Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2007 Suduiraut, Sauternes
Review Date: 07-24-2017
A perfect 5 for value here. We sold it for over $60 and found a small parcel at a great price. A cellar selection from the Wine Enthusiest and 97 points. So lush and peachy. Will age for many more years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2007 Coutet, Sauternes
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Great vintage-great property, great price! The aromas are intensely sweet, full of orange marmalade and honey. The palate goes more for spice, with oranges and brown sugar allied to fresh fruits, apricots and lychees. We sold this wine for over $50 previously-enjoy the bargain.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1988 Climens, Barsac
Review Date: 07-24-2017
To me one of the greatest Climens I have ever tasted. Perfect balance and rich lingering finish. As Neil Martin so aptly says: "The palate is wonderfully poised, pure and precise; more citrus than previous bottles with a good level of botrytis, building nicely towards the focused mellifluous, peachy finish that suggests this Climens has a long future ahead." The acid balance of 1988 Sauternes is the key part of the wines.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2007 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 07-24-2017
We loved 1987 and 1997 vintage Bordeaux-restaurant vintages with low scores and low prices combined with great taste. 2007 is 1997 on steroids. This wine is medium-bodied, with delicious fruit, soft, velvety tannins and a medium finish. Very balanced and nicely textured. Enjoy the of the vintage and the richness that jean Luc Zuger extracts from this beauty.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2006 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 07-24-2017
One of the best efforts from the 2006 Bordeaux vintage. Jean Luc Zuger has been bringing Malescot to the forefront of the Bordeaux scene for the last 20 years. Dark ruby/purple, medium to full-bodied, with superb concentration and moderate tannin, this is a beauty of finesse and substance that should be at its best between 2017 and 2024.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2004 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 07-24-2017
One of our favorite margaux wines. Jean Luc Zuger is fashioning some of the best values in all of Bordeaux. Do not miss his 2015 and 2016 vintages. 2004 was a classic Bordeaux vintage-we love the wines as they are always well-priced between the famous 2003 and 2005 vintages. Our good friend James Suckling scores it 92. "This is rich and decadent with truffles and blackberries on the nose that follow through to a full body, with ultra-fine tannins and a polished, pretty finish." I am a 93 on it.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2001 Rauzan-Segla, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 07-24-2017
One of my favorite vintages to drink now and this does not disappoint. Soft and elegant wine with red berry flavors. Fabulous to drink today or next year. RP-93 pts: "Tasted blind at Bordeaux Index’s 10-Year On horizontal. This has a very tight bouquet with blackberry, briary, cedar and cigar box all nicely defined but unfurling slowly in the glass. I like the purity and clarity to this wine."
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1999 La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-24-2017
One of the better value properties in St-Emilion. Fruity and forward, this wine begs to be drunk with a nice piece of prime rib. I will never forget the mindblowing 1970 vintage from them. (Clyde Beffa Jr., K&L) This wine is at about its peak for drinking. No hard edges just lots of plummy, black fruit flavors.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2007 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-24-2017
K&L's notes in 2008 - Good entry...sweet middle. Aristocratic. Very good. At the UGC the wine was full and ripe. Big wine on palate and sweet mid-palate impression. Tannic finish. At the property the wine exhibited a deep purplish color and fine red berry aromas and flavor. On the bigger side. 50 hectoliters per hectare here which is normal. 70% cabernet and 26% merlot with the rest cab franc. This wine could be the best value in older Haut Bailly wines-one of our favorites in Bordeaux.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2000 Chasse-Spleen, Moulis
Review Date: 07-24-2017
I will never forget my dinner in April of 1991 at Chasse Spleen with Bernadotte Villars. Unfortunately she died the following year on a hiking trip. Under any new classification, Chasse Spleen should certainly be a classed growth. Today it is among the leaders of the crus bourgeois. The 2000 is opulent, generous, stylish. Several raters scored it 91-i am a 92 on it.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2009 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-24-2017
This baby will cellar well til the '30s. The ripe,forward fruit of the 2009 vintage mixes well with the hardness of the wines from Verdignan. Plenty of sweet blackberry aromas and flavors. Situated near Pauillac, these vineyards are planted to 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot, and 5% Cab Franc. On the stone lintel of the door's oldest vat of Verdignan there is ingraved a date: 1720! The 2009 is a great bargain from Bordeaux.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 89

2010 Josephine de Boyd, Margaux
Review Date: 07-22-2017
The Josephine de Boyd is one of the second labels of Chateau Boyd Cantenac along with Jacques Boyd. An elegant 2010: feminine style with some violets on the nose and red fruit flavors. We carried the Jacques and sold out quickly a year ago.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Puygueraud, Côtes de Francs
Review Date: 07-22-2017
“Violets and blackberries with hints of spices on the nose. Full body, with soft and velvety tannins and a juicy finish. Drink now or hold. Always an excellent value.” JS I love this wine—sweet and lovely, a bit modern and 100% delicious. Nicolas Thienpont is the great winemaker here. I agree with James.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2014 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 07-22-2017
I love Poujeaux in almost any vintage. One of the better values in all of Bordeaux. This 2014 has plenty of cassis aromas and flavors. Quite sweet on the palate and a lingering finish. At under $30 it is a steal.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Haut de Poujeaux, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Poujeaux has at least two second wines—Salle de Poujeaux and this one. We have carried both and have found no difference in the quality. Clyde's notes: Toasty, oaky aromas. After decanting the wine opens up to a red fruit forward beauty. This wine is SO good to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-22-2017
I always love this elegant wine made by the Beychevelle team. Pretty red fruit aromas--quite soft on the palate. The folks at the Wine Enthusiast love it also at 92 points.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Segonzac 'Vielles Vignes', Premieres Cotes de Blaye
Review Date: 07-22-2017
The folks at Chateau Segonzac are sticklers for quality. They hand harvest the fruit from the “old vines” and all the grapes are hand sorted once they get to the winery. The careful selection process at Segonzac helps to create concentrated, full flavored wines. The bright, lush fruit is balanced with plenty of ripe tannins. Old school label and very good tasting wine for under $10.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 07-22-2017
This wine is really NOT the second wine of Pichon-Baron, but rather a separate plot of mainly Merlot grapes. The wine tends to be more feminine than the Baron and this one is sweet and lovely. Blackberry fruit flavors in a region known for red fruit flavors. Plummy and lush. Decant and enjoy.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sansonnet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-22-2017
We have carried a few vintages of this property over the years--notably the 2000 and the 2005. A blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc from the limestone plateau of St-Emilion. This wine offers raspberry and black cherry fruit intermixed with licorice and chalky notes. Very nice wine for the low price.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lafont-Fourcat, Bordeaux Rouge
Review Date: 07-22-2017
A lot of wine for under $10 and from the great 2015 vintage. Here is a party wine with that tell-tale sweet, ripe 2015 Bordeaux fruit. Great with hamburger.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mauvais Garçon "Bad Boy" Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Here come the great Right Bank 2015s. This bad boy is bright and lively--a great buy for $15. This 50,000-bottle cuvee of 100% Merlot, coming largely from Fronsac, is fashioned by Jean-Luc Thunevin, the bad boy of St-Emilion. It is a new wave style wine--fresh and spicy with some oak evident. The bad boy refers to Robert Parker they say, not Mr Thunevin.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fleur de Pedesclaux, Pauillac
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Tasted on our April 2017 Bordeaux trip. Spicy, peppery nose and flavors. A bit modern, but solid and extremely well-balanced. The second wine of Pedesclaux, and this property is really making outstanding wines. The north Medoc wines in 2014 are outstanding.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 07-22-2017
A great value property run by the Montrose people. We love 2007 like 1997, but 2007s are better. Red berries, licorice, flowers and spices on the nose. Supple and sweet.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 De Braude, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Owned by Château Mongravey of Margaux, this estate is in Macau in the southern Médoc. The wine is richly fruity, firmly tannic with both wood and fruit tannin. It is dark, dense and complex, a ripe wine that has a great future. Try it now after one hour decanting.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2014 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Bright and racy, with red currant and plum fruit. Cantemerle since the year 2000 has been known for one of the best Bordeaux values. Their 2006 and 2010 are legendary. This 2014 is such a great value. With decanting you can enjoy now with that barbecued steak.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2011 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-21-2017
I actually liked this wine better than their 2010 or 2012 (last vintage at Arrosee). It has fine structure and plenty of blackberry and spice on the nose and palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Tour Léognan , Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-21-2017
From the Perrin family of Carbonnieux and Haut Vigneau fame.Very nice minerally wine with soft, round tannins and plenty of Cabernet fruit on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Plaisance "Cuvee Alix" Premieres Cotes de Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-21-2017
Fabulous value red. Aromas of tobacco leaves, roasted herbs, red and black currants, and assorted berry fruit emerge from this elegant, mid-weight blend of 75% Merlot, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Cabernet Franc.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Moulin du Cadet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-21-2017
I can’t get enough of these 2009s-another one has just arrived. We loved this wine in the early ‘70s and it has reappeared. We love it again. Elegant, ripe, plumy and totally satisfying wine to enjoy now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2005 Larmande, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-18-2017
I first visited this property in 1985 and I loved their wines of the 80s, but not so much in the 90s. Well, they went back on track in the 2000s and this 2005 is a great value. Sweet, plummy, and toasty. Plenty of blackberry fruits on the palate and nose. Excellent structure for five more years in the cellar, but the tannins are round so you can drink it now. Decant and enjoy with a prime rib roast.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2016 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 07-17-2017
Our best selling Rose every year since 2009. This year could be their best to date. It is on the drier side, with a bright reddish color. Plenty of flavor and all for $9.99. It will sell quickly. I just drank a bottle of the 2014 and it was still bright and alive. Who says Rose will not age?
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-14-2017
What a delicious Cabernet we have for all Cabernet and Bordeaux lovers. Coming from the very warm 2015 Napa harvest, this wine is quite elegant and refined already. Just the right amount of oak here and plenty of red currant aromas and flavors. Rutherford is home to some of the most famous Napa Valley producers--a few who have been around for many years (way before Prohibition). We can't tell you who made this wine, but I think if you really think about it, you may pick the right property. The old and famous Pot Luck Restaurant in the East Bay featured many of their wines on its extensive wine list. Wines back to 1893! Please decant this wine as it is a baby and enjoy it with a rack of lamb. Very similar to the fine 2003 Bordeaux wines in structure and richness.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-11-2017
What a fabulous buy from my favorite vintage. This is the last 100 cases available anywhere. Baby Cantemerle with a toasty edge and sweet fruit flavors. We have sold about 6000 bottles so far. We have magnums too.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Les Venerables" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I love the richness and the saltiness that comes from this old vine expression from La Chablisienne - my favorite direct import from Chablis. I drink a lot of white wine, mostly from Burgundy, and this particular 2014 caught my fancy (and got my credit card into serious trouble). It has a beautiful balance of white fruit, racy acidity, and texture from the richness of the concentrated old vine grapes. I could wax poetically about all of the Chablisienne wines because each of them represents the uniqueness of a vineyard site. In the case of the Les Venerables, you get the added bonus of complexity from the ancient vines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WE 90

2001 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-28-2017
We love this property and we found a small stash of this gem. Ready to enjoy right now. Elegant and soft on the palate. The 2001 Bordeaux wines are vastly underrated.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
A great party size wine from a superb drinking vintage. We sold the 750ml quickly and this magnum at $35 is a smashing bargain. Earthy aromas and flavors with lots of red berry fruit flavors. Decant and bring on the steaks.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Fleur, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-28-2017
Another great 2009 for under $40. So sweet and lush with long finish of blackberry fruit. Ready to drink after an hour decanting. I just love the 2009 Bordeaux wines.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 91

2014 d'Hanteillan Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-26-2017
A superb value 2014 Bordeaux. Tons of red rose and red currant aromas and flavors. The Cabernet shines brightly here. Perfect for your Friday night Claret with a rack of lamb or even better prime ribs of beef. make sure to decant an hour or so. Finely structured and great to cellar a few years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-16-2017
Yes a perfect wine for the price. 50%CS,45%M.5%PV and 100% delicious. We tasted this wine at Chateau Latour in April and were blown away by it. So spicy on the nose with red currant aromas and flavor. How could this be better than their outstanding 2009 and 2010?? Sexy and sweet and lush on the palate. No hard edges-pure fruit with a bit of tannin on the back end. A must buy!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 24 per customer

2016 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-09-2017
We all love this property and its managing director Veronique Sanders. Ever since she started managing the estate in the very late 90s, Haut Bailly has been one of K&L’s best selling Bordeaux wines. 53% CS here and 13.6 alcohol. My notes—Pure silk!! And at the property-Iron fist in a velvet glove! Refined, seamless, Balanced. You name it. But the quantities they release will not be much for us.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Paul Pontallier is gone, but Margaux continues to make great wines. 94% CS and only 13% Alcohol. Red roses and violets on the nose and red currant flavors. Very lush and very good.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2009 Branas Grand Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 06-02-2017
Another sexy, super delicious 2009 from a neighbor of Poujeaux. Spicy and lush on the palate. Enjoy now or in ten years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2014 Le St-Estephe de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-02-2017
Save your 2014 Montrose and drink this "baby Montrose." 60% Merlot from a great value north Medoc vintage. Tobacco and coffee aromas. Plenty of minerality on the palate. I just love this wine. No hard edges. The 3rd wine of Montrose.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2012 de Chambrun, Lalande de Pomerol
Review Date: 06-02-2017
Beautiful blackberry infused wine. So soft and lovely after 30 minutes of air. Lots of toasty oak. A winner from a Chateau to watch in the future.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2010 Brillette, Moulis
Review Date: 06-02-2017
Sweet and lovely for a 2010, but the tannin creaps up on the back palate. Tons of spicy fruit, but decant an hour before serving
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2016 Canon, St-Émilion
Review Date: 06-01-2017
One of the best terroirs in St Emilion and the wine is again of the better 2016s. . Tasted out of barrel. Toasty aromas, black color-black cherry flavors. Ethereal wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 Poesia, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-01-2017
Boysenberry jam on toast. Their best effort.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-01-2017
More richness and precsion here. Blackberry jam.. Sweet and sexy. Another winner here.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 La Mondotte, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-01-2017
Plush and full bodied. Big in every respect. Cellar it many years
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2016 Larcis Ducasse, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-01-2017
As good as their 2015? Exotic aromas of Asian spice and tobacco. Serious wine for the long haul. Sexy and ripe.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>