Staff Favorites - Dave Genevro

Dave Genevro

Reviews

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 12-19-2016
A fantastically rich, energetic, complex, and bright CA classic through and through. Our close friends over at Banshee Wines have given us another huge value driven Zinfandel to enjoy all year. Fresh strawberry and mountain berry flavors, amazing concentration with a nice cocoa/nutmeg note and texture. The balance, generosity, and great floral scented nose make this my new go-to Zinfandel.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2013 Brassfield "Eruption - Volcano Ridge Vineyard" High Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 10-12-2016
Dark purple hued, this Malbec dominant red blend has that depth, darkness and concentration that I love about so many wines from Lake County I have had the privilege of enjoying in recent months. The high elevation vineyard is great for this wine. Richness and length for days, with plenty of punch, baking spices...this fun and intriguing blend is an awesome new wine to try for those Prisoner or Machete red blend fans out there....and is much less in price. Tons of interesting layers and textures to discover at less than $20 of risk to you. A whole lot of wine for the money!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Forman "Château la Grande Roche" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-04-2016
This is one of my favorite "second label wines" we currently offer. The concentration, balance, and approachable style the wine gives while still getting your Cab fix on while drinking it...with its depth, textures and life, it carries across the palate. Very serious stuff, for the money, to enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Bodegas Yuste "Aurora" Amontillado Sanlucar de Barrameda 500ml
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Amazing, layered, and just plain ol' delicious! This sherry is a show-stopper. It is almost entirely dry, except for a hint of sweetness at the finish. In my opinion, the bit of sugar helps to give the wine life, balance and a smooth seductiveness...this is almost too easy to drink, so be careful. The racy acids and soft delicate flesh of the grapes used to make the wine show at the starting gate across the palate. This gives it a more than gracious length and lingering finish of beautiful almond skin and roasted pecans (this flavor will go on for minutes and minutes after taking a sip!). It is always a great time when I get to enjoy this amazing sherry with family and friends...the way it should be drunk. Happy drinkin'!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Isle of Jura 10 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2016
Elegant and delicate smoke is at the backdrop of the curtain of gorgeous sherry. The smoothness and ease with which I enjoy this malt says it all to me. I drink a lot of Laphroaig, but this is my go to when I want my smoke and sherry fix simultaneously. Enjoy this scotch neat, next to a fire and loved ones is ideal...you just feel more baller.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-12-2015
This is a unique and lively wine from a village in Champagne with a very rich history, Ay. This cuvee is composed of 80% Pinot Noir and 20% Chardonnay. The Pinot Noir gives this wine a vivacious and expressive nose, with great semi-constant bubbles that makes for a quite elegant texture. With a hint of slate, our buyer, Gary Westby, puts it best in his review by saying, "It has a good finish with a line of chalky minerality that is uncommon in Pinot Noir-based Champagnes, but the signature of Ay grand cru." This is a gem that over performs for it's quality to price ratio. Enjoy this wine while it is here. The more that is left at the store, the more there is for me!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This was surprisingly good Chardonnay from our friends at Maldonado Vineyards. Great richness, lively and energetic. With great richness and follow through, this would be a close match to Rombauer or a Frank Family-styled CA Chardonnays. This is a very well-made wine for the price point. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2015
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-12-2015
This is a delicious American Single Malt! Round, rich and great balance and length...don't miss this great craft whiskey that you'll only find here! Salute!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Schramsberg "Mirabelle" California Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 06-28-2015
A beautifully lively, expressive brut rose. This is a combination of cool climate Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, with 18 months of bottle aging to give it more depth and richness. This would pair well with a huge variety of foods. Fresh strawberries and raspberries on the nose and palate, a great long and elegant finish makes this wine the perfect celebratory bottle...for whatever you're celebrating!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90