Staff Favorites - Dave Genevro

Dave Genevro

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-04-2017
A nose of baked green apples with brown sugar, and toasted oak. The palate has generous fruit, and very level acids. Flavors jump onto the palate with green apples, oak, and a quite seductive mouth feel to finish things up. The quality for the price is what to look for in this daily domestic Chardonnay to enjoy.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Elephant Hill Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 01-03-2017
A true gem of a producer in NZ. The wines are food friendly, pure, bright, very complex and fresh. This Pinot is filled with red berry scents and flavors, a slight spice component, and delicate floral notes to it. The structure and body is balanced and medium in nature, with a melted and well integrated mouth feel along the palate. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RC 92 - 93

2013 Raidis Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 12-28-2016
Besides the Margaret River region, Coonawarra cabs might be my close second in quality and complexity. Great blue and purple fruit, some nice earth and tobacco leaves. If you love enjoying Cabernet Sauvignon, and have never tried some from this under rated region, then give one a try - I doubt you'll regret it!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 12-19-2016
A fantastically rich, energetic, complex, and bright CA classic through and through. Our close friends over at Banshee Wines have given us another huge value driven Zinfandel to enjoy all year. Fresh strawberry and mountain berry flavors, amazing concentration with a nice cocoa/nutmeg note and texture. The balance, generosity, and great floral scented nose make this my new go-to Zinfandel.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Josef Chromy Pinot Noir Tasmania
Review Date: 12-17-2016
This is simply delicious, well-made Pinot from Tasmania. It is rich and balanced while being light-weight and not too dark fruited or over-extracted. A great wine, from a producer with rich history, at a great price. Enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2014 Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 11-26-2016
I loved tasting this great Central Otago gem when our buyer was able to bring this wine over for us to enjoy. The wine is pretty, focused, rich, and elegant. For the minimal intervention techniques that this wine making team employs, it is surprising the amount of precision and generosity the fruit gives the palate. This is a great bottle, at an even greater price for the Pinot Noir lovers out there to enjoy.

2014 Kaiken "Ultra" Cabernet Sauvignon Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 11-17-2016
Fruit forward, great condensed flavors of raspberry and some tobacco leaf on the finish. The crescendo was the slight amount of grip on the back end...which gave the wine more character, texture and length for a wine at this price point. Ultra bargain for sure. Enjoy!
Top Value!

Sean Thackrey "Pleiades XXIV Old Vines" California Red Blend
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Plums and baking spices filled the nose of this wine. Black cherry fruit, a medium bodied mouth feel and a generous, alomost juicy structure rpounds out on the palate. One for crowd pleasing and entertaining purposes, or every day enjoyment for CA red blend fans. A blend loved by many of our guests, every year it is released. 14.5% ABV.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-10-2016
Delicious! Ready to drink now, with some nice decanting or air. great lively nose, with some dusty berry characters. Nice and elegant structure, ripeness. A lovely balance of textures, acidity and fruit. One of my favorite collaboration bottles we have in the store right now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-03-2016
I love this wine every year we bring it in from Italy. Crisp, fresh, vibrant. Great textures and completely dry on the finish. The perfect sparkling wine for events, family dinners or just everyday enjoyment. 12% ABV.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Radley & Finch Cabernet Sauvignon Western Cape
Review Date: 10-20-2016
This is a great bargain driven Australian Cab to enjoy for everyday drinking. The structure is melted and juicy. With generous fruit, balance, and silky smooth textures - what is not to love?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Calera Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-12-2016
Dark purple fruit, balance, generosity, easy drinking goodness - what else does one need?...bada bing!

2013 Brassfield "Eruption - Volcano Ridge Vineyard" High Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 10-12-2016
Dark purple hued, this Malbec dominant red blend has that depth, darkness and concentration that I love about so many wines from Lake County I have had the privilege of enjoying in recent months. The high elevation vineyard is great for this wine. Richness and length for days, with plenty of punch, baking spices...this fun and intriguing blend is an awesome new wine to try for those Prisoner or Machete red blend fans out there....and is much less in price. Tons of interesting layers and textures to discover at less than $20 of risk to you. A whole lot of wine for the money!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-12-2016
All estate fruit from our friends at Chehalem. Bright and fresh cherry fruit, elegant grip and finessed textures and that classic "pinot dusted" nose, that I could just smell all day. This is an easy to enjoy wine, at an even easier to enjoy price point!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Concannon Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-12-2016
A dusty nose, with some dirt and fresh red and black berries. A plumpness, great generous fruit, level acids, and some cedar plank finish out on the palate. This is a real bargain of a wine at this price.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Marietta "Armé-Lot #3" Sonoma-Mendocino Counties Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 10-12-2016
This is a gorgeous BDX style blend from the Brothers at Marietta/Limerick Lane. Density, richness with a well integrated and melty, quite generous finish. This is an approachable, ready to go daily BDX blend for you to enjoy with friends and family. This wine was the one we all kept pouring more of out on the vineyard with the winemakers, and it went beautifully with the delicious wild boar sausage they had prepared for us. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Walter Hansel "Cuvee Alyce" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Oak and fresh red mountain berries fill the nose. The palate is quite balanced, with plum and cherries and a long, gracious length. The textures and overall structure this wine offers also makes this wine particularly interesting and intriguing.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 93

2014 Forman "Château la Grande Roche" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-04-2016
This is one of my favorite "second label wines" we currently offer. The concentration, balance, and approachable style the wine gives while still getting your Cab fix on while drinking it...with its depth, textures and life, it carries across the palate. Very serious stuff, for the money, to enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Bodegas Yuste "Aurora" Amontillado Sanlucar de Barrameda 500ml
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Amazing, layered, and just plain ol' delicious! This sherry is a show-stopper. It is almost entirely dry, except for a hint of sweetness at the finish. In my opinion, the bit of sugar helps to give the wine life, balance and a smooth seductiveness...this is almost too easy to drink, so be careful. The racy acids and soft delicate flesh of the grapes used to make the wine show at the starting gate across the palate. This gives it a more than gracious length and lingering finish of beautiful almond skin and roasted pecans (this flavor will go on for minutes and minutes after taking a sip!). It is always a great time when I get to enjoy this amazing sherry with family and friends...the way it should be drunk. Happy drinkin'!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
Review Date: 08-31-2016
This is delicious, easy to enjoy Washington Syrah at its best, at an even better price. The fruit is generous, with plump generosity on the mid-palate, with a lovely and silky-smooth spice backbone to round out the wine and give it texture and life. This deep purple Syrah from our dear friends at K Vintners is a knock-out of the park. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2013 Quintessa Rutherford Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 08-04-2016
Structure, grip, texture, gorgeous concentration and extraction to the lush and generous fruit. This wine can be approached now, or will go and go for years to come for the patient.
Price: $174.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 RP 96

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
This wine I believe to be approachable to many now or in the future. This has plenty of generous fruit, with balance and a good solid length on the palate. Deep purple hue, with concentrated blackberry jam flavors, and some well melted tannin structure to shake things up on the tongue a bit. A great deal for the Napa Cabernet drinkers among us. Get one to try while they're here.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Kalinda "Reserve" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-28-2016
This might just be my favorite Kalinda label Chardonnay to date. The oak is very balanced and integrated, which adds great character to the wine. The fruit has a real lovely fleshy character, purity and good weight while the long, but not over-done richness sails along the palate. Also, the acids are quite focused and lively. I would love to see this wine again in two years time to see how it has evolved. A great job by whoever made this Chardonnay bottling for us all to enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-27-2016
So delicious! Red fruits, vibrant nose, balanced, layered, with some great rustic/forest notes. These Pinot Noirs always seem to display great varietal characters, purity and focus. This single vineyard bottling from legendary David Bicknell in the Yarra Valley, is as good as it gets at this price...enjoy, I sure will!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 07-16-2016
This has got "easy drinking", written all over it...The fruit is generous and full bodied, with just enough structure to not let me forget I am drinking a Cabernet. More than a fair amount of wine in the bottle for the $9.00 price tag. This is the perfect weeknight red from South Australia, ready to be enjoyed whenever you are!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Isle of Jura 10 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2016
Elegant and delicate smoke is at the backdrop of the curtain of gorgeous sherry. The smoothness and ease with which I enjoy this malt says it all to me. I drink a lot of Laphroaig, but this is my go to when I want my smoke and sherry fix simultaneously. Enjoy this scotch neat, next to a fire and loved ones is ideal...you just feel more baller.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felton Road Riesling Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Sweet granny smith apples, great acid structure, off-dry to perfection. 'Nough said... Try this with anything light and spicy, you will not regret it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
BC 95 JS 93

2015 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Wowser! I was really impressed with this wine. Great acidity, with fluidity all the way down the palate, with that great chalkiness that gives it so much life and personality. A colleague had us try this same bottle after two days being open, and it was magical! The chalk and terroir was toned down a bit, with excellent salinity and plenty of life left. It was perfectly balanced. An impressive amount of Sancerre for the money.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 05-18-2016
My favorite Pinot time after time. The vintage is so much different than last year (2013 vintage). This is darker, more brooding and meaty almost. This drinks more like a burgundy than the 2013, that reminded me more of something out of Oregon. Herbs and some savory notes play well with the dark red and blue fruits. This is a whole lot of wine for this price tag. While still young, this is great right out of the gate, or will definitely benefit from more patience. Cheers!

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-18-2016
This juicier, generous, bargain driven Cabernet out of Washington State is always such a great deal! The wine has some light front end pull and presence, with raspberries doused in spices like cinnamon and cloves to finish it out on the palate. Enjoy, this always goes really quickly.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

2013 Lynmar Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-13-2016
Key lime pie and blossoms on the nose. The perfect use of new oak gives the wine great richness and texture...gives that classic vanilla note to it. The fruit is still pure and unblemished. With green apples, pears and citrus on the palate which plays nicely with the long, generous and plentiful finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2012 Terra Sancta "Estate" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 05-03-2016
Plush, herbs, with ripe red fruits. Great structure with life and lift.

2014 Banshee Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-30-2016
I really enjoy the stylistic approach these guys take with this wine. Adapting and overcoming to make a style all their own. This I believe is the third vintage for their Chardonnays, and it is only getting better! It is creamy with gorgeous, generous richness from the fruit and oak influence. The citrus and stone/mineral notes give it the perfect added texture and brightness.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-15-2016
This vintage bottling is 100% Chardonnay, full of an expressive nose of raisins and apple blossoms. The chalky texture and mineral-driven body are what I really enjoy about this great wine from a small producer. Enjoy — I am sure you will!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Gualtallary
Review Date: 04-13-2016
I really enjoyed tasting this new Malbec that Joe brought in for all of us to enjoy! This bottle has the power and punchy fruit, but with a backbone and meatiness that fills the palate with tons of texture...a graceful kind. This is not an overly oaky or chewy wine. The power, finish, fruit and tannin structure are all in tuned with one another. Enjoy! 14.5% ABV
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Saini Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-06-2016
Simply delicious. Bright, great fruit, snappy but not imbalanced. Not too jammy or forward...with a rich, long finish. A great bottle for a hot summer sipping Zinfandel! 14.9% ABV.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-30-2016
A collection of seven single vineyards throughout Sonoma County, the 2014 bottling is simply terrific. With 20% new oak, the wine is bursting with a floral and quite expressive nose. Focused and solidly structured, this medium bodied wine is a guest favorite for entertaining, gifts or everyday drinking of course! The length is generous and balanced. Approachable and lovable by most - or dare I say, by all. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Banshee "Bohemian Vineyard" Green Valley of Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-30-2016
A very elegantly rich wine. Balance is the theme behind this bottling. The fruit steals the show, with apples & stone fruits and a distinguishable floral character. My personal favorite Chardonnay bottling from Banshee Wines.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2014 Rickshaw California Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-23-2016
I think of this wine as if Chablis and CA Chardonnay got pregnant and gave birth to Rickshaw Chardonnay. The minerality, brightness, citrus notes, freshness and liveliness all jump out, and with a $15 price tag, I am not sure anything else right now comes close to delivering this sort of wine at this price. A true value, not for only the price you pay, but more because of what is inside the bottle.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Akarua "RUA" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 03-22-2016
This is quite the wine from Central Otago...Wild thyme and herbs scream from the glass. With the expressive, bright, dark colored fruit, along with some loud shouts from the fruit yelling across my palate. Great life and length. I love the classic characteristics found in this wine, yet the originality in the expression and site from the winemaking team.
Top Value!

2013 DuMol Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-17-2016
Vibrant, rich and textured, with a fantastic elegance to the length, mouth-feel and finish. This hung out for 10 months in French oak barrels and spent some time on the lees to give it that classic CA Chardonnay body, with a great nose to enjoy on this wine too. My favorite special occasion bottle of CA Chardonnay!

2008 Martinelli "Hop Camp Vineyard - Gravel Lens" Russian River Valley Syrah
Review Date: 02-13-2016
Tons of generosity, elegance and textures going on in this wine. Add on some bottle age, and you have got great Russian River Valley fruit at an approachable point in it's aging. This wine could still run awhile longer, given the liveliness of this wine and the style in general. Enjoy!
Price: Hidden View Price
RR 92

2013 Bava "Gionson" Nebbiolo
Review Date: 02-11-2016
I love these wines from Bava. The slight earthy, savory characters, the bright flavors and fresh feel this wine has is unique to my palate. The lighter weight body with still that woodsy/piney grip from the tannin make this wine jump out at me. The progression of this wine reminds me of the amazing song by The Beatles, I Want You (She's So Heavy), how all the different melodies, tempos and harmonies took me to very different places but all end up taking me back to where it started. Definitely one not to miss out on. Drink now or cellar.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 02-11-2016
One of my favorite Hawke's Bay producers, gives us yet another bright, elegant, fresh and clean all-stainless Sauvignon Blanc. When I poured this wine for Guests at an in store tasting...this is one of those bottlings that stole the show. The proximity of the vineyards to the ocean in Hawke's Bay, and just the lack of holding back on seeking out top-of-the-line winemakers and equipment, truly helps give this wine its own sense of place. The characters are in sync and the amount of wine you get for the price is too much not to try a bottle!
Top Value!

2013 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 01-26-2016
Light red cherry in color, with great lift and acid structure. The fruit is filled with red cherry and red berries, with just a hint of spice that gives the wine more expression and personality. Just a delicious, versatile Pinot Noir from our friends at Greywacke. Enjoy!

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This was surprisingly good Chardonnay from our friends at Maldonado Vineyards. Great richness, lively and energetic. With great richness and follow through, this would be a close match to Rombauer or a Frank Family-styled CA Chardonnays. This is a very well-made wine for the price point. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2015
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-03-2015
A well-made, straightforward Pinot from the makers at Rudy Von Strasser winery. Nice and elegantly plump fruit, made to be enjoyed at parties and dinners with friends and family. With just a hint of some spices, this is the perfect entertaining and everyday wine for all you Pinot lovers out there.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Roco Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Made from fruit of Clone 75 vines, this Chardonnay is high on my list of my favorite Oregon whites...and I am a really big Riesling fan. Chalk, honey and minerals play perfectly with the extremely well balanced acids that in turn dance seamlessly with the gorgeous ripe fruit. I expect this wine could age magically for at least 5-8 years, maybe even more. 13.0% ABV.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 92 WE 91

Page: 1 2 next