Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2015 Anne Amie "Cuvée A Amrita" Oregon White Blend
Review Date: 02-13-2017
A very pleasing wine, that deliver a "pearly" sensation on the palate, with pretty flowery aromatics. It is crispy and yet soft and creamy. Delicately fruit forward and a delight to drink.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Marc Colin Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru "Champ Gain"
Review Date: 02-13-2017
Absolutely stunning wine that is picture perfect Chassagne. A classic nose of cloves, flint ripe citrus, and cinnamon. The palate shows impeccable richness and complexity of flavors. From honey, to crushed stones and flint, to orange zest and smoke. A serious wine that will age beautifully. Worth every penny!

2014 Mullineux Syrah Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 02-13-2017
A very classic Syrah with floral notes, along with red currant, and raw meat.On the palate the vanilla, cake batter, and cocoa shows up. Its medium tannins all but caress the palate. Pure pleasure indeed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

2015 The Blacksmith "Vin Noir" Carignan-Grenache Blend Swartland
Review Date: 02-13-2017
I really enjoyed drinking this Beaujolais-like wine, with its strawberry aromatics, along with what I call "petit fruit du bois" or wild berries. The palate though it shows an unexpected spiciness, black pepper, but still keeping its juiciness. A very good choice for an Indian dinner, or with a plate of charcuterie.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Alheit Vineyards "Cartology" Chenin Blanc Western Cape
Review Date: 02-13-2017
Another beautiful showing from South Africa. The Cartology shows a rich, creamy palate with the Semillon being very prominent. Quince, lanolin, and a nice herbal component. It is never heavy, with a perfect balance between the richness and the acidity. It can definitely fill the niche for those wanting something different, and yet quite delicious!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Mullineux White Blend Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 02-13-2017
This is a perfect example of a wine that at first can be quite unassuming but ends with a very satisfying finish. In between it slowly shows these most beautiful notes of quince, honey, yellow peaches, and a flinty minerality. It has had skin contact I've been told, and it shows on the creamy, honeyed palate. I found it irresistible and quite difficult not to go for another glass... and another.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

2015 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 02-06-2017
Very elegant with intense and pretty floral aromatics. Violets, along with cola, black cherries, along with wild berries and delicate spices. A wine that is never overwhelming, with a soft palate and incredibly velvety tannins. Excellent indeed
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2013 Dog Point Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
A top Pinot Noir, with beautiful floral aromatics, along with cola, dark cherries, baking spices and a touch of soy. On the palate it delivers lots of depth and complexity. A nice note of spices and very soft tannins close the deal for this outstanding Pinot.

2013 Dog Point Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
Another exceptional offering from Dog Point. This Chardonnay exceeded all my expectations, with a complex array of flavors and aromatics, and its balance and elegance. Flinty with stone fruit, and baked apple, along with an almost savory note on the palate. It is a rich Chardonnay, and yet crisp and never heavy, with a very long finish and - from my notes exactly - "intensely delicious"

2015 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
This certified Bio/Organic producer was all the rage in our staff tasting, with all of us agreeing how exceptional all its portfolio is. Here we have his entry level Sauvignon Blanc, which is flinty, with elegant notes of citrus fruit, along with some lemon curd, peaches and a sense of balance and elegance that distinguish itself from most of its peers.

2013 Dog Point "Section 94" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
A surprising wine, that to me resembled of a Meursault! Yet, it is not Chardonnay, but of course Sauvignon Blanc, barrel fermented and from very low yields. Perhaps is the slight nuttiness along with the flint notes that put my mind in the great Burgundy cru. But whatever it was, I found absolutely intriguing.

2015 Stony Bank Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-06-2017
A thoroughly enjoyable wine, with loads of juicy red grapefruit and minerality. This crispy combination makes a perfect it a perfect wine for just about any summer dish, but I had with Mexican food and it was a match made in heaven. Great price too.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Let me start by saying this is not your everyday white wine. It is very much a connoisseur kind of wine. It resembles sherry and I treated it as such. So I served it to accompany a platter of Manchego cheese, olives, chorizo, pita etc... It was perfect.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Raisins Gaulois" Vin de France
Review Date: 01-31-2017
Here's a wine that's quintessential "gouleyant" (quaffable) and absolutely delicious. It is juicy, grapey but with the acidity framing its fruit and giving it balance. A perfect wine for an outdoors cook out, a party or an easy evening, solo, à deux, or more...
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2014 Larrivet-Haut-Brion Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-30-2017
Very pleasant and balanced, the Larrivet delivers a nose of coffee and vanilla, and currants, and a nice touch of spices on the palate. This will be drinking beautifully by the time is available.

2014 Carbonnieux Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 01-30-2017
Nice dusty minerality on the nose, with a palate full of juicy, crackling red fruit and a delicious note of smoke. Very appealing.

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-30-2017
This wine showed really well at the UGC tasting last January. Tantalizing notes of Marzipan, citrus, and some exotic herbs. The palate is round with glycerol, medium acidity and lots of minerality. A tremendous white Bordeaux, that's classic, very elegant, and quite delicious as of today.

2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-24-2017
Have to tell you this is one of the best 2012s I've tasted so far. The wine is rich, complex and will keep evolving for a long time. Mocha, coffee, dark red fruit, exotic spices on the nose, followed by a palate that's layered with complex flavors. This is a stunner.

2006 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-24-2017
A very balanced wine with an exotic nose and a lush entry. Kirsch, coffee, plum, mocha, smoke and yes, I did get marmalade! But it is framed by a marked structure with firm tannins and lifting acidity. I would recommend decanting if opening now. A bottle of this wine will be "heaven" with some roast meat, sausages, and a nice Confit de Canard!

1991 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-23-2017
Classic aged old school Bordeaux with still a nice sweet fruit on the palate, followed by some coffee, capsicum, brown sugar, and a intriguing smoky/ashy note, that I found very appealing. By all means, this is not a lush, ripe Napa Cab, but having said that, it is a Bordeaux wine at its peak.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gazin-Rocquencourt, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-23-2017
There's definitely that Malartic "magic touch" in this wine. It is approachable, and yet quite complex with nice spices, dark berries and mocha, along with a very elegant palate. It will develop further in some years to come, and keep drinking beautifully for a decade or more Optimal for those who want to drink some bottles now and put some in the cellar.

2010 L'Argenteyre, Medoc
Review Date: 01-22-2017
Quite nice wine showing off its beautiful vintage. The classic notes of cassis and plums, but also graphite, cocoa and brown sugar. Definitely a wine to dress up any dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-22-2017
A very complex wine showing violets, coffee, soft capsicum, and earth, that one can tell will last and develop into a beauty later on. I can see leather and truffles in its elegant future. That one will do well to leave in the cellars for some years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-22-2017
Another great chance to try the fantastic 2015 vintage. The d'Arce is a pleasing, juicy wine with elegant notes of coffee, cherries, plums, with very velvety tannins. Very versatile and completely drinkable from the get go.

2015 Loyasson, Bordeaux
Review Date: 01-22-2017
This is a tremendous wine for such low price. Coffee notes on the nose along with Violette, plums with nice toasty oak and a sweet palate. Very pleasing, and yet very complex. A preview of the fantastic 2015 vintage!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Gazin-Rocquencourt Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-22-2017
I just poured this wine in our 1st Bordeaux tasting of the year and it was a tremendous success. Classic notes of citrus, along with a more exotic passion fruit, muskmelon, and beautiful floral. A nice balance between richness and acidity. I would suggest this wine with some spicy food, elaborate salads and any light meat/fruit dishes.

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-22-2017
A very exuberant Bordeaux Blanc I must say, with very tropical notes of pineapple, mangoes, along with peaches and perfectly framed by a juicy acidity. Outstanding. This wine would work wonders as a pairing with say, Thai food...

2009 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
Review Date: 01-15-2017
From another one of the “Grands” vintages, this Magrez wine is also another beauty. But this one is for the cellars, in my opinion. It is all there: the opaque color, the espresso/coffee beans and tobacco, the sweet but never heavy cassis fruit, along with crushed stone minerality and bitter chocolate. If you drink it now, decant it for an hour. Better yet, get a case and put it in the cellar.

2005 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
Review Date: 01-15-2017
From one of the “Grands” vintages of our century comes this marvelous wine that not only is drinking beautifully now, but also can and should be held in the cellar for some more years to come. The color, true to its vintage, is dark, almost opaque, which tells us of the intense concentration of the vintage. Captivating woodsy, forest floor notes greet you on the nose, followed by olives, leather, honey and intense cassis and plum fruit. The tannins are very much there, a good sign for a marvelous pairing with lamb or a steak dinner. This is a serious wine that defies its appellation, let alone its price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2012 Michel Gassier "Lou Coucardié" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A rich wine with plenty of plum, blackberry, vanilla, as well as dark flowers, brown sugar and dried fruit. The surprising bit is that is never heavy or cumbersome, in fact it is quite fresh and lifted, with velvety soft tannins. Really quite delicious.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Aligote
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A delicious Aligoté ... How is this possible? I normally only drink those acidic Aligotés with a good dollop of Crème de Cassis, not this one. The 2015 Pernot is perfectly ripe, with some herbal notes of thyme and tarragon. Even a delicate note of honey. Reminds me of a Pinot Blanc. Not only a perfect aperitif but also a great accompaniment to a light fish and salad dish. Go Aligoté I say!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This wine is what I call a classic "petit Bordeaux" in the very best sense of the term. Lots of dark chocolate intermingling with coffee notes first greet you, followed by dark fruit, cassis, and wet rocks - a note that I love in Bordeaux. It has fruit for sure but it is not a fruity wine, in fact the perfectly balanced structure (acid and tannins) hold it all together beautifully.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2011 Contino Graciano Rioja
Review Date: 11-28-2016
Very dark inky color. Loads of blackberry concentrate on the nose as well as cherries. It delivers a serious, balanced smoky palate with exotic spices. The high acidity frames the fruit, making it an absolutely pleasure to drink this wine.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WS 92

2009 Valenciso Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-28-2016
An incredibly elegant wine showing a touch of vanilla, dried cherries, along with leather and a delicate note of wood. Full body, rich but very well balanced. A classic Rioja
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 11-28-2016
Beautiful aromatics of spicy cherries, strawberries and quite floral as well. This is a charming Pinot that also carries structure on the palate, rounding all the lifted aromatics and also giving it a touch of earth as well.

2015 Schmelz Steinriegl Riesling Smaragd Wachau
Review Date: 11-27-2016
A great Riesling with beautiful notes of orange, honey, white flowers and even jasmine. Quite exotic! On the palate it is very crisp, fresh and absolutely delicious.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Fiefs de Lagrange, St. Julien
Review Date: 11-27-2016
A very classic Saint Julien with cassis, lacquer and wood spices, coffee beans, along with cigar box, plum and a very elegance note of honey! It also represents the vintage very well, with its high notes and acid balanced by the depth of flavors. Without a doubt one of the best seconds wines we currently have in stock.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-16-2016
A beautiful Zinfandel, with all the exuberant notes one expect from this variety, but at the same time with an incredible sense of balance on the palate. Plums, blackberry and black cherries go side by side with dark chocolate and violets. The fresh acidity plays an essential role here. This is an elegant, fresh and incredibly food-friendly wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-14-2016
A beautiful Zinfandel, with all the exuberant notes one expect from this variety, but at the same time with an incredible sense of balance on the palate. Plums, blackberry and black cherries go side by side with dark chocolate and violets. The fresh acidity plays an essential role here. This is an elegant, fresh and incredibly food friendly wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 11-07-2016
A very small, boutique producer, with less than 2.5 acres of vineyards, and very hard to find in the USA. The vineyards are located in the Haut-Medoc, close to Margaux appellation. A captivating nose greets you with its sweet cocoa, violets, cassis, a delightful note of capsicum and...roses? On the palate the sweet coffee, and chocolate comes to the the forefront along with cassis, and a touch of spices and earth. It is a generous, pleasing wine, with perfectly ripened tannins and balanced acidity. It is very pleasant to drink right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Saint Cosme Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-07-2016
Perhaps one of the most surprising of the Côtes du Rhône, not only because it is made by none other than the legendary Château de St. Cosme, but also because it is made with 100% Syrah of the highest quality from vineyards in Vinsobres. The wine delivers charming aromatics of fresh blueberries, violets and dare I say, even grapes! On the palate though, the acidity frames all this fruit firmly but nicely. This is a pretty wine to be enjoyed with a wide variety of lighter dishes or even by itself.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 10-31-2016
Very gracious wine, with the bright and delicate tropical fruit notes framed by the intense minerality. Complex and yet quite easy to drink.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2000 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 10-31-2016
One of the stars of our annual Grand Bordeaux Tasting in Hollywood. Not an easy feat considering it was in the company of the likes of 2012 Mouton Rothschild, and Chateau Margaux! Captivating note of graphite, pencil lead and lacquer/cigar box, along with cocoa, cherries, cassis, and forest floor, and leather. A stunning wine.

2000 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 10-31-2016
Beautiful and elegant, with the classic Margaux notes of violets and coffee, along with bright notes of red fruit as well. It is developing beautifully and showing notes of forest floor, with very soft tannins, lending to a more rounded structure. I would say this wine would be a perfect bottle for a very fancy dinner.

1996 Vieux Château Certan, Pomerol
Review Date: 10-31-2016
VCC as some people call Vieux Château Certan is a surprising wine for those not accustomed to its charms. Firstly it has an unusual proportion of Cabernet Sauvignon for a Pomerol, but somehow, the Cab here lends a very soft structured elegance, and not heavy tannins at all. How do they do it? Hopefully I will have the opportunity to ask them myself one day. One would find coffee beans, plums, cassis, exotic herbs and spices, and a delicate note of honey which for me is a sure sign of some development in the best red wines. This is not an over the top, chocolaty Pomerol, but a wine filled with elegance.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 ST 90

2014 d'Yquem "Y" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 10-31-2016
We open a bottle of this incredible wine for our annual Grand Bordeaux Tasting, and it was quite an experience. The dry wine of Yquem is really that... A Yquem dry! And by that I mean, the incredible quality, complexity, richness and elegance one expects in Yquem Sauternes, one also finds those qualities here as well. The aromatics of fresh picked summer peaches, citrous, orange flowers, honey, and even crème Chantilly with cloves, almost deceit one's perception that this would be a sweet wine. It is not. The soft, creamy textured palate, with all of those flavors caressing the taste buds, it is marked by a dazzling freshness and a striking dry finish. As I said, this is an experience.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2012 Domaine du Grand Ormeau, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 10-26-2016
This wine offers an exquisite nose of smoke, coffee, and wild herb notes. It really opens up in the mouth with the espresso beans, and plums coming to the forefront, followed by some exotic spicy herbs. It is quite nice and very upscale.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

2012 de Pitray, Castillon
Review Date: 10-26-2016
Very floral nose with violets, blackberries and plums. On the palate it offers an interesting combination of the fruit and a touch of earthiness that is so typical of Bordeaux - I would recommend decanting it for fleshing it out and experiencing its full potential.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Laubarit Rouge, Bordeaux
Review Date: 10-26-2016
A very nice, easy Bordeaux to dress up a dinner, to take to a casual dinner with friends, or to just enjoy on its own. Its fruity nose is very enticing, with raspberry, plums and even a touch of vanilla. The palate is very friendly, with soft tannins. A crowd pleaser.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trail Marker Wine Co. "Manchester Ridge Vineyard" Mendocino Ridge Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-25-2016
Beautiful Chardonnay with qualities that I would expect more in an European wine. It is quite crisp and with a juicy acidity that would be a perfect pairing with seafood, and light Greek food. I had it with Dolmas and Taramasalata and it was heavenly!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

Page: 1 2 3 4 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Domaine A " Lady A" Sauvignon Blanc Tasmania ($49.99)

2012 Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac ($449.99)

2013 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge ($14.99)

2015 Domaine Condamine l'Eveque "La Dent" Picpoul de Pinet ($11.99)

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Légende Bonnetta" Condrieu ($59.99)

2012 Pierre Gelin Fixin 1er Cru "Clos Napoléon" ($59.99)

2013 Pascal Laffourcade Savennières ($18.99)

2013 Damien Laureau "Les Petites Roche" Savennières ($22.99)

2013 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage) ($24.99)

2015 Hippolyte Reverdy Sancerre ($25.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($16.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($58.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($249.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

2001 Guiraud, Sauternes ($54.99)

2012 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac ($99.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Lustau East India Solera ($23.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($29.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($21.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L) ($139.00)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé ($17.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($39.99)