Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Cindy Westby

Cindy Westby

Reviews

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-15-2017
I was lucky enough to taste the Krug 2004 Vintage right next to the Krug Grand Cuvee Edition 160 - which has 2004 as its foundation. It was a joy to contemplate the artistry of both approaches. The Grand Cuvee featuring the expert blending of reserve wines back to 1990 to create the top expression of this house. Contrasted with the purity of the 2004 Vintage. A glimpse into that particular growing season, like a portrait representing a moment in time that will be referred back-to again and again. The 2004 Vintage is exquisite, vibrant and fresh - a prime candidate for cellar ageing. And when compared to some of its peers from other regions like Burgundy or Bordeaux, a supreme value!

2004 Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle - Cuvée Alexandra" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2017
After a massive champagne tasting this week, with too many great wines to count- one of our behind-the-scenes "Operations Heroes" had the good sense to sneak the remains of this bottle home for his dinner. He has good taste! This wine was an all around favorite, with so much savory goodness and pedigree. Definitely a special occasion splurge, but it will not disappoint!

2015 Te Mata "Estate" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-25-2017
Tasted on 8/16 in our Hollywood store, this wine was a WOW. Light on its feet, bright fruit and smoky black pepper, I was instantly in love. I've since had this wine with the classic dish "chicken marbella", and the slightly less elegant Amici's pizza...it was a winner each time!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
Looking back, my last Launois Champagne review was for the 2005 Special Club. Now we are on to the 2008 and they are very, very different wines! The 2008 is a classic example of Mesnil's bright, chalky terroir and that electric backbone of minerality. Letting it warm up just a bit provides hints of future enjoyment with lemon curd and graham cracker crumbs. A prime candidate for ageing, you will wish you'd bought twice as much!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2017
While I wasn't blessed with "legs for days" - I CAN have "length for days" in this delicious champagne. The 2008 vintage has not let me down yet and this wine is no exception. Lush and complex -- the finish goes on for a mile... At sub-$40, it's a must-try!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-21-2017
While vintage Champagne is meant to reflect the nuance of a particular growing season, and multi-vintage Champagne is typically representative of a "house style"- I love the deliberate use of three distinct declared vintages in Laurent Perrier's 'Grand Siecle'. The three vintages are 100% Grand Cru and chosen for their complementary flavors. Cellar Master Michel Fauconnet says one vintage is chosen for structure, one for finesse and one for freshness. Truly the "cream of the crop" from this superlative Champagne House!

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-23-2017
Sometimes it is impossible to separate an outstanding wine from an outstanding setting! I recently enjoyed this champagne in Point Reyes, under a huge umbrella in the pouring rain. And while slurping down the freshest oysters in the land, this champagne seemed to have as much complexity, as much vibrancy and as much freshness as my glorious surroundings.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2016
This champagne is very good company. Endlessly complex, revealing different dimensions with each sip. Starting its savory story when the glass is full and cold, all the way until the final delicious drop, a bit warmer and with some of the bubbles subdued. An absolute STEAL for the price - and a must-try for all champagne lovers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2015
Another new Champagne to love! Tons of dark cherry fruit leaps from the glass in this barrel fermented beauty. Very expressive, with both a lushness in the mouth and that classic bright acid zing!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jardesca California Aperitiva (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2014
Looking for a lighter, fresher alternative to a "Bloody Mary Bar"? Serve this little beauty over ice with a few pretty bowls of herb and citrus garnish at your next brunch, BBQ, book club or pool party - and watch it disappear!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks ) (Discontinued by manufacturer)
Review Date: 05-21-2014
What do our kitchen cupboards absolutely NOT need? Another wine glass. But I have to give credit where credit is due. This is a lovely glass for champagne. A hybrid in-between flute and white wine glass, the tulip shape allows the wine even more expression and yet still shows off the beautiful bubbles. I am so taken by this new glass I'm worried my flutes might get a bit dusty!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2012
Back at home after a particularly rough day my husband went on his nightly expedition to the wine cellar in our garage. When he returned with this wine - my jaw dropped. "Sometimes you've got to live a little", he said. Live a little indeed! A spectacular champagne with lots of everything, but not too much of anything. Black and red fruited nose,candied blood orange, toasted nuts, rose petals on the palate - velvety but vivacious. Balanced and luxurious, this was a special treat I will not soon forget.

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-17-2012
While it's common to start with a bone-dry wine as the aperitif, I favor wines with a little more "oomph" for companionship as I get dinner on the table. A glass of the Gosset Brut Excellence keeps my hunger pains at bay with exotic freshness and a round, supple texture. A special value right now at $25.99 - you'll have to race me to the shelf!

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
Medium body, gobs of dark red cherry Pinot fruit. Satisfying and delicious alone - or paired with something on the earthy, savory side.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2009
Adding a couple of ice cubes to this 100 proof spirit really tames the beast, bringing out the sweetness and rye-bread aromatics. A wonderful digestif after dinner - with a very reasonable price tag.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2009
This Champagne has big style! I love to treat myself to a glass on a Sunday afternoon, read a good book - and pointedly ignore the laundry.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-09-2009
It blows my mind. $32.99, really? Small production grower rose champagne, aged on the lees for 5 years?? Are you sure, only $32.99? Beautiful to behold with its tawny pink color - and a joy to consume with layers of flavor and aroma. Enjoy alongside baked ham, herbed quiche - or even smoked almonds as an afternoon treat!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2008
I love the family resemblance between the Rene Collard and the Collard-Picard wines! Still the earthy and savory meunier flavor, but with a lighter hand and more zing! This wine is a great choice when you want that mature champagne flavor, without the wait!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart