Staff Favorites - Angie An

Angie An

Reviews

  
2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This is one of the few wines I can actually say "I've been drinking this for a decade!" giving that my entire wine career merely started 11 year ago. This bottle was introduced to me when I was working at a steakhouse, where people are constantly looking for a big robust delicious Cabernet to pair with their aged T-bone, but at a good value (since they are already forking out close to $50.00 for the aged steak). Faust is rich, firm, smooth, super expressive and very consistent year after year, an amazing value for Napa Cabernet under $45!
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 Domaine Courtois "La Grange" Vinsobres
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Cheers to direct import! This is one of our newest gems, discovered by our Rhone wine buyer Keith, and I have to say it's probably my favorite Cote du Rhone at the moment. The vineyards are located in Vinsobres at high elevation, which translates to a more structure-driven rather than fruit-driven style of Rhone blend. It has the black pepper, black olive and smoke meat aromas that I usually relate to Northern Rhone (and which I love.) Beautiful and assertive!! Thank you Keith!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano
Review Date: 05-26-2015
This is a crowd-pleaser and best bang-for-your-buck all day, everyday! Morellino is another word for "brown" or "browning" which is used to describe how Sangiovese grapes look in the region. This tasty bottle has all the classic characters with red cherry, a super easy drinking mouthfeel and nice acidity to pair with your pizza or pasta on a weeknight. This wine always sells out FAST!! (Partially because all of us staff buy it by the case) so grab yours today and give it a try!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Fattoria Petrolo Torrione Toscana
Review Date: 05-26-2015
The Petrolo Torrione is mostly Sangiovese with a bit of Merlot blended in. Located just north of Cortona this talented producer makes a broad and firm wine with warm red fruit notes and solid texture.

2012 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-26-2015
This winery is located close to the western border of the Chianti Classico DOCG, half way between Florence and Sienna. This is 100% Sangiovese that is super expressive and floral right out of the glass with and elegant touch, warm baking spices notes and good acidity on the back end. This is what I consider a classic example of what Chianti Classico should taste like!

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 05-24-2015
If you haven't tried Gruner before you HAVE TO hop on the gruner train and taste it for yourself to see why all the geeky sommeliers and wine lovers are going crazy over this little grape. There is only 50,000 cases of Gruner Veltliner produced world wide with most of it coming out of Austria, with style ranging from crisp and zesty to rich and nutty. The Etz is done in the more zesty, refreshing style, and I will give you 3 simple reasons why you should have this wine in your life. 1. This is the more exotic, fuller and much more fun cousin of Sauvignon Blanc 2. It's one of the very few wines that actually pairs well with asparagus and artichoke (they are a pain to pair with wine!). 3. It's a twist off bottle! and #4. It's in a LITER bottle for only $13.99!!!! Ok, I realize I gave you four instead of three reasons... but hey, I like to over deliver sometimes... enjoy, grab a bottle and cheers!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-24-2015
One of the most serious Rosso di Montalcinos I've tasted. Touch of red clay with lots of earthy mineral characteristics on the nose. The wine is round and warm on the palate with a long lasting finish. To me this is the perfect bottle to introduce others to Brunello without breaking the bank. I am stocking up on this wine to drink while waiting for my 2010 Brunello to age! Bravo!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2011 Campo alla Sughera "Adeo" Bolgheri DOC
Review Date: 05-24-2015
60% Cabernet and 40% Merlot, this is a bottle I would bring to a sommelier blind tasting if I really want to mess with someone. The wine is dark, powerful, with oak signatures of mocha, chocolate, espresso and nutmeg spices. A touch of pencil shaving that almost brings me to Bordeaux but layers of dark fruits makes me want to say Napa. Either way, the wine is well made and sure to impress your dinner guest if they like full, powerful Cabernet blends.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91 RP 90

2012 True Myth Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-22-2015
The only truly unbiased way to judge the quality of a wine is through blind tasting format. Why? Because as much as we think we don't judge a book by its cover, we all do it to a certain degree. I was in a blind tasting group (along with three other advanced sommeliers, and one master sommelier) going through flights of Cabernet Sauvignon without knowing ANYTHING about the wines besides it's made from the Cabernet grape, and we all unanimously gave this wine very high marks before knowing what the bottle was. Some of the notes were "very classically California style" "Very well made" and "great balance of fruit and solid structure." We all thought it was from Napa, most likely from a well-known producer and guessed the price at around $60.00 a bottle. Imagine our pleasant surprise when we find out it was a $20.00 bottle from Paso Robles!!! I will be honest with you here, I would have totally judged this bottle just by its label and the price alone, but I'm glad I actually got a chance to blind taste this and realize what a well-made wine it is! Don't believe me? Buy a bottle and have it in a blind tasting lineup beside other expensive California Cabernet and see what happens. Honestly, my favorite California Cabernet for under $20.00 in the entire store right now!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Kismet "Papa's All Blacks" North Coast Red Blend
Review Date: 05-22-2015
What a cool wine!! This is a blend of approximately 60% Zinfandel plus a field blend of 14 other grapes including Petite Sirah, Carignane,and Alicante Bouschet. Some of the vines are over a century old! Very fitting for the name "all black" (all red grapes) and just a cool project overall. It's harder and harder these days for grape growers to keep their super-old vineyards (since they don't produce as much fruit) or obscure varietal plantings (they don't sell for as much $ as the popular grapes) so it's nice to see this traditional style of winemaking in this modern bottle. The wine is very lovely and high-toned, with hints of salty meaty notes. touch of spices, ripe cherry and red currants. Very complex and different. Cheers!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-22-2015
Wow, what a tasty Pinot Noir! The Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir does not see any new oak and is NOT your flashy, overripe, blockbuster style of Pinot at all. If that's the type you are looking for, stop reading this now and try a different wine. However, if you like a Pinot that's more earthy, slightly stemmy (yes I'm making up words here, but you know what I mean) and has a good touch of allspice, you are in for a treat! Very well made old school style indeed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 AG 90

2013 Domaine Gerard Tremblay Chablis 1er Cru "Cote de Lechet"
Review Date: 05-20-2015
This vineyard is considered of the best 1er Cru in Chablis, covering about 50ha on the west side of the Serein, just across from where all the Grand Cru vineyards are located. This producer itself is always a classic and what I look for in a bottle of Chablis. On the nose with tart lemon, yellow apple, very obvious chalky, oyster shell type minerality that's unmistakably Chablis (and what makes it so sexy in my opinion). On the palate it's razor sharp, with focused acidity, tons of mineral and an elegant yet long finish. This was the most racy out of all the 2013 Tremblay Chablis we tasted together. I'm definitely more biased toward this style and consider this the best of the lineup.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Cardwell Hill Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-20-2015
A top value Williamette Valley Pinot Noir with chunky red fruit, crushed rose potpourri, and a rich mouthfeel. Overall easy drinking wine and makes you want to stick your nose back in over and over for the florals. Yum.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2012 Domaine Anne et Hervé Sigaut Chambolle-Musigny 1er Cru "Les Sentiers"
Review Date: 05-06-2015
A more muscular expression of Chambolle with some leather, earth and a slightly meaty quality, yet the silky and lively finish on the palate is undeniably classic of the region. A few more years in the cellar and the wine should be even more stunning!
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List
BH 90 - 93

2012 Domaine Anne et Hervé Sigaut Chambolle-Musigny 1er Cru "Les Fuées"
Review Date: 05-06-2015
Bright, fresh-picked cherries and wild roses with the softest touch of baking spices on the nose; a high-toned and lively personality and an elegant mouthfeel. I just love the subtle beauty of Chambolle-Musigny, and this is a great example.
Price: $69.95 Add To Waiting List
BH 88 - 91

2012 Domaine Humbert Gevrey-Chambertin 1er Cru "Poissenot"
Review Date: 05-06-2015
Sweet black Bing cherry, currants and red plum are followed by vanilla, nutmeg and other baking spices. Intense and muscular on the palate, with a light, smoky finish, this bottle will certainly improve with a few more years in the cellar, and then enjoy it with some black pepper-crushed pork tenderloin for a perfect pairing.
Price: $84.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 BH 91

2012 Domaine Humbert Gevrey-Chambertin Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-06-2015
From well-sourced old vine grapes adjacent to Griottes-Chambertin Grand Cru, this shows warm notes of ripe raspberry, rhubarb and light, white pepper spice. It’s elegant yet complex, with some mushroom and fresh leather undertones. Try pairing it with herb and citrus-marinated grilled salmon.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2012 Domaine Humbert Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 05-06-2015
Shows good intensity and liveliness on the nose, with classic, juicy fruit aromas of cherry, strawberry and cranberry sauce; approachable, with hints of rose petal in the background. An easy-drinking wine for every occasion.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This is your no guilt, easy drinking middle of the week wine. Best paired with pizza, burger while watching a zombie movie and relaxing. It's 100% Tempranillo done in a juicy lively style. It doesn't take a sharp zombie to realize it's an awesome value! (pun totally intended)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-30-2015
Yay to direct import!! This is yet another great value juicy fun easy drinking Sangiovese hand picked by our Italy wine buyer Greg. Drink up, stock up, this bottle won't last long in our inventory!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2000 Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 02-27-2015
The people who know my palate and eating habits will say this: "there is nothing she wouldn't try once, and when it comes to wine, the dirtier the better." I had the honor to taste through 15 different vintages of 2000 Bordeaux earlier this week and I have to say the Gruaud Larose (very generously provided by our colleague Sean Fernandez) was right up my alley with the earthy, dusty, forest floor and mineral mouthfeel; it still has so much body and power and could lay down for another 10+ years, in my opinion.

2000 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 02-27-2015
I had the honor to join the 2000 Bordeaux wine dinner hosted for K&L employees earlier this week and taste through 16 amazing wines from many different regions and price points. I've always like the price-to-quality ratio for Malescot St-Exupery and their consistency through the years, and the 2000 vintage definitely did not disappoint. It was very approachable and showed a warm, rich and round mouthfeel and a touch of red clay mineral on the finish. Smooth, elegant and very well put-together, it's a great wine to drink now or keep in your cellar for a few more years!

2012 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-09-2015
Anderson Valley is a very unique place. It offers possibly one of the coolest climates in California, framed by steep hills. In terms the Pinot Noir from the region (when made by great producers such as Goldeneye, Husch, etc.) has a very focused, pure and lively fruit expression that you just don't find anywhere else, and it usually doesn't come cheap. With that said, the Carpe Diem is a great steal for the quality of the fruit and its full/powerful mouthfeel. "Seize the day" and treat yourself to a powerful Pinot!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99
WS 90

2009 Arnauton, Fronsac
Review Date: 02-08-2015
I almost didn't want to write a review for this wine, I wanted to kept it a secret and save it all for myself to be honest. A great vintage that could be enjoyed now or hold for 5~10 more years for under $20? Seriously, what's not to like? I have a feeling this wine will disappear very fast..... stock up and grab yours now!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-03-2015
I Love our Champagne program here at K&L! Gary Westby (Champagne buyer) established an amazing direct import Champagne program which offers high quality bubbles at really amazing prices. Champagne Aspasie is one of my favorite "go to" bubblies, for sure. I'm a huge Rose Champagne fan, they are usually harder to find and much pricier; being able to enjoy an elegant, pretty, juicy and soft Rose Champagne at this price is pretty awesome. I guarantee this bottle will outperform most Rose bubbles in the same (if not higher) price range. A great bottle to have for Valentine's Day this year! Hey, for the price, you can have Valentine's Day every week! Ha! Cheers!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Robert Craig "Affinity" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 02-03-2015
I agree with Robert Parker's comment on Robert Craig being one of the most consistent wineries in Napa Valley in both price point and quality. The 2012 is a bit flashier and upfront compared to other vintages, and demands a BIG, MEATY grilled steak (T-bone anyone?) Lots of flavor and full-bodied on the palate. A steal, really, for the quality of Cabernet you are getting in the bottle. Cheers!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 AG 91

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 02-03-2015
This is what I served for my wedding back in November, 2014. Yes, it would have been great if I could have served Krug for everyone coming to the wedding but being a bride on a budget, I searched long and hard for the best sparkling wine for an amazing price. After a panel tasting (the panel consisted of our bridal party) the Mas Codina came up as the clear winner. Why did we love it so much? Well, a great balance of apple and citrus combined with a light, nutty toasty touch; small, tight bubbles and a smooth + balanced finish was the key. This wine is made in the traditional Champagne style with a fair amount of bottle age on it. Simply amazing value for the top quality of wine you are getting in the bottle. Cheers!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 11-25-2014
Toasty warm aromas, full of vanilla, sweet tobacco and hints of dark chocolate. Definitely not shy, this bottle is full-bodied, with a strong tannin backbone, could age for a few more years and will pair amazingly with a grilled tomahawk chop!

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
Review Date: 11-25-2014
Serious Soave! With some skin contact this bottle really brings in the body and character! Rich honey and floral notes with a grippy mouthfeel, good acidity and a solid finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 11-24-2014
Simply put, the best value Cabernet for this holiday season. Juicy, fruity and easy-drinking, this is a great choice for holiday parties or to have at home as your everyday Cabernet! Who said you can't find a good bottle of Cabernet for under 10 bucks?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Oakridge Estate Single Vineyard Series "Oakridge/Whitsend Vineyard" Shiraz Yarra Valley
Review Date: 09-15-2014
Woo! What a spicy little guy. There's fresh black pepper, green tobacco, dash of green olive notes right off the bat along with the classic raspberry. This is NOT your typical big tannin, high alcohol Australian Shiraz at all, but more reminiscent of a Northern Rhone style. Elegant and classy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-02-2014
Amici is a family-owned winery which produces premium quality wines at really good prices. This Cabernet is sourced mostly from Rutherford and you can taste the dark cherry and the famous "Rutherford dust" in this bottle. One of the long-time staff favorites, and I'm confident to say that this wine will out-perform most of the $50+ Cabernets out in the market!
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 RP 90

2011 Villa Creek "Bassetti Vineyard" Paso Robles Syrah
Review Date: 05-12-2014
If the Villa Creek "Willow Creek" is supposed to reflect a Chateauneuf-Du-Pape wine, this Bassetti Vineyard 100% Syrah would certainly reflect a Cornas. Again, made in a more modernistic style. This 9-acre vineyard is located only 4 miles from the ocean. Made with 70% stem inclusion and 20% new oak, the wine offers plenty of intense black olive, pepper, big black fruit and some violet florals. There's a bittersweet chocolate note that came from the oak, finishing with solid tannins. I believe the wine has ageability and will be even more delicious in a few years!

2012 Château Pesquié "Le Paradou" Grenache Vin de France
Review Date: 05-09-2014
Old vine power!!! Grenache, for me, are usually very flashy, high in alcohol and super fruity/juicy... Not exactly what I would consider a "serious" wine, rather than more of a "fun" wine. However, Chateau Pesquie utilizes 75+ year-old vines to produce this concentrated, earthy, spicy and complex little wine. Don't let the price tag fool you, there's a lot of wine for the low price!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2011 Kenneth Volk Touriga Nacional
Review Date: 05-05-2014
In case you were wondering, Touriga Nacional is one of the main grapes used in making Port. Technically, the winery is not supposed to have the word "Touriga Nacional" printed on label according to EU law (for now, it's "administratively approved" by our own TTB bureaucracy, however--sorry, EU!). And it is extremely rare for a winery outside of Portugal to even plant this varietal. In any case, this wine is quite a treat, a combination of blackberry, blueberry and floral violets bursts out of the glass followed by hints of earth and a lively mouthfeel and finish with some soft, mocha notes. It was quite a unique experience, worth a try for sure!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Kenneth Volk Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-05-2014
Easily one of the best Cabernets under $25 in the store! The character of the fruit is ripe blackberry and red currant, with some spicy oak notes (but not overly sweet). This wine is fresh and lively; I notice tons of red roses behind the fruits. Solid tannin, full-bodied, long finish and has age-ability.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-26-2014
Ancient Peak is truly an amazing property full of history. Total of 17,000 acres but only 850 planted under vine, there are so many micro-climates, aspect and soil type it will blow you away. their wines comes at great value for the depth and complexity it offer! The 2011 Cabernet is a solid value Cab! Classic green olive tone, red current, spicy nutmeg and cinnamon on the palate with meaty, tobacco flavors. Great value delicious cabernet!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Talley Estate Arroyo Grande Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-26-2014
Talley Estate has always over deliver on quality of wines. Their 2012 Estate chardonnay is 70% from their Rincon vineyard planted back in 1984. Expressive lemon, honey, just ripe apple follow by little bit of vanilla and crushed nuts. It's extremely well put together; you can feel the body and intensity, layers of complexity and long finish, but overall very balanced and makes you want to take another sip!

2012 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-26-2014
I love Au Bon Climat wines! For me they are the perfect bridge between a new world and old world style winery. Their 2012 Chardonnay was just pretty, juicy apple, ripe lemon up front with hints of Burgundy minerality (some chalk, hazelnut notes). My favorite about their wines is always the palate texture, it goes down silky smooth, crisp, elegant, not flabby or heavy at all! Definitely worth a try!!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 02-04-2014
As the new Rhone and French Regional liaison at K&L I decided to purchase and try out all the sparkling wines from my section for the new year (with some help from friends of course). The Brut Nature from Antech was my favorite by far of the entire lineup. The wine was crisp, bone dry with elegant fine bubbles, reminds me of a Blanc de Blanc Champagne with little or no dosage. Extremely well put together, and I could not believe it was sold for only $12.99!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Marques de Legarda Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-21-2014
Rioja, Rioja, Rioja... The wines from the region can offer endless styles from the juicy Crianza to earthy Gran Reserva; From big and oaky to soft and smooth. I've always been more old school and am constantly looking for the more traditional style. Marques de Legarda is the oldest winery in Rioja making delicious and well balanced expressions of Rioja. I've had their 2001 Gran Reserva and the 2008 Crianza but my heart and palate favors the 2007 Reserva. The fruits are present, pronounced but well integrated with the oak profile. The wine truly showcases the elegance of the Tempranillo grape and makes me crave chorizo paella and Spanish tapas. I'm drooling now.....
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-21-2014
One word, FOCUSED! Washington knows good Cabernet! This plot was planted back in 1980. The wine shows beautiful dark current, black berry, and hints of mocha. I love the secondary flavors of pencil shavings, the earthy mineral components. Long finish with good acidity level. I would drink this Cabernet over many of the highly extracted over-ripe (and more expensive!!!) competitor any day of the week!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

Montechiara Prosecco DOC
Review Date: 12-03-2013
As the name suggest (Montechiara= Clear Mountain) this Prosecco is clean and easy drinking, great on its own or did someone said mimosa? Try this for your next party: make some orange popsicles in the freezer from fresh OJ; then place it into wine glasses and pour Montechiara Prosecco over it. Now sit back and watch your party guest be WOW'd !!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List