Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Domaine des Carabiniers "Lunar Apogé" Lirac
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Very floral on the nose, which is very charming, also blood orange marmalade, coffee along with a touch of earth and truffles. Quite delicious and not heavy at all. Good find Mr. Mabry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Despite its dark color, it reminds me of a Brunello. IT has an intriguing nose of spicy BBQ, meat along with cocoa, cherry and earth. I can thing of nothing else with a Pasta Bolognese right now!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Golden in color and a lifted apricot, stone fruit nose. Reminiscent of a light Viognier. Almost exotic. Another candidate for a spicy curry, or say, Cuban cuisine?
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A beautiful wine that is reminiscent of a spring field of flowers. The nose and the palate is full of red apple, pears, some stone fruit, and white flower. This wine would be a great pairing with a spicy Indian curry!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Stunning wine from this impeccable producer I must say. It has a very lifted strawberry/berry/petit-fruit-du-bois aromatics, along with a touch of earth bestowing some elegance. It is delicate and yet very complex as well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A very nice and crisp Chardonnay, showing enticing notes of yellow fruit, sweet cream, crisp apples and perfectly dry and refreshing. Quite delicious.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Veronique Anne Perret Vin de Savoie Apremont
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Such a refreshing wine, with qualities that I fondly call "Alpiny" - It is crisp and dry, with notes of sweet peaches, and citrus. Absolutely perfection with light seafood indeed!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2000 Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A powerful and very elegant wine. Developed aromatics of truffles, brown sugar, along with sweet coffee, crème de cassis, plums and wet earth. On the palate it is almost creamy and incredibly soft, but still framed by the caressing tannins. Think of it as one of those rare wines you could drink now or leave in your cellars for another 20 years easily. It is excellent!

2000 Les Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 09-26-2016
This is one of our greatest value for its tremendous quality. It is ready to drink, although it still has many years left ahead, in other words, plenty of life still. It exhibits lots of spices, smoked meat, herbs, and plums. Very soft and elegant entry and very much resolved tannins.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 W&S 91

1996 La Croix de Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 09-26-2016
This second wine of Ducru it is perfectly aged and ready to drink now. Developed aromatics of honey along with truffles, earth and a fainted note of capsicum. Still has fruit - plums - but the tertiary notes preponderate. Go for it tonight!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2000 l'Arrosee, St. Emilion
Review Date: 09-26-2016
From the spectacular 2000 vintage, the l'Arrosée is now at a phase which I lightheartedly call "aged to perfection" - A still dark but tawny color, and very attractive aromatics of smoked meats, charcuterie, and even a touch of paprika spices, along with notes of coffee and the tell-tale note of development in red wines - of honey. If you want a wine that is perfectly mature to enjoy tonight with a special dinner, this is it.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2012 Villemaurine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Its dark purple color sure disguises the fact that this is a wine not only with power but plenty of finesse as well. It is not heavy at all. Aromatics of freshly roasted coffee beans, cherries, plums, wet earth and vanilla. I would say this is a good candidate for those wanting to step up their selection of Saint-Émilions, and leave it in the cellars for 10 years or so.

2012 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Complex and very elegant, showing very appealing notes of truffles, as well with dark cherries, cassis. In my notes I actually wrote "perfumed". The tannins are velvety soft, which make a pleasure tho enjoy it now.

2012 Gressier-Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Another perfect example of 2012 vintage. Bright lifted fruit, plums, cassis and blackberries. The palate follows the nose, along with notes of vanilla, and tobacco. It is medium body, and the acidity matches really well the lifted fruit. It is drinking well now, and will still for at least another 10 years or so.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Mouton Rothschild "Aile d'Argent" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 09-26-2016
The white wine from Mouton possess a depth of complexity, and quality that surely expose its awesome provenance. The color is a bright tinge of light gold, with aromatics that made me think of a much complicated Sancerre. Flint (pierre à fusill, as we say in French), delicate notes of honey, white flowers along with a touch of musk. Its citrusy, peach, and lanolin texture on the palate marry perfectly with the wood spices from the oak aging. I have to mention its tremendously long finish as well. Very impressive, reminiscent of the grandest crus of Bourgogne.

2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 09-21-2016
There is a nice compromise here between the old school/Old World style, and abundance of fruit, which results in a nice and gulpable wine with complexity! The notes of black pepper adds intrigue to this very good wine. An excellent value.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-21-2016
A textbook, classic French Syrah, this northern Rhone wine delivers intensity of fruit with loads of minerality as well. Beautiful violet color with lifted aromatic notes of black currants, blackberry and earth. There is a lightness to this wine that I find very attractive.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

1989 Dauzac, Margaux
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Incredibly alive and well, and very impressive as well. Beautiful sweet floral notes on the nose, followed on the palate by appealing notes of leather and truffles and exotics spices. Still have plenty of fruit and life ahead of it.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1998 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-19-2016
A fantastic wine experience. From the vintage when the "Merlots were blessed by the gods" (can't recall who said that... But it is true!). Beautiful notes of coffee, leather, some capsicum and even honey on this developed wine. The tannins are soft and very much resolved. Incredibly alluring and very elegant.

2012 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Not a second wine, but a wine from a specific vineyard called Saint-Anne, les Tourelles is always mostly Merlot, and also always more approachable of course then the Pichon Baron, so in that sense it could be called a second wine - The 2012 is even more approachable than the 2010 now. Also very elegant. Tobacco, spices, and cassis. It has a beguiling floral note that makes it very elegant. A beautiful wine. I actually wrote - delicious - on my notes.

2010 Les Tourelles de Longueville, Pauillac
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Not a second wine, but a wine from a specific vineyard called Saint-Anne, les Tourelles is always mostly Merlot, and also always more approachable of course then the Pichon Baron, so in that sense it could be called a second wine. Beautiful flowery perfumed aromatics, along with plums, cassis, blackberries, and spices.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 92

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2016
The complexity of this vintage Champagne it is not reflected in its incredible price, which is only possible because of our direct import program. That is an incredible opportunity to show off with a bottle of a boutique (and very hard to get) Champagne in a dinner party.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
Review Date: 09-19-2016
I confess I do have a soft spot for Pinot Gris, usually from Alsace, so it was a welcoming surprise when I tried this one from Oregon. In comparison with the Alsatian ones, it definite has more lushness and ripeness, but not heaviness at all. I had it twice with an Indian chicken curry and later with a Thai chicken satay. It was a divine pairing both times.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 09-19-2016
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Very much a Provençal rosé in its lightness, and approachability. It also has what most people consider the "Provence light salmon color". It is fruity but completely dry!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 Chauvin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This wine is a perfect example of the lush and powerful 2009 vintage. Lots of chocolate, mocha, purple fruit, cassis, but also some welcoming earthiness and forest floor notes. The tannins are very much present, but they are ripe and therefore also adds - and frame - to the lushness of this wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 91

1995 Chauvin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Showing some development with pleasant notes of leather, and roast meat on the nose and palate, as well as coffee, and dark fruit. This is a lush but still very elegant St Emilion, with lots of potential for either the cellars or immediate enjoyment.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This Cantemerle is very much true to its vintage. Much more lighter on its feet as an overall impression. Coffee, roasted herbs, and even black raspberry. It is pretty, very well made, and a delight to drink now.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 89 - 90

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Without a doubt one of our best values for an aged Bordeaux. Perfect to drink now although it will still hold for many a year. It shows an alluring nose of mint/eucalyptus, floral notes and coffee. The red tart fruit on the palate only adds to the enticing experience. Again, cannot stress enough how good of a value this wine is.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
Very intriguing nose of an intermingling of fruit and woodsy character. The sweet spices of vanilla along the notes of cassis and cocoa. Decant or cellar for a few more years. A very good value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Tour de Mons, Margaux
Review Date: 09-19-2016
La Tour de Mons represents a great value in this usually expensive appellation. A stepping stone - If I ever could say that of a Margaux - into its wines. It possess the hallmark floral notes and cassis, plums and cedar. It is still tight though, needs another few years; so a great wine for those who want to put some Margaux in the cellars.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2010 Andron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-19-2016
That was a very nice surprise in our tasting, as I have never tasted this wine before and didn't know what to expect. It is located just north on St-Estephe, on a terroir that favors Merlot, of which it contains 70% in its vineyards. It has very enticing aromatics of exotic incenses and chocolate, and a delicious impression of sweetness on the palate, along with a note of earthiness. It delivers the quality and approachability.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 09-19-2016
This wine showcases not only its appellation but the vintage as well. It is approachable, but a passage through the decanter will round it up. Cassis, brown sugar, and loads of minerality framed by firm but not at all harsh tannins. A wine to dress up any dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 08-31-2016
An absolutely pleasing wine, vibrant and floral, fruity and elegant. Classic Grenache notes of plums and raspberries, along with herbs and plenty of minerality. It's medium body, and its grippy tannins add a welcoming spicy element to it. A perfect companion to roast chicken and grilled vegetables. A deal!

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
Review Date: 08-29-2016
One of my favorites producers from the Rhône, always making balanced wines. The Gigondas it's for me the top choice due to its complexity. Dark berries, cocoa, some roasted notes and exotic spices. Very elegant too. Quite a pairing with something like a Sunday Roast or a Coq-au-Vin.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The Domaine de la Jaufrette always makes those very classic wines that reminds me of how a good Côtes du Rhône used to taste some 15 years ago, i.e. not over the top sweet and ripe. It is balanced with fruit and earthy notes. Nice spices add to the mix. Try pairing this beautiful wine with some spicy meat tacos, or a chile con carne.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Malartic-Lagravière, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-29-2016
For some reason this wine reminded more of a Margaux than a Pessac. Perhaps because of its beautiful floral aromatics of violets. The palate follows with coffee, blackberry, graphite and spices. It needed decanting to open up all its potential on our tasting, but it did, and it showed beautifully.

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A very friendly wine, with enticing aromatics of cassis, cherries, cocoa, graphite. It is medium body with present but agreeable tannins. Ready to go!

2012 Smith Haut Lafitte Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A perfect example of the 2012 vintage. Approachable yet complex. Sweet ripe fruit, and yet with stunning minerality. Blueberries, graphite, leather and cocoa, soft tannins and just about one of the most elegant wines of 2012.

1981 d'Issan, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-29-2016
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover. I had it from a regular 750ml bottle, a magnum should offer a even better experience.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

1981 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 08-29-2016
I was very surprised about this wine. I shouldn't be. The pristine condition of the bottles and the often forgotten quality of the best wines of 1981, (which was mostly upstaged by the famous 1982 vintage) should have given me a clue on how not just alive but indeed offering an incredible experience of a perfectly aged Bordeaux. This is an opportunity like no other for the Bordeaux lover.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2012 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A second wine like no other and somehow involved in mystery. Much closer in style to the Grand vin than the other wine, Les Tourelles de Longueville, and coming from the same vineyards, made with the exactly same care as the Baron itself. It has the elegance of the finest Cabernet from Pauillac, which makes the majority of the assemblage, along with an also high quality Merlot. It is hard to say why this is a second wine and not just added to the grand vin... Excellent!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WE 91

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2012 Le Plus de La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Now here's a wine that is not holding back and yet maintains its classy pedigree. Ink purple color it's the first thing that greets you, followed by a nose that has intense blueberries, black berries and very dark cherries, and chocolate. On the palate in addition to all of that also shows an almost roasted meat and herb component. It is rich and definitely full body, but not heavy, and it is drinking beautifully now.

2012 La Fleur de Boüard, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 08-29-2016
A very balanced wine. It has a lush fruit profile full of dark berries, plums, and attractive floral aromatics, along with a gentle herbal note that I found extremely enticing. Its velvety tannins adds even more appeal to this lush but definitely not over the top Lalande-de-Pomerol.

2014 St. Robert Poncet Deville Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 08-08-2016
This is a delicious white Bordeaux, named after its former owner. No oak was used at all, and the wine was aged on its lees for 9 to 10 months, which resulted in a fresh crispy white, full of mouthwatering freshness, with citrus, white fruit and a lively pleasant palate. A perfect wine with all sorts of seafood and salads... About 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Sémillon
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
A very generous wine with beautiful aromatics of vanilla, wet earth, cocoa, exotic spices and incenses. All of that follows on the palate along cassis and cherries. Very polished tannins and a very balanced acidity. A real pleasure to drink right now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2012 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 07-25-2016
With a very unusual blend of grapes, this wine delivers nonetheless in its simplicity and easiness of character. Not to mention it really matches with almost everything really.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2012 Roc de Cambes, Côtes de Bourg
Review Date: 07-25-2016
A sweet nose of cherries, chocolate and vanilla followed by a palate rich in cocoa, cherries, and incense. Still has its minerality and earthiness in check. A beautiful wine, with lots of complexity
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge ($14.99)

2015 Domaine Condamine l'Eveque "La Dent" Picpoul de Pinet ($11.99)

2014 E. Guigal Condrieu ($39.99)

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Légende Bonnetta" Condrieu ($59.99)

2012 Pierre Gelin Fixin 1er Cru "Clos Napoléon" ($59.99)

2013 Pascal Laffourcade Savennières ($18.99)

2013 Damien Laureau "Les Petites Roche" Savennières ($22.99)

2013 Henri Bourgeois "Jadis" Sancerre ($48.99)

2013 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage) ($24.99)

2015 Hippolyte Reverdy Sancerre ($25.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($16.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila 750ml ($58.99)

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape) ($249.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila 750ml ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila 750ml ($44.99)

2001 Guiraud, Sauternes ($54.99)

2001 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($94.99)

2014 Domaine de Saint Pierre Chardonnay "Chateau Renard" Arbois Blanc ($26.99)

2014 Chante Cigale "l'Extrait" Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($44.99)

2014 Château de la Negly "La Falaise" Languedoc la Clape ($19.99)

2014 Yves Leccia Île de Beauté Rouge (Corsica) ($23.99)

2014 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Blanc ($19.99)

2015 Cibonne "Tentations" Côtes de Provence Rosé ($17.99)

2014 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé ($24.99)

2015 Clos Beylesse Cotes de Provence Rosé ($25.99)

2015 Domaines Ott "By.Ott" Côtes de Provence Rosé ($21.99)

2012 Château Trians "T de Trians" Coteaux Varois en Provence Rouge ($16.99)

2013 Château Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rouge ($13.99)

2015 Château Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Blanc ($13.99)

2009 Trimbach "Cuvée Frédéric Émile" Riesling Alsace ($49.99)

2013 Auguste Clape Cornas ($119.99)

2012 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac ($109.99)

2014 Clos Floridene, Graves Blanc ($21.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2007 Paul Autard Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($49.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

2006 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($74.99)

1999 Monbousquet, St-Emilion ($89.99)

Lustau East India Solera ($23.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($21.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé ($17.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)