Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2017 Reserve de la Comtesse de Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-07-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
One of the better 2nd wines we tasted in the North Medoc. 60% CS and36% M. Great year for Petit Verdot and 4% in this wine. Very fruity and aromatic nose-great texture on the palate and fine length— a fine value!
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-07-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
79%CS 21%M. Normal crop this year-no frost damage. Sweet, toasty oak aromas with cassis undertones. Red fruits dominate the palate. Lingering finish.
Drink from 2023 to 2023

2017 Canon-la-Gaffelière, St-Émilion
Review Date: 06-07-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
So lush and lovely. It frosted on their lower vineyards and so only their hillside grapes used in the blend ! Precise and focused wine. Reminds me of the 1953 and 1962 I recently drank ! MUCH better than their 2015 and 2016. The low lying weaker grapes frosted.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2017 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-07-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
7% loss here. 70%CS. Spicy, cedary aromas and flavors. Good weight on the palate. Lovely, spicy, lush wine-like they made in the 80s I love this wine—they are doing great at Pichon Lalande these days. Better than their 2015 for sure.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2017 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
70%CS, 24%M, 2%CF. In my top twenty wines from this vintage. Fantastic aromas of red roses and cassis. Sweet and long on the palate. Great rounded tannins. Very balanced on palate. They lowered their price 21% from the 2016. One of the less expensive Lynch bages on the market. I recommend buying some.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2017 Blanc de Lynch Bages, Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This wine improves every year. 2017 may be their best yet. Clean and lemony but with a richness on the mid palate and great aromatics-like many of the 2017 white Bordeaux. Very focused wine.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Kalinda "Lot 2" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-22-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
We made our first Kalinda Cabernet in 1984 - the 1982 vintage from Boeger winery. Now on our 34th rendition, we've had the fortune to team up with some of the greats in California winemaking over the years. This time the Lot 2 Cabernet is from the Napa Valley and it is so sweet and delicious. Toasty oak nuances and red fruit flavors. Lingering on the palate. Not a tannic blockbuster but more of a Margaux style red. Decant and enjoy with your lamb chop dinner.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

2017 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 05-18-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Another fine effort and fine value from Our friends at Siran. Some violets on the nose and red fruits on the palate. 46% M and 43% CS. quite full flavored and nice texture.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Clinet, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-18-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Bravo on a reasonable price. The 2015 is about $150! Black fruit aromas and flavors. Exotic and a bit modern on the palate. Needs several years cellaring.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-16-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Here they lost 10% due to frost and 20% more with tropical rains and rot. 52%CS and 48%M. Deep blackish color. Great aromatics of red rose and cassis. Very sweet entry on the palate-lots of red fruited flavors. Lush and seamless-three in a row here for top quality. Almost $30 less than the 2015.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-16-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Another winner at Cantemerle. Philippe Dambrene can do no wrong. Tons of red berry aromas and flavors. Great texture and length on the palate-so lush, yet very structured. Superb bargain.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-16-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Here they lost 10% due to frost and 20% more with tropical rains and rot. 52%CS and 48%M. Deep blackish color. Great aromatics of red rose and cassis. Very sweet entry on the palate-lots of red fruited flavors. Lush and seamless-three in a row here for top quality. Almost $30 less than the 2015.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2016 Clos Floridène, Graves Blanc
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We always love this Dubourdieu white. And this wine will age in cellar very well. in 2005 we drank a bottle of the 1991 Clos Floridene and it was perfect. Very citrusy on the nose and palate-minerality galore.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Reynon Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
)- From the family estate of Bordeaux wine gurus Denis and Florence Dubourdieu, this is a crisp, refreshing Sauvignon Blanc/Sémillon blend that appeals immediately. Bright acidity, freshly squeezed lemon and a herbal, green edge all make for a wine that is drinkable now as an apéritif as well as with food. We have been carrying this white since the 2000 vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Les Remparts Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
First time for this property at K&L. Jeff and I loved the sample and bought this and their fine red 2015.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 R de Rieussec, Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Very attractive wine, with beautiful aromatics of tropical pineapple, and peaches. The wine is rich but completely dry. I can see it working really well with rich, spicy dishes. Better than their 2016!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Guiraud "Le G" Blanc Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Crisp and dry, this wine from Chateau Guiraud, shows the rich flavors of the fully matured grapes (50% Sauvignon Blanc +50% Sémillon), along side with juicy acidity, making a very useful white wine. We sold a lot of the 2014 and this 2015 is just as good.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2000 Lynch-Moussas, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Sweet nose of creme de cassis intermixed with licorice, dried herbs, and vanilla, the wine is rich in fruit, has good glycerin, silky tannin, and a nice, spicy, layered finish.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2001 Peyrabon, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Here is a property we discovered on our April 2012 Bordeaux trip and we have sold well the 2000, 2003, 2004, and newer vintages. Somehow we missed this 2001 all these years. We tasted it early this year and here it is. We love the 2001 Bordeaux vintage and you will love this value red. Softer than the 2000 and 2004 and mor classic than the 2003. A must try.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Petit Haut Lafitte, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A second wine of Smith haut Lafitte-first time at K&L. Serious wine with lots of mineral on the nose and earthy black fruit on the palate.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2015 Marjosse, Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Pierre Lurton, of Cheval Blanc fame, has made this wine for over twenty years. And here is is finally. Ripe and fruit forward-great value.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We skipped from the 1998 to this vintage. Both wines are great--maybe they make great wines every 20 years? This is sweet and sexy.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Mont-Perat Blanc Grand Vin de Bordeaux
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We tasted this wine early this year and loved it. Clean and crisp style with the richness of the 2015 vintage. Big score by one of the scorers.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 JS 90

2015 Labadie, Médoc
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Huge scores. A first time for this property at K&L. We loved it and bought a bunch-here is the first batch.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2003 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
A ton of richness and sweetness, with loads of apple tart, caramel and spice character. The noble rot certainly did its good here. Long, long finish. Beautiful sweet wine. Great balance for such a hot year
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Lamouroux Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
A new property for K&L since the 2014 vintage. Lovely vintage and delicious wine. Crisp and clean with some 2016 richness on the palate. Try with Crab or lobster or by the pool.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lamouroux Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We tasted the 2009 in Bordeaux just after our 2012 vintage tour. We loved it. And we have carried several vintages of this property. This 2015 is soft and elegant like the 2009.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2005 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Nice nose of red fruits and minerals. Good upfront on palate. Elegant on the palate with forward red fruit flavors and smoky-earthy hints, well balanced mid-weight and mid-term wine. 90-91 points by all the scorers. This is a step above the very fine 2004 and 2006 that we sold so successfully.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2017 Haut-Brisson, St-Émilion
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wildly successful in 2015 and 2016, this value red from the Kwok dynasty made 50% less wine because of the April 2017 frost. Deep color and intense nose of black fruits. Good richness and sweet underneath some tannins.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
We think St Julien may be the best region in Bordeaux for 2017. Unfortunately this great property lost its leader in December. 65% CS, 24%M, and mix of PV and CF to finish. Red fruit aromas and flavors-quite elegant on the palate. Very good wine and priced decently.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Haut-Batailley, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
First year under the ownership of the Cazes family of Lynch bages fame.34%M, 66%CS –quite high in Cabernet this year. Very good effort here with tons of red rose aromas and flavors. Some tannin on the back end. Look for this property to improve steadily under the Cazes regime.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The 2016 was one of the best-if not the best under $30 Bordeaux. This 2017 follows closely behind it and it is priced reasonably. 30% lower production than normal. 61% Cabernet is the backbone here. Intense red berry aromas that follow to the palate. The wine is soft and elegant-very feminine style and I love it. A great value 2017 for sure.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2017 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The 2016 was one of the best-if not the best under $30 Bordeaux. This 2017 follows closely behind it and it is priced reasonably. 30% lower production than normal. 61% Cabernet is the backbone here. Intense red berry aromas that follow to the palate. The wine is soft and elegant-very feminine style and I love it. A great value 2017 for sure.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Labégorce, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The 2016 was one of the best-if not the best under $30 Bordeaux. This 2017 follows closely behind it and it is priced reasonably. 30% lower production than normal. 61% Cabernet is the backbone here. Intense red berry aromas that follow to the palate. The wine is soft and elegant-very feminine style and I love it. A great value 2017 for sure.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Another Kwok wine and our biggest selling 2015 and 2016 in terms of bottles. This 2017 had 40% less wine than normal as the berries were quite small. Very perfumey aromas with undertones of sweet oak. Will need a few years in the cellar-another great value from this top property.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Another Kwok wine and our biggest selling 2015 and 2016 in terms of bottles. This 2017 had 40% less wine than normal as the berries were quite small. Very perfumey aromas with undertones of sweet oak. Will need a few years in the cellar-another great value from this top property.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2017 Valandraud, St-Émilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Very good wine here for quite a bit less than the 2016. Fairly exotic on the nose with Asian spice and toasty oak. Sexy and sweet on the palate. Great cellar candidate.
Drink from 2030 to 2030

2017 Valandraud, St-Émilion 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Very good wine here for quite a bit less than the 2016. Fairly exotic on the nose with Asian spice and toasty oak. Sexy and sweet on the palate. Great cellar candidate.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Palmer, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
One of the stars of the vintage and they decreased their price almost 20% below their 2016! 54% M, 42%CS, 4%PV. Only 13.2% alcohol. They added a bit of press wine to the final blend-for texture. Spicy, sexy aromas of toasted oak and blackberries. Even some red fruit flavors. Seamless wine with a long and lingering finish. Could this be the best from the region? 30% less wine than in 2016.
Drink from 2030 to 2030

2017 Palmer, Margaux 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
One of the stars of the vintage and they decreased their price almost 20% below their 2016! 54% M, 42%CS, 4%PV. Only 13.2% alcohol. They added a bit of press wine to the final blend-for texture. Spicy, sexy aromas of toasted oak and blackberries. Even some red fruit flavors. Seamless wine with a long and lingering finish. Could this be the best from the region? 30% less wine than in 2016.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 05-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
One of the stars of the vintage and they decreased their price almost 20% below their 2016! 54% M, 42%CS, 4%PV. Only 13.2% alcohol. They added a bit of press wine to the final blend-for texture. Spicy, sexy aromas of toasted oak and blackberries. Even some red fruit flavors. Seamless wine with a long and lingering finish. Could this be the best from the region? 30% less wine than in 2016.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2016 Kalinda Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-26-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
For decades now (since the 1982 vintage), our Kalinda private label has been providing K&L customers with awesome wines at a fraction of what they'd normally pay under the producers' mainstay labels. That being said, no producer wants their wines on the market for less than what they'd usually sell for, so the trade-off is anonymity. While we have to remain quiet about the source of this beauty, we can tell you that wine from this prestigious producer sells elsewhere under the winery label at a much higher premium. This 2016 is very limited with only 70 cases available. Lush and sexy and sweet on the palate-ample oak. Delicious.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Kalinda Sonoma Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-26-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We are proud to announce our 2017 Sonoma Sauvignon Blanc-from grapes picked a month before the devastating wine country fires. It has citric tones on the nose and a creamy texture with tropical undertones on the palate. Fine acidity at the finish keeps it fresh and lively on the palate-just in time for the warm summer months. To think this is our 34th vintage of Sauvignon Blanc. Time flys when you drink good wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-25-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The first wine we tasted on the 2016 Bordeaux trip and we loved it. In fact we preferred it to the Marquis de Calon. The magnums have just arrived. These 15s are easy to drink, but they are young so decant one hour on this one. It is sweet and silky. The finish screams St Estephe. Great balance and tremendous depth of flavor for under $50 a magnum.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 de Chantegrive Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 04-25-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
An absolute steal for Bordeaux lovers. The essence of 2015 Bordeaux from the graves-Pessac regions. Plenty of spicy fruit and blackberry on the nose. Mineral undertones. Very sweet and sexy on the palate. Plenty of structure and latent tannins for the cellar, but so good now after decanting a bit. Perfect for your Steak and claret night.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 JD 91

2015 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-18-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This could be for me the greatest value wine of the vintage. (Under $35). IT is so sweet and lush on the palate, but it also has tremendous depth and structure. Blackberry aromas and flavors-silky texture. Long and lingering on the palate-tasted three times and it was great each time. As good as the 2010 was, this may be a touch better-more polished. We sold over 8000 bottles of the 2010 ($37-$47)-we will sell that much of this beauty. A must buy.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Fonréaud, Listrac
Review Date: 04-06-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This is the best young Fonreaud I have ever tasted. Usually it is rustic-this is sweet and lovely with lingering cassis flavors. A steal!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Tour Leognan, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 04-06-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Originally a neighboring property, Chateau Tour Léognan became the second label of Chateau Carbonnieux in 1956 when the Perrin family purchased both properties and reorganized the vineyards. Today the fruit is sourced mostly from younger vines on the estate. The 2015 Tour Léognan is typical of the vintage, ripe and round and easy drinking. Loads of sweet dark fruit with notes of mocha and spice. Much better than their very fine 2012 vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1990 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-06-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
A great discovery on our 2017 trip to Bordeaux. A neighbor of Poujeaux, this property held back most of their production for many years and now that the younger generation has taken over, the wines have been released. Great old school Bordeaux and the 1990 is full of life with a great aroma of red berry and spice. Smooth as glass going down. Delightful, and a great bargain. We quickly sold out of the 750 ml-these magnums are better. Do not miss them.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 01-09-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I love the focus and minerality of most of the 2016 Sancerres. I do not love the fact the crop is small because of frost problems and hail. What the richer 2015s was missing is here in the 2016s-fine acid balance and a clean smooth finish. This 2016 is one of the best I have had from Franck Millet-packed with so much fruit but also with tremendous acidity and length on the palate. We will not get a lot of this short crop of Insolite.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>