Staff Favorites - Gary Norton

Gary Norton

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-19-2017
It's a classic Bordeaux style blend that's always rich, opulent and layered - showing notes of blackberry, graphite, white pepper and bay leaves. Dark fruited and full bodied, this is one that you can pull the cork on tonight or put it down for 15+ years. It's been dubbed New Zealand's First Growth for good reason.

2014 Turnbull Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-13-2017
This is easily one of the purest expressions of Napa Valley Cabernet on the market these days. With fruit sourced entirely from noncontinuous estate blocks ranging from the valley floor to higher elevation sites on the Oakville Bench, you've got all the components to make an outrageously delicious and location specific wine. For less than fifty bucks, this is one to go all-in on.

2007 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-11-2017
I'll start here: This wine is criminally under-priced and outright delicious. It's full of black and blue fruits, white pepper, leather and dehydrated herbs. The estate is situated just to the west of Chateauneuf du Pape and year after year I become increasingly impressed by the quality and length of the wines. I had a chance to revisit this particular bottling a few months ago and it reaffirmed my assertion that this is one of the best values in all of the Rhone.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2017
This little wine is developing wonderfully after 5 years and by my guess it still has another 8-10 years left in it. Currently showing notes of dark flowers, dark berries, black currant, dried herbs and a splash of demi-glace. This is a ridiculously good bottle of wine without contemplating the price point but for twenty bucks, it doesn't' get much better - crazy value here.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 K Vintners "Motor City Kitty-River Rock Vineyard" Yakima Valley Syrah
Review Date: 07-05-2017
Focused on small-lot, vineyard designated Syrahs and field blends, K Vintners consistently produces some of the most incredible values available on the market. A prime example of such is their latest release of MKC Syrah - for less than thirty-five bucks you're getting a bottle that can compete with the best that Washington has to offer. Black fruit, liquefied rock, dried herbs, game and other savory notes are front and center here. This is one not to miss, and if history repeats itself this wine will sell through in the blink of an eye.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 WE 93

2014 d'Hanteillan Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A vintage that was undoubtedly overshadowed by the massive successes of 2015 and 2016, look to 2014 as bargain central. Notes of dense red and blue berries, burnt cedar, baking spices and a touch of vanilla, this mid-weight red is an absolute star for less than fifteen bucks. We always seem to find value driven Bordeaux that drastically over-performs for the money and this is a prime example of such. Pull the cork an hour before service or put it down for a couple years to settle down. Great wine either way!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Knez Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-22-2017
Anderson Valley may very well be the last place in California where you can find a really high quality bottle of Pinot Noir for thirty to thirty-five bucks. When you start getting into the sub-twenty dollar realm, you really need to be picky unless you have the inside scoop on something - like close-out pricing or declassification of estate fruit. In this instance it's both, which is why this may be the best twenty dollar bottle of Pinot you ever drink.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2014 Knez "Cerise Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-22-2017
If you can get me a bottle of vineyard designated Pinot Noir for under forty bucks I'm pretty happy. If you're able to procure one for less than thirty, I'm your best friend! Notes of ripe wild strawberries, red plums, floral accents and an incredibly fine tannin solidify this wine as the best pound-for-pound Pinot Noir on the market right now. Opportunities like this simply don't exist anymore, which is why I'm going big on this one. Drink a few now, put a few more down for a while. These wines still have plenty of development ahead of them but won't last on the shelves very long, that's for sure.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2014 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-19-2017
This is easily one of the best sub-fifty dollar values on the market right now – a wine that Robert Parker described as “deep, wonderfully fruited, rich and savory…” He later admitted after tasting Faust along with Quintessa that it was “probably the best set of wines [he had] yet tasted from the Huneeus family…” Frankly, it’s tough not to believe such a statement after tasting it and knowing that virtually all of the fruit comes from AVAs such as Rutherford, Coombsville, Atlas Peak, Mount Veeder or St. Helena – some of Napa’s most prized valley and mountain terroirs. It’s a beautifully layered, unctuous wine and an absolute steal for the money. In a climate where your entry level Napa cab is hovering within the fifty dollar price point, you should take a hard look at Faust, as most wines in this category simply lack the acclaim and raw materials to compete with it.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-19-2017
Made in a lovely, open-knit style, both aromatically and on the palate the 2014 Flowers SC Pinot Noir tows the line perfectly between boisterous and restrained all at the same time. Imparting aromas and flavors of dried strawberry, rhubarb, Bing cherry, shaved fennel, baking spices and cherry cola. The palate doubles-down with the aforementioned but savory dark fruits show through with a splash of fresh violets and ocean air incorporated in to the mix. I will freely admit that I’ve always been a fan of Flowers, but this year each and every wine they poured was nothing short of ethereal.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 W&S 90

2016 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 06-19-2017
Flowers has been making Rose for a few years but never really produced enough to sell outside of their direct-customer base. The wine, to say simply, is exceptional. It offers a glassy salmon color and a nose filled with red berries, ruby-red grapefruit, rose stems and orange blossoms. On the palate, the wine is mouth-watering and tangy, laced more red fruits, citrus and subtle notes of sea foam on the finish. I've always been a fan of Flowers as a whole but this year's releases are something special. Sure, thirty-two bucks is a little steep for a bottle of rose, but once you pull the cork on this wine you'll feel much better about the expenditure.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2013 Au Bon Climat "Knox Alexander" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-09-2017
There's a reason why ABC Pinot Noir is frequently peppered into blind Burgundy tastings: because it's about as Burgundian (a term I often wince at...) as non-Burgundy gets. Racy and linear, these are some of the highest quality domestic Pinot Noirs (and Chardonnays) on the market today, period. Racy red fruit, dusty earth, wild herbs and a spicy undertone to round it out. Drink it now or put it down for 10+ years. Up to you.

2015 Flowers Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-02-2017
Flowers has recently shifted towards a more finesse-driven style and frankly, it's relieving. Not to say that I wasn't a fan before this, but there is no shortage of big, viscous Chardonnays in Sonoma and I've been hoping for something to change. I was fortunate enough to taste this wine a few weeks ago and was astonished by the length and balance that is possessed - notes of lemon flesh, white peach, marzipan, cloves and a lovely saline quality on the finish. Very impressed by the direction of this winery, not to mention they are going to take over the old VML property in Healdsburg, which should be nothing short of awesome!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 05-26-2017
Savory red fruit, dried herbs, mocha and leather are the hallmarks of this wine. Great restraint and length here as well, especially considering how hot 2011 was in Tuscany. It's a vintage that demands some selectivity, depending on what characteristics you gravitate towards. With a few years of bottle age on it already, the wine still has plenty left in the tank. Ten years at least in my opinion. There is no shortage of price to value ratio here - a true drink or hold.

2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero Crianza
Review Date: 03-29-2017
There is often plenty of upside to difficult vintages and this bottle is a prime example of such. I'll roll the dice any day when I know that some incredibly high quality (and generally incredibly expensive) fruit is declassified and blended into an entry-level, or estate bottling. This wine is just seamless, showing notes of dark berries, leather and mocha. This should age gracefully for much longer than your average Crianza. This bottle is definitely worth a hard look but frankly, I don't expect it to be here for long.

2014 Maison L'Envoyé "The Attaché" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-11-2017
A tremendously serious wine for thirty bucks, that's for sure. The wine shows notes of fresh purple fruits, baking spices and a smokey, almost syrah-like characteristic that comes in on the mid-palate. It's a wildly intriguing Pinot Noir that should age gracefully for another 5 to 8 years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WS 92

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-28-2017
This wine is reminiscent of the success we enjoyed last year when we released the value-driven Alma Rosa Santa Barbara Chardonnay. It's totally unoaked, showing notes of grapefruit, yellow nectarine and Mandarin oranges. If you prefer linear styled whites and a touch of ripeness, this is a wine you should be buying by the case.
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-18-2017
I invite you to find a high elevation, single vineyard Cabernet from Napa that won't set you back less than one-hundred dollars. It simply doesn't exist. This wine is dense and structured, with notes of black fruit, blackcurrant, fennel seed and minerals. Many forget to consider the fact that Lake County is bordered by Mendocino, Napa and Sonoma Counties, three high profile designations that command a higher price point. To me, Lake County is synonymous for Value Town, and I plan to exploit the price to quality ratio for the benefit of my cellar until the masses finally catch up.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Gary Farrell "Russian River Selection" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-17-2017
2014 has, thus far, been an incredibly strong vintage for white varietals on the West Coast. Yet for some reason I've been mildly underwhelmed by a couple Chardonnays produced in the Russian River lately. Thankfully things changed in that realm shortly after I tasted the latest release from Gary Farrell. It's quite linear and driven, with notes of Satsuma orange flesh, stone fruits and pronounced notes of minerals on the finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 WS 90

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 01-31-2017
Pencarrow is the second label from the famed Palliser Winery in Martinborough. It's delicate and fresh, showing notes of jasmine, lime peel and Asian pear. The wine has gorgeous depth and purity for thirty bucks, but for less than eleven it's flat out fantastic. Great drive and minerality with a hint of richness on the midpalate. I expect to see this wine move quickly once it gains some traction with our customers.
Top Value!

2014 Jax "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-19-2017
Truth be told, fifty bucks is becoming the entry level price for an estate cab coming out of Napa these days. We are reaching an era of skyrocketing prices - some producers are doubling the rates for their 2015 releases. Literally. Less than 1000 cases of Jax's estate Cabernet was produced this year and our share will likely evaporate soon. It's a big, fruit-driven wine that is immediately accessible and will continue to be for the next 5-9 years.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

Cain "Cuvée NV12" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 01-19-2017
Cain's non-vintage "NV" offerings are some of the Valley's best value reds. If you are a fan of old-world styled, hearty red wines that carry a bit of a funky, bretty edge than this wine is a must try. Unfortunately, this type of wine is a dying breed in California as most wineries are shifting towards the production of bigger, rounder and flashier reds. The NV12 is a blend of 2012 and 2011 (59% & 41%, respectively) and consists of 50% Merlot, 32% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, 4% Petit Verdot and 4% Malbec. For those rustic wine lovers out there, this one's for you!
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 01-19-2017
We discovered this production earlier last year and since that time a number of it's offerings have been very well received by the press. This particular blend is comprised of 45% Merlot, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Syrah and 10% Zinfandel. It's an extractive style, very reminiscent of Bedrock. The wine is dense and full bodied, showing notes of dried violets and black fruits on the nose. The palate comes together with more dark flowers, black berries, black currant and cassis. This wine offers tons of fruit and finishes quite dry. It's a great wine and a steal for the money.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-11-2017
Six months ago if someone told me I could buy a twenty dollar Pinot Noir from the Willamette Valley that was produced from vineyards such as Meredith Mitchell and Eola Springs, I'd probably take offense to it. No one likes to be lied to! Alas, it's actually available. Made by our buddy Adam Smith (formerly of Bethel Heights & Shea - currently of Eisold Smith), this new project from the folks at Banshee Wine Company is an absolute knock out. Dark fruits, dried violets and a spicy finish. This is one of my top value choices of 2017.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2014 Château de la Negly "La Côte" La Clape
Review Date: 01-10-2017
It's a lot of wine for twelve bucks, that's for sure. The carbonic maceration is clear, offering a ton of vibrancy and acid drive, while concurrently lending flavors of blue berries, red raspberry, and dried violets on the palate. You can comfortably pair this value driven red with a variety of dishes ranging from roasted poultry to seared duck to spicy sezchuan. I'd be completely satisfied if I paid upwards of thirty dollars for this bottle.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hess Collection Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
This year we have already enjoyed a tremendous run on value-driven Domestic Chardonnays. Well ladies and gents, the 2014 Hess Collection NV Chardonnay is another hit. Notes of butter, yellow nectarine and baking spices are front and center here. It's a richer, plusher style of Chardonnay, seeing roughly 20% new wood and going through partial malo. Another great wine from one of the best vintages for Domestic Chardonnay in recent memory.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
Loads of clove, cinnamon and baked apple on the nose of this young Chardonnay. The palate is racier than expected. While 2014 is a very lush, hot vintage, DDO's house style is consistently balanced in terms of acidity and ripeness. The wine is produced entirely from estate fruit (Dijon clones) and is fermented in both tank and barrel. This Chardonnay is always a show stopper in my eyes, and frankly, it's cheap considering the name and quality behind it.

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 01-10-2017
Tuesday night takeout has never met a better dinner companion. Whether it be Thai, Chinese or Sushi, this wine delivers the goods. Fresh acidity, notes of green apple, citrus flesh and a gentle minerality on the finish. For ten bucks I'm not looking for a life-changer, I'm looking for something to crack open and enjoy without any fuss. There's a reason we sell this stuff by the case!

2014 Mayacamas Mt. Veeder Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Green apple, racy lemon, yellow nectarine with a flash of vanilla and wet stone on the finish. This is an age-worthy, linear style of Chardonnay similar stylistically to Heitz Cellars'. It's steely and crisp, having spent time in neutral wood and stainless steel after fermentation. There's a reason Mayacamas has been in business for 125 years and it's because of bottlings such as this.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 JS 94

2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-04-2017
Iv'e always been tremendously impressed with the pound for pound value that Olema (and Amici Cellars) offers on a consistent basis. This year's offering is a luscious and heavy expression of Sonoma County Chardonnay. It's brimming with notes of candied pineapple, Meyer lemon, satusuma oranges, marzipan and baking spices. For fifteen bucks it doesn't get better than this.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 12-28-2016
Moulin De La Gardette is about as consistent as consistent gets. And yes, the 2014 release is another knockout. For twenty-five bucks you've got a wine that's going to be stellar tonight when you pull the cork and even better if you decide to lay it down for a few years. The aromatics of this wine are superb as well - cranberry, raspberry, Herbes de Provence and a distinct minerality that is largely unfound in wines at this price point. The aforementioned characteristics carry onto the palate with the addition of a snappy tannin on the finish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 92

2013 Sinor-LaVallee San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The Sinor LaVallee SLO County Chardonnay expresses richer tropical fruit notes such as Autalfo mangos and yellow pineapple plus the addition of torched marshmallow, crème brûlée, and baking spice. It's a lush and heavy wine with enough acid to keep it balanced. A phenomenal wine from the quaint little coastal town of Avila Beach, California.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 90

2014 Louis M. Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-15-2016
An age-worthy domestic Cab for less than fifteen bucks? Yes, it exists. This is an incredibly serious wine at a price point that is laughably low. Black fruit, licorice, blackcurrant, green bell pepper, baking spices. Toss in a well integrated, powdery tannin on the back end just for good measure. Dump this bottle into a decanter and don't tell your dinner guests how much you paid for the bottle, they'll be remarkably impressed by your generosity.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-10-2016
Another classic expression of Bien Nacido Pinot Noir. Wild strawberries, salted herbs, blood orange peel and baking spice on the finish. One more knockout from ABC and a terrific addition to K&L's line of co-branded wines.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Honorío Rubio "Lías Finas" Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
Remember the '05 Lopez de Heredia Vina Gravonia we had last year? Well this is it's twin brother who no one ever told you existed. Classic funky, petrol-ish, waxy, chamomile scents with notes of toasted oats, lemon and green apple on the palate. This is an awesomely nerdy wine that you should endeavor into.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2009 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
This is the perfect transition wine for those fond of American wines who are looking to try something new or are simply tired of paying a premium for wines with a Napa Valley designation. It's full bodied, rich and dark fruited. The wine has been aged for at least three years with at least one in barrel. A top quality, progressive style of Rioja.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Miguel Merino "Viñas Jovenes" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
Not only has Miguel Merino figured out how to make his Crianzas taste like Gran Riservas, but he's learned how to make wine produced from young vines taste like their from old vines. How the heck did he do it? I don't know. But this bottle of wine drinks way above it's price point. Notes of dark fruit, dark berry and dusty bramble notes enter and darker, richer tones of mocha, chocolate and baking spices round out the finish. Fair warning, if this is your first experience with a Crianza, compare it to learning how to drive in a Ferrari.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-08-2016
Gobs of black plum, dark cherry fruit and a plush, spicy finish. Oh, all for less than twenty five bucks? Count me in. Pair this wine with your next round of grilled tri-tip or ribs. This co-branded Zin is easily my top value-red coming out of the Paso Robles.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

2014 Forman "Château la Grande Roche" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-02-2016
Year after year I'm impressed by Forman's "Chateau La Grande Roche" Cabernet. I often find myself underwhelmed by second labels and understand why they didn't make the cut for a classified bottling. Not this one. It's structured and grippy, with notes of graphite, tobacco and black fruits. Drink this guy in a few years or give it an hour in a decanter. Great buy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Del Bac "Dorado" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Mesquite Smoked Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-21-2016
This stuff is really, really, really interesting. It's a visceral spirit that takes me back to backyard BBQs back in Wisconsin. Aromas of mesquite barbecue sauce, blistered peppers, torched marshmallows and vanilla emanate from the glass of this Southwestern single malt. This is a must-have for any whiskey geek such as myself.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Concannon Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-18-2016
I've always known about Concannon's history as the first American producer to bottle Petite Sirah under it's varietal name but I associated it more with the fact that was sold a twice in the eighties and again in the early nineties. I honestly figured the quality of their wines had diminished after changing hands so many times. Well, I stand corrected. Concannon's Paso Robles Cab is rich and structured, showing notes of white pepper, blueberry pie and boysenberry preserve. It's a plush and approachable cab at less than thirteen bucks. Doesn't get much better than this.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-18-2016
Finally! We were able to put together a smokin' deal to get some juice from the Willamette Valley bottled under the name of our in-house label. Made by our friends over at Chehalem, this particular bottling is less linear and acid-driven than their generally Burgundian, racy house-style. Notes of ripe raspberry, bright cranberry and lush red fruit kick around on the palate and taper down into baking spices and subtle earth notes on the finish. Barely edging out the North Coast Pinot Noir we released earlier this year, this is Kalinda's best red wine made to date.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Brassfield "Eruption - Volcano Ridge Vineyard" High Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 10-14-2016
A blend consisting of 38% Malbec, 36% Syrah, 16% Mourvèdre and 10% Petite Sirah, this is a very serious wine for sixteen dollars. Dark fruit, dark berries, solid fruit depth without any indication of jamminess. It's full-bodied and has a well-integrated, dusty tannin structure on the finish. Need I say more?
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
This is a fantastic non-vintage bottling from Michel Arnould. The blend consists of a heavy dose of Pinot Noir (75%) and the rest Chardonnay, which creates a wonderfully delicate and floral nose that leads into heaps of red fruit and red berries. The finish is clean and citric. A truly special bottle of bubbles.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hidden Ridge "55% Slope" Sonoma Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-01-2016
This is one heck of a wine for less than a hundred bucks. It's currently expressing notes of cassis, dark fruit, fresh salsa, dried herbs and licorice. I'd pick up a few of these for now and a few more for the future. It's pretty wound up right now and needs at least an hour of air time if you're going to open it tonight, but I'm substantially certain this wine can withstand a decade or more in your cellar.
Top Value!

2013 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-15-2016
Mount Eden has released yet another lovely Chardonnay. Surprised? Well you shouldn't be. The latest vintage is a little bigger and flashy than it has been in the past, yet it still retains great acidity and focus. Aromas of green pineapple and fresh Bosc pear pour out of the glass. On the palate, yellow nectarine, more pineapple, and Meyer lemon. Another home run by our friends over at Mount Eden.

2013 Calera "de Villiers" Mt. Harlan Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
This particular bottling from Calera requires a bit of air time to soften up but is the most accessible vineyard-designated Pinot Noir of theirs right now (it will, however, only get better with a few more years of bottle age). Planted in '97, the De Villiers vineyard is Calera's youngest estate site. This bottling sees roughly 30% new oak and is aged in barrel without racking for 16 months. A top-quality wine from one of America's most respected producers.

2015 Boekenhoutskloof "The Wolftrap" Red Blend Western Cape
Review Date: 09-08-2016
It's forward, approachable, and darn delicious for under ten bucks. A blend of Mourvedre, Syrah and a tad Viognier (for some added lift), the wine shows notes of ripe cherry, game, dried cranberry and a hint of baking spice. I always keep a few bottles of the Wolftrap at my place for nights that I want a glass of good wine but don't want to break into anything too pricey.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 09-08-2016
There's good reason as to why this wine is a perennial staff and customer favorite. It's a dark fruited, earthy, intense Bordeaux blend (50% Cab, 30% Merlot & 20% Cab Franc) at a very approachable price point. Pair this wine with a juicy hamburger or red meat of your choice. This is an absurdly serious wine for less than fifteen bucks.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Robert Cantin "Les Grezes" Pinot Noir Vin de France
Review Date: 09-08-2016
This is the best pound-for-pound Pinot Noir in the store. Period. It's a serious, quaffable Pinot at an obscenely low price point. Read my buddy Mahon's review below. This is a rare creature. Come get some before they roll out of the door, just like they did last year.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next