Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Kudos to Jean-Marc and Elaine Lafage once again for delivering the highest QPR wines in the store. Last year we had phenomenal success with their wines and this year, the Bastide Miraflors is poised to garner the same interest. As with all wines though, vintage is a factor and I must say, I am really enjoying the 2014 a touch more than last year. Still loaded with beautiful fruit but a touch more restrained, I find more of the classic spices and garrigue notes that these varieties possess. Another not to be missed value from the Roussillon!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
Review Date: 09-21-2016
This is a sultry white from the northern Rhone that has loads of crossover potential for fans of white Burgundy and Chardonnay in general. The Marsanne lends real weight with its creamy texture. The wine has oodles of butter poached pear flavors, some distinct peach pit notes and a smattering of nutmeg and allspice aromas. Lush but with nice acid to balance it all out. A real pleasure.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
When Jeb Dunnuck said, "this winery needs to be on everyone's short list," I took notice. I scheduled a visit with oenologist Emilie Desmeures when I was in the Rhone Valley earlier this year. We toured the winery and I saw the gorgeous attention to detail and immaculate cellars. We began by tasting the 2015 Crozes from foudre (large oak cask) and I was instantly hooked. The northern Rhone is where the best Syrahs in the world come from but we mostly associate the highly limited Cote Rotie and Hermitage wines and their higher ticket price with the region. Even basic Saint Joseph and Crozes is usually in the $25+ range. But here was a Crozes-Hermitage we could sell well south of $20 that would get everyone's attention and reintroduce them to a region that is too often thought of as "high-end." The 2015 recently arrived and it is as smoking delicious in the bottle as it was in the cask when I tasted it months ago. The wine is loaded with plush red and black fruit, supple tannins, and a beautiful panoply of spices. This is so inviting and yet so classic. I know you'll want to try it and see what we're all excited about but believe me, if you're a fan of good honest Syrah, you'll be back for cases.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
This superb Hermitage proves that you don't have to spend $200 to get a pure and gorgeous expression of one of the northern Rhone's most coveted appellations. The wine is densely packed with black brambly fruit and Asian spices. The tannins are polished and the fruit is sweet with the aromas of garrigue lingering in the background. Given time, this will develop loads of secondary complexity, but what a treat now!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Veronique Anne Perret Vin de Savoie Apremont
Review Date: 09-21-2016
I think one of the great undiscovered white varieties on the scene is Jacquere. This workhorse white grape of Savoie creates the clean crisp mineral driven whites from the region that are pure pleasure in a glass. Apremont is one of the best terroirs for Jacquere and the Perret offers notes of white peaches, lemon grass, wet stone and lime zest. There is nice medium body but vibrant acidity which makes this the ideal traditional pairing for raclette and fondue. It is also superb with any number of shell fish dishes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
The Cuvee Christophe is a classic expression of Crozes with its savory spices and roasted plum and fig aromas. The wine keeps inviting you back in for another hit of its deep flavors. The 2013s are gorgeous to drink now but have wonderful acidity and should age beautifully for years to come.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
The Pike Road captures the essence of Willamette Valley but also provides an inviting and polished red-fruited awesomeness. This is easily one of the best buys in Pinot right now from anywhere!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Knez Winery Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
The biggest highlight of our recent domestic staff seminar was this Knez Pinot. I was floored by the nose alone. I didn't even want to taste it because I thought it could only be downhill from there. I'm glad I did, though. This is silky, sexy Pinot but with gorgeous acidity and vibrant red fruit. The whisper of holiday season spices put it over the top for me. I will be hard-pressed to keep my hands off the bottles I'm putting in my wine cellar.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Teutonic "David Hill Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
Review Date: 09-08-2016
The team at Teutonic is making some of the most authentic and interesting wines in all of Oregon and this little Riesling is one of the best renditions you will find anywhere in the New World. Beautiful concentration of stone fruit flavors, the wine has ample acidity to keep its off-dry nature on track. But please, DO NOT think of this as a "SWEET" wine. This is a wine of balance and complexity that just wants to be served with great food. I think some Pad See Ew is calling my name and I can't wait to drink this with it.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2012 Workman Ayer "De Facto" Central Coast Rhone Blend
Review Date: 09-07-2016
Admittedly, Michel Ayer is an old college buddy of mine but I will not let that sway my critique of this wine. It's delicious. Showing all the hallmark elements of what I look for in a Rhone blend, this has that rich berry fruit, subtle smoked meaty tones and a panoply of spices like clove and allspice permeating this saturated and silky red. Gorgeous nuance and complexity, never heavy, just full bodied and like I said, "Delicious." Serve with aforementioned smoky meats like short ribs and brisket or even a some braised lamb shoulder.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Jeff Carrel "Les Darons" Languedoc
Review Date: 09-07-2016
The 2014 Jeff Carrel was a smashing success for us. The only limit to how much we could sell was based on what the importer had. When they ran out, we quickly did too. I can say without a doubt the 2015 offers the same open knit fruit and lush body with the precise structure to keep it all focused. For my money, it's even better. Full of brambly blackberry and boysenberry fruit, supple tannins, a hint of garrigue and dusty minerality, this wine goes on and on. This is everything one could hope for in a southern French red and all for under $12. Like last vintage, we'll be limited by the supply. Based on the quality, we'll be sold out in half the time as the 2014.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 - 93

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 09-06-2016
The 2013 captures the essence of what made the last several vintages so successful: a complex nose of cedar and spices with juicy black currant and blueberry fruit on the palate all framed by supple tannins. A touch more aromatic and lifted with a step back in density than the 2012, this is more my own personal style. For those in the know, this reads like a top Super Tuscan wine but for pennies on the dollar.

2012 Château de Pibarnon Bandol
Review Date: 09-02-2016
My favorite way to think of Bandol begins with a fur rug, soft under your feet with that slight animale/leather quality. Now add fruit, but more of that fresh blackberry fruit with tiny little pips that get stuck in your teeth. Now the forest part. But a chaparral forest, sun-baked with all the brushy herb scents floating through the air as you rustle through the branches. Finally, equate all of that into liquid form with its fur, fruit and forest and we arrive at the Pibarnon. A true wine of place, the 2012 captures the essence of the region and becomes the penultimate example of all things that great Bandol can be. Definitely sultry now, but bottles in the cellar will reward patient drinkers for years to come.

2011 Château de Pibarnon Bandol
Review Date: 09-01-2016
The range of depth and flavors the 2011 Bandol rouge offers is spectacular. The tannins are velvety, the fruit black and sauvage. Notes of herbs, grilled meats. This is as pure an expression as you could hope.

2015 Château de Pibarnon Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 09-01-2016
Provencal and Tavel rose can be quite special but Bandol rose is truly the pinnacle of rose production in my book. The 2015 Pibarnon rose is sumptuous with fruit notes. Nectarine, blood orange, casaba melon stand out alongside a citrus backbone and light aromas of fennel. Such depth on the palate, there is intensity that will allow for some cellaring but what a plush pleasure to drink now and well into next year's rose season. Not a lot of this wine available, so stock up now.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WS 92

2013 Casa Beade "Ladeiras de Paderne" Mencía VdT Betanzos
Review Date: 08-31-2016
This is a bit of an oddball of a wine, but I was completely swept up in its intriguing complexity. A touch wild with a hint of rusticity, sure. Bordering on natural, yes. For some this might be a deal breaker, but the Casa Beade walks that tight rope, keeping it all together for a wonderfully complex and gastronomic wine. All you need is a good plate of charcuterie and some Manchego cheese.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2009 Contino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-31-2016
Roasted red and black fruit, supple loamy texture, succulent palate weight. Contino is one of those rare examples of a single estate Rioja. Whether that's a good thing or not can hardly be in question when you taste such a polished and delicious wine. Gorgeous complexity, powerful but balanced structure, this will have a long life ahead of it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 93

2010 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-31-2016
I'm such a huge fan of this classic producer. The 2010 lives up to the expectations of the vintage with its spicebox nose, roasted cherry fruit and subtle notes of crushed herbs. Full-bodied, beautifully textured, sweet fruit on the palate, this is such a fine wine now, but you know this has the distance to go 10+ years. Probably even longer. It's going to be hard to wait.

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 08-31-2016
Not long ago, I visited this property just outside the village of Maury. It was obvious to see why importer/vigneron Dan Kravitz was drawn to it. And why he had to purchase the land. The ethereal moonscape of shattered brown schist is a defining characteristic of the appellation as it is scattered everywhere but Dan's vineyards look as if they are composed almost entirely of the stuff. Trying to gain purchase on the hillside to climb to the top was an adventure in and of itself. Great vineyards like this invariably lead to potentially great wines. And, the wines coming out of Cabirau are some of the biggest rock stars in the Roussillon region. The best fruit goes into the Serge & Nicolas. Not only is there depth of fruit in each wine but classic terroir. None are heavy handed but they are polished. I tasted a multi-vintage flight ranging from 2011 to 2014 when I visited, tracing a mini-history of the wine in a row of glassware. Each vintage spoke of the terroir of the region but I think 2014 speaks terroir the loudest. Revisiting this wine, now solidly in bottle for a year, the Serge & Nicolas is loaded with flavors of wild blueberry, roasted plum and garrigue. It is juicy and ripe but focused and balanced. This is a more streamlined version that is great now and should definitely evolve beautifully for a few years down the road. Now, we are one of the biggest supporters of the wines and as such, we have the best price in the country. The normal retail price on this wine is well over $20, but we struck a deal with the importer that lets us get it down to $16. If you're not familiar with the wines of Roussillon or Domaine Cabirau, there is no better place to start than right here.

2015 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 08-31-2016
If you are a fan of succulent rich Chardonnay but without the heavy oak influence, then look no further. The Novellum offers gorgeous white peach, dried mango and pineapple notes on the nose. The fruit fills the mouth with its creamy full body, underlying acidity and a long finish. This is such a pleaser, you'll be back buying it by the case before you know it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
Review Date: 08-23-2016
When I visited this property in the spring of this year, it was quite a sight (and site) to behold. Just seeing the vineyards and the thoughtful detail in the farming practices, I knew before tasting the wines that I wanted to work with them. But of course, taste I must and everything I saw in the vineyards was confirmed in the glass. This is not hedonism, this is purity and balance. A focused and pure Condrieu, it is redolent with ripe apples, white nectarine, jasmine, stargazer lilies and a touch of oolong tea. This is enticing on the nose, not overblown. The palate shows nice weight and mineral tones but never comes off as heavy. In the hands of a great producer and from a great site, this is what Condrieu and Viognier can and should be: dynamic and ethereal.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 08-23-2016
The Chateauneuf is the richest by far of the three but never heavy. The 2009 shows ripe fruit flavors, but a little time in the bottle has softened the tannic structure and allowed the minerality to shine through. Reminds me of the classic Chateauneufs from the 80s and 90s but with a little more polished mouthfeel. I put a couple of these away to discover in a few more years but I am truly pleased to drink this now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
Review Date: 08-23-2016
The Gigondas is probably my favorite of the three wines to drink right now. It has a nose of deep roasted cherry with fresh tilled earth and roasted cocoa nibs. There is a lot to like here with a supple texture and generous palate. It is still old school in a sense; I like to equate this to the Rioja-school of winemaking (without the coconut and dill nuances). This is persistent on the palate and the wine just keeps giving. I spent a few days with a bottle and even at the end, the wine just kept giving more. My highest recommendation!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 08-23-2016
I was truly pleased when we discovered the Jaufrette wines last year. I think this old school producer captures everything we are looking for in a Rhone producer: dedication to great terroir, balanced style, classic winemaking. The Cotes du Rhone is out of the gate great and from a terrific vintage. It is a true southern Rhone but reminiscent of the wines made a couple of decades ago. It has black fruit flavors, earth notes, grilled rosemary, tobacco leaf and peppery spices on the palate. Give it a half hour in a decanter and the wine expands even further. This is serious stuff and one of my favorites right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2016
A perennial favorite, the rose does not disappoint on this go-round. Pretty raspberry and black cherry notes highlight the freshness and richness of the wine. Unbelievable quality at the price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2016
One of the great new finds from our Champagne Buyer Gary Westby and we in Hollywood couldn't be happier. The Brut is so generous it just opens with pretty fruit flavors, balancing acidity, toasty notes and gorgeous accessibility. Such a pleasure to drink with food and just on its own. And for $30?!? This will not last long!!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2016
It always seems best to evaluate a Champagne producer, not on their top cuvee, but on what they consider their daily bread and butter wine. One of Gary's best new finds, I vacillate between the Extra Brut and Brut for which I prefer. Let's say Extra Brut has such marked vibrancy, it seems cliché but this is the food wine. Plenty of richness to balance the acidity, this will be my newest go-to when I steer people to our Direct Imports.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2016
Gorgeous purity and vibrant acidity make the 2008 worthy of the cellar but acid freaks like myself may not let this linger to long in our wine lockers. Apple and pear notes lead to spicy ginger flavors. Long on length and finish with subtle toast and spice notes. Get some!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2016
I'm so excited for this new producer to be in our stores. The 2009 is expansive with generous Jonagold apple fruit notes and biscuity tones. This is the wine to drink now or cellar briefly. So delightful.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Gessinger "Josefsberg Old Vines" Zeltinger Sonnenuhr Riesling Spätlese ** Mosel
Review Date: 08-10-2016
When I tasted this, my palate flashed back to the glory days of great off-dry Riesling. Sure, it may not be fashionable to drink a Spatlese but this wine has all the hallmarks of classic Urziger Wurzgarten with flavors of white peaches, roasted apples, slatey minerality and zesty acidity. The favorite line from my tasting notes - Want Some!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Mönchhof Erdener Prälat Riesling Auslese Mosel
Review Date: 08-10-2016
Exquisite, Classic, Complex, Concentrated. Maybe a bit too much on the alliteration but Erdener Pralat is for all intents and purposes a Grand Cru site and this wine is reflective of that quality. Meant for the long haul, so buy a couple of bottles and lose them in your cellar for 10+ years. Treat yourself and know you would spend 5 times as much for a Burgundy at this quality level.
Price: $48.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Riesling Rheingau
Review Date: 08-10-2016
Just pure yummy in a glass. Juicy, fruity, not overtly sweet Riesling in all its glory. Serve with Thai and Korean cuisine or any spicy or salty meals. You'll knock back a bottle and wonder where it went so quickly.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Latitude 50 N Sekt Trocken Rosé Rheingau
Review Date: 08-10-2016
This yummy sparkling rose offers up lovely flavors of wild cherry and raspberry. Zesty acidity, a creamy mousse make for juicy and fun bubbles. This does not pretend to be a $50 Champagne in disguise, it just does what it should do - drink well and delight the palate.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé "Cuvée Vieilles Vignes"
Review Date: 08-10-2016
Every year the sales staff gets extremely excited about all of the new Domaine Renaud releases. These wines always offer exceptional cost to quality value. We each pick our favorite and covet them because they all sell out so quickly. I love them this year in this case the Pouilly Fuisse may be the best wine I've tasted from them. Ever! Lush apple and pear flavors surrounding by wet stones with a nose of candied ginger and dried lemon peel. Subtle white lilies round out the aromas. The Macons and St. Veran are always top value picks but for a few dollars more, this Pouilly Fuisse competes with some of the biggest names in Burgundy but for a fraction of the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 08-10-2016
Always one of my favorite Burgundy values, the Solutre has the fleshier riper notes from what is shaping up to be an outstanding vintage. Full of ripe apple, peach and wet stone flavors, this is destined to become one of my daily drinkers. It should be yours too!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 07-27-2016
Lafage, Cabirau and Chapoutier’s Domaine Bila Haut. What do these wineries share in common? All three have offered some of the greatest wine values we've seen in the last two years and all three projects are located in Roussillon. The whole Roussillon has drawn winemakers from all over the world because they recognize the potential of the region. There is great soil diversity, warm consistent weather with low disease pressure and ingenuity. And that brings us to Chapoutier. Truly one of the greats of the Rhone Valley, Michel ventured to the Roussillon in search of new opportunities, looking to expand his portfolio of already great wines. A master of Syrah (he started in the northern Rhone, the home base of the world's best Syrahs) and determined that Roussillon is a most suitable place for growing this noble grape. Grenache and Carignan are the kings here but Syrah's contribution is strong in the Chapoutier wines and adds beautiful depth to their character. The "Les Vignes" is everything an entry level wine from Roussillon should be. It possesses flavors of roasted cherries and strawberry confiture, followed by aromas of lilacs and jasmine with a light musky meaty tone. This is all wrapped up in a silky, seamless package. The "Les Vignes" is a whole lot of wine for a very fair price. You would be hard pressed to find a better value from anywhere in the world.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Pays d'Oc Rosé
Review Date: 07-26-2016
The Bila Haut rose is that everyday classic porch pounder of a wine you crave when you get home from work. Pristine clarity of fruit with notes of strawberry and lemon zest. A finish that that has that hint of wet stones. Bright acidity but soft enough on the palate it goes down without a care in the world. For under $10, how can you go wrong?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-19-2016
The newest Pinot from Begude is probably their best to date. So many fresh notes of red currants, raspberries, Bing cherries and rhubarb, the wine has underlying spice notes and a generous lively acidity keeping it all focused and forward. In terms of quality you'd have to spend closer to $20 to get something similar from Oregon, California's Central Coast or Burgundy.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cantine Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This has been one of our favorite value Barolos over the years, always good and sometimes great. And, 2012 is GREAT! Leaning towards the classic flavors of sour cherries, rose petals and orange peel, this has a bit more abundance of fruit than your average Barolo. Polished tannins and seamless finish the Ascheri is highly appealing now and good for short-term aging. This is truly a must buy for any and all fans of Nebbiolo.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 94 JS 92

2013 Argiolas "Costera" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Argiolas is one of the great names in Sardinian wines. Many from the region can be on the rustic side but this is such a clean and pure rendition it is instantly engaging. Full of black plum, dried tobacco and a level of freshness that will make this an ideal red for many grilled meat and vegetable dishes. Throw something on the grill and get drinking.

2013 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
There's something about old vine fruit that just gets me every time. From great sites, those vines add something layered and finer to the wine. You can feel it here in the Roccolo del Durlo. Unctuous, with succulent citrus rind and quince notes that have a deep flinty finish. It is reminiscent of a wine that floats between a great Saumur Blanc (Chenin) and a 1er Cru Chablis. Even great for some short term aging.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2014 Einaudi Dogliani (Dolcetto)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This is Dolcetto at its finest with beautiful floral aromatics, black cherry fruit and a touch of crushed herbs, somewhere along the line of thyme and sage. It just explodes from the glass with its inviting style. Medium-bodied, plenty of fruit and very supple tannins. This just became one of my favorite go-to wines.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
I have a soft spot in my heart for the Felsina wines. They were one of the first Tuscan producers I fell in love with back when I got started in the wine business. I remember the musky red fruit, the velvety tannins and the lead pencil notes as though it were yesterday. I'm pleased to say that the 2013 Chianti Classico holds all of those qualities. The macerated cherries, the mouthfeel, the graphite, a hint of rusticity. That's the beauty of wine. You can relive past moments and in the meantime make new ones. This wine and some salume, maybe a little chicken liver crostini and definitely some wild boar ragu over fresh pappardelle. Sounds like a perfect new memory about to be made.

2015 Château de L'Aumerade "Cuvée Marie-Christine" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-30-2016
L'Aumerade is that ideal rose with its pure clarity of focus, tension and mineral tones. Light aromas of strawberries, white peaches and citrus rind perfume the wine with a hint of white flowers. An excellent example and worth buying by the case for your warm weather needs.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

2010 Xavier Vins "Cuvée Anonyme" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 06-29-2016
The "Anonyme" is the pinnacle of the modern styled Chateauneufs. Opulent flavors of blackberry compote, sandalwood, roasted figs and Medjool dates. It is full and lush on the palate and delivers a long and satisfying finish. Feel free to drink now with a bit of aeration or tuck away in the cellar for a decade or two.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2015 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-19-2016
The Cherrier to me is always one of the biggest crowd pleasing Sancerres/Sauvignon Blancs from anywhere in the world. Classic grapefruit and tropical notes with light chalky minerality and bright acidity. You need Sancerre? This is it!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Last year I had the privilege to visit this estate on the island of Corsica. They first came to my attention with their rosé (which is spectacular, by the way), but the white is a new superstar, as well. Made from 100% Vermentino, it is a beautiful wine with aromas of lemon rind, white flowers and a spicy complexity that seems to come out of nowhere. Gorgeous for warm weather drinking!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Bar none my favorite value rosé of the season, this little gem has flavors of Seascape strawberries, white cherries and tangerine. It is succulent, stony and has brilliant balancing acidity. You would need to spend twice as much to match this quality.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
The Petroni rouge is such a remarkably friendly introduction to the exciting reds of Corsica with its brambly, blackberry fruit, cool herbal tones and stony mineral tones. It has a sweet opening note but finishes dry, with supple tannins. It has an almost Italian flare to it. Gorgeous with charcuterie, spicy sausage and funky cheeses. But don't leave out a nice veal chop or rib-eye steak.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Chateau Les Valentines Côtes de Provence Rouge
Review Date: 06-16-2016
The 2012 Château Les Valentines Rouge is a near equal parts blend of Mourvedre, Grenache, Syrah, Cinsault and Cabernet Sauvignon. Ripe but balanced flavors of cassis, blackberry and exotic spices lead the charge, with beautifully polished tannins on the finish. Serve with a little Mediterranean chicken stew.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Keith Mabry is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Keith Mabry, click here to join Keith Mabry's Personal Sommelier Service.
2014 J.L. Chave Selection "Silene" Crozes-Hermitage ($24.99)

2014 J.L. Chave Selection "Circa" Saint-Joseph Blanc ($29.99)

2014 J.L. Chave Selection "Mon Coeur" Côtes du Rhône ($17.99)

2014 SoHo "Valentina" Syrah Waiheke Island ($13.99)

2014 SoHo "McQueen" Pinot Noir Central Otago ($17.99)