Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2010 World's End "Good Times Bad Times" To Kalon Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-03-2015
Last year we tasted Chateau Teyssier with Jonathan Malthus in St Emilion on our Bordeaux Buying Trip. Behind him was the entire line of Malthus wines, including all his California wines. I thought it was odd seeing a lineup of Napa wines in the heart of St Emilion. The “big boy” in this lineup is this wine. It is 100% Cabernet Sauvignon sourced from the Beckstoffer To-Kalon vineyard. This wine shows very ripe fruit in the nose with tons of vanilla bean and cocoa powder aromas. In the mouth the wine is fairly rich and plush while the finish is round and creamy. Fans of California Cabernet will love this wine. I don’t think you will find a better deal out there for a “Beckstoffer To Kalon” fruit sourced wine!

2012 Domaine Gros Frere et Soeur Clos Vougeot Grand Cru "Musigni"
Review Date: 05-06-2015
One of my favorite producers is Domaine Gros Frère & Soeur. The style of the property is pretty straightforward: Big, rich and ripe fruit with a healthy dose of new oak. In good vintages, the wines of Gros Frère are voluptuous, bordering exotic. His wines drink and show well young, which is another reason I really like this property—as patience is not one of my virtues. The 2012 Musigni is a serious wine, jam- packed with intense fruit, lots of spicy undertones, hints of bacon fat, smoke and black cherry fruit. This wine shows quite a bit of structure and power, so you might want to put it in the cellar for 5-10 years.

2012 Olivier Leflaive St-Aubin 1er Cru "Charmois"
Review Date: 05-06-2015
In the mouth this wine really shows explosive richness and depth of fruit. The round entry is balanced out with a wonderfully crisp, acidic backbone; hints of lemon, green apple and a slightly toasty edge really make this wine a pleasure to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Snowden "The Ranch" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-10-2015
This is a very approachable and drinkable 2012 Cabernet! It is loaded with supple, juicy fruit along with hints of minerals, cedar and spice. The wine shows excellent balance and acidity, which allows the wine to remain focused and fresh. The blend for the 2012 is 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 14% Merlot, 8% Cabernet Franc, and 3% Petit Verdot. Delicious Napa Cab!

2012 Araujo "Altagracia" Napa Valley Proprietary Red
Review Date: 02-26-2015
The 2012 Altagracia shows a focused core of red currant fruit intertwined with minerals and graphite flavors. Not made with a heavy hand, this wine shows a wonderful purity of fruit and balance that lingers on through to the finish. This classic Bordeaux blend from Araujo will improve with some extra bottle age and be delicious over the next 5-10 years.

2012 Lewis Cellars "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Nearly black in color, this concentrated Cabernet is loaded with dark black cherry fruit, licorice, and graphite, with hints of smoke and mocha flavors that linger on the finish. Despite this wine’s size and depth; it is remarkably round, supple and fresh. Tannins are big but ripe and integrated. Patience will be rewarded for those who can put this bottle away for 5-10 years but I doubt many bottles will make it that long, as this wine shows so well even at this young age. One of the best 2012 Cabernets we have had in the store so far!
Price: $129.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 96

2012 Adelsheim Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-28-2015
The 2012 Adelsheim Pinot Noir is another winner from the excellent 2012 vintage in Oregon. This wine is delightfully fresh and bright, with a juicy mid-core of red cherry fruit that lingers on through the finish. I love the silky mouthfeel of this wine, while it still has that lively, crisp, food friendly appeal. Delicious!

2013 Charles & Charles Washington Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-27-2015
A screaming deal from the 2014 Wine Enthusiast “Winemaker of the Year” Charles Smith and Charles Bieler of Three Thieves wine company! This little gem of a Chardonnay shows flavors of fresh green apples, pear and wet stone. There is plenty of richness in the mouth with hints of melon and lime, which linger on through to the finish. This cool climate Chardonnay sees about 22% barrel fermentation and aging to help round out its bright and fresh acidity. Great buy +!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2013 Au Contraire Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-22-2014
Au Contraire is a brand new project that has turned out a fabulous debut Chardonnay from the Russian River Valley. I love the balance and freshness of this wine. In the mouth the wine is creamy with hints of tropical fruit, lime and toast. It is balanced and the finish is long and lingering. Excellent buy!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

2013 Brewer-Clifton/K&L Wine Merchants "B-C. Kessler-Haak Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2014
Fans of Santa Rita Pinot Noir will love this wine. This unique blend from the Kessler Haak vineyard is loaded with red fruits, Asian spice and cola notes. The texture is lush and round in the mouth while the finish is supple and smooth. Even though this Pinot Noir is still very young it is drinking great right now and should develop even more complexity with some extra time in the bottle. A very cool wine to serve friends as it is a unique item that can only be found at K&L!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Daou Vineyards Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-14-2014
This is the most bang for the buck you can get in California! Loaded with black licorice, mocha, black cherry, cola and Asian spices, the 2013 Daou really blew me away. The concentration of this wine is deep and intense, while still keeping a round, seamless mouth feel. When you taste this wine it is hard to believe it is under $25!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 92

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-11-2014
One of our suppliers was kind enough to hold this wine for several years before we purchased it for a ridiculous price (that is one way to look at it). A few extra years in the bottle has really rounded out and opened up the wine. It is just starting to hit its stride now as there is still plenty of tannin and structure underneath the enormous amount of fruit and toasty oak. Still, with a little air this wine is delicious right now!

2012 Turnbull Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-04-2014
The 2012 Napa explodes from the glass, while the texture is rich, decadent and lush in the mouth. There is lots of structure and tannin here but the tannins are juicy and ripe. Still a baby, this is a big wine that is surprisingly drinkable at this stage but will keep improving in the bottle over the next 5-10 years.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Turnbull Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 11-04-2014
The 2012 Sauvignon Blanc from Turnbull shows lots of citrus flavors with a mid-core of creamy fruit. The finish comes back with some zing and is bright and fresh. Love this wine at 12.7% ABV.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Joseph Phelps "Insignia" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-04-2014
In warm vintages such as 2007, I feel Insignia is too much for me. The cooler 2011 vintage really allows this wine to still have that typical Phelps fruit but with much more restraint and a bit more elegance and finesse. This is a solid effort for the vintage!

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-04-2014
Fans of California Cabernet will love this wine. It is rich, concentrated in the mouth with blackberry fruit, graphite and spicy oak, which lingers in the back. What I loved about this wine is the richness of fruit without being sweet. There is structure and tannin but it is balanced, seamless and silky on the finish
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2013 Kalinda "Clone 828 Reserve" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-07-2014
Exotic, spicy and ripe aromas jump from the glass. The mouthfeel is lush, explosive and layered. The finish is spicy, silky and long. This is flat-out delicious Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99

2013 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-04-2014
Pretty floral fruit, spicy, red currants, focused and balanced, fresh, tannins are integrated and firm--will be a wine to buy if price is right. 89-91 points.

2013 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-04-2014
A blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc, 6% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot, the 2013 Calon Segur shows aromas and flavors of coffee, black tea, red cherries and dried tobacco leaf. This is a rustic style wine in every vintage, but I do find the 2013 to have plenty of fruit to carry through to the finish. Tannins are firm and sturdy. 89-91 points.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-04-2014
A blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc, 6% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot, the 2013 Calon Segur shows aromas and flavors of coffee, black tea, red cherries and dried tobacco leaf. This is a rustic style wine in every vintage, but I do find the 2013 to have plenty of fruit to carry through to the finish. Tannins are firm and sturdy. 89-91 points.

2011 La Jota Howell Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-21-2014
The 2011 La Jota Howell Mountain Cabernet is a super effort! In a vintage like 2011, if a winemaker tries to do too much with the wine in the cellars, the wine will come out rough, unbalanced and green. The 2011 La Jota was created with a light hand. It shows tons of spicy red currant fruit, minerals and cedar hints. There is a wonderful freshness that explodes from the glass! This is an earlier drinking wine that shows great right now with some air.

2013 Margerum "K&L Blend" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-20-2014
Wow! This wine came out fantastic! We blended this wine back in early February with Doug at the winery. We had 6 lots to taste. We ended up choosing a blend of 3 of the lots. The wine is a great example of what kind of Sauvignon Blanc can be grown in California. While still having a tropical fruit element upfront, the acidity is what keeps this wine together and focused. It is rich, fruity and loaded with citrus on the backend. Although a great wine for summertime sipping, it shows so much complexity and richness, that this wine would even be better paired with food.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$14.99

2013 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-14-2014
This wine has a crazy nose. My first thought was a young J. Swan Zinfandel - that is how ripe this wine was in the nose. In the mouth it calms down a bit, revealing its Cabernet backbone and displaying surprising freshness and acidity. This is a very interesting wine that should drink well young. 91-93 points.

2013 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-14-2014
Composed of 82% Cabernet Sauvignon and 18% Merlot, the 2013 is an open-knit, dark and lush wine that coats the palate with fruit and flavors of mocha and black currants. Tannins are integrated and ripe but still firm. It's a tad strong, but really a solid effort, bordering on the exotic. 91-93 points.

2013 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-14-2014
Classic Pauillac, with black licorice and black currant aromas and flavors. There's lots of fruit and tannin but it stays balanced, with nice, silky mid-palate fruit and a tannic finish. 89-91 points.

2013 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-14-2014
68% Cabernet Sauvignon, 29% Merlot and 3% Petit Verdot. The 2013 Montrose is tight, tannic and closed right now. Rustic. The fruit was hard to find. We tasted this wine twice and I have similar notes. English tasters seemed to think the wines was excellent, however. Maybe not for the American palate?

2013 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 05-14-2014
46% Cabernet Sauvignon, 46% Merlot and 8% Petit Verdot. Lots of cola, licorice, red currants, smoke and cedar. Good fruit, ripe tannins, medium bodied, balanced and fresh. Fine tannins. Good value! Early drinker. Long, fresh and lingering finish. Sleeper. 91-93 points. Ralph: I'm absolutely wild about this wine! So much more sweet fruit to enjoy, hints of passion fruit and perfectly ripe grapes. Round and lush, this wine may not live as long as the first wine but it is flat out delicious and will be the first wine I buy. **

2013 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-14-2014
The 2013 Cos is a solid effort. On the nose, the wine reveals toasty and exotic aromas with hints of coco powder and graphite. The fruit is spicy, full and balanced on the palate with firm but ripe tannins which hold the wine together. I would expect this will to be one of the longer-lived wines of the vintage. 91-93 points.

2013 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-13-2014
For the first time ever, Pichon-Lalande is 100% Cabernet Sauvignon. It is very lush and rich in the mouth, showing classic sweet herb, coffee flavors and hints of mocha. Tannins are ripe and sweet with a lingering finish. Should be an early drinker! 91-93 points.

2013 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 05-12-2014
A solid effort for the vintage! Plenty of upfront fruit, spice and hints of toasty oak, this wine has plenty of structure and tannin that is still integrated into the wine. The 2013 is a blend of 45% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Cabernet Franc, 10% Petit Verdot and 30% Merlot. 87-89 points.

2013 Clinet, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-09-2014
Loaded with flavors of crushed berries, sweet bright high toned fruit and ripe, juicy tannins. Shows well! 88-90 points.

2013 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-08-2014
Big wine, lots of power and depth of fruit, spice. Silky midpalate but then grabs you on the finish. 88-90 points.

2012 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-08-2014
The 2012 Haut-Bailly will provide pure pleasure five to seven years after release. It shows flavors of black currant and black cherries that are surrounded by hints of cedar, mineral and licorice. The tannins are present but should round out nicely by the time this wine is bottled. A solid effort in a difficult vintage!

2013 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Review Date: 05-08-2014
Big and chewy, dark, meaty fruit, smoke, big tannins, masculine wine; 88-90 points.

2013 Vieux-Château-Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-05-2014
A blend of 92% Merlot and 8% Cabernet Franc, the VCC was showing excellent on the day we visited the property. It was delicious even at this young stage and I imagine it will be a wine that will show well early in its life. Lots of lush, mouthwatering fruit that lingers onto the finish. Tannins are integrated and ripe. 92-94 points.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 - 96 AG 90 - 93 WS 90 - 93
Limit of 6 per customer

2012 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-05-2014
When we tasted this wine I thought it was a bit shut down on the nose, but the palate was showing everything it had. Very rich and intense, the fruit showed a bit of a meaty quality along with flavors of black cherry, smoke and cassis. It is a darker, juicier style wine that does show some bigger tannins on the finish. Still balanced, this wine should be a good early- to mid-term drinker.

2012 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-05-2014
When we tasted this wine I thought it was a bit shut down on the nose, but the palate was showing everything it had. Very rich and intense, the fruit showed a bit of a meaty quality along with flavors of black cherry, smoke and cassis. It is a darker, juicier style wine that does show some bigger tannins on the finish. Still balanced, this wine should be a good early- to mid-term drinker.

2011 Mauvesin-Barton, Moulis
Review Date: 05-04-2014
Good fruit, very fresh, lively. A bit light, but clean and not green. Elegant. Good Value! We tasted this three times, and it was very good all three times.

2011 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-02-2014
Great balance, sweet fruit--almost jammy plum and red fruits--minerals, lots of spice. Polished.

2012 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 05-01-2014
A seductive nose with floral aromas leads to a fine, elegant and polished wine. The 2012 Margaux shows some power but this wine is defined by its elegance and purity. Tannins are integrated and supple. This wine should show well upon release but still manage to develop in a cellar for up to 20 years.

2013 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 05-01-2014
The 2013 Margaux is not as opulent as usual and a bit closed now. Nevertheless, it has a juicy texture and fine tannins, displaying ripe plum flavors accented by cola notes. It's not not super concentrated and I was hoping for more, but this is an early drinking vintage. 90-92 points.

2013 Margaux, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-01-2014
The 2013 Margaux is not as opulent as usual and a bit closed now. Nevertheless, it has a juicy texture and fine tannins, displaying ripe plum flavors accented by cola notes. It's not not super concentrated and I was hoping for more, but this is an early drinking vintage. 90-92 points.

2013 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-01-2014
A solid wine. Shows quite a bit of power. The fruit is laced with flavors of graphite, tar, tobacco leaf and minerals. It has lots of grip, but also balance and the structure to hold up. This may be one of the longer-lived '13s. 91-93 points.

2013 Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-01-2014
May be a candidate for wine of the vintage! A blend of 89% Cabernet Sauvignon, 7% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc, the 2013 Mouton is a sexy, elegant wine that really shows finesse and excellent middle sweetness. Tannins are on the lighter side. This should be delicious in its early years. 93-95 points.

2013 Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-01-2014
May be a candidate for wine of the vintage! A blend of 89% Cabernet Sauvignon, 7% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc, the 2013 Mouton is a sexy, elegant wine that really shows finesse and excellent middle sweetness. Tannins are on the lighter side. This should be delicious in its early years. 93-95 points.

2013 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-01-2014
Fruity and perfumed in the nose, with notes of coco powder and cigar box. There's a cola-like quality in the middle fruit, and is round and lush in the mouth, with ripe tannins. An early drinker and a good wine. 91-93 points.

2013 Lafite Rothschild, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-01-2014
98% Cabernet Sauvignon and 2% Merlot make up the 2013 Lafite blend. Though somewhat closed, the barrel sample showed upfront cedar, minerals and lead pencil flavors. The wine was balanced, with a dry finish. This is not a huge Lafite, but should be a good cellar candidate for the short to mid term. 91-93 points.

2013 Lafite Rothschild, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-01-2014
98% Cabernet Sauvignon and 2% Merlot make up the 2013 Lafite blend. Though somewhat closed, the barrel sample showed upfront cedar, minerals and lead pencil flavors. The wine was balanced, with a dry finish. This is not a huge Lafite, but should be a good cellar candidate for the short to mid term. 91-93 points.

2011 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 04-29-2014
Lots of perfume on the nose. Open, spicy and creamy on the mid-palate. Sweet, long and fresh. Medium-bodied. Lots of finesse. This is a natural wine, not overdone. 90-92 points.

2013 l'Evangile, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-29-2014
A blend of 87% Merlot and 13% Cabernet Franc, the 2013 L’Evangile is a candidate for wine of the vintage in my book! Lush, and silky in the mouth with hints of cola, raspberries, vanilla spice, this wine has one of the longer finishes we tasted this year. Finesse and purity come to mind. 93-95 points.

Page: 1 2 next