Staff Favorites - Eric Story

Eric Story

Reviews

  
2014 Hubert Veneau Côteaux du Giennois Rosé
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Comprised of 80% Gamay and 20% Pinot Noir. The complexity of the Pinot Noir shows up-front with lots of spicy red fruits with a backing of mineral. On the palate the Gamay shows its fun side and adds to the juicy texture. I really like the blend of these two grapes and think they play perfectly together. Really cheery, everyday style of rosé. Côteaux du Giennois is a fairly new AOC, established in 1997, and is situated just north of Pouilly Fumé. Only three varietals are allowed to be grown under the AOC designate, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir, and Gamay and the soils are a mixture of silex and calcaire.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Nicolas Joly Les Vieux Clos Savennières
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Vines planted in primarily schist soils but with a bit of quartz and just a touch off sand as well. Quite an explosive wine. Full of ripe crunchy apple along with layer after layer of honeyed tea and roasted nuts. A definite candidate for the cellar. Or, even just having a glass a day over a week long span to see how this slow evolver will change. I put this into the Savennières powerhouse category.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 06-11-2015
Much like its cousin, the Deligeroy Rosé, this is just way too easy to say yes to. A fantastic and inexpensive replacement for those of you who love Champagne but hate the price.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Mineraly but not mineral driven. Fruity but not rich or heavy. Herbally but not green. Tastes like it should cost more but it doesn’t. Sit back, relax and enjoy a refreshing glass.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Josef Leitz Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Do you like puppies? Do you like kittens? Do you like the smell of fresh laundry? Do you like walks on the beach? If you said yes to one or more of these questions you will like this wine. This a gulpable style of rosé as which its life was intended. Very fresh with loads of strawberry and watermelon. Light on the palate with good balance between fruit and acid. This will save you on a hot day…
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Les Ligeriens Rosé d'Anjou
Review Date: 06-10-2015
If there was ever a summertime wine, this is it. Low-alcohol, fruity and refreshing, this is what I desire while having fun in the sun. I call this a cooler wine and should be ready to be pulled out of the ice at a moment’s notice.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Le Paradis Chinon
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Easy drinking and on the lighter side of the Chinon spectrum which, is exactly what this wine is meant to be. I personally like to have a glass of this in my left hand while munching down on a grilled cheeseburger in my right.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Les Chancelieres Vouvray
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Such an easy go to everyday Chenin. Sure, it is a simple style of Vouvray but, it pushes all of the right buttons and satisfies the craving within.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This bubbly is just too good and too cheap to say no to. Bright, lively and refreshing. This is a perfect sparkling to be had at anytime of the day and for any occasion.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Damien Laureau "Les Petites Gorgées de Damien" Savennières
Review Date: 06-08-2015
Savennières grows the Chenin Blanc grape, the wine is in short supply, and has been described as more "cerebral" than Vouvray. Pop that cork mindfully, and enjoy - this is from a solid producer better known for his "Les Genets" and "Le Bel Ouvrage" bottlings.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Les Pins Bourgueil Rosé
Review Date: 06-02-2015
Yet another must-have in the fridge at all times, says the boss, aka, my wife. Super quaffable and party-friendly. This is the perfect example of a summertime wine. So far, my favorite pairing has to be grilled sausages and mixed grilled vegetables.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Claude Branger "Les Fils de Gras Mouton" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine sur Lie
Review Date: 06-02-2015
Fantastic fantastic fantastic wine for $12.99! Not only is this a really good wine but the people behind it are just as fantastic. Crispy bright white fruits with loads of juicy mineral and ripe acidity to finish. Absolutely fantastic with crab cakes... trust me, my belly knows!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-02-2015
A foundation and classic style of Sancerre. This is all about the simple purity of fruit. With that along comes a very accessible, easy but well built everyday style of wine. One of my go to wines, for sure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 06-02-2015
If you liked the 2013 version of this you’re going to love the 2014. Super fresh and bright with a nice subtle spice and juicy red fruit finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé (375ml)
Review Date: 05-19-2015
Light in color, as is typical for Sancerre Rosé, this has lively aromas of small red fruits with soft underlying minerals and just a hint of rich citrus. Light and playful on the palate with some Mirabelle, cherry and watermelon. Although a light and fresh style of rosé, this has nice weight and texture to it on the finish and it's very easy and fun to drink while grilling and chilling with friends. 100% Pinot Noir.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-06-2015
This wine is in my top five of what the wife and I call “deck slammers” – the bottle that only spends about six minutes in the ice bucket and then it’s time for another. Light fresh strawberry aromatics with a touch of mineral running thru the finish and lots of juicy lift. I love this wine with a cold beet salad drizzled with a simple herb vinaigrette. Awesome with a roasted chicken!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 05-06-2015
Crispy, fresh, vibrant and what I call a benchmark style of Sancerre. This is a keep in the fridge at all times kind of wine. Bright with some citrus notes running through and of course, the classic limestone minerality. Great as an aperitif and/or with a fresh summer salad sprinkled with goat cheese.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Pascal Jolivet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-06-2015
More on the soft and elegant side of the Pinot Noir rosé spectrum. I really like the subtle texture that adds to the finesse of the wine. This is a perfect wine to have with a roasted pork loin sandwich while sitting on a blanket at the beach… or park… or wherever really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett
Review Date: 04-28-2015
The 2011 Von Hövel "Estate" Riesling Kabinett is a little sneaker of a wine. Up front is shows its softer side with elegant fruit texture and a lusher middle. And, as the middle starts its approach you realize that there is quite a bit more going on than just fruit. You begin to feel the drive and focus of the edgy, earthy mineral structure being balanced out with its ripe tropical acidity that coats the palate in a wash of lingering flavors and textures. Try this with a smoked trout and farmer’s cheese crostini topped with just a speck of pickled beet. Or, sashimi with a light drizzle of citrus vinaigrette and a paper thin slice of spicy chili.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$9.99

2014 Domaine Saint Roch Touraine Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2015
One of the few things my wife lets me be in charge of is making sure that we have plenty of good rosé at the ready and in the fridge. Guess what is in the fridge? With its subtle sweet red fruit aromatic and crisp refreshing finish, it’s a no brainer.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Allram Gaisberg Grüner Veltliner Reserve Kamptal
Review Date: 04-08-2015
The Gaisberg quite possibly be one of my favorite vineyards in Kamptal. The finesse of the wines coming off of this hill is all its own. And, I love what Allram is doing with it and their wines coming from it. The extended textures on the middle palate are what really get me here. Then, mix that along with the vibrant yet dense aromatic and drawn out finish… Blammo.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2013 Allram Strassertaler Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 04-08-2015
If you are familiar with the Allram GV in the awesome one liter bottle and think to yourself, I like this grape, what else is there, this is the next step. A bit more added depth and structure but, still not coming close to putting a dent in your bank account. I like this for takeout Tuesday dinner night. It will pair up with just about anything.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Allram Grüner Veltliner (1L)
Review Date: 04-08-2015
My favorite thing about this wine is the commitment you have to put into it. It is finished with a crown cap and once it is off you and your friends are in for the ride. This is easy and fun to drink on any occasion. On those really hot days I have been known to use it for afternoon spritzers: one part Allram GV and one part sparkling water.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Vacheron Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
Very good fruit extract highlighted by fresh minerals and extended by the juicy citrus mineral finish. This is a take me home and sit down with a meal type of wine. Lots of character in this wine which will make you think and want to explore even more.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Vacheron "Les Romains" Sancerre
Review Date: 04-08-2015
I've been after this wine for years now. These wines are part of the upper tier of the Sancerre pyramid. This wine in particular has a richness followed up by a powerful core of spiced yellow fruit and lots of length which is provided by a wet mineral and snappy finish. Give this time to breath…
Price: $48.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 ST 92

2013 Dönnhoff Norheimer Kirschheck Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This is what Spätlese from the Nahe is all about. Clear mineral definition wrapped up by well defined juicy layers and a hint of salinity to drive out the finish. Once again, House Dönnhoff, superb job!
Price: $40.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

2007 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 03-24-2015
The wines from Musar continue to fascinate me again and again. I find this wine absolutely intriguing. It truly has the ability to make you think and ponder about how much we don’t know. Young now with lots of life ahead of it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2013 Bernier Chardonnay Val de Loire
Review Date: 03-24-2015
If you’re looking for the perfect party white, look no further. Very inexpensive and easy to drink. Light, crispy, refreshing with just a kiss of Chardonnay richness...
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Leitz "Dragonstone" Riesling
Review Date: 03-24-2015
My favorite vintage of “Draggy” yet! This shows all of the textural power and drive that came along with the 2013 vintage while retaining freshness and vibrancy - a really nice example of the vintage. But, most importantly this is a quintessential porch slammer.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 La Craie Vouvray
Review Date: 03-11-2015
I really like this wine for its play on acidity and residual fruit sugar. You think it’s going to be sweet and then a cleansing wave of bright acidity and mineral balances everything out and also gives for a long juicy finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine Karydas Xinomavro Naoussa
Review Date: 02-18-2015
I can’t get enough of this stunning Xinomavro. It truly has everything that I’m looking for in a red wine. It has elegance, power, spice, hints of earth, balanced structure, juicy yet persistent acidity… Most definitely a wine to be had with food. Decant for half a day or cellar for 5, 7, 10+ years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini
Review Date: 02-18-2015
A fantastic example of a wine which can only be produced on one very specific and unique island, Santorini. I have fallen head over heels for Assyrtiko over the last many years and I can’t say no to this. Perfectly ripe fruit with juicy mid palate concentration and of course, that volcanic minerality which brings lift and energy.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2012 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
I’m a huge fan of Gaudry Sancerre in general. But this one is special. Fantastic old vine concentration and depth of fruit really makes this stand out. The balance of mineral and savory fruit flavors, for me, very thought provoking and inspiring.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
Having a wine of this quality in a liter sized bottle makes me happy. A refreshing yet stylized crispy white that makes you feel like you can drink it all day long and never get tired of it. Fantastic house white and for any occasion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 02-11-2015
I've been here at K&L long enough to try each and every vintage of this wine. And, I can honestly say that each and every vintage has gotten better and better. Not only is this Sancerre one of my favorites but, the entire staff loves it as well. It’s been a love affair that started off fast and hot and then happily progressed into something meaningful and long term.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-06-2015
One of my go-to grab bottles when I need something crisp and crowd-friendly. Has all of the qualities that a wine guy like me looks for in a wine, but, without being overly geeky or cerebral. Clean, fresh and inviting is what you’ll be getting in this wine. Yes, it’s a great deal, but even more so, it is a fantastic wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-04-2014
How can you go wrong with a rosé sparkler — especially under $20? Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is jam-packed with crunchy red fruits and spicy strawberry sweetness. Delightful on its own, as an aperitif, with a first course salad, or with a plate of cheese and a hearty loaf of fresh-baked bread. The label should say "A Happy Rosé"
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 89