Staff Favorites - Dave Genevro

Dave Genevro

Reviews

  
2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-04-2017
A nose of baked green apples with brown sugar, and toasted oak. The palate has generous fruit, and very level acids. Flavors jump onto the palate with green apples, oak, and a quite seductive mouth feel to finish things up. The quality for the price is what to look for in this daily domestic Chardonnay to enjoy.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 12-19-2016
A fantastically rich, energetic, complex, and bright CA classic through and through. Our close friends over at Banshee Wines have given us another huge value driven Zinfandel to enjoy all year. Fresh strawberry and mountain berry flavors, amazing concentration with a nice cocoa/nutmeg note and texture. The balance, generosity, and great floral scented nose make this my new go-to Zinfandel.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 11-26-2016
I loved tasting this great Central Otago gem when our buyer was able to bring this wine over for us to enjoy. The wine is pretty, focused, rich, and elegant. For the minimal intervention techniques that this wine making team employs, it is surprising the amount of precision and generosity the fruit gives the palate. This is a great bottle, at an even greater price for the Pinot Noir lovers out there to enjoy.

2015 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-10-2016
Delicious! Ready to drink now, with some nice decanting or air. great lively nose, with some dusty berry characters. Nice and elegant structure, ripeness. A lovely balance of textures, acidity and fruit. One of my favorite collaboration bottles we have in the store right now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Calera Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-12-2016
Dark purple fruit, balance, generosity, easy drinking goodness - what else does one need?...bada bing!

2013 Brassfield "Eruption - Volcano Ridge Vineyard" High Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 10-12-2016
Dark purple hued, this Malbec dominant red blend has that depth, darkness and concentration that I love about so many wines from Lake County I have had the privilege of enjoying in recent months. The high elevation vineyard is great for this wine. Richness and length for days, with plenty of punch, baking spices...this fun and intriguing blend is an awesome new wine to try for those Prisoner or Machete red blend fans out there....and is much less in price. Tons of interesting layers and textures to discover at less than $20 of risk to you. A whole lot of wine for the money!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-12-2016
All estate fruit from our friends at Chehalem. Bright and fresh cherry fruit, elegant grip and finessed textures and that classic "pinot dusted" nose, that I could just smell all day. This is an easy to enjoy wine, at an even easier to enjoy price point!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Concannon Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-12-2016
A dusty nose, with some dirt and fresh red and black berries. A plumpness, great generous fruit, level acids, and some cedar plank finish out on the palate. This is a real bargain of a wine at this price.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Marietta "Armé-Lot #3" Sonoma-Mendocino Counties Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 10-12-2016
This is a gorgeous BDX style blend from the Brothers at Marietta/Limerick Lane. Density, richness with a well integrated and melty, quite generous finish. This is an approachable, ready to go daily BDX blend for you to enjoy with friends and family. This wine was the one we all kept pouring more of out on the vineyard with the winemakers, and it went beautifully with the delicious wild boar sausage they had prepared for us. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Forman "Château la Grande Roche" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-04-2016
This is one of my favorite "second label wines" we currently offer. The concentration, balance, and approachable style the wine gives while still getting your Cab fix on while drinking it...with its depth, textures and life, it carries across the palate. Very serious stuff, for the money, to enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Bodegas Yuste "Aurora" Amontillado Sanlucar de Barrameda 500ml
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Amazing, layered, and just plain ol' delicious! This sherry is a show-stopper. It is almost entirely dry, except for a hint of sweetness at the finish. In my opinion, the bit of sugar helps to give the wine life, balance and a smooth seductiveness...this is almost too easy to drink, so be careful. The racy acids and soft delicate flesh of the grapes used to make the wine show at the starting gate across the palate. This gives it a more than gracious length and lingering finish of beautiful almond skin and roasted pecans (this flavor will go on for minutes and minutes after taking a sip!). It is always a great time when I get to enjoy this amazing sherry with family and friends...the way it should be drunk. Happy drinkin'!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Quintessa Rutherford Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 08-04-2016
Structure, grip, texture, gorgeous concentration and extraction to the lush and generous fruit. This wine can be approached now, or will go and go for years to come for the patient.
Price: $174.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 RP 96

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
This wine I believe to be approachable to many now or in the future. This has plenty of generous fruit, with balance and a good solid length on the palate. Deep purple hue, with concentrated blackberry jam flavors, and some well melted tannin structure to shake things up on the tongue a bit. A great deal for the Napa Cabernet drinkers among us. Get one to try while they're here.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Kalinda "Reserve" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-28-2016
This might just be my favorite Kalinda label Chardonnay to date. The oak is very balanced and integrated, which adds great character to the wine. The fruit has a real lovely fleshy character, purity and good weight while the long, but not over-done richness sails along the palate. Also, the acids are quite focused and lively. I would love to see this wine again in two years time to see how it has evolved. A great job by whoever made this Chardonnay bottling for us all to enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-27-2016
So delicious! Red fruits, vibrant nose, balanced, layered, with some great rustic/forest notes. These Pinot Noirs always seem to display great varietal characters, purity and focus. This single vineyard bottling from legendary David Bicknell in the Yarra Valley, is as good as it gets at this price...enjoy, I sure will!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Frankland Estate "Isolation Ridge" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-27-2016
The nose is filled with stones and slate. Lively acids, and very solid length down the palate. Quite focused.

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 07-16-2016
This has got "easy drinking", written all over it...The fruit is generous and full bodied, with just enough structure to not let me forget I am drinking a Cabernet. More than a fair amount of wine in the bottle for the $9.00 price tag. This is the perfect weeknight red from South Australia, ready to be enjoyed whenever you are!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Isle of Jura 10 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2016
Elegant and delicate smoke is at the backdrop of the curtain of gorgeous sherry. The smoothness and ease with which I enjoy this malt says it all to me. I drink a lot of Laphroaig, but this is my go to when I want my smoke and sherry fix simultaneously. Enjoy this scotch neat, next to a fire and loved ones is ideal...you just feel more baller.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felton Road Riesling Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Sweet granny smith apples, great acid structure, off-dry to perfection. 'Nough said... Try this with anything light and spicy, you will not regret it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
BC 95 JS 93

Antipodes Sparkling Water New Zealand (1L - Glass Bottle)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is good stuff...crisp, great subtle and small bubbles, that finishes with a pure and precise finish. I'll have another round, please!
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 05-18-2016
My favorite Pinot time after time. The vintage is so much different than last year (2013 vintage). This is darker, more brooding and meaty almost. This drinks more like a burgundy than the 2013, that reminded me more of something out of Oregon. Herbs and some savory notes play well with the dark red and blue fruits. This is a whole lot of wine for this price tag. While still young, this is great right out of the gate, or will definitely benefit from more patience. Cheers!

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-18-2016
This juicier, generous, bargain driven Cabernet out of Washington State is always such a great deal! The wine has some light front end pull and presence, with raspberries doused in spices like cinnamon and cloves to finish it out on the palate. Enjoy, this always goes really quickly.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

2012 Terra Sancta "Estate" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 05-03-2016
Plush, herbs, with ripe red fruits. Great structure with life and lift.

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-15-2016
This vintage bottling is 100% Chardonnay, full of an expressive nose of raisins and apple blossoms. The chalky texture and mineral-driven body are what I really enjoy about this great wine from a small producer. Enjoy — I am sure you will!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Gualtallary
Review Date: 04-13-2016
I really enjoyed tasting this new Malbec that Joe brought in for all of us to enjoy! This bottle has the power and punchy fruit, but with a backbone and meatiness that fills the palate with tons of texture...a graceful kind. This is not an overly oaky or chewy wine. The power, finish, fruit and tannin structure are all in tuned with one another. Enjoy! 14.5% ABV
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-30-2016
A collection of seven single vineyards throughout Sonoma County, the 2014 bottling is simply terrific. With 20% new oak, the wine is bursting with a floral and quite expressive nose. Focused and solidly structured, this medium bodied wine is a guest favorite for entertaining, gifts or everyday drinking of course! The length is generous and balanced. Approachable and lovable by most - or dare I say, by all. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rickshaw California Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-23-2016
I think of this wine as if Chablis and CA Chardonnay got pregnant and gave birth to Rickshaw Chardonnay. The minerality, brightness, citrus notes, freshness and liveliness all jump out, and with a $15 price tag, I am not sure anything else right now comes close to delivering this sort of wine at this price. A true value, not for only the price you pay, but more because of what is inside the bottle.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Wirra Wirra "Church Block" Red Blend McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-22-2016
This blend is a great red. It has all the punch, life, balance and length that I look for in a blend. With some great textures at the finish, what's not to love about this wine from a classic Aussie producer?!

2013 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 01-26-2016
Light red cherry in color, with great lift and acid structure. The fruit is filled with red cherry and red berries, with just a hint of spice that gives the wine more expression and personality. Just a delicious, versatile Pinot Noir from our friends at Greywacke. Enjoy!

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-12-2015
This is a unique and lively wine from a village in Champagne with a very rich history, Ay. This cuvee is composed of 80% Pinot Noir and 20% Chardonnay. The Pinot Noir gives this wine a vivacious and expressive nose, with great semi-constant bubbles that makes for a quite elegant texture. With a hint of slate, our buyer, Gary Westby, puts it best in his review by saying, "It has a good finish with a line of chalky minerality that is uncommon in Pinot Noir-based Champagnes, but the signature of Ay grand cru." This is a gem that over performs for it's quality to price ratio. Enjoy this wine while it is here. The more that is left at the store, the more there is for me!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This was surprisingly good Chardonnay from our friends at Maldonado Vineyards. Great richness, lively and energetic. With great richness and follow through, this would be a close match to Rombauer or a Frank Family-styled CA Chardonnays. This is a very well-made wine for the price point. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Gary Farrell "Russian River Selection" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-25-2015
This bottling of Gary Farrell is great. Generous fruit, with well integrated tannins and a smooth and elegant finish. I can see why this wine is so loved by our guests vintage after vintage. A steal from the highly sought after AVA that helped put California Pinot Noir on the map. Enjoy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2015
A great wine from Champagne under $40?! I was shocked not only at the price, but the wine inside the bottle is really great stuff. It is a perfect sparkling wine for entertaining or at your dinner table. The apples/pear fruits on the nose and palate and the expressive nature of this wine makes it appeal to palates almost all the way across the board.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 10-31-2015
This wine is simply gorgeous! Great snappy fruit with cranberries and cherries, spices that translates to great persistence and length in the follow through for such an aged Rioja. Oh, and the well seasoned tannin structure is what you can only get with time in the bottle. The perfect holiday wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-12-2015
This is a delicious American Single Malt! Round, rich and great balance and length...don't miss this great craft whiskey that you'll only find here! Salute!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Schramsberg "Mirabelle" California Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 06-28-2015
A beautifully lively, expressive brut rose. This is a combination of cool climate Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, with 18 months of bottle aging to give it more depth and richness. This would pair well with a huge variety of foods. Fresh strawberries and raspberries on the nose and palate, a great long and elegant finish makes this wine the perfect celebratory bottle...for whatever you're celebrating!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
CG 90 RP 90

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2015
Great texture, very expressive fruit and a touch of acids. Well-rounded and full of life, this wine is based on a very lovely vintage of grapes from Champagne, the 2011 vintage. I love this wine too because of it's lower sugars at the dosage stage of production. It's a plus that this wine also spent more time on the lees, up to five months more or so. I love the toasty structure and character this brings to the wine. For a special occasion, friends and family, this is a great bottle of Champagne to enjoy for years to come!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Storybook Mountain "Mayacamas Range" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This awesome Zinfandel is rich, ripe and structured. It has the length and grip on the finish that I look for in reds. I would drink this bottle any day of the week, and that says something because Zinfandel is not normally my go-to varietal. All around a greatly executed wine through and through.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
CG 90