Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

2015 Los Bermejos Malvasia Seco Lanzarote (Canary Islands)
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Spectacular! Lemon zest, saline saltiness, white peach, pear and honeysuckle notes with vibrant acidity and fabulous balance and texture. My new house summer white- I love this wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Idlewild "The Bee-Flora & Fauna" California White Blend
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Lovely honeysuckle, lemon zest, pear, spice and apricot with medium plus acidity and great balance. Aromatic, very refreshing, pretty but not cloying, and surprisingly versatile with food!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 89 - 91

2016 Chateau Les Valentines Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Strawberry, watermelon, juicy red berries. Medium plus acidity and rich fruit. A classic Provencal rose for spring!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2017
Such an intriguing Champagne! Spiced pear, lemon zest, flaky pie crust, mineral, dried apple, saline...and while not exactly the same, it reminds me a lot of the Krug Grand Cuvee. As it warmed in my glass, it became more weighty and lingered on the palate. I enjoyed this with my favorite shrimp tempura rolls from my local sushi spot. The toastiness of the tempura complemented the wine perfectly! The fabulous 2008 vintage is just beginning to shine here- I can't wait to see how this develops. A true worthy addition to my regular weekly Champagne ration (because yes, I have one), and most definitely worthy of my cellar!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 04-18-2017
The White Label is one gorgeous bottle of Pinot Noir. Very accessible, and very aromatic- pretty, pretty, pretty. Red cherry, sweet strawberry, rose, spice and raspberry, with medium plus acidity and medium plus tannin. I just want to sit and savor every sip. Throw a party and make this your house Pinot Noir- you will not be disappointed!

2016 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Oh, how I love a good off-dry Riesling! Apricot, citrus zest, and Bartlett pear, sweet but not cloying, with fabulously balanced acidity- and 8.5% alcohol. Helloooooo, summer!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 97

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Darker in color than the last vintage, but all kinds of character! This year's TWR Rose of Pinot Noir does not disappoint- red cherry, red plum, red currant, strawberry and spice with medium plus acidity and great balance. Looking for a rose to compliment your BBQ'ed ribs, salmon, chicken or steak- or perhaps a plate of cheese & charcuterie? Give this puppy a try! YUM!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) SV5182 Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Granny smith apple, lemon zest, chalky minerality and a bit of toast and texture from lees contact and barrel fermentation, with very refreshing, zesty acidity. This is one drinkable Sauvignon Blanc!

2013 Joseph Swan "Cuvée de Trois" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-04-2016
Strawberry, spice, fresh cherry, red rose with medium-plus acidity. Food-friendly and would be a very pretty addition to your Thanksgiving table!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 RP 90

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2016
I LOVE THIS GIN! Coming from a person who at present has 21 different open bottles of Gin on her bar (and, no I am not exaggerating), this is the Gin I am going through at the most rapid clip right now. It's killer. When I met the hilarious and entertaining man who made it- Stuart- he put a tiny slice of orange in my G&T. I thought he was nuts. Then I tried it. I refuse to drink my G&Ts any other way now- the brightness of a fresh piece of orange (or a twist) beautifully enhances the orange notes in this fun Gin. Looking for a really fun new Gin for summer? This is it!!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Simply gorgeous. Elegant pear, citrus, honey and cream. Easy, nuanced, delicate Champagne. Well done, M.DeMarville!

2007 Marques de Murrieta "Castillo Ygay" Gran Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 02-24-2016
Elegant and refined, this Gran Reserva is like a cross between juicy modern and rustic traditional styles of Rioja, which is unusual for a normally more flashy Murrieta. Crunchy red plum, dried cherry, cassis and spice, with very nicely integrating oak- this wine is juuuuuust thinking about starting to develop the classic leathery, savory character of Gran Reserva Rioja. If you are looking for a way to explore the wines of Spain, but are not quite sure where to start, this wine would be a great buy!

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Rosé (375ml can)
Review Date: 06-04-2015
It's here, it's here, it's finally here! The Underwood Rosé I've been waiting for since last June! Plush strawberry, unexpected peach, citrus, and red cherry with nice acidity and balance. Half a bottle for $5.99 in an easily portable, light can? SIGN ME UP! Head out to the beach, the park, a picnic, the pool, or a BBQ with cold cans and you will be the toast of the party! LOVE THIS!
Top Value!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-02-2015
This wine gets better every time I taste it. Beautifully elegant, red rose & red cherry, sandalwood, cassis, currant, mineral and hints of earthiness. Lively acidity and soft, easy tannin. A total no-brainer to stock up on as we start a warm spring!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2015
I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Lot 40 Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

2008 Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Every time I taste this Champagne, I want to sit and linger with it for the rest of the afternoon. It's a totally nerdy rose, unlike anything else we have. Barrel fermented, all Pinot Meunier and aged in bottle for a year, this particular bottling is all from 2006 fruit. Red cherry, spice, vanilla, leather, funky earth with medium plus acidity and a long finish. What a fabulous, fun rose Champagne!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-01-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-24-2012
This has been my recent number one go-to champagne: I had a bottle with a friend at dinner, and then 2 days later had another to start a party, and I am buying a third tonight just because! Pretty spiced apple, white flowers, and citrus, with medium acid & a fine bubble structure. Very pleasant and quite friendly for such a complex wine. A lot of fun as a conversation starter at a cocktail party!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 09-28-2012
What a screaming deal at $11.99! This bubbly from the Loire Valley will delight you with its refreshingly pleasant acidity, fine bubble structure, and hints of pear, apple and minerals. Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Franc. When I first brought this wine home, I admittedly had intended to just mix it with my Mathilde Cassis for a Kir Royale, but I wanted to give the wine its proper due and poured a glass out straight first. A wonderful surprise met me, and I never did add that cassis.... the wine somehow disappeared too quickly! Perfect for holiday entertaining!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Brut Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 07-16-2012
I had the pleasure of tasting this elegant sparkling wine with the winemaker from New Zealand, who stopped by our store recently. Having just stepped off the plane not 24 hours prior, he was still enthusiastic about presenting us this wine! Pinot Noir dominates the blend with Chardonnay, with a sweet apple and pear, a lovely leesy toastiness, hints of mineral and zippy acid in the finish. This wine is biodynamic, hand picked, and done in the traditional method- and it is HAND riddled to boot! Not many sparkling wines left in the world today can claim that! The care taken with this wine is clear- and the price makes it a steal!
Top Value!

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2011
Minerally, cranberry and tart- the perfect pairing with smoked salmon appetizers. The richness of the salmon would be outstanding with the crisp mineral zip of this fantastic rose. Another excellent demonstration of the care and passion that Ariston Aspasie and family put into their champagne. Drink deep- Happy New Year!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2011
A teeny-tiny version of the Aspasie classic Carte Blanche? Get me a picnic basket or a seat by the fire! I'm in! A miniature version of the well-balanced, delicious champagne that we sell by the, well, boatload as it were. Get it now- this is all that is left!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

King's Ginger Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 11-17-2011
Fans of fresh grated ginger rejoice! This is the stuff for you! No cloying stickiness here, just lots of spice and real ginger heat. Made with 20 year old Glenrothes, and macerated with real fresh ginger root- just add soda!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2011
Having read Melissa and David's reviews of this gin, I was excited but rather dubious in approaching it- how could it be so expressive of the terrior of Northern California? I poured it over ice, added some Fevertree Tonic water and a splash of lime and BAM! Hands down the most incredible experience of drinking in the landscape I love so much! Bay laurel, damp redwood, eucalyptus, wild fennel & dill- this California girl is enraptured!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-04-2011
WOW. Big wow. This 2002 vintage champagne is earthy, mushroom-y, woodsy and complex. Great acidity: like a mouth-watering tart green apple! Think risotto with mushrooms and asparagus, a hearty chicken pot pie with fat chunks of potato & veggies, or crab stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer- this wine will shine and make you look GOOD as the host! Snap it up for elegant entertaining this winter!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-04-2011
A soft, mildly sweet Moscato d'Asti with light floral aromas. A pleasant choice (best when chilled) to enjoy on its own or for a sunny Sunday brunch on the terrace with friends!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
GR 2

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-04-2011
Drinking St. Germain is like drinking liquid flowers! Subtle, sweet and captivating. Who knew that hand-picked elderflowers from the French Alps could be so lovely? Delicious with Gran Cava champagne with a curly twist of orange, even more amazing with soda on the rocks! I served St. Germain with soda and fresh watermelon juice at a springtime cocktail party, and could hardly keep up with the demand! My absolute favorite spirit for spring and summer!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100