Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Moscatel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Moscatel is the driest of the 4 Capurro expressions. It shows off fresh and dried fruits on the nose and upfront on the palate. There are tons of pears and stone fruits. I also find it to have the slight earthy sweetness and vegetal tang of an agave plant. Moscatel is considered by many in Peru to be the best sipping Pisco variety. One sip of this neat and you'll know why. The proof is in the long and lasting finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Torontel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Torontel Pisco grape comes from the Torontez grape you may already be familiar with. It is highly aromatic and this Pisco has a lush nose full of tropical fruits, jasmine flowers, and fresh cut grass. The finish here is my favorite of the Capurro lineup. It super bright and lifted like a really crisp Gruner Veltliner and it carries on for days. This makes an ideal punch or summertime sipper by the pool.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Acholado Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
While Capurro Pisco is always single vintage and typically single varietal, the Acholado is a blend of the other 3 grape varieties. The balance here is tremendous and if you're looking for your first great Pisco experience, this is it. There is a great balance between stone fruits and an earthy flavor that offers a faint hint of grass. The texture and finish here are excellent and it will emulsify easily in your Pisco Sour - the key to any good egg based cocktail. Not just for mixing, this also offers a great drinking experience when served neat or with a dose of citrus.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. Morello Cherry Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Love your Luxardo Cherries? Get a bottle of this and find a whole new way to bring intense cherry flavor to your cocktails. While this is both sticky and sweet, it never feels cloying due to an amazingly vibrant acidity. I am taking a bottle home tonight to sub into a Singapore Sling for the Cherry Heering and see what happens. I quite confident the results will be extraordinary. My only problem will be how to avoid putting it on or in everything. At first blush I see candidates in ice cream, chocolate cake, spritz cocktails, Manhattans, Old Fashioneds, and pancakes. I'm sure more ideas will flow as I have a drink or two...
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. Blackcurrant Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Sweet Victory! Being fortunate enough to taste hundreds of spirits and liqueurs a year is definitely a big perk of this job that I relish, but the real magic is when you get to taste something that pushes the boundaries of an entire category. When a drink makes you stop and dream of the endless possibilities of how you can enjoy it, you have something special in your glass. I thought we had the world's best Cassis liqueur on lock last year with the Jean Arthaud Creme de Cassis (and Framboise for that matter), but Somerset can truly give it a run for its money. This blackcurrant liqueur is rich, bombastic, sweet, and yet balanced by extraordinary acidity. The added complexity of the underlying apple eau-de-vie pushes it over the top. It's made by macerating black currants from the neighboring farm for a year in the apple eau-de-vie and then pressing the whole thing off. The price is also a joke. This is as premium as cassis can get and yet it's available for an extremely affordable price.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

1997 Highland Park 20 "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
This is one of the most complex Old Particular casks we have ever bottled. The nose is at first full of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies sprinkled with a touch of cracked rock salt but gives way to the much more delicate aroma of stone fruits and tree blossoms. The palate is dense with dried figs, caramel, brioche, Christmas spices, and the savory notes of lightly smoked meats. The barley itself seems take center staged for a moment before fleeing into the background leaving behind a wisp of orange and smoke, like a hip bartender flashing the citrus oil before dropping the garnish peel into your Old Fashioned. The finish is particularly lengthy here and changes slightly with each sip. Every sampling leaves you with a different impression than the one before, but each contributes to building the complete picture of what 20 long years of age does for one of the world's greatest distilleries.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

1988 Cambus 29 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-08-2018
A quick glance at the very first order on my K&L profile confirms what I already knew when I sniffed this glass. I loved Cambus then, and I love it even more now. I'm shocked to realize that the 21 year old Cambus I bought many years ago was $109!!! This 29 year old clocks in under $100! It's nearly 30 years of grainy goodness. Rich, easy, cereal driven and luscious. Fans of the more recent North British grains rejoice. This is a slam dunk.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1995 Tobermory 22 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-08-2018
Sweetly fruited nose and a rich and warm palate full of honey, vanilla, and peach blossoms. A spectacular combination of stone fruits and rich honey drizzled granola builds up the bulk of the palate. There is a faint waft of smoke that feels subtle enough to be your imagination, more of an earthy savory note than smoke really. Everything is perfectly in balance at just over 50% ABV. Add to that a distinct maritime character and you've got yourself 20+ year old malt from one of the less well known Hebrides.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Spios" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
In a world that is begging for more intensity, more peat, more sherry, it is nice to remember that there is also Spios. Dr. Bill Lumsden has taken the ever-elegant Glenmorangie and done something out of passion, with foresight, that began many years ago. Spios preempts the current craze for off-the-wall and envelope-pushing finishes and instead of a kitschy marketing piece, he has made a whisky that is ethereal, elegant, and commanding of your strained attention. Take a moment to realize that what is before your nose isn't rye. At a first lazy blush you might be forgiven for thinking so as the nose shows the peppery spice you'd hope for and the tiniest hint of herbaceousness that reminds you rye is a grass. There is an incredible amount of nuance behind that. Cinnamon, nutmeg, clove all work their way to the fore. American oak makes its presence known. There is a slight creaminess to the palate. Underneath it all, there is the balanced spirit that we know and love as Glenmorangie. Wonderfully floral, fruity, and malty all in one. This is a whisky with a unique finish that deserves your time and contemplation. Step back from the obvious and heavy hitters, and delve into something deeper, with more substance and artistry. Your taste buds will thank you.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Crown Royal Bourbon Mash Blended Canadian Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Smooth, supple, and very drinkable. Almost too drinkable. Sip it, shoot it, mix it, the flavor is rich and will come through in any preparation. The inherent Crown character really shines through and takes me straight back to my college days at UCSB where we were known to go through a bottle or two of CR in my house. I wish I had access to that flavor at this price!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-05-2018
As Burgundian as California gets. If you've ever wondered about the tasting note "flinty" check this bottle out. It has a great crispness and flinty minerality, but does not lack for richness and weight. Two hallmarks of great Burgundian Chardonnay. The fruit quality here is excellent. If you're in the ABC crowd (Anything But Chardonnay) It is definitely time to step back into the fold with this gem. It will surprise you!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "No Name" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-01-2018
John Glaser, The Alchemist, has done it again. He takes one thing, adds a little of this and a little of that, and he makes that one thing better and more valuable than anyone thought possible. Drams from Pier Road and Port Askaig come together in the perfect marriage with a drop or two of highland goodness to make one seriously peaty, but eminently drinkable scotch. Campfire, both fresh cut and smoldering dry peat are all bound together by maritime air and the magic that is Islay. There is a medicinal quality that will make you contract a serious case of Munchausen Syndrome. For a limited bottling we've managed to lock down a pretty serious allocation (thank you, David!) but it will be gone before you know it.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Ayate Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
True highland agave purity and complexity is bolstered by the added richness and weight from 4 months in Chardonnay barrels. This tequila is one of the absolute smoothest and most approachable tequilas we have on the shelf, second only to the Ayate Anejo. If you loved the Casamigos tequilas, take a huge step up and sink yourself into the Ayate. With less sweetness than Casamigos, but just as much richness, this is the best tequila to serve at your next party and really impress your guests.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "Second Glance" American Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Maybe you've had a whisky finished in wine barrels before. Regardless of what that experience was, this requires another look. Made from a 95% corn mash and proofed with fresh Alexander Valley spring water this is a perfect example of what great corn whisky can be. It has the chewy fullness and easy drinking nature of corn whisky, but the complexity of a fine Cabernet. Truly more than the sum of it's parts.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "The Burning Chair" Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Dave Phinney is at it again. After essentially creating the entire Red Blend category with his Prisoner label and subsequent Orin Swift wines, he is moving into the spirits category and perhaps redefining what is means to make American Whisky. The bourbon is a beautiful mix of spicy, sweet, lush, and rounded out by a super intriguing dark fruit note from the Cabernet barrels the whisky is finished in after blending. Think Angel's Envy with it's port barrel finish, but much brighter and not as sweet. A must have for the true bourbon collector.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart

Wild Sardinia Vermouth Vero 750ml
Review Date: 01-30-2018
The most complex vermouth that we carry. This is made with a white wine based that has been aged for 10 years. This gives an extremely savory and nutty quality to the vermouth - think Sherry or Madeira, but with the added complexity of a full botanical regimen. If you're a creative cocktail creator, check this out. If you're looking for a fascinating vermouth to drink on its own merit, this one is for you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Big Sur Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2018
This is a gin for those who want to take a leisurely stroll through the most beautiful coastline in the world. It's a mellow gin, softer and more round than your typical London Dry. The juniper plays second fiddle to a beautiful lemon balm and sagebrush. The mouthfeel is rich and round, perfect for a dry martini.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

broVo Jammy Sweet Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2018
The most intense of the broVo Vermouths. This is made from Merlot and presents a completely different profile of herbs and spices. The Jammy name definitely comes from the fruity nature of the Merlot base, but the botanicals balance this out perfectly so it never feels overly fruity. In particular the peppercorn adds a really bright finish. It acts almost like Juniper in a London Dry Gin. Sub this into your next Manhattan and spice up your life.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

broVo Pink Rose Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2018
Maybe the most unusual of the broVo vermouths, this is a base wine of Pinot Noir Rose. It gets cooked up with a proprietary blend of 26 herbs and spices and shows a great balance between spice, citrus, herbaceous, and floral characteristics. There is a great creaminess to this one that is just begging to be served as an aperitif. Pour it over ice and add a splash of club soda and your afternoon just got a lot better.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

broVo Pretty Floral Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2018
This is the perfect vermouth when you want something just a little sweet, but not super heavy. Sweetened with agave nectar this vermouth made from a base wine of Wahluke Slope Pinot Gris has just the right balance to add the sweetness you need without destroying the texture of your cocktail. It has great acidity and just the right blend of intriguing herbs and spices. Elderflower and vanilla give it great floral tones, lemon and cardamom add some zing.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

broVo Witty Dry Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2018
Vermouth is the most underrated category in the store. Most people think of vermouth as that terrible thing that lives in their pantry for got knows how long for some occasional recipe. A fresh bottle of real vermouth, made from real wine, is a glorious thing to behold. The wine is great, the spices and herbs are fresh and lively, the balance of sweetness, bitterness, and acid from the wine create a super complex beverage to be enjoyed neat, on the rocks, or in your favorite spritz or cocktail. Enter broVo. Made from Sauvignon Blanc grapes grown on the famed Wahluke Slope in Washington State - this vermouth boasts a beautiful citrus pop, a great kola nuttyness, and just a hint of sweetness. 1.25% to be exact. Sweetened with house made simple syrup - clean, bright, and fresh. Drink within 2 weeks and store in your fridge. Grab a bottle of gin to mix and get after it.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Evan Williams 1783 No 10 Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2018
This is a perfect bourbon. It's super soft and mellow with a great supple sweetness on the front and mid palate. Then it kicks up on the back end with the fantastic spicy notes of cracked peppercorn and cinnamon. And it's really inexpensive. Cheap even. Bring me bottles booze that taste this good for this little money and I'll take that deal every time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Blonde Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2018
It is so refreshing to taste something that is actually made by the people selling it, not just a label slapped on someone else's work. Better yet, it's great to drink something in the craft spirits world that I actually want to drink cause it tastes good. I was pumped when Calwise spirits found its way into my glass. The blonde rum is pot distilled rum from Louisiana sugar cane. This is a perfect starter rum if you're interested in the funky fruity esters that make rums like Hampden prized all over the world, but you're not ready to drive in deep into the world of funk. The blonde rum has just a hint of that funkiness. It's a little floral, it's loaded with pineapple, boasts an agave fruit sweetness and gets mellowed in California Chardonnay barrels to round it out with a creamy palate. Super fun for cocktails and sipping alike.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7233K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
George Dickel is like your favorite musician. Any album they put out you just have to listen to because they're all so damn good. This new barrel is no exception. It might be because I've been drinking so much of it that the twists and turns a new barrel brings stand out in interesting ways, but I think this is the best barrel of the season (and I'm afraid our last for a while). There is a darker caramel note here - almost fudge like. The wood spice takes a back seat to the sweetness of the corn itself. Endlessly smooth and still peppy at 103 proof this is another home run.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Caledonia Spirits Barr Hill "Tom Cat" Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Caledonia Spirits has done a wonderful job on this gin through intense focus. There is only one botanical - Juniper. The complexity comes from one added ingredient. The gin is finished with raw honey from the local Vermont bees. This special spirit is then aged in new virgin oak casks for a short period of time. The end result is spectacular. The nose is bursting with juniper, floral blossoms, and graceful oak spice. The mouth feel is rich and bright with the endless complexities of high quality honey highlighted through the sweet oak spices. Many gins see oak because it's the trendy thing to do. This gin see oak because it elevates the quality to a whole new level. This is far and away the best barrel aged gin I've had.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Finally! I've been hearing about this project from Gary for some time now and it's finally arrived and is in my glass. 7 years on the lees and a little portion of barrel fermented Chardonnay imparts a spectacular brioche character to this wine and great richness. The 7 grams/liter dosage is the perfect balance for the focused acidity. The all estate fruit is full of apples, pears, and bits of dark cherry shine through from the Pinot. All this at the amazing prices we expect from Baron Fuente and our direct import relationship. There is no better wine on the shelf for 50 bucks.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-09-2018
I was so impressed by how fresh and elegant this gin is. It feels brand new yet it hasn't moved too far from a classic London Dry style. The bergamot gives the gin a very delicate citrus note and the ginger a zippy cut, like a beautiful acid line in a great wine. This balances perfectly with the floral tones and rounder woody notes of wormwood and almond. All this comes together with the clean fragrance of juniper and a long dry finish. The balance is spectacular.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-08-2018
I wanted to finish my other tasting duties for the day before hitting this cask strength bad boy. I had poured a glass earlier in the day when the bottle was open and left the glass on my desk. I actually had to move it to another room while tasting other items. It's perfume will absolutely take over the room. There is a reason Hampden is being called the world's most complex spirit. The list of tasting notes is long and seemingly unconstrained. I taste banana's and cream, parfait, flowers, apples, fruit salad, a bready/yeasty quality, a nutty oxidative note, petrol, wet sidewalk, gumballs, raw sugar cane...and that's just the start of the list. If you love pot still rums and want to geek out on the world's finest or just want to make the best damn tiki drink you can come up with, this is the rum to take you there.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2008 Aultmore 9 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Sovereign" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-08-2018
This is a big first fill sherry cask for those who like a dry and savory whisky. This is your Granddaddy's whisky. It's loaded up with cigar box, cedar woods, toffee, coffee, tobacco, rancio, and dark baking chocolate fudge. The finish is dry - like a finely aged Bordeaux, not your Napa red blend. There is a nod to the sweetness of the malt in a dry orange Curacao sort of way. At $50 I'm taking it home to make a proper Rob Roy right now. Dynamite and not to be underestimated.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1995 John McCrae 22 Year Old "K&L Exclusive - Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2017
This struck me as my favorite of the 3 new Sovereign casks. It's lovely, rich, clean, and bright. There is an easy fruitiness full of apples and stone fruits. The spices lean towards the baking type, not peppery or savory. The palate is creamy and smooth, almost like a caramelized marshmallow. The finish is long and clean. All in all a special cask of whisky.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1997 Hector Macbeth 20 Year Old "K&L Exclusive - Sovereign" Single Barrel Cask Strength Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2017
If you're not excited by the value proposition of a teaspooned cask - read David's explanation and you will be. The Hector Macbeth is a home run. I found it surprisingly salty on the nose with a touch of pretty and fresh herbs. The mouth is rich and velvety, loaded with baked bread, cinnamon, and apples. It's basically an American Apple Pie in a scotch. There is a little sandalwood on the finish which is long and full. This is an absurdly good deal.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2008 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-28-2017
There is a wonderful freshness to the 2008. The nose is full of ripe cherries, pungent herbs, a little tobacco and spice, but most of all, a clean bright fresh scent. It's almost floral, but I can't place what flowers it would be. There is a great balance of acidity on the palate. It meshes perfectly with the toasty American Oak and notes of baker's chocolate. The body is full, but silky smooth. The tannins are very refined. I'm pleased to drink this bottle now and put a few in the cellar for future aging. A splendid way to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Vina Ardanza!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 RP 93

1977 Quarles Harris Vintage Port
Review Date: 11-14-2017
Today was my first time tasting Quarles Harris vintage port and I must say, I am extremely impressed. The 1977 is defined by elegance and grace. The first shock was in the color. It's delicate, a clean and bright garnet. It's almost like a Pinot Noir. The aromatics are equally graceful with bright florals and sweet spices. The brandy is perfectly integrated into the wine lending just enough power to carry through the black berries but never overwhelming the fruit notes. From the all-time great 1977 vintageat 40 years old the Quarles Harris does not disappoint.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Basil Hayden's 2017 Release "Dark Rye" Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2017
I had the unusual experience of tasting this out of 5 different prototype whiskey glasses from Denver and Liely (makers of my favorite whiskey glass). I was flabbergasted by the results. Since this was my first glass trial, I was stunned by how much effect glassware shape has on how you perceive the contents of the glass. The glasses I tried were variations on two themes: smaller and tighter bowls and a more expansive bowl with a narrow, but flared opening. The Basil Hayden Dark Rye showed like two different sides to the same coin. In the tighter glass the spicy nature of rye really dominated. There was a distinctly grainy quality to the nose, and subsequently, the taste. The richness of those spices really made it feel like I was just drinking a high-quality rye. However, in the larger bowl with the narrowed opening to concentrate the aromas, the Dark component of this dram really shines through! The port addition (not port barrel aging, but actual port wine added) lends spectacular dark fruit aromas of cassis and blackberry. The anise of the wine plays perfectly with the peppery notes of the rye. The glass trial really highlighted for me the complexity of this spirit and how much drinking pleasure it will give, whether I want to pick it apart or just slam it back and enjoy.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2008 Talisker 8 Year Old "Old Particular - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2017
It is supposed to rain this week in Northern California. Not only is this great news for firefighters and farmers alike, this is great news for whisky fans. It's time to bring on the cozy confines of a peated glass of Scotch. The Talisker 8 year old has everything you might want to kick off the season. No baby, this dram is booming with power and fresh cut peat. Sea spray and cool moss control the nose but don't diminish the underlying barley. There is a finesse there. Balanced and in control the palate is sweet, the texture rich, and the proof high enough to cut. Almost like bright fresh acid in a bottle of Chablis there is a lift provided by the proof. The finish is long and mouth-coating. After you've swallowed there is a cool interplay between the cereal and ash notes of the peat that persists for a long time. This is the perfect transition from hot weather into cool autumn nights until winter truly sets in.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I've been lucky enough to be around when '77's get opened on several occasions. It really is a stunning vintage. Marked by rain the previous winter, cool and long growing conditions, hotter harvest months with just enough sprinkles to keep things fresh, these wines are beautiful and balanced. The richness of the Graham's is off the charts with tons of sweet red and black fruits, but it's marked by strong savory and herbal undertones. A lively thread of acidity runs through it so that every sip hits all your taste buds. This would be a very special way to celebrate your 40th.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

1977 Dow's Vintage Port
Review Date: 10-10-2017
A once in a generation vintage. It's utterly superb across the board. The Dow shows remarkably savory with a wonderfully bright acidity and a core of dark fruits. For someone who doesn't drink an enormous amount of vintage port (not for lack of trying...), I was stunned at just how fresh and youthful this 40 year old wine feels. The perfect way to end a meal, not too sweet, but just sweet enough to scratch your itch for dessert.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 92

1985 Taylor Vintage Port
Review Date: 10-05-2017
I had the lucky fortune to be a part of an incredible port tasting sampling 11 bottles ranging from 1963 to 2011 vintage ports from the major houses. While every wine showed remarkably well, the stand out wine of the night for me was the 1985 Taylor. It stuck me as a picture of elegance. It was concentrated and powerful yet lithe and almost zippy. Loaded with dark fruits, pepper spice, and complex cedar box aromas it was on the one hand hedonistic. On the other hand, the lift and freshness from the acid and the firm backbone of tannin lined everything up in a perfectly orderly fashion. This port shows focus and restraint, yet doesn't lack for the intensity and broad power that you'd expect. It's really a beautiful compilation and it was only heightenedby the perfectly paired and classic Neal's Yard Stilton.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-01-2017
If you've shopped in the Redwood City store for gin in the last year you've definitely talked to me about the Four Pillars gins and heard about this bottling that is FINALLY here. A quick glance at my profile indicates my money is where my mouth is. I've purchased 7 bottles of Four Pillars gin since we started carrying them (among dozen of other gins purchased), all consumed in eager anticipation of our very own blend dropping from Four Pillars under the Faultline label. Now that I have an advance sample of the final product in my glass, I'm even more stoked. Since it's a limited run, I'm purchasing a 6 pack as soon as it lands later this week (I bought 6 of the limited St. George/Faultline #3 we did a few years back and I'm still savoring my last bottle, but never once regretted casing up). It's a spectacular blend of unique Australian botanicals—a real terroir-driven gin. And of course it smacks of the beautiful citrus that is the hallmark of Four Pillars. The most special thing about this gin is the combination of texture and liveliness. It has a sultry mouthfeel, but perks up feeling fresh and zippy at the same time. It's a fascinating combination that lends itself to savoring on its own, or in a martini (but the G&Ts and Negronis will go down real easy). Your wait, and mine, is finally over. Faultline Gin is back in a big way.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Collabor&tion - Mistelle Barrel Finish" Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
If you've ever walked into the store and asked the objectively silly question, "What rare bourbons do you have in stock at a good price?" This is your chance! These are extremely limited, ultra rare bourbons that taste absolutely delicious, unique, and are down right affordable when you consider the other criteria. Mistelle, if you're unfamiliar, is just fortified grape juice (and super tasty). Due to the mistelle cask finish, this bourbon screams out with sensational fruit, you can tell there is a sweetness and intensity to it from the nose, much like a PX-aged Scotch, but with more floral and stone fruit tones, less rancio. The texture is powerful, round and unctuous. And the bourbon itself...10 year old+ goodness bottled at 47%. That in itself is worth a fortune these days, add the most interesting and tasty cask finish I've seen this year and you've got a winner for those bold enough to actually ask, "what's rare and in stock?"
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Collabor&tion - Brandy Barrel Finish" Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
Don't you hate it when you're cruising along and your Sidecar gets stuck in a rut? Break free with this phenomenal collaboration between Kentucky's next big distillery and it's best brandy producer. This 10-year-old bourbon was aged for 18 months in Copper & Kings brandy barrels and then bottled at cask strength. It tastes just like you'd want it to given that pedigree. The high proof ups the intensity of the long brandy finish, the bourbon is sweet and decadent, the flavors complex and well integrated. If you're bold enough to mix your $100 plus hooch (and you should be, but we can get into that another time) this will make the most outstanding twist to your side car or Manhattan that you could hope for. If you want to just sip and savor, I won't judge you, because it is unequivocally delicious and unique on its own.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$99.99

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
You don't even have to nose the glass to be hit by the wave of intense spice, vanilla, and molasses oozing into the air. This is big and rich rum from Foursquare any way you slice it. Touches of candied orange and almonds round out the bourbon cask profile. This rum is clean, big, and amazingly unadulterated with syrups and sugars. Whether you need something to sip on after dinner to satisfy a sweet tooth but don't want the cloying stickiness of many rums or are looking for your next house rum for tiki drinks, this should be a big hit.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-20-2017
I'm so thrilled this has arrived! I was fortunate enough to taste a sample 3 weeks ago and I've been hounding David about the release date ever since! Better yet, this isn't a flash in the pan. This is part of the new core lineup at Ardbeg and boy does it live up to my high expectations for Ardbeg flagship products. Beautifully married, this blend sings with sea salt brine, extinguished bonfire, malty goodness, and toasted brush. It's even better on the palate. The sweetness of the PX casks really livens up the mix. Cocoa notes and a bourbon spice profile play beautifully with a candied granola that is blanketed in the smooth smoky profile of Ardbeg you already love. Did I mention this is here to stay? I only have to buy one today, because after I finish it I can buy another next week. And the week after. Glorious.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2015 Hentley Farm "Old Legend" Grenache Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-11-2017
If you poured this blind the first thing you'd think is that it was a Pinot Noir. The color is astonishing, light and ethereal. The wine is equally beautiful and elegant,but not lacking for powerful structure, this wine feels fresh and very complex . There is spectacular sweet fruit, raspberries in particular and an elegant oak treatment. If you're looking to probe the upper echelon of quality Grenache, this wine must not be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 WE 91

2014 Cliff Lede Stags Leap District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-11-2017
"Beautiful, full + elegant. Great oak influence and balance." These were the first thoughts I had and the start of copious notes upon tasting this wine for the first time. This Stags Leap District cab has incredible freshness and vibrancy. Lots of pretty purple flowers and deep dark fruits combined. The oak fits in with the fruit perfectly, never awkward or overpowering, but always contributing in proportion to the intensity of the grapes. The name of the game here is balance. Eminently enjoyable and well suited to food.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 91

2016 Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-11-2017
I'm so excited that we have another vintage of Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir back in stock! Even better than the last vintage, this wine comes to us from a North Coast legend. Loaded with fruit, the ripe cherries mesh with fresh cranberry and even a darker blackberry note. Cola shines through on the nose and palate. The tannins are very soft and polished and play beautifully with the pop and freshness of the wine. This screams Anderson Valley - the big diurnal shifts in temperature contribute to both ripeness and fresh acidity.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2016 Cliff Lede Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This is a super tasty Napa Sauvignon Blanc in the make of great Bordeaux Blanc. It is beautifully crisp and fresh with great florals and citrus notes complementing ripe lychees. Where the comparison to Bordeaux comes in is with the wonderful texture. The primary vineyard in Rutherford is planted to mostly Musque clone and Semillon - responsible for the floral tones and weighty texture respectively. The also gracefully blend Sauv Blanc and Semillon from around Napa to give freshness, lift, and intensity to the wine. All for a smashing price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-06-2017
Truly a remarkable and unique Rioja that deserves your attention. Especially if you're up for trying something unexpected and wonderful. Ultra bright and fresh, this Rioja is made up of Granacha and Mazuelo, but not a drop of Tempranillo. It has incredible aromatics and a lively floral quality that you are more likely to find in Burgundy or the Willamette Valley. The acid is tremendously refreshing, but balanced perfectly with the ripe red fruits. The tannins are fine and the finish long. This is a special wine that is extremely versatile in food pairings from light fish to hearty chorizo paella and some of your favorite vegetable dishes to boot.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2017
I have long been recommending the Highland Park 12 year for its incredible quality and supreme value. Coming in at the sub-50 range is hard to do for really great Scotch these days. Well my favorite Orcadian distillery has delivered a new dram for under 30 bucks that will blow you away. It's a bold statement that extraordinary doesn't have to mean extremely expensive. This whisky is peaty and intense with the light and airy demeanor that makes Highland Park so seductive. I don't have enough superlatives to describe how amazing the value is here. If half the $60 whiskys on the shelf tasted half this good, I'd be thrilled.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1996 Tamdhu 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2017
What a refreshing whisky. Classic, understated but hugely flavorful. It has a fresh and bright feel; it's sweetly honeyed with a spritz of citrus on the nose. Touch of spice on the palate up front with gobs of caramelized sugar on the back end. The finish is clean and pure vanilla and cinnamon sugar. Rocking good on its own or for a highball. And like nearly all of our cask selections, this clocks in at a full proof of 54.1% giving you tons of flexibility to drink as you please.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 next