Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2011 E. Guigal Gigondas
Review Date: 02-27-2017
When I first got into Rhone wines, my head was always turned most by the wines of Chateauneuf du Pape. Though I still have affection for these, my palate has shifted more towards it's little brother Gigondas just to the northeast. Gigondas offers similar weight and intensity but often at half the price for a competing Chateauneuf. Gigondas is also more hillside fruit on gravel with lots of red clay in the soil and forests of garrigue surrounding most of the vineyards. This higher altitude and heavier soil produces wines with intensity but have more of the potpourri, tobacco notes that I love. The Guigal Gigondas is a special treat because it captures all these characteristics with a very classic narrative on the palate. Full of brambly red and black fruit, the nose drifts towards herbs of Provence and finishes with Asian spicebox and toasted tobacco flavors. Guigal is serious about their Gigondas. They have had roots in the region for half a century and the average age of the vines in the cuvee are 40+ years old. Another great element of this Gigondas... the price! Ours is the lowest in the country. The importer is winding down this vintage so hurr and get some now both to enjoy and maybe cellar for a couple more years.

2012 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Pur Plaisir" Cahors
Review Date: 02-14-2017
For those curious about high-end Cahors, the "Pur Plaisir" is the wine that truly plumbs the depths of richness and intensity that can be achieved in this region. The wine is full bodied, velvety textured and loaded with dense blackberry and currant fruit. Layers of smoky minerals and Asian spices round out the flavor profile. We don't often delve into this price point when looking at Cahors because there doesn't seem to be as big a market for collectible wines from this region. That doesn't mean the quality isn't there though. Stack the "Pur Plaisir" up against similarly priced Bordeaux or Malbecs from Argentina and this more than holds its own. In fact, you'd likely pay upwards of two to three times as much for comparable quality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Clos Saint Jean "Vieilles Vignes" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 01-27-2017
As far as vintages go, 2014 has not garnered much attention from the critics other than it sits in the shadow of 2015. What has been said, is that you should buy selectively and that the wines have lots of charm that makes them more accessible in the short term. That brings us to the Clos Saint Jean Vieilles Vignes. Every year, even in the tough ones, this wine is a performer. Though not stridently difficult, winemaker Phillipe Cambie opted not to produce the icon wines, Deus Ex Machina and Combe des Fous choosing to use the fruit to bolster the VV. A smart move indeed because it makes for one of the best and most approachable wines of the vintage. The nose is a panoply of rich fruit with layers of Maraska cherries and blackberry compote. Carmelized figs, potpourri and brushy garrigue round out the nose. Loads of classic terroir flavors will continue to evolve if given a little time. It is long, creamy and supple. It is more than one could hope for in this quietly charming vintage. Oh and one more thing. We have a throwback price on this wine! Usually floating closer to the $50 mark, we're just below $40 making this yet another reason to stock up on a few of these beauties to enjoy now or over the next 10 years.

2015 Domaine Vincent Cluzel Condrieu
Review Date: 01-27-2017
Condrieu provides the ultimate expression of Viognier and there is no finer representation of Condrieu right now than the wine coming from Domaine Vincent Cluzel. Coming from a family of growers, Cluzel has reclaimed the fruit for his own. His skills are exceptional, having learned from Rhone great Yves Cuilleron. The Cluzel is no shrinking violet of a wine. It is full and lush much like a grand cru Burgundy and that's no surprise as the vineyards have some of the most desired expositions with their south, south-east facing slopes. The aromatics are bold leaning towards peach melba, cardamom pudding and night jasmine. It reminds one of Guigal's "La Doriane" Condrieu with its intensity. The acidity keeps it all together never coming off as cloying or over-the-top. Well not too over-the-top. This is Viognier after all and that's kind of what we're after. Rejoice knowing that this wine is ready to drink now but will hold for a few years if you decide to stock-up.on a few bottles. Only a handful of cases made it to the west coast and we have the retail exclusive. Join us and welcome Vincent Cluzel and toast to the fact that we will be enjoying his amazing Condrieus for years to come.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2014 Clos Bellane Côtes du Rhône-Villages Valréas
Review Date: 01-11-2017
The village of Valreas is the northernmost Villages level wine in the Rhone appellation. What does that mean? Well a slightly cooler climate, for one. We start departing from the Mediterranean influence and get a little more continental. This cooler site brings more snap and crunch to the fruit and Syrah does particularly well up there offering up more savory spicy elements akin to a northern Rhone Crozes-Hermitage. Winemaker/Proprietor Stephane Vedeau acquired the winery in 2010. All of the vineyards are east facing slopes, most above 350 meters. Stephane elevated the winery's facility so that everything is gravity flow. All of this adds up to Stephane creating the purist cleanest expression of this appellation. The Village-Valreas is where the proof is in the pudding as they say. Full of vibrant, rich red fruit with a nose of dried tobacco leaf and savory spices. It is at once sumptuous and lithe, having both breadth and balance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 01-11-2017
Charles Smith's evocative labels always draw on one unifying characteristic: what's in the bottle is always joyous and delicious. These are never meant to be serious wines but are wines that capture your daily drinking at an affordable price that reflects the varietal and region upon which they are based. The "Kung Fu Girl" has always been one of my favorites in his line-up: 1) because I love yummy Riesling and 2) it's like an homage to old Chinese kung fu movies with a hint of "Kill Bill" thrown in for good measure. These are fun things and should never be taken too seriously. Pop and enjoy its bright lemony and melon fruit with its zingy acidity and slight sweetness. Don't be serious with it, this is your Thai or Chinese take out kind of wine for any night of the week. Now doesn't that sound both joyous and delicious?!

2014 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-03-2017
The Gardette "Tradition" speaks volumes about what is classic and dare I say, "Traditional" about both the winery and the way wine can be made in Gigondas and the greater Rhone Valley. JB Meunier, took a tricky vintage and gave us everything we should be looking for in any vintage, a sense of place and time and most importantly deliciousness. The wine shows notes of garrigue, Bing cherry, strawberry, rhubarb, Asian spices and burnished leather. It is full-bodied and complete with its persistent weight on the palate. In a region that has placed more emphasis on ripe fruit extraction, the "Tradition" is full of the beautiful savoriness which is what originally made the Rhone famous. After you try a bottle, you can see why we keep going back to the wines of the Moulin de la Gardette, it's Tradition personified.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 - 92

2015 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
Review Date: 01-03-2017
Here is a prime example of why we LOVE to buy direct from noteworthy producers. First, we save a lot of money. Second, we can offer prices at significant savings when we eliminate an importer and distributor, thus offering YOU greater savings. Third, we gain access to larger amounts of gems like the Chante Cigale Chateauneuf Blanc when they get the critical recognition they deserve. Perhaps one of the greatest values to be had in a CDP Blanc, this blend of equal parts Grenache Blanc, Clairette, Roussanne and Bourboulenc captures the essence of whites from the south of France with its expressive and vibrant nature. Most CDP Blanc is on the heavy side but the Chante Cigale is pure freshness spending most of its life in tank with just a tiny fraction in barrel. Crunchy stone fruit of nectarine and peaches harmonize with flavors of star fruit and Anjou pear. Light floral notes of honeysuckle add dimension and the wine finishes long with notes of wet stone. Great example of terroir, great example of a white Rhone and BEST example of why we love to bring wines to you through our Direct Import program.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 RP 90

2014 Jean-Louis Denois "Les Garrigues" Rouge
Review Date: 12-28-2016
This blend is the Bordeaux meets Rhone, you never knew you wanted. The beauty of Denois' source vineyards is that they lie between the Mediterranean and Atlantic where they see the influence of both weather patterns. This creates diverse microclimates where you can successfully grow Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Grenache, Syrah and Malbec each with true varietal character. The "Les Garrigue" has a lovely bouquet of currants, red plums, crushed herbs and gravel. Each component adds more to the sum of its parts. Hearty but not heavy, enjoy this delicious mash-up with foods like grilled pork chops over roasted fennel and potatoes or maybe some beef cheeks braised in a wine reduction.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Lafage "Narassa Lieu Dit" Côtes-du-Roussillon
Review Date: 12-13-2016
Jean-Marc and Eliane Lafage have offered us many great wines over the years. From their Bastide Miraflors, to the Tessellae and their Kerbuccio Maurys. They have contracted with or acquired some of the best sites in the entire Roussillon. Their newly acquired La Narassa site is one of their best yet. It is a wine that offers a palate saturated with inky black and blue fruit. This full-bodied wine also offers incredible minerality, reflecting the beautiful black schist on which it is planted. We often compare many of their releases to the great Rhone wines to the east, and make no mistake, this is a dead-ringer for a top-notch Chateauneuf. At $16 a bottle, this is truly one of the great buys this year offering more of what the Lafages do best: high-quality, well-priced wines that drink well now but have the stuffing to last for several more years.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Wwe. Dr. H. Thanisch (Müller-Burggraef) Bernkasteler Badstube Riesling Kabinett Mosel
Review Date: 12-01-2016
It's no surprise that one of the icons of the Mosel delivers again in this most pristine of vintages. The Badstube has all the hallmarks of classic. Intense acidity, flinty minerality, vibrant apple and pear fruit, long finish. For me this as a short term ager (maybe a year or two) with a decade or more of a drinking window once it awakens from a short slumber in your cellar.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 91

2015 Dr. Pauly Bergweiler Bernkasteler alte Badstube am Doctorberg Riesling Kabinett Mosel
Review Date: 12-01-2016
This is everything I want in a Kabinett. Precise green apple flavors, a touch of tropical fruit and a long stony finish. Great purity and intensity that will drink well now with beautiful spicy dishes while cleansing your palate with is subtle sweet fruit and bright acidity. This will even age well for 5 to 10 more years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2011 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This goes down as one of my favorite reds under $50 for the year. At half that price, it is simply a must-buy. Made from 100% Niellucciu, this wine has so much weight, spice and brambly black fruit. It has the fruit of a Brunello but the texture of a Nebbiolo. It is sublime.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Wild with ripe strawberry and peach fruit. Made from 100% Niellucciu, this is full-bodied rosé with a supple texture. It is long on the palate and has great minerality. This is a good short-term cellaring rosé, much like the great Bandol rosés or Tavels to the north.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-30-2016
100% Vermentinu planted on clay-limestone soils. This soil type provides a more unctuous richness and texture in the wine while maintaining great tone and acidity. It is pure, with ripe pear and white flower notes.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2010 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "La Chapelle d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Held back at the winery until it is ready to drink, this almost 100% Syrah is one of the best of the region. Denser and richer, this has an almost Hermitage quality with its toasted blackcurrant coulis, smoked meatiness, cigar box aromas and chocolaty finish. It is another long-on-the-palate wine that deserves a short term presence in any cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Classic Minervois flavors of roasted plum, blackberry, garrigue and earth are all wrapped up in this generous package with supple tannins and balancing acidity.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Tour Boisée "Plantation 1905"
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The wine is classically spicy, with bright red and black fruit flavors of plum, cherry and blackberry. It has lovely sandalwood and violet notes that emerge from the glass. The 1905, in one simple glass, captures the entire history of this producer and village.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The 2014 Antech “Emotion” Brut Rosé is my own personal workhorse bubbly. I’m a sucker for rosé and this delivers on all fronts. With plenty of cherry and Arkansas black apple flavor, it is more structured and full-bodied. It is easily their best rosé to date.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This Carignan-based wine is loaded with perfumed blue fruit flavors and purple flower notes. Medium-bodied on the palate and with silky tannins, this is pure deliciousness in a glass, and like milk, everyone should have a little “Lolo” to go with that weeknight meal to help keep up their strength.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Aubai Mema Grenache Vieilles Vignes "Lunatico" Gard Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The flagship wine, the “Lunatico” is a lush and velvety Grenache made from old-vine fruit from a north-facing vineyard that Mark farms biodynamically. Lunatico in French is a person who is changeable or ruled by the phases of the moon. In Spanish and English we think of someone who is lunatico as crazy. It’s almost too on point when you think of Mark’s story and his journey into wine. He will admit you have to be lunatico to be in the wine business, both changeable and a little crazy. A great takeaway from my experience with Mark and his outstanding winery is that you may have to be a little crazy to immerse yourself this deeply in the life experience. But with all the joy and pleasure that his hard work brings, from winemaking to dancing to living life to its fullest, you have to be a little Lunatico not to.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine Aubaï Mema Carignan "L'Insoumise" Vin de France
Review Date: 11-30-2016
One of my favorite cuvées from this winery has to be the 2012 Domaine Aubaï Mema Carignan “L’Insoumise.” The word translates to “rebel” or “indomitable one,” and when one “knows” Carignan as a grape variety it all begins to make sense. This is a tricky grape, often changing its yields dramatically from year to year. The vines don’t even really start producing great fruit until they turn 50 years of age. It’s a love-hate relationship for many winemakers, but when it’s great, it can be really great. The 2012 is full of deep purple fruit, supple tannins and light floral tones making it pure pleasure in a glass.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Aubaï Mema "Liverna" Gard Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The winery's workhorse red, the “Liverna” Gard Rouge in most vintages is a blend of Grenache and Cabernet Sauvignon. It’s a seemingly unusual blend—but in the Gard, you can kind of do whatever you want. This really works well here, with currant and pipe tobacco notes. The Grenache adds an element of juicy red fruit that rounds out the flavors of the wine. This makes for great everyday drinking.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aubaï Mema "Albion" Gard Blanc
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A blend of 50% Chardonnay and 50% Viognier. A small portion of the Chardonnay is aged in new oak barrels. This is a rocking, concentrated white with apple, roasted pear and citrus notes. A bit of orange peel and a stony finish round it out. The beauty of this wine is the harmonious marriage of these two distinct varieties where neither dominates the other. They become almost something new unto themselves.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Légende Bonnetta" Condrieu
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The 2014 Clos de la Bonnette “Légende Bonnetta” is their more limited production. It has a richer texture, a fuller body and the consummate long finish. When Condrieu gets this full-bodied, it often picks up too much alcohol and astringency. Not here. This was supple all the way through.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Viticole "Malmont" Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A captivating red made of 58% Grenache and 42% Syrah, it is both deep and polished with its fruit flavors of black raspberries, currants and roasted dates. The savory notes of oolong tea, hibiscus and garrigue round out the flavors. Long on the finish, this is a great new find from one of the region’s rising stars!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Domaine Viticole "Malmont" Côtes du Rhône Villages Seguret Rosé
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A blend of 75% Grenache and 25% Syrah with about 70% of the juice direct-pressed and the remaining saignée (free run). It is a richer-styled rosé that is packed with strawberry flavors and subtle minerality. At once crisp with acidity and full bodied, this is one of the most serious rosés from the Rhône Valley I have tasted. It is unusual to see a Villages-Séguret rosé, but such is the purity that this site offers. Nicolas doesn’t want to declassify any of the fruit or supplement it with fruit from other villages.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Carabiniers "Lunar Apogé" Lirac
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Another great entry point into the psyche of this winery. Deep and rich black fruit is followed by pipe tobacco and savory spices. It is long on the finish and a happy new addition to our set.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Carabiniers "Lunar Apogé" Tavel Rosé
Review Date: 11-30-2016
We recently added Domaine des Carabiniers to our lineup. Their holistic approach is conveyed by the shocking 2015 Domaine des Carabiniers “Lunar Apogé” Tavel Rosé. It is the pinnacle of Tavel production, with real depth and length. I imagine this is what made the wines of Tavel favorites of popes and kings past. Full-bodied, with rich red fruit, perfectly balanced, this walks the tightrope between rosé and red.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cave de Tavel "Lauzeraies" Tavel
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The 2015 Cave de Tavel “Lauzeraies” is the best price we have had on this in years, as is the quality. The Cave is the largest producer in the region, but they have stringent guidelines for submitting fruit to the winery. All the producers are sustainable, at the very least, but most are certified organic. There are three prominent soil types in the region: galets roulés (large river stones), sand and lauzes (a special limestone soil in the region). The Lauzeraies is all from the lauzes soil. It is a fleshy, ripe rosé, with aromas that permeate the glass. It is succulent and juicy with ripe red fruit, zesty acidity and a full-bodied texture. This is cold weather rosé, for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Cave de Rasteau "Dame Victoria" Rasteau
Review Date: 11-30-2016
The “Dame” comes from the local co-op in the village of Rasteau. We have been working with this winery for years and it never disappoints, while offering great cost-to-quality value. The wine is loaded with silky black and blue fruit, with flavors of dried blueberry and Chambord liqueur, plus notes of cinnamon and allspice.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chante Cigale "L'Apostrophe" Mediterranée
Review Date: 11-30-2016
All the hallmarks of the Rhône are present, with flavors of red raspberries, black cherries and loads of tobacco and Asian spices. This drinks like a baby Châteauneuf, which is no surprise since these guys are one of our favorite Châteauneuf-du-Pape producers.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Michel Gassier "Lou Coucardié" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Nimes is not necessarily a region that everyone is familiar with. Located in the southern part of the Rhone Valley, it sits below the historic city of Nimes just north of the Mediterranean. This position lends a distinctive quality to the wines of this region that separates them from the other Rhone appellations - that cooling wind coming off the sea. Gassier is one of Nime's top producers and with importer Eric Solomon's name on the back label, you know there is going to be richness and character. It's that cooling influence of the Mediterranean that leads to more impactful floral aromatics that balance out the headiness of the ripe fruit. Full of brambly blackberry, kirsch and dried blueberry notes, there is also a melange of potpourri aromatics that add to its complexity. The high presence of Mourvedre adds wonderful meatiness and earthiness. Reminiscent of a beautifully stylized Chateauneuf this is a wine that would fill that niche with its immediate drinkability but would also hold well for a few more years to come. Oh, and it's far south of $20 when normally this sells for closer to $30. A better Rhone buy at this quality will be hard to come by.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2014 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae Vieilles Vignes" Carignan Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 11-09-2016
I'm always excited when Jean Marc Lafage's wines arrive. Each one on its face is a home run. From the Novellum Chardonnay to the Miraflors Rosé to last year's Carignan VV, each wine represents the pinnacle of value that the south of France has to offer. Based in the Roussillon, the quality of Jean Marc's wines has elevated our expectations of what this region is and what passes for great value in the wine world. The 2014 "Tessellae" Carignan is all old vine fruit. It has rich black raspberry notes with hints of garrigue and hibiscus on the nose. Layers of spiced plum on the palate and oolong tea rounds out the finish. Not "over the top" per se but generous and open. Some nuance and a long lingering finish means, once again Jean Marc Lafage knocks it out of the park!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 11-07-2016
The Priban has such a wonderfully inviting nose loaded with classic Medoc qualities of blackcurrants, roasted plums, graphite and allspice. Plenty of weight and richness on the palate and a solid finish that belies its humble price point. You could easily pay twice as much for not as impressive a wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Saint Cosme Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-06-2016
At once inviting and incredibly rich, the 2015 captures the essence of both this gorgeous vintage and the qualities that make Saint Cosme one of Gigondas' top producers. This is loaded with brambly black raspberry fruit, leaning towards Chambord in its concentration. Plenty of Asian spices and some dusty minerality on the finish round out the profile. The freshness of fruit that is 2015 is also exhibited with lovely acidity to keep everything focused and in balance. Saint Cosme makes benchmark Gigondas that rivals and often surpasses Chateauneuf wines to the south, try this gorgeous Rhone that captures many of those elements for a fraction of the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
A perennial favorite, the rosé does not disappoint on this go-round. Pretty raspberry and black cherry notes highlight the freshness and richness of the wine. Unbelievable quality at the price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 10-25-2016
Every year, I am always impressed by the consistent, classic quality of this wine. Plenty of pretty red fruit, surrounded by subtle smoky spices, with a touch of earthy goodness. This is how classic Cotes du Rhone should be made.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château de Montfaucon Clairette "Vin de Mme la Comtesse" Côtes du Rhône Vieilles Vignes Blanc
Review Date: 10-25-2016
From some of the oldest Clairette vines in the region comes this stellar bottling from our friends at Montfaucon. This ancient vineyard is all head-pruned and is a contour vineyard, meaning it ebbs and flows along the contours of the hillside. The wine is lovely, with rich, round stone fruit flavors, creaminess and elegance. This is the caliber of top-tier Chateauneuf Blanc.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Prestige" Cahors
Review Date: 10-25-2016
The 2011 was a rocking success and sold out within days, once we tickled your fancy with it. And the 2012 is by no means "a slouch," showing the same level of quality with a bit more concentration and power. The '12 offers up the beautiful black currant, roasted plum aromas that are the hallmarks of Malbec from its home region. Showing gorgeous weight, full-bodied texture and loads of spice notes, this is definitely cellar-worthy and will easily benefit from a couple more years of age, but it is tempting now. If you do, give it a nice hour-long decant and serve with that hallmark dish - CASSOULET. Nothing like a little duck fat, garlicky sausage and beans to meld with this superb Cahors classic.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 10-12-2016
I was immediately taken in by the complex nose of this Italian Alpine white. It is reminiscent of the whites from both Switzerland and France's Savoie region. Loads of crushed rock, dried apples, hints of lemon rind and that crispy crunchy cool as snow feel that I love from this style of wine. The Treves is a touch richer than the average white from those areas, which leads to more depth and a longer finish. This is a serious white wine. A perfect white to go with all kinds of grilled fish, the oilier the better. Even better with those crustaceans like a spicy shrimp dish or some steamed clams with chorizo.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Réserve d'O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 10-11-2016
Fred and Marie Chauffray began their career in the wine industry when they took over Fred's family wine store in a Paris suburb. Marie wanted to make her own wine, so she began a near decade long quest to find the right site to produce the kinds of wines in which she was most interested. Found it she did and after nearly another decade of hard work and persistence they are making one of the quintessential wines in the Languedoc region. We discovered them in 2015 at the Millesime Bio wine fair and instantly fell in love. The 2014 Reserve is now the third vintage of this wine we have worked with and it is as equally appealing as the sumptuous '13 and vibrant '12 were. I expect that 2014 will even offer more longevity for those willing to put away a few bottles. The wine is perfumed with loads of raspberries, lavender, garrigue and pipe tobacco. The intensity and length on the wine fill the palate and the finish is quite long. With the rate at which people have been buying these wines, we don't expect the inventory to last too long. Please make sure you get some now because it could be a long wait for the 2015 Reserve to arrive.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Kudos to Jean-Marc and Elaine Lafage once again for delivering the highest QPR wines in the store. Last year we had phenomenal success with their wines and this year, the Bastide Miraflors is poised to garner the same interest. As with all wines though, vintage is a factor and I must say, I am really enjoying the 2014 a touch more than last year. Still loaded with beautiful fruit but a touch more restrained, I find more of the classic spices and garrigue notes that these varieties possess. Another not to be missed value from the Roussillon!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
Review Date: 09-21-2016
This is a sultry white from the northern Rhone that has loads of crossover potential for fans of white Burgundy and Chardonnay in general. The Marsanne lends real weight with its creamy texture. The wine has oodles of butter poached pear flavors, some distinct peach pit notes and a smattering of nutmeg and allspice aromas. Lush but with nice acid to balance it all out. A real pleasure.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
When Jeb Dunnuck said, "this winery needs to be on everyone's short list," I took notice. I scheduled a visit with oenologist Emilie Desmeures when I was in the Rhone Valley earlier this year. We toured the winery and I saw the gorgeous attention to detail and immaculate cellars. We began by tasting the 2015 Crozes from foudre (large oak cask) and I was instantly hooked. The northern Rhone is where the best Syrahs in the world come from but we mostly associate the highly limited Cote Rotie and Hermitage wines and their higher ticket price with the region. Even basic Saint Joseph and Crozes is usually in the $25+ range. But here was a Crozes-Hermitage we could sell well south of $20 that would get everyone's attention and reintroduce them to a region that is too often thought of as "high-end." The 2015 recently arrived and it is as smoking delicious in the bottle as it was in the cask when I tasted it months ago. The wine is loaded with plush red and black fruit, supple tannins, and a beautiful panoply of spices. This is so inviting and yet so classic. I know you'll want to try it and see what we're all excited about but believe me, if you're a fan of good honest Syrah, you'll be back for cases.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
The Cuvee Christophe is a classic expression of Crozes with its savory spices and roasted plum and fig aromas. The wine keeps inviting you back in for another hit of its deep flavors. The 2013s are gorgeous to drink now but have wonderful acidity and should age beautifully for years to come.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
The Pike Road captures the essence of Willamette Valley but also provides an inviting and polished red-fruited awesomeness. This is easily one of the best buys in Pinot right now from anywhere!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Knez Winery Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
The biggest highlight of our recent domestic staff seminar was this Knez Pinot. I was floored by the nose alone. I didn't even want to taste it because I thought it could only be downhill from there. I'm glad I did, though. This is silky, sexy Pinot but with gorgeous acidity and vibrant red fruit. The whisper of holiday season spices put it over the top for me. I will be hard-pressed to keep my hands off the bottles I'm putting in my wine cellar.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Teutonic "David Hill Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
Review Date: 09-08-2016
The team at Teutonic is making some of the most authentic and interesting wines in all of Oregon and this little Riesling is one of the best renditions you will find anywhere in the New World. Beautiful concentration of stone fruit flavors, the wine has ample acidity to keep its off-dry nature on track. But please, DO NOT think of this as a "SWEET" wine. This is a wine of balance and complexity that just wants to be served with great food. I think some Pad See Ew is calling my name and I can't wait to drink this with it.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2012 Workman Ayer "De Facto" Central Coast Rhone Blend
Review Date: 09-07-2016
Admittedly, Michel Ayer is an old college buddy of mine but I will not let that sway my critique of this wine. It's delicious. Showing all the hallmark elements of what I look for in a Rhone blend, this has that rich berry fruit, subtle smoked meaty tones and a panoply of spices like clove and allspice permeating this saturated and silky red. Gorgeous nuance and complexity, never heavy, just full bodied and like I said, "Delicious." Serve with aforementioned smoky meats like short ribs and brisket or even a some braised lamb shoulder.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Page: 1 2 next