Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Page: 1 2 3 next
2015 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Lirac Blanc
Review Date: 10-26-2016
A classic example of a white Chateauneuf, wait... It's not Chateauneuf, but it sure tastes like it! A rich aromatics of white flowers, peaches, nectarines, honey, bee's wax, and lanolin. On the palate it delivers a beautiful array of stone fruit and spices. It is rich and fulfilling and yet crisp. An elegant wine to pair with any creamy dishes, curries, and spicy dishes in general.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-25-2016
Very easygoing Chardonnay, lots of pineapple, citrus and even a touch a clove spices. An easy choice for a big event.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trail Marker Wine Co. "Manchester Ridge Vineyard" Mendocino Ridge Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-25-2016
Beautiful Chardonnay with qualities that I would expect more in an European wine. It is quite crisp and with a juicy acidity that would be a perfect pairing with seafood, and light Greek food. I had it with Dolmas and Taramasalata and it was heavenly!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2013 Knez "Demuth Vineyard" Anderson Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-25-2016
That is an elegant Chardonnay with its feet firmly planted in Chablis, in style. Enticing flinty nose, with citrus notes. Then the palate is crisp, dry and subtle. A great wine to dress up any dinner!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Donkey & Goat "Linda Vista Vineyard" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-25-2016
An inviting nose of marron glacé and orange. On the palate this is absolutely crisp and quite refreshing with its elegant, dry finish. Well done!
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2013 Donkey & Goat "Ramato" Pinot Gris Anderson Valley
Review Date: 10-25-2016
A breathtaking nose first greets you with notes of exotic flowers, citrus, and even strawberry. It is deliciously tangy on the palate, with the citrus and the strawberry also reflected, along with some exotic spices and a slightly dusty finish. A very versatile wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Two Shepherds "Fanucchi Vineyard" Russian River Valley Trousseau Gris
Review Date: 10-25-2016
This wine took my breath away not only for being one of the most European-style wines I have ever tasted from California, but also for its delicate complexity. It looks, smells and tastes like a Jura wine, with what I call wild berries (petit fruit du bois), flint, exotic spices, and wild herbs. Quite crispy and tangy and with a depth of flavor that defies its lightness.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2013 Argiolas "Costera" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 10-10-2016
A very nice Cannonau with notes of plums, chocolate, exotic spices and earth. It is a rich wine but never over the top, as it maintains its acidity throughout.

2013 Sergio Barale "Bussia" Langhe Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-10-2016
What a great surprise is this Chardonnay from Langhe. Very seductive notes of cream, honey and almonds. It is soft, rich, but never heavy. Absolutely delicious to drink either by itself or with food.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2011 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-10-2016
Classic notes of cherries, raisins, flowers, vanilla and oak spices. It has an almost creamy/soft sensation on the palate. It swept me off my feet!

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 10-05-2016
I am always intrigued by a Bordeaux blend from anywhere, but this one from NZ definitely caught my attention. Perhaps a touch riper than most Bordeaux, yet still possesses complexity and poise. Lacquer, leafy tobacco, cassis, a touch of capsicum, with dusty tannins. One of the best Bordeaux blends I have tasted this year.

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 10-04-2016
A very complex wine with exotic aromatics of white flowers/Jasmine, tangerine, guava marmalade and flint. The palate also follow the nose with all these flavors, but finish dry and light. Exquisite and absolutely delicious and with an incredible price!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tongue in Groove Chardonnay Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 10-04-2016
I was quite impressed by the wines of New Zealand in our last staff training. this Chardonnay has pretty lifted notes of pineapple candy, lemon drops, and a touch of cream, but being completely dry on the palate. This mix of flavors creates a balanced wine that is hard to resist a reach for a second glass...
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Easy drinker and absolutely delicious. Sweet coffee, maple syrup/brown sugar, black cherries, cola. Very soft tannins round it up. A very good choice.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Serene "Yamhill Cuvée" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Delicate aromatics of cherries, cola and earth, with a very light touch of herbaciousness giving this wine a very elegant finish. It will dress up any dinner with a lighter fare of meats and a fantastic gift.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Joel Gott Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Very appealing wine, full of tropical notes. Guava, and even a note of a more exotic soursop fruit! The acidity frames all the fruit, delivering a wine that is interesting, very pleasing and refreshing.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Boekenhoutskloof Old Vine Semillon Franschhoek
Review Date: 10-04-2016
A classic Semillon with its creamy texture and lanolin, dry flowers, pineapple, peaches honey, but dry and with a touch of earthy minerality. Very appealing and although an easy drinker it is very complex and will pair very well with spicy foods, or fish with creamy sauces.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 VN 90

2014 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Lifted aromatics, cherries, blueberries, a touch of cola, but also some earth and wet stone minerality. Very nice wine to pair with any sort of spicy food.

2014 Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-04-2016
The light color reminds me of a Burgundy. Very nice aromatics of cherries, cola and woodsy spices.

2010 Misha's Vineyard "High Note" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-03-2016
The 2010 is their current release, so it is showing delicious notes of some development. Coffee, honey, cherry, and a touch of quinine. Very complex and very good.

2015 Cognizant Pinot Noir Marlborough (Te Whare Ra)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
It is light in color and very aromatic, almost perfumed; a very pretty wine. Cola, cherry, plums on the palate. Medium body. I would serve it with a very light chill with spicy foods or even richer fish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 10-03-2016
That's a very charming Chardonnay, not shy, but definitely not over-the-top, either. It has a beautiful floral nose with notes of roses, popcorn and cloves. The palate is very refined and spicy. Absolutely recommended
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RC 92 - 93

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough (Medium)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
The "M" stands for "medium sweet" but the wine comes across much drier than it is due to its acidity. Peaches, citrous, white flower. Very enticing, and a perfection with spicy food.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
RC 95 - 96

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough (Dry)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
Nice aromatics of honeyed lime, and white flowers. Generous palate but completely dry. Lots of minerality and delicious notes of citrus and honey.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2012 Clinet, Pomerol
Review Date: 10-01-2016
This wine has a perfect balance between opulence and finesse that is hard to describe. The tannins are quite present even though enveloped by lush flavors of chocolate, plums and vanilla, which suggests that a longer term in the cellar may benefit the wine.

2014 Domaine des Carabiniers "Lunar Apogé" Lirac
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Very floral on the nose, which is very charming, also blood orange marmalade, coffee along with a touch of earth and truffles. Quite delicious and not heavy at all. Good find Mr. Mabry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Despite its dark color, it reminds me of a Brunello. IT has an intriguing nose of spicy BBQ, meat along with cocoa, cherry and earth. I can thing of nothing else with a Pasta Bolognese right now!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Golden in color and a lifted apricot, stone fruit nose. Reminiscent of a light Viognier. Almost exotic. Another candidate for a spicy curry, or say, Cuban cuisine?
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A beautiful wine that is reminiscent of a spring field of flowers. The nose and the palate is full of red apple, pears, some stone fruit, and white flower. This wine would be a great pairing with a spicy Indian curry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Stunning wine from this impeccable producer I must say. It has a very lifted strawberry/berry/petit-fruit-du-bois aromatics, along with a touch of earth bestowing some elegance. It is delicate and yet very complex as well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A very nice and crisp Chardonnay, showing enticing notes of yellow fruit, sweet cream, crisp apples and perfectly dry and refreshing. Quite delicious.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Veronique Anne Perret Vin de Savoie Apremont
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Such a refreshing wine, with qualities that I fondly call "Alpiny" - It is crisp and dry, with notes of sweet peaches, and citrus. Absolutely perfection with light seafood indeed!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2000 Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A powerful and very elegant wine. Developed aromatics of truffles, brown sugar, along with sweet coffee, crème de cassis, plums and wet earth. On the palate it is almost creamy and incredibly soft, but still framed by the caressing tannins. Think of it as one of those rare wines you could drink now or leave in your cellars for another 20 years easily. It is excellent!

2000 Les Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 09-26-2016
This is one of our greatest value for its tremendous quality. It is ready to drink, although it still has many years left ahead, in other words, plenty of life still. It exhibits lots of spices, smoked meat, herbs, and plums. Very soft and elegant entry and very much resolved tannins.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 W&S 91

1996 La Croix de Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 09-26-2016
This second wine of Ducru it is perfectly aged and ready to drink now. Developed aromatics of honey along with truffles, earth and a fainted note of capsicum. Still has fruit - plums - but the tertiary notes preponderate. Go for it tonight!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2000 l'Arrosee, St. Emilion
Review Date: 09-26-2016
From the spectacular 2000 vintage, the l'Arrosée is now at a phase which I lightheartedly call "aged to perfection" - A still dark but tawny color, and very attractive aromatics of smoked meats, charcuterie, and even a touch of paprika spices, along with notes of coffee and the tell-tale note of development in red wines - of honey. If you want a wine that is perfectly mature to enjoy tonight with a special dinner, this is it.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2012 Villemaurine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Its dark purple color sure disguises the fact that this is a wine not only with power but plenty of finesse as well. It is not heavy at all. Aromatics of freshly roasted coffee beans, cherries, plums, wet earth and vanilla. I would say this is a good candidate for those wanting to step up their selection of Saint-Émilions, and leave it in the cellars for 10 years or so.

2012 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Complex and very elegant, showing very appealing notes of truffles, as well with dark cherries, cassis. In my notes I actually wrote "perfumed". The tannins are velvety soft, which make a pleasure tho enjoy it now.

2012 Gressier-Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Another perfect example of 2012 vintage. Bright lifted fruit, plums, cassis and blackberries. The palate follows the nose, along with notes of vanilla, and tobacco. It is medium body, and the acidity matches really well the lifted fruit. It is drinking well now, and will still for at least another 10 years or so.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Mouton Rothschild "Aile d'Argent" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 09-26-2016
The white wine from Mouton possess a depth of complexity, and quality that surely expose its awesome provenance. The color is a bright tinge of light gold, with aromatics that made me think of a much complicated Sancerre. Flint (pierre à fusill, as we say in French), delicate notes of honey, white flowers along with a touch of musk. Its citrusy, peach, and lanolin texture on the palate marry perfectly with the wood spices from the oak aging. I have to mention its tremendously long finish as well. Very impressive, reminiscent of the grandest crus of Bourgogne.

2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 09-21-2016
There is a nice compromise here between the old school/Old World style, and abundance of fruit, which results in a nice and gulpable wine with complexity! The notes of black pepper adds intrigue to this very good wine. An excellent value.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
A textbook, classic French Syrah, this northern Rhone wine delivers intensity of fruit with loads of minerality as well. Beautiful violet color with lifted aromatic notes of black currants, blackberry and earth. There is a lightness to this wine that I find very attractive.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

1998 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-19-2016
A fantastic wine experience. From the vintage when the "Merlots were blessed by the gods" (can't recall who said that... But it is true!). Beautiful notes of coffee, leather, some capsicum and even honey on this developed wine. The tannins are soft and very much resolved. Incredibly alluring and very elegant.

2012 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Not a second wine, but a wine from a specific vineyard called Saint-Anne, les Tourelles is always mostly Merlot, and also always more approachable of course then the Pichon Baron, so in that sense it could be called a second wine - The 2012 is even more approachable than the 2010 now. Also very elegant. Tobacco, spices, and cassis. It has a beguiling floral note that makes it very elegant. A beautiful wine. I actually wrote - delicious - on my notes.

2010 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Not a second wine, but a wine from a specific vineyard called Saint-Anne, les Tourelles is always mostly Merlot, and also always more approachable of course then the Pichon Baron, so in that sense it could be called a second wine. Beautiful flowery perfumed aromatics, along with plums, cassis, blackberries, and spices.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 92

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
Review Date: 09-19-2016
I confess I do have a soft spot for Pinot Gris, usually from Alsace, so it was a welcoming surprise when I tried this one from Oregon. In comparison with the Alsatian ones, it definite has more lushness and ripeness, but not heaviness at all. I had it twice with an Indian chicken curry and later with a Thai chicken satay. It was a divine pairing both times.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 09-19-2016
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Very much a Provençal rosé in its lightness, and approachability. It also has what most people consider the "Provence light salmon color". It is fruity but completely dry!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 Chauvin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This wine is a perfect example of the lush and powerful 2009 vintage. Lots of chocolate, mocha, purple fruit, cassis, but also some welcoming earthiness and forest floor notes. The tannins are very much present, but they are ripe and therefore also adds - and frame - to the lushness of this wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 91

1995 Chauvin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Showing some development with pleasant notes of leather, and roast meat on the nose and palate, as well as coffee, and dark fruit. This is a lush but still very elegant St Emilion, with lots of potential for either the cellars or immediate enjoyment.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge ($14.99)

2015 Domaine Condamine l'Eveque "La Dent" Picpoul de Pinet ($11.99)

2014 E. Guigal Condrieu ($39.99)

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Légende Bonnetta" Condrieu ($59.99)

2012 Pierre Gelin Fixin 1er Cru "Clos Napoléon" ($59.99)

2013 Pascal Laffourcade Savennières ($18.99)

2013 Damien Laureau "Les Petites Roche" Savennières ($22.99)

2013 Henri Bourgeois "Jadis" Sancerre ($48.99)

2013 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage) ($24.99)

2015 Hippolyte Reverdy Sancerre ($25.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($16.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila 750ml ($58.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape) ($249.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila 750ml ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila 750ml ($44.99)

2001 Guiraud, Sauternes ($54.99)

2001 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($94.99)

2014 Domaine de Saint Pierre Chardonnay "Chateau Renard" Arbois Blanc ($26.99)

2012 Domaine Lionnet "Terre Brulée" Cornas ($46.99)

2014 Chante Cigale "l'Extrait" Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($44.99)

2014 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Blanc ($19.99)

2015 Clos Beylesse Cotes de Provence Rosé ($25.99)

2012 Château Trians "T de Trians" Coteaux Varois en Provence Rouge ($16.99)

2013 Château Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rouge ($13.99)

2015 Château Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Blanc ($13.99)

2009 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling Alsace ($49.99)

2012 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac ($109.99)

2014 Clos Floridene, Graves Blanc ($21.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

2006 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($74.99)

1999 Monbousquet, St-Emilion ($89.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($21.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé ($17.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)