Staff Favorites - Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce

Reviews

2016 Halcón "Alturas" Yorkville Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 05-17-2018
We couldn't be happier seeing these delicious Halcon wines net some solid press recognition recently! Their wines have continued to impress since the first 2009 vintage graced the K&L shelves. This 2016 shows gorgeous aromatics of violets, blue fruits, and fresh grilled meats. Brambly black and blue fruits, bacon fat, black pepper, an broad tanin finish stand out on an incredibly structured palate that, while rich, never goes overboard into too ripe or cloying territory. There is a ton of aging potential in this wine if you can hold off.

2014 Liquid Farm "Golden Slope" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-22-2018
I will echo my colleagues below with more adoration of Liquid Farm! I have been around long enough to have tried a handful of vintages from them and continue to be very, very impressed. This "Golden Slope" offering is their house favorite; the nose is bursting with crushed herbs and white flower, the palate has a lovely, soft texture with stone fruits and pretty acidity. Fresh comes to mind frequently while tasting this wine. This is quite an impressive bottle of Chardonnay!

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-02-2017
I was sampling this highly anticipated gin with Andrew and joking about how many different bottles of gin are currently open in both of our homes. Turns out our "problems" are very similar: the Four Pillars empties quickly and, instead of moving on to the many other open gin bottles in our liquor cabinets, we find ourselves going back to the well and buying more Four Pillars every time! The staff members have been keen on trying this new Faultline offering from them since we heard a rumor that DD was heading out to blend a special release. It does not disappoint, with a special blend of local herbs and botanicals combining with that trademark citrus zip, I had a hard time putting the glass down. Just like the Rare Dry gin, this will work wonders in damn near every cocktail you throw it at. I can't wait to get my hands on a bottle (who am I kidding, bottles) and start experimenting!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tablas Creek "Côtes de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 06-05-2017
39% Grenache / 35% Syrah / 16% Counoise / 10% Mourvedre Ripe raspberry and bing cherry fruits, with white pepper, smoked meat, and wild game notes with some serious grip on the finish. There is a freshness and lift to this wine that gives a focus and precision that kept our attention. Seriously tasty release of Tablas this vintage!

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-05-2017
One of the true staff favorites, this Champagne comes off as rich and ripe, but the acidity cuts right through leaving an extremely well balanced, wonderfully complex and driving wine in your glass. Black cherry, brioche, and hazelnut complement. Think Krug at almost a quarter of the price!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-05-2017
Hot damn, Enrique Fonseca has done it again! The brains behind the majority of our favorite tequilas over the past few years is pushing the boundaries of the agave spirit once more. The intrigue behind his products started with the ArteNom selections in 2011, and grew substantially with the first Fuenteseca release; a blend of up to 21 year old tequila's that I never thought would be topped. Well, today I had a sip of the new Fuenteseca Blanco Singular release, and now I have at least a tie between my two favorite tequila's ever, and from a Blanco no less (I will be revisiting the last few drops of that 21 YO blend tonight, for science)! Do yourself a favor and read the full write up David did for the blog and email, then don't hesitate to buy a bottle and enjoy this piece of history in the making. It is a pure expression of the best Agave Jalisco has to offer, and it is an expressive, structured, magical liquid.
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-31-2016
This is the "quintessential California" profile that so many Chardonnay drinkers prefer, but at under $18 and in a truly well-made style! It has the "buttery" profile, but with nice acidity to keep it from crossing into the "too heavy" territory; oak integration that doesn't overwhelm, and the classic tropical fruit notes that shine, all working in a well-balanced harmony. A true crowd-pleaser for your next cocktail hour event!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-19-2016
Looking back at my notes from the 2013 WOS Cabernet and this new 2014 vintage, the same sentence stood out: "How the hell is this (still) $15?!" Washington has long passed Napa and Sonoma for having the most consistent bang-for-your-buck Cab/Syrah/Merlot wines in the $10-$30 price range, but this offering is just ridiculous. A big and powerful wine overall, this 2014 WOS shows plenty of dark berry and currant fruit, with a smattering spice and toasty French Oak. This is a perfect companion to any backyard BBQ in the months ahead!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-21-2015
We, along with enough customers (and critics) to quickly sell out the last couple batches, fell in love with the Cut Spike whiskey. The first time we tasted this American Single Malt we were floored. This current bottling is a bit brighter, with great clove, ginger and banana bread spice notes. Grab a bottle while you can! 'Merica!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 05-31-2015
The Mas Codina Cava is easily a top sparkler in the store at $14. It is the house sparkling wine for most of our staff and has even been the wedding sparkler of choice, which speaks to the quality! Well balanced with a touch of red fruit from the pinot, green apple skin, beautiful mineral qualities, and a dry finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Fromm has been crushing it with their Pinot Noir the last couple vintages! Fresh red fruit and rose petal aromatics, vibrant and spicy mid palate, pure fruit without being rich or cloying, and fine tannins on the finish. Every sip continued to impress with overall vibrancy and balance. Outstanding stuff!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 01-26-2015
One of our favorite Direct Import deals, the San Venanzio is full of fresh pear and peaches and cream, with a refreshing, mineral driven finish that will make you wonder how that first glass disappeared so quickly!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-26-2015
Grab this wine while it lasts!!! This 2010 Bordeaux benefits greatly from the magnificent 2010 vintage. Pure red fruit, mineral driven mid palate with medium tanin give this wine fantastic structure. Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2009 Malmaison, Moulis-en-Médoc
Review Date: 12-01-2014
An amazing vintage from vineyards managed by the Rothschild family helps make the 2009 Malmaison Moulis a top Bordeaux deal! Pure, rich fruit, great spice, and a long finish. Beautiful wine that should not be missed!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-02-2014
Rich and toasty, yet fresh and focused, this Champagne is chock full of stone fruit and hazelnut. As mentioned, this is a lot of wine for the price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-30-2013
Each time the Bruno Michel Blanche retuns to stock the staff becomes a bit giddy to both sell and consume quite a few bottles. Bruno Michel is one of our DI estates that is very, very proud of their meunier and are not afraid to show it. So very complex, this wine shows notes apple, citrus, mineral,toast and balanced all in harmony.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2010 Brewer-Clifton "3-D" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-18-2013
This is quite an intriguing bottle of wine with plenty of depth and character. It starts with nice bright red cherry and savory spice. The whole cluster green notes show which lends a floral herbaceous quality as well. Green tea, rose hips, and fine tanins round out the 3-D Pinot Noir and make for a very interesting bottle to forget in the cellar for a few years!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
ST 93 RP 91

Logsdon Farmhouse Ales "Seizoen Bretta" Saison, Oregon (750ml)
Review Date: 12-31-2012
David Logsdon, the old Full Sail brewer/partner, really hit his stride with these beers. Clean and delicious, the brett really adds a great dry, complex finish to the bright citrus and pear (bottle conditioned with pear juice for natural carbonation) notes. Outstanding beer!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
A great toasty, rich, dry brut to serve at any occasion, be it with food or without. Clean and pure, this is well balanced champagne with great apple and nut notes at an unbelievable price.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2011
Fleury is one of K&L staff members favorite Champagne producers hands down. His wines are all of absolute top notch quality. This bottle is full of crisp cherry on the nose and weighty palate. The finish is quite dry yet lingers until the next sip. Fantastic.

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 10-31-2011
This is a fresh, mineral and citus noted, delightfully refreshing french sparkling wine without the big price tag. Stock up for your holiday parties!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2011
This is another outstanding, easy to like champagne from Bonville. 100% estate chardonnay from three vintages, this bottle intertwines clean citrus and crisp apple with solid, chalky minerality to create some seriously great bubbles. Refreshing alone on a warm summer day or paired with some of your favorite seafood appetizers, this champagne is sure to please.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2011
Crisp and clean with light fruit on the palate, this Ariston Blanc de Blanc is a real crowd pleaser! Apple nose and a creamy body balanced with a solid mineral mid palate makes for a slightly more complex blanc de blanc thats affordable. Grab a couple bottles for your next occcasion!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart