Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

  
2012 Simi Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-01-2016
What a elegant bottle of California Cabernet! Really shows off the Alexander Valley. From the first pour, a snap of red berry fruit, cedar and tobacco. Flavors are not over powering one another. A fantastic balance of fruit, acidity and spice. Finish is long with plush tannins to round out this food friendly wine. Grilled skirt steak in mushroom wine sauce sounds like a great match.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Château de Montfaucon Lirac
Review Date: 04-01-2016
Château de Montfaucon Lirac is that perfect wine for a cold night. Warm red fruit coats the mouth. Lovely spice, earth and mineral keeps you returning to the glass. This is a real treat for people who don't want to pay the Châteauneuf-du-Pape price tag!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbieres
Review Date: 04-01-2016
We were lucky enough to have Sophie come in and pour her wines. The Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbieres was a stand out for me. Organically farmed Carignan really pops in the glass. Carignan is very susceptible to powdery mildew. For this reason, organic Carignan is extremely rare. So, how lucky we found this incredible winemaker. Its fruit-forward red fruit and baking spice flavors all in balance. This is the perfect spring time wine that can handle a variety of meat and cheese. Enjoy! I know I do!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2005 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-23-2016
Oh, the magic of Rioja! If I was trapped on a deserted island and I could have only one wine to drink it would be Rioja. This bottle is such a quintessential showing of old school Rioja. It just jumps out of the glass from the beginning. The nose is delicate and intense at the same time. Coffee, leather, crushed floral, vanilla and mineral-driven red fruit. That is just the nose. The palate is full-bodied with crisp acidity slicing through the pure blackberry and cassis fruit. Don't forget the super long finish. This wine is built for the long haul. What a pleasure it was to sit back and enjoy with short ribs and polenta.

2012 Trim California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-28-2015
This California Cabernet really delivers for the price! Mainly Cabernet with a little splash of Merlot. Full bodied, elegant and pops with juicy cherry, raspberry, herb, spice box. Perfect amount of acidity really cleans the palate. What a great everyday wine. Go to for those parties where you want to impress but stay with in budget. Does not hurt that 2012 was the perfect growing season for California Cabernet!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This is as dry as it gets folks. Zero dosage. Which means outstanding acidity! Perfect for that signature cocktail at your holiday party. Did I mention bone dry and a amazing ability to pair with everything on the holiday menu. Keep a case on hand for all the events on busy holiday calendar.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 11-27-2015
What a lovely wine. From the Côtes de Gascogne, a blend of 50% Colombard and 50% Ugni Blanc. Fresh fruit and acidity with a surprising weight on the mid-palate. This is the perfect holiday wine. Just by itself or it can stand up to some great holiday food fare!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 D'Amico "Seiano" Lazio Rosso
Review Date: 11-01-2015
Great little red from Lazio. This is perfect for those who like New World wines, and would like to dip their feet in the Old World pond. Wonderful floral and red cherry bouquet. Throw in pizza, you got a perfect night! It's red, it's Italian. What do ya want?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Allram Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 10-30-2015
Grüner is always such a refreshing wine. Great pop of acidity and white pepper. Grüner Veltliner goes with everything! Such a fantastic pairing with salads, fish and chicken dish. This is your perfect holiday wine for the table.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 09-28-2015
Another new, fantastic DI (Direct Import) for K&L! Verquiere Cotes Du Rhone is one of the most complex and balanced Rhones I have had this year. Great layers black fruit, floral and spice, which you would expect. What I did not see coming was this backbone of minerality and lively acidity. With this super-long finish that keeps bringing you back to the glass. Get it while you can!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-18-2015
Antech Emotion Brut Rose is one of those great cross-over wines. Perfect with food and very nice as an aperitif! Highlights of red berry, spice and a delicate creamy finish. This is the perfect party sparkling. With the holidays coming up quick! Buy it by the case.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Butternut California Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-17-2015
With butter in the label I was thinking it was going to be just one note of oak. To my surprise, it had some acidity. Fresh apple and candied spice. With a soft creamy finish. Easygoing summertime wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Hot summer days and nights call for a crisp white! Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi will answer the call. Terre Da Vino is a top Italian winery which is located in the heart of the Langhe territory in the region of Barolo. On the nose, lovely white flowers and crisp green apples. On the palate, crisp lemon peel and enough body to hold up to any salad or light fish dish. Enjoy!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Les Terres de St-Hilaire "Sagesse" VDP du Var Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This is the pale pink color that everyone is searching for in a rose. Made up of Grenache, Syrah, and Cinsault. The nose is complex with citrus, namely lemon and grapefruit, and raspberries. On the palate, it is supple, ample, and complex. You can't beat the price of $13.99. Most rosés of this quality are reaching well into the twenty dollar range. Buy it for your next party, you won't be disappointed.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Always a standout for me in the sea of Chianti on the market. Great growing site just south of Gaiole in the hamlet of Monti in Chianti. All organic practices which bring out some very distinctive wines. Intense spice, fruit and mineral which makes it a perfect food wine. Pop open a bottle and transport yourself to the rolling Tuscan hills.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-23-2015
In 1916 Jules Armand purchased the property located at Valenton St Loubès, a small town 25 km from Bordeaux. A stone's throw from the influence of the two rivers (the Garonne and Dordogne). It's these two rivers that add an early ripening and deeper concentration to the grapes. Great fruit and spice which gives way to a super dry finish. Perfect weekday wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 02-23-2015
One of the top selling reds in the store year after year. Wonderful nose of dark fruit ( black cherry ) and spice ( dark mocha ). This is a big, rich, wine with a luscious mouth feel. The ultimate in silky smooth finish! Perfect party wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 12-01-2014
What a wonderful find in some of the best vineyard sites of the Chianti Classico region (Conca D’Oro). On the hillsides of the town of Panzano this IGT first pops with vibrant color in the glass and lovely shades of violet and plum. On the nose it burst with floral, spice and seamlessly layered oak! Deep, rich and alluring mouthfeel. It keeps you reaching for the glass. Espresso roast, cassis, blueberries, blackberries and a hint of smoky tar rounds out the finish. This is one full-bodied wine! But, with that great Italian acidity. A fantastic gift for the holidays or any day for that matter! Enjoy--I know I am.

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2012
One of the hits for me at our Champagne event was Fluteau! I love the cheesy and toasty notes that come from this champagne. Coming from the wine being left to age on the lees for three years. Notes of citrus and spice in a golden yellow hue. This will make a perfect Holiday wine! At this price you can give it out to all the family. This is a Champagne will are talking about here folks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Carpano "Antica Formula" Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters 5oz
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Philippe Gonet Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2011
I know you all have been waiting patiently. The time has come for me to choose my New Years Eve Champagne! It's Philippe Gonet Brut Rosé!! This my friends is made entirely from estate grown Pinot Noir. And, did I mention Premier Cru grapes! WHAT!! All this for $39.99! It's a steal. Happy New Year!

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2005 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-28-2010
I love this producer! Their wines are always on point. It just goes to show, if you take care of your land it will, in turn, produce magnificent, balanced and complex wine.

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90