Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

  
2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 07-25-2016
I talk about cross over wines all the time. But, it is usually in regards to trying old world wines. For example, if you like Napa Cabernet you should try this 2009 Bordeaux. So let us flip the script! This is a great opportunity for people who like old world wines to try something similar in style from Napa. Neyers "Left Bank Red" is that wine. Crushed floral, red berry fruit and hints of oak linger in the glass. There is nothing overpowering, just a really balanced wine. Balance is the key word that kept coming back to me from beginning to end. This wine has great acidity along with black and blue fruit that dances on the palate. Seamless tannins finish off this unique traditional Bordeaux-style wine from the Napa Valley. This wine is not to be missed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2015 Kalinda Riesling Rheingau
Review Date: 07-22-2016
Wow, the 2015 Kalinda Rheingau Riesling is outstanding! Classic racy mineral, well balanced acidity, and the aromatic fruit character that I look for in my Rheingau Riesling. From a quick read, sounds like the 2015 vintage is going to be a good one. This bottle will be my go-to for any sushi night!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Uberach "Assemblage" Alsace Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2016
Being a Kentucky boy, it is difficult giving any other whiskey a chance, other than bourbon. I am always willing to try any whiskey David puts in front of me. But, France and whiskey? Bottle #147 of 160 of the Uberach single malt from Alsace was a lovely surprise. The nose is fresh baked apple pie with a scoop of vanilla on top. The mouth is a balance of fruit, spice and good weight on the palate. Nice little kick of heat at the end too! You can add a cube or a drop of water for all you non George T Stagg drinkers. SOLUTE!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 07-19-2016
The bread and butter for K&L is the amazing Bordeaux! And what a find by the Clyde. This is old school left bank Bordeaux at its best. 1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc is drinking beautifully. The nose is a fine balance of leather and crushed red fruit that pops in the glass. But, it is the taste that keeps you coming back for more. Mature, ripe red fruits, minerality, earthiness balanced by fine acidity and tannins evolved from begin to end. I raise a glass to you, Clyde, keep them coming!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bava Barbaresco
Review Date: 07-17-2016
This single vineyard Barbaresco is ready to go. Aging in small oak barrels gives this wine soft and silky mouth feel. Red fruit and spice continually ring throughout the wine. Rounded out by smooth and balanced tannins. Perfect with a wild mushroom ragu!!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2014 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-24-2016
Year in and year out Spellbound Chardonnay always delivers! Classic California Chardonnay with a soft touch of oak. Tropical fruit, vanilla and creme brulee burst in the glass. A backbone of acidity brings the perfect balance to the wine. Love this wine with some Thai food.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 06-20-2016
Sophie is one of those winemakers that you just fall in love with. The way she talks about her wines, it is like her babies. She will even show you pictures of the vines if you ask. She is so passionate and her winemaking style is hands-off. Let the grape and the place speak for itself. The nose in the glass is lovely red fruit, lavender and earth. Taste it and it mirrors the nose. Such great expression that I find in organic farming. This would go great with a grilled skirt steak. Heck, it is just awesome on its own!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Waterkloof Circumstance "Cape Coral" Mourvedre Rosé Stellenbosch
Review Date: 06-17-2016
Waterkloof Circumstance Rose has had a cult following here at K&L. Great little alterative to the high price Bandol Rose. It's made from the grape Mourvèdre and has just the same very pale orangey-pink colour, the full body and the dry, food-friendly finish of a Bandol. It is a biodynamic estate to boot. This is a perfect match to all your BBQ events!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-20-2016
It is Rosé season!!! My favorite time of the year. Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" is always one of my first bottles that I open. The grapes used are traditional to the area, such as: Cinsaut for its lightness, elegance and fruity aromas of berry and citrus, and Granache for its warmth and snap of freshness. Certified Organic! It is the perfect summer aperitif.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 05-20-2016
Tuesday night pizza wine anyone!! This red delivers with great red ripe wild berries, floral and herbal spice. A lovely balance of acidity and tannins. With summer right around the corner. It is amazing with any grilled meats too! Sure to please at any event. From pizza and a movie on the couch or outdoor event with all your great summertime eats!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2010 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-04-2016
There is no other wine like the Rioja from Alta! The moment you pour the glass and it hits your nose, you know exactly where you are. Aromas of subtle spice linger in the glass. Violets, cinnamon and dried cherries are the benchmarks for an old world Rioja. As it is relatively young, the fruit is a little more seductive, but the underlying earth, leather and sweet crushed floral are the highlights. Rounded out by amazing acidity and polish tannins this is the ultimate food wine! Start out with Morcilla and end with a roasted leg of lamb. Nothing could be more perfect!

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This is as dry as it gets folks. Zero dosage. Which means outstanding acidity! Perfect for that signature cocktail at your holiday party. Did I mention bone dry and a amazing ability to pair with everything on the holiday menu. Keep a case on hand for all the events on busy holiday calendar.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Hot summer days and nights call for a crisp white! Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi will answer the call. Terre Da Vino is a top Italian winery which is located in the heart of the Langhe territory in the region of Barolo. On the nose, lovely white flowers and crisp green apples. On the palate, crisp lemon peel and enough body to hold up to any salad or light fish dish. Enjoy!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-18-2015
I have yet to find a 2009 Bordeaux I have not liked, and this is no different! Filled with a bountiful amount of blackberry fruit and a lovely tobacco and black pepper spice to round out the back end, this is a great crossover wine. For all of you who want to step beyond your Napa comfort zone, this provides a wonderful complexity, under twenty, that is hard to find in the States.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Always a standout for me in the sea of Chianti on the market. Great growing site just south of Gaiole in the hamlet of Monti in Chianti. All organic practices which bring out some very distinctive wines. Intense spice, fruit and mineral which makes it a perfect food wine. Pop open a bottle and transport yourself to the rolling Tuscan hills.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-26-2015
I love Rioja! With a vintage like 2005 you can't go wrong. This is very traditional bottle with wonderful earth and spice. The oak is very well integrated, so it is not over powering the plush fruit and spice on the palate. Rounded out by good acidity and super dry finish. Perfect for lamb or the next taco truck you hit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-23-2015
In 1916 Jules Armand purchased the property located at Valenton St Loubès, a small town 25 km from Bordeaux. A stone's throw from the influence of the two rivers (the Garonne and Dordogne). It's these two rivers that add an early ripening and deeper concentration to the grapes. Great fruit and spice which gives way to a super dry finish. Perfect weekday wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 02-23-2015
One of the top selling reds in the store year after year. Wonderful nose of dark fruit ( black cherry ) and spice ( dark mocha ). This is a big, rich, wine with a luscious mouth feel. The ultimate in silky smooth finish! Perfect party wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 12-01-2014
What a wonderful find in some of the best vineyard sites of the Chianti Classico region (Conca D’Oro). On the hillsides of the town of Panzano this IGT first pops with vibrant color in the glass and lovely shades of violet and plum. On the nose it burst with floral, spice and seamlessly layered oak! Deep, rich and alluring mouthfeel. It keeps you reaching for the glass. Espresso roast, cassis, blueberries, blackberries and a hint of smoky tar rounds out the finish. This is one full-bodied wine! But, with that great Italian acidity. A fantastic gift for the holidays or any day for that matter! Enjoy--I know I am.

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 10-01-2014
Lucky for us in Los Angeles it is a never ending summer. So, no reason not to have this one on hand for family and friends! Heck or just hanging poolside. Wonderful floral and acidity. Super long finish to stand up to any finger food you throw at. Don't forget because of the magically bag it last for weeks in the fridge! Great for camping trips too. Enjoy!!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2012
One of the hits for me at our Champagne event was Fluteau! I love the cheesy and toasty notes that come from this champagne. Coming from the wine being left to age on the lees for three years. Notes of citrus and spice in a golden yellow hue. This will make a perfect Holiday wine! At this price you can give it out to all the family. This is a Champagne will are talking about here folks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Carpano "Antica Formula" Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2005 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-28-2012
This is my affordable steak wine. Now, while I am not a high roller. If I am going to spend money on a great NY strip. The wine hold's up it's end of the bargain. Great acid and silky tannins. Matches perfectly with the steak.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters (5oz)
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2004 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-08-2012
This was such a hit at my recent tasting!! This bottle went up against some of the major house's in Rioja and Ribera del Duero. Thanks to Joe this is a direct import for K&L! From three vineyards, two planted in 1931 and the third “La Loma”- planted in 1946. Only the best hand harvested grapes go into this bottle. Beauitful sweet red fruit and a great backbone minerality! Perfect for any pork dish! Enjoy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 ST 91

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart