Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2014 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
Review Date: 05-22-2015
It was a bit of a cold and rainy day when I visited the cooperative that produces the Montmassot. We cruised around and toured the vineyards for an hour before we did the thing that all Picpoul demands - drink it with oysters! We had oysters three different ways: raw with a mignonette; baked with sauteed fennel and cheese; and broiled with a gorgeous aioli. Wow!! I really began to understand beyond the brightness and freshness of the wine. This is a wine from a region famous for its oysters and the wine paired perfectly with every permutation of that food. Vibrant and clean with notes of pink grapefruit and green apples on the palate. The finish is full of salty sea air. I think you know what you're supposed to do next...
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Lafage "Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
Review Date: 05-20-2015
On a cold February day, I tasted a tank sample of this wine with Jean Marc Lafage at his magnificent new winery just outside of Perpignan in the south of France. Throughout the afternoon we tasted about 30 wines and I kept coming back to the rose. I was entranced by its light color and refreshing qualities. Frankly, I needed something to rejuvenate me after a week and a half of hardcore wine tasting. Now that the wine is in bottle and newly arrived in the States, I popped one to see where it was at. Racy red currants led off followed by flavors of Seascape strawberries, blood oranges and white peaches. The intensity and minerality erupt from the glass. The Miraflors is expressive, focused and balanced. Definitely a top rose wine this year!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 Domaine Lafage Carignan "Tessellae" Cotes Catalanes
Review Date: 05-19-2015
This is awesome old vine Carignan that has flavors of brambly blackberry, roasted plum, hoisin and mission figs. There are notes of garrigue and spice on the palate as well. It is lush but not bombastic having good acidity to balance the wine. Perfect for barbecues, picnics or outdoor adventuring!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2014 Domaine Begude Gruner Veltliner "Exotique" IGP Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 05-18-2015
"Exotique" is a really great French take on Gruner. This secret wine (it's illegal to plant Gruner in France) has all the classic hallmarks of the grape. Apples, pears, white flowers, peppery spice and a touch of watercress. Clean like a mountain stream and just as refreshing.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc IGP Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 05-18-2015
The Sauvignon Blanc is always fresh and engaging with its lime fruit, gooseberry notes and yellow capsicum. Racy and vibrant, it is a hypothetical Sancerre-Kiwi mash-up. Perfect for warm weather sipping.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Rosé IGP Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 05-18-2015
Year in, year out, the rose is always one of our top buys in the category. Don't mistake this for a Provencal knock off, the pinot fruit shines through here. White cherry, red currants, wet stone and a touch of fresh sorrel make for a complete and engaging wine. So refreshing, you'll reach for another bottle as quickly as you drain the first. We only received one shipment of this wine so it is becoming quite the commodity. Stock up now!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Begude Chardonnay "Terroir 11300" IGP Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Review Date: 05-18-2015
The "Terroir" Chardonnay is an homage to the great Pouilly Fuisses of old. Gorgeous aromas of Red Delicious apples, peach cobbler and a whisper of spice. On the palate the flavors persist with gorgeous but balanced fruit flavors and succulent minerality. What's not like here. The balance of new world fruit with old world sensibilities makes for a winning combination in this underpriced value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-11-2015
We always tend to focus on the greatness that are the reds from Montfaucon but the white is equally worthy of your attention. With aromas of peach and nectarine, this wine shines with its perfumed prettiness. Flavors abound which is unusual since most Cotes du Rhone Blancs tend to be a little bland. Not so here. Loads of character but still nuanced. A real pleasure if you want to seek an alternative to Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Château Miraval Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-11-2015
There's so much you could say against celebrity vanity projects but Miraval is most definitely not one of those. Though the property is owned by two of the biggest mega stars in Hollywood, the wine is elaborated by one of the top Rhone producers, the Perrin family of Chateau de Beaucastel. The attention to detail shows. The Miraval is a perfumed and pretty style with red fruits, blood oranges and a touch of peach. Clean and refreshing, this is one of the hits of the summer and it didn't cost $100 million to make.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 05-11-2015
The wines coming out of Cabirau are some of the biggest rock star wines of the Roussillon region. Not only is there depth of fruit here but classic terroir. None are heavy handed but they are polished. It's a testament to the quality that can come from this region. The Serge & Nicolas is loaded with flavors of wild blueberry, roasted plum and garrigue. It is juicy and ripe but focused and balanced. Great for now and definitely a few years down the road.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Domaine du Bagnol Cassis Blanc
Review Date: 05-11-2015
I recently made a French inspired dinner with some friends and our first course was a puff pastry with asparagus and cheese. We served this and it was spot on! Loaded with crushed minerals, a touch of fresh fennel, a hint of yellow apple. The tone for Cassis is always on the subtle side but it brings nuance to whatever you drink it with.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine du Bagnol Cassis Rosé
Review Date: 05-11-2015
Every year, this qualifies as one of my top roses of the season and once again the 2014 is no exception. Perfume of orange rind, Gaviota strawberries and white peaches lead to a vibrant and mineral palate. The finish is long. Every year I buy half a case of this charmer. Three to drink at the end the summer and three for next summer. I'm almost done with my '13s and they were spectacular. Can't wait to get to these '14s. Very limited!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Edmund Jacquin "Marestel" Roussette de Savoie
Review Date: 05-10-2015
Roussette de Savoie can be made in many of the villages but the most special comes from the hill of Marestel. The hill has a 45-degree slope that provides a little bit of vertigo when standing at the top. The soil is scree (that fractured limestone). The grape is Altesse and it has a honeyed texture with vibrant acidity that often reminds one of Chenin Blanc. The hill of Marestel is regarded as one of the best (grand cru) sites for growing this grape. The Jacquin is classic Roussette, with vibrant acidity and a weighty texture that Jacquere and Chasselas don’t quite have. For more full-bodied wines with this intensity, this is where you need to be. Luscious and succulent, it has intense lime zest and yellow apple qualities with notes of honey and quince. The finish is long, with tons of minerality.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 JP & JF Quénard "Au Pied des Tours" Chignin Bergeron
Review Date: 05-10-2015
The village of Chignin has some of the best soil in the region. It is made up of limestone scree (fractured rocks on the slopes). The appellation of Chignin Bergeron overlays the region of Chignin, but these south-facing slopes on some of the rockiest soils, planted exclusively to Roussanne, provide the best aspect for ripening this grape. Jean Francois Quenard took over the duties of the winery from his father Jean-Pierre in 1987. The winery produces excellent Chignin, Chignin Bergeron and Roussette de Savoie. The “Au Pied des Tours,” which translates to “at the foot of the tower,” is one of their best vineyards. It is appropriately named since it is planted next to the Tour Villard, the remains of a tower that was part of the ruins of the Château de Chignin. The Au Pied is plump with tree fruit qualities of peach and nectarine. It has a much fresher quality than the Roussanne you find in the Rhône Valley, with similar weight but more freshness and acidity.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Le Cellier du Palais Vin de Savoie Apremont
Review Date: 05-10-2015
Their basic Apremont is 100% Jacquere, one of the local varieties that encapsulates the freshness of the region. Fresh Anjou pear, peach pit, wet rocks and a hint of hay lend an engaging nose to the fresh, mineral-driven palate. It’s like you’re careening down the mountain surrounded by the forests and the snow.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Penya Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 05-07-2015
The Penya is not meant to be serious. It is a wine that is fun, delicious and a steal as an everyday red. Made with Grenache, Syrah, Carignan and Mourvedre it has notes of ripe red fruit with spices and violets. It is smooth with a fine finish. This should be your go to week night wine. Perfect for Taco Tuesdays, Spaghetti Wednesdays and Roast Chicken Thursdays.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Shatter Grenache Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 05-07-2015
What's not to like about this mash-up from Joel Gott and Dave Phinney, two masters of Napa winemaking. It has a wonderfully rich texture and ripe berry fruit. Deep flavors of blackberry, Chambord and spices erupt from the glass. On the palate it has satiny tannins with a long finish. It has a deftness to it that doesn't make it come across as heavy handed. See what new world winemakers can do with old world fruit and be equally pleased.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2012 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 04-29-2015
I am consistently wowed by the quality of the wines coming from Montfaucon. From the Baron Louis Lirac rouge to the Madelaine Cotes du Rhone Blanc, they are always delicious and offer great quality. But the humble little Cotes du Rhone is really where it's all at. For under $12, you can drink classic wonderful Rhone wine that is balanced, expressive and inviting. It's no wonder we go through hundreds of cases of this every year.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Domaine de Piaugier "Grange" Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 04-29-2015
This is a delightful, medium bodied Cotes du Rhone red with spicebox, red fruit flavors and a touch of garrigue. This is the best kind of everyday wine. It will go with practically anything. Chicken, pork, beef. Just throw it on the grill and let this little baby shine through. For me? How about some fajitas... we still eat those right?
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Château de Peyrassol "Commanderie" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-26-2015
Every year, this is one of the best roses we have to offer. It is fresh and clean on the nose with strawberry, minerals and lightly crushed herbs. Maybe a hint of tarragon. Easy at first on the palate, there is underlying complexity that unfolds with air. I always caution everyone that is the best of the late summer drinking roses because by then it is showing its best. It's also always sold out by then. Grab a few or grab a case, set it aside and drink a few now and save a few for August and September. You won't be disappointed.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 04-26-2015
I was truly pleased when I discovered the Jaufrette wines. I think this old school producer captures everything I am looking for in a Rhone producer: Dedication to great terroir, balanced style, classic winemaking. The Cotes du Rhone is out of the gate great. It is a true southern Rhone but reminiscent of the wines made a couple of decades ago. It has mulled cherries, earth notes, grilled rosemary, tobacco leaf and peppery spices on the palate. Give it a half hour in a decanter and the wine expands even further. This is serious stuff and one of my favorites right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
Review Date: 04-26-2015
I was truly pleased when I discovered the Jaufrette wines. I think this old school producer captures everything I am looking for in a Rhone producer: Dedication to great terroir, balanced style, classic winemaking. The Gigondas is probably my favorite of the three wines. It has a nose of deep berry with fresh tilled earth and roasted meat. There is a lot to like here with a supple texture and generous palate. It is still old school in a sense, I like to equate this to the Rioja-school of winemaking (without the coconut and dill nuances). This is persistent on the palate and the wine just keeps giving. I spent a few days with a bottle and even at the end, the wine just kept giving more. My highest recommendation!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine de la Jaufrette Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 04-26-2015
I was truly pleased when I discovered the Jaufrette wines. I think this old school producer captures everything I am looking for in a Rhone producer: Dedication to great terroir, balanced style, classic winemaking. The Chateauneuf is rich and loamy. It does show a little bit of the 07 weight with ripe fruit flavors, but a little time in the bottle has softened the tannic structure and allowed the minerality to shine through. Reminds me of Chateauneuf from the 80s and 90s with a little more polished mouthfeel. I put a couple of these away to discover in a few more years but I am truly pleased to drink this now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Domaine Courtois "La Grange" Vinsobres
Review Date: 04-24-2015
Courtois is a property acquired by the Jaume family in 2003. The winery itself had fallen into disrepair but the vineyards were in remarkable condition. What distinguishes Vinsobres is its elevation, with vineyards sitting at 350 to 450 meters, and the latitude being the northernmost of the Côtes du Rhône crus. The wines show more northern Rhône characteristics—think cooler Grenache flavors of fresh (not jammy) fruit intermingled with spicy Syrah notes. The “La Grange,” a blend of 60% Grenache and 40% Syrah, is elegant and refined, with a perfume of wild berries and spices. On the palate there is white pepper, crushed raspberries and blackberry fruit. With lovely balance and fine tannins, “La Grange” is lively and buoyant for a southern Rhône red. One of my new favorites!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Clot de l'Origine "Le P'tit Barriot" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 04-24-2015
The 2013 “Le P’tit Barriot” Rouge is a revelation. It is Syrah with pure notes of crushed strawberries, pomegranate and Szechuan pepper. It has a briary, spicy quality that emulates our expectation of Syrah from the northern Rhône, something a lot of Roussillon Syrah is lacking. Here you get finesse, fine tannins, a touch of smoked meat, fresh fruit and hints of potpourri; my highest recommendation for fans of cool climate, quality Rhône-styled reds.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Clot de l'Origine Macabeu "Le P'tit Barriot" VDF Blanc
Review Date: 04-24-2015
The P’tit Barriot is named in honor of Marc’s infant daughter and represents the freshness and brightness the region has to offer. The Blanc is 100% Macabeu aged in used oak barrels. It has notes of persimmon, quince and dried papaya. There is a clear saline quality, with a rich and mineral-driven finish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine de la Fouquette "Rosée d'Aurore" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-24-2015
It has been a couple of years since we carried this wine and I for one am glad it's back. Fresh strawberry, blood orange peel, fresh cut melon, the aromas leap from the glass. Sure to be one of the biggest crowd pleasers of the season - a caveat though - we only received one shipment! When it sells out it's gone for the year. Stock up now!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Saint Roch Les Vignes Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-24-2015
The Saint Roch is classic Provencal rosé. It has lovely floral notes, hints of strawberries and cream, a winning texture and good acidity. Nice minerality on the finish here too. Would be great with a salad of grilled vegetables, brandade de morue or a classic salade nicoise.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Von Hövel Oberemmeler Hütte Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Von Hovel has always delivered a great cost to quality ratio. The 2010 definitely fits the bill. The wine has copious amounts of yellow apple fruit, white flowers and flinty notes on the nose. Electric and nervy on the palate, this Spatlese has all the stuffing for long term aging.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 WS 90

2014 Château les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clémentine" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2015
Lovely fruit aromas of pink grapefruit, strawberry blossoms and Red Delicious apples permeate this wine. It has a lovely richer texture for fans who want a little more weight in their rosé, though it is by no means heavy. A nice crisp mineral finish and you have one of our best rosés for the season.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Commanderie de la Bargemone Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2015
Bargemone is always a crowd pleaser with its vibrant tone. Notes of citrus, surrounded by a little white peach and some hints of strawberry fill the nose. It has crisp minerality that lingers on the palate and a fresh finish that says warm weather is coming and I can handle it beautifully. My perfect sunset sipper.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Antech "Cuvée Héritage 1860" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 04-08-2015
I'm a huge fan of the Antech wines. I think they deliver some of the best cost to quality for bubbles anywhere in the world. When we tasted the Heritage 1860, I was wowed by complexity. A notch up from the Eugenie it has a creamier doughier character more reminiscent of great Champagne. Notes of ripe apple, pear, nutmeg and fresh baked biscuits. All this for well under $20.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$12.99

2014 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 04-02-2015
A terrific alternative to Sauvignon Blanc, this has lively tropical notes of pineapple and papaya. On the palate zingy grapefruit and guava. It is a lusty wine with nice nerve and a refreshing finish. A perfect wine to quaff on a warm summer day.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
What a revelation! I'm a huge fan our DIs but this new arrival may be one of the best yet. Layers of fruit erupt from the glass including notes of apple, pear, peach and blood orange. A hint of the exotic as well including some starfruit, kiwi and a bit of ginger. On the palate the mousse is creamy with flavors that are generous and keep unfolding. Bravo! (A side note - don't miss the STILL rose that they also make. Truly special!)
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$29.99

2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape "Vieilles Vignes"
Review Date: 03-14-2015
Deep, rich and sexy. The Vieilles Vignes is serious wine with a serious pedigree. It comes from three parcels of the estate's oldest vines and the quality of the fruit shows. Hoisin, black raspberries, fresh tilled earth, pipe tobacco and creosote all add up to a complex palate that lingers long on the finish. Keep this wine in the cellar for a couple of years if you can or decant for an hour or two before serving.

2012 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 03-14-2015
My favorite "work horse" CDP. This hits all the classic notes. Roasted plum, mission figs, notes of garrigue. This is really pretty Chateauneuf and comes in at a price that blows the competition away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
Review Date: 03-14-2015
Rich but focused with nice underlying acidity. This is vibrant CDP Blanc. It has notes of candied pear, nectarines and persimmons. The finish lingers and would be ideally suited with some smoked trout served on a salad of greens and citrus.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Chateau de Gourgazaud "Cuvée Tradition" Minervois
Review Date: 03-10-2015
Delightfully classic Minervois with blackberry, currants, black olives and notes of lilacs and garrigue. There is a an underlying sauvage character that says I am old school and not afraid. Tremendous buy for under $12.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 David Givaudan "La Bête" Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 03-10-2015
The wine may be named "la Bete" (the Beast) but it is no over the top style to be certain. Plenty of fresh cherry and strawberry fruit with dried blueberries and thyme. On the palate it begins to unfold with layers of white pepper, tobacco and a touch of sassafras. This is a friendly medium bodied style with old-school restraint. One of my favorite Rhones right now.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine Maestracci "E Prove" Corse Calvi Rouge
Review Date: 03-05-2015
The Maestracci has that quality that you find in a lot of wines from Corsica. Italian flavors with French sensibilities. There are copious amounts of black fruit alongside tobacco and spice box notes. On the palate the wine has sweet fruit with a brightness that keeps it lifted and never heavy. A little grip on the finish leads you towards food but not entirely necessary. If you have never tried a wine from Corsica this is one of the best to get started with.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Rouge
Review Date: 03-05-2015
From one of the great estates of the Languedoc, this is the equivalent of a Grand Cru Classe Bordeaux. It was even acclaimed as such by wine writer Michael Broadbent. Think of a great Bordeaux, polish the tannins, soften the oak influence and here you land. A bold nose of currants, lilacs and sage unfold into a palate of rich blackberry and blueberry. The tannins are supple and the wine is accessible right now but worthy of the cellar for many years.
Price: $41.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 La Cabotte "Colline" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 03-05-2015
Loaded with red fruits like cherry and pomegranate, there is also a hint of crushed herbs like thyme and bay leaf. Polished tannins lead to a zesty well priced wine that suits any budget.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Blanc
Review Date: 03-05-2015
This is one of the most intriguing whites I have tasted in a year. The wild varietal blend leads to a wine greater than the sum of its parts. Viognier and Chardonnay provide body and aromatics, the Petit Manseng adds texture and acidity, the Chenin adds volume and depth. Aromas of bruised apple, lime skin, white flowers and crushed rocks permeate the nose. The palate is full with layers of flavors and an exceptionally long finish. This is awesome stuff!
Price: $41.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 03-05-2015
Guigal once again delivers a lovely old school, friendly rendition of Cotes du Rhone. Notes of raspberry, potpourri, Asian spices and dried herbs. It is medium bodied with well delineated flavors on the palate. Definitely over delivers for the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 90 WE 90

2013 JP & JF Quenard Persan "Les 2 Jean" Vin de Savoie
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Persan is a local grape variety found in the Savoie region of France. It was widely planted until phylloxera devastated the region. As of 2012 only about 22 hectares are still cultivated, but it may be poised for a comeback. The "Les 2 Jean" is full of red fruit, rose petals, leafy tobacco and dried thyme aromas. The palate continues the floral and red fruit flavors with a medium body and good acidity. I kind of equate it to a medium-weight Syrah with Gamay edges. Serve this lovely wine with all great things herb crusted, like lamb, chicken and pork.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine du Gros Noré Bandol
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Bandol is always a little tricky on the nose with its brooding sensibility. Mostly Mourvedre, this is not the normal wild beast we associate with Bandol and its bruiser style. It has aromas of black plum, fig paste and hints of leather. On the palate it is mouth-filling with a core of sweet black fruit. This is dense but not over-extracted and has just the right amount of velvety tannins to make it accessible now, but a few years would only help to show how much more this wine can give.
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 WE 90

2013 Charles Trosset Mondeuse "Harmonie" Vin de Savoie Arbin
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Oh, I love Mondeuse. It is wild, a little funky and just the right amount of weird. It is loaded with red and black fruit but what really jumps out are all the crushed fresh herbs of sage, thyme and rosemary. Along with notes of tobacco and a hint of celery seed, you pretty much have Mondeuse in a nutshell. The palate is medium-full with many of those herby notes but what comes out is the savory aspect of this wine. Serve it with some lamb or maybe pork, grilled to perfection with a lot of pink in the middle.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Cuvée Speciale des Vignettes" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 02-25-2015
The "Cuvée Speciale" is the older vines of the two Clos wines. You can even see it in the color of the wine with its depth and intensity. Make no mistake, this is still a light colored rosé. The "Speciale" has aromas of orange peel, fresh walnuts and a touch of salinity. On the palate there are notes of wet stone and white cherry. The length is long and reminds me of a cru Chablis but more red fruit notes. This is powerful stuff even for rosé. Capable of aging but drinkable now, I always buy six bottles. Four to drink and two to put away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 93

2013 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 02-25-2015
I make no secret that the Clos Cibonne wines are some of my favorite rosés in the store year after year. That is until the inventory gets low, and I want the rest for just myself. The "Tradition" is always the more accessible of the two when first released. It has notes of orange peel, nectarine and a hint of vanilla. The palate is concentrated but has fine acidity with a finish that lingers with blood orange and dried strawberry. The minerality in these wines is always present and adds a textural element that is pleasing. The Cibonne wines are not your average porch pounders. They are classy elegant rosés for serious back yard grilling. Or not, it's still rosé and still delicious no matter how you drink it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 ST 91

2013 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini
Review Date: 02-23-2015
The Santo is a luscious, ripe Assyrtiko with notes of star fruit, Asian pear and white peaches. There is great minerality with a tingle of lively acid that helps keep the texture of the wine from falling flat or coming off as flabby. The long finish takes it home and would be the ideal pairing for some tomato keftedes and grilled sea bass.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

Page: 1 2 next