Staff Favorites - Steve Greer

Steve Greer
Steve Greer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I think I started down the path into the wine world with my first job, at 16, bussing tables in a Chinese restaurant. Blue Nun Riesling was the big seller (this in 1985, so don't laugh). While the Blue Nun Riesling was not an "epiphany" wine, I drank a lot of it. It was a magnum of Robert Sinskey Claret that I shared with friends while watching the 1994 World Cup that got me started reading about wine (Brazil won). My first "wow" wine was that same year, when a customer gave me a glass of 1982 Haut Brion. It was amazing. Next I found pinot noir, specifically a 1994 Whitcraft Bien Nacido, and I was hooked. I knew I wanted to sell wine so I moved from restaurants to wholesale wine sales, working for Metamora in Ohio and Kentucky. But after continued consolidation of distributors and the realization, that in wholesale you wear blinders, tasting only the wines you sell, I knew I wanted to move to the retail side. I would like to say I moved from Cincinnati just for K&L but I left the "Red" state for Los Angeles (a Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals fan in San Francisco just would not do) and I was very lucky to find the K&L store in Hollywood. The rest is history.


Reviews

2001 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 02-21-2014
This is drinking nicely now and shows lots of life for the future, with a zing of bright acidity still keeping the richness in check. Heady beautiful nose with botrytis and apricots dominating. The palate is layered with pineapple upside down cake coming to mind, burnt sugar, graham cracker, baking spices and lemon curd and a finish that doesn't quit. Wow.

Talisker 10 Year Old Isle of Skye Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2014
I am guilty of chasing the golden goose and forgetting about the standards or classics within a certain category be it wine, whiskey, beer etc. I was reminded of this when we went through a line-up of Scotch whiskey and I tried the Talisker 10. This is the balanced side of peated whiskey with pure sea-side air, creosote and just a hint of iodine balanced by the sweet malt. The finish is beautiful with saline and spice and only $50! A standard for everyone's bar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WA 90

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
This is a wonderful addition to any bar and a perfect addition for Manhattans. Rosemary, thyme and jasmine with an oily texture a touch of sweetness and a mint finish.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Cherry Heering Liqueur 48 Proof (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
The bottle itself looks like something that has been sitting on a back bar of a restaurant for 10 years... untouched! But it is easy to fall in love with this drink that has been produced since 1818. Dr. Pepper, ginger, Xmas cake spice and cherry pie! The most well known drink is Singapore Slings.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curacao (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
This is a drier version of Grand Mariner. Tastes like orange marmalade and fresh oranges with dry finish. Excellent!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
The Forteleza line-up is fantastic but the Bianco shows the purity of the spirit with tons of depth. Vegetative, roasted herbs, spice, orange peel and coriander shows this is a sipper to be enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée 1809" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-01-2012
Like an aged Meursault or a fino sherry this Champagne shows bruised apple, olive brine, salinity and chalky minerality with lots of acidity with a great mouthfeel. Damn.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2009 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 03-01-2012
The nose is filled with perfume, floral notes, incense and cassis. The layered palate is rich cassis, spice, cedar and mineral. The richness of the wine keeps the tannins in check while the acidity brightens the wine on the finish. This wine is stunning!

1995 Grand Mayne, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-06-2011
This was my favorite of the tasting and I enjoyed it that evening with dinner. The nose still showed oak spice, cola, and ripe plum. The elegant mouth feel was fully integrated with rich ripe plum, cola, mocha and spice leading to a long finish filled with mocha and ripe fruit. This is a lovely wine.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 07-19-2011
I think this is turning out to be the company's favorite under $15 sparkling. It is finally back. There is a great balance between mineral, citrus, fruit with a nice mouth-feel.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2008 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 07-05-2011
"Wow" and "Huge" are the two words I wrote for this wine. This was a really beautiful wine with rich dark cassis, black fruit, spice and graphite aromas and flavors. The rich fruit provides a great balance to the grippy tannins. Very nice wine and in comparision to 2009 and 2010 pricing you could almost buy 2.

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2011
Every year this is one of my favorite Champagnes. Green apple and mineral on the nose and palate and the 3 years on the lees provides a fantastic mouth feel with plenty of acidity keeping it very crisp and clean. 100% Grand Cru fruit for only $34.99. Crazy.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2011
This is our best value Champagne in the store. Comprised of all three grapes this Champagne shows you can have both good value and great taste. Nutty, brioche and apple fill the nose and palate with a mouth filling mousse. Only $24.99 and I promise everyone you poured this for would enjoy it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2004 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 04-02-2011
This wine was one of my favorites because I was expecting it to still show some tannins, but they were polished and supple. Pure on the nose, the wine shows cedar, spice, raspberry and blackberry aromas. The black and red fruit dominate the palate with a supple mouthfeel and a long finish of cedar, spice and very aromatic black fruit.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-28-2010
This is a perfect New Year's Eve Rose. On the nose bright cherry and strawberry aromas that carry through on the palate. The bright fresh red fruit flavors are surrounded by a more refined mouth feel. The price makes it affordable for a party.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-27-2010
This could be one of the best deals in our Champagne section. If you like Billecart then you will like this as a alternative in price. Nice strawberry and cherry flavors and aromas with a nice rich texture and a long finish of strawberry. Great value and a great Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 09-07-2010
Both ’07s from Anthony Barton are made in the same chai, but are completely different—perfectly illustrating the characteristics each vineyards imparts. The nose is all dark fruit and minerals, which come through on the palate with cedar, spice and more minerals on the finish. The palate has evident tannins but is not overtly astringent.

2007 Kirwan, Margaux
Review Date: 03-25-2010
Lots of dark cassis fruit on the nose and the palate, with some herb and mineral aromas. This wine was showing more chewy tannins than the other wines, with an astringent mouthfeel.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 91

2006 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 02-11-2010
I wasn’t expecting this to show anything right now, especially since I didn’t have to time to decant it for any length of time before the tasting. But it had lots of black fruit on the nose. On the palate, the tannins were astringent with lots of black fruit and coffee, all of which carried over to the finish. This wine will be rewarding if you can wait a few years before you drink it.

2005 Ducluzeau, Listrac-Medoc
Review Date: 12-01-2009
I must admit I have a soft spot for the wines from the Borie family (Ducru-Beaucaillou), who I think produce some of the most balanced wines from the Medoc - both rich and elegant. This is from their estate in the Listrac that use to produce the highest Merlot-based wines in the Medoc. The nose is all bright red and black fruit. The texture of the wine shows tannic structure, but the wine is accessible now. Lots of black fruit, chocolate and spice. The long, rich and heady finish is wonderful. This is my pick for a great Thanksgiving wine. At only $18.99 you can afford to have a few bottles for your guests.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 07-13-2009
What a beautiful Champagne. The elegant texture with great depth of flavor is what stood out for me. Loads of nuts and fruits (apricots) all wrapped by a great mouthfeel and a toasty finish. This has become my favorite under $30 Champagne.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2005 Quinault L'Enclos, St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-20-2009
If you open this wine for a party watching basketball make sure you open it a few hours ahead of time or just buy a bunch and lay it down. This is a beautiful layered wine. The layered nose is filled with fruit and floral notes and than more layers on the palate. Big ripe fruit balanced with mineral and spice flavors. This wine has a lot to give with patience either in decanting or cellaring.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
ST 93 WS 92

2005 La Tour de Mons, Margaux
Review Date: 08-21-2008
If you want a wine that purely expresses Bordeaux, a wine that you can buy by the case that will be ready to drink in five years, then this is your wine. It’s quite evocative, with fruit and spice dominating the nose. Higher in acid with tannins that are sharp right now, but with such vibrant fruit and only 1/3 new oak, this wine will come into its own quicker than most. A beautiful expression of Marguax.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

More Favorites

Steve Greer is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Steve Greer, click here to join Steve Greer's Personal Sommelier Service.
Suze Saveur D'Autrefois Gentian Liqueur 1L ($29.99)

Tempus Fugit Kina L'Aero D'Or Aperitif Du Quinquina (750ml) ($32.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila (750ml) ($38.99)

The 86 Co. Cana Brava 3 Year Old Panama White Rum (750ml) ($24.99)

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

Citadelle French Gin (750ml) ($19.99)

Camut Aperitif Normand Pommeau (750ml) ($32.99)

Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge (750ml) ($44.99)

Averna Amaro Siciliano (750ml) ($29.99)

Adrien Camut Réserve de Semainville "Assemblage de 25 ans" Pays d'Auge Calvados (750ml) ($249.99)

El Dorado 15 Year Old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml) ($49.99)

Russell's Reserve "Small Batch" 6 Year Old Rye 90 Proof (750ml) (3 bottle limit per customer) ($34.99)

Pierre Paillard "Les Terres Roses" Grand Cru Extra Brut Rosé Champagne ($57.99)

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($49.99)

Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin (750ml) ($34.99)

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml) ($49.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne ($89.99)