Staff Favorites - Cindy Westby

Cindy Westby

Reviews

  
Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-23-2017
Sometimes it is impossible to separate an outstanding wine from an outstanding setting! I recently enjoyed this champagne in Point Reyes, under a huge umbrella in the pouring rain. And while slurping down the freshest oysters in the land, this champagne seemed to have as much complexity, as much vibrancy and as much freshness as my glorious surroundings.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2016
This champagne is very good company. Endlessly complex, revealing different dimensions with each sip. Starting its savory story when the glass is full and cold, all the way until the final delicious drop, a bit warmer and with some of the bubbles subdued. An absolute STEAL for the price - and a must-try for all champagne lovers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2008 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-28-2015
What do you get when you combine a classic Champagne house like Roederer, with an amazing vintage like 2008? A home run! Wonderful concentration with freshness and length for days. Definitely a worthy candidate for aging!

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2015
Another new Champagne to love! Tons of dark cherry fruit leaps from the glass in this barrel fermented beauty. Very expressive, with both a lushness in the mouth and that classic bright acid zing!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jardesca California Aperitiva (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2014
Looking for a lighter, fresher alternative to a "Bloody Mary Bar"? Serve this little beauty over ice with a few pretty bowls of herb and citrus garnish at your next brunch, BBQ, book club or pool party - and watch it disappear!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 05-21-2014
What do our kitchen cupboards absolutely NOT need? Another wine glass. But I have to give credit where credit is due. This is a lovely glass for champagne. A hybrid in-between flute and white wine glass, the tulip shape allows the wine even more expression and yet still shows off the beautiful bubbles. I am so taken by this new glass I'm worried my flutes might get a bit dusty!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2012
Back at home after a particularly rough day my husband went on his nightly expedition to the wine cellar in our garage. When he returned with this wine - my jaw dropped. "Sometimes you've got to live a little", he said. Live a little indeed! A spectacular champagne with lots of everything, but not too much of anything. Black and red fruited nose,candied blood orange, toasted nuts, rose petals on the palate - velvety but vivacious. Balanced and luxurious, this was a special treat I will not soon forget.

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-17-2012
While it's common to start with a bone-dry wine as the aperitif, I favor wines with a little more "oomph" for companionship as I get dinner on the table. A glass of the Gosset Brut Excellence keeps my hunger pains at bay with exotic freshness and a round, supple texture. A special value right now at $25.99 - you'll have to race me to the shelf!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-11-2009
Because you can never be too rich...or have too many bubbles! This Grand Cuvee is truly grand - very concentrated, with a silky smooth texture and length for days. Drink it on your private island, while sitting on your treasure chest and eating a foie gras cheeseburger! (tasted 6/10/09)

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
Medium body, gobs of dark red cherry Pinot fruit. Satisfying and delicious alone - or paired with something on the earthy, savory side.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2009
Adding a couple of ice cubes to this 100 proof spirit really tames the beast, bringing out the sweetness and rye-bread aromatics. A wonderful digestif after dinner - with a very reasonable price tag.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2009
This Champagne has big style! I love to treat myself to a glass on a Sunday afternoon, read a good book - and pointedly ignore the laundry.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-09-2009
It blows my mind. $32.99, really? Small production grower rose champagne, aged on the lees for 5 years?? Are you sure, only $32.99? Beautiful to behold with its tawny pink color - and a joy to consume with layers of flavor and aroma. Enjoy alongside baked ham, herbed quiche - or even smoked almonds as an afternoon treat!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart