Staff Favorites - Eric Story

Eric Story

Reviews

  
2014 Vacheron Sancerre
Review Date: 02-08-2016
Super thrilled to finally be able to start working with this producer. The expressions of the wines coming from the domaine aren’t really like many of the other typical styles of Sancerre. These have a lot more silex influence and therefore have a sharper more precise focus to them. The complexity is sneaky and really starts to shine after about an hour of decanting. The amount of thoughtful attention in making these wines is very evident with each sip.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 Chateau De Varennes Savennières
Review Date: 12-03-2015
What a steal for Savennières (my absolute favorite Chenin Blanc growing region). This wine is just now starting to come into itself, even though it has 8 years of age on it. A brilliant choice for an array of food pairings as well. It's just good old fashioned good!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Hautes Noëlles "hé ho le rouge" Vin de Pays du Val de Loire
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Holy Moly what a fun easy drinking red. My wife is demanding that we have a plentiful stock of this on hand at the house at all times. This is a "battle" I will let her wine...
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Dreissigacker Riesling Trocken Rheinhessen
Review Date: 12-02-2015
I love dry German Riesling and this is an example of why. Such a great way to start down the enlightened path of this style of wine making...
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Huber "Hugo" Sparkling Rosé
Review Date: 12-02-2015
I really enjoy the interplay of the two varietals here, Pinot Noir and Zweigelt. While the Pinot lends elegance and finesse the Zweigelt adds textural richness and spice. Such a fun wine...
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2007 Château Dereszla Tokaji Aszú 5 Puttonyos (500ml)
Review Date: 12-02-2015
WOW!!! This wine has an intensity which is hard to match. This is why people fall in love with Hungarian Tokaji.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 95

2005 Château Dereszla Tokaji Aszú 6 Puttonyos (500ml)
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Rich and spicy with toasted nuts and stone fruit. A well knit core of texture and vibrant lift on the back end. Even though this has plenty of weighty sweetness it is bright and cheery.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2007 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 12-02-2015
The wines from Musar continue to fascinate me again and again. I find this wine absolutely intriguing. It truly has the ability to make you think and ponder about how much we don’t know. Young now with lots of life ahead of it. If you area fan of wines that have a true presence of place feel, this is a wine for you.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 W&S 90

2007 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling
Review Date: 12-02-2015
If you’re a fan of Riesling, this is a must! This is a spectacular example of what Riesling can do. Rich aromatics matched by layers of texture and balanced out with a zippy yet juicy core of acidity. Definitely something to sit down and talk about. Fantastic energy and life in this bottle.

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 12-02-2015
A foundation and classic style of Sancerre. This is all about the simple purity of fruit. With that along comes a very accessible, easy but well built everyday style of wine. One of my go to wines, for sure - has been for a long time!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 12-02-2015
One of my go-to grab bottles when I need something crisp and crowd-friendly. Has all of the qualities that a wine guy like me looks for in a wine, but, without being overly geeky or cerebral. Clean, fresh and inviting is what you’ll be getting in this wine. Yes, it’s a great deal, but even more so, it is a fantastic wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 12-02-2015
I’ve never been shy about my passion for wines in the-- what I think is optimum--liter format. This wine is so well put together and fantastic to drink. If you think only “cheap,” poorly made wines are in liter bottles, you will be shocked at the quality within. Try it with grilled vegetable with a side of pork apple sausage. I have also been known to add about 30% sparkling water to my glass and enjoy as a nice refreshment from doing yard work...
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 12-02-2015
It has been an absolute pleasure having the opportunity to watch this wine progress over the last 17 years. The 2014 is mouthwatering fresh and vibrant with a textural core and rounded mineral finish. I think that this just may be their finest yet. This will also improve over the next few years...
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bernier Chardonnay Val de Loire
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Am I a Chardonnay guy? No, not particularly. But, when I am I have to say that this little character is quite the surprise. With definite Chardonnay fruit character this is surprisingly good to drink. Yet another fantastic value for a midweek sipper and those large events on a shoestring budget.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Much like its cousin, the Deligeroy Rosé, this is just way too easy to say yes to. A fantastic and inexpensive replacement for those of you who love Champagne but hate the price. A great choice for a mid-morning glass of bubbly...
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-02-2015
This bubbly is just too good and too cheap to say no to. Bright, lively and refreshing. This is a perfect sparkling to be had at anytime of the day and for any occasion. You may want to take two...
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos de l'Elu "Ephata" Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 09-30-2015
Fantastic tight concentration with a great focus. The palate is a little wound up and tight but opens up with decanting. Or, better yet, a few years in the cellar. There is a very savory and textural component which makes your mouth water and is enhanced by the salty minerality on the finish. Excellent wine!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos de l'Elu Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 09-30-2015
Known once as “Bastingage” this bottling is the trail head to what I consider some of the best Chenin Blancs that I’ve had in years. Extraordinarily pure with an expressive presence of place. Which means, fantastic ripe fruit texture and balance of natural acidity and mineral drive.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos de l'Elu "Magellan" Anjou Rouge
Review Date: 09-30-2015
In the past couple of years I’ve made it no secret that I absolutely love Cabernet Franc. This is one of the more unique bottling of the varietal that I have come across in recent years. Wonderful concentration with soft but chewy tannins which are nicely integrated by pure ripe fruit. Give this wine some time…
Price: $38.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Review Date: 09-30-2015
I really could have used this wine in my life a few parties ago. I could have served the same quality of wine for a fraction of the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2002 Pierre et Catherine Breton "Les Perrières" Bourgueil
Review Date: 09-30-2015
A fantastic vintage for the region. And, a fantastic vintage for Cab Franc, the best red wine grape known to man. This is just starting to drink spot on - still could use a good 30+ minutes in a decanter. Try it with some simple grilled lamb chops.
Price: $78.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Allram Strassertaler Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 08-26-2015
So, so happy we were introduced to this wine. Don’t get me wrong here, I love the liter bottling from our friends at Allram but, this delivers just a bit more stuffing and character. The 2014 is really starting to show off with bright textural white fruit and spice. Vibrant on the palate and fantastic with a plethora of foods.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Allram Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
What can I say. I’ve been drinking this wine by the multiple case-loads for eight vintages now. And I have no plans on stopping. Perfect for everyday wine, parties, large events, small events, whatever… It’s just a good, inexpensive wine, period!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hippolyte Reverdy Sancerre
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Perhaps one of the most recognized wines of Sancerre. And, for good reason too. This wine always delivers the absolute core of what Sancerre Sauvignon Blanc identity is all about: bright, fresh, mineral driven and balanced.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Review Date: 07-08-2015
For having such a simple approach to making wine, Eric Cottat really shines. There is a real sense of class which starts in the aromatic and runs thru the finish. Nicely textured all the while being bright and vibrant with good lift and finishing balance.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2010 Maison Idiart Blanc de Blanc Brut
Review Date: 07-08-2015
A new “go to” sparkler for us here at K&L. Crispy with hints of fresh dough and bright herbs. A really nice bubble which is not aggressive in anyway and a crispy finish. Perfect for an inexpensive Champagne replacement.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2003 Joel Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Such a great example of old vine power with matched elegance elegance. This is really just now starting to drink well. But, can be cellared for many years to come. Fresh yet hearty style of wine which should definitely be had with a nice home cooked meal.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Maison Idiart Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 07-08-2015
This inexpensive little treat brings just a bit more palate texture and some racy tropical notes as well. Although you get a good sense of minerality this wine is more fruit driven with a nice finishing balance. Clean with a soft body and fine length.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Joël Taluau "Expression" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 07-08-2015
This wine is a perfect example of clean, fresh and unadulterated Cabernet Franc. Bright and pure on the palate with good lift and vibrancy on the finish. I even like to serve this just ever so slightly chilled during the warmer months.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Hubert Veneau Côteaux du Giennois Rosé (last of vintage)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Comprised of 80% Gamay and 20% Pinot Noir. The complexity of the Pinot Noir shows up-front with lots of spicy red fruits with a backing of mineral. On the palate the Gamay shows its fun side and adds to the juicy texture. I really like the blend of these two grapes and think they play perfectly together. Really cheery, everyday style of rosé. Côteaux du Giennois is a fairly new AOC, established in 1997, and is situated just north of Pouilly Fumé. Only three varietals are allowed to be grown under the AOC designate, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir, and Gamay and the soils are a mixture of silex and calcaire.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Mineraly but not mineral driven. Fruity but not rich or heavy. Herbally but not green. Tastes like it should cost more but it doesn’t. Sit back, relax and enjoy a refreshing glass.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Leitz Pinot Noir Rosé Rheingau
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Do you like puppies? Do you like kittens? Do you like the smell of fresh laundry? Do you like walks on the beach? If you said yes to one or more of these questions you will like this wine. This a gulpable style of rosé as which its life was intended. Very fresh with loads of strawberry and watermelon. Light on the palate with good balance between fruit and acid. This will save you on a hot day…
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Ligeriens Rosé d'Anjou (last of vintage)
Review Date: 06-10-2015
If there was ever a summertime wine, this is it. Low-alcohol, fruity and refreshing, this is what I desire while having fun in the sun. I call this a cooler wine and should be ready to be pulled out of the ice at a moment’s notice.
Price: $4.99 Add To Cart

2013 Damien Laureau "Les Petites Roche" Savennières
Review Date: 06-08-2015
Savennières grows the Chenin Blanc grape, the wine is in short supply, and has been described as more "cerebral" than Vouvray. Pop that cork mindfully, and enjoy - this is from a solid producer better known for his "Les Genets" and "Le Bel Ouvrage" bottlings.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Les Pins Bourgueil Rosé
Review Date: 06-02-2015
Yet another must-have in the fridge at all times, says the boss, aka, my wife. Super quaffable and party-friendly. This is the perfect example of a summertime wine. So far, my favorite pairing has to be grilled sausages and mixed grilled vegetables.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 06-02-2015
If you liked the 2013 version of this you’re going to love the 2014. Super fresh and bright with a nice subtle spice and juicy red fruit finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett Mosel (Saar)
Review Date: 04-28-2015
The 2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett is a little sneaker of a wine. Up front is shows its softer side with elegant fruit texture and a lusher middle. And, as the middle starts its approach you realize that there is quite a bit more going on than just fruit. You begin to feel the drive and focus of the edgy, earthy mineral structure being balanced out with its ripe tropical acidity that coats the palate in a wash of lingering flavors and textures. Try this with a smoked trout and farmer’s cheese crostini topped with just a speck of pickled beet. Or, sashimi with a light drizzle of citrus vinaigrette and a paper thin slice of spicy chili.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2013 Allram Gaisberg Grüner Veltliner Reserve Kamptal
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Gaisberg quite possibly be one of my favorite vineyards in Kamptal. The finesse of the wines coming off of this hill is all its own. And, I love what Allram is doing with it and their wines coming from it. The extended textures on the middle palate are what really get me here. Then, mix that along with the vibrant yet dense aromatic and drawn out finish… Blammo.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Cotes Blanches Sancerre is a fantastic go-to wine. It has texture, balance, spice and mineral. Not at all a “wine geek wine” but, more of a crowd-pleaser in style. This is the third vintage working with this wine and I still plan on bringing it to gatherings and having it in the fridge on the ready.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 03-24-2015
I can’t believe how well this wine is holding up! Unlike me, this 1976er is aging gracefully and with class. Such sweet fruit on the nose with touches of tobacco, strawberry and earth.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2002 Couly Dutheil Clos de l'Echo Chinon
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This walled single vineyard is famed for its structure and finesse. Nice and bright up front with darker notes through the middle and finish. Could use a good hour of decanting in order to start seeing its true potential.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-04-2014
How can you go wrong with a rosé sparkler — especially under $20? Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is jam-packed with crunchy red fruits and spicy strawberry sweetness. Delightful on its own, as an aperitif, with a first course salad, or with a plate of cheese and a hearty loaf of fresh-baked bread. The label should say "A Happy Rosé"
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 89