Staff Favorites - Christie Brunick

Christie Brunick
Christie Brunick  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2013 Joseph Carr Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-22-2015
A classic California styled Chardonnay with nice creamy texture and integrated oak that doesn't finish bitter or too toasty. Even a nice tropical note of pineapple upside-down cake on the finish. Delicious summer Chardonnay for a great price!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2006 Drappier "Grande Sendrée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Drinking perfectly upon release, this blend of 55% Pinot Noir and 45% Chardonnay is the definition of expressive elegance in a glass. Gorgeous aromas, texture, and fruit, this is the belle of the ball. Absolute perfect amount of creaminess to acid ratio, this is bright and buttery at the same time.

2008 Michel Arnould Vintage "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
This gorgeous blend of 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Chardonnay Champagne is a great example of how amazing the 2008 vintage is. I can't believe this is vintage Champagne for the price! Bright and fresh, but with the delicious savory hazelnut, apple, cherry flavors that we know and love this producer for. Completely balanced and drinking great now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Domaine Anne & Arnaud Goisot Chablis
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Flinty, mineraly, high acid, bright, racy, crisp, and clean...these are the elements that make great Chablis. Try finding one better than this for under $15! Good luck.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Year in and year out Domain Renaud is always my favorite Direct Import white Burgundy producer. The wines always over deliver for the price and this 2014 vintage delivers all the goods! The Solutre is always my personal favorite pick because the fruit comes from the highest elevation vineyard with the most drainage which gives the wine amazing minerality, acidity, and texture that the others in the line-up seem to lack a bit. This is like a cross between Chablis with the minerality, and Pouilly-Fuisse with the fruit and lovely texture. Its just the perfect Chardonnay with no new oak, and is extremely food friendly but great to drink on its own as well!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Alain Voge "Les Vinsonnes" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 07-08-2015
YES, YES, YES, YES, AND HELL YES!!! Every French Syrah from now on will be compared to this. I'm ruined for life! But hey, at least the best St Joseph I've ever tasted is only $30!

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Classically Corbieres, complex, completely old school, and oh so food friendly. This new DI addition is perfect for anyone wanting to try something new, or get out of their Rhone Rut! Give it some air or a decant first, this wine totally over-delivers for the price with its super-structure and depth of savory earth, spice, and dusty tannins.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Roth Estate Alexander Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Classic cool climate Sauvignon Blanc at its best for a ridiculous price! This is Lancaster's second label that usually sells for closer to $20! A stellar value for 100% pure, estate-grown, Alexander Valley Sauvignon Blanc. Great citrus and mineral notes, juicy mouthwatering acidity, and easy to drink with or without food. It's a no-brainier if you ask me!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Bench Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-08-2015
A very classicly styled Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir. Juicy and rich on the palate, with silky and seamless texture. Lots of black cherry and red fruit notes. Always a go to!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Collemattoni Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-04-2015
OMG! I just discovered the Best 2010 Brunello I've tasted this year! And we've been tasting A LOT since they've been rolling in over the past months. This Direct Import straight from the Winery is Super classic in style, and right upon popping the cork it's showing amazing fruit and character! Yes you can age it for 20 years, but of all the 2010's this is gorgeous out of the bottle and oh soo showy! Amazing texture, integrated oak and tannins, purity of fruit and layers and layers of delicious! Please do yourself a favor and and let this wine transport you to the Italian wine-country of Brunello!

2010 World's End "Good Times Bad Times" To Kalon Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-04-2015
Wow people! It's not every day you get an opportunity to devour the coveted Beckstoffer To Kalon Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon fruit! Only the most sought after vineyard in the Napa Valley! Typically any Cab from this vineyard starts at upwards of $200. So for just $50 your getting Soo much more than your paying for. I tasted this and was like.."yep, that's Beckstoffer Fruit all-right" it was so deep, well structured, and actually drinkable now! It's everything you would expect from this pedigree and more! Good luck!

2013 William Hill "Estate" North Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-01-2015
This is a great value in California Chardonnay done by the people who know how to do Chardonnay right! Gallo of course! Very classic to the Cali style we all love but not too sweet and alcoholic as many domestic Chards can be. Nice creamy texture with plenty of toasted oak and vanilla on the finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2014 Ermitage "Victor" Costieres de Nimes Rosé
Review Date: 06-23-2015
If you're looking for the absolute best crowd-pleasing rosé that is classically French in style but priced like a summer porch pounder, then look no further! This is a gorgeous rosé Rhone blend of 50% Grenache, 25% Syrah and 25% Mourvedre from a tiny AVA called Costieres de Nimes within the Rhone region. For just under $10 this rosé will tantalize your senses and get your party skinny dipping in no time! I can't believe the balance of summertime strawberry fruit, quenching textures of minerality and juicy acidity, and it finishes so clean and perfect, it just entices you to drink more! The only bad news is that we only got a very limited amount of this amazing southern French Direct Import and it won't last through the whole summer, so get it while you can!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Ousterhout "Nance's Vineyard" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 06-16-2015
An extremely food friendly style Zin that we don't see very often. Almost reminds me of Italian Zin or Primitivo with its brightness and spice. Great to drink now or cellar a couple years!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 95 WE 90

2012 Jordan Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Jordan is great at making wines true to varietal character yet displaying all the nuances of the terroir from which they come. This Chardonnay is no exception. It has subtle, creamy aromas and a great texture on the palate, yet this cool-climate Chardonnay has an intense leesy quality that mimics Burgundy. Food-friendly and ready to consume.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé 1.5L
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Unbelievably fresh, bright, mineral driven, with subtle hints of that light Pinot Noir strawberry fruit coming through. This is the quintessential Sancerre summer rosé that is so refreshing with its quenching acidity and mouth-watering finish. And for this price you should stock up before it's gone...won't last long!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé (375ml)
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Unbelievably fresh, bright, mineral driven, with subtle hints of that light Pinot Noir strawberry fruit coming through. This is the quintessential Sancerre summer rosé that is so refreshing with its quenching acidity and mouth-watering finish. And for this price you should stock up before it's gone...won't last long!
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Unbelievably fresh, bright, mineral driven, with subtle hints of that light Pinot Noir strawberry fruit coming through. This is the quintessential Sancerre summer rosé that is so refreshing with its quenching acidity and mouth-watering finish. And for this price you should stock up before it's gone...won't last long!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Caymus "Special Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-04-2015
This vintage of Caymus Special Select is just as special as ever. The 2012 is massive and mouth-coating. If you love the over-the-top style Caymus has become famous for, then this year's is going to make your eyes roll back and drool at first sip!
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 94

2013 Haut Rian Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 06-04-2015
Finally, A Bordeaux blanc that is superbly balanced and priced to drink! With 60% Semillion and 40% Sauvignon Blanc, this white has amazing texture and viscosity on the palate while remaining crisp, mineral-driven, and with high acidity all the way through. I'm obsessed! Will be drinking this till it's gone!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-04-2015
The 2012 Napanook is the second label from the 99-Robert-Parker-point 2012 Dominus and is just about the best value I've seen for this pedigree of fruit in years! This Napa Valley Bordeaux blend should constitute a wine that's triple in price! A bit more plush and forward than the usual restrained and more lean style of Napanook, but with all the structure and finesse that will keep this baby aging gracefully for decades to come. I love it now, but I will love, love, love it in 5 to 15 years!

2012 Roth Estate Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-02-2015
California Chardonnay fans watch out! This second label Chard from Lancaster is going to take over by storm! This screaming deal comes from vineyards with all estate fruit that is better quality than some of the biggest Cali Chard producers in the business. If you love Rombauer, Cakebread, or Ramey and don't want to be in the well over $30 range than try the Roth Chard for well under $20! You will find your new everyday wine!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-22-2015
Again and again, the Olema Cabernet never fails to be the best in its class! The 2012 is even more exceptional than usual because the fruit is matched by its pure elegance. More richness, but also more texturally pleasing, without too much oak, leaving it supple and food friendly with its integrated light tannins and juicy acidity. This is the perfect $20 Cab for anyone looking for a super versatile everyday red that can pair with almost any food, or just enjoy it on its own!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-15-2015
By far the best vintage of Foxen Pinot Noir I've tasted. And I've been drinking this wine for well over a decade! The aromatics just burst out of the glass and is so bright yet intriguing with underlying richness and supple texture on the palate. This is not to be missed! It will go fast.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 AG 90

2012 Domaine Courtois "La Grange" Vinsobres
Review Date: 05-08-2015
This Southern Rhone Blend is from a lesser known sub-region called Vinsobres. I love this wine because it retains the plush and ripe fruit we all know and love from Cote du Rhone but has a much more depth of character. It's mineral driven at the core, with great acidity and structure to give it a rustic edge, but remaining friendly at the same time. Enjoy and Cheers!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 05-01-2015
Can you get a better summer party wine for the price? The Answer is No! This Garnacha is not only juicy and ripe but it has great quenching acidity that balances the fruit making it perfect for sipping alone or with food! Great with any type of salty tapas and wont give you a hangover from high alcohol or sugar! You cant find better bang for your buck in this category!
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Commanderie de la Bargemone Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-10-2015
This is quintessential Provençal rosé. Gorgeous color of opaque salmon, with fresh, bright, mineral-driven crisp notes and subtle fruit undertones of strawberry seed and watermelon rind. Great acid, and uber refreshing!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 AG 90

2013 Martin Ray Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-08-2015
Napa Valley fruit at this price?! It's true, and it's amazing! This drinks like a Napa Cab at twice its price and is worth every penny! Dark fruit, lush and supple on the palate with a fair amount of rich, sweet French oak that makes the finish oh so good! Drink up!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Cane & Fabel 373 Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-08-2015
A perfect bbq Cab for all those who want a no fuss, easy drinking, juicy, ripe, classic Paso Cab that is food friendly as well as balanced. This is a crowd pleaser that you can drink at any occasion!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-08-2015
This is the most varietally correct and friendly Pinot Noir from California's cool climate central coast that you can get! It is bright and juicy, with lots of pretty red cherry and strawberry fruit with a Burgundian sensibility to it. This is one of those not to miss vintages of this wine, completely over-delivers for the price!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

Del Professore Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Looking for a great springtime aperitif? This semi-off-dry Italian White Vermouth is soo delicious and refreshing! It's a great option for someone who wants something a little different than there typical Lillet Blanc or similar. I love it over the rocks with a twist of lemon or other citrus! I will be enjoying this all summer!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-24-2015
This is drinking beautifully now and will age gracefully over the next 5-10 years as well. No expense spared by the folks at Amici Wines to make the absolute best wines possible for the price! Dark, rich, supple, juicy, with integrated oak and polished tannins on the finish. This is always a staff favorite!
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 RP 90

2013 Kalinda Yountville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-20-2015
If you haven't already heard, the 2013 vintage is even more exciting to Napa winemakers than 2012! Hard to believe I know, but wait to you taste our new release of the 2013 Kalinda Yountville Cabernet you will need to sit down for this! It's coming from one of my favorite producers in Napa Valley making balanced age-wothy Bordeaux style Cabernet. All the fruit used is second from this powerhouse estate and it is stupid-good for the money. I can't wait to put a case away and see how it develops over the next few years!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-20-2015
A new Direct Import for us and I'm in love! This is the perfect Champagne to start out the night with! Although dry, it has a ripeness to the fruit that makes it a great aperitif or sipping Champagne on its own. This will be great for anyone that wants to dive right into our grower Champagne program and see what it has to offer! Great Champagnes for less than you'll find anywhere!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Araujo "Altagracia" Napa Valley Proprietary Red
Review Date: 03-06-2015
Looking for a perfect balance of power and beauty, a little Cali mixed with a little Bordeaux style, this delivers all the goods. Stunning structure, rich, bold, beautiful classic Cabernet fruit with structure and sweet oak that will keep this wine aging for years to come! To me it's just perfect! Drink while your Eisele Vineyard ages!

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Drinking beautifully now and is extremely supple with polished tannins and a pure expression of fruit. Lots of violets, purple and blue fruit, with a touch of savory earth and tobacco on the finish. Absolutely perfect with tapas and easy enough to sip on its own. A great Rioja to introduce friends to as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Best Domestic Pinot Noir around for a ridiculously great price! I even served it at my wedding reception and people absolutely loved it! I didn't have any left, they guzzled it up! Classic Pinot Noir aromas of ripe strawberry and dried cherry lead you to a palate of juicy and bright fruit with quenching acidity, making it the perfect cocktail or food wine! Trust me:)
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-25-2015
To be Honest, I like this second label Pinot Noir from Banshee wines more than the first! For almost $10 cheaper, you get brilliant fruit from the same exact source! I love the richness on the palate, it's actually a bigger Pinot than the Banshee label, but still has that great acidity to polish it out. Lots of Black and red cherry, blueberry, and red fruits here. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Rouge
Review Date: 02-25-2015
I'm in love. This lovely Cabernet-based southern French blend has all the richness and weight of a Bordeaux, but without the harsh tannins! Hallelujah! But it's not just fruit, it has a gorgeous, gravely tobacco rusticness that makes its black and purple fruit marry very well together. I will be drinking a lot of this very soon! Think of Bandol without waiting all the time!
Price: $41.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Château la Caminade "Fut de Chene" Cahors
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Malbec from Argentina = cocktail wine, Malbec from Cahors France = food wine! All the dark fruit but with so much more structure. Gorgeously rustic with high acid and integrated tannins that will go oh so well with any red meat you can get your hands on! Delicious.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Looking for a red to drink day or night? With or without food? Not too tannic and not too sweet? Then you've met your match! This is a terrific crowd-pleaser with its ripe, juicy upfront fruit, but balanced with a fair amount of acid and not too much oak! Pizza party, burgers, chicken, it's all good!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2012 Anaba Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-06-2015
If you're looking for a Chardonnay that includes the Big 4--Flavor, Fruit, Food Friendliness, and Full-bodied--look no further! I'm loving this boutique production Chardonnay from some of the most well regarded vineyards in the region! The main reason I love it is because it's not your typical super oaky-buttery fat-flabby Cali Chard, not to say that it doesn't have the lusciousness of a Cali Chard we all love, but it has gorgeous texture, acidity, and balance like Burgundy, without the harsh edges. It dances on the palate with its citrus and tropical fruit notes and has a wonderful weight from the lees and integrated French oak. Wow, this is delicious!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 02-04-2015
My Favorite Sancerre is back! Slightly updated label, same Amazing Sauvignon Blanc. I always love the Insolite Sancerre because it has a touch more palate weight and texture than your typical Sancerre. Bursting with minerality, juicy acid, and even a touch of salinity, this is the perfect shellfish wine and I can vouch for that! I had a bottle at a raw bar with oysters and scallops and it was absolutely divine! Easy enough to drink on its own as well, this also goes great with salty hard cheeses.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 01-28-2015
Still the best deal in Gruner Land! I can't get enough of the Etz Gruner; it's exactly how a Gruner should be! Light, zippy, fresh, easy to drink, pairs well with food--especially greens like grilled artichoke and asparagus! You can sip it by the pool, on the deck, while you whip up dinner, or bring to a party. The extra glass is always a plus for sharing!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Adelsheim Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-28-2015
The Perfect expression of what everyone expects from the spectacular 2012 vintage in the Willamette Valley. Deep and lush in color and flavor, the 2012 Adelsheim Pinot Noir delivers all the goods. Rich aromatics of ripe berry patch and rhubarb. On the palate it's juicy and supple, with bursting cherries, raspberries, and dried strawberry. Not your typical light, lean and mean style Oregon Pinot so many people equate Willamette Pinots with. This is more full bodied and lush than expected and still 100% Pinot.

2010 Soluve Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 01-28-2015
I don't usually love Chianti but we just got in one of the most friendly Chiantis I've tasted in a long time! The reason is that it has a touch of Merlot blended with the Sangiovese giving it a nice weight and richness, and adds a soft quality to the usually very astringent and acidic Chianti. This is perfectly food friendly and a great wine to have with anything Italian!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2009 Columbia Crest "Reserve" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-15-2015
Dark purple-black color in the glass. Subtle aromas of chocolate, earth, truffles, cassis, and blackberry. Juicy and plush on the palate with fair acidity and integrated oak tannins. This is ready to drink now and is a lovely wine that expresses Washington terroir very well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 WS 91

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-12-2014
Sophisticated and supple. Yes, the second label from Quintessa has done it yet again. The Faust Cabernet is pure and straightforward. Black currant, cassis and blackberry fruit on the nose, with just a wisp of toast. Fresh minerals and finely integrated tannins make this Napa classic very drinkable now or easily cellarable for the next 5+ years or so.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 90

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2014
Rioja that's ready to drink now, drinkable on its lonesome, perfectly food-friendly, and costs -$$? What? This is an amazing value for the holidays, or any time of year, for that matter. Super-classic aromas of dusty red fruit and old man cigars, lightly savory and earthy with a touch of chocolate. This is delicious!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 Frog's Leap Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 12-01-2014
I love Frog's Leap wines for many reasons. The most important thing they do is make food-friendly wines that are balanced, sophisticated, restrained, friendly, and age-worthy. I'm super impressed by their Napa Zinfandel in particular because it is the way Zinfandel used to be made years ago, before all the "Prisoners and Opolos" of the world came to take over! The 2012 Frog's Leap Zin is super classic in style and varietally correct. Bright and focused fruit with wonderful acid and not over-oaked and alcoholic like so many of its counterparts. This is a Zin that will never go out of style. Blackberry, currant, cassis, with slight hints of tobacco leaf and cocoa nibs on the finish. Juicy without over-extraction, and wonderful integration of oak tannins.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91

Page: 1 2 next