Staff Favorites - Jason Marwedel

Jason Marwedel

Reviews

  
2016 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Lanessan is a perennial super-star at K&L, and the 2016 vintage is no exception. For me Lanessan always achieves a harmonious balance of fruit and savor. Aromas of cedar, spice and antique wood lie beneath a lovely core of pure dark fruit. Freshness and balance on the back end make this another great effort from one of our favorite Chateaux.

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Beaumont seems to shine in every vintage, but I found the 2016 to be particularly exciting! Notes of dark fruit and fig cake lead to an enticing palate of soft pure fruit. This wine is medium bodied with fine supple tannins and a crisp finish. A standout in the value category - not to be missed.

2010 Cune Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-10-2017
Hailing from the excellent 2010 vintage, this Gran Reserva will scratch your deepest Rioja itch! Poised and balanced, it offers loads of red fruit on the nose – plum and fig with notes of herbs, cedar and exotic spice. Medium weight and full of life, this wine will be incredibly versatile at the table year round. Another classic offering from one of my favorite Rioja producers!!!

2009 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-14-2016
I had the great pleasure of visiting Spain this last summer, and one of the highlights was meeting “The Man…The Myth…The Merino.” Miguel’s winery is located in the timeless hilltop village of Briones, in La Rioja Alta. The most gracious of hosts, I am a huge admirer of the man and his wines alike. I have tasted the 2009 Vitola three times this year, and can say it has come into its own as of late. This wine displays the hallmark ripeness of the 2009 vintage, with the poise and polish Miguel does so well. On the nose it is highly aromatic, showing the classic interplay of fruit and savor I love so much. The wine has weight, but is anchored well by silky tannins and fresh acidity. Enjoy now, but don’t be afraid to lose a few in the cellar for the future. You won’t be sorry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignee Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2010
This is an OUTSTANDING bottle of champagne! By far my favorite rose in our Direct Import lineup, it will definitely be making a guest appearance on December 31st!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2010
Made from all estate fruit from Bonville’s Grand Cru vineyards in Avize, this champagne displays ripe citrus and apple fruit on the nose, followed by a rich mid palate and a snappy mineral finish. The Bonville Prestige has everything I am looking for in a Blanc De Blancs at an extremely reasonable price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

1999 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-19-2010
If you love classic Bordeaux at an affordable price, you need look no farther than Chateau Lannessan! Loads of dark plum on the nose with notes of cacao, tobacco leaf, and cedar. This wine has great texture and a ripe mid palate backed by solid acidity and fine tannins. It will certainly age for another few years, but is great now with an hour of decanting
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 06-13-2010
Organically grown and estate bottled, the Sorella Branca prosecco is the perfect start to any meal! This delicate and refreshing bubbly displays notes of fresh bartlett pear and aromatic flowers. Enjoy this classic prosecco all year long!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 W&S 90