Staff Favorites - Eric Story

Eric Story

Reviews

  
2014 Allram Strassertaler Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 08-26-2015
So, so happy we were introduced to this wine. Don’t get me wrong here, I love the liter bottling from our friends at Allram but, this delivers just a bit more stuffing and character. The 2014 is really starting to show off with bright textural white fruit and spice. Vibrant on the palate and fantastic with a plethora of foods.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Allram Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
What can I say. I’ve been drinking this wine by the multiple case-loads for eight vintages now. And I have no plans on stopping. Perfect for everyday wine, parties, large events, small events, whatever… It’s just a good, inexpensive wine, period!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Hippolyte Reverdy Sancerre
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Perhaps one of the most recognized wines of Sancerre. And, for good reason too. This wine always delivers the absolute core of what Sancerre Sauvignon Blanc identity is all about: bright, fresh, mineral driven and balanced.
Price: $25.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
I’ve never been shy about my passion for wines in the-- what I think is optimum--liter format. This wine is so well put together and fantastic to drink. If you think only “cheap,” poorly made wines are in liter bottles, you will be shocked at the quality within. Try it with grilled vegetable with a side of pork apple sausage.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Bernier Chardonnay Val de Loire
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Am I a Chardonnay guy? No, not particularly. But, I have to say that this little character is quite the surprise. With definite Chardonnay fruit character this is surprisingly good to drink. Yet another fantastic value for a midweek sipper and those large events on a shoestring budget.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Sigalas Assyrtiko Santorini
Review Date: 07-08-2015
I fell in love with these wines long before I had the opportunity to visit the magical island of Santorini. If there was ever a wine that immediately tells you from where it came, it would be this. Salty, minerally and full of verve and character. One of the best from the island!
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

1989 Joël Taluau "Cuvée de Domaine" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Beautifully aged and a pure expression of my favorite varietal, Cabernet Franc. You can feel the warmth of the vintage thru the middle and on the finish. Even though this has some age on it, it could use a bit of air/decanting.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Review Date: 07-08-2015
For having such a simple approach to making wine, Eric Cottat really shines. There is a real sense of class which starts in the aromatic and runs thru the finish. Nicely textured all the while being bright and vibrant with good lift and finishing balance.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Maison Idiart Blanc de Blanc Brut
Review Date: 07-08-2015
A new “go to” sparkler for us here at K&L. Crispy with hints of fresh dough and bright herbs. A really nice bubble which is not aggressive in anyway and a crispy finish. Perfect for an inexpensive Champagne replacement.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 07-08-2015
From one of my favorite people in Sancerre and a man with a fantastic name. Eric Cottat’s Rose is one that I patiently wait for every vintage now. Such an old school simple approach which finalizes into a beauty of wine. I love to have this on hand as often as I can in order to fill not only my rose cravings but my wife’s too…
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2003 Joel Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Such a great example of old vine power with matched elegance elegance. This is really just now starting to drink well. But, can be cellared for many years to come. Fresh yet hearty style of wine which should definitely be had with a nice home cooked meal.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Maison Idiart Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 07-08-2015
This inexpensive little treat brings just a bit more palate texture and some racy tropical notes as well. Although you get a good sense of minerality this wine is more fruit driven with a nice finishing balance. Clean with a soft body and fine length.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joël Taluau "Expression" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 07-08-2015
This wine is a perfect example of clean, fresh and unadulterated Cabernet Franc. Bright and pure on the palate with good lift and vibrancy on the finish. I even like to serve this just ever so slightly chilled during the warmer months.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Hubert Veneau Côteaux du Giennois Rosé
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Comprised of 80% Gamay and 20% Pinot Noir. The complexity of the Pinot Noir shows up-front with lots of spicy red fruits with a backing of mineral. On the palate the Gamay shows its fun side and adds to the juicy texture. I really like the blend of these two grapes and think they play perfectly together. Really cheery, everyday style of rosé. Côteaux du Giennois is a fairly new AOC, established in 1997, and is situated just north of Pouilly Fumé. Only three varietals are allowed to be grown under the AOC designate, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir, and Gamay and the soils are a mixture of silex and calcaire.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Nicolas Joly Les Vieux Clos Savennières
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Vines planted in primarily schist soils but with a bit of quartz and just a touch off sand as well. Quite an explosive wine. Full of ripe crunchy apple along with layer after layer of honeyed tea and roasted nuts. A definite candidate for the cellar. Or, even just having a glass a day over a week long span to see how this slow evolver will change. I put this into the Savennières powerhouse category.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 06-11-2015
Much like its cousin, the Deligeroy Rosé, this is just way too easy to say yes to. A fantastic and inexpensive replacement for those of you who love Champagne but hate the price.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Mineraly but not mineral driven. Fruity but not rich or heavy. Herbally but not green. Tastes like it should cost more but it doesn’t. Sit back, relax and enjoy a refreshing glass.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Leitz Pinot Noir Rosé Rheingau
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Do you like puppies? Do you like kittens? Do you like the smell of fresh laundry? Do you like walks on the beach? If you said yes to one or more of these questions you will like this wine. This a gulpable style of rosé as which its life was intended. Very fresh with loads of strawberry and watermelon. Light on the palate with good balance between fruit and acid. This will save you on a hot day…
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Les Ligeriens Rosé d'Anjou
Review Date: 06-10-2015
If there was ever a summertime wine, this is it. Low-alcohol, fruity and refreshing, this is what I desire while having fun in the sun. I call this a cooler wine and should be ready to be pulled out of the ice at a moment’s notice.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Le Paradis Chinon
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Easy drinking and on the lighter side of the Chinon spectrum which, is exactly what this wine is meant to be. I personally like to have a glass of this in my left hand while munching down on a grilled cheeseburger in my right.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Les Chancelieres Vouvray
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Such an easy go to everyday Chenin. Sure, it is a simple style of Vouvray but, it pushes all of the right buttons and satisfies the craving within.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This bubbly is just too good and too cheap to say no to. Bright, lively and refreshing. This is a perfect sparkling to be had at anytime of the day and for any occasion.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Damien Laureau "Les Petites Gorgées de Damien" Savennières
Review Date: 06-08-2015
Savennières grows the Chenin Blanc grape, the wine is in short supply, and has been described as more "cerebral" than Vouvray. Pop that cork mindfully, and enjoy - this is from a solid producer better known for his "Les Genets" and "Le Bel Ouvrage" bottlings.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Claude Branger "Les Fils de Gras Mouton" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine sur Lie
Review Date: 06-02-2015
Fantastic fantastic fantastic wine for $12.99! Not only is this a really good wine but the people behind it are just as fantastic. Crispy bright white fruits with loads of juicy mineral and ripe acidity to finish. Absolutely fantastic with crab cakes... trust me, my belly knows!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-02-2015
A foundation and classic style of Sancerre. This is all about the simple purity of fruit. With that along comes a very accessible, easy but well built everyday style of wine. One of my go to wines, for sure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé (375ml)
Review Date: 05-19-2015
Light in color, as is typical for Sancerre Rosé, this has lively aromas of small red fruits with soft underlying minerals and just a hint of rich citrus. Light and playful on the palate with some Mirabelle, cherry and watermelon. Although a light and fresh style of rosé, this has nice weight and texture to it on the finish and it's very easy and fun to drink while grilling and chilling with friends. 100% Pinot Noir.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 05-06-2015
Crispy, fresh, vibrant and what I call a benchmark style of Sancerre. This is a keep in the fridge at all times kind of wine. Bright with some citrus notes running through and of course, the classic limestone minerality. Great as an aperitif and/or with a fresh summer salad sprinkled with goat cheese.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett Mosel (Saar)
Review Date: 04-28-2015
The 2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett is a little sneaker of a wine. Up front is shows its softer side with elegant fruit texture and a lusher middle. And, as the middle starts its approach you realize that there is quite a bit more going on than just fruit. You begin to feel the drive and focus of the edgy, earthy mineral structure being balanced out with its ripe tropical acidity that coats the palate in a wash of lingering flavors and textures. Try this with a smoked trout and farmer’s cheese crostini topped with just a speck of pickled beet. Or, sashimi with a light drizzle of citrus vinaigrette and a paper thin slice of spicy chili.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$9.99

2013 Allram Gaisberg Grüner Veltliner Reserve Kamptal
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Gaisberg quite possibly be one of my favorite vineyards in Kamptal. The finesse of the wines coming off of this hill is all its own. And, I love what Allram is doing with it and their wines coming from it. The extended textures on the middle palate are what really get me here. Then, mix that along with the vibrant yet dense aromatic and drawn out finish… Blammo.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Cotes Blanches Sancerre is a fantastic go-to wine. It has texture, balance, spice and mineral. Not at all a “wine geek wine” but, more of a crowd-pleaser in style. This is the third vintage working with this wine and I still plan on bringing it to gatherings and having it in the fridge on the ready.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Vacheron Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
Very good fruit extract highlighted by fresh minerals and extended by the juicy citrus mineral finish. This is a take me home and sit down with a meal type of wine. Lots of character in this wine which will make you think and want to explore even more.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Dönnhoff Norheimer Kirschheck Riesling Spätlese Nahe
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This is what Spätlese from the Nahe is all about. Clear mineral definition wrapped up by well defined juicy layers and a hint of salinity to drive out the finish. Once again, House Dönnhoff, superb job!
Price: $40.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

2007 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 03-24-2015
The wines from Musar continue to fascinate me again and again. I find this wine absolutely intriguing. It truly has the ability to make you think and ponder about how much we don’t know. Young now with lots of life ahead of it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 W&S 90

2013 Leitz "Dragonstone" Riesling Rheingau
Review Date: 03-24-2015
My favorite vintage of “Draggy” yet! This shows all of the textural power and drive that came along with the 2013 vintage while retaining freshness and vibrancy - a really nice example of the vintage. But, most importantly this is a quintessential porch slammer.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2011 La Craie Vouvray
Review Date: 03-11-2015
I really like this wine for its play on acidity and residual fruit sugar. You think it’s going to be sweet and then a cleansing wave of bright acidity and mineral balances everything out and also gives for a long juicy finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine Karydas Xinomavro Naoussa
Review Date: 02-18-2015
I can’t get enough of this stunning Xinomavro. It truly has everything that I’m looking for in a red wine. It has elegance, power, spice, hints of earth, balanced structure, juicy yet persistent acidity… Most definitely a wine to be had with food. Decant for half a day or cellar for 5, 7, 10+ years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
I’m a huge fan of Gaudry Sancerre in general. But this one is special. Fantastic old vine concentration and depth of fruit really makes this stand out. The balance of mineral and savory fruit flavors, for me, very thought provoking and inspiring.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 02-11-2015
I've been here at K&L long enough to try each and every vintage of this wine. And, I can honestly say that each and every vintage has gotten better and better. Not only is this Sancerre one of my favorites but, the entire staff loves it as well. It’s been a love affair that started off fast and hot and then happily progressed into something meaningful and long term.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2015
One of my go-to grab bottles when I need something crisp and crowd-friendly. Has all of the qualities that a wine guy like me looks for in a wine, but, without being overly geeky or cerebral. Clean, fresh and inviting is what you’ll be getting in this wine. Yes, it’s a great deal, but even more so, it is a fantastic wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-04-2014
How can you go wrong with a rosé sparkler — especially under $20? Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is jam-packed with crunchy red fruits and spicy strawberry sweetness. Delightful on its own, as an aperitif, with a first course salad, or with a plate of cheese and a hearty loaf of fresh-baked bread. The label should say "A Happy Rosé"
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 89