Staff Favorites - Sal Rodriguez

Sal Rodriguez

Reviews

  
2013 Eisold-Smith "Edel" Columbia Gorge White Blend
Review Date: 02-03-2016
What's this, WHAT'S THIS. There's magic in the air! Ok. It's not actually magic- it's pretty darn close, though. It's the fragrant stone fruit and dried flowers in the air from this compelling blend of white wine from Washington. Although the wine maker hasn't come forth with a blend that amounts to 100 percent of the wine, we aren't scoffing at how delicious it still is. Bright, lovely, lifted, and #@!%&#, were all descriptors found on my notes at the end of the tasting. Hands down, my new favorite white wine to take home, and priced to sell!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
This is a winning value! Bright, crisp, and creamy lemon zest on the nose. High fruit tones and crisp, dry, delicious bubbles on the palate. This comes together nicely with apple fruits and a nice mineral backbone. You can never have too many bubbles so be sure to add this bottle to your collection.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-03-2016
Hi, My name is Sal and I drink red wine... And this bottle is one of the main reasons I drink red wines. This has a great sense of rich ripe fruit (but not too sweet), and just enough oak, tobacco, spice, and acidity to balance things out. It's drinking quite well right now but I know it can go for several more years. I can think of a few wines over 50 bucks that would be easily replaced by this, and no-one would be the wiser. 17 bucks?! Are you kidding me!?!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Eyrie Vineyards Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-30-2015
This is what a pure, domestic, Pinot Gris should taste like. There's plenty of round fruit, bright acidity, and crisp mineral notes on the palate. Delicious and elegant on the finish. I'm not sure that a better domestic Pinot Gris can be had, but if so, it would not be even close to this price! Three huge cheers to Jason Lett for always allowing the vineyards, and time, make the best products possible.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Savory and sumptuous! From the start, the nose is full of quite lovely cherry, raspberry, and mocha notes. On the palate it’s got a lovely velvet texture. Fine tannins come across nicely and blend very well with the fruit. The finish is medium to long and is a beautiful, savory number. Delicious!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 90

2013 Spellbound California Petite Sirah
Review Date: 10-22-2015
Looking for ripe, juicy, sexy P.S. at a bargain of a price? Here, we have a really approachable, rich, round, delicious, Petite Sirah. The fruit is ready from the word go and has supple hints of caramel, vanilla, and spice. It's not overly complicated and it's a sure bet for your next get together.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 La Valentina Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 08-30-2015
A nose of dried flowers, red fruits, and spicy cola are ready right out of the bottle. The lovely fruit, and earth, along with the fine tannins and baking spice make me take this seriously. This beauty finishes long, elegant, and balanced. A seriously great value from Italy!
Price: $10.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Lovely, bright stone fruits, and flowers waft from the glass, while minerality and herbal notes play on your palate. It's easy to enjoy this creamy textured, mouthwatering gem with it's lifted acidity, and savory, eucalyptus, dry finish. There's still plenty of warm days to enjoy this intriguing, value driven Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $13.95 Add To Cart
JS 93

2010 Terre da Vino "Essenze" Barolo
Review Date: 07-15-2015
2010 for Brunello wines was an amazing year, but it doesn't stop there! This Barolo is quite delicious, offering up beautiful red fruit, vanilla, and wet earth on the nose and it's bright and delicious on the palate. The tannin structure is nearly perfect for consuming now. I take a little perfume and anise with me at the finish. Great price! Delicious, easy drinking, wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2012 Jordan Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Bright, crisp, good acidity, nice weight without being heavy - and just downright delicious! The fruit pops from the glass, inviting you to drink the entire bottle. It's warming up all over the place and this will definitely please those looking for a wonderful summer Chardonnay.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
Review Date: 02-23-2015
I like to use the term "over-deliver" for wines that I feel exhibit an incredible value at any given price. Lot #62 over-delivers on the over-delivery! I love its beautiful fruit aromas, and its sumptuous fruit and spice on the palate. This blend is as sexy, and sumptuous, and delicious as anything I've tried under $20. You'll be hard-pressed to find a better value. Period. Get yours now as I'm fairly certain this will be flying off the shelves shortly!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-02-2014
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this little bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Yes, the bottle is a little expensive, but once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart