Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Adam Winkel

Adam Winkel

Reviews

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5l)
Review Date: 09-28-2017
This is a beautifully sippable blanco that reminds me why I like tequila so much. There's a lot of character and purity here with sophisticated shades of fruit and soil tones. There's no burn on the entry which invites you to really savor it and appreciate that there's no wood to get in the way of the agave. But the "premium" pedigree here for me is the persistent, bright, sun-shiny length of the finish.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 07-27-2017
Okay, they had me at "100-year-old vines" and "volcano". This has more generously ripe flavors than a basic Soave with lemon curd and honeydew melon up front, transitioning into subtle herbs with a drop of honey. The volcanic ash minerality gains strength with aeration and couples with bright acidity to transition into the finish. This is the style of white wine that really gets my attention and respect with incisive terroir, texture, purity, drinkability, and no need to be propped up with new oak. I have a feeling this would do nicely with some short-term cellaring and add palate weight and really emphasize the mineral underneath its fleshier young profile. It's amazing that this producer's "premium" bottling is only $15.99. I hope their wines become a staple here.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Deep color and cassis tones introduce what is an unmistakable profile in Napa terroir. Cocoa powder and soil tones fill in as the wine airs, but the virtue is that the savor is from that terroir; not the stilting of heavy new wood which can be difficult to differentiate in this day and age. But perhaps my favorite characteristic here is the focused juiciness driving into the finish that really makes you want to take another sip. As much as a wine like this could age, in its fresh voluptuousness I actually think there is plenty of virtue to drinking it young. There's an uncommon combination of concentration and drinkability to this wine that really floats my boat.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Thymiopoulos "Young Vines" Xinomavro Naousa
Review Date: 06-19-2017
Don't be scared of the X-word here... this unoaked red changes expectations of Xinomavro with its firmly juicy, fresh and energetic style with carefully managed tannins. I've actually poured this instead of a summer white along with Mediterranean small-plate fare and it substituted beautifully when you would normally think a white would be ideal. It makes me respect the varietal all-the-more, with Xinomavro (similarly to Nebbiolo) showing capability on the treble end of the scale as well as the bass end. Certainly a value, this is a versatile and underappreciated style of red when something similarly priced like a Cote du Rhone perhaps isn't enough fun.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Damrak Amsterdam Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
An amazing bargain for sure... the quality and complexity here is really high. This transported me back to Amsterdam in a gin and tonic the way they're served in Holland these days... with a slice of lemon and a mint sprig. Try it! It's a revelation!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2011 Fonseca Late Bottled Vintage Port
Review Date: 05-15-2017
This is really a ridiculous value. A rich and generous wine by any standard, it's a good bottle to have in the rack for an impetuous opening. The best part is that it will develop and keep for some days or even a week after you open it, so you're going to get some mileage here even if it doesn't get poured around a big group. Like with my Riesling collection, I need some satisfying and pleasurable "interference wines" to keep me away from the expensive stuff.

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-15-2017
This non-vintage Champagne shows excellent equilibrium between minerality, toastiness, and citric fruit with no single characteristic outshining the rest. Certainly a fine bead and excellent texture from a magnum. Complete and very pleasurable.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green (1L)
Review Date: 12-01-2014
The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 98

Graham's 10 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
This is a good port to serve with a non-chocolate dessert course. The bombastically nutty and spicy profile complements your dessert course beautifully, when a more delicate style of Tawny would get crushed. Try it with creme brulee or pumpkin pie! An open bottle in the fridge will change very slowly, so pour it when called for... it will last for weeks or even months.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Graham's 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
Like Graham's 10 Year Tawny, the 20 Year is a wine that is great to pair with a dessert course. Excellent with pastry or custards, this big boy does amazing things alongside something as down-home as pumpkin pie or even carrot cake with walnuts and cream cheese frosting. The Graham's 20 also has enough richness to pair with caramel-based desserts. An open bottle will keep in the fridge for weeks or even months, so no rush to finish it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 93

Ferreira "Duque de Braganca" 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-29-2012
This shows amazing nuance and freshness, and the nuttiness comes in late to create a great overarching, transitory complexity. This would prove versatile with custards or nutty desserts, but it's certainly also one to savor on its own.