Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2017
The vintage wines from Louise Brison are an incredible deal in fine wine. Delphine Brulez is one of the few grower-producers that we work with to have a diploma in oenology, and she works her vines in Noe-les-Mallets organically before fermenting her juice entirely in small oak barrels. The results in 2010 are electric and refreshing, but still round enough to have alone as the aperitif. This blend of half each Chardonnay and Pinot Noir will fool even the most discerning connoisseur for Champagne that costs no less than 50% more. We recently had a bottle of the 1992, and I am here to tell you that if you can keep your hands off of it, it will age very well too! If you like your Champagne clean, refreshing, dry and long, this is one to load up on.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This charming rose is an excellent value, and I love the creamy texture and beautiful ripe strawberry fruit. The team at Canard Duchene has sourced almost all of the fruit for this rose from the mountain of Reims. It is composed of 45% Pinot Noir, 30% Chardonnay and 25% Meunier. While this rose has great fruit on the nose and on the palate, it finishes nice and dry. At this price, why not try it?
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
If you are looking for a richer, toastier style of Champagne for the aperitif, this Authentic from Canard-Duchene is a great choice. It is composed of 43% Pinot Noir, 25% Meunier and 20% Chardonnay and comes almost exclusively from sites owned or contracted on the Montagne de Reims. It is delicious, round brut at its easy going best and it will thrill your guests with its charm.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This is one of the most profoundly great young vintage Champagnes that I have ever had, and I bought a case for my own cellar. The 2008 vintage is a historic one, and either the greatest or tied for the honor in this young century. The Champagne that Bernard Launois was able to make from his two oldest Mesnil plots in this great year promises to be equally historic. The only problem is that it tastes far to good now... And I know that it will do nothing but improve. I will put this case at the bottom of a tall corner stack in my cellar! This Champagne has not only the richness of a 2002, but also the laser minerality of the best 2004's. It has it all!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This is a very special bottle of vintage Champagne. For many years now, the Baron Fuente Millesime has been one of the greatest values in the entire category. The 2008 is certainly the very best vintage we have had from them.. Even better than the great 1996! Like past vintages, this has great richness and toast from a nice long rest on the lees, and fine power from their great estate vineyards. The great 2008 vintage has added an electric length and profound minerality to this wine that is rare in Champagne at any price, and almost unheard of at this price! Take a case... You won't regret it!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
We are very fortunate to be the importer for this great cult producer of blanc de blancs in the famous village of Mesnil. Launois is the only Champagne that I have sold to someone from Champagne to bring back to Champagne with them! It is that sought after! All grand cru, estate grown Champagne doesn't get better than this, but it is almost always more expensive. This is a wine of depth, finesse and intrigue and yet is about as easy as it gets to drink without engaging the grey matter at all. When we get it, it is always snapped up in a hurry... Don't wait and get disappointed!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-03-2017
This great bottle of gin comes across as a classic from the first sip, with poise, elegance and refreshment its main qualities. Even though it made out of a long list of exotic, only-in-Australia botanicals, the balance is still exquisite and exactly what I am looking for in my therapeutic gin and tonic. I am sure we will disappoint many customers looking for a second bottle of this after it all sells out. If you love it, make sure to get what you need quickly!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon "Cuvée Jean George" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-01-2017
The Billecart family has pioneered the use of yeast strains that can work at very low temperatures, and the Jean George has the kind of freshness and brightness that you would expect from this great house. While this is great by itself, it will also go fantastically well with smoked salmon.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$39.99

2014 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 09-29-2017
Clyde has done it again: found another incredible value in Bordeaux. I can't remember enjoying a Right Bank vintage as much as 2014 since at least 1998. This shares the virtues of many of the more expensive wines from 2014 that I have tasted. While the Hyot is dark, loaded with flashy coffee and plummy fruit on the nose, it is medium bodied, and has very good lift on the long finish. This Cotes De Castillon is ideal for mid-week meals!
Top Value!

2014 Domaine Louis Michel Chablis 1er Cru "Montmains"
Review Date: 09-28-2017
As the 2014 white Burgundy vintage disappears from the market, you have to ask yourself, "did I buy enough". My own answer is certainly not. The extremely clean, almost peachy Chardonnay aromatics of this great 2014 bely the strong minerality underneath and behind this wine. This wine is great drinking now with all manner of shellfish, especially the noble Dungeness Crab, but will also develop beautifully over the next ten years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Albatreti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-28-2017
The 2015 vintage is a special one in Tuscany, and this Albatreti Rosso Di Montalcino stands out even in such a strong field. This sangiovese has rich, beautiful rainier cherry fruit, clean earth and a perfect balance of brightness and tannin on the finish. I found it to be better than a lot of Brunello that I have tasted over the years!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 09-28-2017
If you are looking for an authentic Barolo like Nebbiolo experience for less than $20, most of the time you would be out of luck. Our great direct price on this Fratelli Barale Langhe delivers the fancy Piedmonte experience without wiping out your wallet! This has lovely tarry, flowery aromatics and just the right amount of firmness on the back end to pair with rich food. Try it with a pizza on a Tuesday night- you will be impressed!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 09-28-2017
K&L is crowded with values, but this La Massa stands out. It has the supple texture to drink on its own, but also plenty of acidity for Italian cuisine. I love the mix of dark cherry fruit and authentic galestro earthiness in this modern Tuscan red. Quality like this is rare even in our fantastic Italian section at this price!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2009 Pierre Mineral Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-26-2017
The Pierre Mineral is in strong contention to be the best value in Champagne at K&L. This 2009 vintage Champagne is made exclusively from Mesnil Grand Cru chardonnay. Champagne from this terroir almost always come at a much higher price, and vintage Champagne from Mesnil command even more of a premium. An incredible direct buy has enabled us to bring you a fantastic price on this clean, racy super long finishing Champagne. If you love Champagne with crystalline purity, vivacious energy and a finish that won't quit, this is a slam dunk. Will it keep in your good cellar? The 1973 that I drank recently was one of the best old Mesnil Champagnes that I have ever tasted!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This incredibly elegant and sophisticated Ardbeg retains the peaty personality of the distillery while showcasing a suaver side of Islay. I enjoyed my little taste of this immensly, and I can't wait to take it home and drink it my favorite way- after dinner. Any fan of Islay malts should have a bottle of this generous, textural Ardbeg!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Poitevin, Médoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
I can't believe how good Bordeaux can be for such a reasonable price! No matter how many times Clyde proves it to me, I am surprised again and again by the values in this category. The Poitevin is authentic, honest, satisfying claret for people who love an earthy, dry style to go with food. I am crazy about texture and grip of this Medoc, and can't wait to have it with a big charcoal grilled bone-in ribeye.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
This is a great addition to any cellar, the only problem with the wine is that it tastes too good now! The 2014's have a fresh lift to them that makes them almost irresistible young, but should prove to keep them drinking nicely for decades. I love the purity of the Cabernet cassis aromas and flavors in this Chateau Senejac, as well as the long, bright finish. Pair it now with grilled skirt steak or bury it in the cellar for decades to come- either way you will be very happy. At this price, why not do both?
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1998 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
For those of us who love the taste of mature claret, this is an unbelievable deal. For those who have yet to drink mature Bordeaux, this is a great example. How can they age a wine for this long and sell it for less than a dollar per year? I love this Haut Medoc for its lovely new leather, fresh earth and cassis nose and flavors, but adore it for the silky texture, integrated tannins and long finish. Wines cannot cheat time, and only long ageing brings the sort of seamlessness and elegance that is here in the Fontesteau. What a value!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Christian Busin Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-08-2017
This is one of the finest deals in rosé Champagne that K&L has ever had. This entirely estate-grown Champagne is based on 2009, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir and 30% Chardonnay. It gets its color from Verzenay Pinot Noir that is made into red wine. This is full bodied, complex, rich rosé with a ton of power. If you like characterful, yet well balanced rosé, this is a must at the price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Burgess "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-06-2017
This fantastic 2013 from the Burgess estate is a great bottle of full bodied, yet dry Napa Cabernet. If you are looking for a dark fruited, powerful mountain cab to go with some man sized rib eyes off the grill, look no further. While most Napa Cabernet in this price range is made from purchased valley floor fruit, this is entirely from the Burgess estate on Howell Mountain. Enjoy some now, and save some for a few years... I just drank a bottle of the 1993 a few months ago and it was still fresh at 24 years old!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92 VN 92

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 164 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-31-2017
The 164th edition of Krug is only the second comercial release with the edition on the front label- and what an addition it is! Based on the fantastic 2008 vintage, this spectacular Champagne is composed of 11 different vintages going all the way back to 1990. While the 163rd edition drinks better today, this great bottle of Champagne will eclipse nearly anything that a collector could buy at this price after a few years in a good cellar. Not only does this have the breadth and depth of power that we all love in Krug, it has the chalky electric energy of the 2008 vintage. This is already becoming a legend in its own time... But in a few years, look out!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart
VN 97 JG 95

2017 Sierra Nevada / Bräuhaus Miltenberger "Oktoberfest" Festbier, California (12oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This collaboration beer has quite a long name, but it is worth seeking out for this years harvest festival drinking. The strong cascade hop signature that I associate with Sierra Nevada is nowhere to be found- rather this is an expertly balanced, purely Germanic style with malt richness and crisp bitterness. If I open three of these to fill my liter stein, whatever will I do with the left over two ounces and change?
Price: $1.69 Add To Cart

Timothy Taylor "Landlord" Strong Pale Ale, England (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I love the taste of the old country in this Pale Ale! Don't let the "strong" scare you off on the label- this under 5% Abv beer is exactly the kind a person can drink plenty of without getting fuzzy in the head or tired of the flavors. This elegant ale from Timothy Taylor has lovely balance, both fruit from the top fermenting yeast and pleasant bitterness from the hops. I can't wait to sit down for a long session with a few of these!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

Mahr's Bräu "Mastodon" Lager, Germany (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I don't always drink Märzen named after metal bands, but when I do it is always the Mahr's Brau Mastodon. This is classic German brown lager, with very nice texture and malty flavors, balanced by enough hoppiness to keep it refreshing enough to have another two or three.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart

Modern Times "Ice" Pilsner, California (16oz Cans)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This crisp Sand Diego Pilsner style from Modern Times was so good it broke down my curmudgeonly prejudice against new style craft beer instantly. I am fully on the band wagon with this extra creamy, yet still light and easy to drink beer. It may have just a little bit more hoppy brightness than something from the old country, but I am looking forward to having more than one of these very soon!
Price: $2.59 Add To Cart

Professor Fritz Briem "1809" Berliner Weisse, Germany (16.9oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Drinking the 1809 Berliner Weisse from Professor Fritz Briem brings takes me back to my first visit to Berilin, just before the wall came down. This refreshing, light, delicately fruity and subtly sour beer made me think of loud, smoky clubs in Kreuzberg. I might have to spin some Einstürzende Neubauten this weekend and drink a couple of these delicious brews!
Price: $6.49 Add To Cart

2005 Louis Brochet Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This super toasty Champagne has fabulous beurre d’Isigny creaminess from over 10 years of ageing on the lees. If you like your Champagne broad and brioche like, this is one of the best in our stock in that style. They only held back 3550 bottles for extended ageing, and we were only allocated three cases. It is composed of half and half Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. The dosage is only 5 grams per liter, keeping this super rich Champagne dry and refreshing.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru "Extra Blanc" Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This blanc de blancs comes from the two best Chardonnay plots of the Brochet estate, Mont Benoit and Vognes. Although it is 40% barrel fermented, the oak only comes through in the richer than normal texture of the wine. I did not pick up any barrel aromas or flavors in the wine. This is clean, refreshing mountain Chardonnay, and since although we only have five cases, I already drank one with sushi! If you love pure, white fruit and great minerality, but also demand fine texture in your Champagne, this is one not to miss.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This is composed of 80% Pinot Noir, 15% Chardonnay and 5% Meunier and dosed at 9 grams per liter. The blend is half reserves, with 35% from the previous two harvests and 15% from the solera that Louis started in 2010. The red cherry power of top Pinot Noir jumps from the glass and is framed by classy sourdough toast. I love the texture of this lighter style Pinot based Champagne, and the very high proportion and quality of reserve wines give it great texture, a fine bead and elusive complexity. This is hard to beat at the price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Tasting this today, I was floored by the breed and stateliness of this young claret. This third wine of Latour has the classic flavors of the first wine with lead pencil and cassis in perfect, classy balance. What it doesn't have recommends it even more- this is not a tannin bound wine like Latour proper would be at this age, but rather and open knit, delicious drinker. If you ever wondered what a first growth is all about, but didn't want to part with a grand, treat yourself to this!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2014 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Langoa has made a fabulous wine for the cellar here, but you'll have to bury it at the bottom of a big stack... It tastes a little too good to hold onto right now! This great 2014 has an explosive nose of red fruit with bonbon ceris and extraordinary purity on the palate. The length is striking, as is the focussed acidity. This will prove to be one of the great Langoa's in time, if we can keep our hands off of it!
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-22-2017
The 2007 Tronquoy Lalande is a powerful, structured Bordeaux that pairs very well with rich, charcoal grilled steak and loaded potatoes! This wine, which I enjoyed a couple of Fridays ago for steak and claret night has an exotic, open, mocha and cassis nose as well as plenty of back end grip. This is manly Bordeaux for a manly steak, and should be even better in a few years time.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2004 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Cinnamon and I drank this for our 13th anniversary (we were married in 2004) with steak frites at the lovely Mathilde French bistro in San Francisco. Today I had it again in our staff Bordeaux tasting, right next to the famous 2005. Both times, this wine exceeded expectations, and I couldn't help but buy a little for myself after this second great surprise! I thought this wine drank far better than the 2005 now, and has none of the green notes that critics of the 2004's complain about. The texture is all there at 13 years, and the fruit is dark, fresh and very well balanced by focussed acidity. If you have a steak dinner in your future, this top class Bordeaux is a great choice!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-18-2017
We have a few house favorites when it comes to Bordeaux here at K&L, and the 2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc confirms why we love this property. For the Haut-Medoc, this wine has a huge proportion of Merlot at 85% and just a touch of Cabernet Sauvignon at 15%. In its youth, the wine had a big, ripe, plumy nose, but was still very elegant in the mouth. It reminded me very much of old fashioned Pomerol; medium bodied, pure, racy Merlot without the extraneous sugar and oak. At the price, too much of this wine was probably consumed too young, but the patient will now be rewarded with a great experience at a very small price.

1990 Poujeaux, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 08-17-2017
For decades, I have been preaching the gospel of Poujeaux to anyone who would listen. I believe that these wines, given enough time in the cellar, will stand on the table with anything. This 1990 has been given that time in the cool cellars of one of our negociant partners in Bordeaux, and is not drinking absolutely beautifully. If you have been invited to a wine dinner where everyone else is bringing $200 bottles, you will not be out classed with this beauty from Moulis. It has integrated and gained complexity over the last 27 years, but still has excellent concentration and ripe Cabernet fruit. The finish is long, detailed and far more complex than many more expensive, famous bottles that I have had lately.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1994 Reserve de Leoville Barton, St. Julien
Review Date: 08-17-2017
The Leoville Barton estate had one of the great successes of the 1994 vineyard in Bordeaux, and that success extended to this very good 2nd label, the Reserve De Leoville Barton. This wine is still virile and powerful at 23 years old, and I expect has considerable time in hand. This dark, curranty St. julien shows plenty of Cabernet fruit, and still has good tannin and bright cut. I bought some for home and I am looking forward to having it with prime rib, Yorkshire Pudding and all the fixings!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1989 Gressier Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 08-17-2017
This very good 1989 has all the virtues of well aged claret, and at a very fair price. The Gressier Grand Poujeaux vineyards are in Moulis, right between the more famous communes of St. Julien and Margaux. The wine borrows a little from both neighboring areas, with generous aromatics akin to Margaux and round, dark cassis Cabernet fruit akin to St. Julien. This fine claret has more complexity than one would expect from a cru bourgeois, with a particularly nice meaty, animal note on the long finish. I can't wait to have this at home with charcoal grilled ribeye and an old fashioned baked potato!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvée des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-15-2017
This is the most intriguing of all Pinot Noir Champagnes in the store, especially given the extraordinary value that it offers. Looking at it, I would never be able to tell that it was made from red grapes- Jean-Felix Josselin presses his grapes very delicately with a pair of very old basket presses that are the best, and the most labor intensive kind in Champagne! Cinnamon and I enjoyed this bottle with some “duck sushi”- sliced cooked duck breast served over risotto shaped into sushi rice shape this past weekend. While this wine is clean and refreshing enough to have on its own, the clean earth and Pinot power really came on with the food. At this price, I will be drinking a lot of this flexible, delicious Champagne and I will no doubt have more pairing suggestions soon!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Weon Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
The light to medium bodied Weon challenged my prejudice against carignane at today's staff tasting. I loved the charm and easy going style of this delicately earthy, pretty, refreshing red wine. This would be a good wine to put in the mix with one's cru Beaujolais, Jura poulsard and even Oregon pinot!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This semillon is one of the most inspiring Argentinian wines that I have ever tasted. The Aleph is loaded with waxy, complex, intriguing flavors, and has full body, not from oak, but from real concentration. It might seem expensive in context with other wines from the same country, but is an outstanding value as a wine. This would be a great ringer in a lineup of expensive white Bordeaux!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Noemia de Patagonia "A Lisa" Malbec Rio Negro
Review Date: 08-01-2017
Tasting this made me wish for a cowboy style grill up on the high plains of Argentina. The "A Lisa" Malbec has great smoky aromas, dark fruit in the mouth and a great balance between body and lift texturally.Tasting this today at K&L makes me fantasize about a big etrana cut of steak on the open range, and plenty of Noemia to wash it down with!

2016 Gen del Alma "Ji Ji Ji" Malbec/Pinot Noir Gualtallary
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This wine destroyed all of my preconceived notions about Argentinian wine. This is as light and delicate as red wine comes, and a perfect drink for a summer picnic. I like it with a little bit of a chill on it, to bring out the racy side of this lovely bottle. The Ji Ji Ji made me giggle like the label suggests with its mix of sarsaparilla and mint notes on the very open nose. What a fun bottle of light red wine!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2016 Matetic "EQ" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This refreshing Sauvignon Blanc has very nice fruit without being sweet, a subtle pepper like note on the nose, and no grassiness to speak of. The folks at Matetic in the Casablanca Valley have come up with a great summer sipper with this 2016!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-12-2017
This was one of the biggest highlights of my trip to Champagne this year. This spectacular offering from Le Brun De Neuville is all from Bethon, in the heart of the Sézanne. It is composed of 96% of Chardonnay and 4% Pinot Noir from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. You friends will not believe that they are drinking a Champagne that is well under $50 if you pop this tonight. Given how well the 1988 Le Brun De Neuville showed, it only can get better if you can keep your hands off of it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay--every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must-try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is our most popular half bottle of Champagne by far. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay: every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry-level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
I always have to order extra of these magnums - Clyde & Trey always gobble up about half of what we get! All Champagne has an advantage in magnum, seeing more surface area for lees contact and half the amount of air exposure. The Bonville family doubles down by giving these an extra 2-4 years of ageing! This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay- every acre that they own is super chalky, east facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920's, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover. Already exceptional out of 750, the Bonville Selection picks up both richness and zip in the larger format bottle - making it the "smallest" big bottle that we have. It ends up empty far too soon!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
I feel strongly that this Decades bottling from Wild Turkey is the best Bourbon in the store, and I haven't tasted anything this good in a long time. Instead of doing a series of single barrel releases to go after collectors money, Eddie Russell has put together a masterpiece by blending some of the best stuff in the vast Wild Turkey stocks. The synergy of these whiskeys is obvious at first sniff, and I have to pinch myself when I get to taste something this good at work! This has cream, caramel, and a hint of something savory that makes it beguiling to return to. If you want to treat yourself to an unforgettable bottle, look no further!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2013 Einaudi "Terlo Vigna Costa Grimaldi" Barolo
Review Date: 06-14-2017
It isn't every day that I taste a wine that marries power and elegance as well as this Vigna Costa Grimaldi from Einaudi. The high class aromas have all the best traditional components of Barolo in a very stylish frame. In the mouth, the wine is full of dark, savory fruit and strong, but silky tannins. Rather than being tarted up with French barrique, this is great all big barrel, real Barolo... I can't wait to try it with Osso Bucco after a couple hours in a decanter!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-14-2017
The Terlo from Einaudi has the rare combination of traditional Barolo flavors married to precocious drinkability. I love the exotic rose and tar nose, the powerful structure and the surprising texture. This will do the best with an hour or more in the decanter and great food- and what good Barolo wouldn't! I can't wait to get this home and drink it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
Baron-Fuenté "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($17.99)