Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

  
2014 Marietta "Angeli Cuvee" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 04-27-2017
Marietta reds always over deliver for price and quality. The "Angeli" is no exception! Big,bold and beautiful is what awaits you in the glass. The Angeli Cuvee has a generous array of flavors and aromas of dark berries, tobacco, black pepper, and supple hints of oak. This is a very well balanced wine with a super long finish. Enjoy this with any of your summertime BBQ affairs.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis Grand Cru "Valmur"
Review Date: 02-13-2017
The La Chablisienne Chablis Grand Cru "Valmur" greets you with a fresh bouquet of lemon peel, apple blossom, minerals and a hint of baked apple. Right there I know I am in for a striking glass of wine. It does not disappoint! The acidity is persistent without being overpowering and the chalky soils give this wine a wonderful complexity, allowing the Chardonnay grape to really sing. A perfect day would be some seared scallops and a couple of bottles of "Valmur"!!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

Uberach "Assemblage" Alsace Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2016
Being a Kentucky boy, it is difficult giving any other whiskey a chance, other than bourbon. I am always willing to try any whiskey David puts in front of me. But, France and whiskey? Bottle #147 of 160 of the Uberach single malt from Alsace was a lovely surprise. The nose is fresh baked apple pie with a scoop of vanilla on top. The mouth is a balance of fruit, spice and good weight on the palate. Nice little kick of heat at the end too! You can add a cube or a drop of water for all you non George T Stagg drinkers. SOLUTE!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 06-20-2016
Sophie is one of those winemakers that you just fall in love with. The way she talks about her wines, it is like her babies. She will even show you pictures of the vines if you ask. She is so passionate and her winemaking style is hands-off. Let the grape and the place speak for itself. The nose in the glass is lovely red fruit, lavender and earth. Taste it and it mirrors the nose. Such great expression that I find in organic farming. This would go great with a grilled skirt steak. Heck, it is just awesome on its own!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 05-20-2016
Tuesday night pizza wine anyone!! This red delivers with great red ripe wild berries, floral and herbal spice. A lovely balance of acidity and tannins. With summer right around the corner. It is amazing with any grilled meats too! Sure to please at any event. From pizza and a movie on the couch or outdoor event with all your great summertime eats!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This is as dry as it gets folks. Zero dosage. Which means outstanding acidity! Perfect for that signature cocktail at your holiday party. Did I mention bone dry and a amazing ability to pair with everything on the holiday menu. Keep a case on hand for all the events on busy holiday calendar.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-26-2015
I love Rioja! With a vintage like 2005 you can't go wrong. This is very traditional bottle with wonderful earth and spice. The oak is very well integrated, so it is not over powering the plush fruit and spice on the palate. Rounded out by good acidity and super dry finish. Perfect for lamb or the next taco truck you hit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-23-2015
In 1916 Jules Armand purchased the property located at Valenton St Loub├Ęs, a small town 25 km from Bordeaux. A stone's throw from the influence of the two rivers (the Garonne and Dordogne). It's these two rivers that add an early ripening and deeper concentration to the grapes. Great fruit and spice which gives way to a super dry finish. Perfect weekday wine.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 10-01-2014
Lucky for us in Los Angeles it is a never ending summer. So, no reason not to have this one on hand for family and friends! Heck or just hanging poolside. Wonderful floral and acidity. Super long finish to stand up to any finger food you throw at. Don't forget because of the magically bag it last for weeks in the fridge! Great for camping trips too. Enjoy!!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Carpano "Antica Formula" Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters (5oz)
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-28-2011
Collard-Picard is a relatively new Champagne house, but with very old ties, which means they are getting a hold of some great fruit and, in turn, are making some great wines! I just love the toasty notes in this Champagne. It has also got a backbone of mimerality and acid that can stand up to meal.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90