Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-25-2017
Here's a very unique, complex and rich Champagne that any Champagne lover needs to try. Powerful with rich hazelnut, exotic fruits and spice box notes, lovely citrus peel and a layer of beautiful sweet chalky minerality. The long ageing in a solera style adds to the unusual complexity and intrigue of this Champagne. All this at an unbelievable price for the quality.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Greywacke Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Blind I thought this was a much higher end Chardonnay. Although the new world ripeness shows through, there are a lot of Burgundian qualities here, a lovely flinty smoky hazelnut nose, rich and expressive layered over beautiful peach laced ripe apple fruit. The oak while present is not overwhelming at all, and absorbs well into the mid palate. Framed with lovely acidity and a stony edge to the finish there is little to argue with here, its' a lovely complex chardonnay at a fantastic price.
Top Value!

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-05-2017
The Les Allees de Cantemerle 2009 is a great value wine giving you a large amount of what you get in the first wine for a bargain price. Pretty rich and great power for a wine in this range with lovely rose petal notes over deep dark fruit. Plenty of black spices and a nice note of minerality finish it off.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Vaillons" 1er Cru
Review Date: 06-30-2017
As with all the 2014 Chablisienne Chablis I've tried, the Vaillons has a lovely rich and ripe character - somewhat bold for a Chablis but entirely delightful. Notes of citrus blossom and white spice linger on the surface and lots of the typical mineral qualities we expect from Chablis.
Top Value!

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Mont de Milieu" 1er Cru
Review Date: 06-29-2017
Full bodied rich and minerally with an almost mango like edge to the ripe pear and apple fruit. The crisp citrus finish leaves you longing for another sip. A fantastic value.
Top Value!

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Les Venerables" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-29-2017
Fantastic value in an older vine rich Chablis, the Venerables really shows a great density and weight with a fantastic Chablis stone to the mid palate. Pure and clean with a truly classic Chablis style.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WE 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "La Sereine"
Review Date: 06-29-2017
On the extreme value end of Chablis, the La Sereine just can't be beat. A beautiful expression of ripe Chablis, honeydew notes and a stony edge lovely and balanced. A nice mild citrus finishes off this little beauty. All at the price of a mediocre chardonnay from most of the world, you get true classic Chablis.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2001 C.H. Berres Erdener Treppchen Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 06-22-2017
The 2001 vintage was well known as an exceptional vintage in Germany, and most wines are now sold out, the CH Berres however has just released a supply of the beautiful 2001 Erdener Treppchen Spatlese directly from the winery at an unbelievable price. It has a lovely floral nose, and a wonderful rich mouthfeel and is still fresh and vibrant as can be. A classic mid weight palate of lovely tropical mango and guava laced with delicate notes of fine cinnamon and minerals and a persistent and sweet meyer lemon finish.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Orin Swift "Papillon" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-20-2017
Wow, if you like a big bold showy flashy spicy powerful Bordeaux blend and want it made perfectly, this is the wine for you. Destined for big points and a lot of happy collectors -- the deep, dense, mouthcoating dark fruit tinged with licorice and sarsaparilla is truly a show-stopper!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Who doesn't love Bolli! 007, The gals from Ab Fab, and us! Seriously this has always been a favorite, likely due to its generous use of reserve wines and meticulous winemaking, the bold rich and nutty presence and light zesty lemon peel highlights are truly hard to resist.
Top Value!

2008 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
I probably don't have to tell you that the '08 vintage is one of the best lately, and I think my favorite for this Champagne ever. It shows a lovely nutty and leesy nose and a rich stone fruit palate - lovely balance and a fantastic wet stone note. Full and rich and balanced with a fantastic crisp finish, it's a credit to its vintage!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
You don't have to give up extreme quality to have a reasonably priced Champagne, Gary's finds over the years have proven that to me, the Ellner Grand Reserve is yet another example. All Estate fruit and 4+ years on the lees give you an idea of what they're willing to do to put such quality in this bottle. It's a great and classic Champagne, lightly oaked with a wonderful ripe green apple fruit and an easy palate feel. A definite crowd pleaser here, this bottle is very flexible for drinking as an aperitif or perhaps with a grilled halibut steak
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
The Grand Siecle is one of those 'under the radar' stunning luxury cuvee Champagnes that simply blows away most of the more well known big guns. The Creamy leesy lightly toasty nose gives way to a palate of rich round creamy lightly spiced baked apple. Very very classy and elegant for such a rich wine, this will make any special occasion even that much more special. My favorite sub $500 Luxury cuvee.
Top Value!

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
One of the best of the big name NV Champagnes, LP has always shown a winning combination of classic style and a broad appeal. Pure and clear peach fruit with a nice chalky edge and a clean clear finish. Always a great choice for a party or gifts, and never a disappointment

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
80% Chard and 20% Pinot Noir blended to a spectacular luxury cuvee that stopped me in my tracks when I tasted it. The golden honeyed nose is powerful and the profound texture of this Champagne is bold and elegant at the same time, dense and nutty with a long and persistent finish. It easily stands its own with those well known luxury Champagnes costing many multiples of this. How can you go wrong!
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Of course the 2008 vintage has given us great Champagnes, and it's no exception with Fallet-Dart. Their '08 vintage has a fantastic deep brioche like character with zesty citrus and white grape fruits sparkling over rich baked apple. The 70% Chardonnay really shines through and the long persistent finish shows a wonderful mineral component. All you would expect from this great vintage at a price that is amazingly affordable
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
The Fallet-Dart Champagnes all represent fantastic values, and there are a number to choose from depending on your preference and budget. Each on shows a lovely toasty note from their preference for long lees contact.The Grande Selection adds 15% Chardonnay to the cuvee but still has the Pinot Noir/Pinot Meunier dominant. It shows a bit more of a creamy refined character with lovely plump white fruits and a tangerine hint on the edges. It shows a nice bold mouthfeel and a long finish
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart Grand Reserve Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
The Fallet-Dart Champagnes all represent fantastic values, and there are a number to choose from depending on your preference and budget. Each on shows a lovely toasty note from their preference for long lees contact. The Grand reserve is rich but has a lovely crunchy crispness of fresh citrus over red apple fruit. It finishes up with a very refreshing clean snap.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina Valle Isarco Kerner Alto Adige
Review Date: 04-10-2017
We just had this last night with a Chinese banquet celebration and the wine worked magnificently. Rich enough for all the dishes and full of lovely exotic fruits and florals yet still dry. A big hit all around, and highly recommended for difficult pairings with multiple dishes.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Don Rodolfo Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 04-05-2017
Here we go again, another fantastic buy in Argentinian Malbec! Modern and fruity with a lovely perfume on the nose and a truly serious offering for an everyday price. If you're a fan of Malbec you NEED this wine for something easy to reach for all week long
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 90

2014 Montes "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 04-05-2017
The Montes Classic Cabernet is one of those wines you just can't find fault with. It shows great medium bodied pure cabernet fruit, lovely structure and fine dusty tannins. From such a great producer, it's wonderful to find something in the $10 range that is an astonishing buy. Montes has a huge following due to their higher end wines, so don't hesitate, I don't expect this one to last long
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
Hot on the heels of the wildly popular 2013 vintage, this might even be slightly better! It's a wonderfully structured classic Napa style Cabernet very much in the style you expect from Provenance perhaps slightly less ripe than the 2013 but certainly more balanced. Just beautiful!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clemens Busch Riesling Trocken (Dry) Mosel (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 02-13-2017
The Clemens Busch Trocken has everything there is to like about a dry Mosel at a price that can't be beat. Pure and bright with great acidity and balance. Lovely slate nose laced with jasmine and a faint quince like savory note. The palate is pure and fine with great minerality and lovely ripe Meyer lemon fruit. A reasonably long dry finish and fine mineral residual top it off. Beautiful Riesling, fantastic value - what's not to like!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2012 Marqués de Murrieta Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-24-2017
Thank goodness sanity still reigns supreme in the pricing of some regions' wines. The 2012 Murrieta Reserva is a perfect example. They beautifully navigated the 2012 vintage to bring us this lovely sub-$20 age-worthy wine with a nod to Old World Rioja and New World purity. I've been a fan of the Marques de Murrieta for years and this shows me why. It's a wine not to pass up.
Top Value!

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-11-2017
Add my voice to the chorus of praise! Winemaker Adam Smith has brought us another fantastic wine at a ridiculous price from the stable of the guys at Banshee. It's hard to find even a pleasant Pinot at this price these days, yet alone a beautifully made, seriously food-friendly Pinot like this.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2013 Sinor-LaVallee San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
California Chard lovers rejoice! Here's a rich and wonderful Chard at an incredibly good price. With a Ripe pear and beeswax nose, lovely peachy fruit and a note of brulee on the palate showing a little creamy oak from the French and American barrels. Nicely powerful but mercifully avoiding the RS trap. It's a crowd pleaser and a very well made wine.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 90

2013 Pahlmeyer Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 01-10-2017
Perfect California Merlot? Maybe so. The beautiful 2013 vintage and the peak of California Merlot producers come together in one stunning package. Wonderfully rich and intensity following all the way from the nose to the extra long finish are just a start of this beauty's appeal. Layers of deep black fruits, subtle coffee notes and fine tannins hold together just right and absorb all of the lovely oak. Quite complex and very well structured. The wine will surprise you when you see the ABV of slightly over 15%, the wine is so incredibly balanced you won't even notice. Spectacular!

2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-04-2017
Delicious and a great value, what more can we ask for? A wonderful mid weight clean and bright Sonoma chard like this typically costs much more, but here we have it. Lovely notes of peach stone and white flowers with a moderated amount of wood and wonderful pleasing finish. Fantastic wine at any price!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2000 Domaine d'Ognoas 16 Year Old Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2016
Creamy, rich and silky smooth, this is a definite winner in the Bas Armagnac category. Certain to sell out quickly so get yours while you can.
Top Value!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Baron de Lustrac 25 Year Old Brut de Fut Bas Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-22-2016
Here's a great value on a 25 year old Armagnac from a truly historic property. Complex and rich with a beautiful deep nose and a broad palate almost creamy in texture. A definite must for any Cognac/Armagnac lover!
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
OK, I have to admit I'm more of a Scotch and Cognac drinker so a Tequila has to be off the charts to make me think I want to write up something. This is THE best Tequila I have ever sipped. Pure, bright and elegant are not always the descriptors you expect of a Tequila, but this fits the bill precisely. The nose is absolutely charming with a pure agave quality interlaced with aromas of lime, spice and a note of aromatic pine. On the palate it is wonderfully complex, a bit smoky, oaky and spicy with citrus and that beautiful quince like fruitiness great Tequila always shows me. The story is captivating enough to make you want to try it, but the experience will bring you back for more. Bravo!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Brut Blanc de Blancs Vieilles Vignes Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Oh wow, I tasted this and immediately bought a case. It's amazing to find any Champagne from seriously old vines at all, much less at this price. Rich and creamy as you would expect from all my colleagues' reviews and one of the best deals in Champagne in the store.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Vidal-Fleury Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 09-15-2016
Like a trip through memory lane, the Vidal Fleury brings me back to the days of pure and honest Cotes du Rhone at reasonable prices. Holding back from the more modern flashy styles we are seeing so much of, this wine has a lovely texture and weight. Very pretty spices and beautiful fruit showing its Grenache and Syrah, mouth-coating without being cloying and a wonderful slightly rustic finish are all hallmarks of this little gem. I'm taking some home, if you are a fan of classic CdR, you should too!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Arboleda Chardonnay Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 08-10-2016
A Big Winner and a great value once again shows up from Chile. Fantastic fresh and crunchy apple and pear fruit dominates with a medium amount of oak very well integrated. There is a lot going on here despite the reasonable price, great acidity and a mineral component work very well with the fresh fruit. Just delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 JS 93

1991 Villa Zarri 24 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Italian Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 08-04-2016
My treat to myself after dinner has always been a good cognac, and I've enjoyed this so much I've not been lured by any other brandies..... until now. The Villa Zarri 24 is just spectacular - vibrant and bright, with only barrel ageing (no caramel coloring here) and an incredible lively palate. For a 24 year old this is truly still fresh and youthful. Rich but not too savory or heady, the natural color is a wonderful deep bronze. I would have guessed this was a luxury level Cognac if I had not known in advance it was from Italy. Single cask distilled in 1991. A must try!
Top Value!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
A beautiful expression of Napa Cab does not have to be monolithic and overripe, the 2014 TV definitely proves this. It has plenty of rich dark fruits and a nice balanced use of oak. It's held together by a deftly balanced structure with just the right acidity and rather mellow tannins to compliment nicely. Offered now at a fantastic price, it's a cab you don't want to miss.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
The magnum of the Charles Heidsieck Brut Reserve is even better than the Champagne in .750 which is truly a statement. The .750 is rich and opulent but the magnum lends yet another overlaying note of refined elegance to the package. It is often repeated that Champagne is best made in magnums, and this bottle is definitely an argument to that truth.

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply delicious, the Charles Heidsieck Champagnes have improved so drastically lately that if you haven't tried them recently you owe it to yourself to try one now. Bold nutty, toasty and rich, but not lumbering or cloying - it has a lovely acidity to finish it off. Bravo!

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Wow, this is something special and different! All Mesnil fruit in oak barrels made from Mesnil Oak - like a double Grand Cru. The Mesnil Oak lends a delicious oaky note with a wonderfully unusual and enticing oily texture. Mid slope Mesnil pickings give classic GC fruit and power.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
I love the freshness of the Veuve Clemence. From pickings on the upper and lower parts of the slopes in all Grand Cru vineyards. The Champagne is wonderfully complex, but the crisp apple fruit component of the palate shows through brilliantly and subtle hints of spices are woven throughout. Another incredible deal in Grand Cru Champagne
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-16-2016
We all need some 'go to' wines in our cellar, and for years Guigal has produced a fantastic Cotes du Rhone at an extremely good price to complement their line of high end wines. It has seen its rightful place on many a restaurant menu and in wine lovers' homes everywhere. The 2012 is no exception, pure and balanced Rhone full of dark fruit, spice and lovely Rhone earth and fine tannins and acidity to support the wine.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-10-2016
A bold and pretty powerful offering from Charles Smith at a great price! The WOS has great mouthfeel, lots of deep dark fruit and notes of French Oak and spice. It's truly a serious Washington Cab at a fantastic price
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Wow! This was really fantastic from a great new distillery. Rich and full with a nice roundness that draws you to the next sip. Great Job Copper & Kings!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Wow, this 3rd evolution of Cut Spike is a little different but even better. Tropical fruits, ginger and a wonderful spicy wood on the nose move along to a beautiful mid palate of soft fruity lime and papaya, gentle Asian spice and lemon grass, then flow through to a smooth finish showing orange blossom, kaffir lime and notes of that wonderful vanilla the last offering had. Very unique and impressive - and a must for any whisky lover.
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Another big winner Ryan found for us! This Pinot is a great example of how a wine can show the fantastic fruit of the new world while still maintaining complexity and balance. The label looks like something right out of an Austin Powers movie but don't be fooled, this one is serious and seriously good!
Top Value!

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass. Our best selling Champagne glass ever!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2002 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-04-2015
There are flashily packaged, everyone has to have one, fad-of-the-moment Champagnes - and there are classic, stunningly beautiful Champagnes that prove to all who taste them why Champagne is a true luxury worth treating yourself from time to time. The 2002 Dom Ruinart Rose is a great example of the latter. A true special occasion Grand Cru that you deserve to try at least once in life.

2012 Valli "Bendigo Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
The Bendigo is another richer style from Valli, bold and rich but with savory notes and a super velvety texture. Mouth filling and layered with a warmer riper fruit and a wonderfully long finish
Drink to 0

Page: 1 2 next