Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 09-21-2016
There is a nice compromise here between the old school/Old World style, and abundance of fruit, which results in a nice and gulpable wine with complexity! The notes of black pepper adds intrigue to this very good wine. An excellent value.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
A textbook, classic French Syrah, this northern Rhone wine delivers intensity of fruit with loads of minerality as well. Beautiful violet color with lifted aromatic notes of black currants, blackberry and earth. There is a lightness to this wine that I find very attractive.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

1989 Dauzac, Margaux
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Incredibly alive and well, and very impressive as well. Beautiful sweet floral notes on the nose, followed on the palate by appealing notes of leather and truffles and exotics spices. Still have plenty of fruit and life ahead of it.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1998 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-19-2016
A fantastic wine experience. From the vintage when the "Merlots were blessed by the gods" (can't recall who said that... But it is true!). Beautiful notes of coffee, leather, some capsicum and even honey on this developed wine. The tannins are soft and very much resolved. Incredibly alluring and very elegant.

2012 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Not a second wine, but a wine from a specific vineyard called Saint-Anne, les Tourelles is always mostly Merlot, and also always more approachable of course then the Pichon Baron, so in that sense it could be called a second wine - The 2012 is even more approachable than the 2010 now. Also very elegant. Tobacco, spices, and cassis. It has a beguiling floral note that makes it very elegant. A beautiful wine. I actually wrote - delicious - on my notes.

2010 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Not a second wine, but a wine from a specific vineyard called Saint-Anne, les Tourelles is always mostly Merlot, and also always more approachable of course then the Pichon Baron, so in that sense it could be called a second wine. Beautiful flowery perfumed aromatics, along with plums, cassis, blackberries, and spices.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 92

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2016
The complexity of this vintage Champagne it is not reflected in its incredible price, which is only possible because of our direct import program. That is an incredible opportunity to show off with a bottle of a boutique (and very hard to get) Champagne in a dinner party.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
Review Date: 09-19-2016
I confess I do have a soft spot for Pinot Gris, usually from Alsace, so it was a welcoming surprise when I tried this one from Oregon. In comparison with the Alsatian ones, it definite has more lushness and ripeness, but not heaviness at all. I had it twice with an Indian chicken curry and later with a Thai chicken satay. It was a divine pairing both times.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 09-19-2016
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Very much a Provençal rosé in its lightness, and approachability. It also has what most people consider the "Provence light salmon color". It is fruity but completely dry!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 Chauvin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This wine is a perfect example of the lush and powerful 2009 vintage. Lots of chocolate, mocha, purple fruit, cassis, but also some welcoming earthiness and forest floor notes. The tannins are very much present, but they are ripe and therefore also adds - and frame - to the lushness of this wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 91

1995 Chauvin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Showing some development with pleasant notes of leather, and roast meat on the nose and palate, as well as coffee, and dark fruit. This is a lush but still very elegant St Emilion, with lots of potential for either the cellars or immediate enjoyment.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This Cantemerle is very much true to its vintage. Much more lighter on its feet as an overall impression. Coffee, roasted herbs, and even black raspberry. It is pretty, very well made, and a delight to drink now.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 89 - 90

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Without a doubt one of our best values for an aged Bordeaux. Perfect to drink now although it will still hold for many a year. It shows an alluring nose of mint/eucalyptus, floral notes and coffee. The red tart fruit on the palate only adds to the enticing experience. Again, cannot stress enough how good of a value this wine is.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Very intriguing nose of an intermingling of fruit and woodsy character. The sweet spices of vanilla along the notes of cassis and cocoa. Decant or cellar for a few more years. A very good value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Tour de Mons, Margaux
Review Date: 09-19-2016
La Tour de Mons represents a great value in this usually expensive appellation. A stepping stone - If I ever could say that of a Margaux - into its wines. It possess the hallmark floral notes and cassis, plums and cedar. It is still tight though, needs another few years; so a great wine for those who want to put some Margaux in the cellars.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2010 Andron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
That was a very nice surprise in our tasting, as I have never tasted this wine before and didn't know what to expect. It is located just north on St-Estephe, on a terroir that favors Merlot, of which it contains 70% in its vineyards. It has very enticing aromatics of exotic incenses and chocolate, and a delicious impression of sweetness on the palate, along with a note of earthiness. It delivers the quality and approachability.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This wine showcases not only its appellation but the vintage as well. It is approachable, but a passage through the decanter will round it up. Cassis, brown sugar, and loads of minerality framed by firm but not at all harsh tannins. A wine to dress up any dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 08-31-2016
An absolutely pleasing wine, vibrant and floral, fruity and elegant. Classic Grenache notes of plums and raspberries, along with herbs and plenty of minerality. It's medium body, and its grippy tannins add a welcoming spicy element to it. A perfect companion to roast chicken and grilled vegetables. A deal!

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
Review Date: 08-29-2016
One of my favorites producers from the Rhône, always making balanced wines. The Gigondas it's for me the top choice due to its complexity. Dark berries, cocoa, some roasted notes and exotic spices. Very elegant too. Quite a pairing with something like a Sunday Roast or a Coq-au-Vin.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The Domaine de la Jaufrette always makes those very classic wines that reminds me of how a good Côtes du Rhône used to taste some 15 years ago, i.e. not over the top sweet and ripe. It is balanced with fruit and earthy notes. Nice spices add to the mix. Try pairing this beautiful wine with some spicy meat tacos, or a chile con carne.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-29-2016
For some reason this wine reminded more of a Margaux than a Pessac. Perhaps because of its beautiful floral aromatics of violets. The palate follows with coffee, blackberry, graphite and spices. It needed decanting to open up all its potential on our tasting, but it did, and it showed beautifully.

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2012 Smith Haut Lafitte Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A perfect example of the 2012 vintage. Approachable yet complex. Sweet ripe fruit, and yet with stunning minerality. Blueberries, graphite, leather and cocoa, soft tannins and just about one of the most elegant wines of 2012.

1981 d'Issan, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-29-2016
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover. I had it from a regular 750ml bottle, a magnum should offer a even better experience.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 08-29-2016
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A second wine like no other and somehow involved in mystery. Much closer in style to the Grand vin than the other wine, Les Tourelles de Longueville, and coming from the same vineyards, made with the exactly same care as the Baron itself. It has the elegance of the finest Cabernet from Pauillac, which makes the majority of the assemblage, along with an also high quality Merlot. It is hard to say why this is a second wine and not just added to the grand vin... Excellent!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WE 91

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2012 Le Plus de La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Now here's a wine that is not holding back and yet maintains its classy pedigree. Ink purple color it's the first thing that greets you, followed by a nose that has intense blueberries, black berries and very dark cherries, and chocolate. On the palate in addition to all of that also shows an almost roasted meat and herb component. It is rich and definitely full body, but not heavy, and it is drinking beautifully now.

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2014 St. Robert Poncet Deville Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 08-08-2016
This is a delicious white Bordeaux, named after its former owner. No oak was used at all, and the wine was aged on its lees for 9 to 10 months, which resulted in a fresh crispy white, full of mouthwatering freshness, with citrus, white fruit and a lively pleasant palate. A perfect wine with all sorts of seafood and salads... About 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Sémillon
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
A very generous wine with beautiful aromatics of vanilla, wet earth, cocoa, exotic spices and incenses. All of that follows on the palate along cassis and cherries. Very polished tannins and a very balanced acidity. A real pleasure to drink right now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 07-25-2016
With a very unusual blend of grapes, this wine delivers nonetheless in its simplicity and easiness of character. Not to mention it really matches with almost everything really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2012 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
Review Date: 07-25-2016
A sweet nose of cherries, chocolate and vanilla followed by a palate rich in cocoa, cherries, and incense. Still has its minerality and earthiness in check. A beautiful wine, with lots of complexity
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2012 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-25-2016
This is the vintage for those that want to drink their wines now. The 2012 Peyrabon delivers a lot of lifted notes of violets, cassis and wet rock. The lightness on the palate along with its medium tannins make it a perfect candidate to have with lighter dishes this summer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 92

2013 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-25-2016
A very classic Bordeaux Blanc in the sense of having a a more complex roundness along with the juicy acidity. Perhaps it is the Semillon (25%) on the blend that imparts these notes. Citrous and peaches. A very pleasing white wine for the table as well as for the porch!

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 07-18-2016
A dark crimson color greets you, followed by an attractive floral notes of violets along with cassis and plums, mingled with earthy and leather spices. The dance between the lushness of the ripe fruit and the juicy acidity makes it quite a pleasure to drink this wine now. Very versatile in terms of pairing with food. From steaks to chilies, sausages to roast chicken. It will also complement nicely a more bold cuisine, such as Basque, Portuguese, Spanish and of course southern French.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine de la Noblaie Chinon Rosé
Review Date: 07-17-2016
Is it Provence? Mais Non… It is from the “other” Rosé region in France… The Loire Valley! With a touch more spices due to the Cabernet Franc grapes, and beautiful floral notes, this rosé will sure please any rosé lovers out there. Sure Provence is very well known for its rosés, but the beautiful Loire Valley is, let’s just say… Second to none!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-16-2016
Roasted coffee beans greet you unabashed on the nose, followed by dark plums, cherries andcocoa. The medium body it is a welcoming surprise to those expecting a heavy and cumbersome palate. It is not at all. I had to say I completely understood what Mr. Parker said about its Burgundian-complexity. A winner!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2012 Les Brulières de Beychevelle, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 07-16-2016
This is very elegant and really a good deal for this price. Wet stone and dark chocolate along with some very welcoming notes of capsicum, cassis. It is very friendly, with a perfect balance of acidity and tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2004 Moulin-Haut-Laroque, Fronsac
Review Date: 07-16-2016
Very attractive notes of dark cherries along with cherry noyaux, milk chocolate and plums. Although soft and easy on the palate it has its tannins still very much present holding the soft fruit. Very pleasant and very food friendly.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2005 Coutet, Sauternes
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Very concentrated and complex, it is an invitation to slowly sip and enjoy one of the marvels of the wine world. Truly. Its balance between richness and acidity is mind-blowing.

2005 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Beautiful wine with intense aromatics, color, depth and concentration. Dark berries, cassis, coffee, leather, smoked meat, along with exotic spices, and I could go on… This wine needs time and will last for a long time in the cellar.

2005 Fontenil, Fronsac (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Fontenil has Michel Rolland as its owner and winemaker, and delivers a very high quality Fronsac. Offering a charming nose of cocoa-covered cherries along with earthy notes, it’s a medium to full-bodied wine, with dark chocolate and cherries on its tannic palate. It needs a bit of decanting to showcase all of its appeal. It is showing a nice development now, which suggests it is a good candidate for the near term.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 WS 91

2005 Fontenil, Fronsac
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Fontenil has Michel Rolland as its owner and winemaker, and delivers a very high quality Fronsac. Offering a charming nose of cocoa-covered cherries along with earthy notes, it’s a medium to full-bodied wine, with dark chocolate and cherries on its tannic palate. It needs a bit of decanting to showcase all of its appeal. It is showing a nice development now, which suggests it is a good candidate for the near term.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 WS 91

2015 Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-26-2016
Very classic Provençal Rosé. with beautiful aromatics, Framboise, citrus and a bit of peach even, but completely dry of course. Just delightful!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 04-26-2016
Quite simply the perfect wine for a springtime afternoon cocktail! Also just about perfect with light aperitifs.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 W&S 90

2014 Lamouroux Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 03-02-2016
I tend to lean towards the Bordeaux whites that contain a good dollop of Sémillon, and this one has a whopping 60%. It gives a roundness to the crispiness of the Sauvignon Blanc, and also adds that delicious notes of peaches along with citrus, and a lanolin texture that I find just irresistible. A very pleasant wine that will be a perfect accompaniment to any seafood.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2009 Haut-Carles, Fronsac
Review Date: 03-02-2016
An impressive wine from Fronsac. Very dark fruit aromatics on the nose, cassis comes to mind. On the palate the plums, cassis and chocolate just shine through. It does have its tannins, which is just as well, to hold it all in balance. Very nice wine.

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2014 Domaine de Saint Pierre Chardonnay "Chateau Renard" Arbois Blanc ($26.99)

2014 Chante Cigale "l'Extrait" Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($44.99)

2014 Château de la Negly "La Falaise" Languedoc la Clape ($19.99)

2014 Yves Leccia Île de Beauté Rouge (Corsica) ($23.99)

2014 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Blanc ($19.99)

2015 Cibonne "Tentations" Côtes de Provence Rosé ($17.99)

2014 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé ($24.99)

2015 Clos Beylesse Cotes de Provence Rosé ($25.99)

2015 Domaines Ott "By.Ott" Côtes de Provence Rosé ($21.99)

2012 Château Trians "T de Trians" Coteaux Varois en Provence Rouge ($11.99)

2013 Château Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rouge ($13.99)

2015 Château Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Blanc ($13.99)

2009 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling Alsace ($49.99)

2013 Auguste Clape Cornas ($119.99)

2012 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac ($109.99)

2014 Clos Floridene, Graves Blanc ($21.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2007 Paul Autard Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($49.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

2006 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($74.99)

1999 Monbousquet, St-Emilion ($89.99)

Lustau East India Solera ($23.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($21.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé ($17.99)

2006 Bodegas Numanthia-Termes "Termes" Toro ($49.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)