Staff Favorites - Eric Story

Eric Story

Reviews

  
2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett
Review Date: 04-28-2015
The 2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett is a little sneaker of a wine. Up front is shows its softer side with elegant fruit texture and a lusher middle. And, as the middle starts its approach you realize that there is quite a bit more going on than just fruit. You begin to feel the drive and focus of the edgy, earthy mineral structure being balanced out with its ripe tropical acidity that coats the palate in a wash of lingering flavors and textures. Try this with a smoked trout and farmer’s cheese crostini topped with just a speck of pickled beet. Or, sashimi with a light drizzle of citrus vinaigrette and a paper thin slice of spicy chili.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$9.99

2010 Von Hövel Oberemmeler Hütte Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 04-21-2015
I love the 2010 vintage. It just so happens to be one of my absolute favorites. And this wine makes me feel really good about making that a sweeping statement. Fantastic concentration of fruit aromas and textures held together by rich deep middle palate weight and finishing length. And the acidity… oh my! This wine is pretty serious stuff. Complexity from top to bottom and side to side.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 WS 90

2012 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 04-20-2015
We were first introduced to the wines of Eric Cottat a little less than a year ago. They were brought to our attention by one of our long time friends and winemakers in Sancerre and we brought in a small amount as that was all we were allowed to take at the time. Eric is a one man show and only produces a small amount of wines each vintage for family, friends, and close customers and then sells the rest of his fruit off to other eager producers in the region. Earlier this year I had the opportunity to pay Mr. Cottat a visit and quickly became enamored by what and how he goes about doing things. He speaks no English (my French is laughable) but he actually took the time to handwrite a cheat sheet of important translations and made sure that I wasn't going to leave until I got it. So, we tasted through all three of the wines a few times over - blanc, rosé and rouge. And, well, I got it! Right then and there I tried to order up as much as of his wines as I could and had no hesitation of making his wines as part of our core Loire program. And, thank you, Mr Eric Cottat! You are my type of people!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Saint Roch Touraine Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2015
One of the few things my wife lets me be in charge of is making sure that we have plenty of good rosé at the ready and in the fridge. Guess what is in the fridge? With its subtle sweet red fruit aromatic and crisp refreshing finish, it’s a no brainer.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Weingut Allram Gaisberg Grüner Veltliner Reserve Kamptal
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Gaisberg quite possibly be one of my favorite vineyards in Kamptal. The finesse of the wines coming off of this hill is all its own. And, I love what Allram is doing with it and their wines coming from it. The extended textures on the middle palate are what really get me here. Then, mix that along with the vibrant yet dense aromatic and drawn out finish… Blammo.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Cotes Blanches Sancerre is a fantastic go-to wine. It has texture, balance, spice and mineral. Not at all a “wine geek wine” but, more of a crowd-pleaser in style. This is the third vintage working with this wine and I still plan on bringing it to gatherings and having it in the fridge on the ready.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Weingut Allram Strassertaler Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 04-08-2015
If you are familiar with the Allram GV in the awesome one liter bottle and think to yourself, I like this grape, what else is there, this is the next step. A bit more added depth and structure but, still not coming close to putting a dent in your bank account. I like this for takeout Tuesday dinner night. It will pair up with just about anything.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Weingut Allram Grüner Veltliner (1L)
Review Date: 04-08-2015
My favorite thing about this wine is the commitment you have to put into it. It is finished with a crown cap and once it is off you and your friends are in for the ride. This is easy and fun to drink on any occasion. On those really hot days I have been known to use it for afternoon spritzers: one part Allram GV and one part sparkling water.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Domaine Vacheron Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
Very good fruit extract highlighted by fresh minerals and extended by the juicy citrus mineral finish. This is a take me home and sit down with a meal type of wine. Lots of character in this wine which will make you think and want to explore even more.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Domaine Vacheron "Les Romains" Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
I've been after this wine for years now. These wines are part of the upper tier of the Sancerre pyramid. This wine in particular has a richness followed up by a powerful core of spiced yellow fruit and lots of length which is provided by a wet mineral and snappy finish. Give this time to breath…
Price: $48.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 ST 92

2013 Dönnhoff Norheimer Kirschheck Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This is what Spätlese from the Nahe is all about. Clear mineral definition wrapped up by well defined juicy layers and a hint of salinity to drive out the finish. Once again, House Dönnhoff, superb job!
Price: $40.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 03-24-2015
I can’t believe how well this wine is holding up! Unlike me, this 1976er is aging gracefully and with class. Such sweet fruit on the nose with touches of tobacco, strawberry and earth.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 03-24-2015
The wines from Musar continue to fascinate me again and again. I find this wine absolutely intriguing. It truly has the ability to make you think and ponder about how much we don’t know. Young now with lots of life ahead of it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2013 Bernier Chardonnay Val de Loire
Review Date: 03-24-2015
If you’re looking for the perfect party white, look no further. Very inexpensive and easy to drink. Light, crispy, refreshing with just a kiss of Chardonnay richness...
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Leitz "Dragonstone" Riesling
Review Date: 03-24-2015
My favorite vintage of “Draggy” yet! This shows all of the textural power and drive that came along with the 2013 vintage while retaining freshness and vibrancy - a really nice example of the vintage. But, most importantly this is a quintessential porch slammer.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2002 Couly-Dutheil "Clos de l'Echo" Chinon
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This walled single vineyard is famed for its structure and finesse. Nice and bright up front with darker notes through the middle and finish. Could use a good hour of decanting in order to start seeing its true potential.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

1989 Couly-Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 03-11-2015
Straight from the dark deep cellars of Couly Dutheil – you can’t ask for better aging conditions. This wine is just hitting its stride with more time ahead of it as well. This is what a classic Cabernet Franc from Chinon is all about.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 La Craie Vouvray
Review Date: 03-11-2015
I really like this wine for its play on acidity and residual fruit sugar. You think it’s going to be sweet and then a cleansing wave of bright acidity and mineral balances everything out and also gives for a long juicy finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine Karydas Xinomavro Naoussa
Review Date: 02-18-2015
I can’t get enough of this stunning Xinomavro. It truly has everything that I’m looking for in a red wine. It has elegance, power, spice, hints of earth, balanced structure, juicy yet persistent acidity… Most definitely a wine to be had with food. Decant for half a day or cellar for 5, 7, 10+ years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini
Review Date: 02-18-2015
A fantastic example of a wine which can only be produced on one very specific and unique island, Santorini. I have fallen head over heels for Assyrtiko over the last many years and I can’t say no to this. Perfectly ripe fruit with juicy mid palate concentration and of course, that volcanic minerality which brings lift and energy.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2012 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
I’m a huge fan of Gaudry Sancerre in general. But this one is special. Fantastic old vine concentration and depth of fruit really makes this stand out. The balance of mineral and savory fruit flavors, for me, very thought provoking and inspiring.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
Having a wine of this quality in a liter sized bottle makes me happy. A refreshing yet stylized crispy white that makes you feel like you can drink it all day long and never get tired of it. Fantastic house white and for any occasion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 02-11-2015
I've been here at K&L long enough to try each and every vintage of this wine. And, I can honestly say that each and every vintage has gotten better and better. Not only is this Sancerre one of my favorites but, the entire staff loves it as well. It’s been a love affair that started off fast and hot and then happily progressed into something meaningful and long term.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2015
One of my go-to grab bottles when I need something crisp and crowd-friendly. Has all of the qualities that a wine guy like me looks for in a wine, but, without being overly geeky or cerebral. Clean, fresh and inviting is what you’ll be getting in this wine. Yes, it’s a great deal, but even more so, it is a fantastic wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-04-2014
How can you go wrong with a rosé sparkler — especially under $20? Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is jam-packed with crunchy red fruits and spicy strawberry sweetness. Delightful on its own, as an aperitif, with a first course salad, or with a plate of cheese and a hearty loaf of fresh-baked bread. The label should say "A Happy Rosé"
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 89