Staff Favorites - Sal Rodriguez

Sal Rodriguez

Reviews

  
Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2016
A colleague handed me a glass, and I inhaled. Light notes of fresh cracked pepper and lovely hints of smoke were prevalent. I asked if it was a mezcal because of the sweet, fresh, smoke. I found out it was a tequila (obvious now) but the fact that it can be confused for a mezcal, speaks of its smokey complexity. I usually think that the smokey flavors weigh down mezcal but this one remains fresh, bright, and intense. If you need a new tequila for your home bar, you have to consider this one - trust me! Cheers!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2014 Columbia Crest "Grand Estates" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2016
I dare you to find a more crowd-pleasing Cabernet at this price! Go ahead - I'll wait. Alright, stop looking already, and just get on in here and pick up a couple of cases! This is inexpensive Cab that doesn't try to be anything other than delicious cab. The nose is fruit, spice, and hints of pepper, and the pallet is a lovely offering of velvety tannins and incredible easy fruit and spice. The finish is round, supple, and elegant. Although we should have a good quantity coming in, I wouldn't make the mistake of assuming it will last through the holidays. Get yours now, and enjoy!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Just plain brilliant! This is what I want to drink when I drink white wines. Not over-done, not over-oaked. Crisp, tropical, medium weight, and all around delicious. This is crowd-pleasing wine at its purist. Be a hero and have some at your table for the holidays!

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-25-2016
I'm consistently awed by the fine wines the folks at Lopez de Heredia have been making. I guess, being in the business for about 140 years you learn a few things about your craft. This superbly complex wine is something really special. I've had their late 90's Tondonia and they all seem to age like Tom Cruise has aged - Slowly, comfortably, and hard to believe it's the age that it is. Some of the highest quality wines you'll find in the price category. Cheers!

2013 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 08-24-2016
Looking for a bright, fruit forward, easy drinking Malbec, for not a lot of money? May I hand you a case of this? Party on with this easy to drink, lovely, red-fruited number that will surely charm your guests. Enjoy!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Terra Valentine does it again! Loads of expressive perfumed fruit is what gets you first, followed by a hint of wood on the nose. Great blue and black fruit on the palate and soft hints of underbrush. The tannins show through nicely, not overpowering the balance of the fruit and acid in the wine. It's not every day you can obtain such a nice Cab in this price range. Fantastic!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Although not the least expensive rose K&L carries, it still represents one of the best values we have in house. The fruit and minerality come through spectacularly -add the fine tannins and you have a wonderfully balanced wine! Probably at the top of my "rose favorites" list this entire summer!! THUMBS UP!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Minervois Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Bright, fresh, crisp, and nicely focused. I like this style with it's hint of acid, and nice dried pear on the palate. This is as easy-going as it gets and it won't break the bank to buy a case! Enjoy all summer, and courtesy of climate change, most of fall too!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-27-2016
A lovely Chardonnay with a bright, pretty, zesty nose. Hints of pear, honeysuckle, and orange blossom waft from the glass. There's a nice mid-palate weight that's not too heavy. A delicious, richer style that offers perfect acidity, and a high-toned herbal finish. This will hang with the "big boys" of California Chardonnay, but without the "big boy" price.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2015 FRAM Chardonnay Robertson
Review Date: 06-22-2016
I don't take Chardonnay home all that often. I don't drink it often, and not many Chards catch my fancy. The Fram Chardonnay hits me just the right way! Bright, lifted, high tones are immediate on the nose, while it offers spice driven richness on the palate. The texture and weight made me assume it was aged in barrels but the viscosity is brought in via lees contact. The best part about it, is it's lovely and rich, but not over-oaked. And the price doesn't hurt much, either.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 S.C. Pannell Syrah Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 06-22-2016
If you think you can only get great Syrah, with robust fruit flavors from California, you'd be wrong! Here, you get loads of spice and fruit on the nose - and bright acidity with amazingly rich fruit on the palate. All the decadence and supple fruit you want, without all of the sugar. You'll be hard-pressed to locate a better Syrah at this price! As the hipsters are saying, Amazeballs!

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask #75 K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This baby is intense, and delicious! The sweetness (think brown sugar and maple syrup) is quite evident from the nose, and continues on throughout the palate. A good deal of vanilla extract and a touch of anise is waiting for you as you continue to drink. If you just add a little water to this, it is going to sing! Just incredible!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2013 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-25-2016
Elegant. Rich. Delicious. The nose offers up lovely cherry notes and a slight hint of mocha. Rich and decadent on the palate with firm tannins that leaves you with a lovely mouth-feel on the finish. As the wine lingers on, you'll notice bright fruit, lovely baking spice, and hints of fresh-cracked pepper. A delicious California blend, at a very reasonable price.

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-11-2016
The scent of bright crunchy cranberry and red fruits show off like a lovely perfume. Slight minerality , and perfume come through quite elegantly - like a wine twice this price! Another winner for parties, weddings, or just because it’s Monday!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-11-2016
This is always a great seller and one of the best white wine values here at K&L! A beautiful expression of racy tones of white flowers and peach come out of the glass quite enticingly. Nice acidity and medium weight on the palate make this a perfect sipper (even before 5 o’clock). Stone fruit and dried flowers continue on the palate. The summer months are upon us and this is a perfect bottle to open on a hot(or warm, or cool, or cold) day. A delicious value under 15 bucks!

2014 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-22-2016
Like its little brother, this is quite pretty out of the glass. The more noticeable tones of toast and vanilla let you know it's been in contact with more wood, and in this instance is a wonderful thing! There's a lot more going on with this wine than the price would make you think. I like the addition of the more supple, creamy texture from the additional contact with the wood. You get a lovely amount of baking spice mixed in the with the stone fruit and citrus flavors, making it that much more enticing. An elegant wine that I can't wait to take home for dinner.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 91 WE 91

2013 Eisold-Smith "Edel" Columbia Gorge White Blend
Review Date: 02-03-2016
What's this, WHAT'S THIS. There's magic in the air! Ok. It's not actually magic- it's pretty darn close, though. It's the fragrant stone fruit and dried flowers in the air from this compelling blend of white wine from Washington. Although the wine maker hasn't come forth with a blend that amounts to 100 percent of the wine, we aren't scoffing at how delicious it still is. Bright, lovely, lifted, and #@!%&#, were all descriptors found on my notes at the end of the tasting. Hands down, my new favorite white wine to take home, and priced to sell!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-03-2016
I'm finding more Zins that I consider approachable- even great! The 2014 Seghesio SoCo Zin is one such wine! After a lot of wine tasting there's usually 3 or so that are real stand-outs. This would be one of those stand-outs from a recent tasting. The aromas were frickin' (<---edited for content) unstoppable! Plenty of fruit, dried flowers, and toffee wafting eagerly out of the glass and leading into a great dark-fruit filled mouthful of deliciousness. The structure, although not in the way, indicates that this will be able to hold up against the big boys of Zin for a long time. Get-you-some.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 Eyrie Vineyards Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-30-2015
This is what a pure, domestic, Pinot Gris should taste like. There's plenty of round fruit, bright acidity, and crisp mineral notes on the palate. Delicious and elegant on the finish. I'm not sure that a better domestic Pinot Gris can be had, but if so, it would not be even close to this price! Three huge cheers to Jason Lett for always allowing the vineyards, and time, make the best products possible.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin (375ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2014
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this little bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Yes, the bottle is a little expensive, but once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart