Staff Favorites - Sal Rodriguez

Sal Rodriguez


2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Savory and sumptuous! From the start, the nose is full of quite lovely cherry, raspberry, and mocha notes. On the palate it’s got a lovely velvet texture. Fine tannins come across nicely and blend very well with the fruit. The finish is medium to long and is a beautiful, savory number. Delicious!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 AG 90

2013 Spellbound California Petite Sirah
Review Date: 10-22-2015
Looking for ripe, juicy, sexy P.S. at a bargain of a price? Here, we have a really approachable, rich, round, delicious, Petite Sirah. The fruit is ready from the word go and has supple hints of caramel, vanilla, and spice. It's not overly complicated and it's a sure bet for your next get together.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 La Valentina Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 08-30-2015
A nose of dried flowers, red fruits, and spicy cola are ready right out of the bottle. The lovely fruit, and earth, along with the fine tannins and baking spice make me take this seriously. This beauty finishes long, elegant, and balanced. A seriously great value from Italy!
Price: $10.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Lovely, bright stone fruits, and flowers waft from the glass, while minerality and herbal notes play on your palate. It's easy to enjoy this creamy textured, mouthwatering gem with it's lifted acidity, and savory, eucalyptus, dry finish. There's still plenty of warm days to enjoy this intriguing, value driven Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $13.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2010 Terre da Vino "Essenze" Barolo
Review Date: 07-15-2015
2010 for Brunello wines was an amazing year, but it doesn't stop there! This Barolo is quite delicious, offering up beautiful red fruit, vanilla, and wet earth on the nose and it's bright and delicious on the palate. The tannin structure is nearly perfect for consuming now. I take a little perfume and anise with me at the finish. Great price! Delicious, easy drinking, wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2012 Jordan Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Bright, crisp, good acidity, nice weight without being heavy - and just downright delicious! The fruit pops from the glass, inviting you to drink the entire bottle. It's warming up all over the place and this will definitely please those looking for a wonderful summer Chardonnay.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
Review Date: 02-23-2015
I like to use the term "over-deliver" for wines that I feel exhibit an incredible value at any given price. Lot #62 over-delivers on the over-delivery! I love its beautiful fruit aromas, and its sumptuous fruit and spice on the palate. This blend is as sexy, and sumptuous, and delicious as anything I've tried under $20. You'll be hard-pressed to find a better value. Period. Get yours now as I'm fairly certain this will be flying off the shelves shortly!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2008 Fonseca Late Bottled Vintage "Unfiltered" Port
Review Date: 02-04-2015
Do you need a seriously delicious port that's drinking well now - and don't want to spend a lot of money? This gem is likely going to win you over! There's such a lovely nose with good fruit and a touch of caramel. It continues with fruit, caramel, and spice notes on the palate. The acidity and tannins, make this a multi-layered, but not complicated port. A wonderful value!

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Solanera Viñas Viejas" Yecla
Review Date: 07-10-2014
The Bodegas Castano Solanera V.V. completely over-delivers! This 2012 delivers a crisp nose of crunchy berries, dried flowers and fresh pepper. On the palate, purple and tart, dark red fruits are noticeable with a nice hint of toasted oak. Aging in American and French oak really adds a depth to this bright, fresh wine, leaving a lovely satin mouthfeel. The finish continues with herbal, eucalyptus, and blueberry flavors. Get a few bottles now. If you wait, you might miss out!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-02-2014
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this little bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Yes, the bottle is a little expensive, but once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List