Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2009 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-19-2016
*+ Good fruit in middle. Very minerally and slightly dry on the finish. Fine aromas of black fruits. At UGC: Fine richness, with earthy flavors. Round tannins. Tasted in 2016-Just a great value 2009 Bordeaux from an under-appreciated property. Sweet, lush, blackberry fruit aromas and flavor. Solid wine with many years ahead of it though it tastes great now. A bit of mineral and earth rounds it out.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 Domaine de L'A, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 07-19-2016
From one of the "in" Bordeaux regions for value wines. This property is the home of Stephane Derencourt. This Merlot wine displays black fruit aromas and flavors. Some good grip on the back and excellent acid balance. Still a bit young but decanting will soften up for your steak dinner. The nose opens after 30 minutes decanting and the palate impression is rich and round with some modern oak nuances. Great for the cellar too.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 Marsau, Côtes de Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-19-2016
Superb value here from that very user friendly 2012 Bordeaux vintage. Sweet entry on the palate and lush mouthfeel with a touch of oak present. Some tannins at the end but decanting will really soften it up. 100% Merlot and ready for a barbacue. 92 WE points and Clyde scores it the same.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2012 Les Brulières de Beychevelle, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-15-2016
Buy this wine now and enjoy the sweet aromas of toasty oak and cassis. In the moderne style but with plenty of acidity and balance. Once tasted you will drink the whole bottle quickly. Made by the Beychevelle people and I prefer this to their 2nd wine. Elegance personified with a hint of cola on the nose and roses on the palate.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2012 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-15-2016
The last vintage for this "once the darling of St Emilion" property. The property was purchased by the Haut Brion people in 2013 and they finished off this wine. And what a great way to quit on top-Outstanding wine for an unbelievable price. Rich and round and fruit forward entry. Beautiful aromas of blackberries mixed with vanilla and toasty oak. Super great texture on the palate. Too bad the property is now going into a very expensive wine called Quintus, but that is life. Buy a piece of wine history and enjoy.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2004 Moulin-Haut-Laroque, Fronsac
Review Date: 07-15-2016
These lesser know 2004s are fantastic about now and they will age well for several years. This Merlot based wine is a bit old school and has blackberry aromas with a touch of oak. Full-flavored and classic Bordeaux on the palate. SOme earthiness on the finish. Very good property making excellent value reds these days.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 07-15-2016
For all you old school Bordeaux lovers like the 1996 Lanessan. This neighbor of Poujeaux has made a very nice wine here and it is only $1 per year of age! Good red fruit aromas with a bit of decanting. Lively and very Cabernet on the palate. Pair it with a lamb shank-fantastic.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vieux-Château-Certan, Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
I loved this wine. In my opinion, one of the best three of the vintage.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2000 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-07-2016
I just tasted this wine (July 7, 2016). A smoky, toasty, rich and concentrated nose of red fruits. Like the 1999 but richer on nose and on the palate. This has some tannins but with decanting you can enjoy now with a rich meal. I would save this wine for a few years and enjoy the 1999 now.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2016
A property very close to Pauillac that is one to watch in the future. Well-made, value-driven wines with good depth and length. This property is owned by Patrick Bernard of négociant Millésima, and it shows the results of considerable investment during the recent years. The 2012 is as good as their 2009 and 2010 and it shows complex fruit to balance the spice and toast flavors. A sure winner for drinking in the next five-plus years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2009 Cos Labory, St Estephe
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Ralph and I tasted this gem in April in Bordeaux and bought a bunch. Ralph has always loved this value property which is next door to Cos Estournel. BTW the 2009 Cos sells for over $350 so you get 7 bottles of Labory for one of the Estournels. Sounds like a bargain to me. This property usually makes very tannic wines but in 2009 the wine sings.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1989 Dauzac, Margaux
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Old school Margaux wine from the great 1989 vintage for under $100. We tasted it in April and bought all we could find on the spot. If you like old school Bordeaux without all the oak and extract, try this one. Some violets on the nose and palate. A food wine for sure--try it with a piece of prime rib.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2009 Moulin La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Top score for great value 2009 Bordeaux. We sold over 3000 bottles of the first wine for 65-70$ This second wine is 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 40% Merlot. And it is perfect right now with one hour of decanting. Plenty of red roses on the nose and palate. Toasty oak and great round tannins make it so good now. Rack of lamb anyone?
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
Review Date: 07-06-2016
Owned by the Mitjavile family of Tertre Rotebouef fame. This Cotes de Bourg wine (now called cotes de Bordeaux) is 89% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Sauvignon so it is a big wine for the vintage. With decanting it blossoms into a very rich and satisfying red-perfect with a short rib dish. Small property, but big and delicious wine.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2001 Le Gay, Pomerol
Review Date: 07-06-2016
What a great buy from a very famous Pomerol estate that is next to Lafleur and Petrus. Usually this wine sells for $100-$175, but we bought the last 14 cases we could find in Bordeaux for a bargain price. This small 10 hectare property is planted to 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. This wine in my opinion is as good as their great 2000 vintage and it sells for less than 1/2 the price. Blackberries and licorice notes with silky tannins and a lingering finish. 92 WS
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 de Viaud, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 07-06-2016
From the up and coming right bank region that features value wines. 67% Merlot 27% Cab Franc and 6% Cab Sauv. The 12s are delicious and quite fruit forward. This wine is sweet and sexy with black fruit aromas and flavor. Juicy rendition that will go a few more years, but is perfect tonight with a piece of prime rib.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Fleur Terrien, Lussac St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-06-2016
A delicious value red from the right bank. The 10s are usually tannic and a bit hard, but this wine drinks great right now. Lots of sweet blackberry flavors and a smooth, lingering finish. Have it now with a nice rack of lamb. Can be cellared five Plus years. Tastes like a 2009 vintage-maybe they mislabelled it?
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 06-30-2016
The 2012 Bordeaux wines are showing fabulously these days. They are so fruit forward and sweet-and the prices are quite low. d'Issan is one of my favorites for sure. That soft toasty aroma is intriguing and the wine has nothing but gobs of fruit on the palate. The vilolets of margaux wines is present and the finish is long and lingering.. So good I have it in my cellar.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-30-2016
Without a doubt the best Cantemerle since the legendary 1949. Packed with cassis fruit with perfect acid balance and plenty of latent tannin to insure twenty more years cellaring. But you can drink it now with 2 hours decanting. More approachable than most 2010 Bordeaux. I love it. PS-please also look at the 2015 that is selling on futures-right up there with the 2010.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of the best wines of this underrated vintage. It is classic, racy, and noble—so much elegance, finesse, balance and equilibrium. Deep purple color is followed by a sweet nose of black cherries, minerals and black currants. Delicious now on the palate, but cellar it 5-10 more years.

2010 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of their best-ever wines. Tons of fruit, tannin, acid, terroir, etc. I know I am favorably biased, but I absolutely love the wines from this property. They have really improved since the early ’90s, and they were quite good before.

2003 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Not my favorite vintage in general, but this wine sings—enjoy soon with a nice steak or rack of lamb.

1997 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien (5L)
Review Date: 06-21-2016
This wine in magnum is flat-out delicious. I just drank two bottles and one 6 liter in May 2015. Great party wine. Soft and elegant, always a great crowd-pleaser-- all sweet cassis fruit, long and lingering on the palate. Direct from the property!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart

1997 Branaire Ducru, St-Julien (6L)
Review Date: 06-21-2016
My absolute favorite wine to drink today—Always a great crowd-pleaser. All sweet cassis fruit—long and lingering on the palate. Direct from the property!
Price: $599.99 Add To Cart

1995 Pape-Clement, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Saturated ruby-red. Expressive nose combines raspberry, tobacco, and smoky oak. Rich, sweet and mouth-filling, the enticing fruit is accessible already. One of our favorite properties and a superb value for 20-plus years old.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
ST 90 WS 90

2013 Latour-Martillac Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Another favorite white from the fabulous 2013 white Bordeaux vintage. Complex and rich, this wine is fully textured, with ripe fruit flavors and balanced acidity. There is a touch of ginger along with citrus, giving the wine extra complexity.

2013 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Another fine wine from one of our favorite properties. It is priced lower than any other Cantemerle on the market. Fine red berry aromas and flavor. A bit more classic that 2012 with some tannin at the back palate. Age it a few years or decant two hours.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 89 - 90

2010 Clarke Rothschild, Listrac (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-21-2016
We have been carrying this property for over 10 years and it is always a great value—plenty of punch for the price.

2010 Clarke Rothschild, Listrac
Review Date: 06-21-2016
We have been carrying this property for over 10 years and it is always a great value—plenty of punch for the price.

2001 Labegorce, Margaux
Review Date: 06-21-2016
I am confident that K&L sells more wine from this property than anyone else in the world. The older vintages are classic old-school Bordeaux and the newer ones are more in the modern style. The terroir here is excellent and one of their neighbors is Château Margaux! And for under $30 it is definitely worth a try.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Dragon de Quintus, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-21-2016
A superb wine made by the Haut-Brion team—soft and fruity with toasty blackberry fruit aromas and flavor. From the former vineyards of Tertre Daugay and L’Arrosée—super terroir for this, the second wine of Quintus.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2010 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Another great value under $20! We have sold out of this before and just received another small batch. Elegant on the nose and quite grippy on the palate. This property has been doing well lately.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2009 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of our favorite properties from our favorite vintage. Deep ruby. Complex nose features delicate, almost Margaux-like aromas of cassis and clove. Smooth and sweet on the palate with a velvety texture. These 2009s are so good now and they will be for many years.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1997 Clément-Pichon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
We sold over 3,000 bottles of their 1996, and this beauty is ready for the dinner table now. Showing black cherry and coffee notes on the nose, this has a nice touch of elegance, there’s plenty of fruit, and it’s nicely balanced. Clément-Pichon is a familiar name to many who have visited Bordeaux. Located in southern Médoc not far north of the city of Bordeaux, this château is one of the most beautiful in the region.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Beauséjour (Duffau), St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-10-2016
Extremely limited production for this tiny 6 hectare estate-perfect terroir and fantastic winemaking. A Nicolas Thienpont wine that is so spicy on the nose and flavor. Exotic wine with enough stuffing for many years in the cellar. A lot of wine for the reasonable price.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Pavie Macquin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-10-2016
This property, under the guidance of Nicolas Thienpont, is on a roll. And it is priced correctly! Huge wine with Blackberry jam flavors. Tons of everything in this package. Acid, tannin, fruit-great aging potential. This is right up their with their 2010 in quality. I tend to enjoy these right bank 2015s more than most left bankers.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2015 La Fleur-Pétrus, Pomerol
Review Date: 06-10-2016
A wonderful wine that will compare favorably to their 2009 and 2010 in the years to come. 92% Merlot here and blackberry fruits abound. So Sweet and elegant. I much prefer this to Trotanoy in 2015. Tremendous depth of flavor-perfect balance for the cellar. Long and lush. Not a big production and well worth a buy on futures.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2015 Bel-Air, Pomerol
Review Date: 06-06-2016
A great value from Pomerol. We discovered a few older vintages of this wine in 2015. Now for the first time we tasted the new wine from barrel. Tons of black raspberry fruit with chocolate nuances. Spicy-it is about 1/10th the price of its neighbor Trotanoy. A must buy.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-06-2016
Blackberry jelly. More Cabernet in this blend.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Very sweet with fine mid-palate. Great texture.

2015 Sociando-Mallet, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Good entry, big and powerful wine. Ager.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2015 Chasse-Spleen, Moulis
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Fine middle fruit. Good effort from Celine Villars Foubet.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Powerful and rich wine. Definitely one for the cellar.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 La Dauphine, Fronsac
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Black cherry aromas and flavors-has some tannin on the back.
Top Value!

2015 Joanin Bécot, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Lovely and silky wine. Will drink well when released.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Lynch-Bages Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Delightful wine, spicy, lemony aromas, racy on the palate like the 2013. Summertime sipper.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Angélus, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Smoky, tasty aromas that follow to the palate with layers of black fruits. Sensational.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Le Plus de La Fleur de Boüard, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Peppery and spicy and not overly extracted. This is perfectly balanced and lush on the palate.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Cheval Blanc, St-Émilion
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Cabernet Franc is the backbone here. This wine is so elegant with Asian Spices on the nose and lots of red currant flavors. Sweet.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2015 La Conseillante, Pomerol
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Ultra spicey with tobacco aromas-super sweet on the palate. Velvety
Drink from 2020 to 2020

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next