Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 12-12-2017
Classic 2015. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins. Two Thumbs up !!!

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 12-09-2017
The delicate straw color of the 2015 "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura is followed by beautiful aromas of almonds, oranges, lemon, honey, apple skins, and a hint of tropical fruits. This crisp, elegant, Full-bodied white has layers of herbs, citrus and a touch of apricot,, with excellent acidity, fresh and long. I love this as an aperitif, or as a broadly useful table wine (roast chicken, fish...).
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 12-09-2017
Concentrated Sangiovese fruit with layers of subtle earth and mineral scents in a soft and forward body. Wonderful to drink now! Two Thumbs up !
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 12-09-2017
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This Chardonnay is crisp and stylish with lovely flowery fruit and plenty of depth, energy and concentration underneath and a very long finish. Love this Petit Chablis and white Burgundies at affordable prices!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Cantina Terlan "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Alto Adige Riserva
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This is from a hillside in the town of Terlano in the Alto Adige where the soil is sandy, gravely and calcareous. A great place to plant grapes? This is what makes this so unique and the wines of this region unique as well. This Pinot Bianco is full-bodied, delicately fragrant and mildly floral, ripe honeydew melon and bartlett pear and lots of minerality balanced with acidity this can keep very easily over the next 5 years. A Great wine to serve for the winter holidays
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 WE 92

2016 Castello di Verduno "Basadone" Pelaverga
Review Date: 11-25-2017
I first tried this grape varietal with the 2008 vintage, when I met Mario Andrion (Oenologist) and I soon planed a trip to visit the winery in May of 2010 (www.castellodiverduno.it) they have a great hotel ! Pelaverga has a DOC, in the region of Piedmont in Italy. The small zone has a vineyard area of only eight hectares, and includes the commune of Verduno, from which the name is taken, as well as parts of the communes of La Morra and Roddi d´Alba in the province of Cuneo. It’s an amazing medium-bodied red, intense fragrant nose, showing spicy overtones with lots of whir pepper and nutmeg, as well as fruity sensations reminiscent of cherries and strawberries. Truly a taste sensation, you must try.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Abbazia di Novacella "Praepositus" Kerner
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This Kerner is fresh and dry with subtle aromas of flowers, green apples and lemons. Truly one of the Best Kerner's I have ever had, don't miss out on this. Enjoy it with Thai or other spicy dishes or by itself (like I did). This wine pairs well with almost everything!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Centovigne "Della Motta" Rosso
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This rosso is made up of 100% Nebbiolo!!! I opened this one on Sunday night and immediately poured it into a decanter and let it open for an hour. There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality, and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo, I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. Two Thumbs up !
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capanna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-01-2017
This is a user-friendly rosso. Bright fruit hit you first, black cherries, cassis and ripe strawberries, and then Tuscany starts to roll across your palate; the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers. This baby Brunello needs an hour or so of breathing time.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2016 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 11-01-2017
Great aromatics on this rich, yet dry and quaffable wine. Perfect for vegetable dishes, lighter fish dishes, or spicy asian cuisine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cordella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-17-2017
Love these user friendly 2012 Brunelli, This is very concentrated and has a impressive nose for the vintage, with loads of ripe fruit, Full-bodied and very velvety, with beautiful soft tannins and great fruit, full-bodied, this wine boasts excellent length.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2014 Ferrero Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 10-17-2017
Super Tuscan at a super price. This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano, and Alicante, and I swear you can taste all of these. On the palate you will find flavors of black cherry, plum and soft floral notes blended with silky tannins. The Cabernet gives this a backbone you can feel and a nice smooth and long finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$13.99

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 10-17-2017
From our friends at Ferrero (Claudia Ferrero & Pablo Harri) husband & wife team, they have hit another one out of the proverbial ballpark. This is a Super Tuscan ( Merlot, Cabernet, Montrpulciano & Alicante), on the palate you will find a dark, brooding profile of Tuscan dust, smoke, wild cherries and underbrush, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here (2015 Structure!!!), not to mention terrific overall balance with soft supple tannins. Just the thing for cheese filled pastas.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cortonesi "Poggiarelli" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-17-2017
I am Lovin on the 2012 Brunelli, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet ripe strawberries, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the on the finish, round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste and really well sturture. Great for gifts, or the Holiday table.

2015 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 10-17-2017
I love drinking this wine. It is just the kind of wine you want when you sit down with a little bread and cheese or when you open something to drink while cooking dinner. Rich and complex, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Sangiovese. Super Tuscan & Super Price !
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Antinori "Tignanello" Toscana
Review Date: 10-11-2017
Made of mostly Sangiovese with Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon, the nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of coco powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit describe above with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and has an incredible long finish. This wine was a HUGE hit at my last consumer tasting in S/F .

2014 Von Strasser "Rudy" North Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-07-2017
This is a great California Napa Valley Cabernet, wonderful layers and great mature fruit, rich and ripe dark fruit very luscious and silky finish. Pull the cork and you are good to go!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 10-06-2017
This 2012 Fontalloro is 100% Sangiovese sourced from few different vineyards and is simply beautiful. The opulent, forward fruit that is typical of the year is present, but a firm sense of structure keeps things from going over the top. If that sounds appealing you’ll love this wine. Dark red fruit, flowers, minerals and spices come together beautifully and with 2012 structure should age very well, tough to keep your hands off this wine.

2016 Erste e Neue Müller-Thurgau Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-06-2017
From one of our favorite importers of Italian wines, Oliver McCrum, this producer makes wonderfully affordable wines with the quality and authenticity we've come to expect from one of Oliver's selections. The Müller-Thurgau--a Riesling cross created in Switzerland in the 1880s--comes from limestone-rich soils of the Alto Adige. McCrum describes the wine thusly: "Exuberant aroma of lime peel and flowers; zesty, bright and dry on the palate; delicious as a dry aperitif or with cured meats. I drink a lot of this in warmer weather as an aperitif."
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-06-2017
This user friendly 2012 has big and bright fruit that hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers long on the palate. Drinks very well young and will over the next couple of years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 93

2012 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-06-2017
I love these user friendly Brunelli's in 2012. Impressive nose, with loads of ripe fruit, this is full-bodied with soft tannin structure, that won’t hurt your teeth. Love the fruit that is an impressive, rich and concentrated. The wine boasts excellent length, with black cherry, leather and a spicy nose with a little Tuscan dust and minerals on the finish. It is drinkable now, with a couple of hours in a decanter, or give this wine time to improve and continues to evolve for another five to ten years. I am thinking a pork roast loin.

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-06-2017
Albatreti is a new find ( Our third vintage for you) to Greg & I and we thought that we must share this with you! You will find a lot of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some good tannin structure on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential of 5 to 10 or more years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Albatreti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-06-2017
This is drinking GREAT! right now and will over the next couple of years (but only if you can keep your hands off it and keep some in the cellar). Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this rosso about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter cocoa and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Luigi Boveri "Derthona" Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 09-23-2017
This is white wine for a red wine drinker. There is so much concentration and depth of flavor, intensity, complexity and downright deliciousness here, you'll have a hard time ever sipping on a light quaffing white wine ever again. Made from 100% Timorasso, a rare Piedmontese varietal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 09-06-2017
You will find a little bit of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some soft tannin on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential over the next few years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.

2016 Silvano Follador Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-23-2017
It's back!!! This is a perfect wine for this time of year. This Prosecco has been one of K&L’s best sellers since we started bringing it in many years ago. There is melon and green apple, and it is crisp and floral on the palate. A long finish and a subtle mousse make this delicious wine a sure bet for your table. This wine will work well as an alternative to Champagne. Fun bubbles and great value for the last days of summer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this rosso about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Casale Marchesi Frascati
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Tangy acidity focuses this firm, snappy white. The palate is subtle and creamy, offering an elegant mix of almond skin, crunchy white peach and pink grapefruit granita.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 08-03-2017
This is baby Châteauneuf-du-Pape, love 2013 for Cote du Rhone and LOVE Montflaucon! A great full body red with lots of layers & balance. TWO Thumbs up !
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
WS 90

2016 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 08-03-2017
A super value Chablis that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. This 2016 Chablis is chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cicada by Chante Cigale Méditerranée
Review Date: 08-03-2017
A wine with lots of cassis, kirsch, pepper, and even an intriguing floral note, the wine is medium to full-bodied , silky smooth, and a truly delicious, hedonistic and intellectually satisfying wine that is a remarkable bargain.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Talenti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-03-2017
2015 Vintage is sensational and this offering from Talenti is too! Pierluigi Talenti has made some of the greatest wines of the much-heralded 2015 vintage. The Rosso is big, fat, and rich. No new oak, but the ripe, intense fruit shines brilliantly without being masked by wood.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Foxglove Central Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-01-2017
All tank-fermented and lee-stirred with no malolactic, this is outrageously delicious Chardonnay showing plenty of white currant, pineapple, and tangerine skin notes, with gorgeous fruit purity, medium body, crisp acidity, and lots of n varietal fruit that is surprisingly complex and rich with great zestiness. I love what the Varner Brothers can do to a grape varietal, without putting a heavy thumb print on it.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 VN 90

2015 Caravaglio Malvasia Bianco Secco Salina
Review Date: 06-23-2017
This grape is becoming very popular in the San Francisco bay area, thanks to a little restaurant called "A16", that has introduced a lot of Southern Italian varietals to its patrons. A bright, fresh wine with pear, lime, lemon peel, toasted hazelnut with a mineral/salty notes on the palate, this is a very food friendly wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$15.99
VN 90

2015 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-20-2017
If you never had Paso Robles Cabernet before, this is the place to start! This Cabernet Sauvignon displays a flavorful deluge of rich black currant, hints of cherry and a long finish of sweet mocha and velvety tannins, with hints of that Paso terroir that I love.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Elk Cove Willamette Valley Rosé
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This robust Rose has a light salmon-pink color, with fascinating aromas of ripe, wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-14-2017
The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here, I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (up to five or more years if you are that patient). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue tommy hawk steak.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

2012 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This wine is full-bodied wine with some tannin structure and intense fruit (black cherries and plum) and a hint of mineral flavors and was very well-crafted. I would give this a couple hours of decanting and serve with a blackened Tri tip or a pork loin fresh off the Que.

2012 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino 375ml
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This was once again in my top five Brunelli and is in my cellar and will be there over the next five years or so. I love the concentration user friendliness of 2012 in Montalcino, there are many layers of ripe fruit, tobacco, earthiness, smoke and toasted oak and I would give this an hour or two of decanting to see the great structure and balance that is going on here. YUM !
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2012 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This was once again in my top five Brunelli and is in my cellar and will be there over the next five years or so. I love the concentration user friendliness of 2012 in Montalcino, there are many layers of ripe fruit, tobacco, earthiness, smoke and toasted oak and I would give this an hour or two of decanting to see the great structure and balance that is going on here. YUM !

2011 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-23-2017
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.
Price: $42.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-16-2017
I am a huge fan of this producer’s Zinfandels, I have even aged some, and not a lot of producers can make Zins that age... Limerick's Zins, though, age gracefully and mellow. Dark ruby color, dense, deep and aromatic, this Zinfandel shows ripe blackberry fruit with hints of tar and cocoa powder. ( Not a bad thing to drink sooner than later as well ).

2016 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This 2016 Aveleda is a crisp, light-bodied, fragrant notes of melons, figs, dried herbs, and a hint of honey, delicious, and surprisingly nuanced, A great value.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Here is one our most popular wines from Tuscany! The 2014 reminds me a lot of the 2004 vintage, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration, with well integrated & soft tannins. Enjoy tonight (needs decanting time, an hour or so) and over the next few years. Two BIG Thumbs up !!!

2013 Le Filigare "Lorenzo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-20-2017
In this wine you will find black cherries, plum with minerals and a touch of chestnuts on the finish. Medium-bodied with soft tannins, this is a very user-friendly Chianti that will show well with the pizza and pasta.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This 2015 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers apple and refreshing citric fruit flavors, and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well-rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great summer sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva 1.5L
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this over the next couple of years.

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this over the next couple of years.

Page: 1 2 next