Staff Favorites - Cindy Westby

Cindy Westby

Reviews

  
2008 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-28-2015
What do you get when you combine a classic Champagne house like Roederer, with an amazing vintage like 2008? A home run! Wonderful concentration with freshness and length for days. Definitely a worthy candidate for aging!

Jardesca California Aperitiva (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2014
Looking for a lighter, fresher alternative to a "Bloody Mary Bar"? Serve this little beauty over ice with a few pretty bowls of herb and citrus garnish at your next brunch, BBQ, book club or pool party - and watch it disappear!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 05-21-2014
What do our kitchen cupboards absolutely NOT need? Another wine glass. But I have to give credit where credit is due. This is a lovely glass for champagne. A hybrid in-between flute and white wine glass, the tulip shape allows the wine even more expression and yet still shows off the beautiful bubbles. I am so taken by this new glass I'm worried my flutes might get a bit dusty!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2012
Back at home after a particularly rough day my husband went on his nightly expedition to the wine cellar in our garage. When he returned with this wine - my jaw dropped. "Sometimes you've got to live a little", he said. Live a little indeed! A spectacular champagne with lots of everything, but not too much of anything. Black and red fruited nose,candied blood orange, toasted nuts, rose petals on the palate - velvety but vivacious. Balanced and luxurious, this was a special treat I will not soon forget.

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-17-2012
While it's common to start with a bone-dry wine as the aperitif, I favor wines with a little more "oomph" for companionship as I get dinner on the table. A glass of the Gosset Brut Excellence keeps my hunger pains at bay with exotic freshness and a round, supple texture. A special value right now at $25.99 - you'll have to race me to the shelf!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-11-2009
Because you can never be too rich...or have too many bubbles! This Grand Cuvee is truly grand - very concentrated, with a silky smooth texture and length for days. Drink it on your private island, while sitting on your treasure chest and eating a foie gras cheeseburger! (tasted 6/10/09)

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
Medium body, gobs of dark red cherry Pinot fruit. Satisfying and delicious alone - or paired with something on the earthy, savory side.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2009
Adding a couple of ice cubes to this 100 proof spirit really tames the beast, bringing out the sweetness and rye-bread aromatics. A wonderful digestif after dinner - with a very reasonable price tag.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2009
This Champagne has big style! I love to treat myself to a glass on a Sunday afternoon, read a good book - and pointedly ignore the laundry.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-09-2009
It blows my mind. $32.99, really? Small production grower rose champagne, aged on the lees for 5 years?? Are you sure, only $32.99? Beautiful to behold with its tawny pink color - and a joy to consume with layers of flavor and aroma. Enjoy alongside baked ham, herbed quiche - or even smoked almonds as an afternoon treat!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart