Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

  
2014 Les Terres de St-Hilaire "Sagesse" VDP du Var Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This is the pale pink color that everyone is searching for in a rose. Made up of Grenache, Syrah, and Cinsault. The nose is complex with citrus, namely lemon and grapefruit, and raspberries. On the palate, it is supple, ample, and complex. You can't beat the price of $13.99. Most rosés of this quality are reaching well into the twenty dollar range. Buy it for your next party, you won't be disappointed.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Always a standout for me in the sea of Chianti on the market. Great growing site just south of Gaiole in the hamlet of Monti in Chianti. All organic practices which bring out some very distinctive wines. Intense spice, fruit and mineral which makes it a perfect food wine. Pop open a bottle and transport yourself to the rolling Tuscan hills.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Poggiarellino is one of the old rural Tuscan traditions in wine making. Don't look for any new world style Brunellos here. This thirty acre farm is surrounded by beautiful oil? OR old? trees. What grape wouldn't want to live here! The wine is bold, earthy, and full-bodied. Taste red and black fruit with a subtle grace on nose and palate, finishing with well-developed tannins, mineral texture, tobacco and underbrush notes. What a bottle for $30 bucks!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99

2014 Cibonne "Tentations" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This Fantastic blend of Cinsault, Grenache and Tibouren is one of the best selling Rosé from Provence! As the price for lesser quality Rosés rise, this one holds steady. With a delicate nose of spice, floral and stone fruit, this elegant and soft palate reminds you why we love Côtes de Provence Rosé soooo much! This is a must with simple grilled fish, fresh fruit, and cheeses. Grab this one bottle for any summertime affair.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2015
I love Provence Rosé just like the next person, BUT there are wonderful Rosé wines just as amazing! The Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé is that bottle. 100-percent Pinot Noir it blends two styles of Rosé wine-making (pressed juice and saignee juice). Then the must is settled and low temperature fermentation begins; no malolactic fermentation, with light filtration and stainless steel tank ageing. All this brings out a crispness that you will find ONLY in Sancerre (limestone-clay soil). Being a direct import for K&L, this is coming to you at a discounted price. This is the perfect summertime wine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Year in and year out one of our best values is Pinot Noir. If you don't believe me, just ask any K&L customer. This Pinot comes from Sonoma County's Martin Ray Winery, which also has a great value Cabernet flying out the doors. Martin Ray Winery does both quality and value which is hard to find these days. There is great intensity in the Pinot Noir; a very complex and alluring aroma of dark cherry and holiday spice. Palate gives way to juicy raspberry and cherry flavors with silky smooth tannins for an easy going finish. What more can you ask for!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Banshee Wines have done it again! This value Pinot Noir stacks up to many of the over twenty bottles on the shelf. I don't know where they are sources their fruit but please keep it up. Medium body in style and perfect red cherry fruit make it a must at any summer outing.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Ca'Viola "Vilot" Dolcetto D'Alba
Review Date: 04-27-2015
Ca Viola "Vilot" Dolcetto is the go-to everyday wine. Wonderful with food or on its own! Great balance, allowing the cherry, blackberry, raspberry and floral flavors to mesh seamlessly. This meant to be drunk young, no need to hang on to this one. This is a perfect wine for everyone at the table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2010 Von Hövel Oberemmeler Hütte Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 04-23-2015
Von Hovel is into the 7th generation of the family run estate. Oberemmeler Hütte is the monopoly of the estate , w ith that wonderful slate soil , perfect for the Riesling grape , with its great nose of honey and tropical fruit. The palate is glowing with the haunting acidity of fresh grapefruit peel and green apple that keeps me going back for more. I find that I am longing for My Mom’s red cabbage and pork roast . With a super long finish it is only fitting for that great meal that only Mom can make!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 WS 90

2012 Bucklin "Old Hill Ranch Ancient Field Blend" Sonoma Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 04-16-2015
It's primarily estate Zinfandel, then throw in the kitchen sink for the rest. But, what great grapes in that sink ! I refer to dry-farmed and certified organic, for one of the most unique red wines in the store . Think of great dark purple hue in the glass, nose of spice box and raked leaves ; much softer than expected on the palate, with a burst of blackberry compote and fantastic acidity. There is a grip of tannins though that finishes this wine . This is truly a one of a kind wine!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2013 Joseph Swan "Ritchie Vineyard" Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-16-2015
What a lovely Sauvignon Blanc! I would put this up against any old world style Sauvignon Blanc's. The nose hits you with pretty herbal notes of lemon grass and lime. Think of great balanced acidity and a surprising weight on the mid-palate. This is a one of a kind wine you will only find in the Ritchie vineyard. Do yourself a favor and get one.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This is one of my favorite wines in the store. Wonderful power, structure and delicacy. No oak aging in this wine. This just shows what happens when a grape and place are such a perfect marriage. Fruit and floral throughout the wine, with a great mineral backbone. Lovely texture with a surprising weight in the mid-palate. It is one complex glass of wine. Don't forget, the magnum is perfect for any kind of party.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2009 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-30-2015
There is something to be said about less thinking, more drinking. Opinions and scores be damned! This my friends, is just a fantastic glass of wine! Aromatics on this wine are stunning. Picking up just a hint of vanilla. Then comes the dark cherry and violets. Luscious fruit, and a rich refined spice pop in your mouth. What a treat to drink. Food or not, this wine does not disappoint. This is one wine that is not easy to share. So choice your friends wisely.

2011 Ornellaia "Le Serre Nuove" Bolgheri
Review Date: 03-30-2015
This is the second label for Ornellaia. Younger vines go into the wine. Pour it in the glass and you can see you are in for a wonderful experience. Deep, dark ruby red greets the eyes. Burst of berry fruits and crushed floral on the nose. This is a full body wine. Great weight on the mid palate. The tannins and acidity are all there for a seamless finish. Great with grilled meat or a heavier cheese. Elegance and power have never paired so well!

2014 Château les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clémentine" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 03-30-2015
One of my favorite Rosés, year in and year out! When people ask me for Provence Rosé, it does not get much better than this. All organic methods of farming are gathered in this beautiful little part of Cotes de Provence. When people ask for that light salmon color, this wine has that. Delicate, with a fresh acidity for a truly magical experience. Got that too. As we used to say back home, this is a true porch sipper!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-26-2015
Before Champagne,there was sparkling wine in Limoux, France. Talk about getting it right! Antech Emotion Rose is the perfect accompaniment to any occasion. Fresh berries and lively bubbles jump out of the glass. Dry and medium bodied on the palate. Lovely red fruit and slight toast leading to a long lasting finish! All this for half the price of Champange. Buy it buy the case.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-26-2015
Score one for California! This Cabernet was such a wonderful surprise for me. Of course big black but that leads into spice and forest floor. Great acidity and a complexity of tannin that never overpowers the wine. When people talk about cross over wines. This would be a great one if you are a Bordeaux lover.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92 WE 90

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 02-23-2015
Pascual Toso Malbec is like a great old friend. You always know what you are going to get. Plush blackberry and plum fruit. Wonderful tobacco and vanilla spice. Good acidity and silky tannins. Perfect wine for a outdoor BBQ or anything you want throw on the grill. With a price like this keep a case on hand at all times.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 02-23-2015
One of the top selling reds in the store year after year. Wonderful nose of dark fruit ( black cherry ) and spice ( dark mocha ). This is a big, rich, wine with a luscious mouth feel. The ultimate in silky smooth finish! Perfect party wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 12-01-2014
What a wonderful find in some of the best vineyard sites of the Chianti Classico region (Conca D’Oro). On the hillsides of the town of Panzano this IGT first pops with vibrant color in the glass and lovely shades of violet and plum. On the nose it burst with floral, spice and seamlessly layered oak! Deep, rich and alluring mouthfeel. It keeps you reaching for the glass. Espresso roast, cassis, blueberries, blackberries and a hint of smoky tar rounds out the finish. This is one full-bodied wine! But, with that great Italian acidity. A fantastic gift for the holidays or any day for that matter! Enjoy--I know I am.

2012 Château de la Font du Loup Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 11-04-2014
Châteauneuf du Pape has lost its luster for me. Especially on the affordable price point. Not very complicated. Way too much fruit. Then along came La Loup! This is the best Chateauneuf I have tried in years!! Earth tones, floral and spice meet you in the glass. Very elegant mouthfeel, smooth, soft and harmonious. A good length and lovely acidity. Integrated tannins really round out this wine. Once again I must mention, elegant! This is a perfect holiday wine!

2010 Cantine Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 11-01-2014
Very approachable Barolo. At a very approachable price! Classic tar, leather and rose petals on the nose. Wonderful mineral and fruit on the palate. Which gives way to a persistent acidity just calling for a prime rib in a porcini mushrooms sauces!
Price: $25.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
The Ferrero Estate is located at the Podere Pascena, about halfway between Sant’Angelo in Colle and Sant’Angelo Scalo, on the southern slopes of Montalcino. Wonderful Tuscan earth and spice. Once again, Ferrero gives a rich, rounder style of fruit and tannins. But, enough acidity to handle any meat dish or pasta. Give it some time in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2012
One of the hits for me at our Champagne event was Fluteau! I love the cheesy and toasty notes that come from this champagne. Coming from the wine being left to age on the lees for three years. Notes of citrus and spice in a golden yellow hue. This will make a perfect Holiday wine! At this price you can give it out to all the family. This is a Champagne will are talking about here folks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth 1L
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters 5oz
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-28-2011
Collard-Picard is a relatively new Champagne house, but with very old ties, which means they are getting a hold of some great fruit and, in turn, are making some great wines! I just love the toasty notes in this Champagne. It has also got a backbone of mimerality and acid that can stand up to meal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List