Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
This is my new “go-to” summer red! The aromas of black cherry and cassis jump from the glass and are followed by hints of cassis, plums, mocha and blueberries. The wine is fresh and does not come across as heavy. This will pair perfect with your summertime grilling and comes across as a $50+ bottle!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The 2016 Leoville Barton shows dark concentrated fruits, minerals, cedar, allspice and a firm structure. This is a sturdy wine with lots of power. A good cellar candidate!

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Mont de Milieu" 1er Cru
Review Date: 07-05-2017
The “Mont de Milieu” is my favorite from the La Chablisienne line up. Coming from the right bank of the river, this wine is loaded with crisp green apples, lime and that classic “wet-stone” fruit. This wine just jumps from the glass and begs for another sip!

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "La Sereine"
Review Date: 07-05-2017
Crisp with a lovely citrus component, this wine is fresh and lively. A very classic Chablis from a great vintage!10% barrel aging for the “La Sereine” helps round out this beauty.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Les Venerables" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-05-2017
The “Les Venerables” from La Chablisienne is a selection of “old vines” from a variety of different vineyards. Average age of the vines used for this blend is 50 years old. The 2014 is very rich and broad in the mouth. It has a creamy, ripe core of fruit and a long,fleshy finish. I would not guess this as a 2014 vintage as it almost comes across as a 2015 with its high level of ripeness. Very delicious!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WE 90

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-29-2017
My two favorite wines from the Domaine Bart lineup were the “Ouzeloy” and the “Clos du Roi”. Of the two, the “Ouzeloy” was the more upfront and sweeter wine. It shows a velvety texture followed by a seductive, fresh, slightly toasty finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-29-2017
The Marsannay Rouge shows that classic “red cherry cola” quality that I love in Burgundy. This is a spicy wine that shows lots of zest and verve with a juicy, sweet mid-palate. Excellent to pair with lighter summer BBQ dishes!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 06-29-2017
The 2015 Domaine Bart wines are truly exciting wines. The Bourgogne Rouge has aromas of sweet herbs, earth, spice and red fruits, which are followed by a round, silky texture and long finish. The ripe fruit from the vintage really shine in this Pinot Noir value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Siran, Margaux
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 Siran, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
A real winner from the 2016 vintage for the money! This wine shows a wonderful silky texture with an exotic sweet core of red and black currant fruit that lingers on the finish. A sleeper!

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release.

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
I heard good things about this wine from our group that tasted in March. Generally I try to block out these comments but I feel they are well deserved with this wine. The 2016 D’Armaillac shows lots of spicy fruit with hints of cola, black cherry and blackberries. This is a sexy wine that should be a great pick to enjoy early and even upon release!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-27-2017
An excellent Phelan Segur that is packed with deep concentrated dark fruits, hints of graphite, minerals and spice. Fresh and ripe tannins, this wine is an excellent mid-term cellar pick!

2016 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The 2016 shows classic Pichon Lalande aromas of earth, spice and clove. Upfront the wine is velvety, round and juicy. Elegance abounds in the mid-palate and the finish shows wonderful lift and verve. This is another example of a 2016 that far outshines the 2015.

2016 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Very dark in color with intense black currant fruit, this is a wonderful Lynch Bages that far surpasses the 2015. It shows lots of power while still showing a velvety texture and mouthwatering finish. Tannins are integrated, ripe and fresh. This is the wine for the cellar but should still show well early on.

2016 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Very dark in color with intense black currant fruit, this is a wonderful Lynch Bages that far surpasses the 2015. It shows lots of power while still showing a velvety texture and mouthwatering finish. Tannins are integrated, ripe and fresh. This is the wine for the cellar but should still show well early on.

2016 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rose
Review Date: 06-09-2017
When traveling in France, there is always a risk of tasting a wine that shows amazing while on the trip but disappoints when it arrives in the US. When we tasted this wine at a lunch at Chateau de Javernand in the Beaujolais, with the weather being nearly perfect, I knew as I committed to 100 cases that this could be one of those times. After tasting a bottle here at the Los Angeles store when it just recently arrived, I am happy to report that this wine is still spot on! It is fresh, clean, very lively, soft on entry and perfectly delicate on the finish. Perfect summer rosé!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Beaune 1er Cru "Clos des Vignes Franches"
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Benoit Giradin’s Beaune “Clos des Vignes Franches” is the darkest, deepest of the bunch. It is round, rich and velvety in the mouth with hints of cherry cola and blackberries. This wine has a nice tannic backbone and should age quite nicely.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Santenay 1er Cru "Gravieres"
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Benoit Girardin took over for his father about 5 years ago. The 2015’s are the best wines that I have tasted from this propert. The aromas from the “Gravieres” just jump from the glass like a basket of freshly picked fruit. The texture of this wine is silky and elegant, with spicy red fruits that linger on the finish. Delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-08-2017
For those of you who enjoyed his Bourgogne Pinot Noir we had earlier in the year, this is a similar styled wine with just with a bit more complexity and depth. Despite its price, this wine comes from vines that average 60 years old. Very bright high-toned fruit with lots of red cherry and strawberry flavors, which are followed by a crunchy, spicy finish!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Gravains"
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Of Giboulot’s single vineyard Savigny’s, "Aux Gravains" is probably my favorite. 1/3 of the grapes used for this wine are whole cluster pressed, which adds a bit of grip and complexity to the wine. The fruit is explosive in the mouth with a sweet, juicy middle core which is balanced with structure and acidity. Tannins on the finish are velvety and the finish is long.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-07-2017
Simple, pure and delicious! 100% de-stemmed fruit, no new oak and fermented in open top casks, this is a delicate yet juicy wine that is lively and fresh on the finish. Very food friendly!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is one of the darker, juicier Savigny Les Beaunes I have had the pleasure of tasting. Lots of black currants, plums and blueberry flavors with a hint of mocha fill the mouth and linger on the finish. Quite delicious!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-07-2017
What gets me about this wine is the terrific balance it shows between the ripe, fruit driven 2015 vintage and a “hands off”, classic winemaking approach. Of course this “hands off” approach works best when Mother Nature works in your favor, as it did in 2015. This wine does see 1/3 new oak, which helps to add that lush, round mouth feel that is followed by a lovely freshness.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
The quality of 2015 Beaujolais is really something special. These are wines that we all should be buying and not only drinking but cellaring as well. The Amethyste is a dark and broad wine that has a bit more structure and depth than the Vieilles Vignes. This is the perfect Beaujolais to put a case in your cellar and enjoy over the next 5 years.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Freres Perroud Bourgogne Pinot Noir (organic)
Review Date: 04-04-2017
Unfortunately we were limited with the amount of Pinot Noir we could get this year. Production was down drastically with all the weather issues the region had in 2015. This is an easy drinking, everyday wine that over-delivers for the money. It shows sweet, ripe currant flavors and a surprisingly rich mouth feel followed by a silky texture. Lots going on with this wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Eisele Vineyard Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-23-2017
This wine is obviously still a baby and has a long life ahead of it. While still being powerful and dense, it shows amazing purity and freshness. Flavors of blackberries, black cherry and plums are mixed in with hints of cedar and spice. This is serious wine that I would keep in my cellar and start to enjoy in 10-15 years and should last for many more.

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 12-14-2016
The 1935 Morgon shows a concentration and depth that you would not expect from the Gamay grape at this price. It is well balanced, deep and shows hints of graphite and pepper!

2014 Claude Dugat Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 12-01-2016
I love the nose on this wine! It shows a vibrant, candied, bright cherry fruit quality that grabs your attention right out of the gate. In the mouth the wine is slightly aggressive and definitely high in acidity. Still a young wine with plenty of fruit, this will be a wine to buy now and enjoy in 3-5 years down the road.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Joseph Phelps "Insignia" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-06-2016
First produced in the 1974 vintage, Insignia is the first proprietary Bordeaux-style blend produced in California. Beginning with the 2004 vintage, the Insignia is sourced from entirely estate-grown fruit. The 2013 vintage is a classic Insignia. It is dense, powerful and shows lots of structure but all of that is hidden underneath layers of fresh, ripe fruit. Hints of bittersweet chocolate, plums, vanilla bean and spice linger on the finish. A great effort on their 40th anniversary!

2015 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
Review Date: 10-01-2016
This 100% Gamay Noir wine comes from a 4 acre vineyard where the average age of the vines are 65 years old. Soil type is clay and red granite sand. This is really a serious Brouilly which shows wonderful fruit, a juicy, lush texture and finishes with spicy ruby red fruits and mineral hints. A nice peak into the quality of the 2015s!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 09-13-2016
The Renaud wines have been my “go-to” picks for many years now when I am looking for inexpensive refreshing Chardonnay. The St Veran is probably the most aromatic wine in their line-up. The mouth is round and creamy with nearly tropical fruit and hints of toast and spice.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vieux-Château-Certan, Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This one wowed us! Amazingly pure and elegant, with a velvety texture and seamless lush sweet core of fruit that goes on and on in the mouth; it is not a monster but the definition of elegance, balance and finesse -A blend of 80% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc and 1% Cabernet Sauvignon.

2015 La Mission Haut-Brion Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Densely concentrated fruit with hints of graphite, minerals and spice, the 2015 La Mission is very rich and sweet in the mouth yet still shows amazing freshness and purity. Could be a pick for wine of the vintage!

2015 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Love this nose! Hints of cedar, spice, black cherry and licorice, this wine is polished and pure. The mid-palate fruit is round and full with a long spicy finish. This should be an excellent wine for the cellar but will be quite approachable upon release.

2015 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-03-2016
Loaded with tons of red fruits and a velvety texture, the 2015 Malartic is a big time winner in my book! There are hints of minerals, chocolate and spice, the wine is full and rich in the mouth, with a super long fresh finish. Tannins are ripe and integrated.

2014 Jacques Bavard Santenay Rouge
Review Date: 05-31-2016
This is a new wine for Bavard. It shows a bit more concentration, depth of fruit and grip. The fruit here is also a bit darker and more mineral. Another excellent food wine!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 05-31-2016
This vintage shows a bright cherry character, with fine-grained tannins, lovely perfume and spice along with a very red-fruited long finish. It is fresh and lively! Perfect wine for summer sipping and will pair well with a variety of food.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard St-Romain Blanc "Sous le Château"
Review Date: 05-31-2016
This wine comes from one of the best sites in St-Romain “Sous le Chateau”. This wine shows the most potential for a bit of cellaring. It is very tight and focused with tons of acidity and mineral hints that carry through to the finish. It shows excellent verve and tension.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard St-Romain Blanc
Review Date: 05-31-2016
A blend of fruit from the vineyards “Sous la Velle” and “Sous la Chateau” the St-Romain village is known for its cool climate and rocky soils. Lots of minerals and hints of citrus are followed by a long spicy finish.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 05-31-2016
This wines is always the wine that sells out the quickest. The 2014 is very open and approachable. It shows a lovely middle richness and creamy texture that gives way to a crisp, fresh finish. Wonderful acidity this vintage!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Troplong Mondot, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-30-2016
2015 Troplong Mondot shows a rich, ripe and nearly exotic fruit character that is touched with a hint of toasty oak and chocolate. The mouth is broad and concentrated. This will be a good wine for mid-term cellaring!

2015 l'Evangile, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Along with 2010 Petrus and a few others, this could be one of the greatest wines I have ever tasted out of barrel. In the mouth the wine is so rich, polished and lush that it practically melts into you. Hints of cedar, cola and black currants are followed by a long, sweet and spicy finish that last for at least a minute. A blend of 84% Merlot and 16% Cabernet Franc, this wine has a nearly perfect balance between power and finesse. Wow!

2015 Vieux-Château-Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This one wowed us! Amazingly pure and elegant, with a velvety texture and seamless lush sweet core of fruit that goes on and on in the mouth; it is not a monster but the definition of elegance, balance and finesse -A blend of 80% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Franc and 1% Cabernet Sauvignon.

2015 Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A blend of 44% Merlot, 50% Cabernet Sauvignon and 6% Petit Verdot, this wine is dark and inky in color, loaded with black licorice, mocha, and sweet blueberries. This is a big wine with lots of structure and tannin but it shows amazing purity of fruit, length and freshness. I liked this more than the rest of the group. Having recently tasted the 2005 and 1990, it is difficult to beat Chateau Palmer when it is firing on all cylinders!

2015 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This was a candidate for wine of the vintage from most of our group. It is quite open in the nose for Ducru with layers of sweet fruit, mocha, graphite and minerals in the mouth. There are firm but ripe tannins. The wine is very balanced and long on the finish. It is dense and powerful but deceptively supple and fleshy. I must buy this wine for my cellar!

2015 Petit-Village, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Aromatic nose, round and lush fruit, juicy texture with hints of mocha and black cherries; Easy to taste- soft and fleshy! This was one of the first wines we tasted on our first full day so I was a bit unsure of my notes. Luckily we tasted it several more times and I enjoyed it every time. A winner in 2015!

2015 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
A blend of 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc, this is a seriously good wine. Dark chewy fruit, intensely concentrated, hints of black cherry and smoke but not overdone, spicy, ripe and fleshy in the mid-palate; the finish is long and fresh. Definite buy!

2015 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Very fresh and ripe nose, velvety, sweet fruit, hints of red licorice, elegant with a long, spicy finish. Complex and very fine, fresh; should drink well upon release

Page: 1 2 next