Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The great 2012 vintage only yielded one press load of this sensational Champagne- 4000 bottles! This old vine, pure Meunier Champagne comes from two massal selected plots in Troissy. One was planted in 1969, the other in 1970. The wine has exquisite balance, with not only the spicy, pear fruit of the meunier variety, but also warm bread aromas and flavors from long ageing, and very nice focus and acidity. This Champagne is drier than most Meunier at less than 7g/l dosage. This rarity is a knock out from one of our smallest grower producers.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Snatch up this great 2014 Bordeaux Blanc before this great vintage disappears! For me, this is the best Carbonnieux since the 2001, and has that perfect balance of feral, citric sauvignon and textural, honeyed semillon. This is full flavored stuff, and extremely bright and lively on the pure gravel finish. I am going to have to put mine away deep in the cellar, it tastes so good now that it will be hard to save for later!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Cap St. George, St.-Georges-St.-Emilion
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This vanilla toast and wild fruit exotic St. Georges St. Emilion rang in a new era in Bordeaux for me! Now the big right bank wines have all of the oak and fruit that they have had for the modern era, but without the heat or the extra heaviness. This is a super full bodied Bordeaux, but it still stays fresh and lifted. The scale of the wine is hard to believe for the money, with great sweet tannin on the finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2015 Pierre 1er, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This big St. Emilion impressed us all today at our Bordeaux staff tasting. It is a giant of a claret, with extroverted raspberry fruit, a rich mid-palate, great full bodied texture and the acidity to keep it all in balance. If you like your Bordeaux big, this will be perfect, especially with some skirt steak on the grill!

2015 Labadie, Médoc
Review Date: 08-07-2018
From the northernmost part of Bordeaux, the Labadie impressed me so much with its fabulous balance between toasty, modern oak, clean cassis and fresh, mineral infused acidity. This almost even blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc is a huge surprise for under $20. It is wines like this that show off what a truly great vintage 2015 is!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-07-2018
I understand why so many of my colleagues are calling the 2014 Chateau Montrose the wine of the vintage. It is the best young Bordeaux I have tasted in many, many years. This tremendous, dark fruited wine is loaded with power, but also packaged perfectly elegantly. Is it tannic? Of course- it is Montrose! But the tannins are ripe, and lifted by graceful acidity. The only ingredient that is missing is a lot of time... I am afraid that the perfect balance will cause much of the production to be drunk far too young.
Drink from 2010 to 2010

2017 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This fantastic rosé from Garda is a perfect summer time wine. The Chiaretto from Tenuta Roveglia has the breadth and power of Tavel, but without the heat or heaviness. If you are looking for a bottle that has a lot of flavor, but without excessive alcohol, you will love this!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2013 Negretti Barolo
Review Date: 08-07-2018
I immediately fell in love with the new leather and rose petal nose of this beguiling Italian red. This fantastic value in Barolo manages to be traditional without being hard, and surprised me with how open and natural it shows right from the bottle. When I get this home, I am planning on decanting it well ahead and serving it with a decadent porcini risotto finished with good parmesan and white truffle butter!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-07-2018
It is not often that I taste a new world Pinot Noir with the kind of ethereal, even airy elusiveness that I found in the Cuvee H by Fromm. On the nose it is kaleidoscopic in complexity, with aroma after aroma coming out of the glass. It is deceivingly light on the palate, but very concentrated and long on the finish. This wine certainly has me in its power- and that is usually a feeling that I only get from Volnay. If you are looking for a great bottle of New Zealand Pinot to have with your best wine drinking friends over a good dinner, this is one of the best I have tried.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Delicious, organically grown Pinot Noir for under $20! Sign me up! The lovely Ted By Mount Edward has beautiful black cherry fruit and new leather aromas and flavors, and a very long finish. If you are looking for a red to drink after work, this is a great choice, but I think it will be even better with a piece of salmon!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 90

2015 Casarena "Owen's Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-07-2018
What an outstanding bottle of Cabernet! Tasting this transported me back to my first days in the wine business, more than two decades ago, tasting the old fashioned greats of Napa. The cool cassis fruit, the hints of olive and the concentration that comes naturally from the sun, rather than from extraction, made me think of the Heitz and Montelena bottles of the old days. If you like to have your Cabernet with food, and love the old school style, this is a must, especially at this great price!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 W&S 93

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This clean and refreshing Assyrtiko from Santo has more body than most, and drinks very nicely on its own. That being said, it has plenty of aromatics as well as flinty minerality on the bone dry finish. I would love to pair this wine with spanakopita with spinach and feta!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2016 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The very cool conditions out in the Freestone AVA have allowed the folks at Joseph Phelps to make a pretty amazing Chardonnay. Not only does this have the intense, full throttle flavors that our customers love in California Chardonnay, but it is also balanced out by the crispness of the coast. If you are looking for a Chardonnay with great texture and full flavor, but are tired of heaviness and residual sugar, this is a perfect choice!

2017 Margerum "Riviera" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The "Riviera" rosé from Margerum broke all of my stereotypes of domestic pink wine. This extraordinarily light and crisp wine is made from very early picked grenache, so early that the alcohol is only 11.3%, making it among the lowest that we have in rosé from anywhere in the world. I love the hint of red fruit in this subtle, aperitif style rosé, and can't wait to fool my colleagues with it blind!
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 92 W&S 90

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This is surprisingly exotic Champagne, with plenty of white fruit, and even some candied ginger on the very open nose. It is also very toasty and generous, with plenty of the yeasty, baguette quality that so many Champagne lovers can’t get enough of. The color is silvery and the wine has the minerality and steely cut to match. This vintage is composed of all estate grown, grand cru fruit and is given slightly less liquer de tirage at bottling and so has slightly lower pressure than most Champagne. One can usually expect Champagne to be six atmospheres, while this is between 4.5 and 5… But I can’t say I noticed less bubbles. In fact, this had the precise, tiny bead that one would expect from the people who bring us Cristal! Don’t let this great bottle slip by you just because it isn’t from a famous vintage. I found it to be very intriguing and delicious Champagne, and a worthy follow up to the 2008 and 2009. It drinks very well now, but I expect it should keep until 2030 without any problem at all.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
Bollinger has a sterling reputation in Champagne for stalwart quality for a great reason. They do the hard work to make great Champagne, and there Special Cuvee is the standard barer for their range. Along with Krug, Bollinger is the only grand marque to refuse to give up their barrels, which they still ferment the wine in to this day. They are located in the village of Ay, famous for being the chalkiest terroir for Pinot Noir in all of Champagne, and Ay is the soul of this blend. It is one of the fullest, most powerful non-vintages from the grand marques, and also one of the driest. If you are a fan of Champagne and haven't tried this classic lately, you should!

Petit & Bajan Ambrosie Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
The Ambrosie has to go down as one of the best Champagne's that I have tasted this year, with fantastic hazelnut aroma and flavor from the 30% Verzenay Pinot Noir and both the richness and chalk from the 70% Avize Chardonnay. This Champagne is so good that it leaves me at a loss for words. My notes, although short, have the word "concentrated" written three times, each time bigger than the last. If you like long finishing, detailed, powerful Champagne, it is not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Petit & Bajan Nuit Blanche Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
The excitement of the best of Avize is all here in this bottle. Like the best of Selosse, Bonville or Agrapart this wine is buzzing with chalky energy and manages both richness and cut at the same time. This wine is very dry, with a dosage of just 4g/l, but it has the natural roundness and toast to bring it into perfect balance. Sadly, what we have is all we will get, so I am buying my case now.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 07-31-2018
What a powerhouse! If you have been enjoying the big reds of the sunny south of France, and are ready to take it to the next level, don't miss the Infiniment from Chateau De L Ou. This has the catnip like, attention grabbing barrel spice of a wine twice the price, backed up by a lot of very dark blueberry fruit that comes in right between Hermitage and Barossa in style. This is super big and rich, but still completely dry, unlike many of the other wines that we have from the Cotes Catalanes that have residual sugar. The owner of the chateau, Severine, punches every barrel of this pure syrah down with her own hands!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 94

2016 Domaine de Verquière Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-31-2018
This fabulous, grown up Rhone has not only great texture and poise but also the wonderful, wild blackberry fruit that makes the wine so fun to drink. It is fermented in concrete, keeping all of the soul while sacrificing none of the clean concentration of this sunny, southern red. This is perfect wine to go with grilled meats, especially sausages on the grill!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 89 - 92

2017 Domaine Vico Corse Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The rosé of Corsica has taken the staff of K&L by storm over the last few years. The Domaine Vico is a delicious example, with more dark fruit and presence than our provencal bottlings, but not the excess alcohol or weight of the Rhone or domestic offerings. We had this at our staff barbeque with a tomato tart that Cinnamon had made, and it was fantastic. It is also great for just sipping in the yard!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château de Bellet "Baron G" Bellet Rosé
Review Date: 07-31-2018
No longer do you have to go to Monaco to drink this at Le Louis XV- you can get it here at K&L! While this does go very well with le gamberoni de San Remo, you can also enjoy it at home with nice salad nicoise, or even on its own. The aromas of this wine are beguiling, like a perfect bowl of strawberries and cream. On the palate it has the snap of Aperol, but also manages airy, Provençal delicacy despite the kaleidoscopic flavors. The finish is dry, light, and lifted. Summer luxury, bottled for our enjoyment!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de la Ferme Blanche Cassis Rosé
Review Date: 07-31-2018
This is one of my favorite rosé wines that we have, regardless of price. Cassis rosé is very hard to find, and always very expensive, but Keith has found a great producer to bring in direct with Domaine De La Ferme Blanche. With a generous, fragrant nose of wild strawberries, this wine also has nice fruit in the mouth. The finish is what sets it apart- this is a long, dry, serious wine- but you don't have to take it too seriously! The balance stays fun and easy to drink, but the depth is there if you care to pay attention!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The Murray from Tullibardine is one concentrated, delicious malt! If you like whisky with high class sweetness, beautifully balanced barrel spice and a finish that goes on forever, this is a great choice. I love an unpeated malt that still has complexity, and this has captivating layers of flavor.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Cutty Sark "Prohibition Edition" Blended Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Whisky drinkers rejoice! The Prohibition Edition from Cutty Sark is here, and it tastes great. Unlike most blended scotch, even much more expensive bottles, this does not have the raw grain flavor that I don't care for. Instead, it has more than a hint of sherry cask and a solid, medium body. I also appreciate the higher proof- at 100, this is perfect for an ice cube.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WA 90 WE 90

2015 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The Fontalloro from Felsina was one of the stars of our staff barbeque this past Sunday night. It is a dense, dry, serious, dark fruited super tuscan, but it opened up beautifully with the sous vide buttery tri-tip that Chantel brought and finished on the grill. This is a big wine, and it will age beautifully.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Old world Pinot Noir for a great price? I know, it is hard to believe! We had the Torti Pavia this Sunday at our staff barbeque, and I loved the way it went with the chorizo and the chicken sausage that we were enjoying for appetizers. It is a super refreshing style, with high toned red fruit, light body, but yet a surprising bit of sap in the middle that really appealed to me. This is a must try for anyone who likes lighter style Oregon Pinot Noir- they can do it in Italy too!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2008 Nicolas Feuillatte Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Alex and I tasted this at the source when it was first released this spring, and now it has arrived in the USA. While Feuillatte makes a lot of Champagne, they do not make a lot of vintage, and they are able to select out the best plots from their best growers. In a great vintage like 2008, they have a real success. Not only does this have the brioche notes of a wine that has been aged a long time on the lees, it also has a very nice tight bead, good texture and some cherry fruit from top class Pinot Noir. The best part of the wine is the very dry, classically mineral driven 2008 finish. This is serious vintage Champagne!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2009 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The Gran Reserva 904 is one of the greatest wines of Spain, and always stands on the table proudly next to any wine of the world. The 2009 is a special opportunity, as all of the oldest plots, usually reserved for the 890, have been added into it. This wine is a baby, packed, and concentrated with the vanillian tinged dark tempranillo fruit of youth. It is the kaleidoscopic back end that hints at what it will become in the future with blood orange, leather and earth all flaring out on the finish.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 95

2016 Mas Codina Xarel-lo Penedes
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Our star cava producer has a hidden talent- making great still white table wine at an awesome price! This dry, clean white wine has striking honeyed intrigue on its very long finish. It is structured very much like a good Pouilly-Fuissé, with some good mid-palate weight and great refreshing acidity. This would be a perfect partner with a big seafood paella!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Occultum Lapidem" Côtes de Roussillon-Villages Latour de France
Review Date: 07-24-2018
If you love the super rich, high octane, dark wines of the south of France, this is one not to be missed. It has a ton of confiture de mûres fruit up front, and a gargantuan amount of structure on the back. What a powerhouse!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 07-24-2018
I am crazy about this great 2015 Chianti! If you are looking for a special occasion sangiovese, I would strongly recommend that you widen your scope from Brunello to take a look at this Rancia. This is dry, concentrated, complex Tuscan wine with fabulous cherry power and earthy savor. It is kissed with some French oak that is very well integrated into the wine. I love that you can get all the power and flavor of Brunello here with a lot less alcohol... This is perfect for big juicy pork chops on the grill!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
This might be the best drinking current release that I have had from Oregon! I love the translucent ruby color, the complex nose of red cherry, bacon and vanilla as well as the developed, silky texture. While I was tasting it, all I could think about is Oregon plank salmon, and how well this purely Oregonian wine would go with the noble, grilled on the wood fish.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Varner "Upper Picnic Block - Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Don't miss out on the last of the Varner Spring Ridge that we have to offer here at K&L. The drama surrounding the use of the vineyard name has benefited the wine lover immensely, giving this wine the extra time in bottle to really sing. This Pinot has the great dark, rich, bing cherry fruit that people love, married to an equal amount of structure, both in tanning and in refreshing acidity. It is a great example of how this variety shines in the Santa Cruz Mountains. This is long finishing, classy stuff, and it won't last long in our stock.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 95

2012 Louis Brochet "Alain" Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Louis Brochet is the best producer in Champagne that is still flying under the radar. He is a single minded man, trained as an oenoligist with a masters in winemaking from Reims, and working his families vines that have been in the family for four generations. The 2012 is spectacular, with flavors of nut bread and red cherry like Pinot Noir. It has great concentration, especially on the back end, which seems to go on forever. Not only do the expertly made vintage wines of Louis Brochet drink well young, they are fantastic for the cellar- The 1996 is still very, very fresh at 22. The backbone of this wine is a very old selection of Pinot Noir named after the village- "Pinot d'Ecueil", which makes up 2/3 of this blend. The other 1/3 is Chardonnay, and the wine is vinified in stainless steel before being aged over four years on the lees.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ardmore Legacy Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
I love a dram of good whisky after dinner and the Legacy from Ardmore is just my style for enjoying after the meal. Beautifully light, this has just the right amount of peat to cut through and settle the stomach after a nice weekend meal. It bucks the extreme, flavor blasted trend that makes all the headlines on the whisky blogs and instead offers the graduate an effortless, subtle style to enjoy again and again. This still has plenty of flavor, but prizes balances above power. What a great value!
Top Value!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Rieger's Midwestern Missouri Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
The story of this gin is amazing- the master distiller of Tanqueray taking on a passion project in the midwest, but the spirit itself is even more so! This runs straight down the middle with firm juniper flavor married to a flawless, creamy texture. The quality is just higher than most in this style, and the price is considerably lower than most gins of this superlative quality. I never thought I would fall in love with a gin from Missouri!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 07-19-2018
What a stylish bottle of gin! I suppose we should expect as much from the Italians! With haunting citrus notes from the deft use of bergamot and a rich, creamy texture that never becomes heavy, this is worthy of being considered in the top tier of gin. The sage in the recipe gives this the right amount of green lift to balance out the exoticism, and I can't wait to get this home and make a G&T with it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

J.H. Cutter Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
This blend is definitely greater than the sum of its parts! Four fifths of this blend is from the heart of Kentucky bourbon country, and grounds this whiskey with the richness and smooth manners of a southern gentleman. The other fifth is wild rye from the left coast, giving this spice, wildness and energy. It all works out in perfect harmony, making it my favorite new American whiskey that I have tried since the "craft" whiskey movement started!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Dudognon "K&L Exclusive Cuvee" Napoleon Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
Dudognon breaks the mold of mainstream Cognac in every way, and the results are complex, delicious and offer surprising value. Instead of huge advertising campaigns, they rely on their estate vineyards to grow the best possible grapes to make the best possible brandy. This has the authentic rancio character from long age that I look for in my digestif, as well as layers of dried fruit and subtle vanilla. This is far less sweet than most Cognac, making it perfect for enjoying after big meals!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Arboleda Pinot Noir Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This excellent Pinot Noir from Arboleda just proved to me that sometimes you can have it all at a reasonable price. Not only does it have generous, open knit, brambly red fruit, it also has savor and complexity. I can't remember trying much Pinot that comes in at this price that has this kind of intrigue and depth, and I can't wait to try it with some lamb chops at home. I can count the number of Aconcagua Costa bottlings I have tried on my fingers, but now I will be seeking them out!
Top Value!

2017 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The Cotes Blanches is a wonderful bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. Not only does it have some great fruit up front, but also a great line of acidity that will keep you refreshed and coming back for more. The 2017 is nearly exotic on the nose, with some nearly pineapple like notes peeking through. The minerality of the finish is unmistakably Loire Valley, and makes it an easy wine to drink.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 07-17-2018
One sip of this transported me back to La Table, Olivier Leflaive’s very nice bistro in the center of Puligny. The Les Setilles has both the meyer lemon citrus drive and the only-in-Burgundy earthiness in spades, all at a great price. Their is not much of the frost affected 2016 to be had, but the quality is at least as good as the fantastic 2014's.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Baracchi "O'Lillo!" Toscana
Review Date: 07-17-2018
A super Tuscan that fits the budget! This even blend of Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah and Merlot keeps its Italian flavor even though it is 3/4's French grape varieties, and has the bright red fruit that people love in Tuscan wine. This will make a great partner for your favorite bolognese recipe, or even your Tuesday night pizza.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Montes Alpha Pinot Noir Aconcagua Valley
Review Date: 07-17-2018
What a value in Pinot Noir! If you are looking for a great wine to have a glass of after work, this dark fruited, easy drinking, extroverted Montes Alpha from the Aconcagua Valley is a perfect choice. This is velvety and easy going, but it does not have any residual sugar weighing it down or excessive alcohol to diminish the pleasure. A great choice for a red wine to enjoy on its own!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This super flinty, focussed, concentrated Chardonnay from Oakridge Estate smashes every stereotype of Australian wine. With excellent acidity, light body, but undeniably concentrated minerality, this is a perfect wine to pair with everything from oysters to grilled shrimp. The cool, refreshing style of this Willowlake Chardonnay is far from the fat wines of Barossa as Chablis is from Chateauneuf!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

1989 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-12-2018
Chateau Haut Bailly is one of the greatest of all terroirs in Bordeaux, and one of the few that has flown mostly under the radar. While this great 1989 vintage is expensive, it is in a class that is usually far more dear. This is a wine that is not yet old- on the contrary, I would say that it is just now entering its drinking window. It has it all; high class gravelly earth, silky texture, firm dark fruit and near infinite length. If you are looking for a special occasion bottle to pair with the best dry aged ribeye you can buy, this is it. I won't forget tasting it!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 91

2004 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-12-2018
This St. Emilion is drinking perfectly right now. If you like the richer style of the right bank, but can do without the excess alcohol, I think you will love this very fairly priced 2004 from Barde Haut. It is spicy, full bodied and still has plenty of plummy, dark fruit in the middle. This is a perfect pairing for skirt steak on the grill, or for a more sophisticated dish like beef Wellington.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2004 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-12-2018
This is my style of Bordeaux. The Coufran has an amazing, generous nose of cedar and brambly, plummy fruit, texture that can only be won with patience and a very long finish. It doesn't have any trace of heaviness, and is very much in the medium bodied style that goes so very well with food. This estate has the highest ratio of Merlot planted that I know of on the left bank of the river at 85%. The remaining 15% is Cabernet Sauvignon. The vine age averages 40 years, giving this wine its authority and concentration of flavors, but not at the expense of ease of drinkability. I will be buying a case of this one for sure!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2008 A.D. Coutelas Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-05-2018
The Coutelas have made a great 2008 with this bottling, and although it drinks great now, it should continue to improve for a decade. This all 1er cru Vintage Champagne comes from vineyards in the village of Dizy, just north of Epernay and east of Ay. I love the balance and poise of this half each blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir; it has complex intrigue from the savory, nearly truffle like Pinot Noir and great cut and minerality from both the Chardonnay and the character of the great 2008 vintage. The real kicker for me is the creamy texture- I don't know how they get this kind of elegant velvet into a wine that is still so lively and long. This performs way above its price tag!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>