Staff Favorites - Sal Rodriguez

Sal Rodriguez

Reviews

  
2014 Patz & Hall "Dutton Ranch" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-27-2016
A lovely Chardonnay with a bright, pretty, zesty nose. Hints of pear, honeysuckle, and orange blossom waft from the glass. There's a nice mid-palate weight that's not too heavy. A delicious, richer style that offers perfect acidity, and a high-toned herbal finish. This will hang with the "big boys" of California Chardonnay, but without the "big boy" price.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 93

2015 FRAM Chardonnay Robertson
Review Date: 06-22-2016
I don't take Chardonnay home all that often. I don't drink it often, and not many Chards catch my fancy. The Fram Chardonnay hits me just the right way! Bright, lifted, high tones are immediate on the nose, while it offers spice driven richness on the palate. The texture and weight made me assume it was aged in barrels but the viscosity is brought in via lees contact. The best part about it, is it's lovely and rich, but not over-oaked. And the price doesn't hurt much, either.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 S.C. Pannell Syrah Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 06-22-2016
If you think you can only get great Syrah, with robust fruit flavors from California, you'd be wrong! Here, you get loads of spice and fruit on the nose - and bright acidity with amazingly rich fruit on the palate. All the decadence and supple fruit you want, without all of the sugar. You'll be hard-pressed to locate a better Syrah at this price! As the hipsters are saying, Amazeballs!

2011 Moss Wood "Moss Wood Vineyard" Wilyabrup Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Since tasting this, yesterday afternoon, I can't stop thinking about the beauty of this wine. I've tasted far lesser wines that were far more expensive from Bordeaux. This has the right aromas that invite you in for the sip. The fruit is dark, intense, and is mouth-filling, with a silky texture. There's just enough toast going on to balance things out, but not enough to knock things out of whack. This is delicious and rich, without being over-the-top. We don't have a lot so be sure to jump on this top tier, very age-able, wine before it's gone!

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask #75 K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This baby is intense, and delicious! The sweetness (think brown sugar and maple syrup) is quite evident from the nose, and continues on throughout the palate. A good deal of vanilla extract and a touch of anise is waiting for you as you continue to drink. If you just add a little water to this, it is going to sing! Just incredible!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2013 Taken Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 05-25-2016
Elegant. Rich. Delicious. The nose offers up lovely cherry notes and a slight hint of mocha. Rich and decadent on the palate with firm tannins that leaves you with a lovely mouth-feel on the finish. As the wine lingers on, you'll notice bright fruit, lovely baking spice, and hints of fresh-cracked pepper. A delicious California blend, at a very reasonable price.

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-11-2016
The scent of bright crunchy cranberry and red fruits show off like a lovely perfume. Slight minerality , and perfume come through quite elegantly - like a wine twice this price! Another winner for parties, weddings, or just because it’s Monday!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-11-2016
This is always a great seller and one of the best white wine values here at K&L! A beautiful expression of racy tones of white flowers and peach come out of the glass quite enticingly. Nice acidity and medium weight on the palate make this a perfect sipper (even before 5 o’clock). Stone fruit and dried flowers continue on the palate. The summer months are upon us and this is a perfect bottle to open on a hot(or warm, or cool, or cold) day. A delicious value under 15 bucks!

2014 Chateau Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé
Review Date: 04-22-2016
Impressive Chardonnay for the money! I like how expressive it is out of the glass and how inviting it is to be sipped on. Touches of lemon zest and dried flowers on the nose with a nice weight to the palate offering up a nice creamy texture. Slight touch of vanilla from the tiny bit of wood that it sees is quite enjoyable. This is what I call "easy drinkin'".
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 04-22-2016
Like its little brother, this is quite pretty out of the glass. The more noticeable tones of toast and vanilla let you know it's been in contact with more wood, and in this instance is a wonderful thing! There's a lot more going on with this wine than the price would make you think. I like the addition of the more supple, creamy texture from the additional contact with the wood. You get a lovely amount of baking spice mixed in the with the stone fruit and citrus flavors, making it that much more enticing. An elegant wine that I can't wait to take home for dinner.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2013 Eisold-Smith "Edel" Columbia Gorge White Blend
Review Date: 02-03-2016
What's this, WHAT'S THIS. There's magic in the air! Ok. It's not actually magic- it's pretty darn close, though. It's the fragrant stone fruit and dried flowers in the air from this compelling blend of white wine from Washington. Although the wine maker hasn't come forth with a blend that amounts to 100 percent of the wine, we aren't scoffing at how delicious it still is. Bright, lovely, lifted, and #@!%&#, were all descriptors found on my notes at the end of the tasting. Hands down, my new favorite white wine to take home, and priced to sell!
Price: Hidden View Price

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
This is a winning value! Bright, crisp, and creamy lemon zest on the nose. High fruit tones and crisp, dry, delicious bubbles on the palate. This comes together nicely with apple fruits and a nice mineral backbone. You can never have too many bubbles so be sure to add this bottle to your collection.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2014 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-03-2016
I'm finding more Zins that I consider approachable- even great! The 2014 Seghesio SoCo Zin is one such wine! After a lot of wine tasting there's usually 3 or so that are real stand-outs. This would be one of those stand-outs from a recent tasting. The aromas were frickin' (<---edited for content) unstoppable! Plenty of fruit, dried flowers, and toffee wafting eagerly out of the glass and leading into a great dark-fruit filled mouthful of deliciousness. The structure, although not in the way, indicates that this will be able to hold up against the big boys of Zin for a long time. Get-you-some.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-03-2016
Hi, My name is Sal and I drink red wine... And this bottle is one of the main reasons I drink red wines. This has a great sense of rich ripe fruit (but not too sweet), and just enough oak, tobacco, spice, and acidity to balance things out. It's drinking quite well right now but I know it can go for several more years. I can think of a few wines over 50 bucks that would be easily replaced by this, and no-one would be the wiser. 17 bucks?! Are you kidding me!?!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Eyrie Vineyards Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-30-2015
This is what a pure, domestic, Pinot Gris should taste like. There's plenty of round fruit, bright acidity, and crisp mineral notes on the palate. Delicious and elegant on the finish. I'm not sure that a better domestic Pinot Gris can be had, but if so, it would not be even close to this price! Three huge cheers to Jason Lett for always allowing the vineyards, and time, make the best products possible.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Savory and sumptuous! From the start, the nose is full of quite lovely cherry, raspberry, and mocha notes. On the palate it’s got a lovely velvet texture. Fine tannins come across nicely and blend very well with the fruit. The finish is medium to long and is a beautiful, savory number. Delicious!!

2013 Spellbound California Petite Sirah
Review Date: 10-22-2015
Looking for ripe, juicy, sexy P.S. at a bargain of a price? Here, we have a really approachable, rich, round, delicious, Petite Sirah. The fruit is ready from the word go and has supple hints of caramel, vanilla, and spice. It's not overly complicated and it's a sure bet for your next get together.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 La Valentina Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 08-30-2015
A nose of dried flowers, red fruits, and spicy cola are ready right out of the bottle. The lovely fruit, and earth, along with the fine tannins and baking spice make me take this seriously. This beauty finishes long, elegant, and balanced. A seriously great value from Italy!
Price: $10.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
Review Date: 02-23-2015
I like to use the term "over-deliver" for wines that I feel exhibit an incredible value at any given price. Lot #62 over-delivers on the over-delivery! I love its beautiful fruit aromas, and its sumptuous fruit and spice on the palate. This blend is as sexy, and sumptuous, and delicious as anything I've tried under $20. You'll be hard-pressed to find a better value. Period. Get yours now as I'm fairly certain this will be flying off the shelves shortly!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-02-2014
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this little bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Yes, the bottle is a little expensive, but once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart