Staff Favorites - Sal Rodriguez

Sal Rodriguez

Reviews

  
2013 Giesen "Single Vineyard Selection - Ridge Block" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
You could easily spend a lot more on Pinot that's not even half as beautiful as this! The nose offers up lovely, dusty notes of fruit with a hint of old world style. Hi-toned ferrous notes allow for such an intense savory flavor profile. On the palate is an intriguing mix of fruit, herbs, dried flowers with a pleasant mineral driven complexity. If you're looking for an elegant Pinot, that holds up to wines twice its price, grab one for your next blind tasting. A finer Pinot bargain will be hard to find. Enjoy!

2013 Felton Road Riesling Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 02-03-2017
Each time I grab a bottle of Riesling to drink at home, there's a 75 percent chance it's going to be from New Zealand. I love so many things about the wines from this region, especially the Rieslings! This is beautifully made, refreshingly bright, with just the right amount of zippy acidity. Hints of flowers, apple, and pear on the nose and seriously crisp, maybe tart, apple deliciousness on the palate. There's some nice sweetness here, but it's not over the top or unreasonable. And what a price! I'm taking this home tonight!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
BC 95 JS 93

2013 John Duval "Plexus" SGM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 01-20-2017
Impressive, concentrated berries are the first thing I noticed when I took in the aromas. This beauty continues with a dark fruit aroma that is somehow also fresh. Dry, crisp, and still fresh flavors hit the palate with a touch of herb and spice. The finish is clean, earthy, and fresh. A lovely, expressive, delicious wine from the folks out at John Duval.

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2016
A colleague handed me a glass, and I inhaled. Light notes of fresh cracked pepper and lovely hints of smoke were prevalent. I asked if it was a mezcal because of the sweet, fresh, smoke. I found out it was a tequila (obvious now) but the fact that it can be confused for a mezcal, speaks of its smokey complexity. I usually think that the smokey flavors weigh down mezcal but this one remains fresh, bright, and intense. If you need a new tequila for your home bar, you have to consider this one - trust me! Cheers!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2014 Columbia Crest "Grand Estates" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2016
I dare you to find a more crowd-pleasing Cabernet at this price! Go ahead - I'll wait. Alright, stop looking already, and just get on in here and pick up a couple of cases! This is inexpensive Cab that doesn't try to be anything other than delicious cab. The nose is fruit, spice, and hints of pepper, and the pallet is a lovely offering of velvety tannins and incredible easy fruit and spice. The finish is round, supple, and elegant. Although we should have a good quantity coming in, I wouldn't make the mistake of assuming it will last through the holidays. Get yours now, and enjoy!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Just plain brilliant! This is what I want to drink when I drink white wines. Not over-done, not over-oaked. Crisp, tropical, medium weight, and all around delicious. This is crowd-pleasing wine at its purist. Be a hero and have some at your table for the holidays!

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-25-2016
I'm consistently awed by the fine wines the folks at Lopez de Heredia have been making. I guess, being in the business for about 140 years you learn a few things about your craft. This superbly complex wine is something really special. I've had their late 90's Tondonia and they all seem to age like Tom Cruise has aged - Slowly, comfortably, and hard to believe it's the age that it is. Some of the highest quality wines you'll find in the price category. Cheers!

2013 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 08-24-2016
Looking for a bright, fruit forward, easy drinking Malbec, for not a lot of money? May I hand you a case of this? Party on with this easy to drink, lovely, red-fruited number that will surely charm your guests. Enjoy!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Terra Valentine does it again! Loads of expressive perfumed fruit is what gets you first, followed by a hint of wood on the nose. Great blue and black fruit on the palate and soft hints of underbrush. The tannins show through nicely, not overpowering the balance of the fruit and acid in the wine. It's not every day you can obtain such a nice Cab in this price range. Fantastic!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Although not the least expensive rose K&L carries, it still represents one of the best values we have in house. The fruit and minerality come through spectacularly -add the fine tannins and you have a wonderfully balanced wine! Probably at the top of my "rose favorites" list this entire summer!! THUMBS UP!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Minervois Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Bright, fresh, crisp, and nicely focused. I like this style with it's hint of acid, and nice dried pear on the palate. This is as easy-going as it gets and it won't break the bank to buy a case! Enjoy all summer, and courtesy of climate change, most of fall too!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-25-2016
Elegant. Rich. Delicious. The nose offers up lovely cherry notes and a slight hint of mocha. Rich and decadent on the palate with firm tannins that leaves you with a lovely mouth-feel on the finish. As the wine lingers on, you'll notice bright fruit, lovely baking spice, and hints of fresh-cracked pepper. A delicious California blend, at a very reasonable price.

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-11-2016
The scent of bright crunchy cranberry and red fruits show off like a lovely perfume. Slight minerality , and perfume come through quite elegantly - like a wine twice this price! Another winner for parties, weddings, or just because it’s Monday!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-22-2016
Like its little brother, this is quite pretty out of the glass. The more noticeable tones of toast and vanilla let you know it's been in contact with more wood, and in this instance is a wonderful thing! There's a lot more going on with this wine than the price would make you think. I like the addition of the more supple, creamy texture from the additional contact with the wood. You get a lovely amount of baking spice mixed in the with the stone fruit and citrus flavors, making it that much more enticing. An elegant wine that I can't wait to take home for dinner.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 91 WE 91

2014 Eyrie Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-30-2015
This is what a pure, domestic, Pinot Gris should taste like. There's plenty of round fruit, bright acidity, and crisp mineral notes on the palate. Delicious and elegant on the finish. I'm not sure that a better domestic Pinot Gris can be had, but if so, it would not be even close to this price! Three huge cheers to Jason Lett for always allowing the vineyards, and time, make the best products possible.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin (375ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2014
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this little bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Yes, the bottle is a little expensive, but once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart