Staff Favorites - Jason Marwedel

Jason Marwedel

Reviews

2016 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 08-05-2017
There is nothing better than a wine that houses two seemingly opposite characteristics under the same cork. In the case of Malescot, it’s all about poise and power (the hallmark of GREAT Bordeaux). Malescot has fast become one of my favorite properties in Margaux, with the 2016 offering even furthering the case. Whether a Bordeaux neophyte or devotee, you are going to love this wine! Wonderful layers of ripe blue and red fruits are offset by savory complexity and long refreshing mineral tones. You will be hard pressed to find a more palate-pleasing wine at this price anywhere in the world.

2010 Contino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-28-2017
You rarely come across wines that have the ability to be all things to all people. The 2010 Contino Reserva is one of those rare finds. Fruit? Absolutely - sweet, supple and incredibly pure. Savor? Yes - complex but not overwhelming flavors of earth and wood. Freshness? Without a doubt - bright acidity and mineral tones carry the day. Drink now? Happily - you will not be disappointed. Collectible? You bet - this wine is built upon vineyard pedigree that is second to none in Alavesa. Price? At $40 this is both the savvy collectors dream and a reasonable stretch for the budget conscious. Wines like this do not come around often - Enjoy!

1984 Caol Ila "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength 33 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I must admit - my liquor cabinet at home is probably smaller (and more boring) than any of my colleagues' here at K&L. At home we enjoy the very occasional cocktail, and on a big night, I might indulge in a glass of Armagnac, Calvados or Single Malt. Upon tasting this tremendous 33 year old Caol Ila, I am completely rethinking my game plan. This bottle absolutely WOW-ed me! Subtle notes of citrus and saline, lead to a supple palate of barley, antique wood, peat smoke and cinder. You get plenty of intensity and spice on the palate, yet it comes across in such an elongated and elegant fashion. This is a really special bottle, one that needs to make its way into my liquor cabinet...soon.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-14-2017
We were fortunate enough to visit Château Latour during our 2016 En Primeur trip and I was pinching myself from the second we stepped onto the property. I never expected to see the actual fort of Les Forts fame (the second wine of Latour) in person, let alone step foot in the tasting room of this legendary estate. Latour is one of this world's greatest wines—many people consider to be the best. As we walked inside to our appointment, at the end of the table—following the 2016 line up—was the 2012 Pauillac de Latour, the estate's third wine after Les Forts. Upon tasting, I was immediately transported back to when the first 2012s were reaching US shores and arriving at K&L. This wine reminded me of how much I loved that vintage. A wonderful expression of harvest and the château, it displays lovely purity of fruit and that characteristic 2012 bright fresh acidity. A combination of complex savory, mineral tones and exotic spice dominated the seamless offering. The wine has wonderful poise and polish, with the Latour thumbprint throughout. What a treat!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Poise, precision and purity - these are the words that immediately come to mind upon tasting this wonderful Pinot Noir. TWR's Pinots are a bit shy upon immediate release, but always pickup steam to reveal their lovely character. Notes of exotic spice and dark red fruit lead to palate of great complexity. This wine is tasting brilliant now, but will continue to evolve.

2016 Margaux, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Chateaux Margaux is the absolute definition of poise and grace. The 2016 offering is ethereal and complex, even a bit introverted at this early stage. As with all world-class wines, greatness lies below the surface. A bouquet of black fruit, rose, lavender and violet grace the nose, which is accompanied by a palate of uncompromising precision and purity. Faint hints of leather, cedar box, and minerals lend to the intrigue. The 2016 is lower in alcohol than previous vintages, which adds tremendous vibrancy. The 2016 Chateaux Margaux is a collector's dream -- nothing but a long and happy life lies ahead.

2016 Margaux, Margaux 6-pack in OWC
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Chateaux Margaux is the absolute definition of poise and grace. The 2016 offering is ethereal and complex, even a bit introverted at this early stage. As with all world-class wines, greatness lies below the surface. A bouquet of black fruit, rose, lavender and violet grace the nose, which is accompanied by a palate of uncompromising precision and purity. Faint hints of leather, cedar box, and minerals lend to the intrigue. The 2016 is lower in alcohol than previous vintages, which adds tremendous vibrancy. The 2016 Chateaux Margaux is a collectors dream - nothing but a long and happy life lies ahead.

2016 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Chateaux Margaux is the absolute definition of poise and grace. The 2016 offering is ethereal and complex, even a bit introverted at this early stage. As with all world-class wines, greatness lies below the surface. A bouquet of black fruit, rose, lavender and violet grace the nose, which is accompanied by a palate of uncompromising precision and purity. Faint hints of leather, cedar box, and minerals lend to the intrigue. The 2016 is lower in alcohol than previous vintages, which adds tremendous vibrancy. The 2016 Chateaux Margaux is a collectors dream - nothing but a long and happy life lies ahead.

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-24-2017
My top Right Bank value in 2016 has to be Château Puy-Blanquet. I have always enjoyed this château's wines, but the 2016 is operating on a whole new level. Deep dark color with notes of cherry, vanilla, bay leaf and black olive fill the glass. The palate is decadent, sweet and round with supple tannins and mouth-watering acidity. This is by far the best Puy Blanquet I have ever tasted!

2016 Poujeaux, Moulis (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2017
The main reason I love Poujeaux is that I can collect this wine in EVERY vintage. The price to quality ratio undeniably lies in the consumer’s favor, as this wine is always fairly priced. Poujeaux has character and a unique terror that always shines, from the great vintages to those inevitably more challenging years. The 2016 is a textbook example of this Chateau. Understated poise and polish with a wonderful balance of fruit and savory flavors on the palate. Poujeaux never lets me down!

2016 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 05-17-2017
The main reason I love Poujeaux is that I can collect this wine in EVERY vintage. The price to quality ratio undeniably lies in the consumer’s favor, as this wine is always fairly priced. Poujeaux has character and a unique terror that always shines, from the great vintages to those inevitably more challenging years. The 2016 is a textbook example of this Chateau. Understated poise and polish with a wonderful balance of fruit and savory flavors on the palate. Poujeaux never lets me down!

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (6L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (3L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-10-2017
St-Estèphe really shines in 2016, with the Lilian Ladouys standing out as a top value. Lifted aromatics lead to a lively palate of black fruit, cinnamon and sweet herbs. Great intensity and a silky mouthfeel persist throughout. A really impressive offering!

2016 Capbern, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-10-2017
The 2009 Capbern-Gasqueton was my first introduction to this wine, which I loved and happily bought for my cellar. I was elated to taste the 2016 Capbern, and was not disappointed! This is a very serious wine. Beneath a hearty frame lies a core of sweet dark fruit. There is a great deal of intensity here, leading me to believe it will fair well for years to come. By far, a top offering in 2016 value category.

2016 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-10-2017
The 2009 Capbern-Gasqueton was my first introduction to this wine, which I loved and happily bought for my cellar. I was elated to taste the 2016 Capbern, and was not disappointed! This is a very serious wine. Beneath a hearty frame lies a core of sweet dark fruit. There is a great deal of intensity here, leading me to believe it will fair well for years to come. By far, a top offering in 2016 value category.

2016 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-10-2017
This was one of the great surprises of the Left Bank in 2016. This wine is so elegant! Notes of bright red fruit, flowers and spice grace the nose. The palate offers purity and depth of fruit while maintaining perfectly polished edges. A lovely wine for a fantastic price.

2016 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-10-2017
This wine has quietly become a customer (and staff) favorite in recent years. Lovely aromatics of red and black fruits with notes of flowers and exotic spice. This graceful nose leads to as a dense palate of sweet and savory currant fruit with perfectly placed tannin. Excellent value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-10-2017
St-Estèphe really shines in 2016, with the Lilian Ladouys standing out as a top value. Lifted aromatics lead to a lively palate of black fruit, cinnamon, and sweet herbs. Great intensity and a silky mouth-feel persist throughout. A really impressive offering!

2016 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-04-2017
We were fortunate to taste the 2016 Labegorce three times during our En Primeur trip, and the single adjective that stood out from each of my tasting notes was - “WOW!” It’s hard NOT to fall in love with this wine and the team at Chateau Labegorce. Tremendous passion, proficiency and enthusiasm translate to a wine that will not disappoint. Notes of Asian spice, flowers, bay, cedar and minerals leap from the glass, leading to supple and sweet palate impression. This wine displays great follow through, given its perfect balance of fine tannin and fresh acidity. Incredibly complex for the price, the 2016 Labegorce is sure to please.

2016 Labégorce, Margaux 12-pack in OWC
Review Date: 05-04-2017
We were fortunate to taste the 2016 Labegorce three times during our En Primeur trip, and the single adjective that stood out from each of my tasting notes was - “WOW!” It’s hard NOT to fall in love with this wine and the team at Chateau Labegorce. Tremendous passion, proficiency and enthusiasm translate to a wine that will not disappoint. Notes of Asian spice, flowers, bay, cedar and minerals leap from the glass, leading to supple and sweet palate impression. This wine displays great follow through, given its perfect balance of fine tannin and fresh acidity. Incredibly complex for the price, the 2016 Labegorce is sure to please.

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Beaumont seems to shine in every vintage, but I found the 2016 to be particularly exciting! Notes of dark fruit and fig cake lead to an enticing palate of soft pure fruit. This wine is medium bodied with fine supple tannins and a crisp finish. A standout in the value category - not to be missed.

2016 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-17-2017
There is nothing better than a wine that houses two seemingly opposite characteristics under the same cork. In the case of Malescot, it’s all about poise and power (the hallmark of GREAT Bordeaux). Malescot has fast become one of my favorite properties in Margaux, with the 2016 offering even furthering the case. Whether a Bordeaux neophyte or devotee, you are going to love this wine! Wonderful layers of ripe blue and red fruits are offset by savory complexity and long refreshing mineral tones. You will be hard pressed to find a more palate-pleasing wine at this price anywhere in the world.

2016 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 04-17-2017
There is nothing better than a wine that houses two seemingly opposite characteristics under the same cork. In the case of Malescot, it’s all about poise and power (the hallmark of GREAT Bordeaux). Malescot has fast become one of my favorite properties in Margaux, with the 2016 offering even furthering the case. Whether a Bordeaux neophyte or devotee, you are going to love this wine! Wonderful layers of ripe blue and red fruits are offset by savory complexity and long refreshing mineral tones. You will be hard pressed to find a more palate-pleasing wine at this price anywhere in the world.

2016 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 04-17-2017
This wine typifies the best of the 2016 vintage: purity, precision and elegance. This wine jumps from the glass with loads of black cherry, cola and flowers - while the palate displays layers of sweet supple fruit. Maintaining focus throughout, the tannins are soft and fine leaving you with a delightful spice note at the conclusion. So well constructed, it is an absolute classic!

2016 Beychevelle, St-Julien
Review Date: 04-17-2017
This was the first wine I tasted from the 2016 vintage! Not knowing what to expect, I was smitten on first sniff. Lovely aromatics of ripe raspberry and perfumed violets, it reveals hints of graphite and subtle savor on the palate. Great poise and purity of fruit leads to mouth-pleasing uniformity throughout. By far, one of the more impressive Beychevelle offerings in recent memory

2009 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-14-2016
I had the great pleasure of visiting Spain this last summer, and one of the highlights was meeting “The Man…The Myth…The Merino.” Miguel’s winery is located in the timeless hilltop village of Briones, in La Rioja Alta. The most gracious of hosts, I am a huge admirer of the man and his wines alike. I have tasted the 2009 Vitola three times this year, and can say it has come into its own as of late. This wine displays the hallmark ripeness of the 2009 vintage, with the poise and polish Miguel does so well. On the nose it is highly aromatic, showing the classic interplay of fruit and savor I love so much. The wine has weight, but is anchored well by silky tannins and fresh acidity. Enjoy now, but don’t be afraid to lose a few in the cellar for the future. You won’t be sorry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignee Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2010
This is an OUTSTANDING bottle of champagne! By far my favorite rose in our Direct Import lineup, it will definitely be making a guest appearance on December 31st!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2010
Made from all estate fruit from Bonville’s Grand Cru vineyards in Avize, this champagne displays ripe citrus and apple fruit on the nose, followed by a rich mid palate and a snappy mineral finish. The Bonville Prestige has everything I am looking for in a Blanc De Blancs at an extremely reasonable price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 06-13-2010
Organically grown and estate bottled, the Sorella Branca prosecco is the perfect start to any meal! This delicate and refreshing bubbly displays notes of fresh bartlett pear and aromatic flowers. Enjoy this classic prosecco all year long!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90

2000 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-12-2010
A wonderful offering from La Rioja Alta, this reserva is NOT to be missed! Driven by complex notes of dried red fruit, baking spices, tobacco and cedar, this rioja possesses excellent balance and acidity. This is the perfect match for your favorite rustic cuisine!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 ST 90