Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - John Downing

John Downing

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Silvano Follador Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-07-2017
During our visit to this winery in 2016, Alberta Follador mentioned that her brother Silvano was a perfectionist. This was hardly a surprise to me as Follador is the finest Prosecco I've come across. While most of the Prosecco hitting the market is made in an Extra Dry (slightly sweet) style, Follador is a Brut (dry) which makes it not only somewhat unique but also in a class all its own. It really is that good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 11-06-2017
The Banti Carato not only has a huge and well-deserved following but also there's always a collective sigh when a vintage sells out and the wait for the next begins. The 2015 is a stunner and we've been anxious to get it into the hands of our customers. It's richly flavored, concentrated and definitely belies its modest price. We think you'll share our enthusiasm for this outstanding red.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-30-2017
Giampaolo Motta has continued his string of impressive wines with the release of his 2014 La Massa. Although the 2014 is finer in texture and tone than the recent vintages, it offers no shortage of concentration, length and acidity. Excellent to drink now but will hold well for several more years.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2012 La Magia Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2017
This is definitely a big, concentrated style Brunello with moderate tannins and mild acidity, and a more modern expression as well as the wine is aged in medium-sized French barrels. It's packed with rich fruit and a touch of new French oak that adds to its overall appeal. Open this one with a juicy steak.

2012 Cortonesi "Poggiarelli" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2017
This is a bold and vibrant Brunello that will especially appeal to those looking for Sangiovese with ample intensity and length. "Poggiarelli" boasts penetrating red and black fruit flavors that carry on to a lengthy finish thanks to some solid acidity. It's aged in medium-sized French barrels yet the oak is perfectly integrated allowing the fruit to shine.

2012 Armilla Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2017
Armilla has definitely released what we think is their best wine to-date. Their 2012 Brunello exudes elegance and subtle texture enhanced by delicious strawberry flavors and bright acidity. There's no shortage of personality to this wine and it certainly showcases the wonderful red fruit their region of Montalcino is known for.

Ca de Medici "Terra Calda" Lambrusco
Review Date: 10-10-2017
We've had a thriving Lambrusco business for years but for some reason the wines of Ca De Medici have flown a bit under the radar. We're certainly paying greater attention to this one after just re-tasting it. The winery manages to offer some of the best from the zone and we're especially taken with this one. It's concentrated and flavored-packed from start to finish yet pleasantly dry throughout with loads of black cherry and a the mild effervescence. Perfect with pastas, burgers and daily meals. (Low alcohol too!)
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cottanera "Barbazzale" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 10-10-2017
Cottanera's "Barbazzale" is a wonderful entry into the world of Mt Etna red wines and although it's challenging to find excellent ones under $20, they've been ahead of the curve for many years. The wine is aged mostly in cement tanks while a smaller amount is housed in small French barrels which gives it a bit more depth, polish and spicing. It's a very versatile red that will pair well with a variety of favorites including pizza, pasta, meats and hearty fare.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-09-2017
Felsina Rancia remains one of my top Chianti picks every vintage but the 2013 is truly special. It possesses all the best characteristics of what has been described as a challenging or tricky vintage for many. Happily the Rancia is deep, compelling and brimming with captivating fruit with acidity and tannins in perfect balance. This is one of the best of the 2013s and is certainly a Sangiovese not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 RP 95

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-09-2017
My colleagues discovered the wines of this producer several years ago and they have remained customer favorites since. We met up with Gaetano Salvioni in 2016 during our Italian travels and were reminded why. His 2012 Brunello hits all the right notes with wonderful savory red fruit, exotic spices and an overall freshness, depth and length not normally found at this price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-09-2017
Poggio San Polo is one of several wineries owned by the Allegrini Family, most known for their flagship property in Valpolicella where they continue to produce their famed Amarone and Veronese wines. Their 2011 Brunello is a modern interpretation of the classic wine of the zone and it's a showstopper. The fruit here is smooth, richly textured and concentrated and just goes on and on. Deep flavors of red berries and vanilla oak coat the palate and although there's plenty of acidity and backbone, the opulence of the fruit overshadows all else.

2012 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-02-2017
Sesta di Sopra is one of the jewels of our Italian department and we're ever grateful that they are part of our direct import family. This tiny estate continues their unbroken string of exceptional Brunellos with the release of their 2012. It's a substantial wine that not only expresses its calcerous soils with pleasant earthy nuances but also exudes rich, deep Sangiovese fruit with fine grained tannins and a perfect dose of acidity. It's a full-bodied red with savory dark and red fruit flavors that coat the palate and continue to a long finish. It ranks among the truly great values of the vintage and it's a Sangiovese we think you'll appreciate as much as we do.

2015 La Gerla Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-26-2017
For me the wines of La Gerla always manage to showcase a purity and intensity of fruit in an elegant framework and their 2015 Rosso is certainly one of their best yet. It's a real classic aged in large casks which preserves its aromas of dried florals, sandalwood and red fruits. Additionally, this concentrated, mouthwatering Sangiovese is perfectly balanced and will drink nicely now and for several years to come. Pasta, roast pork or cheeses with this one.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Luigi Boveri "Derthona" Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 09-25-2017
Although Walter Massa remains the benchmark for Timorasso, this latest from Luigi Boveri is knockout. Surprising aromas of hazelnut, honey and minerals are only enhanced by a round and creamy textured palate with great acidity and length. We guessed it was over $20 which made this even more impressive. This truly is among the best Italian whites we've added to our cellars of late.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Skerk Vitovska Carso
Review Date: 09-25-2017
We receive a lot of requests for orange wines and, in my opinion, Skerk is one of the best producers of this genre. It takes a lot of focus and talent to make orange wines with this level of complexity and freshness and Skerk manages to do just that. His Vitovska sees weeks of skin contact and the tannins in the skins prevent oxidation of the wine. It's quite aromatic with notes of tropical fruit and wet stone and powerful on the palate with impressive structure from both tannins and acidity. Whether you are an orange wine fan or interested in trying one for the first time, look no further.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (375ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Castelgiocondo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This excellent 2012 Brunello from Frescobaldi represents a more modern approach to the category and is one of the best examples of the style. It's bigger shouldered and denser in weight than average, which translates to a concentrated palate that's smooth and polished with loads of delicious black fruit flavors. Aging in newer French oak adds a pleasant touch of well-integrated oak as well.

2012 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 08-29-2017
The "Giorgio" 2012 is a step up from the excellent 2011 and it's so good in fact, that it took us by surprise. It's impeccably balanced with a velvety and luxurious mouthful of chocolaty black fruit and fine ingrained tannins. The depth of fruit, ample structure and overall integration make this an ideal cellar candidate. Otherwise, open and give it a good amount of aeration or decant. Ribeye time for sure.

2012 Abbadia Ardenga "Piaggia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Ardenga may not be well known here in the States but they produce terrific Brunello. Their 2012 captures the best characteristics of the vintage; lush fruit combined with excellent freshness and structure. Ardenga boasts irresistible, concentrated cherry and plum fruit that packs a mid-palate punch and a lengthy finish. Pleasant grippy tannins add another dimension to the overall appeal of this wonderful red from the hills of Montalcino.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 JS 93

2014 Jermann Chardonnay Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
Review Date: 08-29-2017
For several decades Jermann has distinguished itself as one of the very top wineries within Italy's Friuli region and their 2014 Chardonnay reminded us why. Regardless of the challenges of a difficult vintage, they managed to craft a very impressive line-up of wines including this one. It's round and creamy with pronounced granny smith apple and pear flavors enlivened by substantial acidity. This is a tremendous Chardonnay value that will enhance a wide range of dishes including fish, poultry, vegetables and soups.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-28-2017
We've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of this wine ever since our memorable visit to the estate in 2016. Although we loved the 2011 for it's ripe fruit and immediacy, the 2012 delivers more on all fronts. The wine's hallmark Sangiovese aromas of earthy red fruits, sandalwood and dried florals burst from the glass while rich extract of red fruit and plum abound on the palate with smooth tannins and fresh acidity that carry it to a long finish. It possesses just the right balance of ripeness and structure that's impossible to resist.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 93

2014 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-28-2017
The Poggiarellino 2014 Rosso di Montalcino exceeds expectations in what is certainly one of the more challenging vintages of late. Immensely fragrant spiced strawberry fruit abounds throughout with additional earthy undertones and plenty of lingering fruit on the finish. Open now with meats and cheeses and enjoy this tremendous value Rosso.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is not only an impressive Rosso but also one of the best 2015s I've tasted. Andrea Cortonesi really captures the vintage with this complex, full-bodied Sangiovese. It's so good, in fact, that it might be mistaken for a great Brunello in a lesser vintage. The Uccelliera Rosso offers concentrated fruit and deftly integrated tannins and acidity. A truly outstanding wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2015 Talenti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Talenti's Rosso di Montalcino is produced from their younger vines Sangiovese. It's soft and approachable with lifted scents of mixed cherries and plums along with red fruit flavors that complement the wine's bright acidity. Try this with mild cheeses and lighter fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Vieil Orme "Inphini" Sauvignon Touraine Chenonceaux Blanc
Review Date: 08-07-2017
The "Iphini" represents Vieil Orme's "Cru" Touraine. Here there's more weight, concentration and riper fruit flavors than their outstanding regular bottling and the added richness and complexity are worth the slightly higher price. Great on its own or with food.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 08-07-2017
While I'm already a fan of good Touraine Blanc, this one raised the bar a bit for me. Zesty lime aromas are upstaged by generous citrus flavors, mouthwatering acidity, impressive mid-palate punch and a lengthy finish. A serious value Sauvignon for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 08-07-2017
Demand for Muscadet has definitely been on the rise of late so we've not only answered the call but also exceeded expectations with the arrival of this impressive direct import. It's a traditional style Muscadet that's very floral with additional scents of seashell and pure saline and mineral notes on the palate. Good weight and texture belie great acidity as well. We're expecting a lot of repeat customers when it comes to this one.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2010 Gulfi "Nerosanlorè" Nero d'Avola Sicilia
Review Date: 08-01-2017
My first exposure to the wines of Gulfi was many years ago when I had the pleasure of meeting and tasting with owner Vito Catania and I've been smitten with his Nero d'Avolas ever since. I know of no one with any greater passion for Nero d'Avola and his are among the finest produced. His NeroSanlore is one of several old vines single vineyard wines he produces and is considered the most elegant of them. The 2010 is singing right now offering a stunning expression of Nero d'Avola with intense, sweet extract of baked plum and blackberry fruits carried across the palate by bright acidity. A pleasant saltiness cuts through while mild tannins add a bit of texture to this juicy, full bodied red with a long berry fruit finish. Enjoy this with rich tomato based sauces, Mediterranean style pastas, richer fish and lamb dishes.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2014 Sergio Arcuri "Aris" Ciro Rosso Calabria
Review Date: 07-31-2017
I've had a number of Ciro Rossos over the years but this one was quite a revelation to me. While the others have generally displayed darker fruit, earthy aromas and rustic tannins the Arcuri is more akin to a lighter Nebbiolo. The aromas are those of red berries, minerals, sandalwood and dried herbs while the flavors express slightly salty red fruit, mild tannins and grippy acidity. It could almost be mistaken for a Piemonte red except for the exotic spicing and rustic character. We're happy to offer this outstanding addition to our Southern Italian selections,
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Schiavenza "Serralunga" Barolo
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Luciano Pira, owner and winemaker at Schiavenza, makes some of the most traditional style Barolos in Serralunga. All of his wines are aged in large Slavonian oak casks and he is always one of the last among his peers to release them. His 2012 is truly a snapshot of the vintage as it's fresh, aromatic and approachable as well. Cherry and plum fruits, earthy minerals and hints of licorice are on display on both nose and palate and the wine remains elegant and lively throughout. This is a truly well made Barolo that can be opened now or appreciated over the next few years if cellared properly.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2010 Camerano Barolo "Cannubi"
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Although Camerano is the second oldest wine producer within the commune of Barolo, their wines remain relatively unknown outside the zone as they have, until recently, always sold their wines locally. Thankfully a small number of cases make it to the US and we are grateful to offer their latest Barolo "Cannubi." Their 2010 is pleasantly aromatic with an array of dark cherries, minerals, licorice and rose petals and full and elegant on the palate with supple berry fruit and fine tannins. This is a first-rate, classic expression of Nebbiolo from one of the most prestigious vineyards within the Barolo communes. While it can be enjoyed today, it will certainly improve in the cellar.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2011 Porta del Vento "MaQue'" Perricone Sicilia
Review Date: 07-25-2017
Porta del Vento is located at 2,000 feet above Palermo near Camporeale. Here the hillsides are steep and subjected to high winds, extreme temperature shifts and difficult terrain. Owner and winemaker Marco Sferlazzo farms biodynamically and is one of the few to work with the rare red varietal known as Perricone. His is one of the finest made and boasts complex aromas of plum, blue fruits, violets, herbs and minerals. Additionally it's structured yet balanced with a medium-bodied palate of dried blue fruits, fine tannins, juicy acidity and low alcohol as well. This is a rare wine that Italophiles will especially enjoy.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Gianni Doglia Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 07-24-2017
While so many of the Moscato d'Astis in our market are made commercially in large quantites, the same cannot be said of this one. It's really quite special and, in our opinion, among the best made. Gianni and Paola Doglia own a small property near Castignole Lanze, Asti that producers a mere 3500 cases per year. Their Moscato offers an impressive aromatic array of white peach, melon, orange and honey as well as a zesty and refreshing palate of creamy goodness. It's pleasantly sweet yet very fresh making it especially good at the end of a meal or on a hot afternoon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Badala Etna Rosso
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Until this vintage, the wines of Badala were sold only in Italy. Their tiny estate is located just shy of 2000 feet on Sicily's Mt Etna and farmed 100% biodynamically. Although elegant, this intriguing red also offers a deceptive layer of grippy tannins embedded within its rich black fruited palate. It certainly adds another dimension to our Etna Rosso selections and is one that we highly recommend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-24-2017
This really took us by surprise. Maybe it's that since most of the great rose wines we're familiar with hail from Spain, France or California, we don't have the same expectation when it comes to Italy. Regardless, this impressive gem from Calabria delivers earthy bright red fruit aromas and flavors along with juicy acidity and fine tannins that make this ideal with meats and heartier fare. "Marinetto" is made from 100% Gaglioppo and certainly brings intriguing character of Calabria to the table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Fiano is one of the noble white grapes of Southern Italy and Sarno is without doubt one the finest producers of it. Theirs combines richness and structure and the 2015 vintage takes the aromatics and palate to another level. Subtle scents of beeswax, pear and citrus precede a round and seamless palate with a core of vibrant acidity and a chalky mineral finish. This sensational white will age gracefully and will develop more complex notes of honey and hazelnuts as it matures.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-16-2017
Considering the demand for and quality of the 2008 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello, we've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of this outstanding Riserva. It definitely delivers the added dimension of savory fruit we've come to expect from the 2010s along with just the right balance of acidity. This classic really opens up with ample aeration but truly shines when decanted. An unexpected surprise at an unexpected price.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 07-10-2017
The Keber family has resided in Italy's Collio region near the Slovenian border for generations. Today, Edi and his son organically farm the local white grape varietals Friulano, Malvasia Istriana and Ribolla Gialla and blend them together to make a single wine. Their 2015 Bianco is truly impressive. An aromatic array of gooseberry, citrus and herbs is nearly upstaged by a round, spicy and mouthwatering palate with delicious hints of anise and tarragon on the long finish. It's not only a tribute to their talented winemaking but also a shining example in a top vintage.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto Sicilia
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Admittedly I like to drink white wines that have a fair amount of acidity and thus I've come across only a handful of Catarattos over the years that I've liked as most have lacked a level of freshness and vibrancy I prefer. That's not to say that many were not high quality, well made wines but rather that I've encountered only a few like Porta del Vento. This wonderful find offers intriguing scents of pear, flint and stone fruit along with great acidity on the palate. One of my colleagues mentioned it lands somewhere between a Chablis and an aged Vouvray Sec and I'd have to agree. A real find from Sicily.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
Barbi has always been one of my favorite of the more classic style Brunello producers and I am especially impressed with their 2012. There's a freshness and vibrancy that shines through some very bright and savory red fruit in this medium-bodied gem. The tannins are ripe, the acidity is balanced and the wine is wonderful now and will drink nicely over the next few years.

2015 Argiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The historic Argiano estate has undergone a good amount of renovation of late as a result of a more recent change in ownership. The new caretakers have achieved an impressive level of refinement throughout their wines and the 2015 Rosso stands out. Warm and juicy red fruit, fully ripe tannins and a delicious lingering finish make it irresistible. This showcases Sangiovese and more specifically, the outstanding 2015 vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-16-2017
Matteo Sardagna is at the helm of his family's estate and has taken on greater responsibilities since the passing of his mother in 2010. The winery is definitely among those in the Langhe committed to the preservation of the zone and to a high level of quality throughout the winemaking process. The vines of Terlo range in age from 15-55 years and yield a juicy, generous and showy Barolo with expressive spiced red fruit and noticeable but fine tannins throughout. Although approachable now, it will only improve in the bottle if allowed to outgrow its youthful vigor.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

2009 Branas Grand Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 05-30-2017
I love 2009 Bordeaux so it was a pleasure to taste this recently. Although it's big and rich, it has surprisingly fresh acidity and substantial tannins as well. What makes this especially enticing is the full-bodied palate of sweet black fruit and the long finish. It's certainly nice now with aeration but will only improve with a couple additional years in the cellar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Felsina's "Rancia" ranks among my favorite wines. It's a truly special Chianti Riserva that in most vintages can age for decades yet remains a relative bargain. It's uniqueness is in no small part due to the fact that the more recent vines planted are Massal selections (graftings from older vines within the Rancia vineyard as opposed to nursery selections). This adds a depth and complexity to an already great Sangiovese. The 2012 drinks beautifully today with rich fruit, wonderful palate density and finish. This is its 29th vintage and it's as outstanding as ever.

2014 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 05-08-2017
"Roccolo del Durlo" is a picturesque vineyard comprised of very old vines planted on the hillside of an inactive volcano. The resultant wine is medium-bodied with a wonderful richness that surrounds a base of honey, apple, melon, salty minerals and solid acidity. It's a lot of wine considering its modest price and an impressive effort from a challenging vintage. Especially good with shrimp, scallops, mild fish and chicken dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 05-08-2017
"Le Battistelle" is the Dal Bosco's vineyard site that is composed of Volcanic soils. Although the Garganega grape is generally not very aromatic, the combination of the Basalt, long fermentation at lower temperature and frequent lees stirring gives the wine another dimension of complexity. The 2014 offers subtle yellow fruit, green melon and volcanic soil notes while round and creamy on the palate. Pair this intriguing white with light pastas and white fish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2011 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-06-2017
The 2011 vintage is a gift in that so many of the Brunelli from this warmer year can be opened and enjoyed now. The Poggiarellino is bursting with bold fruit, ripe tannins and an overall freshness that make it simply irresistible. It's drinking beautifully at the moment and it remains among our best value Brunellos. Fire up the grill and open a bottle of this wonderful Sangiovese.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 05-01-2017
Tenuta Roveglia is the most recent addition to our Italian direct import portfolio and their wines are already turning heads. My colleague Greg St. Clair alerted me some time ago as to just how impressive Roveglia's Luganas were and he was right. Over the years I've found most Lugana to be either a bit lean or conversely more akin to oaky new world Chardonnay with few rising above. Neither is the case with Roveglia. Their "Limne" is a value priced Lugana that weds crisp acidity with flavorful honeyed fruit and is vibrant on the palate from start to finish. We were expecting this to retail closer to $20 and were astonished to find otherwise. This versatile white drinks nicely as an aperitif but will pair nicely with shellfish, white meats and lighter Asian style dishes. Impressive.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Page: 1 2 next