Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-02-2018
Fresh and juicy! This Pinot is an absolute steal and made in a style that you don't often find in this price point. It has great lift and bright acidity making it a wonderful food pairing wine. I'd recommend it with a simple roast chicken or fish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Auchentoshan Three Wood Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2018
Filled in 3 different barrel types, this dram showcases American Bourbon casks, Spanish Olorosso butts, and unctuous Pedro Ximenez casks. This cask regimen does several things. The bourbon highlights the inherent fruity, vanilla cake, and creme brulee character of the spirit. The Olorosso adds gobs of cocoa, nuttiness, and toffee. And of course, the PX dials up a beautiful sweetness, intensity, and raisined fruits. While this triple casks regime adds layers of complexity, body, and richness, it also belies the notion that Lowland whisky is light and simple. At just $56.99 this is a shameless sherry dram for every day enjoyment. While the lowlands does have some highly coveted bottles, it's this kind of easy enjoy-ability that makes it such a special place for whisky.
Price: $56.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Auchentoshan "Bartender's Malt - Edition 1" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-25-2018
My first experience tasting this whiskey was when David Driscoll poured it for me blind. My immediate reaction was: "well that's delicious, what's it cost, about 100 bucks?" When he told me it was well under $50 I walked downstairs and bought a bottle without saying another word. It's been an absolute go to ever since. The whisky itself is a blend of 5 decades of malt in all different types of barrels hand selected from Auchentoshan's warehouses by 12 of the world's best bartenders. The results are incredible. The whisky is fruity, malty, spicy, and sweet all at once. The elegant nature of the spirit produced by Auchentoshan's triple distillation makes this the perfect whisky for summer. The richness from all the different types of wood and ages makes it perfect for sipping. And the crazy price makes it the best possible base for your next cocktail. I recommend a Rob Roy.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This is an textbook example of the classic 2012 vintage. It's supremely drinkable now, but has the stuffing to last for a decade or three in the cellar. It's elegant yet rich and full of dark wild cherries and a savory herb garden of delight. The acidity is spot on and provides tremendous length and focus to the wine. There is a good reason this property is a perennial staff favorite.

2017 Château Léoube Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-19-2018
So many Provence roses are fresh and lively, but not all of them actually pack in much flavor or texture. The Leoube does both! It's super zippy, yet loaded with juicy fruits a plush palate (for rose). It's of course not a full bodied cab, but it has weight and texture that makes it a perfect pairing for grilled fare or a hot summer afternoon and light poolside snacks.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Mount Langi Ghiran "Cliff Edge" Shiraz Victoria
Review Date: 06-19-2018
The Cliff Edge is supple, rich, and lively. A fantastic combination for both easy drinking and food pairing. This Shiraz comes from cooler climate sites and is picked early for freshness, but doesn't lack for beautiful ripe fruits and a little touch of peppery soul. It's a great bottle to pair with a summer BBQ or to just bring to your next casual office party happy hour.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 VN 92

Kaiyo "The Peated" Mizunara Oak Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2018
This instantly skyrocketed to my favorite of the 3 Kaiyo bottlings. The peat is just big enough to amp up everything else about the whisky but not overpower it. The first thing you notice is the incredible fruitiness of the spirit. Green apples stand out in a big way. The peat comes in a little bit later and takes the edge off of the sweet fruit. Salted caramel, sea spray, and other salty notes also hit it big on the nose. Perhaps this comes from the long ocean voyage the whiskey makes before bottling. The rocking of the ship and the intense humidity, pressure, and temperature changes from this trip allows for maximum contact and interaction between the juice and the world famous Mizunara Oak. The palate comes through with more cereal notes and lets the malt shine. The fruit dives into a more complex tropical set of flavors. Tons of coconut, pineapple, and sweet florals come out to play. The finish is quite long and presents really clean with just a graceful wafting smoke. All around a spectacular dram.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2013 Casa Lapostolle "Cuvee Alexandre" Cabernet Sauvignon Apalta Vineyard
Review Date: 06-13-2018
Getting great old vine Cabernet from Chile is difficult to find. Much like California, a lot of Cab gets ripped up after 30 or 40 years when yields begin to drop. Not for Lapostolle! They are making this wine from 60 year old vines which offer immense concentration and power. Even more incredible than their foresight to keep this vineyard intact, is the fact that they can offer this wine for such a low price!

Pacory "L'Ideal" Ferme des Grimaux Poiré Domfront Organic Pear Cidre
Review Date: 06-13-2018
I'm so excited this has arrived. It's a fresh and fun cidre just in time for summer. It has, as you'd expect, intense pear fruitiness. But more than that it offers a full spectrum of pear complexity. It's off-dry and delightful. Served chilled it's very refreshing. I don't have a pool, so I can't open it there but I live near the beach and you'd better believe I'm drinking more than one of these on the sand this summer!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Pacory 15 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Domfrontais Calvados (750ml)
Review Date: 06-12-2018
An incredible fruit brandy from 100% pears and aged 15 years in oak. It's amazing to think that after that much time the oak doesn't overpower the pears, but indeed rings in as the perfect complement. Everything here is in balance and the combination of preserved and fresh ripe pear is something special. Fruit brandy lovers rejoice!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-12-2018
I've consumed more bottles of Lesmos than I can count. It is a key component and early catalyst in my long love affair with Rioja. The 2006 Reserva fits right in! It's a splendid follow up to the wildly popular 2005 and strikes the great balance between beautiful ripe fruit, delicate savory earth tones, and a bright acidity and freshness. Vinified in cement tank, aged wood, and absolutely no stainless steel, Lesmos fit's into the "classic" or "old school" category of Rioja. It's not to be missed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-12-2018
In the vintner's canon of California's 2013 vintage, this wine must be part of the gospel. It is undoubtedly a legendary classic in the making. It has everything. Heavy cassis fruit to lead an army of berries and black plums, an entire kitchen spice cabinet dominated by savor and spice and backed up with the sweeter spices from a perfect level of oak influence. Tobacco, cedar and cigar box are abundant. The acidity is incredible amidst all of the fruit. The tannin management is on point. This is a full bodied and rich cabernet that is defined by elegance and harmony. 2013 Mount Eden Cabernet undoubtedly has many years ahead of it and will feature heavily in some incredible evenings.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-12-2018
I don't have enough hyperbole to accurately describe how impressive Mount Eden is. It has always been a personal go to for a special bottle of Santa Cruz Mountain wine in any varietal they make. The 2014 pinot is no exception. It's very lively and fresh, but is really marked by a more savory tone than I remember from great vintages in the past. Given that I typically expect those flavors to develop with time in the cellar I'm thrilled to see what kind of added complexity this will have in due time.

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-12-2018
There are not many chardonnays that I recommend decanting, but this is one of them. It's built for the ages. It has drive and bright freshness and a flinty matchstick character that I almost exclusively associate with high end white Burgundy. The weight is super impressive and doesn't come exclusively from oak like so many CA chards but from intensity of fruit and a deft hand in the cellar. It's drinkable now with some time in the decanter, but it's also a wonderful cellar candidate from the legendary estate in the Santa Cruz Mountains.

2015 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-12-2018
2015 is not short on great wines from Bordeaux. But in the sub $15 range there seem to be two types of wine. One style is sweet and juicy, but lacking in structure and substance. The other style is 2015 Beaumont! It has the cassis, blackberry and other dark fruits you'd expect from the vintage, but it's structure is splendid. It's the type of inexpensive wine that is utterly perfect to follow through the years. It's so reasonably priced you can put away a case or two and drink a couple of bottles a year for the next dozen. It's the most enjoyable way to "study" how a wine ages and this is the perfect candidate.

2015 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-12-2018
A perennial favorite at K&L, the Lanessan wines seem to get better every time I taste them. I've been a huge fan of previous vintages like 99, 01, and 07, but 2015 takes the cake. The strength of the vintage is part of the reason for this excessive praise, but infact the winemaking seems to be improved as well. Rather than have to wait for 10 or 15 years for Lanessan to strut, the 15 is a wonderful glass of wine right now and simply has the added bonus of assured improvement with age. It's sweetly fruited and savory at the same time, a beautiful combination for any Bordeaux. Be sure to decant it so the earthier tones can express themselves too!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Castello di Volpaia Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-12-2018
A wonderful achievement. Great wine makers skills truly come out in tough vintages. It's no secret that 2014 wasn't as strong as it could have been in Tuscany, but Volpaia has made one of the most accessible and easy drinking Chianti's I've had from any vintage and it sits atop the list for 2014 in particular. It is the perfect Chianti to drink now while waiting on the more classically reserved vintages to age and show their true potential. This wine is supple and soft, but not lacking for a backbone. It will pair with a wide range of hearty meals and is a no brainer if you're looking for that bottle to bring that everyone at the table will enjoy.

2014 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 06-12-2018
Our Australian wine buyer, Stefanie, tells me that we've had this wine before, but I have no idea how it possibly slipped past me. The Over The Shoulder pinot and chard have been huge hits with the staff and our customers for several years now, but this little number has flown under the radar. I truly am astounded that this is $9.99. It has a nose like a much more serious cabernet. It's beautiful, loaded with black fruit, but it has an edgier side to it full of cedar, herbal freshness, and savor. When you get it on your palate it's very generous and easy drinking. This is a slam dunk for an every day drinker.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Frenzy Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
Review Date: 06-12-2018
The Frenzy Sauvignon Blanc is a perfect example of the tremendous value available in New Zealand. This Marlborough beauty is fresh and zippy. It's full of grapefruit and other citrus zest. There is a fine minerality on the palate that feels like a day at the beach. A little tropical fruit rounds everything out. This is hands down one of the best summertime sippers we have.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WS 90

Woodinville Straight 100% Rye Whiskey (750ml )
Review Date: 06-10-2018
You can't help but be struck by the nose on this Rye. It is ethereal. I was taken aback by the wonderful fruitiness to it. The baking spices make an obvious appearance and meld with the fruity tones perfectly. The palate is full of honey, bits of pepper, a touch of fresh cut grass, and cinnamon sugar. The most impressive achievement here though is certainly in the finish. It is outstandingly clean and long. While this rye is perfect to sip on its own, it is a dream in a Manhattan or Vieux Carre.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Woodinville Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-07-2018
I love high rye whiskey. It represents the perfect balance for me. Wonderfully sweet corn provides the bulk of this bourbon, as is required, but the high rye and 90 proof bottling dials up the spicy content. It elevates the cocoa and mocha notes and blends them into the caramel and vanilla of the barrel. This 5+ year old bourbon is finally available outside of Washington State for the first time. Fortunately, despite its exclusive nature, it's still super reasonably priced. And excellent bourbon at great prices means it's perfect for cocktails...in fact, I have another Old Fashioned to make...
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L8040K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2018
If you've loved the previous Dickel selections we've bottled, this is a worthy follow up. It's big, bold, and spicy but with the classically smooth finish you want from Dickel. That spice is like you've mixed cinnamon and clove together with fresh saw dust. It's beautiful and full and the perfect playmate for many different cocktails, especially those with a sweet vermouth.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #08D09F70415 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2018
This is the most compelling of the Dickel Barrels to date. It's noticeably different from anything else we've bottled before. While many single barrels are a riff on a theme, the nose here just jumps out as being wildly different. It's fruity, intense, a bit floral, and is the kind of whiskey you'd be happy to nose all night long. The only problem with that plan is that it is so big, full, and rich on the palate that you'd be missing out on the sweet profile and long clean finish.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Barrell 9 Year Old "Batch #15" Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-05-2018
I was blown away by batch #15. Barrell is an independent bottler of American whiskies. They take the best barrels available from the best whiskey producers and put together sophisticated blends. Think of them like the Compass Box of American whiskey. This is a blend of 9.5, 10, and 11 year old barrels from Tennessee and Kentucky. The result is a complex, heady whisky full of honey, candy, golden apple, and loads of wood spice and toasted sugar. The wood tannins are supremely fine and elegant. Balance is absolutely the hallmark of this blend. The full 107.6 proof is simply put; perfection.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5851 Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
This is one of the best rye whiskies to enter my glass in a long time. It's a double take kind of rye. You want to revisit this bottle over and over again. It has all of the sweetness you could ask for, but the real star is the herbal weight and texture. The baking spices are amazing and pretty and sweet, but the star is the pepper, dill, earth, and fennel which blend seamlessly into the whole. If you've ever asked yourself "what are the hallmarks of great rye?" This is the answer.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #3650 (7th Floor, Warehouse B) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
This selection is rich and energetic. The mid-palate is sweet and luscious. The spice lingers on your palate at great length. The finish is long and dry full of complex cedar box and tobacco aromas. I don't smoke anymore, but this bourbon is just begging for a cigar.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wathen’s Private Barrel #59 "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
I try to live my life with a healthy appreciation for balance. Work, family, fun, etc. But in the whisky (and wine) world, you often find people looking for things to be over the top. Superfluous. Dripping in whatever cask finish they've cooked up. Massively extracted. This Wathen's selection challenges all of that. It offers you a little bit of everything in a harmonious package. It's a whisky for how I like to live my daily life. It's got a beautiful sweet corn profile, a little spicy herbal note, wood tannin to bring it all together, and is proofed at a friendly 47%. It is smooth. It is elegant. It is well priced. All around, it's a terrific selection for a drink tonight.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 03-08-2018
This is definitely the tequila you should grab for mixing up cocktails at your next summer soiree. Or for sipping at poker night. Or shots at the club. Or for your Sunday brunch Bloody Maria. Basically, if you need tequila, this should be on your radar. The quality and pedigree is exceptional. The taste is wonderful. The texture is luscious. And best of all: the price is obscenely low!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1991 Cameronbridge 25 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2018
At first blush I thought this to be another straightforward grain cask. Delicious, cheap, rich, smooth, and very crushable. Upon returning to it the next day I've found a surprisingly complex dram. Still all vanilla and richness upfront, but underneath there is an herbaceousness that I didn't really see before. It reminds me just a touch of funky rum with a little hint of banana and floral esters coming through. Need a big age statement to add to the collection and serve to guests but don't want to break the bank? This is the ticket.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

El Tesoro "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #117 Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 03-01-2018
The #117 barrel is darker and more savory than the #110. It does not lack for the intense fruitiness that you can achieve in highland tequila, but it really shows the earthy component more than the fruit. If you want a very clean and pretty sipper but gravitate towards more robust and full tequilas with a touch of savor, this is the barrel for you.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

El Tesoro "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #110 Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 03-01-2018
There is a huge pop of citrus on the nose of the #110 barrel. It smells almost like you've already mixed a margarita. The super clean and bright lime and orange of nose translates just as you'd expect on the palate. The finish comes across with just a hint of salinity. It's amazing how well balanced this single barrel is on its own. Typically to achieve this kind of finesse in a spirit it takes a master blender and hundreds of barrels to work with. When you get it all in one singular cask, that's when you know you need to bottle it on its own.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Moscatel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Moscatel is the driest of the 4 Capurro expressions. It shows off fresh and dried fruits on the nose and upfront on the palate. There are tons of pears and stone fruits. I also find it to have the slight earthy sweetness and vegetal tang of an agave plant. Moscatel is considered by many in Peru to be the best sipping Pisco variety. One sip of this neat and you'll know why. The proof is in the long and lasting finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Torontel Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Torontel Pisco grape comes from the Torontez grape you may already be familiar with. It is highly aromatic and this Pisco has a lush nose full of tropical fruits, jasmine flowers, and fresh cut grass. The finish here is my favorite of the Capurro lineup. It super bright and lifted like a really crisp Gruner Veltliner and it carries on for days. This makes an ideal punch or summertime sipper by the pool.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Quebranta Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
Capurro is known for their single vintage, single variety Piscos and their extreme commitment to quality. While the minimum resting period for Peruvian Pisco is 3 months, Capurro rests theirs until they feel it has achieved its maximum expressive potential - in this case 39 long months! The Quebranta is a Pisco varietal that has parentage in the California Mission Grape. The aromatics are more savory than fruity. They have an earthy, almost dusty tone to them. The flair really comes in the weight and texture of the Quebranta. It's heavier than the other varieties and emulsifies the best for egg based cocktails. If you're making tons of Pisco Sours this will make your life a little easier. The added weight of the Pisco also lets you cut back the sugar in the cocktail just a little.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Capurro Estate Grown Single Vintage Acholado Premium Pisco (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2018
While Capurro Pisco is always single vintage and typically single varietal, the Acholado is a blend of the other 3 grape varieties. The balance here is tremendous and if you're looking for your first great Pisco experience, this is it. There is a great balance between stone fruits and an earthy flavor that offers a faint hint of grass. The texture and finish here are excellent and it will emulsify easily in your Pisco Sour - the key to any good egg based cocktail. Not just for mixing, this also offers a great drinking experience when served neat or with a dose of citrus.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. Morello Cherry Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Love your Luxardo Cherries? Get a bottle of this and find a whole new way to bring intense cherry flavor to your cocktails. While this is both sticky and sweet, it never feels cloying due to an amazingly vibrant acidity. I am taking a bottle home tonight to sub into a Singapore Sling for the Cherry Heering and see what happens. I quite confident the results will be extraordinary. My only problem will be how to avoid putting it on or in everything. At first blush I see candidates in ice cream, chocolate cake, spritz cocktails, Manhattans, Old Fashioneds, and pancakes. I'm sure more ideas will flow as I have a drink or two...
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Somerset Cider Brandy Co. Blackcurrant Liqueur (375ml)
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Sweet Victory! Being fortunate enough to taste hundreds of spirits and liqueurs a year is definitely a big perk of this job that I relish, but the real magic is when you get to taste something that pushes the boundaries of an entire category. When a drink makes you stop and dream of the endless possibilities of how you can enjoy it, you have something special in your glass. I thought we had the world's best Cassis liqueur on lock last year with the Jean Arthaud Creme de Cassis (and Framboise for that matter), but Somerset can truly give it a run for its money. This blackcurrant liqueur is rich, bombastic, sweet, and yet balanced by extraordinary acidity. The added complexity of the underlying apple eau-de-vie pushes it over the top. It's made by macerating black currants from the neighboring farm for a year in the apple eau-de-vie and then pressing the whole thing off. The price is also a joke. This is as premium as cassis can get and yet it's available for an extremely affordable price.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Spios" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
In a world that is begging for more intensity, more peat, more sherry, it is nice to remember that there is also Spios. Dr. Bill Lumsden has taken the ever-elegant Glenmorangie and done something out of passion, with foresight, that began many years ago. Spios preempts the current craze for off-the-wall and envelope-pushing finishes and instead of a kitschy marketing piece, he has made a whisky that is ethereal, elegant, and commanding of your strained attention. Take a moment to realize that what is before your nose isn't rye. At a first lazy blush you might be forgiven for thinking so as the nose shows the peppery spice you'd hope for and the tiniest hint of herbaceousness that reminds you rye is a grass. There is an incredible amount of nuance behind that. Cinnamon, nutmeg, clove all work their way to the fore. American oak makes its presence known. There is a slight creaminess to the palate. Underneath it all, there is the balanced spirit that we know and love as Glenmorangie. Wonderfully floral, fruity, and malty all in one. This is a whisky with a unique finish that deserves your time and contemplation. Step back from the obvious and heavy hitters, and delve into something deeper, with more substance and artistry. Your taste buds will thank you.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Crown Royal Bourbon Mash Blended Canadian Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Smooth, supple, and very drinkable. Almost too drinkable. Sip it, shoot it, mix it, the flavor is rich and will come through in any preparation. The inherent Crown character really shines through and takes me straight back to my college days at UCSB where we were known to go through a bottle or two of CR in my house. I wish I had access to that flavor at this price!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-05-2018
As Burgundian as California gets. If you've ever wondered about the tasting note "flinty" check this bottle out. It has a great crispness and flinty minerality, but does not lack for richness and weight. Two hallmarks of great Burgundian Chardonnay. The fruit quality here is excellent. If you're in the ABC crowd (Anything But Chardonnay) It is definitely time to step back into the fold with this gem. It will surprise you!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "No Name" Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-01-2018
John Glaser, The Alchemist, has done it again. He takes one thing, adds a little of this and a little of that, and he makes that one thing better and more valuable than anyone thought possible. Drams from Pier Road and Port Askaig come together in the perfect marriage with a drop or two of highland goodness to make one seriously peaty, but eminently drinkable scotch. Campfire, both fresh cut and smoldering dry peat are all bound together by maritime air and the magic that is Islay. There is a medicinal quality that will make you contract a serious case of Munchausen Syndrome. For a limited bottling we've managed to lock down a pretty serious allocation (thank you, David!) but it will be gone before you know it.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Ayate Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-30-2018
True highland agave purity and complexity is bolstered by the added richness and weight from 4 months in Chardonnay barrels. This tequila is one of the absolute smoothest and most approachable tequilas we have on the shelf, second only to the Ayate Anejo. If you loved the Casamigos tequilas, take a huge step up and sink yourself into the Ayate. With less sweetness than Casamigos, but just as much richness, this is the best tequila to serve at your next party and really impress your guests.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

broVo Pink Rose Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2018
Maybe the most unusual of the broVo vermouths, this is a base wine of Pinot Noir Rose. It gets cooked up with a proprietary blend of 26 herbs and spices and shows a great balance between spice, citrus, herbaceous, and floral characteristics. There is a great creaminess to this one that is just begging to be served as an aperitif. Pour it over ice and add a splash of club soda and your afternoon just got a lot better.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Evan Williams 1783 No 10 Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2018
This is a perfect bourbon. It's super soft and mellow with a great supple sweetness on the front and mid palate. Then it kicks up on the back end with the fantastic spicy notes of cracked peppercorn and cinnamon. And it's really inexpensive. Cheap even. Bring me bottles booze that taste this good for this little money and I'll take that deal every time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Calwise Spiced Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2018
Historically we don't really carry spiced rums here. You won't find Cap'n Mo' or any tattooed sailors on our shelves. Not that those aren't tasty, but they don't exactly capture the imagination. The spiced rum from Calwise has so much brightness to it. Made from molasses, not any caramel additives, it's dosed with a strong orange peel kick, nutmeg and ginger. The ginger in particular lights up your palate and leaves you feeling fresh and snappy. This is a slam dunk for casual cocktails or elevate your bartending game and find the perfect set of ingredients to really bring out the complexity in the rum.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7233K1007 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
George Dickel is like your favorite musician. Any album they put out you just have to listen to because they're all so damn good. This new barrel is no exception. It might be because I've been drinking so much of it that the twists and turns a new barrel brings stand out in interesting ways, but I think this is the best barrel of the season (and I'm afraid our last for a while). There is a darker caramel note here - almost fudge like. The wood spice takes a back seat to the sweetness of the corn itself. Endlessly smooth and still peppy at 103 proof this is another home run.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Caledonia Spirits Barr Hill "Tom Cat" Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Caledonia Spirits has done a wonderful job on this gin through intense focus. There is only one botanical - Juniper. The complexity comes from one added ingredient. The gin is finished with raw honey from the local Vermont bees. This special spirit is then aged in new virgin oak casks for a short period of time. The end result is spectacular. The nose is bursting with juniper, floral blossoms, and graceful oak spice. The mouth feel is rich and bright with the endless complexities of high quality honey highlighted through the sweet oak spices. Many gins see oak because it's the trendy thing to do. This gin see oak because it elevates the quality to a whole new level. This is far and away the best barrel aged gin I've had.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Finally! I've been hearing about this project from Gary for some time now and it's finally arrived and is in my glass. 7 years on the lees and a little portion of barrel fermented Chardonnay imparts a spectacular brioche character to this wine and great richness. The 7 grams/liter dosage is the perfect balance for the focused acidity. The all estate fruit is full of apples, pears, and bits of dark cherry shine through from the Pinot. All this at the amazing prices we expect from Baron Fuente and our direct import relationship. There is no better wine on the shelf for 50 bucks.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-09-2018
I was so impressed by how fresh and elegant this gin is. It feels brand new yet it hasn't moved too far from a classic London Dry style. The bergamot gives the gin a very delicate citrus note and the ginger a zippy cut, like a beautiful acid line in a great wine. This balances perfectly with the floral tones and rounder woody notes of wormwood and almond. All this comes together with the clean fragrance of juniper and a long dry finish. The balance is spectacular.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive 9 Year Old Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-08-2018
I wanted to finish my other tasting duties for the day before hitting this cask strength bad boy. I had poured a glass earlier in the day when the bottle was open and left the glass on my desk. I actually had to move it to another room while tasting other items. It's perfume will absolutely take over the room. There is a reason Hampden is being called the world's most complex spirit. The list of tasting notes is long and seemingly unconstrained. I taste banana's and cream, parfait, flowers, apples, fruit salad, a bready/yeasty quality, a nutty oxidative note, petrol, wet sidewalk, gumballs, raw sugar cane...and that's just the start of the list. If you love pot still rums and want to geek out on the world's finest or just want to make the best damn tiki drink you can come up with, this is the rum to take you there.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next