Staff Favorites - Mari Keilman

Mari Keilman

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Kings Carey Happy Canyon of Santa Barbara Semillon
Review Date: 06-19-2018
While Kings Carey isn't the first to do a single vineyard domestic Semillon, they're definitely the best I've ever tasted and one of the most interesting white wines I've had in quite some time! Semillon can be a chameleon of a white varietal and the style that James Carey chooses to approach the varietal is the most successful that I've seen to date. Starting from an oxidative path, the semillon instantly gravitates and embraces the nutty, glycerol and almost oily palate, but since Semillon is such a dichotomous grape there is a suprising zesty and citrus-laden lift on the palate. This is truly a wine that deserves some serious time and devotion given too.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda "Lot 2" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-30-2018
It's few and far between that a wine and deal this great come along! Fans of big, unctuous, hedonistic Napa Cabs are used to spending upwards of $50-100 to get a plush, full bodied, ripe yet decadently oaky wine but now they don't have too! The Kalinda Lot #2 could possibly be the demise of over-priced, opulent cab producers that don't take into consideration that the Kalinda wines are here to over deliver on both price and quality!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 05-29-2018
Amazing palate full of juicy sun-baked red fruit with hints of spice and sweet leather. Perfect for an evening of family-style pasta or pizza.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-29-2018
It's no secret that the Spellbound is one of our best selling chardonnays and with a name like Mondavi behind it, it's a no brainer as to why! But this domestic chardonnay is more than just the name. In the past, customers kept coming back for the big, massive oak bomb that would explode of the palate but this vintage takes it to the next level. Texture is the key word for the 2016 because the lush yet glycerol mouthfeel helps keep the toasted oak in check and helps to elevate the stone and clean tropical fruit notes that emerge on the mid palate. This stainless steel and barrel fermented chardonnay blend is an absolute must have at every festivity!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Mendocino County Syrah
Review Date: 05-29-2018
Traditional blackberry fruit on the nose and palate is accompanied by a subtle touch of pepper and flinty minerality. What really makes me excited about this wine is the ample amount of acidity that puts everything in harmony with this wine!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Roederer Estate "L'Ermitage" Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 05-11-2018
Before I became the Domestic Buyer in the Hollywood store, I was the Champagne liaison and everyone who knew me back them will tell you how obsessed I was (and still am) with it. And even though I like to think that I never did, I'm sure I probably made statements here and there about how all other sparkling wines made throughout the world are inferior to Champagne. But every know and then I have a bottle of bubbles that knocks my socks off and makes me eat my own words. I've always been a huge fan of Roederer Estate, even saying it's the closest domestic producer to Champagne, and the 2011 Roederer l'Ermitage Brut is stunning! The aromatics explode out of the glass with fresh quince and white stone fruit and subtle hints of chalkiness. The palate comes alive with mouth tingling vibrancy and bright acidity. Subtle layers and a nutty, elegant finish hint to the wines aging potential.​
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
WE 95 WS 93

2013 Caduceus "Nagual de la Naga" Arizona Red Blend
Review Date: 04-14-2018
The 2013 Nagual de la Naga ($49.99) is Keenan's homage to the Italian varietals that thrive within the Arizona climate. Sangiovese with a splash of Cabernet Sauvignon, this delightful little blend is exactly how I envision the future of World Class caliber wines from Arizona. Upon immediately tasting the Naga, it is very evident how well Sangiovese takes to the AZ climate. It is a bright yet ripe, full bodied yet sophisticated, quenching yet indulgent red wine. The Naga is a true illustration of transparency in showcasing the Arizona terroir.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Caduceus "Anubis" Arizona Red Blend
Review Date: 04-14-2018
The 2013 Nagual de la Naga ($49.99) is Keenan's homage to the Italian varietals that thrive within the Arizona climate. Sangiovese with a splash of Cabernet Sauvignon, this delightful little blend is exactly how I envision the future of World Class caliber wines from Arizona. Upon immediately tasting the Naga, it is very evident how well Sangiovese takes to the AZ climate. It is a bright yet ripe, full bodied yet sophisticated, quenching yet indulgent red wine. The Naga is a true illustration of transparency in showcasing the Arizona terroir.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-03-2018
​I'll be the first to admit it; I really don't know as much about Freemark Abbey as I should. Being in the industry for as long as I have, driving by the property everyday as I drove to wo​rk in St Helena and enjoying their wines for more than a decade, one would assume that I would be a expert on anything and everything that is Freemark Abbey, but for so many years, this historical winery has alluded me. I won't regurgitate the monotonous legacy that seems to follow most wineries and their early beginnings, but it was a pleasant surprise to discover that Freemark Abbey (or Tychson Cellars as it was originally named) was the home to the first recorded female vintner and owner. While the winery and estate may have a historical past, the real story of this proprty is how the wine has continued on the legacy vintage after vintage. Every time I open a bottle of Freemark Abbey Cab, I know I'm getting one of the greatest values from Napa Valley. Even though the 2014 is still young, this Cab is already exhibiting an elegant yet structured palate and mouthfeel that is full of beautiful texture yet desired tannins. The palate opens up to a showy display of both black and red currants with accents of crushed violets and roses. The nail in the coffin is the long, persistent finish loaded with notes of savory herb and subtle anise that are perfectly framed with a bright and vibrant acid structure​ that helps elongate the quenching pleasurable juiciness of this fun yet ageable Cabernet!

2016 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-13-2018
For all those who are looking for a classic, elegant Pinot Noir that won't break the bank, Rickshaw is your pick. This wine has an extremely supple and smooth mouthfeel of black cherry. The rich red fruit and ample acidity on the finish make this the perfect wine to sip alone and to have with dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$10.99

2016 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
Loaded with tons of fresh meyer lemon and lime, this gruner is true to its Austrian roots with just a hint of the classic white pepper spice. But what sets the Etz apart from the liter pack are the notes of white nectarine and stone fruit that make this a perfect white for paring with almost any springtime fair.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Spottswoode Napa-Sonoma Counties Sauvignon Blanc (375ml)
Review Date: 03-06-2018
When it comes to Sauvignon Blanc, there has to be crisp, refreshing aciding and the 2016 Spottswoode Sauvignon Blanc is loaded with it. This Sauvignon Blanc has it all; high-toned aromatics of white floral, guava and lemon with an elegant glycerol palate, full of waxy resinous notes and carmalized fruit on the finish. The intensity, focus and precision are what make this Sauvignon Blanc a serious contender for cellaring adding another notch to Spottswoode’s lasting legacy.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-27-2018
This is truly the "baby Rombauer"! Rich, creamy texture with classic tropical fruit. With Rombauer being even richer and oakier, I prefer the Napa Cellars when I'm needing a wine with brighter acidity and lift to pair with my favorite summertime meals.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bonny Doon "A Proper Claret" Red Blend
Review Date: 02-27-2018
Bonny Doon has always chosen the not so obvious, off the beaten path varietals for their wines, but when they finally got around to putting this tiny little grape called Cabernet Sauvignon in their wines, they decided to treat it in the old-school Bordeaux style of a "Claret" by creating a light and fruity, easy to drink red blend that was once all the rage in England during the 18th century. And that is precisely what this wine embodies; a fun, juicy, quasi bistro-style blend that is sure to surprise those discerning palates while simultaneously capturing the delight of those not so pompous. This is a true crowd pleaser that will win over every audience with its spicy red fruit and silky yet lifted texture!
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 90

2015 Taken Wine Co. "Complicated" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-20-2018
When talking about Pinot Noir, it's often extremely difficult to find a varietally correct, wonderfully crafted, well balanced example for less than $20. This is where the Taken Pinot takes center stage. Exactly what you would expect from a Sonoma County Pinot Noir; soft cherry and strawberry, fresh vanilla and the classic bright and quenching finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Austin Hope Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-26-2018
I preach a lot about bringing the Old World style to the New World in the form of acid and balance, but sometimes I just want some fruit! Whether I'm cooking a giant rib roast or it's 20 degrees outside, sometimes the occasion calls for something more robust and fruit-driven then the high-acid, spicy reds that typically grace my wine fridge, and that is where the Austin Hope Cab Sauv steps in! Paso Robles never disappoints when it comes to bringing the fruit, and the Austin Hope is full of copious amounts of blackberry, blueberry, plum and cocoa. Top this off with a palate that is a touch brighter than its obvious competitor and close comparison, all the while still delivering the intense, rich black fruit and mocha that big Cali Cab drinkers want and drink.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

2013 Silverado Vineyards Estate Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-24-2018
Silverado is an old school, traditional producer and that is exactly what you get from this Cab. Classics aromatics on the nose with subtle green and spice notes, coupled with black raspberry black cherry and plum. The palate is silky and supple with some nice grippy but needed tannins. Top this under $40 Cab with a persistent finish of integrated oak and balanced fruit and you have a time honored Napa Cab style for an amazing value!

2014 Chateau Montelena Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-10-2018
Over the past few vintages, the style of the Montelena Cab has waivered ever so slightly. But I rejoiced with happiness when I tasted the 2014 and realized that the classic Montelena is back! The aromatics couldn't be more classically Napa. Dark cassis, blackberries and red plum marry perfectly with the sophisticated yet structured mouthfeel. At less than $50, you can't find a more refined and polished Napa Valley Cab.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Patz & Hall Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-10-2018
When I think of a classic, varietally correct example of a Sonoma Pinot Noir, my immediate go to is Patz Hall. I love the intense aromatics of cherry and strawberry coupled by the elegant yet pleasing palate. High-toned aromatics of wild strawberry and cherry-cola are coupled with subtle spice and sweet earth. What makes this Sonoma appellated Pinot stand out is the beautiful, refined texture and persistently long finish.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-08-2017
For those who like ripeness without the jamminess, the 2014 Louis Martini Napa Valley is the perfect example of achieving phenolic ripeness without extracted, overwrought fruit. There is full ripeness without sacrificing acidity which allows the dark, purple fruit in this Napa Valley Cab to show through without overpowering and tiring out the palate.

2016 Spottswoode Napa-Sonoma Counties Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 11-14-2017
When it comes to Sauvignon Blanc, there has to be crisp, refreshing aciding and the 2016 Spottswoode Sauvignon Blanc is loaded with it. This Sauvignon Blanc has it all; high-toned aromatics of white floral, guava and lemon with an elegant glycerol palate, full of waxy resinous notes and carmalized fruit on the finish. The intensity, focus and precision are what make this Sauvignon Blanc a serious contender for cellaring adding another notch to Spottswoode’s lasting legacy.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-08-2017
Winemaker Andrew Jones may have only started making wines for his own label a decade ago, but his prior knowledge and experience working in and around almost every Central Coast vineyard has clearly given Andrew a leg up on the competition. The Wonderwall catalog focuses on Chardonnay and Pinot Noir from the most extreme vineyards that Andrew works with, creating wines of balance yet approachability. Super soft and charming up front, the Wonderwall slowly reveals its complexity in the layers of baking spice and sweet earth that come to the forefront with just a slight amount of air. This is the ideal holiday wine for all those fastidious guests who always expect the best.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 DuMol Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-08-2017
The DuMol Pinot Noir is the whole package. While previously the wines were about oak and extraction, today, it's all about balance, ageability and structure, without losing its signature fruit component. There is an elegant juxtaposition in this wine: the ripe approachability with the lifted, refine palate; the deep-seated black cherry and raspberry with the bright cranberry and pomegranate; the beautiful fragrant florality with the savory spice and sweet scorched earth aromatics. This is an exceptionally beautiful Pinot Noir that is sure to please at every holiday festivity.
Price: $68.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tyler "Dierberg Vineyard" Sta Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-31-2017
​​I remember the first time I tasted the wines from Tyler Winery. It was about six years ago and during the time when big, bombastic "Parker" wines were all the rage. But here was this fresh, young winery that was making high acid, structured, Old World style Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. Even I have to admit that initially I wasn't quite mentally prepared for such a racy style coming from a Santa Barbara county producer but I reveled in knowing that this wine would shut down the Francophiles who were always dogging Santa Barbara wines. The Tyler wines are focused, vivid and pure. For everyone that has ever doubted whether Southern California wines could rival Old World wines, the Tyler wines are a must!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tyler "La Encantada" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-31-2017
​​I remember the first time I tasted the wines from Tyler Winery. It was about six years ago and during the time when big, bombastic "Parker" wines were all the rage. But here was this fresh, young winery that was making high acid, structured, Old World style Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. Even I have to admit that initially I wasn't quite mentally prepared for such a racy style coming from a Santa Barbara county producer but I reveled in knowing that this wine would shut down the Francophiles who were always dogging Santa Barbara wines. The Tyler wines are focused, vivid and pure. For everyone that has ever doubted whether Southern California wines could rival Old World wines, the Tyler wines are a must!
Price: $56.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2014 Star Lane Santa Ynez Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-29-2017
It makes complete sense that the Dierberg family would create two different labels and have two different properties to differentiate between the Bordeaux varietals that go to Star Lane Vineyards and the cooler climate varietals like Pinot Noir and Chardonnay that are labeled as Dierberg Vineyard. Even though the vineyards are only about 20 miles apart, they are two extreme climates for growing grapes and the Star Lane Vineyard in Happy Canyon is the perfect terroir to grow Cabernet Sauvignon and all its supporting characters. Warm enough to reach phenolic ripeness but planted with elevation for right amount of stress and diversity, the vines at Star Lane Vineyard produce the perfect balance of rich, concentrated purple and black fruit along side a full bodied but grippy palate. There's a beautiful pure, rawness to this wine in that it tastes like a Cab, but not some overly polished, overly manipulated wine that's lost a little bit of its soul but an authentic Cabernet Sauvignon that is true to its terroir and place. This is Happy Canyon Cab.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 95

2013 Woodward Canyon "Artist Series #22" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-17-2017
This is a wine that you can sink your teeth into! Full bodied and chewy with ample tannins, this is a must have Cab for those who love a wine they can take a bite out of. And while there's a generous amount of body and texture on the palate, the nose is brimming with classic aromatics of black currants, garrigue and dark cacao.

2014 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-11-2017
The Carpe Diem Pinot Noir is classic Anderson Valley Pinot Noir. There is a beautiful wave of ripe, red strawberry and cherry that pops on the fuller-than-expected palate. And while there's a touch more weight than usual, the Carpe Diem has a bright, playful mouthfeel that is matched by lively baking spices and rose petals on the palate. This is a fun, inexpensive Pinot that will delight at every holiday occasion this season!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 WE 91

2014 Spottswoode "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-10-2017
The 2014 Spottswoode Estate Cab is a Napa Valley cab that will stand the test of time. This Cab is powerful and concentrated, full of blackcurrant and plum, baking spice and graphite. What lets me know how beautifully this wine will age is the ever-present silky tannins alongside a bright, youthful freshness. The firm acid structure is a true indicator of long-lived this wine will be!

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 10-03-2017
When tasting almost a hundred wines a week, it’s pretty hard to be blown away, but the first time I tasted the Taken Cabernet Sauvignon, I was floored at the quality and balance of the wine, and then I was left speechless when they told me the price! Right out the gates you are met with aromatics of black cherry, red plum and dark chocolate. The palate is plush and full bodied, with a nice balance between ripe fruit, integrated tannins and balanced acidity. This wine isn’t for those faint of heart, though, because there is plenty of grip and structure that stands up to even the big boys in Napa Valley!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Sequoia Grove Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-29-2017
​Now this is Napa Valley Cab! Instantly on the nose, whether blind tasting or not, you can tell that it's a Napa Valley Cabernet. ​While there is a subtle underlying herbaceous note, most likely due the splash of Cab Franc, classic aromatics of black cherry, currant, blackberry, sweet dried oak and mocha dominate the nose and palate. Matching the intense aromatics is a weighty yet silky mouthfeel that rounds out this classic yet inexpensive NV Cab.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
CG 90

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Dry Creek Valley is always noted for its slightly cooler climate lending to brighter, more high-toned red fruit and spice notes and the Cortina is a classic Dry Creek Zin with its beautiful aromatics of sweet savory herbs matched by the presence of black raspbery, red plum and licorice. Accompanying the lifted black and red fruit on the nose is an assortment of subtle szechuan peppercorn, sweet bramble and savory baking spices.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2013 Antica Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-22-2017
​I love it when an Old World producer decides to make wines in the New World region of Napa. I don't always personally love the wines, but I always appreciate the injection of traditional styles, philosophies and practices into a youthful and eager to learn region. The Antica cab from Antinori is that clear cut example of how a family so steeped in Old World traditional can make a New World wine with such deft and balance. This Napa Valley cab that comes primarily from Atlas Peak is the perfect harmonious marriage between the formality and restraint of wines made in a cooler and less than forgiving region, with the approachability and wide-eyed eagerness of energetic California cabs. The Antica cab is brimming with black cassis, plum, graphite and a subtle mineral note on the nose. The first impression on the palate upfront is weighty and full bodied, but the prominent structure and acid profile keep this cab from being soft and flabby and give it surprising shape and lift.

2015 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-19-2017
Oh boy does this wine have substance! This is an amazing Columbia Valley Cab for less than $15! The palate is loaded with tons of black currant, kirsch and plum fruit with hints of smoke and subtle tobacco spice. This wine continues to deliver with an upfront, full-bodied palate that is sure to please at any outdoor BBQ!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 08-04-2017
This party-perfect red is full bodied with classic Garnacha aromatics of cherry, strawberry and rhubarb. Whether it's your house red or party-pounder, this Grenache is sure to deliver while keeping the pocketbooks full.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-18-2017
It's impossible to believe that the Napanook is a second wine because most first wines aren't this good! And it's impossible to believe that Dominus was able to pull off another amazing showing after their stellar, critically acclaimed year in 2013. Few wineries are able to achieve such critical success two vintages in a row but Dominus is able to pull it off vintage after vintage. The '14 Napanook is classic Bordeaux style. Quintessential aromatics of savory herb, sweet tobacco, graphite and black currants are amply supported by a supple, silky texture that screams finesse. Add a ripe, medium to full body mid-palate and a persistently long finish of black raspberries and violets and you can easily understand why Dominus deserves the respect it gets.

2014 Marietta "Angeli Cuvee" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 04-28-2017
​I first got to taste this little gem with Scot and the other Bilbro brothers (Jake and Sam) at the winery and instantly fell in love with it. It was Zin but it was Zin with a twist. There was the beautiful upfront dried raspberry and wild blackberry with clean crushed bramble and savory spice, but there was a subtle elegance rarely seen in a young Zin. I tasted it again when I opened it for the staff a while later and fell in love with it in a whole new way. There was so much potential to this unassuming Zinfandel, Petit Sirah & Carignan blend. Along with the wild berry notes were now aromatics of honeycomb, rose petals and fresh golden raisins along with some clean scorched earth. I was automatically transported to Bordeaux and couldn't believe how an old school field blend could be so reminiscent of such an esteemed wine region. Enjoy this beautiful little blend now for a sophisticated and beautiful blend that would pair with any Springtime fair, or squirrel one away for a few years and be pleased with the brilliant choice you made to actually age an Zin-based blend!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Martinelli "Grace Nicole - Zio Tony Ranch" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-17-2017
I love the contrast between the Bondi Home Ranch Pinot to the Zio Tony Ranch Pinot. While the Bondi is more savory and lifted, the Zio Tony is dense and brooding. Aromatic blue fruit and violets jump out of the glass accompanied by fresh molasses and blackberry notes. The real difference between the two single vineyards is in the weight; the Zio Tony is rich, concentrated and full bodied (for a pinot noir). I always try to steer away from the classic rib-eye steak and cali cab pairing and this pinot noir is the ideal replacement to pair with any steak dinner!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 96

2014 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Syrah-Grenache
Review Date: 03-09-2017
The syrah/Grenache blend isn’t obscured with fancy winemaking or obnoxious use of new oak. Instead, this Rhone Blend is indicative of the historic yet unique terroir that this vineyard embodies. Expressive aromatics of cedar, pink peppercorn, black cherries and blackberries along with a vibrant lift on the palate are a direct response to the cold foggy mornings but the luscious, seamless texture is a nod to the warm Healdsburg afternoons. A bottle of this is definitely getting tucked away in my cellar!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2012 Keenan Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-27-2017
Keenan has always been one of my top, go-to Napa Valley wineries. Quality and purity should be their middle names. Coming from their Spring Mountain estate, the Napa Valley Cabernet shows ripe blackberry fruit coupled with a strong tannin structure that will resolve with few years in bottle or a few hours of decanting. While it's a very serious style that could age for a few decades, the NV Cab is also full of some "sweet" and savory notes of dark chocolate and baking spice that keep this wine light on its feet.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 90

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-12-2016
In my humble opinion, the most underrated sparkling on the market is the Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine ($24.00). There’s a touch more Chardonnay in the rosé than in the brut, and the Chardonnay clearly shows itself in the soft, creamy texture and elegance of this cuvee. The Pinot Noir helps round out the rosé with a delicate berry fruitiness that is balanced with a zippy blood orange finish. And while this elegant and delicious rosé is the perfect sparkling wine to bring to any holiday occasion, be prepared to bring two because it will go fast!

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine (375ml)
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 09-08-2016
It's back! This St-Veran was the best under $20 bottle of Bourgogne Blanc we had last year and it's just as amazing this year. It's incredible to believe that a bottle of wine that tastes this good, and that comes from Burgundy, can be less than $20! Stock up because this wine will not be here for long!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
The Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs is crisp, refreshing and vibrant with just the perfect balance of green apple and lime on the nose and palate. This cuvee sets itself apart from other Blanc de Blancs with how the Bonville family is able to create a creamy, full-bodied palate in conjunction with the bright and zesty flavor profile. They were able to achieve the harmonious balance between the acidity, the elegance, finesse and balance in this entry level cuvee.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
Produced from the Les Chettilons parcel, Launois decided to showcase the particular terroir of the parcel by producing the cuvee with only 4 atmospheres of pressure instead of the standard 6. In reducing the yeast and sugar content needed for the secondary fermentation, the aromatics of ripe stone fruit, like white nectarine and soft peaches become more predominant. And with less bubbles, the glycerol, full bodied texture supports the abundant amount of ripe fruit that lingers from the mid-palate all the way to refreshing finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Stylistically, Laurent Perrier is one of my favorite Grand Marques. I gravitate towards their bright, vibrant house style and that's exactly what you get in the Laurent Perrier "Cuvee Rose" Brut Rose Champagne​. While the rose is 100% Pinot Noir and macerated with full skin contact, this rose is surprisingly lifted and understated for receiving such a heavy-handed treatment. The nose and palate are loaded with copious amounts of red berry fruit with ripe strawberries taking center stage supported by a backdrop of clean minerality. The refreshingly tart finish of cranberries and pomegranate make this rose the perfect accompaniment to any special occasion.

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-03-2015
Since their beginning in 1794, Ariston Pere et Fils has been the true epitome of a “grower-producer” Champagne house. The Ariston family has worked together for 5 generations to harvest and gently press the grapes in their own cellars to obtain the balance and finesse that represents their signature house style and terroir. What’s remarkable when tasting the Ariston Blanc de Blancs is that you can truly smell and taste the fossil rich soil. You can close your eyes and envision the steep hillsides drenched in sunlight as the grapes surrounding you ripen to a golden apple flavor.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-03-2015
The rich, deep, golden yellow color of the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche is a tiny hint at the expressive, and explosive purity fruit that lies within this cuvee of 40% Chardonnay, 30% Pinot Noir and 30% Meunier. Very few Champagnes have the amount of chalky minerality that is present in the Carte Blanche, let alone a cuvee that is priced less than $30! What’s even more impressive than the amount of minerality is the broad, rich texture that lets everyone know how perfectly this Champagne with pair with foods of all fairs.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next