Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
Review Date: 07-20-2017
For those hesitant to explore the wine of Jura, this is the perfect crossover. The Chardonnay is all from Baud's vineyards in l'Etoile. One of the signature points of this region are the tiny fossilized stars found scattered throughout the vineyards. This little stars or "etoile" are from ancient sea urchin or anemone that roamed this prehistoric seabed. The soils are primarily limestone which are perfect for Chardonnay. This is a non-oxidative style, a now very common departure from the traditional oxidative wines of the region. The wine has gorgeous aromas of butter poached pears spiced with nutmeg, clove and cardamom. It is supple on the palate and beautifully balanced in the mouth. It is also an exceptional wine to pair with food. I personally love it with smoked salmon, creamier or medium cheeses and with steamed shellfish. For fans of White Burgundy and California Chardonnay, you will be amazed how close to home this brings you but with its own special Jurassic character.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Domaine Baud "Cuvée Sauvage" Brut Cremant du Jura
Review Date: 07-20-2017
I have poured this wine for several dinner parties now and it is always a hit! The soils of the Jura are mostly marl and limestone sharing a lot in common with Champagne. This cuvee of Chardonnay and Pinot really explodes on the nose with the essence of spiced pear fruit, candied ginger and biscuity dough. Tight mousse and crisp acidity keep this lively and refreshing on the palate. The "Sauvage" makes an exquisite aperitif but I find it just as enjoyable with food. One of my favorite cocktail party starters is a spiced miso dip with crudites. This goes perfectly!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbières
Review Date: 07-20-2017
At my visit to the Millesime Bio Organic Wine Fair this past February, I had a chance to catch up with Sophie and her remarkable wines. Sophie excels with her non-intervention style producing wines reflective of her beautiful terroir in Corbieres all while farming organically. Oh yeah, and she does it all by herself! The 2014 was a rousing success with its polished tannins and lithe structure. The 2015 sits more generously in bottle than the 2014 though. Deeper purple fruit and a more intense perfume on the nose still finds a wine with beautiful polish but more heft and generosity. I expect the 2015 to have a long life ahead of it but it is such a pleasure to drink now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-19-2017
I've had the chance to taste and/or drink this wine several times over the last few months and each time it has never failed to please and excite. First, during our Rhone trip, Alex Pross and I visited Gardette’s proprietor, Jean-Baptiste Meunier and in eager anticipation, tasted the wine both knowing afterwards this was going to be a huge success. Second, JB came to visit our LA store where we did an in-store tasting and consumer dinner afterwards. Consistently throughout the evening, every patron asked two questions - can I have some more wine to drink, please and when does the shipment get here? Finally, I tasted it this week with the LA staff, who flipped over it, and I finally have an answer for the previous questions. It's here and you can have as much as you want! At least for now... The 2015 Rhone vintage continues to excite and delight. The wines have a beautiful purity of fruit and concentration but lack the heaviness and headiness of the 2007 vintage. There is just so much fresh brambly fruit that I personally can't get enough. The Gardette is a benchmark producer for me and its appellation of Gigondas. It has the ripe fleshy black fruit, the savory white pepper and Asian spiced palate plus it finishes with the toasty garrigue notes so classic to the region. On every level, this wine is a success. It's one of the reasons, Jean-Baptiste has become such a good friend to our stores and a great partner to work with. The wines always hits home runs regardless of vintage but in a vintage like 2015, it's a Grand Slam!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-16-2017
During one of our staff tastings, Greg (our Italian Buyer, or Maestro as we call him in LA because he puts together awesome Italian deals) brought out this little gem and put it up against some pretty serious competition. The likes of Talenti, Barbi and Castelgiocondo were represented and those were seriously brooding wines. The Otto was an incredible stand-out for me though. The nose is immediately intriguing with notes of Maraska cherries, burnished leather and Asian spices. I love Brunello, when it begins to mature and this has easily entered its prime drinking window. Of course the biggest standout is the price. For well shy of $30, Brunello doesn't have to be a special occasion wine. The Otto will make you friends at barbecues during the summer and dinner parties in the cooler seasons. I can think of nothing better to pair with a beautiful porchetta, stuffed with garlic and rosemary and slow roasted. Or keep it simple and get a plate of salumi together with a little cheese. This is an all around winner and why we call Greg - Maestro!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 07-06-2017
My visit to Bourgueil earlier this year was a revelation. And for those not in the know (because I really didn't know that much myself), Bourgueil is one of the lesser known Cabernet Franc appellations sitting on the north side of the Loire River just across from Chinon. About 30 minutes west of Tours gets you to the village of Bourgeuil. Farms traverse the landscape with a mixture of agriculture but grapes dominate the view. I have long been a fan of Cabernet Franc. I find it to be one of the more versatile reds for pairing with food and I love lower alcohol and medium-bodied textured wines which make Cab Franc a must mid-week drink for me. Upon arriving at Domaine les Pins we met with vigneron Philippe Pitault-Landry. A father-son venture now, these detail oriented farmers are making reds that smell like classic Cabernet but with Pinot-like texture. We tasted the new releases and the 2015 "Les Rochettes" was out of the gate charming. Full of brushy herbal notes of sage and wild thyme, ripe black cherries and flavors of olive tapenade, this is a sumptuous red that is weighty and yet light on its feet. The vintage of 2015 is a huge success for them and for the region, offering a generosity of fruit that make the wines more inviting and immediately accessible. We drifted through the single plot, Les Clos and the Vieilles Vignes as well and they were most impressive. Alas, those wines are due a little later in the year along with some older wines from their cellar. The Les Rochettes though is truly the red of the summer for me. It's versatility will make it an easy foil for things like roast chicken, grilled pork chops and leg of lamb. Lots of herbs and lots of veggies to go with those and you will become as enamored with Bourgueil as I am now. This is a lot of wine from people who really believe in what they are doing and would easily be twice the price from a more famous region.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2009 Château de Chambert Cahors
Review Date: 06-14-2017
The region of Cahors has flown under the radar for many years but is slowly emerging from the shadows with the rise of consumer interest in Argentine Malbec. Make no mistake though, Cahors is in France and it is where Malbec originated. In it's heyday, Cahors was as famous if not more famous than Bordeaux. The inky Malbec from the region was often sent north to Bordeaux to add body, structure and color to those old Bordeaux. When the phylloxera (a root louse that kills vines) epidemic struck the region over a century ago, Cahors fell into decline and almost disappeared from the map. It's actually Argentina that has renewed interest in the grape's birthplace and now a renaissance is taking place. The Chateau de Chambert is one of those historic properties that suffered greatly during that decline. In the early 70s though, the winery was reestablished and their commitment to organic and biodynamic farming quickly followed suit. This 2009 is a true classic and an exceptional find. Often Cahors needs a little bottle age to show its best. Much like a Bordeaux, the tannins can be a little firm and wood tones may be a little too obvious in its youth. Fortunately, the 2009 has shed all that baby fat as it were and the wine is superb drinking now. The tannins are polished and the flavors are beautifully integrated. I opened a bottle with the staff recently and their comments were all consistent. "This is what a great Cahors should taste like!" Black currants, roasted black plums, smoky spice, grilled herbs on the nose and pallet, this is hearty wine in search of hearty fare. The classic pairing is still cassoulet - what's not to love about a stew of beans, sausage and duck confit? Not everything has to have a French edge to it. This would be equally amazing with grilled steaks, pork chops or leg of lamb. Anything you would do with a Bordeaux, Argentine Malbec of even California Cab, this would play well with. All that flavor, polish and vibrant fruit leads to a versatile wine that will find fans of most styles and at a price that is tough to beat for this level of quality.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Rimauresq is an historic property that sits at the foot of the Massif des Maures mountain range. Their microclimate is influenced by the surrounding hills creating a unique terroir that is cooler than many of the other neighboring properties. That and the varied soils of sand and gravel create wines with great tension and nuance. With all of these things, one can see what makes this property so special. When I first tasted this wine early in the season (beginning of March), I was taken with the layered structure. It showed more like a Bandol rose with light color and superb balance. It was still a little tight though but the potential was amazing. Now it's June and I revisited the wine and after a little relaxing in bottle this rose has achieved everything I could have hoped for. There is a firm raspberry backbone with the texture of white cherry and a hint of fresh bay leaf on the palate. The wine has real depth and structure with mouth watering acidity and nerve. This is no soft and fruity rose, this is serious stuff... but not to be taken too seriously. It is rose after all and enjoyment is its primary function. This is a case buy for sure with bottles to be enjoyed for this year and well into the next.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2014 Gerard Bertrand Corbieres
Review Date: 06-09-2017
Former rugby player, Gerard Bertrand, scores the goal with this forward drinking but pleasantly polished Corbieres. I love a lot of Corbieres wines for their seamless fruit and light rusticity. This was originally Grenache country but Bertrand focuses the cuvee towards the upstart Syrah, which has proven to be a highly viable variety for the region. The Syrah lends dark berry fruit to complement the cherry of the very present Grenache. Fine tannins and a supple sweetness are balanced by the earthy meatiness of Mourvedre. It all comes together as a harmonious blend, over-delivering on the palate and finished drinking like a much more expensive Rhone. Serve this juicy red with Mediterranean fare like roasted leg of lamb or smoked pork shoulder.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-30-2017
Alex Pross and I were in the Rhone Valley back in March doing some procuring for K&L and one of our best visits was with the Perrin Family's various properties. It was both our first visit to Chateau de Beaucastel, the flagship property, and it did not disappoint. The winery is both historically interesting and as far as production goes, immaculate. It's no surprise that they consistently make one of the best wines in Chateauneuf-du-Pape. We followed that visit with a drop in to the Perrin's other wine production facility just outside of Chateauneuf for a broad tasting of all their other wines. We finished our tour by heading to one of two Perrin restaurants in the middle of the village of Gigondas. On our way into town we had a quick look at the Clos des Tourelles vineyard as you cannot miss it when entering the village. I bring this up because, the Perrin family does not do anything by half measures. Their commitment in the south of France on Miraval is excelling. Beaucastel continues to be the benchmark property in Chateauneuf du Pape. Their appellation wines under the Famille Perrin label are each top renditions of their respective terroirs, Both restaurants in Gigondas are exceptional from their basic wine bar "Nez!" to the finer dining "l'Oustalet." So, when Perrin decides to procure one of the top vineyards in Gigondas, you have to know that the end result will be something truly special. The first commercial vintage of this wine produced is the 2010. Not a bad vintage to start with (it's actually a pretty terrific vintage). We found a stash in the importer's warehouse and made them what seemed to be an insane offer on a take all deal. Wanting to move forward to subsequent vintages, they said "yes." Aside from an exciting price, the key component on our side was to see where the wine stood in its evolution. A quick pull of the cork and the wine was on fire. With a few years of bottle age, the wine has developed great complexity, showing layers of sweet black fruit, exotic spices and burnished leather. Structurally, this wine still has at least another decade plus of evolution ahead of it, but now is a great time to check-in for you earlier drinkers. Much like their Beaucastel property, Domaine du Clos des Tourelles will represent what is sure to be a new benchmark wine for Gigondas. And like all the other Perrin projects, there are no half-measures, only great wines.

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Ventoux is one of those appellations that often confuses many a wine-enthusiast. Most don't know where it is or what it's about. The region sits on the southeastern end of the Rhone appellation just below Mont Ventoux. It is to the east of Gigondas and south of all the other Cotes du Rhone appellations. This oversized region has a diversity of microclimates and soil types that heavily influence the individual estates of the region and are less affected by vintage variation. Pesquie sits above 300 meters between the Mediterranean to the south and the Alps just to the north. Mont Ventoux is part of the pre-alps and is the largest mountain in the region. This confluence of mountain and Mediterranean is what makes the terroir and wines of Pesquie so special. The wine itself is a beauty of brambly black fruit, Indian spices, toasty tobacco and grilled meat. This little savory wonder captures the essence of Ventoux with its cooler climate flavors emboldened by the warm Mediterranean afternoons. A spectacular rendition from the Rhone.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Domaine Dragon Côtes de Provence Sainte-Victoire Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2017
We came upon Helene Dragon's wines about 5 years ago and they have continued to impress. Just last year, we discovered that she made a higher-end cuvee from the Cru appellation of Sainte-Victoire. This Cru within Cotes de Provence is positioned below the Montagne Sainte-Victoire made famous by many an impressionist artist but most significantly Paul Cezanne. This striking backdrop influences the region because of the limestone and clay it has provided to the soils. The wine itself offers riper fruit and a richer palate as the yields to qualify for Sainte-Victoire are much lower. Rich with white strawberry, raspberry and herbs de Provence, a light fennel note provides dimension that shame lesser Cotes de Provence wines. This is the real deal for Provencal rose that demands service with classic fair from the region. The wine will dance beautifully with a plethora of foods from roasted vegetables marinated in olive oil, Tuna Nicoise, a puree of brandade and toasted bread, grilled sardines and even lamb chops, the options are endless.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Chateau Puech-Haut "Prestige" Coteaux du Languedoc Saint-Drezery Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2017
The Puech-Haut estate lies in the hills just outside the city of Montpellier in the region of Languedoc. This higher elevation is a huge contributing factor to the quality and intensity of Puech-Haut's red wines. No surprise, they also excel at rose production. Making light colored rose in this region is no easy feat, but Puech-Haut succeeds in making a beautifully pure selection that is not shy on flavor or richness. Almost Bandol-like in its structure, the Puech-Haut Rose has light notes of strawberry, a whisper of seabreeze, brined apples and a touch of bay leaf. The finish is long and mineral driven with its beguiling intensity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse
Review Date: 05-11-2017
I visited the Skouras property a few years ago and it was incredible to see the strides that proprietor George Skouras was making as both an oenologist and ambassador for Greek wines. Being one of the first generation of winemakers to study abroad and then bring his knowledge home, George dazzles with his vibrant personality and limitless wine knowledge. Skouras has done amazing things with red wines, playing with classic indigenous varieties like Agiorgitiko as well as tweaking the international grapes like Cabernet and Merlot into something wholly Greek in their character. George was the first person to make a "Super Greek" wine when he blended Cabernet and Agiorgitiko in his now titular, Megas Oenos cuvee. Our first encounter was a dinner with a group of buyers and sommeliers at a beach side restaurant outside of his home village of Argos, near Nafplion. He started us with an aperitif of his Moscofilero with some mezza of lightly fried fish, olives and dolmas. The grape itself is actually rose colored like a Pinot Gris but produces a white wine with much more aromatic punch like a Muscat or Viognier. It was an exceptional way to refresh the palate and begin the evening. We recently received the newest vintage of the 2016 which immediately brought me back to that evening with the water lapping at the sand on the beach, laughter of my wine geek friends in the air and servers sneaking off to watch bits and pieces of an important football (soccer) game on television. All the floral punch is there but the beautiful thread of lemony acidity keeps the wine from becoming heavy or overwhelming. With its crispness and expressive nature, this white, much like George Skouras himself, is the perfect ambassador to the Greek wine experience whether you sip it on a beach, serve it at a garden party with little nibbles or drink it while watching baseball or soccer on TV.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 05-09-2017
I met Pascale Riviere through some of our other Direct Import producers, Marie Chauffray of Domaine de la Reserve d'O and Sophie Guiraudon of Clos de l'Anhel. They are all part of the trade organization - les Vinifilles (the wine girls). This group of women are making some of the most exciting wines in the south of France right now and each person represents a top growing region. I met with Pascale in 2016 and visited her property and vineyards in Terrasses du Larzac and Montpeyroux. These two areas are Cru regions in the Languedoc that are producing some of its most noteworthy wines. To say the least, we had a blast. Pascale is quite the character, bouncing us from vineyard to vineyard, telling me the story of the estate and history of the little sheep barn (the Jasse) in the middle of her most prized vineyard. We hiked to the old barn, which is mostly a ruin now but the four walls are still intact and it creates a striking juxtaposition between the land, the vineyard and the high mountains behind it. Prior to making wine, Pascale was a wine journalist and educator. A first generation winemaker, she bought an incredible piece of property in the hills of Montpeyroux and slowly expanded as other like parcels became available. She has slowly expanded to 7 hectares of vineyards. Farming organically from the beginning, she is making beautifully perfumed and detailed whites and reds. I recently revisited her 2014 Pimpanela at a friend's dinner party. It was even more open and exotic than when I first tasted it. Full of brambly black fruit, a nice does of roasted fig, brushy garrigue and hints of burnished leather, it was a captivating wine. The palate was long and full of finesse and paired deftly with two of the dishes at the party - salmon sliders and grilled duck snow cones. It's not often you can find a Rhone varietal wine that goes well with seafood but the interplay of the richness of the salmon and herb aioli was a perfect foil. Not to mention the duck. My friend makes little cones with wonton wrappers and then stuffs them will all kinds of savory foods and on this occasion it was duck with dried figs. Absolute perfection!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 05-01-2017
The very first vintage of this single parcel is an outstandingly elegant rendition of Chateauneuf. Winemaker Rudi des Pins was a little nervous that the wine wouldn't measure up to other in-kind wines, but his subtle hand has given us a distinctively different take on a region that has become synonymous with opulence. Perfumed red cherry fruit, potpourri, Asian spices abound but never overwhelm. My tasting notes sound like something I might have written 20 years ago to describe Chateauneuf! Such a pleasurable wine that is perfect for now and the next several years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Moulin de la Gardette "Cuvée Ventabren" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-01-2017
I have tasted this multiple times over the last year or so but perhaps my best taste came a couple of weeks ago. JB Meunier was visiting us doing a special dinner and we opened several bottles for the public. I was reminded how beautiful and classic the aromatics are but more importantly, I was shown how supple the tannins have become. This has hit a beautiful period of integration and is showing such character that I can't help but use this as the yardstick for all other Gigondas. Delicious now and should continue to evolve for years to come.

2007 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-01-2017
A recent visit to Montfaucon in the appellation of Lirac, led to a deep cut tasting of some back vintages. Always a pleasure with the charming Rudi and Mari des Pins! A HUGE standout was this 2007. From a renowned vintage, they held back many a case to be released at a time when it would have advanced to its ideal drinking window. This wine is spectacular with its fleshy blue fruit, layers of savory spices and fine mineral edge. When they offered us some cases, we jumped at the chance. You won't find a better merging of aged wine and price as well. Ten years of age and just shy of $30! How can you pass it up?
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Marietta "Angeli Cuvee" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 04-27-2017
The Marietta Old Vine Lot Blends have always been some of my favorite daily drinkers from California. The briary spicy nature captures the essence of the olden days when a Zinfandel field blend was a fun and financially sound way to enjoy good wine every day. Let's take that up a few notches now with the "Angeli." Still the essence of spicy brambly fruit, the wine exudes much more richness and polish than the Old Vine. Now competing with the likes of the Prisoner, Robert Biale and Carlisle but at half the price, this wine is long and persistent on the palate but shows more of the lifted and less balmy qualities of a wine this densely packed. Enjoy with the heartiest of summer dishes but probably best with some slow smoked sausage or those meats right off the grill.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2009 Chateau Bouscassé "Argile Rouge" Madiran
Review Date: 04-27-2017
There is something truly intriguing about Madiran. The powerful structure of the wines is not for the faint of heart. The weight and richness often lead you down a path that at times feels dark and foreboding. But isn't that what builds intrigue? Vigneron Alain Brumont always takes us on a journey with his wines making some of the most successful wines from the region. Originally having no interest in winemaking, Brumont inherited his first vineyard, Chateau Bouscasse, from his father. Alain educated himself in all things Madiran and became one of its biggest advocates in the market illuminating the qualities of the wines and producing most of them in an approachable style. The "Argile Rouge" is special because it is a single parcel planted on red clay, a soil type very rare in the region. This soil creates what they refer to as the "gentle Madiran." That is the case here as the "Argile Rouge" has the polished tannins and supple mouthfeel of a much more aged wine. Sultry notes of smoked alder, graphite minerality, sweet currants and roasted plums lead to a smooth and balanced wine that should charm those that are already fans of the region as well as making many new fans for its polished richness. Like many Madiran, this has the potential for a little bottle aging, but being a 2009 the wine is showing so much of its beautiful potential now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 90

2015 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 04-25-2017
A recent staff seminar with Philippe Guigal in our Los Angeles store put this extraordinary value back on our staff's palates. Now, Philippe is one of the rock stars of the Rhone and its hard not to fall in love with his wines when he is showing them to you. So, this down-to-earth, laid back guy is all about the quality of their production at all levels. And where it especially shows is with this charming gulpable white. The 2015 has something just a little more intriguing than an average year and perhaps it's because Viognier was especially aromatic this vintage and makes up a greater percentage of the blend. With Philippe guiding us through our tasting, we also examined his new 2015 Condrieu (Stunning!) as well as the 2011 Gigondas, 2010 Chateauneuf and 2012 Cote Rotie. But, I kept coming back to the Cotes du Rhone Blanc. It had so much of the nuance of the far more expensive white but was just so...drinkable. And what a perfect time too, this white exudes notes of nectarine, pear and jasmine. It's like spring time in a glass. Serve this little beauty with aromatic foods. What a perfect foil for Indian, Thai and Chinese! Or keep it simple and do a little salad of poached tuna, roasted peppers and aioli. No matter what, you'll want this as one of your best seasonal go-to whites.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Clos Beylesse Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-19-2017
When we first brought in Clos Beylesse, I questioned the distinctive blue bottle format they used. The winery uses this special UV bottle to protect the wine from any light degradation and increase its longevity. Having tasted a couple of back vintages, freshness is definitely preserved. Now, completely on board, the Clos Beylesse Côtes de Provence Rosé is functionally one of the most distinctive rosés each year (and not because of the bottle). The 2016 has expressive aromas of ruby grapefruit, kumquats and Seascape strawberries. A long thread of minerality and acidity unite the flavors, making for one of our top rosés in this or any season.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau Les Valentines Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-19-2017
Their all-estate bottling is the certified organic 2016 Château Les Valentines Côtes de Provence Rosé. A more serious rosé, this will develop beautifully over the season, showing notes of white cherries, wet stones and fresh thyme. It is the consummate Provence rosé that will pair beautifully with grilled fish. For fans of Domaines Ott (Ott’s Clos Mireille property happens to be just down the road) this is a great crossover.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Chateau Les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-19-2017
The Caprice has been one of our best sellers over the last five years. The 2016 is full on fruit, with a classic nose of strawberries and lemon zest. It is supple on the palate and lingers beautifully. Perfect for light salads and roasted vegetables.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de Peyrassol Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-19-2017
Some of the benchmark wines we receive every year are the coveted Peyrassol rosés. These are always limited production and disappear quickly. The gorgeous 2016 Côtes de Provence Rosé has spectacular flavors of white peach and a glycerol texture that persists on the palate.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de Peyrassol "Commanderie" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-19-2017
Some of the benchmark wines we receive every year are the coveted Peyrassol rosés. These are always limited production and disappear quickly. The 2016 is a serious wine as always. Showing light red currant and stone fruit notes, this is just getting started. Beautiful texture and weight lead to a long finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is our favorite daily drinker. It is hard to beat this exceptional value for its fleshy flavors of strawberry, Pink Lady apples and fresh-cut watermelon. Its expressiveness says, I can drink rosé with anything from Tuesday night tacos to a classy Niçoise salad to a roast chicken from my favorite rotisserie place. The Colombe is easily their best release yet with its expression of fruit and lovely structure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage Blanc
Review Date: 04-19-2017
The blanc is a true revelation. This sexy northern Rhône white shows the epitome of stone fruit flavors with an oily, unctuous palate that lingers. It has an almost deeply Grand Cru Burgundian feel but with Rhône varietal aromas. This also requests a short time in the cellar, or if decanted will reveal gorgeous roasted apple aromas with honeycomb and peach melba flavors on the palate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage
Review Date: 04-19-2017
Entirely destemmed, the rouge captures the purity of Hermitage. It is deep and profound and requires just a short time in your cellar or maybe a long decant before consumption.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 92

2015 Christophe Billon "Cote Rozier" Côte-Rotie
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is the first vintage this wine has been bottled as a single lieu-dit (designated vineyard site). It is everything one could hope for in a Côte-Rotie with its aromas of grilled meats and crushed rocks. The wine is superbly complex but will require a little patience with its firm tannins.

2015 Christophe Billon "Les Elotins" Côte-Rotie
Review Date: 04-19-2017
The 2015 “Les Elotins” will bottle in September. The fruit all comes from their Côte Brune vineyard. The wine has a gorgeous core of concentrated cherry fruit. Persistent on the palate, it finishes with a panoply of baking spices.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Review Date: 04-19-2017
Orchard fruit erupts from the glass with notes of peach, nectarine and yellow plum. A light note of fennel resides in the background. It all comes together with a pinch of baking spice that makes me think of a stone fruit cobbler. This is ripe and ready for spring and summer drinking.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 04-19-2017
The 2015 vintage is pure and deep, landing some of the highest critical praise to date. Caroline’s wine is a blend of Grenache and Carignan and shows the vintage’s hallmark qualities by delivering a deep, satisfying richness with flavors of raspberry coulis, dark chocolate and exotic spices. The wine is saturated and long on the palate.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 04-19-2017
I was stoked to add this producer to our roster last year after our visit. The Christophe takes Syrah up a notch with some élevage in oak foudre and demi-muid (larger barrels). More select parcels and richer fruit lead to a sensational palate of blue and black fruit with harmonious baking spices. It is a delicious star from the 2014 vintage.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2016 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 04-13-2017
Now our third consecutive vintage of this Touraine, the Le Coeur de la Reine remains one of the best over-delivering wines in the store. The promise of the 2016 vintage gives us a laser beam focus of passion fruit, gooseberry and grapefruit evoking the flavors you would find in a top tier Sancerre or Pouilly Fume -but at half their price. Ideal as an aperitif, lighter vegetable dishes or maybe some Indian take-out.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Delas "Saint Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 04-12-2017
A recent visit to the northern Rhone was one of the great highlights of our buying trip especially once we visited Delas. They have some extraordinary holdings for the high end bottlings like their famed St-Joseph and Hermitage wines. The attention to detail is amazing with tiny lots of grapes all fermented individually in a variety of vessels ranging from oak tanks, to concrete vats and stainless steel. This attentiveness allows Delas to make great top tier wines but it also delivers some of the best value wines in the market. These mico-lots are compiled together to generate what still remains one of the true standouts for cost to quality Cotes du Rhone. The wine is always Syrah dominant and the 2015 vintage has given this grape some of its most favorable weather conditions to show its best stuff. The wine is plump and juicy with roasted black plum and fig flavors but maintains notes of tobacco and pepper. This thrilling little red delivers a lot of character for not a lot of money and our price is one of the best in the west.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2013 Vidal-Fleury Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 04-12-2017
Last year, the Vidal-Fleury was one of our biggest Rhone success stories. I initially approached this wine with some hesitation as 2013 is a restrained vintage (which I usually prefer) and Vidal Fleury is a large co-op based in the northern Rhone (which is not necessarily a bad thing). A strong review from the likes of Decanter Magazine can do a lot to sway my attention as my flavor palate and theirs have a tendency to align. So taste it I did and impressive it was. Sumptuous red fruit was surrounded by flavors of Indian spices and potpourri. A delicious wine well worth the price of admission. The wine sold through in less than two months and we thought it long gone. But, a new chapter is written in this story. I recently met with a representative from Vidal-Fleury and lo and behold, they had uncovered about 100 cases in their warehouse on the east coast. My interest piqued, we tasted the sample she had brought along to make sure everything was still in order. Not to be hyperbolic, but the wine showed better than any of the other samples I had tasted previously. Beautiful integration and finer tannins just meant an even more winsome bottle of wine. So here we are again with what has proven to be one of your favorites and definitely one of our favorites and only a limited supply to be had. Take advantage now because it seems unlikely we will uncover more of this beautiful little find.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Review Date: 04-02-2017
Jean-Marc Lafage delivers once again from his OTHER property located in the Maury appellation of the Roussillon. This smaller estate produces richer wines which the region of Maury is itself famous. The black and brown slate soils are ideal for Grenache and produce gorgeous full-bodied reds. The Kerbuccio itself is full of ripe blue and black fruit flavors, with subtle notes of fresh thyme, rosemary and Indian spices. This is a slight step back in intensity from the 2013 which to me, adds more immediate appeal. It is beautifully fruited, savory and ready to drink with an herb crusted leg of lamb or some medium rare pork chops straight off the grill.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 93

2015 Amalaya Malbec Salta
Review Date: 03-30-2017
I have always been a huge fan of the wines from Salta. This high altitude climate produces some of the most distinct and flavorful Malbecs from anywhere in the world and that's coming from the guy who focuses on the French Malbecs from Cahors. Amalaya is one of the great producers from Salta as well and this perfumed, floral style has beautiful high tone black and red fruit flavors. Great texture and smooth polished tannins make this one distinctively beautiful red and one of the best values from Argentina.

1997 Ben Nevis 18 Year Old "John Milroy K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2017
One of my favorites in this line-up of John Milroy casks, this is INTENSE stuff. Beautiful toasted spelt on the nose, there are harmonious sweet spices and long vanilla notes on the palate. This finishes even longer in the mouth with a broad and lengthy grain notes. Take into account the quality, the age and that this is well south of $100 and you may have one of the best single malt values in K&L history.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1996 Glen Moray 19 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2017
This Glen Moray has gorgeous sweet fruit and vanilla tones on the palate. Fine balance and a caramelized Bourbon cask quality that is great for fans of all whisky and whiskey alike.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Mortlach 10 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2017
I love the salty creamy palate on this. It has richness and nutty grain notes in the mouth and a briny finish. It evokes a youthful malty appeal but the salinity makes this the perfect aperitif whisky.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Salwey "Estate" Pinot Noir Baden
Review Date: 03-29-2017
Pinot Noir is one of the world's most prestigious grapes but few are familiar with the versions produced in Germany. Well now, is definitely the time to get on board, as the Salwey delivers the smoky spices that I associate with the Baden region while also delivering ripe red fruit and savory spicy notes. I love cooler climate Pinots for their wilder brushy notes, and the Salwey is reminiscent of the wines of Marsannay and in riper vintages like this, maybe a meaty Pommard. This is exceptional terroir-driven Pinot that is not to be missed.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Antica Masseria di Sigillo Primitivo di Manduria
Review Date: 03-27-2017
Reminiscent of a classic Amador county zinfandel, which is appropriate as Primitivo is the progenitor to our California zinfandels, this wine evokes deep berry flavors, roasted figs and Medjool dates on the palate with hints of brushy herbs and savory spices. The Italian sensibility shows through with nice acidity keeping the wine focused and on point. I can think of nothing better than a little osso bucco to go with this juicy hearty red.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2012 Philippe Foreau "Domaine du Clos Naudin" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 03-21-2017
Everyone talks about Huet being the best and for certain, it sits right at the top when it comes to all things Vouvray. But when you ask producers in the region who they are most excited about - the name Foreau is the first one to roll off most tongues. I recently revisited some of the Foreau wines and while the sweeter styles are sublime, I was continually brought back to the Sec. I like dry Chenin. Actually, I LOVE dry Chenin. I think some of the most exciting mineral driven whites from anywhere in the world are made from this grape. This Sec has just a touch of bottle age which rounds out some of the piercing intensity and lets so much of the limestone, roasted pear and quince flavors shine through. Rich and intense with a laser like focus this wine delivers the goods. It is so versatile you could serve this beauty with roast pork dishes, exotic spiced dishes like curries or maybe some crispy duck confit over a bed of greens and fresh pears. The options are limitless.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 03-20-2017
Michel Chapoutier may be one of the masters of the northern Rhone but he has rapidly become the master of Roussillon. The 2015 "Les Vignes" represents about the eighth one of this entry wine from this project that we have worked with and (not trying to sound hyperbolic) this is the best one to date. Chapoutier began this project over 10 years ago sensing the potential in the Roussillon with its diverse soil types and consistently warm weather. It is an ideal growing place for Grenache and Syrah. The Les Vignes, itself, has always been a wine of pure pleasure but that is simply not enough for Mr. Chapoutier. Pushing the quality and selection higher each year the wine has gotten fresher, deeper and more complex. Now 2015 represents a new benchmark in Roussillon for vintages and here is that perfect storm of quality production and great vintage colliding. The wine is simply gorgeous with its rich cherry liqueur-like fruit and savory Indian spices. It walks the tight rope of intensity and weight but the harmonious tannins and fine acidity keep the wine perfectly in balance. We are treated to many great values like this from Roussillon like Lafage, Mas Karolina, Cabirau. This stridently sits at the top of the heap with the best of them.

2012 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Pur Plaisir" Cahors
Review Date: 02-14-2017
For those curious about high-end Cahors, the "Pur Plaisir" is the wine that truly plumbs the depths of richness and intensity that can be achieved in this region. The wine is full bodied, velvety textured and loaded with dense blackberry and currant fruit. Layers of smoky minerals and Asian spices round out the flavor profile. We don't often delve into this price point when looking at Cahors because there doesn't seem to be as big a market for collectible wines from this region. That doesn't mean the quality isn't there though. Stack the "Pur Plaisir" up against similarly priced Bordeaux or Malbecs from Argentina and this more than holds its own. In fact, you'd likely pay upwards of two to three times as much for comparable quality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Clos Saint Jean "Vieilles Vignes" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 01-27-2017
As far as vintages go, 2014 has not garnered much attention from the critics other than it sits in the shadow of 2015. What has been said, is that you should buy selectively and that the wines have lots of charm that makes them more accessible in the short term. That brings us to the Clos Saint Jean Vieilles Vignes. Every year, even in the tough ones, this wine is a performer. Though not stridently difficult, winemaker Phillipe Cambie opted not to produce the icon wines, Deus Ex Machina and Combe des Fous choosing to use the fruit to bolster the VV. A smart move indeed because it makes for one of the best and most approachable wines of the vintage. The nose is a panoply of rich fruit with layers of Maraska cherries and blackberry compote. Carmelized figs, potpourri and brushy garrigue round out the nose. Loads of classic terroir flavors will continue to evolve if given a little time. It is long, creamy and supple. It is more than one could hope for in this quietly charming vintage. Oh and one more thing. We have a throwback price on this wine! Usually floating closer to the $50 mark, we're just below $40 making this yet another reason to stock up on a few of these beauties to enjoy now or over the next 10 years.

2014 Clos Bellane Côtes du Rhône-Villages Valréas
Review Date: 01-11-2017
The village of Valreas is the northernmost Villages level wine in the Rhone appellation. What does that mean? Well a slightly cooler climate, for one. We start departing from the Mediterranean influence and get a little more continental. This cooler site brings more snap and crunch to the fruit and Syrah does particularly well up there offering up more savory spicy elements akin to a northern Rhone Crozes-Hermitage. Winemaker/Proprietor Stephane Vedeau acquired the winery in 2010. All of the vineyards are east facing slopes, most above 350 meters. Stephane elevated the winery's facility so that everything is gravity flow. All of this adds up to Stephane creating the purist cleanest expression of this appellation. The Village-Valreas is where the proof is in the pudding as they say. Full of vibrant, rich red fruit with a nose of dried tobacco leaf and savory spices. It is at once sumptuous and lithe, having both breadth and balance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 01-11-2017
Charles Smith's evocative labels always draw on one unifying characteristic: what's in the bottle is always joyous and delicious. These are never meant to be serious wines but are wines that capture your daily drinking at an affordable price that reflects the varietal and region upon which they are based. The "Kung Fu Girl" has always been one of my favorites in his line-up: 1) because I love yummy Riesling and 2) it's like an homage to old Chinese kung fu movies with a hint of "Kill Bill" thrown in for good measure. These are fun things and should never be taken too seriously. Pop and enjoy its bright lemony and melon fruit with its zingy acidity and slight sweetness. Don't be serious with it, this is your Thai or Chinese take out kind of wine for any night of the week. Now doesn't that sound both joyous and delicious?!

Page: 1 2 3 next