Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

2012 Louis Brochet "Alain" Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Delicious and extremely complex for a wine in this price category. Lovely aromatics of creamy pear and bread notes lead you in to a medium full bodied palate and crisp edges and finish. Plenty to like here, and the progression in the glass was wonderful - it opens up and offers up a deeper richer feel than shown initially with plenty to suggest a few years in the cellar will yield amazing results.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The Ingram Road Chardonnay had us thinking of a mini Chassagne, fairly balanced with crisp acidity, minerality and a great toasty note as well as a slight nuttiness that compliments the fresh fruitiness of the mid palate. Finishing off with a nice creamy note, this is sure to be a huge hit for fans of French as well as new world chardonnay!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
JH 94

2006 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-28-2018
As a big fan of the 2005, I was really thrilled to see the 2006 arrive. Surprisingly dominant fruit (for a wine over 10 years old) with secondary notes of spice and a little earth continue to be the key to this wine's delicious showing. Crowd-pleasing and very tempting yet still showing its clear Rioja character. You can sense the care that goes into this, even though the price is very reasonable. Another winner from Casa Juan!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 06-20-2018
Consistent with Brane Cantenac's recent successes, the 2017 is showing absolutely lovely in barrel samples. Elegant and silken classic Margaux with lovely pure and vibrant fruit. Nicely structured for ageing a decade or two, I'm definitely putting some of this into my cellar!
Top Value!

2017 Kalinda Sonoma County Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-28-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Clyde really got us a lovely Kalinda Sauvignon Blanc here, and at a classic Kalinda value. The nose shows lovely citrus blossom florals with a touch of peach stone, and the palate comes through with a wonderful creamy texture and viscosity, rich peachy fruit with notes of tropical and a delicate note of fine mineral. Great balanced acidity and a fresh crisp finish top it off. I'll be drinking a lot of this over the summer!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-22-2018
I have to admit a complete addiction to this wine. Year after year I fall in love with this soft Pinot Noir rose from Sancerre. Beautiful dry pure red fruits and just the perfect amount of light tannins to make a fantastic summertime sip.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Streicker "Bridgeland Block" Syrah Margaret River
Review Date: 02-08-2018
A lovely change of pace from the Margaret River ... Syrah! Mostly we see Cab, Chard and a bit of Sauvignon Blanc, but this Syrah is terrific. I'd be hard pressed to tell where it was from if tasted blind, moderate in weight and complex, spicy meaty notes over that creamy classic syrah fruit. Classic and hinting at the northern Rhone style, but with a new world twist. Well balanced as with all the Streicker wines and nice tight acidity. A big winner!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2012 Streicker "Ironstone Block" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 02-08-2018
The Streicker Ironstone Chard is still bright and refreshing and remarkably youthful. Only 33% Malo leaves a wonderful bright fresh acidity with classic white peach chardonnay fruit and a wafting thread of tropical almost mango fruit right down the middle. Medium weight, rich but not too rich and notes of vanilla from the oak. Very well made, it's a fantastic bargain.

2012 Streicker "Ironstone Block" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 02-08-2018
The 2012 Streicker Ironstone Cab showed astonishingly well in a tasting of our full lineup. Still lively and young, the Ironstone Cab showed beautiful rich fruit stopping just short of going to flashy - it offers a very carefully crafted level of balance and complexity while still showing a bit of new world perfumed ripeness. Very long and smooth, yet with a strong structured core that bodes well for many years of pleasure to come. I look forward to seeing the layers evolve over the next 5-10 years
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2011 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-30-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Nicely showing very pretty oak and brambly fruit with fine grained tannins, this is an amazing bargain. Purely Rioja, but with a modern twist. Grill up some lamb chops and open this for a fantastic dinner!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 01-29-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
What a wonderful vintage for Brane Cantenac. At the UGC tasting in SF 1/2018 it was showing absolutely beautifully. Wonderful purity and a top layer of dense wild fruits while offering a lot of smoky spicy notes underneath. Incredibly balance and structure, this is delicious and a wine for the cellar.
Top Value!

2015 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 01-28-2018
It's no surprise that Coufran once again offers an amazing value in 2015 - we've been enjoying this wonderful Haut Medoc for years now, and the 2015 vintage is one of the best. Coufran has an unusual Merlot heavy blend that always offers a lovely amount of very smooth textured dark red fruit above earthy and minerally notes. I predict the 2015 will again age very well, as the rich amount of fruit is balanced nicely by great structure - at this price it will be tempting to drink it up early, but a few years in the cellar will truly reward you.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 01-28-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Chateau Siran always offers great value, but the 2015 has surpassed even their impressive normal quality level. The best Siran I've tasted so far, this Merlot heavy cepage offers a fantastic amount of richness and structure with plushness and avelvety overlay. Deep blue and dark berry fruit, with a nice under layer of more complex cocoa and soft leather. It will lure you into drinking now, but be sure to put some into the cellar for a few years, I'm sure it will reward you.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-27-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Ever since I had this wine at my wedding in 2008, it has been getting more and more impressive. This current cuvee is the most amazing value yet in a truly first class Champagne. You owe it to yourself to try one if you haven't yet. My number one pick of Champagne values in the store!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Raymond Ragnaud Extra Vieux Grande Champagne Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-22-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Stunningly beautiful and elegant, the Extra Vieux from Raymond Ragnaud is one of the best cognacs I've tried for a while. Extremely charming and almost delicate in feel but very complex and persistent, it's destined to win any Cognac drinker over. Impressive and 25 years old, yet at a price that is hard to believe.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2013 Kay Brothers "Hillside" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 11-13-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Kay Brothers Hillside Shiraz is truly one of the iconic wines of Australia's McLaren Vale and a perennial favorite. Violets, chocolate and intense plum dominate the palate, however layers of dried meats, cracked pepper and fragrant spice are interwoven throughout. It is long and deep with mouthwatering, savory layers emerging in the glass and a nicely balanced level of acidity and fine tannin. Uou will be forgiven for thinking of the great syrahs of the northern Rhone when tasting this beauty.
Top Value!

2015 Neil Ellis "Whitehall" Chardonnay Stellenbosch
Review Date: 11-13-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wow, this stunning Chardonnay from Elgin is amazing. Wonderfully rich and textural mouthfeel, almost waxy with a round palate of ripe pear skin, creamy lemon curd, and nutty lees. Fresh and bright notes on the finish bring this around to completion with elegance and power. One of the best SA chards we've had and at a great price.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Vaulorent"
Review Date: 10-17-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Who doesn't want Premier Cru Chablis for $30! The La Chablisienne Vaulorent is just another wonderful example of how the price of a beautiful bottle does not have to be extreme. Plenty of richness from some wood ageing and lovely fine minerals compliment the peachy fruit laced with citrus and lime leaf notes. Drink soon or over 5 years for a real treat
Top Value!

2013 Burgess "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-05-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I was incredibly impressed by the Burgess Estate 2013 in our tasting today, in fact it was my favorite out of the 25 California wines we tried. A beautiful showing of deep dark and intense fruit and lovely spice with smooth medium tannins and a long concentrated and intense finish. It's a great example of classic high end Napa Cab from a fantastic vintage, and at this price is a true bargain.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92 VN 92

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Over 2 dozen wine growers come together to combine their knowledge, passion and the fruit of their vineyards to bring us the wines of Le Brun de Neuville. The Authentique Rose is a wonderful and creamy textured rose, showing beautiful dry red fruits, chalky notes and a long creamy texture. perhaps the best deal in rose we have, this was a hands down winner for me at our last Champagne tasting!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Fighting well above its weight class, this Champagne is a lovely example of a great find, unknown to many that is a must try for any Champagne lover. Rich and complex with classic Champagne notes of light savory and biscuit over lovely rich apple-y fruit - all at a price that makes it a 'go to' Champagne for me. One glass and you'll see the quality level available at reasonable pricing when you look beyond the grand marques of Champagne.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-25-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Here's a very unique, complex and rich Champagne that any Champagne lover needs to try. Powerful with rich hazelnut, exotic fruits and spice box notes, lovely citrus peel and a layer of beautiful sweet chalky minerality. The long ageing in a solera style adds to the unusual complexity and intrigue of this Champagne. All this at an unbelievable price for the quality.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Who doesn't love Bolli! 007, The gals from Ab Fab, and us! Seriously this has always been a favorite, likely due to its generous use of reserve wines and meticulous winemaking, the bold rich and nutty presence and light zesty lemon peel highlights are truly hard to resist.
Top Value!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The Grand Siecle is one of those 'under the radar' stunning luxury cuvee Champagnes that simply blows away most of the more well known big guns. The Creamy leesy lightly toasty nose gives way to a palate of rich round creamy lightly spiced baked apple. Very very classy and elegant for such a rich wine, this will make any special occasion even that much more special. My favorite sub $500 Luxury cuvee.
Top Value!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
How do you make a classic pleasing Champagne even better? Bring in some new spectacular fruit sources including a lot of Grand Cru Chardonnay and add 'La Cuvee' to the name. The replacement for the LP Brut is just fantastic! It shows a more creamy nose next to the previous LP, and a finer more mineral driven palate impression. The round and fairly ripe apple and peach middle has an appealing steely core, and a chalky minerality underpinning it all. Even more refined than the Champagne it replaces, LP has an even better winner on their hands here.
Top Value!

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The Fallet-Dart Champagnes all represent fantastic values, and there are a number to choose from depending on your preference and budget. Each on shows a lovely toasty note from their preference for long lees contact.The Grande Selection adds 15% Chardonnay to the cuvee but still has the Pinot Noir/Pinot Meunier dominant. It shows a bit more of a creamy refined character with lovely plump white fruits and a tangerine hint on the edges. It shows a nice bold mouthfeel and a long finish
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The Fallet-Dart Champagnes all represent fantastic values, and there are a number to choose from depending on your preference and budget. Each on shows a lovely toasty note from their preference for long lees contact. The Grand reserve is rich but has a lovely crunchy crispness of fresh citrus over red apple fruit. It finishes up with a very refreshing clean snap.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-04-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Hot on the heels of the wildly popular 2013 vintage, this might even be slightly better! It's a wonderfully structured classic Napa style Cabernet very much in the style you expect from Provenance perhaps slightly less ripe than the 2013 but certainly more balanced. Just beautiful!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
OK, I have to admit I'm more of a Scotch and Cognac drinker so a Tequila has to be off the charts to make me think I want to write up something. This is THE best Tequila I have ever sipped. Pure, bright and elegant are not always the descriptors you expect of a Tequila, but this fits the bill precisely. The nose is absolutely charming with a pure agave quality interlaced with aromas of lime, spice and a note of aromatic pine. On the palate it is wonderfully complex, a bit smoky, oaky and spicy with citrus and that beautiful quince like fruitiness great Tequila always shows me. The story is captivating enough to make you want to try it, but the experience will bring you back for more. Bravo!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2013 Vidal-Fleury Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 09-15-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Like a trip through memory lane, the Vidal Fleury brings me back to the days of pure and honest Cotes du Rhone at reasonable prices. Holding back from the more modern flashy styles we are seeing so much of, this wine has a lovely texture and weight. Very pretty spices and beautiful fruit showing its Grenache and Syrah, mouth-coating without being cloying and a wonderful slightly rustic finish are all hallmarks of this little gem. I'm taking some home, if you are a fan of classic CdR, you should too!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The magnum of the Charles Heidsieck Brut Reserve is even better than the Champagne in .750 which is truly a statement. The .750 is rich and opulent but the magnum lends yet another overlaying note of refined elegance to the package. It is often repeated that Champagne is best made in magnums, and this bottle is definitely an argument to that truth.

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Simply delicious, the Charles Heidsieck Champagnes have improved so drastically lately that if you haven't tried them recently you owe it to yourself to try one now. Bold nutty, toasty and rich, but not lumbering or cloying - it has a lovely acidity to finish it off. Bravo!

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wow! This was really fantastic from a great new distillery. Rich and full with a nice roundness that draws you to the next sip. Great Job Copper & Kings!
Top Value!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wow, this 3rd evolution of Cut Spike is a little different but even better. Tropical fruits, ginger and a wonderful spicy wood on the nose move along to a beautiful mid palate of soft fruity lime and papaya, gentle Asian spice and lemon grass, then flow through to a smooth finish showing orange blossom, kaffir lime and notes of that wonderful vanilla the last offering had. Very unique and impressive - and a must for any whisky lover.
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wow, not sure what is impertinent about this wine, it's spectacular and lovely. A wonderfully red fruit nose and a richer elegance on the palate, dry with a long finish. And for a rosé at this price it is a serious price performer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur "Peaty Overaged" K&L Exclusive Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-07-2014
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2014
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth-Blown Wine Glass #45
Review Date: 05-20-2014
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 91

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Exactly what I want in special occasion Champagne - rich hazelnut cream, spicy baked apple, notes of honey and a wonderfully toasty overlay, yet it has great acidity and is still fresh - a wonderful balancing act. Perfect bubbles and silky palate texture,this is perfection in a bottle. Heidsieck has spent a huge amount of effort on quality across the range of their Champagnes, and this is absolutely spectacular!
Drink from 2012 to 2012