Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2013 Lamole di Lamole Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-12-2017
Lamole is a tiny hamlet not far from the town of Greve in the heart of Chianti Classico. I visited this estate twenty-five years ago and had always been impressed with the raw product and he potential of the wines produced at this estate. The soil and vineyards just had something unique, a special aromatic about them, but unfortunately the rest of the winemaking was a bit sketchy. Shortly thereafter, the Santa Margherita Group—yes, the folks that bring you the Pinot Grigio—bought the estate, and instead of turning it into a winery making oceans of mass produced swill they kept the winery small, spending time and money rebuilding the terraces holding the vineyards up on the hills. They refurbished the cellar, brought in new cooperage (much needed) and began to make real wine, with depth and character, but the types of distribution needed for these two different wineries are hard to combine and the brand has languished a bit as the winery was rebuilding its products. I love this new 2013 “Blue Label” Chianti Classico because they have really captured that uniqueness I saw in this area so many years ago. The nose is full of stone, spice, leather, violet, wild cherry, dried plums with hints of smoke and earth; it is a complex cauldron of flavors. On the palate the wine has a breadth, a depth of richness and a supple power that is really amazing for a wine in this price range. The flavors grow (I would decant this an hour or two ahead of time), develop and bring the leather, cherry and violet together to form a fascinating expression of Sangiovese, complex and vibrant. The finish has so much going on, a pooling of the spice; plum and leather come together in a long and memorable finish. This isn’t so much a Pasta wine as it is a red meat wine, a T-Bone would do well or grilled leg of lamb. Sensational wine, you shouldn’t wait!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 Antinori "Pèppoli" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-12-2017
Antinori is not an unknown name in Italian wine, they are one of the largest and highest quality producers in Italy. Many years ago, when I first started in this business, there were two names that stood for Italy, through whose tireless efforts brought a new age of quality Italian wine to America, they were Angelo Gaja and Piero Antinori, each year they would spend months crisscrossing the country doing presentation after presentation. Gaja’s flamboyant bravado earned fans everywhere; his wines weren’t so bad either, but it was Piero Antinori’s graceful elegance, understated presence and his ability to present wines to both the connoisseur and the common man that made his voice so resonant. This new Péppoli Chianti Classico is a beautiful representation of what Sangiovese expresses in this micro-climate of Chianti Classico’s northwest. The nose of this wine is pure Sangiovese, but to use more of a musical metaphor there’s a lot more treble in this voice, long, pure, elegant. A cleaner, wild cherry aromatic that is very focused is what comes out of the glass followed by delicate threads of spice and earth but is that Sangiovese solo that is the dominant expression. On the palate that same linear characteristic is articulated, faceted, and lets the 10% portion of Syrah and Merlot flesh out the mid palate adding a bit of meaty richness. The dominant flavors are the cherry, with hints of stone fruit, earth and spice. This wine reminds me of Audrey Hepburn: restrained, elegant, and lean, but so much focus, energy and lift, you can tell it has breeding. This wine’s elegant, linear character makes it the perfect match for richer pasta dishes; whether you choose what my choice would be a sausage and cream with penne rigate, if you’re an Alfredo fan this would work too, or if a traditional ragu is your choice just remember to go heavier on the oil or cheese, you don’t want a tomato dominant dish. A brief decanting always helps Sangiovese, but this wine will drink well over the next five to eight years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-04-2017
For the second year in a row I was really surprised by the quality of this wine and once again even more so at this price. The nose shows wonderful, complex apply aromatics that lead to a creamy and balanced palate feel. This wine has a real focus and brightness on the finish, excellent value. I'm not a real Chardonnay drinker but this wine seems to bridge the gap between the clumsy, over oaked varieties by having a creamy enough texture to satisfy an inveterate California Chardonnay drinker and those looking for more of a balance between, fruit, spice and texture.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Baracchi "O'Lillo!" Toscana
Review Date: 12-27-2016
The nose of this wine is stunning: waves of complex wild cherry, classically Sangiovese, mixed with smoke and earth focus your attention immediately, as if you were to say this is the nose of a lot more expensive wine. On the palate the complexity expands, develops flavor facets that expose soil, mineral, saturated fruits with hints of leather and earth. The wine glides across your palate displaying lots of richness that is bridled, focused and gives you a sense of power and depth. The finish is long--sometimes that seems like a placeholder for this part of the review, but this wine really has length, superb balance, lots of flavors and a supple drinkability. Outstanding wine at this price point!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 90

2012 Damilano "Lecinquevigne" Barolo
Review Date: 12-15-2016
The bouquet of this wine is classic, full of the rose petal and leather character one would expect but behind that is a wave of fruit, spiced cherry, plumy that expand the aromatic profile. On the palate you sense immediately that this is a Barolo, full of power and depth, size and has a sweet tannin structure that fills your cheeks. The flavors are sweet cherry and plums and when you expect that to be it opens up to earth, smoke, spice, leather and hints of dried rose petals. The finish is full, broad and shows the layers of complexity that say this is really good Barolo, such a deal, buy double what you think you should!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2015 Fattoria Le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana (375ml)
Review Date: 12-14-2016
I tasted a barrel sample of this wine last September and I was blown away! Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast. The hallmark of the 2015 vintage for me is the sweet fruit purity is totally evident, the fruit just sings, ripe yet focused, complex and really engaging. On the palate the wine is bold, rich yet not fat, it has superb balance and length, the fruit character is so complex yet open at the same time a revelation. The finish is fresh, lifted and just seems to go on forever, a hint of toastiness now but that will age out by the time the wine is bottled and released, a fabulous wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 - 99

2015 Fattoria Le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-14-2016
I tasted a barrel sample of this wine last September and I was blown away! Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast. The hallmark of the 2015 vintage for me is the sweet fruit purity is totally evident, the fruit just sings, ripe yet focused, complex and really engaging. On the palate the wine is bold, rich yet not fat, it has superb balance and length, the fruit character is so complex yet open at the same time a revelation. The finish is fresh, lifted and just seems to go on forever, a hint of toastiness now but that will age out by the time the wine is bottled and released. A fabulous wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 - 99

2015 Fattoria Le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana (3L)
Review Date: 12-14-2016
I tasted a barrel sample of this wine last September and I was blown away! Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast. The hallmark of the 2015 vintage for me is the sweet fruit purity is totally evident, the fruit just sings, ripe yet focused, complex and really engaging. On the palate the wine is bold, rich yet not fat, it has superb balance and length, the fruit character is so complex yet open at the same time a revelation. The finish is fresh, lifted and just seems to go on forever, a hint of toastiness now but that will age out by the time the wine is bottled and released, a fabulous wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $335.00 Add To Cart
JS 98 - 99

2015 Fattoria Le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana (6L)
Review Date: 12-14-2016
I tasted a barrel sample of this wine last September and I was blown away! Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast. The hallmark of the 2015 vintage for me is the sweet fruit purity is totally evident, the fruit just sings, ripe yet focused, complex and really engaging. On the palate the wine is bold, rich yet not fat, it has superb balance and length, the fruit character is so complex yet open at the same time a revelation. The finish is fresh, lifted and just seems to go on forever, a hint of toastiness now but that will age out by the time the wine is bottled and released, a fabulous wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $649.00 Add To Cart
JS 98 - 99

2012 Villa Antinori Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-06-2016
Tasting this wine was a revelation for me. I had felt in past vintages that Antinori had become too big, that they had lost their way as a top Chianti producer; this wine really shows they’re back on track! The nose is so pure, classic Sangiovese aromatics of wild cherry, earth, leather and a woodsy spice fill your nose. On the palate the wine carries those same aromatics and turns them into lively flavors. As the wine warms in your mouth it builds, opens and expands the spice and leather blossom and adds a complex layer to underscore the wild cherry. This wine is really built for the future; superb balance and structure. I opened mine and decanted it a couple of hours ahead of time and it just exploded. While built for the future it is so well balanced you can drink this wine easily now, as I did with my bottle! Try it with your favorite pasta or as I did with grilled pork chops! Kudos to Antinori for getting this fabulous Chianti Classico back on track!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Barale’s wines are all so classically styled; it’s like reading a textbook definition for Barolo. The nose drifts gently from the glass with hints of smoke, delicate, dried rose aromatics followed by hints of wild cherry. On the palate the wine has weight; depth and darker fruits come forward a supple yet evident structure shows itself in a graceful hold on your palate. The finish is sure, more fruit opens and a supple flow of persistent flavors. The wine is made from a blend of Castellero and Bussia vineyards and shows Castellero’s high toned aromatics and Bussia’s body and depth, at the price a sensational deal. The perfect accompaniment to braised beef or a grilled T-bone.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2011 Sergio Barale Barolo "Bussia"
Review Date: 11-30-2016
I absolutely love this wine. The nose is deep, it has a brooding ripeness, a mix of wild cherry, plum with bits of smoke and rose hips, just scintillating. On the palate the wine has a richly textured presence where waves of supple warmth and layers of fruit flow across your tongue. A broad, expansive palate presence where the complexity builds and the wine flows toward a long, vibrant finish. This is real Bussia vineyard Barolo, complex, dense yet in the warmth of this vintage the wine has a luscious open fullness and is really drinkable, I’d still decant it for an hour, but this is a sensational wine. Try it with braised meats, polenta or risotto and wild mushrooms.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Fratelli Barale "Castle" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 11-28-2016
The aromatics of this wine are tremendous, so pure, tight, just dark cherry fruit spiraling out of the glass. On the palate the wine has weight and richness but is classic Barbera having an archetypal acidity that lengthens as well as freshens the wine. The flavors are dark, cherry, with a hint of wild plums that all fill your mouth with a distinct focus. The finish is vibrant, lifting and very focused a perfect accompaniment to cream sauced pasta or pork dishes, I love this wine!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Rosso
Review Date: 11-23-2016
The nose of this wine is profound, rich, cassis like fruit, compact and complex with delicate hints of leather and earth. On the palate the flavors expand, and while opening one sees the intensity of fruit character, so saturated, really impressive while texturally the wine has a real concentration, power and smooth, supple nature. The finish develops the complexity of the fruit even more and bits of tannic structure let you know this wine is going to be around for awhile. Outstanding performer for the price, I can hardly believe this wine is less than $20!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 92

2015 Fattoria le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana (750ml)
Review Date: 11-22-2016
I tasted a barrel sample of this wine last September and I was blown away! Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast. The hallmark of the 2015 vintage for me is the sweet fruit purity is totally evident, the fruit just sings, ripe yet focused, complex and really engaging. On the palate the wine is bold, rich yet not fat, it has superb balance and length, the fruit character is so complex yet open at the same time a revelation. The finish is fresh, lifted and just seems to go on forever, a hint of toastiness now but that will age out by the time the wine is bottled and released, a fabulous wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 - 99

2013 Leone de Castris Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 11-21-2016
The nose of this wine is full of plums, leather and wild herbs that gracefully emerge from the glass. On the palate you get an initial sensation that is full bodied, richly textured and smooth, then the acidity picks up and freshens, lengthens and leaves a wonderful back end complexity. The flavors are savory, braised meats, leather, cooked plums with hints of spice and herbs gently coming forward and leaving a long and substantial finish. Leone de Castris always seems to produce this Salice Salentino with exceptional balance, it is truly a great deal, try it with your favorite pasta!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Tenuta Montemagno "Nymphae" Monferrato Bianco
Review Date: 11-20-2016
The stunning quality of the 2015 even eclipses the sensational 2014 vintage of this wine, just delicious! The nose of this wine is so complex and inviting a complex blend of spice and herb from 50% Sauvignon Blanc and 50% the indigenous variety Timorasso that shows lots of grit, earth, apple skin. On the palate this wine is vibrantly focused around a superb acidity that is enveloped in a richly textured mid palate full of spiced apple, freshly cut hay with all sorts of baking spice for this UNOAKED wine. The finish is incredibly long, vivacious and carries through the same flavors to a crescendo, an absurdly good food wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tenuta Sette Ponti "Oreno" Toscana
Review Date: 11-11-2016
This is finessed and structured wine with supreme balance and concentration. For Italian wine fans who still want to drink claret, this is a stylish and satisfying option. Tenuta Setta Ponti's "Oreno" has been the Wine Spectator's top 100 wines of the year on multiple occasions, and the 2013 has all the potential to make it back on that list again.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 97

2012 Fratelli Barale "Serraboella" Barbaresco
Review Date: 11-09-2016
This wine is amazing, just from a price standpoint, a single vineyard Barbaresco for under $30! Yet once you taste it you are going to be amazed. Full of power and vibrancy of the 2012 vintage a rich and complex palate presence but with a long structure that lengthens the wine. Classic Nebbiolo nose of rose and tar this wine is sensational, you're going to love us for this!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2013 Provenance Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-08-2016
I love the nose of this wine, classic Napa fruit, and I’m mean more old school Napa fruit, not super overripe or woody, beautiful aromatics of cassis, hints of earth and spice and super intriguing. On the palate the wine is warm, gracious and full but never leads to any overripe character despite the alcohol level this wine is really well balanced, I was shocked after tasting when I saw the numbers. Really pleasant palate presence, long, luscious yet restrained, very well balanced, just an exceptionally good deal.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria
Review Date: 11-07-2016
This is an outstanding wine that finally accomplishes all of the original intentions of this thirty year long project from Antinori. The idea here was to make an Italian chardonnay that would rival both California and Burgundian chardonnay, but what they needed was an expression that was uniquely Italian, not just a carrbon copy. With this 2014 vintage, not only has Antinori figured out the formula, they're knocked it out of the park. That little touch of 10% grechetto adds a lovely minerality to the wine's backbone and a hint of tarragon to the clean chardonnay flavors. The wine has richness, mid-palate structure, depth, and ageability. It's the whole package for fans of serious Italian whites.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 WS 91

2012 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-30-2016
The nose of this wine is full of the land it comes from, wild brush, rosemary, sage, wild mushrooms with hints of smoke drifting by and then a bold expression of fruit, plums, wild cherries drive it to your senses. On the palate it instantly lets you know this is an important wine, the structure is powerful yet balanced to express its supple richness rather than edgy tannins. The flavors start with the plums and wild cherries up front and then as the wine reaches your back palate the savory and earthy notes come forward. Superb balance and a long, long finish, this is truly a superb wine at a spectacular price and capable of aging more than 10 years, perfect for drinking now or putting in the cellar, stock up for the holidays!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-25-2016
The aromatics in this wine are so pure, full of black cherry, plum and earth, just a classic representation of what Chianti Classico should smell like. On the palate the wine is supple, smooth; while balancing its structure with sumptuous fruit, waves of plum, black cherry, spice and leather just keep coming at you. The finish shows a superbly balanced wine, in a perfect drinking stage, lush, focused and so complex. Hard to find something better at this price point.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2015 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
Review Date: 10-19-2016
The brother-and-sister team of Silvano and Alberta Follador make the best Prosecco I have ever tasted! Biodynamic, their Prosecco is magnificently balanced, delicate and features sophisticated fruit aromatics. It is has hints of yeasty complexity without being ponderous, and this vintage is truly exceptional. The Best Prosecco made, without a doubt!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 10-03-2016
Puglia seems a world away sometimes but it is one of the Best value regions in Italy and the indigenous varieties there produce strikingly delicious examples. This wine’s aromatics are full of Middle Eastern spice, elegant plum, bramble, dried-cherry fruit and nuances of fresh Provencal herbs. On the palate the wine is supple, medium bodied while still being so full flavored, easy to drink, only 13.0% alcohol yet this multifaceted red always beckons you for another sip and then another it is just so tasty. Made from 100% Negroamaro fermented in stainless steel and aged in 1-2 year old barrique for 6 months. This complex yet elegant wine comes from Puglia, the heel of the Italian Peninsula and is the perfect accompaniment to your favorite tomato based pasta dish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Canella "Bellini" Wine Cocktail di Venezia
Review Date: 09-06-2016
One would think that this is just a gimmick wine, but it is so good you won't believe it! Also, it has a tendency for the pulp to separate, so you have to mix it up a bit in the bottle before you drink it, but wow, you're going to love it. I've had Bellinis at Harry's in Venice, and let me tell you, this can bring back the experience—perfect for brunch or just an afternoon in the back yard!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 09-06-2016
For me, this is really a superb reflection of all of Giampaolo’s vineyard work. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 30% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. It is a superb blend, and once again, highly awarded.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Bel Colle Verduno Pelaverga
Review Date: 08-31-2016
I love the nose of this wine: full of aromatics, baking spice, white pepper, vibrant, it just bolts out of the glass. However, this isn't a big wine, it's more like a delicate Pinot except it has such a powerful nose, it makes you think bigger. On the palate the wine is dry, has a tiny bit of tannic grip—just to make sure you notice—and it is the perfect accompaniment for delicate pasta, roasted chicken or even salmon. Try one, you're going to love it!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
Review Date: 08-30-2016
The nose is classic Washington Syrah, bold, dramatic yet a little less oaky than I'd seen in these wines before, which I found as a plus. On the palate the wine was lush, broad and full of saturated flavors, notes of chocolate and hints of tar. The finish goes out like it came in, dramatic, splashy and full-bodied, you can't miss you've had this wine!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 08-30-2016
The nose is luxuriously fruity, full of tropical fruit. On the palate the wine is supple, and is reminiscent of California Chardonnay from a decade or two past except it doesn't have that big Oak signature. A value at the price, drink it cold!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 08-29-2016
This vintage of the 2013 Ca’Viola Barbera d’Alba Brichet is classic Barbera, the nose is full of spice, leather and brambly fruit, while on the palate the wine has a crunchy cranberry like flavor, an archetypal acidic structure that leads to lots of earth, spice and a bit of grip in the finish. This is an ideal wine for rich pasta dishes or even roasted chicken!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The structure and richness of the wine comes from Friulano which is 70% (Edi and Kristian still call it Tocai Friulano) of the blend. That’s followed by 15% each of Ribolla Gialla which gives the wine its snap, vigor and brightness and Malvasia Istriana which adds perfume, aromatic complexity and weight. The nose has aromas that are pear like and then is delicately spiced with flavors that remind me of crushed celery seed and bay leaf. The wine has a creamy density and viscosity to it yet still has a vibrant core of acidic balance. Capable of aging for many years I’d serve this with fish that has a meatier texture like halibut or swordfish or I had recently a Lobster Risotto at a new Oakland Restaurant called Belotti, and although I don’t go out of my way to eat Lobster it was so unfortunate I didn’t have the wine with me!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99
RP 90 WE 90

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Sylvaner "Sabiona"
Review Date: 08-29-2016
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines for years. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. I came across this bottle almost by accident, it was in a box of samples a vendor dropped off for me and I really didn’t think much about it until I opened the bottle and a truly OMG moment happened. The wine has a vibrant floral aromatic but it is so tightly coiled it seems like just a wisp of flowers. On the palate the wine explodes, decidedly more open than the Sabiona Kerner not that it is lush it still shows searing acidity and minerality but couched in a richer denser mouth feel. The flavors are slightly riper pear, with just the slightest hint of tropical fruit. The finish is sensational, powerful and dynamic a really serious wine, try it with Halibut or even better Sea Bass or Grouper, but the wine is powerful enough to hold up to creamy pasta dishes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
Review Date: 08-29-2016
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines especially their Kerner. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. As I started to write this the word etch kept coming to me over and over, it is the ϋber intense minerality and acidity that is scintillating, dramatic and one sensation you’re not going to forget. The delicate nose is full of the pear, white flower, crushed quartz and is awaiting years of aging to release all that it has. On the palate it screams down the center of your tongue, layering stone and salinity in a seemingly endless finish. This wine, scratch that, this place reminds me of wine grown in Austria’s Wachau, where the soil is more often the dominant factor rather than the grape and that’s what I feel here. The finish is surprising it leaves a layer of viscosity on the inside of your mouth, just an insane wine, after writing a couple of hundred words I still feel speechless. I'd decant this wine for an hour or two if you're going to drink it now.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Al-Cantara "Occhi di Ciumi" Sicilia
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose of this wine is vibrant, saline, and full of lime leaf with crushed oyster shells and hints of peach. That may sound like a rather diverse mélange of aromas but it really works together; on the palate the wine is vibrant, zippy and refreshing replaying the nose but the minerality takes over in a driving, long finish. As the wine finishes it etches a path down your tongue and seemingly exposes more layers of flavor of peach and wispy hints of lime. This is a sensational accompaniment to scampi, vegetable pasta dishes or shellfish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Podere Marini "Korone" IGT Calabria Rosso
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose of this wine really threw me, wild, gamy and full of dense fruit that was alluring and made me put my nose back in several times for more and again more. On the palate the wine shows a richly textured structure, plump yet focused, fleshy yet wiry, and more chocolaty, cassis like flavors come forward but always with a hint of wild brush, dried violets, herb and spice. The finish starts to focus the center of the wine and its lushness fades as more of a vibrant and lifting feeling finish the wine. A superb blend of predominantly Sangiovese, with a hint Merlot and of Cabernet Sauvignon, mostly stainless steel with a very small percentage of barrel aging….Super Tuscan in Calabria? We call it the Silver Snake!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose is elegant, delicate, with hints of white peach and a classic Gavi minerality. On the palate the wine is medium-bodied, balanced, while supple and round no edginess here. The finish is subtle, yielding and all the while entertaining with hints of white flower and nutmeg. The perfect accompaniment to more delicate fish like Red Snapper or Striped Bass or just by itself on a scorching hot day!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Tenuta Montemagno "Nymphae" Monferrato Bianco
Review Date: 08-16-2016
The nose of this wine is so complex and inviting a complex blend of spice and herb from 50% Sauvignon Blanc and 50% the indigenous variety Timorasso that shows lots of grit, earth, apple skin. On the palate this wine is vibrantly focused around a superb acidity that is enveloped in a richly textured mid palate full of spiced apple, freshly cut hay with all sorts of baking spice for this UNOAKED wine. The finish is incredibly long, vivacious and carries through the same flavors to a crescendo, an absurdly good food wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benanti Etna Rosso
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Benanti is one of the oldest and best producers on Mount Etna; their wines show the volcanic origins of the vineyards and how Nerello Mascalese is the perfect vehicle to express the Mountain’s flavors. The full nose has waves of smoky, spicy, earthiness coupled with a bit of plumy fruit. On the palate the wine is reminiscent of the structure of Nebbiolo a bit of tannic structure on the outside brushing your cheeks with a sweet plumyness inside. The flavors are complex, persistent and show a rainbow from umami driven flavors of porcini, kelp and salted plums to sweet, chocolaty plum. The wine is layered, so many different levels, heavy, light, gritty, smooth, just an amazing array of texture and flavor. The finish is evocative of the palate experience, driving, long and persistent .
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 08-15-2016
The nose of this wine is filled with Alpine flowers, ripe pear and a bright savory quality. On the palate the wine is expansive, rich almost to the point of oily but is restrained at that point. While the body is omnipresent the real driving force of the wine is its minerality, a forceful driving point right down the middle of your tongue that cleaves through the richness and creates a superb synergy of tangy acid and mineral with a mélange of ripe fruit. The wine has a haunting, beckoning appeal, its supple, flowing nature juxtaposed with that mineral edge that creates a scintillating finish that seems to go on for minutes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-07-2016
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2015 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-31-2016
My BEST VALUE for under $20 Cab. The nose is classic Sonoma, ripe but with more complexity less cassis. On the palate the wine shows richness, layers of fruit, spice and a touch of leafy intrigue. The finish is very well balanced, long and focused showing the layers of fruit as it drifts off your tongue.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-31-2016
I was really surprised by the quality of this wine even more so at this price. The nose shows wonderful, complex apply aromatics that lead to a creamy and balanced palate feel. A real focus and brightness on the finish, excellent value
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-12-2016
For me, this is really a superb reflection of all of Giampaolo’s vineyard work. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 30% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. It is a superb blend, and once again, highly awarded.

2011 La Massa "Carla 6" Toscana
Review Date: 07-12-2016
A tiny production of pure fruit (named after Giampaolo's daughter and the vineyard parcel number) that shows that classic, high-toned Sangiovese cherry-like note on the nose. On the palate, the wine is modern, flashy and sleek. Made in new French oak, this is supple, warm and soft, with a delicate, lingering finish.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 94 WS 92

2012 Terre del Palio Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 07-12-2016
This is a sensational Vino Nobile. The nose is full of saddle leather, spice and iron, coming on bold and straightforward—no wafting around here! While this Vino Nobile’s structure shows unflinchingly on the palate, it takes a more claret-like direction, slowly opening to reveal a richer, more complex center that shows through the long finish. You should try this wine with Pici, Montepulciano’s hand-rolled spaghetti-like pasta, with a beef ragu!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Rivella Barbaresco
Review Date: 07-11-2016
I drank a bottle of this the day it arrived in our store and was amazed. Made in tonneaux and barriqes, all of the 4th passage, so it doesn't have any of the sweet vanillin it is just pure nebbiolo. On the palate the 2011 vintage's richness comes across and makes it so accessible now with a certain richness and then the underpinnings of structure come through yet balanced and sweet tannin. A long finish that just says Barbaresco
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2012 Grattamacco "L'Alberello" Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 07-06-2016
The nose on this wine is exhilarating, rich, cassis-like aromas followed by waves of subtle Cab Franc and then a dose of plummy Petit Verdot. On the palate the wine is sensational, supple and rich yet with a real backbone, long, vibrant and lifting. The flavors suggest a real depth of complexity, and with each sip the wine deepens and shows more layers. Full in the mouth, the wine is richly textured, but the supple richness is stretched out over a long, elegant structure. This is an outstanding wine, a blend of 70% Cabernet Sauvignon, 25% Cabernet Franc and 5% Petit Verdot and can easily age for another decade plus. If you like Bordeaux or California Cab you should check this wine out. Situated in a Murderer’s Row of Tuscan coastal Cabernet producers, Podere Sapaio, Gaja’s Ca Marcanda, Chiappini, Guado al Tasso, Poggio al Tesoro, Le Macchiole, Sassiciaia and Ornellaia all in a 4-mile stretch of land all about 3 miles from the Tyrennhian Sea. Superb wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

Tom's Foolery Bottled In Bond Batch #3 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Truly exceptional product. I was really impressed with the preciseness of the aromatics, so focused but layered. On the palate, the supple density is highlighted with spice and toast, but it’s never over the top. The finish is long and smooth, yet it is the density, saturated with flavors, with so much richness yet so light on the palate, that's truly exceptional.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 06-15-2016
It’s not often I review Tequila but this one is I have to. This is a really unique product, the color makes you think that is an inexpensive, simple, un-aged spirit, but the nose immediately ends that train of thought. The nose is not one of those explosive, overpowering bolts of aroma that singe your nostrils the aromatics are really pure, intense and penetrating. It was enough for me to just smell this Tequila for a couple of minutes it was so fascinating while totally engaging and easily accessible. On the palate the depth of the aged flavors comes forward, wave after wave of cured Agave sweep across your tongue, no bite, no burn yet not fat just perfectly balanced. The finish….I can still taste it as I write this 10 minutes later, long, intense yet lifting. Superb spirit, not often you get to taste something like this.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Page: 1 2 next