Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2010 Fleur de Pedesclaux, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-28-2016
This is the second wine of Château Pedescalux, a Pauillac property that offers a lot of bang for your buck. The Fleur de Pedesclaux is softer and more approachable, but in the same modern style, with plenty of fruit but softer tannins. A blend of 50% Cab, 45% Merlot, and 5% Cab Franc. This property is on a roll.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-22-2016
This property flies under the radar, but we have enjoyed their wines for ten years. Located near Smith haut lafitte, and now under their ownership, this property has always made value reds. This is the last vintage under the old regime-and it merits your attention, Extremely spicy aromas with clove an Asian spices abounding. Very sweet and sexy on the palate with a streak of minerality through its middle. Very sweet finish-you can drink it young, but decant an hour or so.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2009 Ormes De Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-22-2016
I love this vintage and ormes de pez shines in 2009. Usually a bit tough on the palate, this 2009 is sweet and lovely with fine structure and balance. A lot of blackberry fruit flavors, round tannins, and a lingering finish. Nice to have great tasting wines selling for less than $50.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2007 Côte de Baleau, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-19-2016
An unknown property that makes good value wines based on their Merlot vineyards. Black fruits on the nose. Ripe and fruity on the palate with brisk acidity. Enjoy with rack of lamb.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2007 Fleur Cardinale, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-19-2016
This great property has made a superb 2007-we tasted it in Bordeaux in April 2016 and fell in love with it. Blackberry fruit aromas and flavors. Sexy, spicy palate feel and lingering finish. So good you will drink the bottle quickly so buy two. One of the superstar new properties in Bordeaux. Watch for their wines in 2012 and 2015.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 ST 90

2007 Labegorce Zede, Margaux
Review Date: 08-19-2016
Another superb 2007 value wine-this one with more structure and power than most. Deep, dark color for a 2007-full throttle wine with a great core of fruit. Decant and enjoy. I believe this is the last vintage of this property as it has been folded into the Labegorce label. Cassis and some roses on the nose and palate. Enjoy with a big steak dinner.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 08-19-2016
A perfect score for value Bordeaux to enjoy tonight. This overachieving property makes great wines most any year and 2007 is no exception. I love 2007 Bordeaux-much like 1997 with 10 more years of winemaking expertise. This wine has some violets on the nose and palate. Perfumey and toasty aromas lead to the palate. Some licorice too. 53% Cab and 37% Merlot with some PV and Cab Franc thrown in.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Mouton Cadet "Ryder Cup," Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-19-2016
Powerful, elegantly oaked wine with aromas of red and black fruits, spice, and lightly toasted notes that showcases the tradition of Bordeaux winemaking expertise. 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet. Great gift for the golfers in your life.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 J. Moreau et Fils Chablis
Review Date: 08-17-2016
What a delightful wine--quite rich on the nose with toasted apple and oak nuances. Fine acidity on the palate, this is a great everyday drinker when you find Sancerre a bit too acidic. Very smooth on the palate and wonderful acid balance. Some spicy undertones on the palate. Value!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2014 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 08-17-2016
Their first release of this third wine. And what a bargain it is. The nose is incredible with so much wet stone minerality. The blueberry fruit flavors are framed by brisk acidity and rounded tannins. A bit young to drink now-cellar it a year or so. These 14s are quite good and very reasonably priced. One of the first to arrive in the house-a good omen of what is to come. If you like the earthiness of this region-this is a must try.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Kalinda Dry Creek Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-12-2016
Wow! This is one of the better value-driven Chardonnays we are carrying these days. Some spicy apple and toasty oak aromas. The wine is clean and elegant—easy to drink and not ponderous like many California Chardonnays. Fine acid balance and no hard edges. This is the perfect poolside sipper. Also excellent with a nice piece of halibut or swordfish. Enjoy in the next year or two.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2004 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-11-2016
Sweet cherry, dusty, loamy soil, and forest floor-like characteristics make an appearance in this medium-bodied, elegant, pretty,and definitely a bit old school red. Enjoy its charm and suppleness over the next 5-6 years. This property has made some of the best red wine values in the last 25 years. We sold over 3700 of the 750 ml of this beauty. The magnums are for small parties.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2009 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-11-2016
This wine is stunning. Owned by the Montrose people, this wine is packed with fruit-lots of cassis on the palate. Smooth, sweet, and delicious, but will cellar well for 15 more years. The great 2009 vintage shines again and these magnums are for big parties or cellaring. We sold over 3000 bottles of the 750 ml of this beauty.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-03-2016
This wine is stunning. The little brother of Tronquoy Lalande and owned by the Montrose people, this wine is packed with fruit--lots of cassis on the palate. Smooth and sweet and delicious. As good as the 2009 was, this vintage is a bit better with more structure and richness on the palate. We sold over 5000 bottles of the 2009 and we will sell this out quickly.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-03-2016
For value 2009 Bordeaux, nothing beats this wine. There must be a liitle juice from Calon Segur in here. So ripe and sweet and delicious. Toast oak aromas and red fruit flavors. Great spice on the palate. Will cellar ten more years, but why wait? Tonight with a rack of lamb.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2009 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-19-2016
*+ Good fruit in middle. Very minerally and slightly dry on the finish. Fine aromas of black fruits. At UGC: Fine richness, with earthy flavors. Round tannins. Tasted in 2016-Just a great value 2009 Bordeaux from an under-appreciated property. Sweet, lush, blackberry fruit aromas and flavor. Solid wine with many years ahead of it though it tastes great now. A bit of mineral and earth rounds it out.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 Domaine de L'A, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 07-19-2016
From one of the "in" Bordeaux regions for value wines. This property is the home of Stephane Derencourt. This Merlot wine displays black fruit aromas and flavors. Some good grip on the back and excellent acid balance. Still a bit young but decanting will soften up for your steak dinner. The nose opens after 30 minutes decanting and the palate impression is rich and round with some modern oak nuances. Great for the cellar too.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 Marsau, Côtes de Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-19-2016
Superb value here from that very user friendly 2012 Bordeaux vintage. Sweet entry on the palate and lush mouthfeel with a touch of oak present. Some tannins at the end but decanting will really soften it up. 100% Merlot and ready for a barbacue. 92 WE points and Clyde scores it the same.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2012 Les Brulières de Beychevelle, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-15-2016
Buy this wine now and enjoy the sweet aromas of toasty oak and cassis. In the moderne style but with plenty of acidity and balance. Once tasted you will drink the whole bottle quickly. Made by the Beychevelle people and I prefer this to their 2nd wine. Elegance personified with a hint of cola on the nose and roses on the palate.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2012 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-15-2016
The last vintage for this "once the darling of St Emilion" property. The property was purchased by the Haut Brion people in 2013 and they finished off this wine. And what a great way to quit on top-Outstanding wine for an unbelievable price. Rich and round and fruit forward entry. Beautiful aromas of blackberries mixed with vanilla and toasty oak. Super great texture on the palate. Too bad the property is now going into a very expensive wine called Quintus, but that is life. Buy a piece of wine history and enjoy.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2004 Moulin-Haut-Laroque, Fronsac
Review Date: 07-15-2016
These lesser know 2004s are fantastic about now and they will age well for several years. This Merlot based wine is a bit old school and has blackberry aromas with a touch of oak. Full-flavored and classic Bordeaux on the palate. SOme earthiness on the finish. Very good property making excellent value reds these days.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 07-15-2016
For all you old school Bordeaux lovers like the 1996 Lanessan. This neighbor of Poujeaux has made a very nice wine here and it is only $1 per year of age! Good red fruit aromas with a bit of decanting. Lively and very Cabernet on the palate. Pair it with a lamb shank-fantastic.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vieux-Château-Certan, Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
I loved this wine. In my opinion, one of the best three of the vintage.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2000 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-07-2016
I just tasted this wine (July 7, 2016). A smoky, toasty, rich and concentrated nose of red fruits. Like the 1999 but richer on nose and on the palate. This has some tannins but with decanting you can enjoy now with a rich meal. I would save this wine for a few years and enjoy the 1999 now.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2016
A property very close to Pauillac that is one to watch in the future. Well-made, value-driven wines with good depth and length. This property is owned by Patrick Bernard of négociant Millésima, and it shows the results of considerable investment during the recent years. The 2012 is as good as their 2009 and 2010 and it shows complex fruit to balance the spice and toast flavors. A sure winner for drinking in the next five-plus years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2009 Cos Labory, St Estephe
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Ralph and I tasted this gem in April in Bordeaux and bought a bunch. Ralph has always loved this value property which is next door to Cos Estournel. BTW the 2009 Cos sells for over $350 so you get 7 bottles of Labory for one of the Estournels. Sounds like a bargain to me. This property usually makes very tannic wines but in 2009 the wine sings.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1989 Dauzac, Margaux
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Old school Margaux wine from the great 1989 vintage for under $100. We tasted it in April and bought all we could find on the spot. If you like old school Bordeaux without all the oak and extract, try this one. Some violets on the nose and palate. A food wine for sure--try it with a piece of prime rib.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2012 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Owned by the Mitjavile family of Tertre Rotebouef fame. This Cotes de Bourg wine (now called cotes de Bordeaux) is 89% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Sauvignon so it is a big wine for the vintage. With decanting it blossoms into a very rich and satisfying red-perfect with a short rib dish. Small property, but big and delicious wine.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2001 Le Gay, Pomerol
Review Date: 07-06-2016
What a great buy from a very famous Pomerol estate that is next to Lafleur and Petrus. Usually this wine sells for $100-$175, but we bought the last 14 cases we could find in Bordeaux for a bargain price. This small 10 hectare property is planted to 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. This wine in my opinion is as good as their great 2000 vintage and it sells for less than 1/2 the price. Blackberries and licorice notes with silky tannins and a lingering finish. 92 WS
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 de Viaud, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 07-06-2016
From the up and coming right bank region that features value wines. 67% Merlot 27% Cab Franc and 6% Cab Sauv. The 12s are delicious and quite fruit forward. This wine is sweet and sexy with black fruit aromas and flavor. Juicy rendition that will go a few more years, but is perfect tonight with a piece of prime rib.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Fleur Terrien, Lussac St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-06-2016
A delicious value red from the right bank. The 10s are usually tannic and a bit hard, but this wine drinks great right now. Lots of sweet blackberry flavors and a smooth, lingering finish. Have it now with a nice rack of lamb. Can be cellared five Plus years. Tastes like a 2009 vintage-maybe they mislabelled it?
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 06-30-2016
The 2012 Bordeaux wines are showing fabulously these days. They are so fruit forward and sweet-and the prices are quite low. d'Issan is one of my favorites for sure. That soft toasty aroma is intriguing and the wine has nothing but gobs of fruit on the palate. The vilolets of margaux wines is present and the finish is long and lingering.. So good I have it in my cellar.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-30-2016
Without a doubt the best Cantemerle since the legendary 1949. Packed with cassis fruit with perfect acid balance and plenty of latent tannin to insure twenty more years cellaring. But you can drink it now with 2 hours decanting. More approachable than most 2010 Bordeaux. I love it. PS-please also look at the 2015 that is selling on futures-right up there with the 2010.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of the best wines of this underrated vintage. It is classic, racy, and noble—so much elegance, finesse, balance and equilibrium. Deep purple color is followed by a sweet nose of black cherries, minerals and black currants. Delicious now on the palate, but cellar it 5-10 more years.

2010 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of their best-ever wines. Tons of fruit, tannin, acid, terroir, etc. I know I am favorably biased, but I absolutely love the wines from this property. They have really improved since the early ’90s, and they were quite good before.

2003 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Not my favorite vintage in general, but this wine sings—enjoy soon with a nice steak or rack of lamb.

1997 Branaire Ducru, St-Julien (6L)
Review Date: 06-21-2016
My absolute favorite wine to drink today—Always a great crowd-pleaser. All sweet cassis fruit—long and lingering on the palate. Direct from the property!
Price: $599.99 Add To Cart

1995 Pape-Clement, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Saturated ruby-red. Expressive nose combines raspberry, tobacco, and smoky oak. Rich, sweet and mouth-filling, the enticing fruit is accessible already. One of our favorite properties and a superb value for 20-plus years old.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
ST 90 WS 90

2013 Latour-Martillac Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Another favorite white from the fabulous 2013 white Bordeaux vintage. Complex and rich, this wine is fully textured, with ripe fruit flavors and balanced acidity. There is a touch of ginger along with citrus, giving the wine extra complexity.

2013 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Another fine wine from one of our favorite properties. It is priced lower than any other Cantemerle on the market. Fine red berry aromas and flavor. A bit more classic that 2012 with some tannin at the back palate. Age it a few years or decant two hours.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 89 - 90

2010 Clarke Rothschild, Listrac (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-21-2016
We have been carrying this property for over 10 years and it is always a great value—plenty of punch for the price.

2010 Clarke Rothschild, Listrac
Review Date: 06-21-2016
We have been carrying this property for over 10 years and it is always a great value—plenty of punch for the price.

2001 Labegorce, Margaux
Review Date: 06-21-2016
I am confident that K&L sells more wine from this property than anyone else in the world. The older vintages are classic old-school Bordeaux and the newer ones are more in the modern style. The terroir here is excellent and one of their neighbors is Château Margaux! And for under $30 it is definitely worth a try.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Dragon de Quintus, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-21-2016
A superb wine made by the Haut-Brion team—soft and fruity with toasty blackberry fruit aromas and flavor. From the former vineyards of Tertre Daugay and L’Arrosée—super terroir for this, the second wine of Quintus.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2010 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Another great value under $20! We have sold out of this before and just received another small batch. Elegant on the nose and quite grippy on the palate. This property has been doing well lately.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2009 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of our favorite properties from our favorite vintage. Deep ruby. Complex nose features delicate, almost Margaux-like aromas of cassis and clove. Smooth and sweet on the palate with a velvety texture. These 2009s are so good now and they will be for many years.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1997 Clément-Pichon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
We sold over 3,000 bottles of their 1996, and this beauty is ready for the dinner table now. Showing black cherry and coffee notes on the nose, this has a nice touch of elegance, there’s plenty of fruit, and it’s nicely balanced. Clément-Pichon is a familiar name to many who have visited Bordeaux. Located in southern Médoc not far north of the city of Bordeaux, this château is one of the most beautiful in the region.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Beauséjour (Duffau), St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-10-2016
Extremely limited production for this tiny 6 hectare estate-perfect terroir and fantastic winemaking. A Nicolas Thienpont wine that is so spicy on the nose and flavor. Exotic wine with enough stuffing for many years in the cellar. A lot of wine for the reasonable price.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Pavie Macquin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-10-2016
This property, under the guidance of Nicolas Thienpont, is on a roll. And it is priced correctly! Huge wine with Blackberry jam flavors. Tons of everything in this package. Acid, tannin, fruit-great aging potential. This is right up their with their 2010 in quality. I tend to enjoy these right bank 2015s more than most left bankers.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2015 La Fleur-Pétrus, Pomerol
Review Date: 06-10-2016
A wonderful wine that will compare favorably to their 2009 and 2010 in the years to come. 92% Merlot here and blackberry fruits abound. So Sweet and elegant. I much prefer this to Trotanoy in 2015. Tremendous depth of flavor-perfect balance for the cellar. Long and lush. Not a big production and well worth a buy on futures.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next