Staff Favorites - Clyde Beffa Jr.

Clyde Beffa Jr.
Clyde Beffa Jr.  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Had K&L co-owner and main wine buyer Clyde Beffa Jr. not read an article about the gentlemanly hobby of wine collecting in the February 1971 issue of Playboy, he might still be weighing the merits of Holsteins versus Jerseys instead of Château Margaux or Haut-Bailly. Beffa owned a dairy in Tracy, California, from 1967-1973, leaving the the business to co-found K&L Liquors, as it was known back then, in 1976. Clyde started traveling to Europe in 1982 and over the years, he has worked hard to build K&L into one of the nation's go-to sources for the world's diverse wines, developing relationships with winemakers and châteaux owners the world over. Clyde's passion is surely Bordeaux, especially the fabulous wines from Pauillac and St-Julien (like Pichon-Lalande and Léoville-Barton). When he's not drinking France's legendary reds, you'll likely find Clyde indulging in Sauvignon Blanc. A fan of Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé and white Bordeaux, he'll also tuck into a bottle of Kiwi Sauv Blanc if there's no corkscrew around. These days you'll likely find Clyde extolling the virtues of underrated Bordeaux vintages like 1991, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2006, or playing with his German Shepherd Sadie. Or you may see him in his vegetable garden and, once in a great while, on the golf course.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2016 Kalinda North Coast Reserve Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 02-15-2017
I give this a perfect score and it is the best Sauvignon Blanc we have made so far. And that goes back to the first one 1984 from Boeger (still holding great color). This wine was made by a very famous winemaker from a very famous winery in the Napa Valley. Hint- Mr Parker scored this winemaker as "winemaker of the year" a few years ago. And that is winemaker of the year for the whole world as we know it. Perfumey, floral aromas mixed with citrus nuances. Rich and lively on the palate-great zest and verve. Some spice, some lime and a very toasty character. Summer is approaching but this will do well served with a chicken dish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2010 Vieux Taillefer, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-07-2017
From a single vineyard more than 75 years old, located exclusively in the village of Saint Christophe des Bardes on limestone soil. Neighbors include Barde Haut and Tour St-Christophe. Only 3,000 bottles produced and only in the best years. Very spicy aromas that follow to the palate. Very full and rich wine with tons of black fruit flavors. A very powerful, young, yet delicious wine. Will cellar well and provide great enjoyment in five years. I highly recommend it.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pavillon de Taillefer, St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-07-2017
Great toasty oak aromas mixed with black/red currant fruit. Surprisingly more red fruit flavors. 100% merlot. This wine will benefit from a few more cellar years
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

1990 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-31-2017
100 points Robert Parker-back when 100 points meant a lot. This wine does not disappoint. I tasted 2 bottles on 2 separate days in january 2017. Both bottles were perfect. Quite rich and full-bodied with a mouth coating flavor of cassis and some toasty oak. This is an intense wine and really does deserve 100 points--i was quite skeptical before tasting these two bottles. A fifty year wine for sure.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart
RP 100

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 01-22-2017
This wine is "flat out delicious" in the words of Ralph Sands. There is so much black fruit and toasty oak and soft tannins that it drinks well right now. But it will age well for 10 more years. Hubert and Coralie Bouard have worked their magic with the 2012. I prefer it to the plus.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1991 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-21-2017
Garnet color on the lighter side. Mineral aromas with some sweetness. Great palate entry--rustic style but still very sweet on the finish. Old school Bordeaux and a fine value at under $60 for the magnum. We have sold 2,000 bottles of this wine. DO NOT buy it if you like big, and very rich California Cabs. You must love old-school Bordeaux to enjoy this. Definitely worth a try. One of our favorite "value" chateaux. The older wines are solid and very old school. The newer vintages are more modern. Give this wine a try--pork roast? The last cases at the Chateau-THERE is no more.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-19-2017
What a great discovery on that eventful Saturday afternoon at Château Barde Haut with Helene Garcin Leveque. D'Arce is a new property for Helene:7.5 hectares in nearby Castillon planted to 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. The wine emanates with meaty aromas and smoky bacon undertones. The palate is full of sweet black cherry fruit, lush on the finish. The wine tastes so good right now, but it will cellar well for several years. You can have it both ways with the 2015 D'Arce.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2014 Chateau l'Avocat (Sweet), Cérons (500ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
A superb value for everyday drinking. Some pineapple and apricot aromas with citrus notes. Smooth and lingering on the palate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2004 Nairac, Barsac
Review Date: 01-15-2017
We found this gem on our April 2106 Bordeaux visit. This is half the normal price. I do not like 2004 Sauternes in general, but this is one of the best there is. Great balance of sweetness with crisp citrus acidity. A great party wine and very good before dinner or with foie gras.

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 01-15-2017
Perfect gift for that fortieth birthday or anniversary. There are not any real good 1977 California or Bordeaux wines.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

2013 Gazin-Rocquencourt Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This property is under the auspices of the Bonnie family of Malartic-Lagravière. The white is so citrusy and focused with lots of mineral nuances.

2012 Gazin-Rocquencourt, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This property is under the auspices of the Bonnie family of Malartic-Lagravière. The red is fruity and forward and represents an excellent buy.

2011 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-15-2017
This third wine from Latour shows plenty of structure and ripe fruit—superb value for such a pedigree.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2014 Maillet, Pomerol
Review Date: 01-15-2017
Outstanding wine for a low price—it is Pomerol, you know. Blackberry aromas and flavors. Drink this one and wait for their stupendous 2015 to cellar a bit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

2014 d'Yquem "Y" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 01-15-2017
OK, so it is a bit above the nightly wine budget, but you should buy a bottle for that special night. Off-the-charts good.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I love the dry white wines of 2014—they have the richness of 2012 and 2015 with the crisp acidity of the 2013s. This is a “house white” for us. Plenty of citrus aromas and earthy nuances with a splash of oak. Great now and for several more years.

2014 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-15-2017
The deep purple fruit of blueberry and blackberries is very zesty and bright, and features racy acidity. Firm, more rounded tannins than in many of the great Barton vintages, with just the right amount of extraction. One of the best-selling ’14s at K&L.

2014 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-15-2017
Always a great value wine that really improves in the bottle. This wine has that Coca-Cola aroma and red fruit flavors. I am drinking all the 1997 I can find—you should buy this 2014.

2009 Magdelaine, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property. The 2009 is a cellar candidate.

2005 Magdelaine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property. The superb 2005 is a cellar candidate.

2001 Magdelaine, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including the super delicious 2001.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WS 92

2001 Magdelaine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including the super delicious 2001.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WS 92

1975 Magdelaine, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-15-2017
I started collecting Bordeaux in 1971, and one of the first wines I bought was 1967 Magdelaine after I tasted it in Hawaii (Ilikai Hotel) that same year. I loved this property during the ’70s and ’80s when it was brought in by importers Bercut Vandervoort & Co. The last vintage of this (once) famous property was the 2011. In 2012 it was merged with Château Bélair-Monange. We have just gotten a small sampling of vintages direct from the property, including the 1975.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart
ST 92

2010 Lamothe-Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 01-12-2017
1/2* Hubert de Boüard is consulting at this winery, and it sure shows. It's much more modern in style than previous vintages, with tons of black fruit aromas and great structure. Semi-new wave. We have sold over 800 bottles of this gem. Despite its vintage, the wine is ready to enjoy with a nice rack of lamb.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2005 Coutet, Sauternes
Review Date: 01-12-2017
You can't go wrong with this wine. Now under the direction of the Mouton Rothschild people, this wine is THE stickie buy of 2017 so far. Tremendous acidity and very rich on the palate. Hard to find 2005 full bottles of Sauternes for under $30.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-12-2017
Classic, with tons of mineral notes. Very rich and fresh. One of the best value 2012s from the Pessac area. Earthy style but toasty and sweet. Charming wine that will be ready soon. I like this better than their 2009 or 2010. And their 2015 is to die for. They are getting better year by year. Congrats to the Bonnie family. We have sold 800 bottles so far. Perfect size for birth year gift.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2012 Gloria, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-12-2017
One of our favorite St Julien properties since 1966. These guys are on a roll these days. Superb fruit forward wine with good backbone. Gloria never gets any respect, but they are turning out wines year after year that match in quality some of their high priced neighbors. This wine has the tell-tale Coca cola aroma and black cherry fruit.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 - 94

2014 Poesia, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-02-2017
Do not confuse this beauty with the Argentinian Poesia. Another April 2016 discovery at Barde Haut. Tons of fruit with some earthy, mineral aromas. Very ripe on the mid palate and soft, lingering finish.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 12-23-2016
Montrose made a fantastic wine in 2014-in fact i think it is far better than their 2015 effort. Most of the better 2014s from St-Estephe were a notch better than their 2015 counterparts--mainly because of the weather conditions, Great vintage for this "almost" 1st growth quality property. Plenty of richness on the palate with red berry fruits and toasty oak dominating the nose. Silky texture, but plenty of punch underneath. Cellar it a few more years.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Perfumey aromas of roses and cassis with a touch of earth. Some chocolate in the mix also. Open it 30 minutes and watch the nose evolve. The lushness on the palate is balanced by a stoney undertone. Very Intriguing wine. Extremely forward for such a young wine. Perfect with a chicken or pork entree. Wow-there is a lot of flavor and length for only $12.99. It should sell out quickly. Scored highly by a couple of scorers. Buy a case.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Seigneurs d'Aiguilhe, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 11-17-2016
The second wine of Aiguilhe is always a great value and 2014 is just that. Plenty of blackberry aromas and flavors. Decant and enjoy with a nice hamburger.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Fiefs de Lagrange, St. Julien
Review Date: 11-04-2016
This fantastic, rather elegant wine made at Lagrange is another excellent choice for fans of second wines. Second label of St.-Julien's Chateau Lagrange. Can be enjoyed now or within five years. Lots of toasty oak used at this property. Try this with rack of lamb.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Laroque, Margaux
Review Date: 11-04-2016
Château Laroque grows grapes on just 2.5 hectares in the appellation of Margaux. 35% Merlot and 65% Cab Sauv. The wine has wonderful texture with great acid balance and length. Crushed blackberries and chocolate notes on the nose and palate. Will cellar well but good now with decanting one hour.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 11-04-2016
Do not confuse this wine with Pibran from Pichon-Baron. This fine property is near Cantemerle and we loved this wine when we tasted it in April. I love 2009 Bordeaux for their sweetness and fruit-forward style. The fruit overshadows the tannin in 2009 and it surely does here. Lush and lively with red fruit flavors mixed with a touch of oak. A steal!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 10-26-2016
I and Jim Chanteloup (former rhone buyer and long time K&Ler) met Betty and Franck Millet on Easter Sunday 1994 in beaune of all places. They had asked me if they could show their wines and they came to Beaune Easter Sunday morning. We liked the wines and the rest is history-22 years of selling well-priced Loire Valley wines. The Insolite is the top of the line for Franck and Betty and we sell more of this wine than anyone else in the world-words from Franck's mouth last September when we visited him. The 2015 is richer than the 2014, but still has that focused. laser like mouthfeel. Penty of acidity to insure good cellar life, but excellent now. There will be less of the 2016 becasue of adverse weather conditions.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2010 Andron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 10-23-2016
This wine is a bit modern, but sweet and sexy for a 2010--drinkable now or fit for the cellar. Little did we know that the wine was rated 91 points by WS when we bought it. We score it 92 points.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2010 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc
Review Date: 10-23-2016
This 2010 is a keeper for a few years--it is bright and fruity and has round tannins. Much softer than some of its neighbors in 2010. I love the dominant red fruit flavors.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lamouroux Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 10-23-2016
The second label of Grand Enclos du Château de Cérons. 60% Semillon, 30% Sauvignon Blanc, 10% Sauvignon Gris. This white 2015s are very good as they are a bit richer than 2014s and are good crossover wines from California Sauvignon Blancs. This wine has citrus notes on the nose and some white flower on the palate. Not as austere as the 2013 or 2014.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Tour de Mons, Margaux
Review Date: 10-23-2016
A property we have followed off and on over the past 10 years. Ralph especially loves their 2010. We had great success selling that vintage and this wine was just as good--perhaps a little softer but still dense and rich with a long life ahead of it. Very long and lingering finish here.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2010 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 10-16-2016
An ager with deep, concentrated aromas of toasted oak, smoke and Asian spice. Big wine but very silky for a 2010 wine. Will age a long time, but good to drink in next five years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 10-16-2016
61% Cab Sauv, 37% Merlot etc. Spicy aromas with some undertones of violets. Lovely wine that is forward and fresh. Toasty oak and red berry flavors. Very precise wine. Value!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2001 Rauzan-Segla, Margaux
Review Date: 10-16-2016
One of my favorite vintages to drink now and this does not disappoint. Soft and elegant wine with red berry flavors. Fabulous to drink today or next year.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-16-2016
70% Merlot and 30% Cab Franc. Soft and elegant. Unctuous with tons of black fruits on the palate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2005 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-16-2016
Wow! Powerful and fairly tannic wine that needs some years in your cellar. Licorice and gingerbread aromas with blackberry fruit flavors. Super structure and balance. Another solar vintage but more apparent power on the palate. 80% Merlot
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2006 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-16-2016
This was stunning in April at the property and we ordered some immediately. This wine was rich and sweet on the nose and palate with some blue and some black berry nuances. Has tannic finish but should be fine in a few years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2009 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-16-2016
The great solar vintage really shines bright here. Toasty oak and vanilla aromas. So opulent with great spice and lively acidity—Blackberries abound.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 de Pitray, Castillon
Review Date: 10-15-2016
This ancient property (700 years old) has a beautiful Manor House that was built in the 16th Century by the Segur family, famous for their ownership of Calon Segur, Lafite, and Latour. We tasted it on our April 2016 tasting trip and bought one hundred cases--fantastic value, this wine has a sweet core of fruit on the palate. Perfect everyday drinking red or large party red at under $15.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 La Gravette de Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 10-15-2016
This is the first time we have carried this beauty--the second wine of Vieux Chateau Certan, one of the best properties in all of Bordeaux. We tasted it on our first day in Bordeaux on our 2016 buying trip. We bought all that was available--only 180 bottles. Pure framboise on the nose and palate. Lush, sweet, and sexy. Buy it and enjoy now or ten years from now.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 91

2014 Haut Charmes, Sauternes
Review Date: 10-15-2016
A perfect score for price vs quality group. We have carried this in the past but now all the juice comes from the famous Ch. Suduiraut. Full bottles for under $20--a steal. Coconut and pineapple nuances on the nose and palate. Great acidity and quite unctuous--tastes so good now.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine du Grand Ormeau, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 10-15-2016
Another wine that we found on our buying trip in April 2016. First time to carry this wine, we found it to be very spicy with tons of blackberry fruit flavors and a modern touch on the palate. Fine acid balance holds it together. Some of the finest Bordeaux values are from the 2012 vintage and from the Lalande de Pomerol region. 80% Merlot with 10% each of Cab Sauvignon and Franc.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next