Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2012 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-25-2015
One of the top wines of the vintage. A fruit-forward wine for Las Cases, but it still needs a few years in the cellar. Lots of cassis and toasty oak here.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2012 Angludet, Margaux
Review Date: 08-25-2015
I love this property. Every year since the early 80s. It is always a great value, and 2012 is no exception. Perfumy aromas and red fruit flavors dominate your senses. Best to enjoy in two years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91 RP 90

2012 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-25-2015
Helene Garcin Leveque has transformed this beautiful estate’s winemaking facility to state of the art, and the wines clearly reflect this. This wine features flashy, beautiful Merlot fruit with some toasty oak. A fruit-forward vintage and a delicious wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2012 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-25-2015
A perfect 5 for value from this fantastic estate. Tons of pencil lead aromas and red fruit flavors. Needs a few years to blossom.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2003 Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-25-2015
A perfect 100 point wine--enough said. Best Bordeaux of 2003? I think so. For those who must have everything.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

1982 Feytit Clinet, Pomerol
Review Date: 08-25-2015
One of my favorite properties in the early days of my wine collecting. Heck, I bought 5 cases of the 1970. This one is worth a try. One of the best vintages ever in Bordeaux.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2012 Pavie Macquin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-25-2015
One of the best properties in Bordeaux nowadays. Full and voluptuous wine. Great acidity. Semi new wave but in balance. Delicious.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 Trébiac, Graves
Review Date: 08-17-2015
A superb property making great value wines. Tons of mineral here. Sweet and lush. Buy it by the case.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Gloria, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-17-2015
One of our favorite St Julien properties since 1966. These guys are on a roll these days. Superb fruit forward wine with good backbone.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 - 94

2012 Clos Fourtet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-17-2015
One of our favs for the right bank. Impeccable wine. Tons of fruit and a good backbone. Save it for a few years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Reynon Sauvignon Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-17-2015
The first of the heavenly 2014 white Bordeaux has arrived. We only get 50 cases a year of this one. It is 100% Sauvignon Blanc with mineral notes and melon mid palate flavors. Perfect summertime sipper.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 88 - 90

2014 La Graside Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-17-2015
The first of the heavenly 2014 white Bordeaux has arrived. We only get 50 cases a year of this one. It is 100% Sauvignon Blanc with mineral notes and melon mid palate flavors. Perfect summertime sipper.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 La Tour de By, Médoc
Review Date: 08-17-2015
We carried this property in the 70s and then not until the 2002 vintage did we buy it again. This wine like the 2002 and the 2009 is a great value. Lots of merlot fruit on the palate. A bit rustic, but polished tannins.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Fourcas Hosten, Listrac
Review Date: 08-17-2015
A great value from the people who make expensive accessories-Hermes. They have put millions into the property and the wines are now quite elegant and delicious. You can buy a case of this wine for much less than their store products. Try this one after opening 1/2 hour.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Beau-Séjour Bécot, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-17-2015
A superb right bank wine for a great price. Tons of fruit and smooth tannins. Semi new wave, but good balancing acid. Great cellar value.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 L'Evangile, Pomerol
Review Date: 08-17-2015
We always love the wines from Evangile-ever since we met madame Ducasse in the late 1980s. A very lush wine on the palate. Tons of blackberry fruit flavors. Round tannins. Drink in a few years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2013 Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-17-2015
Only 50 cases available of this beauty. Super sweet and minerally. Try with a roast pork dinner. Very juicy wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Kalinda "Cuvee 70" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-17-2015
What a great find for us-from one of the best Pinot Noir producers in California. But we can't tell you the name as we had to sign a contract not to divulge it. This wine is packed with strawberry to raspberry fruit flavors. Quite elegant-enjoy tonight with 1 hour decanting. This will litterly sell out quickly.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$22.99

2014 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-27-2015
More modern style—nice flavor—good value at under $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Kalinda Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-01-2015
A worthy successor to our 2012. This one is a bit richer, but has great acidity and fine length on the palate. A delicious summertime sipper by the pool. We did a blind tasting for four of our buyers on the best 20 samples we had and we all picked this one for our Kalinda. Do not miss it.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$8.99

2012 Larcis Ducasse, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-30-2015
Semi new wave style, but lots of substance here. These guys are on a roll of late and their 2005 just got 100 points and sells for over $200. This one is not far off in quality.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 06-30-2015
One of our favorites from 2012 vintage Bordeaux. Plenty of cassis and red fruit flavors. Decant one hour or cellar for a few years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Pétrus, Pomerol
Review Date: 06-26-2015
This 100% Merlot is spectacular. Intense aromas and some meaty nuances on the nose and on the palate. Big, massive wine that has layers of fruit. Long and lingering on the palate. Blackberry jam, with a fine texture. Perhaps the best I tasted on this trip.

2010 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-25-2015
One of our favs from the south. Very polished and regal wine-great for the price.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-25-2015
This wine is as sweet as its lovely owner. Plenty of blackberry fruit flavors.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Corbin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-25-2015
A bit more austere than their 2009 but very good none theless. Cellar it a few years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2010 Gigault "Cuvée Viva" Premières, Côtes de Blaye
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Superb vintage for this tiny property. Decant and serve with racks of lamb.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 WS 90

2010 Smith-Haut-Lafitte Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Not 100 Parker points but very good nonetheless.Plenty of sweet toasty oak and creamy texture.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2010 La Tour Carnet, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-25-2015
The 2009 and 2010 are the best back to back vintages for this property. The 2010 has more strength and structure than the 2009. Age it.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2009 Lestruelle, Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-25-2015
A huge seller in 750 ml. and these will sell out quickly. Sweet and lovely-party size.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2010 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 06-25-2015
A Dubourdieu red with tons of earthy flavors and black fruit flavors
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Maison Blanche, Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-25-2015
One of our biggest selling wines in the last ten years. So sweet and delicious. 91-92 score. Buy and enjoy.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2010 Gressier Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Big score and it sold out quickly last time. Tons of sweet flavors on the palate. Decant one hour.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2009 Gemeillan, Médoc
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Our first time to carry this beauty. Plenty of sweetness from the vintage and lots of strength from the property. Great combination and cheap also,
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

1997 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-25-2015
This wine in Magnum is flat out delicious. I just drank two bottles and one 6 liter in May 2015. great party wine. Soft and elegant.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $119.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 La Temperance Prestige, Haut Medoc
Review Date: 06-25-2015
We sold out quickly last time. Some delicious well priced 04s out there. Try this one.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Senejac, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 06-25-2015
For under $19 you get a solid value from Bordeaux and almost ten years old. Big gutsy wine-have with stew.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

1989 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Mature Haut Bailly from a great vintage and under $150-no brainer-buy it. Sweet and sexy with tons of mineral on the palate.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2001 Clos du Marquis, St-Julien
Review Date: 06-25-2015
We love 2001 Bordeaux and you will love this beauty. Plenty of cassis fruit with toasty oak. Decant and enjoy.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2000 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Pontet Canet makes great wines-ever since 1994. 2000 was a magical year and this wine is selling for half the price of the 2009.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2005 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Super vintage and this wine is a bargain for the mid-term collector. Lots of black fruit flavors. Decant one hour and enjoy with a steak.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 RP 90

2005 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 06-25-2015
Superb vintage and a great property makes for a super delicious, cellar worthy wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2009 La Tour Carnet, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-25-2015
The great vintage and this wine sings. Delicious now with one hour air. Cellar it five years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The perfect everyday drinker for this summer and barbecue time. Very fruity and fruit forward for the vintage. And also availability in magnums for your summer parties.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The perfect everyday drinker for this summer and barbecue time. Very fruity and fruit forward for the vintage. And also availability in magnums for your summer parties.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2000 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 06-11-2015
Great vintage-great wine-great price. Cellar it a few more years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2003 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 06-11-2015
A super delicious 2003 that has balance and structure and plenty of sweet ripe fruit flavors. We sold 1000 bottles at $37.99 and now king dollar has us with the price under $30. A steal.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

1997 Pavie-Decesse, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-11-2015
Who could ever forget Jean Paul Valette, the late owner of Chateau Pavie. This was his last vintage-seems like only yesterday we were dining with him and his lovely wife at the property. 90 points WS: “Seriously good. Lots of blackberry, vanilla and tobacco character on the nose. Medium- to full-bodied, with velvety tannins and a long finish of polished texture. Finely crafted wine. Best after 2000.” Well its 2015-must be ready.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2009 Gressier-Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 06-11-2015
Not a very well known property but a neighbor of Poujeaux so it can't be bad. The 2010 is superb and this one is a bit riper and more fruit forward.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-11-2015
Alwasys a great value and this does not disappoint. Plenty of earthy notes and black fruit flavors.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next