Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2012 Louis Brochet "Alain" Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-06-2018
This is a great newly arrived vintage from Louis Brochet! Initially, it has a white flower nose that quickly sends forth some green apple and Anjou pear scents with just a hint of underlying honey. On the palate, medium weight, with green and yellow fruits and a hint of tangerine. Long, lingering finish that is clean with crisp minerality. This one stands tall with the best vintages of Louis Brochet!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This perennial customer favorite is back! I can honestly say that the 2012 version of the vintage Brut is my favorite, so far. A classic blend of 50% Chardonnay and 50% Pinot Noir, the 2012 strikes just the right balance between fruit and acidity. It still carries that classic Brison golden apple and creme caramel character but, also has a long finish with minerals, spice and white stone fruits. It also retains a "just right" oakiness....not too much and not too little. One thing that has not changed is a affordability! Once again, one of our "best buy" champagnes!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Vilmart "Cuvée Grand Cellier" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2018
I had an opportunity to re-evaluate this wine on Friday, the 29th of June and it is still just spectacular! It has a lively nose of citrus (lemon/lime and a touch of tangerine) and cream with (light) bread dough. Super intriguing! On the palate, a super fine bead, with tiny bubbles, yellow (and green) fruits and fine cream. Absolutely delicious! A long, citrus and mineral finish, as well. Super elegant and just flat out delicious. It was favored (100%) by our staff over the other selections that were offered on that evening.

2015 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 06-21-2018
This wine is simply a wow! Dark, black raspberry fruit with with soft, velvety tannins and a very long finish. Usually, I like my Red Burgundy more traditional, with more tannin and um, dirt, but, this little gem won me over for its succulent character and just plain likability. The awesome price is also a great surprise. If you like your Red Burgundy friendly or are looking for an alternative to California Pinot Noir, this should be your first stop!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 06-21-2018
Another gem in our lineup of extremely affordable White Burgundies! Rich and round, with golden apple and yellow pear fruit. Moderate acidity balances out the fruit and makes this selection memorable and delicious. Perfect for those summer meals of white fish, roasted chicken and pork medallions!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 06-21-2018
The gem of a White Burgundy has great acidity! Loaded with yellow fruits and a relatively rich mid-palate, it starts and finishes with lively grapefruit notes. Very fresh and bright and just simply...delicious! Plus, a lingering finish. What more could you want?
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2017 Framingham F-Series Riesling Beerenauslese Marlborough (375ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2018
This absolute gem of a Riesling was a great surprise for me. I normally do not like sweet things, be it desserts or wines (much happier with savory/salty) but, this beautiful Riesling was mouth coating AND balanced AND not cloying! Rich, with dried apricot and peach on palate, a hint of pineapple and cherry at the back of the palate. Looooooong finish! Most excellent! It's way too tempting to drink the whole bottle!

2015 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-15-2018
Holy cats, Batman! This Pinot Noir is great! Lovely, dark red fruit nose that extremely fragrant and floral. On the palate, deep, dark cherries, a hint of sweetness (not too much!) and wonderful spicebox notes and minerals. Not to harp on it, but, the Framingham wines are also spectacular values for the quality presented. So much so, that it sticks in the mind as wow(!). This is definitely one of the best Pinot Noir's in our stores across the board.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 RP 90

2017 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 06-15-2018
I just had the great luck to taste this with winemaker Andrew Hedley of Framingham. It is just simply outstanding! It has a lively beginning of minerals and a hint of chalk, followed quickly by a super solid punch of stone fruits and nectarine. The finish lingers, which is something that all of the wines from Framingham seem to do! I am also just amazed by the pricing for a wine of this quality....it's a total win-win all around!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 96 RC 95

2016 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-18-2018
The bargain White Burgundies just keep on coming! Though this Macon reflects the richness of the 2016 vintage, it still retains the bright green apple and limestone indicative of this producer. The old vine fruit also adds some golden apple/caramel richness and depth. Generous minerality on the finish keeps things bright!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Rich and creamy nose! On the palate, lively acidity and an (overall) clean character with lemon curd, baked apple and citrus flavors.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Although this is not labelled as vintage, it 100% 2004 juice. Citrus, almond and pine nut scents are dominant, followed by fragrant oak notes. On the palate, a touch of honey, more toasted nuts, apples and citrus. A great follow up to the previous 1999/2002 blend. Completely different than that one but, in my opinion, more lovable for the added elegance.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
This lovely Brut Rose has a rose petal and bright cherry nose. It is clean on the palate with bright raspberry and Bing cherry fruit. Very long finish with lingering acidity and minerality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Simply delicious! Orange marmalade on the nose with white flowers and bright raspberry fruit. Very nice acidity on the palate with oranges and a touch of bing cherry and quince. Very balanced and complex. A new favorite for me!

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
I have not had the pleasure to taste the champagnes of Alfred Gratien in many, many, years and it is great to become reacquainted. This wonderful "Classique" has white stone fruits and fresh pastry dough on the nose. In the mouth, starts out rich, with pear and cream cake flavors, and finishes clean with light minerality. Very pleasing and delicious!

2006 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 04-27-2018
I had the great fortune to try this excellent Blanc de Blanc two nights ago. It has a beautiful stone fruit nose with subtle citrus and spice notes. On the palate, nectarine, lemon curd, cream and peach. The great surprise for this particular bottling is the bright acidity on the finish. Many other 2006 Blanc de Blanc that I have tried tend towards golden fruits and caramel. This very elegant edition of Dom Ruinart lovely and balanced. I daresay it is even a bargain!
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart
VN 97 WS 97

2016 Covenant Wines "Mensch" Lodi Roussanne (Kosher for Passover)
Review Date: 03-16-2018
This is a lovely, classically styled Roussanne with white flowers, honey and almonds on the nose. On the palate, stone fruits and crisp acidity. Lush mid-palate. Simply delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2008 A.D. Coutelas Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-06-2018
This absolutely beautiful 2008 vintage Brut is another great release from the Coutelas family. It has the linear, chalky aspect one expects of this vintage but, there is also a golden apple, lemon meringue and toasted hazelnut aspect that adds interest and uniqueness. Light toast rounds it all out and the finish lingers. Probably the greatest value of the 2008 vintage that I have tasted to date. Damien and Angelique have given us yet another gem!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Albert Bichot "Secret de Famille" Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 03-03-2018
A deep, earthy nose on this one! Add bright, spicy fruit and just a little pepper and you have a very memorable wine. On the palate, medium weight with more red than black fruit, and a long, lingering finish that has some clean clay notes. Another great one at a wonderful price!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Danjean-Berthoux Bourgogne Rouge "Chaume Ronde"
Review Date: 03-03-2018
Another little gem in our lineup of bargains this month. It starts with a deep, dark nose of rich fruit and tobacco. On the palate, medium to full weight, with dark cherry fruit and a clean finish that has a good amount of chalky acidity. Excellent!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 03-03-2018
Such a pretty nose on this one! Fragrant, dark raspberries, violets and fresh turned earth. Richer on the palate, with boysenberry, black cherry and more earth. Plump and rich, but, not sweet. As noted in other reviews, it can be a good choice for cellaring and at this price point, why not buy some to enjoy now and some to enjoy later?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 VN 90

2015 Domaine de Courcel Pommard "Les Vaumuriens"
Review Date: 03-02-2018
This dense beauty has a brambly nose of dark red and black fruits, graphite and tobacco. On the palate, bright boysenberry and currants with beautiful minerality and subtle tobacco notes. The finish is extremely long, dry and tannic. If you want to drink it now, decant it for a couple of hours. Otherwise, put it into your cellar and let it age, which it will do beautifully. One of the best red Burgundies that I have tasted in a while. Worth every penny!

2016 Kingston Family Vineyards "Tobiano" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 02-13-2018
This lovely Pinot Noir stopped me in my tracks with its lovely, candied cherry nose and spice. Light to medium bodied, with bright cherry fruit, a small bit of cranberry and quite generous minerality. Super solid and a real pleasure!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Review Date: 02-13-2018
We have been carrying this label for quite a while now and it has always been one of those reliable "go to" wines that pretty much everyone likes. Lush nose of boysenberry and blackberry, with a slight herbal note. Also lush and full on the palate with dark berry and black cherry fruit. Nice, clean, mineral laden finish that is a surprise. I have come to expect nothing less from Susana Balbo. Both this series and her own "Susana Balbo" line have always been outstanding.

2016 Amalaya Malbec Salta
Review Date: 02-13-2018
Our staff just tasting this little gem today and it is both classical and elegant. Classical in that it has that rich, quite extracted, deep red fruit that you expect from Argentinian Malbec and yet, there are some savory notes and a fairly good dose of minerality and spice on the finish. This rounds out the character better than most and at this price, it is an unexpected treat.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WS 90

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Prestige" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Although this selection has not arrived, I was able to taste a preview of it today. Unlike its siblings, it tends towards higher acidity with Fino sherry notes, almonds, yellow fruits and persimmon. Long finish. Super interesting. Cannot wait until we get this into stock!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
This earthy, leesy 100% Pinot Meunier is everything that I love about the varietal. Rich, yellow fruits, hint of mushroom and baked caramel. The difference between this one and most others is that it has a clean finish with a nice hint of minerality. Lovely! Vive la difference!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Charles de Cazanove Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2018
Our newest Brut Nature is a classic, clean, citrus beauty with elements of cream and key lime. Refreshing and balanced with the acidity expected from a Brut Nature but, it is not overplayed. Clean, fresh, vibrant AND complex. A pleasure to have on our shelves!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 Charles de Cazanove Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2018
I tasted this new release from Charles de Cazanove this morning (1/26) and it is splendid! White fruits (particularly banana) and guava on the nose. On the palate, a bit deeper with dry, red fruits and oranges. It is quite dry, but, like the Brut Nature, not overly so. Very balanced and elegant and satisfying!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Charles de Cazanove "Pinot Sauvage" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2018
This is part of a trio of new releases from Charles de Cazanove and it is a standout in our Champagne selection. Deep, dark, strawberry fruit with integrated tannin, black cherry and orange marmalade on the extremely long and lingering finish. This bubbly is super interesting and is quite unique to the lineup. This can definitely be one of those champagnes that will work with a main course of roasted pork loin or even a lean grilled steak. Enjoy!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin Jaune Arbois (620ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2018
This nutty, cheesy, yeasty masterpiece has that ever interesting oxidative edge with tart lemon, roasted nut, and mineral flavors. Underlying yellow fruits and spices give complexity and pleasant nuance to the overall character. This is the best wine that I have tried in the last two weeks, bar none!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Review Date: 01-16-2018
I am still bowled over from tasting this wine today. An impressive nose of white stone fruits, fino sherry, almonds and rhubarb. An interesting blend of oxidation, laser acidity and underlying, delicate fruit. One of the most pleasurable white wines that I have had in months.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage
Review Date: 01-16-2018
Another example of what Syrah should REALLY taste like! Deep, blackberry fruit, hints of chalk and licorice, lush, full and complex. The finish goes on and on and on. Simply put, just a wonderful release from this producer that gives immediate gratification and pleasure.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 94 WS 92

2015 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Grands Muriers" Cornas
Review Date: 01-16-2018
Wow! What a stunner this is! A nose of wet gravel and dark boysenberries. Very dark (almost black) red fruits on the palate with schist, a touch of cola, and baking spices. It is just absolutely delicious and balanced and well, FUN! This is what Syrah is supposed to be!

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
At first, I found this unique release to be chalky with spiced nuts (on the nose) and saline scents. Once the air hit it, yellow apple and guava came to the forefront and then, the chardonnay citrus definitely took over. Creamy, but, the lemon and spice flavors dominate in the end. To date, the most interesting release that we have had from this venerable producer and that includes the Meunier heavy releases that I love so much. Well worth the wait for us to acquire it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
In contrast to the zesty 2008, this newly released 2009 is essentially lush with (browned) apple butter, yellow fruits and caramel. While lush on the palate, it does have a nice, clean finish with fine acidity, Meyer lemon and nectarines. Another vintage gem from Baron Fuente!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
Excellent bubbles at an excellent price! For those of you who like Veuve Clicquot, this effort from Ariston has ample yeast and toast but, not too much. Golden apple fruit and hints of caramel and vanilla. Great by itself or with chicken, salmon or pork. Update: 12/22/2017-As is standard with this gem, it still has that bread dough, yeast and toast quality but, this latest version has a nice hint of zippy acidity, minerals, and lemon curd. Also, still retains that caramel and vanilla bean background. Buy some to drink and some to lay down for a year or so. The caramel comes out even more as it ages!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-16-2017
Next to the legendary 2002 vintage Krug, this 2004 is also a star. Very, very, bright with generous acidity that combines with white stone fruit and almond flavors. It still retains the elegant mousse and brioche of classic vintage Krug, but, the acidity is the star player here. Super fresh, and clean, and bracing. This bottling has the potential of being the star of your cellar and may even overshadow the 2002 eventually. If you prefer to drink it without cellar time, give it a few minutes to air in your glass so that the glorious texture has a chance to come out and say "hi". The 2004 is a classic and will be remembered as being one of Krug's best!

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2017
This little beauty has a base wine that is at least three years old and vintage reserve stock that is generally 8-10 years old. It has a creamy nose of ripe, yellow fruits and lemon meringue. Initially, rich on the palate, with golden apple, honeycomb and nectarine flavors. A nice, lingering finish that is clean and oak free. It spends 48 months on the lees and is composed of 1/3 each of the three primary Champagne varietals. Just lovely!

2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 11-17-2017
This is a great, entry level white Burgundy that is appropriate both for those who are seeking to switch over from CA chardonnay and for those who appreciate good, affordable white Burgundy. At first classically clean, with bright minerality but, it fleshes out mid-palate with white stone fruits and a hint of green apple. Clean, lingering finish. Lovely.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 11-17-2017
A super bargain from Spain with dark cherry flavors, supple tannin and just a hint of mocha. Nice acidity on the finish to brighten things up!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This standard bearer of Champagne Michel Arnould is both high quality and a fine value. The Pinot Noir dominant blend is redolent with deep cherry fruit, toasted nuts and fine acidity. It could err on the side of big and bold but, it stops just short and offers up balance and interesting character. A great bubbly to drink on its own or to pair with fowl, pork or even lighter beef dishes.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Shaw + Smith Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 08-15-2017
Very pretty rose petal and bright cherry nose. Starts out spicy on the palate and fleshes out with ripe strawberry and dark, black cherry fruit. Background notes of baking spices and white pepper with a nice, finely acidic finish. Really, just a lovely, lovely Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 JS 95

2007 Shavnabada Monastery Rkatsiteli Kakheti Republic of Georgia (Qvevri)
Review Date: 08-15-2017
Searching for unusual? This should be your very first stop! It is aged in clay and buried for 9 years at the front of the Monastery! This wine is truly orange! It has a very viscous appearance, with a nose of pine resin, caraway seed and dried orange peel. On the palate, dry Fino sherry, roasted nuts and bitter orange. Loads of tannin! I am completely lost as to what to pair this with but, wine geeks rejoice over the uniqueness and oddity of this bottling! I guarantee that you will stand out at any function or tasting that you bring it to.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This superb Rose from Bollinger will not be arriving until this Fall but, I had the opportunity to preview it today, 8 August. It has a super interesting nose of bright strawberry, orange peel and Fino sherry. On the palate, follow-up strawberry, blood orange and almond flavors. Very dry, with fine acidity and very elegant balance. Very bright for a 2006 vintage. Not to highlight the price too much but, this one is exceptional at this level of pricing!
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
This Champagne is crazy good! Crazy because its primary fermentation is 1/2 done in barrel and crazy because the 1/2 of the wine is aged in magnum at 1/2 pressure (3 fathoms) and then disgorged and blended in. Two hundred and fifty-thousand magnums hand-disgorged and tested for cork taint as the mags are aged on the cork, not crown cap. Who does this?! The Special Cuvée is bright and lively on the initial taste but, fleshes out and the trademark Bollinger golden fruits and caramel come into play. Super, super long finish! Still a family-owned Champagne house!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Laurent Perrier has long been a favorite of mine due to its clean, lovely character and combination of quality and value. This new (coming in September) La Cuvee replaces the previous NV Brut. It has a tad more chardonnay and an increased sur lie aging of six months. The result? Even BETTER quality than it previously had! Beautiful nose of saline, cream and lemon meringue. Increased weight on the mid-palate with stone fruits and peachy goodness. Long, lingering finish with key lime, chalk, minerals and nectarine. These is really not much more to ask from this champagne!

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2017
As they said on Monty Python, "and now for something completely different!" This latest release of Grande Annee is as different from the 2005 vintage as can be. Whereas the 2005 is "classic" Bollinger with loads of creaminess, well-rounded oak and toasty notes, the 2007 is restrained with crystal clear acidity. Although dosed higher at 7g/l (the 2005 is 6g/l) this release comes off brighter. The 2007 has a peach and stone fruit character and white floral nose. A long finish with lemon/lime notes in the background and that Bollinger creme caramel. Bollinger has given us the best of two completely different styles with the 2005 and the 2007 siblings.

2014 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-06-2017
This wonderful newly released 2014 is all about the balance. Lovely, dark berry fruit with nicely done background spice and a touch of minerality. Lush, but very balanced with a lingering, spicy finish to keep everything interesting. A wonderful value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Lovely lemon meringue nose with baked apples and caramel. Initially, a note of bright acidity in the mouth that segues into toasted nuts, ripe apples, yellow pears and butterscotch. The initial acidity brightens things up a bit and it finishes fleshy and rich and creamy. A great bargain at 35 dollars! Stand well alone or will work well with many main course dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next