Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: << prev 2 3 4 5 next
Carpano "Antica Formula" Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
NO finer tool is available to prevent the home bartender from ruining his or her Manhattan. As long as you manage to get some of this stuff in there, you're probably going to make a solid drink! Only added 1/4 of an oz? Don't worry, the rich dense vanilla will still poke through behind your whiskey of choice. Accidentally flipped the recipe? Who cares, more Carpano more delicious! Needless to say, Carpano Antique is single-handedly improving our cocktails. Some call it a crutch, but who doesn't like having something to lean on. Even with the plethora of fine vermouth on the market, Carpano Antique remains our number one BEST SELLER.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Mortlach 25 Year Old Gordon & Macphail Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
The spectacular Mortlach 25 year from Gordon & Macphail reminds us how important the independent bottler. While the distillery's owners release a similar product for nearly 5 times the price, the little grocer in Elgin, who centuries ago was the official bottler for many of the Highland's finest distillers, releases one of the the finest examples of Speyside whisky for what might be considered a nominal price. Owe it to their solid contracts and some serious local street cred, this exquisite little whisky is one of the finest deals in the store.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Small Batch Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Stumbling across the modern masterpiece that is the Copper & Kings Distillery in the heart of bourbon country was surreal to say the least. We'd decided that walking was the best way to take in the neighborhood and Butchertown is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. But beyond the awesome architecture and the wonderful scenery, a crazy South African man is doing the most improbably thing making delicious brandy. Three gorgeous pot stills are cranking out some of the finest craft brandy we've ever come across. C&K were smart, realizing that it would take years to build stocks of aged brandy, they began searching high and low for stocks from other producers - high quality craft producers. Those aged stocks, while not distilled by them, represent a kind of house style, almost like the Charantais' use their old stocks to develop a house style across their various offerings. Now, I wouldn't call this traditional brandy by any means. It's not simply the use of these older stocks that sets them apart, but something is different here. Maybe it's those big old pot stills or just the Kentucky magic, but this is brandy that will change your mind about the whole category. The nose is tropical fruit, fresh herbs, subtle spice. So much depth, it definitely noses into the bourbon range. The palate is open and fresh, with a focused mouthfeel and medium body. It's try, but not astringent! So complex and willing to give, I just can't believe the price! All most experience the new King of Southern Brandy...Copper & Kings.
Price: Hidden View Price

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
After falling head over heels in love with the people and place, we are indeed smitten with the brandy as well. This Butchertown reserve is one of the few cask strength American brandies available on the market. Bottled at a reasonable 124 proof, I don't really know what they're doing here, but there's something magic in this bottle. The nose is much closer to bourbon than any brandy we stock in the store right now. Bold and unabashed, it has the feeling of some of those mid-century old bottles, with the lacquer box, exotic wood and heady spice. Tons of Seville orange peels and hints of deep dark cocoa round out the sweet woody nose. The palate is powerful with dark fruit and massive amounts of spice. The finish continues into a spiced plum, red apple, cinnamon and subtle hints of espresso bean. While we don't get quite the texture of some of the massive bourbons, we're very very close on the flavor. Truly one of our most special finds to date.
Price: Hidden View Price

Henry McKenna 10 Year Old Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
The Mckenna is one of those sleeper bourbons that we all hope nobody finds out about. Age stated 10 year old bottled in bond for less than $30?!? There's absolutely nothing out there that can claim those stats even at higher prices. And you know what, it's SINGLE BARREL as well. Just more proof that Heaven Hill has massive b...bourbon stocks of the highest quality.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

1985 Chateau de Ravignan Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
No questions that Ravignan is one of the top producers in Armagnac and we've tried for years to get an exclusive. Unfortunately, their importer the illustrious Charles Neal seems to have pilfered all the best vintages for himself. The 1985 remains one of my favorite brandies on the shelf despite not being one of our exclusives. Also surprising affordable inspite of going through normal distribution channels.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Talisker 25 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Talisker continues to be one of the unsung gems of the Diageo portfolio. Roundly considered to be one of the finest malt Distillers by connoisseurs and the Scotch elite alike, it remains a sleeper hit among casual as well consumers. The distillery's production goes almost entirely toward the blends, so it's very rare for casks to make it up over the 20 year mark. Even at $500 a bottle this stuff is an incredible value and easily bests IB and OB bottlings from other distilleries at many multiples of this price. An exceptional whisky reserved for the true lovers of this wild, old school western Highland style.
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart

ArteNOM "Seleccion 1146" Añejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
It's hard to appreciate just what a stupendous value this tequila is until 1) you know who made it 2) you realize who bottled it 3) you actually taste it! Both are two of the tequila industry's finest gentlemen. They know they've got some really special stuff here and many of this distillery's bottlings of equivalent quality sell for WELL above this price point. Whether it's the result of a long friendship or some serious business cajones, Artenom has managed to get this magnificently packaged Anejo on the shelf for less than $50. The perfect gift for a real aficionado who isn't swayed by pricey add campaigns or marketing, but simply wants the best agave, distilled by the best tequilero, for a reasonable price. It is indeed, all those things and much much more.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Jack Daniels Single Barrel Select Barrel Proof Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Ok, so we famously have to tell several people every week that we do not stock Jack Daniel's No 7. It's just never fit into our selection, although I will admit to personally going through a little phase in college back when I thought Rolling Rock was cool. I have Deer Hunter and an unhealthy obsession with Christopher Walkin to thank for that. 33 and a shot of Jack was the go to call at the bar for a while. To be honest that's what No. 7 is good for, shots. Sweet and easy with just enough of the sour bite at the end to remind you you're still alive. In my many years of buying spirits, I've been lucky enough to try some older bottlings of the world's most popular whiskey. Even the slightly different 86 proof offerings from the 1990s seemed extremely special compared to what's regularly available. Legends like the 90 proof from the 70s and earlier are hard to gauge as capacity has increased so much since then. Now most of the cynics will probably think I'm just jumping on the Jack train cause they paid us off or something. To be honest, we have absolutely no connection to Jack whatsoever. We have a great relationship with their parent company Brown Forman, but since we haven't sold Jack in a decade we just don't have a connection there. That all might change now that we've ordered everything that the distributor could get us, but for now we're going at it alone. Despite a lack of communication, they've finally listened to our (and many enthusiasts') grumblings and we're excited to announce the release Lynchburg's finest bottled at full cask strength. When you open the bottle you know instantly it's Jack. Big powerful fruit and sweet oak. Slightly hot on the nose, but ultra smooth on the palate even at 66.5% alcohol. Now here is the thing, add a tiny drop of cool spring water, give it some air maybe 10-15 minutes. You'll return to an utterly transcendent whiskey of extreme complexity and wild drinkability. Let's say this is now maybe 100 proofish and drinks like a dream. These are the flavors I remember from those old bottlings. We don't know how old it is, but goddang it's as delicious as anything coming out of Kentucky at this price point and easily bests bottles that are much much more expensive. If you like big bold flavors of cask strength whiskey, but don't want the bitter bite of some of the other stuff on the market than this stuff is for you. Of course, these are single casks and I've seen some reviews going absolutely wild for other barrels, but the one I tasted was No. 15-4973 at 66.5% and it works for me.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 09-25-2015
Few products are so near and dear to our heart. I fell in love the product not only because of its soft and easy-to-use character, but because of the wonderful story that goes along with it. When our friend and long time customer came to town to show us his new product we couldn't believe his absolute devotion and true love for this product. Luckily for us, it actually tastes magnificent and is easily one of the most versatile products on the shelf. Definitely a must have for the bar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Drappier "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Here's an incredibly well developed NV from Drappier. Slightly nutty signs of older champagne, with yeast brioche and heady dark fruit. Rich and full in the palate, with the dark cherry coming forward and a taught lifted finish. Superb.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Chateau de Bligny "Grand Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Slightly reduced on first nosing, a calm thoughtful swirl helped that out 100%. Perfect yellow flowers and white meat peaches. Creamy citrus, delicate lively texture, and a perfectly balanced finish. Bligny is blangin'.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WS 90

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Absolutely gorgeous. Brioch, Tropical fruit, more yeast! Cherries and then cherries! Lemon cream. Mountains of acid and cherries and cream. What a steal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
If you want the real Scottish experience, there is no better bottle to cut your teeth on. The Springbank 10 year pulls no punches. Bottled in small batches, you're quickly transported to the fields of Kintyre, and the damp, inviting warehouse and the wonderful malt floors that make this one of the most special spirits in Scotland. This is real whisky made the real way, and once you taste it, you'll understand why it's different from every other 10 year out there.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Plantation "Stiggin's Fancy" Pineapple Dark Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
BOOOOOOM GOES THE DYNAMITE! Without question the finest flavored rum in the world. Start with awesome funky rum, add a centuries-old recipe exactingly recreated by the good people of Plantation, and you've got a product that will rule your bar for the foreseeable future. Heady and intense, yet subtle and overtly pleasurable, not for your typical flavored rum fans, but a must own for all bar/cocktail people. YOU HAVE NO EXCUSE!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
Despite some grumblings regarding a distillery change (yes Rittenhouse was made under contract by Brown-Forman for years after Heaven Hill's Bardstown plant burned down in the late 90s) Rittenhouse remains the ultimate value for all bartending needs. It might not kick like a Willett Single Barrel Rye, but there's still very little in the price range that will make a better Manhattan, in fact I can't think of one thing.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Aperol Aperitivo Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-14-2015
The Italian classic has been making a comeback recently and deservedly so. Bottled at a laughable 11%, Aperol backs all the punch of its big brother Campari without the headache in the morning (i.e. less alcohol and less sugar). That said you can also drink it for 6 hours straight without realizing you've just had 25 drinks so please be careful. Traditionally served in a Spritz, add 2-3 oz of Aperol to a glass full of ice. Top with Prosecco and an orange slice. Enjoy over and over!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Fernet Branca (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Beware the Branca. The single most habit forming substance in our store. Plan on either hating this or never looking back. After that, expect to need a bottle in the house at all times. In spite of those truths, it is wildly utilitarian should you choose to use it that way. Very few more powerful digestives are available. Maybe you should just buy a case and get it over with.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Kilchoman "Machir Bay" Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Many are aware of our affection for this wonderful new distillery on Islay. This, being their entry level product, deserves to be a benchmark. If nothing else it should provide a wonderful education for any Islay lover. What happens when you put Ardbeg spec barley into steel fermenters and Kilchoman's tall little still? Add an ultra fine heart cut and a thoughtful wood management program and you've got truly soulful whisky that's still Islay in every way. Proof positive that great whisky need not be old. Zesty and full of oceany brine, the peat at this age stands up and smacks you right across the face. Sweet malt and mild rancio notes whisper in, but one does not forget the rugged shoreline just below the farm where this whisky was distilled. A pleasure, to say the least.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

St. George Dry Rye Reposado Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2015
Stupendous and affordable barrel aged gin. This what the Dry Rye was dreaming of being. The malted rye and juniper flavors marry perfectly with the sweet spice and tannic structure of the oak. The magnificent texture of the Dry Rye, its most striking attribute, is only heightened by the additional time in oak. A truly unique gin that will scratch that whiskey itch as well.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90
Limit of 1 per customer

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Another fabulous value for Kiwi Pinot. This is deep powerful Pinot that will scratch the itch for most Cali Pinot drinkers, but not scare away those in love with more expressive terroir-driven style. Earthy, savory dark cherry, great structure with red and black fruit continuing on the palate. Pure and structured, this will easily improve over the next 2-3 years, but shows beautifully right now. For only $20, cases, dude, cases.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

Balvenie 15 Year Old Single Sherry Barrel Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2015
This is without a doubt the most exciting new product from Balvenie since the wildly collectable Tun 1401 series. Now, what makes this so interesting, despite the full term in Sherry, is that they're bottling these without filtration at slightly higher proof. That means we've got the ultra rich oily texture that's so important for appreciating this special distillery. Of course, each cask is different, but every one I've tasted so far has been exceptional.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Balvenie 21 Year Old "Port Wood" Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Slowly but surely usurping Macallan 18 Year as the go-to "Scotch Gift," especially now that Mac 18 is pushing toward $250 a bottle. People know the name, love the presentation, and generally think the spirit is one of the very best. This is just a no-brainer when buying a gift for ANYONE who likes Scotch, when you want to be different but don't want to scare anyone away. Clearly one of the top values for ultra-premium offerings from any of the great Speyside distilleries.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WA 91

Yellow Spot Single Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The big mama of Irish Whiskey. This whisky used to be a ghost, and thank the whiskey gods that Pernod Ricard have found their way to releasing this more widely. Ultra-soft, with a strong influence of orange fruit from Malaga casks. The subtle sherry notes definitely remain behind the unusual tones of Spain's other coastal fortified wine. Persimmon, candied orange peel, cinnamon, clove - the ease and openness of this whiskey cannot be overstated. Some prefer the more familiar Green Spot, but this whiskey stands out among its peers as something very different and very, very special indeed.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Charbay Release "III" Hop Flavored Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The single most legendary American craft whiskey ever created. Yeah it's expensive as hell, but there ain't nothing like it...in HISTORY. Massive, over the top, intense, and awe inspiring. Don't even waste your time asking yourself why.
Price: $379.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Tapatio "Excelencia" Anejo Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
There is not a better extra anejo tequila on the market today, I can unequivocally say that without hesitation. This is the top of the top. Distilled from a special batch of the best agave in 1996. 4 years in barrel 15 years in glass, only mere moments before you finish your glass. It's unfair how good this is. Stock up if you care at all about your future.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Ron Zacapa 23 Year Old "Centenario" Guatemalan Solera Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Zacapa is the rum that changes peoples mind about rum. Distilled from partially processed Miel de Cana, the Zacapa Distillery is one of the highest altitude and highest quality rum distilleries in the world. Distinctly in the Spanish style, the special distillery near Tulula, creates rums of exceptional quality aged in the traditional solera style. Opulent and ultra rich, no question this should be in the running for world's greatest rum.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark Cask Strength Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Let me be perfectly honest, I'm not that into the standard MM. It's an awesome whiskey, without a doubt, but over the years my palate has moved away from those sweet corny woodsy flavors and in search of deeper dryer products. The MMCS is without a doubt the most surprising new release of the year. Massive and significantly drier than the standard release, this is quickly becoming the go to wheater for lovers of PVW and other slightly drier style wheaters. I have no clue how or why JB decided to move forward with this product (way to out their for them with the small batch nature). I'm going to blame the Japanese for making the amazing decision to bottle this special product.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

Balvenie 14 Year Old Caribbean Rum Cask Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
The wildly popular Caribbean cask was thought to be a thing of legend, but William Grant has heard the people and re-released this special offering at only a slight markup! When they say Caribbean, they mean a large Spanish-speaking island whose name I cannot mention. The result is perfect and utterly enticing. Sweet, rich and spicy notes from the rum envelop the oily Speyside character of the Balvenie spirit perfectly. A match made on a beach in the Caribbean, i.e. HEAVEN!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Leopold Bros. Aperitivo (750ml)
Review Date: 06-01-2015
Leopoldo Bros has always been ahead of the curve. They've pumped out some of the best craft whiskey around while creating innovative products like their wonderful liqueurs, gin, and literally the only legit flavored whiskey on the market. Now we're bringing you a new phase in the Leopold Bros' dominance of the craft market. Competing with established brands is hard enough, but when a craft distiller goes after a category creating legend like Campari, we begin to question their sanity. Lucky for us, Mr. Leopold's insanity is second only to magnificent skill and attention to detail. This is truly the first product to scratch that Campari lovers itch (and if you have it you know what I'm talking about - the stuff creates a serious dependence). It may be even more soothing than the original. At the very least you'll know that the ingredients are of the very highest quality, plus it's not even that expensive considering the work that it takes to make a product like this good on this scale. Must-buy for Campari lovers, must-try for those yet to get on the aperitivo train.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Nikka "Taketsuru" Pure Malt Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
I was pretty bummed to hear that the U.S. market would not be getting the 12 year Taketsuru any longer and skeptical that a no age statement replacement would be acceptable. I was wildly mistaken. While the 12 year seemed safe and predictable, there's something wild and untamed about the NAS. While it doesn't have an age, the supplier says it's around 10ish -- I do think it's got more depth and complexity than the whisky it replaces. Hopefully they'll be able to keep this in good supply 'cause this is solid drinking for a good price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Nobody expected this goofy little whisky to explode the way it has. It's odd, but so inviting and unpretentious. Sure it's column distilled, but that doesn't mean it's any less flavorful than it's malted potstilled brothers. Just different. Candied melon, sweet oak, fresh sawdust, and peanuts. Medium bodied, with a pointed finish that really turns up the oak. Not only is this awesome Japanese (distinctly Japanese) Whisky, but it's also available and relatively affordable. Can't say that about many products out there right now. Get it, drink it, love it, repeat.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92 WE 90

Lagavulin 16 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Lagavulin is a pillar. Without a doubt one of the most important distilleries in Scotland, it is the darling of Diageo and continues to crank out ultra high quality smoky malt year after year. Even though cranky critics like to lament how Lag 16 year doesn't taste like it used to, I've had it along side bottlings from the last 3 decades and I have to say, while the style is slightly different (OBE might be in play here), it without a doubt continues to be one of the most special whiskies on the market. Quality, flavor, and depth are unsurpassed at this price point (and our price point continues to be pretty seriously low all things considered). The Lagavulin is an oily best, rich and peaty, but with a balance that makes you itching to get the glass back up to your lips.
Price: $55.99 Add To Cart
WA 94 WE 92

Macallan 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Often dubbed the "Royals Royce of Single Malt," the Macallan distillery continues to have one of the best reputations in the business. Of course with Scotch, a good reputation always equals a higher price! However, over the last several years as Macallan's competitors have chipped away at this behemoth of a brand, the lowly 12 year old hasn't really increased much in price. That means we're getting 100% sherry 12 year old whisky for Speyside's best regarded distillery for only $50. Is Macallan a value brand again? We see people selling young sherried malts of lesser quality for much much more than this. And it's taste good too.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Tears of Llorona Extra Anejo Tequila (1L) [Cannot ship, in store pick up only]
Review Date: 05-26-2015
German Gonzalez has become one of the most respected and important Distillers in Mexico. His work at Chinaco and his other projects have solidified him as one of the categories very best. He's partnered with our dear friend Enrique Fuenteseca to create the masterful product unlike anything else on the market. If German could improve his reputation anymore this was the product to do it. Originally created to be his private drinking stock, ultra limited amounts of the wild elixir are now available. The begin with agave at peak ripeness, hand selected by the master himself. After roasting in stone ovens and maceration, the aguamiel is fermented using German's proprietary yeast. This ultra slow fermentation allows for the deeps possible flavor. Double distillation on copper pot stills before being put into American oak barrels for at least 3 years. The exact aging regiment isn't totally clear, but we do know that after the initial aging it is transferred for at least another years in the following types of wood, French ex-Cognac, ex-Scotch, ex-Sherry. The final blend is a selection of those and maybe other types of wood all around 5 years. A stupendous example of what a skilled artisan when cost is no object. Really it's a pretty good deal for how incredible it is.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

Angel's Envy 86 Proof Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
So what happens when one of Kentucky's most respected distillers source ultra high quality bourbon and finishes it in sweet Port wine casks, the bourbocalypse? Perhaps. But what's really going on here is one of the most successful examples of the potential of wine finishing in modern whiskey. Be it the Henderson's deft palate or their monumental experience - the Angel's Envy is unquestionably a sensation. Easy enough for you mom to love it, yet NOT boring in the slightest. The flavor profile is never dominated by the port, so it still tastes like bourbon, put the sweet rich flavors are there to enhance and envelop the already wonderful profile of the bourbon. The late Lincoln Henderson was clearly a genius and we know his legacy will be well looked after by the brands current custodians.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
WE 98 WA 93

Dudognon Heritage 40 year Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
For all the stuff I say about Dudognon being the highest quality cognac house, it's not until you taste the big boy Heritage that you truly begin to understand why they're so special. At 40 years, we're beginning to see the real full potential of these stupendous EDVs. Ultra decadent while never cloying, the Heritage has everything that the big house brands strive for in their ultra-premium offerings at 10 times the price. Only this one is made without a single additive. They've achieved such incredible depth and balance it's almost hard to believe this isn't much more expensive. Yet here we are.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

Dudognon "Vielle Reserve" Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Somethings in the world our are subjective. Other things are not. For instance, I can unequivocally that Dudognon is the most open, transparent, and honest producer in Cognac. They have some of the best terroir and use only the highest quality wood (100% of their cognac sees at least 1 year in new oak). They are the only producer who I can honestly tell you have not utilized additives in their cognac in any way. All of these things come together to make me say highly subjective things like, "Dudognon is the best producer in Cognac!" One might quibble with the details, but what is clear is that Dudognon makes their brandy like no one else in the region. Absolutely the purest expression of terroir with nothing in the way. The real complexity starts to show when their brandies at the Vieille Reserve level (20 years). Always drier than most people are used to with cognac, Dudognon's house style is this wonderful tension between freshness and age. Always keeping you guessing, this is the superlative product for the price point, a base from which I believe all others should be judged.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Glenfarclas 25 Year Old Distillery Bottling Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
It's still astonishing that this whisky is on the shelf for $150. Just absolutely flabbergasted by the continued price/quality ratio here, even while their competitors are raising prices every quarter. Glenfarclas is of course one of my favorite distilleries, not only because it's producing some of the most consistent and delicious malt in Scotland, but also because of the magnanimous family that's owner is for centuries - The Grants. The 25 year is the Grant's flagship product, often compared to their neighbors the Macallan, but truly in a class of it's own. While 'Farclas has a great amount of Sherry butts in this blend, unlike the Macallan, their not married to only using that type of cask. The result is something that is big and bold enough for a Mac drinker to appreciate, but with a subtle complexity that the most discerning palates could spend hours analyzing. And then there's is the price. Not even Scotland' WORST distilleries sell their 25 year old for anywhere close to this bad boy. This is unequivocally the best value in mature Scotch...maybe ever.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Benromach 10 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-26-2015
This is the stupendous new presentation of the well regarded distillery owned by Gordon & Macphail. G&M have established BenRomach as one of the most consistent and high quality Speyside malts on the market today since they purchased the distiller in 1992. Recent package changes have pushed the price up, but we're in the business of keeping our prices low, so this final batch of 100 bottles will be the last at this ridiculously low price. Expect an increase of as much as $15 when this stock is gone.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Mezcal Amaras Espadin (750ml)
Review Date: 05-19-2015
This magnificent new Mezcal has been the darling of the Mexican mezcal revolution in the DF for a little while. It's definitely one of the categories most overtly palatable products, showing distinct character but with an openness that's rare in the category. 98 points from the well respect Ultimate Spirits Challenge, garnering them the Chairman's Trophy as well as the Great Value Seal. A tremendous product by any measure.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

Green Spot Single Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-30-2015
Green Spot has been the holy grail of Irish Whiskey since my start in this business nearly 10 years ago. I remember a famous restaurant in Los Angeles used to display a bottle on the bar (smuggled illegally) but refuse to pour it unless you owned the place. When I finally convinced them to let me taste, I finally understood why everybody made such a big deal out of it. The legacy of the prominent Dublin wine merchant, Mitchell & Sons, who'd matured and bottled those original stocks of sherry cask pure pot still whiskey, is solidly considered one of the world's great whiskies. Today it's aged at Midleton to a specific recipe, from one of the distillery's three pure pot still recipes. This is not a smack-you-in-the-mouth powerful whiskey like the Red Breast cask strength. Instead, it's supple and soft and drinks like a dream. This is probably why Irish Whiskey was the best selling whiskey before Prohibition and they responded to the popularity of blended Scotch with consolidation and the creation of blended Irish, a style Irish distillers had resisted until the 1970s. We bought all we could get and have no clue when we'll be getting more.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Ardbeg 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-30-2015
The south side of Islay is filled with magical places and none more so than the little inlet just beyond Lagavulin Bay. Ardbeg has been the darling of whisky geeks and professional drinkers for many years now, but the most astonishing thing about it is that we've keep the price low. Every other brand sees an explosion and works quickly to get their prices up. Ardbeg, however, have worked closely with us to keep their products affordable despite an incredible increase in popularity. Only the Laphroaig 10 year rivals this whisky for affordable heavily peated single malt and while Ardbeg doesn't match Laphroaig for power and intensity, it does deliver an absolutely unique and altogether elegant version of the typical south shore profile (i.e. SMOKE). This is the perfect whisky to cut your smoke tooth on and should be a staple in any serious drinkers repertoire.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WA 93 WE 91

Louis XIII de Remy Martin Grande Champagne Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Louis XIII is all about history and authenticity. It's absolutely silly the time and expertise that goes into creating this special blend. It's the ultimate luxury experience and a window into the History of Cognac. This special cognac represents a continuity between the first bottling many decades ago. Want to actually taste the cognac that Charles De Gaul opened at the end of WWII - this is the stuff. With a minimum age of 40 years, none of the 4 master blenders has actually tasted their final blend, but they have compared them to older bottlings to make sure that the quality remains identical through out each bottling. The gorgeous hand blown crystal just adds to the majesty. Truly decadent and totally worth every penny.
Price: $2,999.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

1990 Bruichladdich "Black Art - Edition 4.1" 23 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This is the magical mystery of Scotland. Jim McEwan's own special blend has always been a tightly held secret. For the first time the other night at his recent bottle signing he admitted to the addition of at least a few ingredients. Maybe it was a slip of the tongue and while the outrageous color does allude to the revelation, Mr. McEwan did confirm that all the first growths of Bordeaux were involved in the blend, pretty cheeky really. Anyway, this is the stuff of legend and it tastes like nothing else and represents some of the only older stocks left at the special distillery north of Port Charlotte. A fine addition to any collection.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

Midleton Very Rare Irish Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This is the flagship product from the special distillery of the same name. It's a blended of pure pot still and grain whiskey of an indeterminate age, but it's simply one of the easiest drinking products in the world. You can give Midleton Very Rare to ANYONE and they're going to love it. Geeks, noobs, grandma, college buddy, colleague, whatever - they'll love it. It also comes with a beautiful gift box containing an individualized invitation to Ireland's most important distillery.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WA 92

1792 Small Batch Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2015
We do love Barton/1792. Always so soft, so easy going. The distillery is tucked down in this gorgeous little valley, so that the stacks stick up as you drive in before you can actually see the distillery. Feels like the perfect place to hide your still. One of the last great Bardstown operations, this stuff is always a solid choice when you want something easy, but interesting. It's kind of Like Woodford Reserve 10 years ago--nobody has caught on yet!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Anchor "Junipero" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Junipero has become the iconic gin of both craft distillation and California. That stark understated label does not prepare you for the bold bouquet of aromas in the glass. Bright and crystal clear, the flavors are extremely well delineated as well. I love this with tonic, but when I want a martini that’s going to make me stand up, this is usually what I reach for.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
Whistle Pig has become an industry leader in the rye resurgence. Maybe the first distillery to release a Canadian Straight Rye as a craft style brand. Now they're growing rye, having it contract distilled, and stocking their warehouses with farm to barrel rye whiskey of the highest order. Why they don't highlight how and where they get this wonderful whiskey is their marketing departments problem. My main concern is how it tastes. Brimming with rye spice, the 100 proof WP always keeps you on your toes. Not soft or overly sweet, it's one of these that really hits the balance between intensity of flavor and textural complexity. The overlying theme is bold dry rye flavors. Behind the earthy rye, some sweet floral and exotic herbal tones. A great example of why Canada (via Vermont?) is still the Rye capital of the Whisk(e)y world.
Price: $71.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Laphroaig 10 Year Old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
Poll the people of Islay regarding their favorite whisky to drink, I'll argue that this one would be in the running for top billing. The truth of the matter is that Laphroaig's CS offering remains one of the single most impressive regular releases on the market. Laphroaig is nothing if not consistent in terms of quality and this release is no slouch. Massively powerful aromas on nose are not actually totally dominated by iodine and peat, but instead lead by powerful vanilla and sweet oak. ON the palate is where the powerful spirit shows through. Briny and textural, it can be mistaken for no other. With water the sweet oak on the nose gives way to more ocean water, white pepper, and some industrial grade smoke. You should rely on this whisky as it will always deliver.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Page: << prev 2 3 4 5 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($30.99)

Ardbeg "Uigeadail" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($55.99)

Caol Ila 12 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($59.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin (750ml) ($39.99)

Cragganmore 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($49.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin (750ml) ($21.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte (750ml) ($59.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila (750ml) ($42.99)

Ocho Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($46.99)

Rhum J.M. Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique (750ml) ($44.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)

1995 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac ($169.99)