for the price, and here is yet another example! The aromas are exuberant and full of fresh, sweet blueberry and blackberry fruit. On the palate, the wine shows some evidence of sweet oak influence, well-integrated with dark berry fruit and just a hint of fresh ground black pepper. This would be a perfect week-day wine! Perhaps a new Tuesday night staple?
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 90

2016 Ostatu Rosado Rioja
Review Date: 03-30-2017
One of my favorite rose wines has returned, in a strong new vintage! This lovely little rosado is lighter in style, with crisp acidity and a nice dry finish. It is based primarily on Garnacha, so it has lovely floral aromatics and delicate red berry notes. Easy to drink on its own, this would also work well with lighter vegetable dishes or appetizers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2005 Bodegas Ontañon Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-24-2017
A lovely Reserva wine, aged beautifully, and from a great vintage: what more could you want? Bodegas Ontanon's 2005 Reserva is drinking beautifully right now. The very soft, fine tannins are completely integrated, and a persistent note of aged leather and wild mushroom complements the rich black cherry aromatics. On the palate the wine has continued weight, with a game-y umami note coming into play and soft, sweet spice drawing out the long finish.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2012 Castillo de Viñas Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-24-2017
Another immediate favorite from our newest Direct Import (DI), Castillo de Vinas! This Reserva is just beginning to demonstrate some of the more savory secondary elements that come with a few years in the bottle. Nevertheless it still exhibits quite a bit of fresh, full-bodied, dark berry fruit. The whole is tied together with classic Rioja "red earth" and spice notes, resulting in a very drinkable and delicious medium-bodied wine with excellent balance and length.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Gut Hermannsberg Riesling Trocken Nahe (Dry)
Review Date: 03-24-2017
Fantastic value in dry Riesling! Gut Hermannsberg has always been a favorite producer for me, but this 2015 truly outshines my already rather high expectations. The nose is floral and exuberant, with notes of apple blossom, peach flower, and lime zest. On the palate the wine shows surprisingly soft white pear fruit with a long-lasting mineral backbone and refreshing acidity. Definitely one of my top picks for a dryer style Riesling under $20.00!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quartz Reef "Bendigo Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-23-2017
Quartz Reef's Bendigo vineyard Pinot Noir is an excellent example of the power and expression of Central Otago. In this south island region, Pinot Noir does particularly well, creating wines that are both full-fruited and bright, with great savory notes and elegant spice. This wine opens with exuberant, round blackberry fruit with plenty of structure and a medium palate weight. On the finish the wine has a long, savory note with wild mushroom and hints of exotic spice coming into play.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 JS 94

2013 Schneider Sankt Laurent Thermenregion
Review Date: 03-23-2017
Looking for a fun new red wine to try? If you are a fan of medium bodied reds with some spice and good aromatics, I highly recommend a bottle of this Sankt Laurent. Beautiful dark plum and cassis fruit with a background of wet stone play on the palate, and an elegant, exotic spice note comes in at the finish. The wine is surprisingly floral and aromatic, while presenting a nice medium palate weight with soft dark fruit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Odinstal "Basalt" Weissburgunder Mittelhaardt Pfalz (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-23-2017
If you tend to think of Pinot Blanc as blousy, soft, and boring, this bottle may well change your mind. This is an intensely aromatic wine, with Riesling-like petrol notes, and very stony, focused floral hints. On the palate the wine shows some soft melon fruit, but is completely dry, with a a very strong mineral drive, and just a little bit of texture from the year spent on its lees. Overall a much more exciting and poised version of the varietal!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Boxler Pinot Blanc Réserve Alsace
Review Date: 03-23-2017
Pinot Blanc is always an underrated varietal in my opinion, and in the hands of a great producer like Albert Boxler, the resultant wine is outstanding. All of the fruit for this wine hails from the "Grand Cru" vineyard Brand, though unfortunately Pinot Blanc does not qualify for Grand Cru status, hence it is not labelled as such. The wine is subtle, but complex, with almond and honeydew aromas giving way to a palate full of depth and texture, and yet balanced with crisp acidity and lift on the finish. This is easily one of my favorite expressions of the varietal!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Rippon "Rippon" Mature Vine Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 03-21-2017
What an outstanding price for one of the top producers in Central Otago Pinot Noir! We have long been proponents of the serious, incredibly well-made wines of Rippon. Nick Mills, the winemaker has both an phenomenal palate, and a fantastic background of wine making on which to draw. In the 2012 vintage we see a classic Rippon Pinot Noir, well-balanced with medium body, displaying strawberry and blackberry notes intermixed with savory, brambly elements, and plenty of structure to age for the long haul. Both elegant and serious, with a wealth of layered flavors, it is easy to see the quality here.

2014 Castillo de Viñas Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 03-21-2017
This is a phenomenal deal in Crianza from a new producer in our portfolio! Clean, polished, and modern in style, this Crianza bottling has all the elements required in a favorite weekday red! The fruit is round, accessible and pleasant without being jammy or flabby. Likewise, the structure is just soft enough to allow for near-term drinking, without compromising any integrity or balance. Overall, a great deal, and a new K&L favorite!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-21-2017
Consistently one of my favorite wines in our Spanish selection! This small winery in Laguardia is one of the gems that buyer Joe Manekin brings in directly from Rioja Alaveza. Thankfully for us, they have deep cellars, with plenty of older vintages like this 2005 to charm drinkers! 2005 was one of the greatest Rioja vintages in recent history, and this little Reserva wears its bottle age beautifully. The wine is full bodied with dark fruits and softened tannins, the aromas are of leather, exotic spice, and blackberry. On the palate the wine has great length, and still shows fresh vibrant fruit, with just the right amount of softening and mellowing influence from its time in the cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Terroir al Limit "Torroja" Priorat
Review Date: 03-17-2017
The "Torroja" bottling is considered the flagship wine, sourced from a couple of vineyard sites in the village of Torroja. Made from 50% Garnacha and 50% Cariñena, the wine is whole-cluster pressed, and fermented in concrete and large format, neutral oak. The resultant wine is well-structured, with clean black currant and plum on the palate, highlighted by a savory mushroom note.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Garage Wine Company Pais
Review Date: 03-16-2017
This is a great expression of the Mission or Pais grape! Perhaps one of the more difficult varietals to make well, this grape has a large presence in Chile, and in its best form can be both a powerful and intriguing wine. This bottle shows smoky, meaty aromas, with bright boysenberry fruit. On the palate, the wine is medium bodied, with exuberant young berry fruit, fine-boned tannin, and bright, tangy acidity. Overall a fresher, lighter style of Pais, but with the dark-fruited smokey intensity that marks this varietal's unique expression.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Garage Wine Company Cabernet Sauvignon "Lot #61" Maipo Alto
Review Date: 03-16-2017
Hesitant to buy a wine from a smaller wine company in the Maipo at this price? Don't be! This is a gorgeous wine with something of the finesse of Bordeaux and the power of Napa combined into a balanced expression all its own. Garage Wine Co. works with small lots of fruit, sourced from the best vineyards throughout Chile, in this case one of the very best high-elevation Cabernet vineyards. Their wine-making philosophy is almost non-interventionist, with a focus on pure translation of fruit into wine. The Lot 61 Cabernet shows very bold, dark fruit, with plenty of structure and notes of green olive, eucalyptus, and cassis. The wine is neither overly pepper-y nor rough, but rather shows a seamless, smooth whole.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-08-2017
Another fantastic vintage of Talley/K&L Chardonnay! Perhaps a little leaner than the last vintage, with very focussed and fresh acidity, the wine still has that creamy, soft fruit that marks the refined Talley style. The blend this year includes one barrel aged in new French oak, to add a nice element of spice and toast, but as a whole the wine remains clean an light in feel.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JD 90

2015 Domaine Frédéric Esmonin Mazy-Chambertin Grand Cru
Review Date: 03-02-2017
What a phenomenal value! With this strong of a vintage, Esmonin's Mazy-Chambertin is likely one of the best Grand Crus we have in stock. The expressive and aromatic signature style of Esmonin combines with classic Mazy weight and gravity to form a full-bodied, soft, and open Burgundy with great complexity and length. I would highly recommend this wine for any Burgundy lovers looking for Grand Cru values.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 BH 92

2015 Domaine Tortochot "Cuvee Fine Selection" Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 02-28-2017
The 2015 Red Burgundies are just beginning to appear, and are far outstripping our expectations. Domaine Tortochot has been a perennial favorite for me, and the 2015 is superb. Although it is still rather taught and structured at the moment, it has all of the qualities one looks for in a good Burgundy. Elegant, poised fruit with plenty of body, fine tannin, crisp acidity, and, with signature Tortochot finesse, very open and expressive aromatics. This wine should begin to integrate in the next 6 months, but will live and drink far longer than a decade.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 02-23-2017
Another fantastic wine from our friends at Montfaucon! This lovely Cote du Rhone Blanc is composed mostly of very old-vine Clairette, which lends a lovely texture and strength to the wine. On the whole, though, this wine is light, playful and full of elegant fruit and floral notes. This would be a great wine to sip on its own, or in combination with lighter appetizers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next