Staff Favorites - Cindy Westby

Cindy Westby
Cindy Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
In her current incarnation as K&L Human Resources wizard, Cindy spends her time managing management and making the most of our talented staff. Her previous lives include: HR generalist at Cisco Systems, sommelier at the Village Pub and retail sales at Ridge Vineyards. She's the real sparkle in Champagne buyer Gary Westby's eye and enjoys drinking more than her fair share of traditionally styled wines from the classic wine regions of the world. Her long term goals include: figuring out how to use her iPhone, growing a decent tomato, and adding as many Westbys as possible to the K&L staff.


Reviews

  
2008 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-28-2015
What do you get when you combine a classic Champagne house like Roederer, with an amazing vintage like 2008? A home run! Wonderful concentration with freshness and length for days. Definitely a worthy candidate for aging!

Jardesca California Aperitiva 750ml
Review Date: 07-02-2014
Looking for a lighter, fresher alternative to a "Bloody Mary Bar"? Serve this little beauty over ice with a few pretty bowls of herb and citrus garnish at your next brunch, BBQ, book club or pool party - and watch it disappear!
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 05-21-2014
What do our kitchen cupboards absolutely NOT need? Another wine glass. But I have to give credit where credit is due. This is a lovely glass for champagne. A hybrid in-between flute and white wine glass, the tulip shape allows the wine even more expression and yet still shows off the beautiful bubbles. I am so taken by this new glass I'm worried my flutes might get a bit dusty!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2012
Back at home after a particularly rough day my husband went on his nightly expedition to the wine cellar in our garage. When he returned with this wine - my jaw dropped. "Sometimes you've got to live a little", he said. Live a little indeed! A spectacular champagne with lots of everything, but not too much of anything. Black and red fruited nose,candied blood orange, toasted nuts, rose petals on the palate - velvety but vivacious. Balanced and luxurious, this was a special treat I will not soon forget.

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-11-2009
Because you can never be too rich...or have too many bubbles! This Grand Cuvee is truly grand - very concentrated, with a silky smooth texture and length for days. Drink it on your private island, while sitting on your treasure chest and eating a foie gras cheeseburger! (tasted 6/10/09)

Rittenhouse Rye 100 Proof, Bottled in Bond 750ml
Review Date: 05-20-2009
Adding a couple of ice cubes to this 100 proof spirit really tames the beast, bringing out the sweetness and rye-bread aromatics. A wonderful digestif after dinner - with a very reasonable price tag.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2009
This Champagne has big style! I love to treat myself to a glass on a Sunday afternoon, read a good book - and pointedly ignore the laundry.
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2008
I love the family resemblance between the Rene Collard and the Collard-Picard wines! Still the earthy and savory meunier flavor, but with a lighter hand and more zing! This wine is a great choice when you want that mature champagne flavor, without the wait!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List