Staff Favorites - Kyle Kurani

Kyle Kurani

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2012 White Rock Napa Valley Claret
Review Date: 07-12-2016
Having tried White Rock for the first time today, I’m now kicking myself for taking so long to try these wines! The Claret is a great example of what Napa is capable of when paired with a house style that emphasizes balance and poise. Unmistakably California with deep rich notes of blueberry and black plum, very supple on the palate, the wine is lushly fruited and opulent. It continues on with deep notes of violets and coco powder, cassis as well. What really sets this wine apart however if the effortless balance it strikes. Supple tannins glide from front to finish; the wine is lifted by acidity that is bright but not harsh, just lending aliveness to the wine. I was quite taken with this wine, even more so when I saw the under $40 price tag.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Château de L'Aumerade "Cuvée Marie-Christine" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 07-01-2016
So beautifully delicate as soon as it pours into the glass, just a blush of light pink, leading to a nose of lifted white flowers, Bing cherry and orange blossom. A touch of weight on the palate, wild raspberry and white peaches are buoyed up with zippy, fresh acidity. Happily tried this before I knew how much it cost, SO pleasantly surprised when I saw the tiny price tag! This will help wash down many a late summer evening in our house!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

Fuenteseca Ensamble "2014 Edition" K&L Exclusive Extra Añejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2016
This Tequila is built on complexity and depth, harnessing the power of age but not overloading the richness that so often buries the delicate intricacies of Agave. This Tequila is aged perfectly to deliver a flavor profile that can only be built with time, but is still unmistakably pure Tequila. Cigar box and clove are the opening volley, hints of vanilla and a vibrant fresh agave note tell you this is some serious juice in the bottle. The palate is soft but alive, caramel, pear and citrus, spice, both pepper and baking. Simply put, this is absolutely unique in the Extra Anejo category and should not be missed.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Brown Estate Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 06-29-2016
This is a shining example of a Zin made in a very lush, supple, fruit-driven style, but that retains its balance and poise throughout. A wine being called fruit-forward can often indicate that it is overly ripe and extracted--but in this case, it means that the fruit is so pure, so brilliantly framed that it comes singing out of the glass. Boysenberry coulis, blueberry syrup are the first flavors on the palate, pure unadulterated blue fruit makes up the core of this wine. It finishes with just a kiss of warm peppery spice. There is a freshness and lift throughout the wine that gives it the tension it needs to avoid becoming flabby and just about the fruit. This is exuberant and unabashed Zinfandel, and an extremely well done version.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2012 Brown Estate Chiles Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 06-29-2016
This is a bramblier, darker Zinfandel than their Estate bottling. Still very opulent and lush, made in the same unabashed but balanced style, this wine cascades out of the glass with brambly red fruit and fresh picked strawberries. Concentrated plums, anise, and fig intermingle with black pepper, carried by supple tannins, super polished. just there to frame the wine. This is ultimately such a delicious wine, from a great Napa vintage, quite impressive.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Green & Red "Chiles Canyon" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 06-29-2016
92 point sub $20 Zinfandel? Heck yeah, absolutely deserved. In fact it is with a bit of hesitation that I see that score, one of our favorite wines year in and year out, hopefully it remembers the little people that were there from the beginning. This Zin grown back up in the Chiles canyon is a bit of a throwback, not jammy and bold, but concentrated and deep. Tannins are present and off a supple back bone to the wine, pure notes of raspberries and plum make up a red fruited core. The fruit is complimented by a pinch of fresh cracked black, and hints of vanilla with dried plums. After a few sips of this you forget that this is still on of the best deals to be found in Napa Valley Zin.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92

2013 Ladera Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-29-2016
Always one of our favorites for Napa Cabs that punches well above its’ weight class. The ‘13 Ladera continues that tradition, bringing us a wine that has richness and body that belies the reasonable $35 price tag. Densely aromatic, blackberries and thyme are the first wave, followed by hints of cassis and loam. Weighty on the palate, black licorice and plum gives a lower tone, warmed by spice from oak, cloves and vanilla richly wrap the wine in a lovely frame. Will all estate fruit going into this wine, they are able to control the entire process and really deliver killer wine at this price point.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Green & Red "Tip Top Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 06-29-2016
Napa fruit, from a high elevation. single vineyard, if those words were associated with a Cabernet, this would be triple the price tag. That makes this amazing Green and Red Zinfandel one of the best values to be found from California’s priciest growing region. This wine is old school Zinfandel at its best, densely fruited, opulent and structured without being overwrought, we are in love with this bottle for $24.99. Dense and brooding, filled with opaque fruit notes of black plum, licorice and rustic cherry notes. The power of this wine is felt in the mid palate and finish, savory notes of fresh forest floor intermingle with boysenberry and cedar, wrapped in tannins that are grippy, needed to stand up to the body of the wine. Zins made in this style give you a hedonistic pleasure in the immediate term, pair with anything you want to put on the grill, and will also stand to gain from 5+ years in the cellar.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 94

2012 White Rock Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-29-2016
Another great wine from-new-to me winery White Rock, who are making some great old school Cab and Clarets in Napa. This Cab is more structured and brooding than the Claret, apparent on the nose with rich blue fruit and violets, a kiss of leather and spice, incredibly intriguing right off the bat. Continuing through to a weighty palate chock full of ripe red fruits and savory notes of mint and spiced blueberries, delivered by a well structured palate. Medium firm tannin frame the wine well, barrel spice adds complexity without detracting from the pure Napa fruit profile. Very satisfying to drink, that all Napa Cab could be this complex and composed.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Neyers "304" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-29-2016
In a world of woody Chardonnay, this un-oaked version delivers a wonderful departure from the norm, while still bringing the purity and weight that the varietal is supposed to have. A nose of white peach and orchard fruits is accompanied by just a hint of nutty richness. In the mount this is softly textured, but from the fruit, not heavy with wood influence, give the wine a purity and freshness that is all wine. White peaches and toasted almonds blend nicely together on the mid palate, really great performance for a $20 bottle of Chardonnay.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Chuy's Vineyard" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-29-2016
The first word in my tasting notes was “Awesome” so I’m going to stick with that. This wine from Sonoma Valley has everything that I look for in the very well developed Chardonnay market, full of vibrancy and minerality, fruit yes, but balanced out with savory characteristics and acidity. It begins with aromas of exotic spice and crushed rock, anise and white flowers incorporate themselves nicely. The palate has fruit aplenty, apricot and white peach, supply textured but never gets flabby. The freshness keeps the wine buoyant and alive, mineral limestone continues and really zips through the finish.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Evangelho Vineyard" Contra Costa County Carignane
Review Date: 06-29-2016
Carignane can be one of my favorite things to drink IF made properly...which can be hard to come by. There is so much mass-produced plonk out there that when I run into a wine that has freshness and purity, I get very excited about it. Coming from one of the oldest vineyards in CA, this Carignane is so vibrant and alive, full of wild raspberries and exotic spice on the nose. There is no mistaking the core power of old vine fruit, pure wild cherry, fresh strawberries macerated in clove and pepper, bouncy acidity that gives lift to the wine, making it perfect for anything off the grill. An extremely well done version of an often neglected grape.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Gift Box - Fuenteseca Reserva "2014 Edition" K&L Exclusive Extra Añejo Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 06-28-2016
This Tequila is built on complexity and depth, harnessing the power of age but not overloading the richness that so often buries the delicate intricacies of Agave. This Tequila is aged perfectly to deliver a flavor profile that can only be built with time, but is still unmistakably pure Tequila. Cigar box and clove are the opening volley, hints of vanilla and a vibrant fresh agave note tell you this is some serious juice in the bottle. The palate is soft but alive, caramel, pear and citrus, spice, both pepper and baking. Simply put, this is absolutely unique in the Extra Anejo category and should not be missed.
Price: $0.00 Add To Cart

2014 S.C. Pannell Syrah Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 06-23-2016
Well, this vintage of of Steve Pannell's Syrah didn't win the best bottle of red wine in Australia award, but I like it anyway. Really this is one of the most sought after wines that no one has ever heard about, and is easily the best price to quality Syrah in the store. Medium bodied but still full of opulence and density, crushed violets, deep blue fruits, and a meaty savory quality check all the boxes needed to make a world class Syrah. Power and finesses are encapsulated effortlessly in a bench mark wine.

2005 York Creek Spring Mountain District Petit Verdot
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Heck yeah, 100% Petit Verdot. We rarely get to taste this varietal all by itself, let alone such a delicious version of it! Full of that mountain fruit concentration and depth, but without the sappy cloyingness that far too often demotes this to a small part of the final blend. Lush and filled with notes of crushed violet and damn earth on the nose, followed by deep blue fruits, and a savory richness. Layers of wild raspberry and plum of linger on the finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 York Creek "Madrone" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Another amazing bottle of Spring Mountain Cab that just blows the price-to-quality ratio to smithereens. At 11 years old this wine is just entering a beautiful drinking window that will be open for a long time. Deep and brooding, the smells of the forest waft out of the glass--cedar and loam, hints of cassis and spearmint. The palate is both lush and powerful. Dark notes of licorice and dried plum, a chewy and dense core deliver the wine with a wonderfully textured mouthfeel. Another hit in a long line of great wines from York Creek.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Navy Strength Gin 750ml
Review Date: 06-10-2016
I love when a navy strength gin is elegant and beautiful despite its high proof. The Four Pillars Gin is at the same time powerful and graceful, bursting with lime zest and exotic spices, the main flavors shine through beautifully. They are supported by hints of anise and coriander, and delivered with a supply textured and warm mouthfeel that comes from the higher proof. Incredibly well balanced, and supremely delicious!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin 750ml
Review Date: 06-10-2016
Gin of the year. It's only June, and I feel very safe saying that because this is the best gin I have tried since Monkey 47 hit American shores. Incredible flavor profile, ultimate mouth feel, put it on the short lists of gins that will always be on my home bar. The palate and nose are just chock-full of floral and spice notes, fresh nutmeg, anise, violets, with the power of juniper held in the perfect balance.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Premier Cru" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-02-2016
Very serious Champagne for the under $40 category. With a full 6 years on the lees, there is a depth and complexity here that we often have to pay much more for in the world of Champagne. This extended aging time lends a soft and supple touch to the palate, it effortlessly delivers notes Cara Cara orangeand Bosc pear, fresh baked bread lingers on the finish. This is a great new direct import project for us, and the quality in all the wines has been just amazing when you look at how affordable they are!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2008 Arthur Marc "Perla Nera" Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-02-2016
This is powerful Pinot! 100% Grand Cru Pinot Noir is some serious stuff, and this bottle lets you know just how dense and concentrated of a wine the chalky soils of Champagne can make. The nose is crushed rock and Bing cherry, red fruited and bold. On the palate the cherry continues, wrapped in dense mineral notes, with fig and plum adding layers. This wine is wound very tightly right now, very much built for the cellar, this would also be a wonderful pairing to any dish you would usually serve with a Pinot Noir, salmon or duck would be lovely.
Price: Hidden View Price

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply put, Grand Cru Chardonnay for this price is ridiculous. Coming from some of the highest quality vineyards in all of Champagne, there is so much wine in this bottle. Fresh green apple and tangerine peel great you on the nose, followed by a crisp and refreshing palate. Fine bubbles deliver a vibrant mouth feel, more Granny Smith, a hint of hazel nut. Hard to get better for Blanc De Blancs lovers!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2006 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
The Special Club has a very special place in my life, it is the bottle that convinced my now fiancee, then girlfriend that I had potential. This vintage is full on decadence in a bottle, between a very warm harvest-lending perfectly ripe notes of golden apple and apricot, to the extended lees time giving the wine the ultimately rich mouth feel. This is round and warmly textured from front to very long finish, delivering gobs sun ripened stone fruit, pie crust, and the prefect amount of fresh chalky mineral. Truly a special bottle.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
I was blown away by the 2008 Rose, it is one of the best vintage bottling I have ever had form Veuve Clicquot, period. They did an amazing job of capturing this amazing vintage, the wine is densely textured and full of red fruit and richness, but also shows a fine vein of mineral and finesse. Up front there are notes of strawberries and cream, raspberry sorbet and fresh baked biscuits, Rose in full bloom. From there, the wine moves into layers of candied rose petals, and fresh picked cherries. The length and persistence of the wine is amazing. Really well done.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

2007 Marques de Murrieta "Castillo Ygay" Gran Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 02-24-2016
Such beautifully composed wine, every facet fits perfectly in place to create a beautiful wine. Up front notes of cassis and wild cherry, coupled with damp earth and a kiss of oak richness. Giving way to a palate that strikes in impeccable balance between fruit and structure. A Supple but firm tannic structure gives the perfect frame work for fruit that is weighty without being sappy. The wood is seamlessly integrated into the wine, practically effortless. For those of you who are familiar with our direct imports, this wine fits right between the more rustic Lesmos and the more modern Merino wines.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 RP 95

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2016
This bottle takes a walk on the richer side of Rose. Dense and decadent, a core of Bing Cherry, cassis and blood orange, Rose to the fullest. The 18% of Pinot added as red wine adds a firm spine that runs from tip to tail, frambois and baking spice lend a dark richness. Texturally incredibly please, supple and weighty with a finish that end with a hint of baking spice.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WS 92

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2016
Broad and decadent the Blanc des Blancs from Ruinart is chock full of summer ripe peaches and poached pears. Floral and opulent nose, white flowers and gala apple float out of the glass. Continuing with gingersnaps and Crème brûlée, on the palate that is weighty and lush. This wine finishes with a vein of chalk and honey crisp apple to complete the picture on a lovely bottle of bubbles.

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
Each and every time I drink this bottle of Champagne, I forget how affordable it is, and get completely lost in the experience of drinking great vintage bubbles. Following in the footsteps of the ’08 is no small task, so it was with much anticipation that I cracked the 2009. Every bit as good. A nose of white peaches and pie crust, greets you right out of the glass. On the palate it is perfectly poised, medium body with a mix of baguette and stone fruits, vibrant and fresh with a very clean supple mouthfeel. Pretty incredible that this is under $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 11-11-2015
This is not good Cab for $10, it is a good Cab, period. This has been one of my favorite bottles for the past 3 years, each vintage getting better and better. Sourced from 30-year-old vines, this Cab has the stuffing that can only come from older vines. Medium bodied, with notes of blue fruit and bramble on the nose, followed by a softly textured and layered palate. Perfect for parties, delivers amazing Cabernet value that we rarely see here from California.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Baron Fuente has long been one of our best values in Champagne--with their entry-level bottling coming in at a mere $23.99 it is hard to beat. However, after tasting the Galipettes today, I happily realized that they have some serious offerings in their lineup. This bottling is all estate fruit and completely organic, something that few negociants offer, the nose is dripping with wild cherry, fragrant cassis and a touch of chalk. The wine flows out of the glass with a mineral and red-fruited palate, red fruits abound, cherry, currant, and just a hint of exotic spice lingering in the back. Clean and fresh on the finish, this really impressed upon tasting.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuente "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
For those Champagne fans who are forever chasing the toasty rich style of Champagne, but lamenting the prices that those styles command, this wine is for you. The Esprit from Baron Fuente spends a very impressive 8 years on the lees, developing all of the brioche-y goodness you can ask for, for a ridiculously inexpensive price tag. Toasty with sourdough toast and almond right out of the glass, the palate evolves into baked phyllo and toasted walnuts. Long and full at the back, with Almond Roca and a freshness of white peppermint that lifts the finish just perfectly.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
An amazing expression of what high quality Pinot Noir from Champagne can accomplish. This rosé delivers a wine with power and finesse, full rich red fruit and bright fresh acidity. Upfront the nose is full of strawberries in fresh cream, leading into a savory cassis character. Broad and weighty on the palate, hard candy and blackberry abound. Cleaned up around the edges with precise acidity that lifts the wine and makes it one of the most well-rounded rosés we carry.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Full of vibrancy and richness playing off of each other in perfect harmony, the Michel Arnould Reserve is a stunning example of Grand Cru Champagne. Out of the gate with beautiful aromas of perfectly ripened melon, green apple and spice cake, the nose is effusive and rich. The palate plays fresh notes of watermelon and racy acidity against richer tones of hazelnut and bread dough. The marriage of the racy and rich are what really make this a very complete and extraordinarily pleasing bottle to drink. Powerful and elegant at the same time--that only can be achieved with the highest quality terroir available in the region.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Such amazing value for vintage Champagne. This beautiful expression of a vintage that was beautifully sunny and warm shows off pretty notes of biscuit and perfectly ripened stone fruits on the nose. Followed a very clean and zesty palate, Citrus, orange cream and golden apple cascade over a fine and well integrated bead. Pretty amazing stuff for $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Glenrothes "Sherry Reserve" Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-01-2015
A very pretty, elegant version of Sherry-aged Scotch. While I'm always leery of NAS releases, this Glenrothes delivers a ton of classic Speyside flavors with a super reasonable price tag. The palate is medium rich, tons of butter cream frosting and toffee. More layers of coffee hard candy, and a dry pecan character that I found very intriguing. A hint of allspice rounds out a beautifully lifted and balanced single malt. Impressive quality, very drinkable.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
This is the most fruit driven and round of the bunch. Big and rich, dark fruited with black cherry and an almost voluptuous mouth feel. The spirit is super weighty and oily, with just a kiss of funk in the back ground. Such a departure from the others which are much spicier, fruity and delicious.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Alipus San Andres Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
A vibrant and spicy spirit that leaps out of the glass. Full of wood notes and baking spices, cedar and cloves on the first nosing. On the palate it is even richer, almost mahogany and dark rich cinnamon, some cardamom lingering in the back.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Alipus San Juan Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
The most elegant and delicate of the line up. Super pretty, full of lifted floral notes, and just a kiss of sweetness. Very lacy on the palate, minty notes, very soft notes of smoke that don't stand out, but are perfectly integrated into the spirit as a whole. Aromatic and graceful.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Alipus Santa Ana Del Rio Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2015
Big and brooding in comparison to the others, a more full bodied style. Intensely savory, oily and a bit of earth. What struck me was the dry and almost woody finish. if this were a wine it would be described as having a big tannic structure, super interesting to taste something this bold.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Westland Sherry Wood Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
One of the best American Single Malts I have tasted, period. Westland is doing everything properly, no corners cut, the proper still, and high quality wood, each of these factors going in to creating a whisky that is every bit as good as its Scottish counterparts. Full of sherry richness, dates, sweet roasted pecans, and lush mahogany notes, like a fine library. The quality of the sherry really jumped out of the glass--I find that smaller producers often have overall a much better quality of wood due to the fact they are not buying lots of hundreds of barrels, so the essence of sherry barrels are more purely expressed. For Mac 12 fans, this is an exciting local alternative that really offers a ton of quality.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Glenfiddich "Signature" 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A Classic Malt in every aspect of the term. Clean and bright, a touch of honeysuckle, a kiss of vanilla sweetness, this malt has a little bit of something for everyone. A soft entry gives an easy going feel, on the palate dried fruits, honey and heather give added complexity, the finish is composed and not harsh in any way. A staple.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93
Limit of 12 per customer

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum, Venezuela (750ml)
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A demandingly decadent Rum, full of dark hued flavors of maple and brown sugar. The Santa Teresa is a wonderfully balanced rum with years of solera aging to create a spirit that is past the complexity of a single age statement. A nose of maple cake and burnt sugar. Vanilla cream runs throughout adding a beautifully sweet crescendo to a long and lush finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-18-2015
Intriguing rose that begins in an understated elegant way, and builds towards a fuller finish showing off its’ Grand Cru providence. The nose is hauntingly seductive, crushed red fruit, a mineral vein, and the faintest scent of rose petal all intermingled in harmony. The palate is defined by a textural grip that adds weight and importance, but the lifted flavors of wild strawberry and cream, with hits of cherry tart keep the wine extremely elegant and pretty. The finish picks up speed with reinforced dark cherry and minerality that wraps the wine up beautifully.

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Vieilles Vignes Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-11-2015
What a charming bottle of bubbles. One of our newest additions to the line up, this a wonderfully enjoyable, open knit and effortless. The nose is cream and zest, maybe a touch of fresh lemon scone. The palate is soft and supple, perky notes of yellow peach and Meyer lemon, clean and pretty. The old vine material comes through on the finish, pure and lengthy. Just a joy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-05-2015
There is not another bottle of pink Champagne that offers this value in the store, end of story. This perfectly crafted bottle of bubbles is sensational wine, and at a price that I can afford to drink more than just on special occasions. A pretty coral pink greets you in the glass, alongside a nose of vibrant cherry, sweetened dried cranberry, and anise spice. Elegant red fruits burst on the scene out of the glass, kissing your palate with lifted notes of rose petal and wild cherry. So good!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
The Aspasie Blanc de Blancs is a bottle I reach for time and time again. Perfect for almost any occasion that I can think of, from parties to picnics there is something here for everyone. From the immediate aesthetics of the clear glass holding in the beautiful straw gold elixir, to the beautiful breadth and depth that comes from single vineyard Chardonnay. Sun ripe stone fruits greet you, followed by lemon curd and a hit of toasty baguette. The textures is opulent, a kiss of minerality, and a long beautiful finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
Alex Le Brun is one of our newest and most exciting producers we are lucky enough to import here at K&L. Getting to know the style of a new producer means some painstaking, grueling work, having to taste Champagne is pretty tough after all. It was a joy to discover his wines, made in a style that is serious, but not fussy, and absolutely delicious. The Tradition is a joy, toasty on the nose, baked core fruit, with intriguing spice. Bubbly and fresh on the palate with a pleasantly round mouth feel and texture, ending up lengthy and clean.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon 375ml
Review Date: 02-27-2015
The best thing to come out of the folks and Maker's in a long time. This is the famous sweet supple and wheated bourbon turned up and made into something completely more spectacular. Gobs of rich red fruit from the wheat, spicy and decadent at the same time, the added proof gives it a mouth coating viscosity. The finish is deep and bold, caramel, toffee, and the unmistakable kiss of creamy sweetness only to be found in wheated bourbons. My only issue is that the bottle is empty too quickly.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
A study in the power and minerality that can only come from the old vines of Champagne. The Cuvee Prestige from Ariston is a pure expression of what the flavor profile of vines that have been growing in the deep chalk soils for many years. Dry and precise, notes of wet stone and a saline purity electrifies the palate on entry. The body is weighty and focused, driven, taking your taste buds for a ride with lime zest and Granny Smith apple, as well as a hint of spice box lingering in the back. Amazing with food, it almost demands it. Cured meats, cheese, cedar plank salmon.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Update: This wine continues to amaze me year after year. Each time I open a bottle I marvel at the quality of the wine for the price tag. Re-reading my review from 2011, I have tasted hundreds of different bottles of Champagne, and this bottle of wine still makes me incredibly happy. With 6 years on the lees, the integration is wonderful, soft mouth feel, ripe orchard fruit, toasty at the back. Still good after all these years. Wonderfully balanced bubbles for a wonderfully balanced price tag. The Carte Blanche is my most often used excuse to open bubbles just for the sake of having a glass of Champagne, there are always a couple of bottles stashed away around my house. Powerfully elegant, with toasted nutty notes and a length on the finish that reasserts why I love this wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Beehive Distilling Jack Rabbit Utah Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-14-2014
Easily my gin of the year, and firmly in my "top five" gin rotation (yes, sadly we drink that much gin in my house). The botanical pairing of rose petal and sage makes for a complex, intriguing, and stunning gin. The nose is highlighted by the pretty rose notes, with just a hint of sage and juniper. The palate plays up the sage, soft and supple, with just the right balance of floral notes to keep it from becoming cloying. This bottle was empty exactly one week after I brought it home, I couldn't stop drinking it. Perfect with tonic, I also like it in French 75's or simply in a gimlet. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next