Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

  
Blason Brut B3 Friuli Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 04-27-2015
Easy drinking, refreshing, an absolute pleasure to drink on a warm afternoon, as well as a very good deal!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Lynch Bages Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 04-25-2015
A classic Bordeaux white, with some grassy notes on the nose intermingled with lanolin, bee wax, and citrous fruit. Very crisp and refreshing on the palate, with not a lot of apparent oak. Very elegant.
Price: $46.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

1996 du Tertre, Margaux
Review Date: 04-25-2015
Showing development on the color and on the nose as well, which is very welcoming. Lots of minerality, black olives, leather, earth and plum, framed by an elegant touch of herbaceousness. Tannins already settled and this beautiful wine is ready to go. Very good indeed.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 88 - 90

2009 Viña Eguía Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-13-2015
One of the nicest surprises this year. A nice, spicy and quite affordable Rioja. Dark berries and vanilla supported by a nice structure. Quite delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-13-2015
The Olema Cabernet Sauvignon offers a lot of elegant notes of cocoa, cassis, a touch of vanilla that makes it very much a Cab for those looking for a step up from the everyday, but still afordable and with a great pedigree...
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 04-13-2015
It amazes me that we are now drinking wines from Gasgogne, and beautiful wines at that! This Colombard/Ugni Blanc offers a lot of tropical fruit along a juicy acidity that not only frames the wine nicely but also entices the appetite for another sip. Try that with light appetizers, salads, light seafood, and I could go on...
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 D'Anice Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 03-14-2015
Here comes Summer! Well, at least in SoCal... And the d'Anice offers the perfect accompaniment for those salads, seafood, oysters, and the like that come with the warm weather. Very aromatic nose of citrus fruit, white currant, pineapple and starfruit, followed by a palate that is crisp, zippy, and very enticing. A light white wine with a full personality.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Chateau de Gourgazaud "Cuvée Tradition" Minervois
Review Date: 03-10-2015
Every now and then I taste a wine that takes me right back to the place where it was made. The de Gourgazaud does just that, and the place in question is none else than the beautiful south of France. An array of spices on the nose along black olive tapanade and dark berries. The fruit is framed by medium tannins and an exotic note of "animale". A lot of wine for this price.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Cave de Saumur Rouge
Review Date: 02-28-2015
Really delightful Cabernet Franc, from Saumur, medium bodied, and very floral, with an intense nose of crushed rocks, violets and little red fruits. I would suggest serving it a bit chilled. Perfect with Indian food.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 02-03-2015
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this is lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, banana-based desserts, carrot cake, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-01-2015
Incredibly lush but framed by intriguing spices, this Napa Cabernet offers intense blueberry, tobacco, cassis, cocoa and that delicious note of vanilla oak. All very well integrated into a nice, balanced and elegant wine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 02-01-2015
That wine is a perfect balance between the classic and the more bold style. Dark cherries, blackberry, and very intriguing spices around the fruit, along with a flowery note. It is pretty, but it has power. as I said a perfect balance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Moulin Haut-Laroque, Fronsac
Review Date: 01-26-2015
Owned by the same family for over two centuries, and now in the hands of Jean-Noël Hervé, this property has always been producing a high quality wine. Possessing higher than usual amount of Cabernet Franc in its vineyards (some of which are 70 years-old), certainly gives their wines a lot of structure when young, but when matured it holds the softness of the Merlot in check and imparts delicious spice notes. That’s the case with this 2001. Black currants, tobacco, classic forest floor, and absolutely ready to drink right now. I did not decant it before serving it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Raymond-Lafon, Sauternes
Review Date: 01-26-2015
This property has a very interesting history, for starters it is not classified, because it was created "only" in 1850, however it has always been very well regarded and was included in an "unofficial" classification in 1867. The owner, Pierre Meslier, worked as a General Manager at d'Yquem, before dedicating all his efforts and applying the same rigorous techniques as d'Yquem's to his own chateau, which some of the vineyards touch d'Yquem's. The grapes are picked one-by-one in successive tries - between 3 to 10! The wine is aged for 3 years in 100% new barriques. As for tasting notes, it is full of honeyed nuances, with coconut, apricots and a deeper quince marmalade note. Possessing a perfect balance between the lushness of the Botrytised grapes and the high acidity. Marvelous wine!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

2011 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-17-2015
Very classic St-Estèphe with all its exotic spices, forest floor, tobacco, but with a delicious note of sweet dark fruit and vanilla on the nose and on palate. The higher percentage of Cabernet gives it a beautiful note of menthol/eucalyptus as well as a firm tannic structure. This one I would put in the cellars or decant to drink now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2009 La Cardonne, Médoc
Review Date: 01-17-2015
La Cardonne is very much a northern Médoc wine, very Saint-Estèphe-like. Full of spices, and dark fruit, with a tannic structure that makes this wine a very good candidate for the cellars or with a plate of charcuterie.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 89 - 92

2001 Tertre Daugay, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-14-2015
Developed wine still showing beautiful fruit and elegance. Plums, sweet coffee, dark cherries and very enticing spices, along with soft tannins and bright acidity framing the palate. This wine will benefit with an hour or two of decanting. It is a delightful Bordeaux that is ready to drink right now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Lestruelle, Médoc
Review Date: 11-16-2014
Full bodied and concentrated, this Bordeaux displays an intense nose of dark chocolate, licorice, dark cherries and some beautiful notes of violets. On the palate the high acidity is noticed and very welcomed for the over all balance of this wine, along with a good amount of oak spices. The fairly high tannins need some resolving with a few years in the cellar, or a good decanting will do. The sustainable agriculture method used by this property make it even more enticing. As for pairing, I would suggest heavy dishes, like stews, or a fatty cut of meat.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Domaine Cabirau "Malgre les Fonctionnaires" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 11-11-2014
This is one of these wines that completely surprised me. Crimson color and a very meaty, irony nose. Loved that, and expected a somehow savory herby palate. Than the surprise commenced... Cocoa powder, raspberry coulis, and plums, fruity for sure, but delicately so, and with lots of minerality. Very well balanced with silky-soft tannins. Think of it as a dry and lighter Banyuls-like wine. An absolutely delicious Roussillon (Catalan) wine.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91 RP 90

2012 Domaine Cabirau Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 11-11-2014
Incredibly pleasing and easy-going wine in the best sense of the way. A light violet color, with a very brambly/Blackberry nose. On the palate the cocoa powder, and the brown sugar surface. Delicate spices follow with soft tannins. I can think of nothing better to drink with a plate of Charcuterie, light cheeses and yeah... I'll go there: buffalo wings! Seal of approval!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-12-2014
Dark crimson with hints of violet color. Wow... Tobacco, mushroom, cocoa, along with dark cherries and berries and sure enough...earth! On the palate, all of that, with black olives and cocoa more pronounced. The tannins and acidity are very much present without any sign of harshness. On the contrary, this wine is refined and elegant, surely showing the pedigree of a very classy 2nd wine from a classified cru.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

2010 Larrivaux, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 08-04-2014
This property is situated to the west of Saint-Joseph, and contrary to the common assumption, instead of Cabernet Sauvignon, is the Merlot that dominates the blend. Garnet/Ruby color. Cassis, plum, a touch of cedar, along with wet rocks and an intriguing meatiness greets you on the nose. On the palate: Coffee, cassis again, and a delicious note of oak toast. Medium tannins and medium+ acidity, makes it a very supple wine, that is a pleasure to drink now or to be put away for a little while. The assemblage according to their website is: 60% Merlot, 26% Cabernet Sauvignon, 8% Cabernet Franc and 6% Petit Verdot. Great value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Plaisance "Cuvée Alix" Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 07-28-2014
Garnet color showing some development. Enticing aromatics of ripe plums, coffee, cocoa, pepper and graphite. On the palate it possess all those attributes as well, along with medium tannins and medium acidity. Soft textured wine, but the coffee, toasty notes bring it to a level that no Merlot outside Bordeaux can achieve... Drinking now, and it will be delicious with a steak or filet mignon!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 La Graside Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-27-2014
Light straw yellow color. Intense aromatics full of lemon oil, gooseberries, grapefruit. On the palate it carries all these fruit flavors, and a touch of yellow flowers too, but none of the tropical notes that some Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc have. Instead, this has a focused minerality, and bright, juicy acidity. Perfect wine to pair with a garlicky seafood or a ceviche, salads, Thai food and let's not forget...Sushi!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Mauvesin-Barton, Moulis
Review Date: 07-21-2014
Medium Garnet color. Nice soft entry. Juicy plum and roasted coffee, cocoa and a touch of cassis. Soft medium tannins at first but quite sneaky on the finish. The cépage is 46% Merlot, 36% Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. The soil of this beautiful property owned by the Barton family is mostly clay and limestone, which explain the higher amount of Merlot in the blend. Very well done wine and extremely drinkable right now.

1999 Canon-La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-24-2014
Intense and lavish aromatics of cassis, cocoa, smokey mesquite BBQ, meat and bacon as well. It is rich, it is lush, the fruit quite sweet, yet it has structure and balance. Really quite delicious.

2003 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-24-2014
Medium Garnet color, showing its development. The lifted fruit of its youth has evolved. Plums, cocoa, and tobacco. Very silky tannins and a medium-acidity, make it an immense pleasure to drink this wine now. It is a 2003, but not at all over extracted, but rather poised and balanced. One of the best wines I tasted this year.

2011 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 06-24-2014
Dark violet color. Bright high toned fruit, along with vanilla bean and... olives! Medium tannins, and juicy high acidity, makes this wine a great choice to drink right now, although it will age beautifully for some years to come. I did not decant it before drinking it, nor do I think it needs it.
Price: Hidden View Price

2009 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-23-2014
Very much a 2009. And that’s a very good thing in Bordeaux. Deeply colored, and rich with loads of cassis and blackberry fruit, along with coffee, cocoa and earthy notes. It definitely has structure, and the tannins are well present, which makes this wine ideal for aging. It also can be drunk now due to its fullness of fruit, but I would decant it. Excellent wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Bodegas Muriel Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-30-2014
Ever so often I come across a wine that's text book classic of where it comes from. And in the case of the Muriel, it is not only classic but also a pleasure to be had. Beautiful coffee notes, along with plums, nuts, and coconut, perhaps due to slight oxidation and maturity in barrels. Complex and yet affordable, this will pair easily with say, a pork roast, Greek food especially moussaka, and of course... Lamb!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
DC 95

2012 Zind Humbrecht Muscat
Review Date: 02-05-2014
A very unique wine for those who want to experiment what a dry Muscat from Alsace is all about. Intense aromatics of orange flowers, fresh grapes, honey and exotic spices. One would swear by the nose alone that this would be a sweet wine. But no, sweet it is not, and that's the beauty of it. This contrast between the sweet nose and the dry palate is a perfect combination for the very difficult to pair items like white asparagus or artichokes, but also a divine combination with Thai food. Please give it a try.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

1989 Couly-Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 01-22-2014
Absolutely stunning! A developed honeyed nose that strongly resembles of an old Bordeaux. Dark chocolate, smoked meat, and just a touch of bell pepper spices. Delicious.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-02-2013
I agree with my co-worker Christie. This is a delicious Champagne that deliver a lot of quality for a great price
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2012
Very crispy, clean, lemony with some surprising salinity on the palate. Not at all austere as the “extra-brut” suggests. It would be very good for aperitifs before dinner.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 03-03-2012
From the single most important vintage in history for Chinon wines, this wine is drinking beautifully now. Lighter bodied at this point but still shows nice cranberry and cherry fruit with a flinty mineral thing going on. A must try for the Cabernet Franc lovers. This bottle just flew in from France, straight from the winery, hence such pristine condition
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-05-2011
Without a doubt one of my favorites sparkling rosé wines. Full of citron, wild strawberries, cherries and FUN! I recommend it for an aperitif on Valentine's day, or with the heart shaped box of chocolate! What?! It is not Valentines just yet? Just pretend, your significant other will love it!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-23-2011
Fascinating nose of caramel, toffee, some cocoa powder and a surprising whiff of pain-au-chocolat and cherries that brought back memories of a breakfast on a back street cafe around the Champs Elysées. A great wine not only for a very elegant apéritif, but also to enjoy with omelets, eggs Benedict, anything salmon, truffles (black and white), lobster and prawns, or even blue or goat cheeses.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-03-2011
Showing a dark brickish color that denotes a more developed character. A very elegant nose of sweet coffee, plums and a touch of pepper. Soft tannins, and very much ready to drink. All in all it’s a bargain for what it offers.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Léoville Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-03-2011
Dark garnet color. Very classic nose of coffee, currents, olives, graphite and exotic spices. The palate follows the nose with medium tannins. It is a perfect Bordeaux to enjoy right now

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 06-14-2011
Quite possibly the perfect aperitif for a great soirée, so crispy and refreshing. It is not austere at all as some might think, being a Brut Nature, just delightfully vibrant. As with food, think all kinds of appetizers, Caesar's Salad, Goat cheese, Eggs Benedict, Caviar, Asian food, and why not... lobsters!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
Review Date: 06-01-2011
Oh so lovely! I know that the description says "Sec" and that entitles it to be sweeter than you everyday "Brut". But trust me, this is far, far from being sweet! The sweetness comes across more on the mouthfeel than on the palate. Very soft, almost velvety. Incredibly complex. It can be served with a platter of cheese for an elegant end of a candlelight dinner, or as pairing to a spicy Thai soiree. Endless possibilities...
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 05-04-2011
I love it to bits! A little drop of its magic will transform a simple bubbly into the most amazing Champagne cocktail. Thumbs up!
Price: $31.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96 - 100

2004 Domaine La Roquète Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 12-20-2010
This will probably be the last "best buy" of 2010! This wine is ready to be drunk, full of ripe and very dark fruit, fig confit, cherry, graphite and a touch of bacon fat. Great introduction into the Chateuneuf world!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2007 Clos des Papes Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-11-2010
I know it is pretty easy to recommend a wine with a 99+ rating... Isn't it almost perfection? But I did not only try this amazing wine but poured it for some lucky customers that came to our Big Rhone Tasting a couple of weeks ago! From my point of view, this was probably the very best Chateauneuf I tasted from this vintage. I'm not going to bother you with descriptions, but I will tell you, this wine will be part of the history of the Chateauneuf appellation!

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-09-2010
Profound and fun at the same time. Deliciously rich but still delicate, with an explosion of berry fruit. My first choice for a Lobster Bisque, hors d'oeuvre, sushi or to accompany a romantic sunset...
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-01-2010
The Marcoux has a remarkably elegance to it. Lavender, spices, creme de cassis, truffles. I poured it in our last public tasting, and after decanting, it was just amazing, a fine wine indeed!

Marguet Pere et Fils "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-02-2009
This is all "elegance & muscles" with plenty of Pinot Noir fruit, balanced by the finesse of the Chardonnay. Cherries together with lemon zest, pain grillé, croissant and a very delicate note of cocoa fill the nose. This is indeed Grand Cru quality, brilliantly done by a small producer, or what we call in France "Champagne de Vignerons," the pride and joy of Champagne!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 ST 91

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-20-2009
If there is such a thing as a Champagne for everyday use, well this has to be it. Not because of the price, but for its quality and poise. Very crispy, citrousy end elegant. Perfect for hors d'oeuvres, seafood, egg dishes, guacamole, goat cheeses, and "fantastic" with caviar!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

1981 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Blanco Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-09-2009
Lopez de Heredia is without a doubt one of the most traditional wineries in the whole of Spain. It represents to me the very spirit of this fascinating country. THIS is Spanish wine! Call me a purist, old fashioned, and I'll just smile and reach for the nearest bottle of Lopez de Heredia. If you are interested in Spanish wines, I urge you to visit their website. It's very comprehensible and in English. For me to describe this wine to you, I have to quote them: "To talk in our bodega of white wines being exclusively young and uncomplicated, would be asking for trouble" - Indeed! The 1981 is of course, much deeper and more profound than the Gravonia 1999. Absolutely stunning for those into a perfectly aged white wine and still so fresh besides its age. Intensely honeyed with lanolin, walnuts and dried flowers. A classic pairing with octopus and garlic, Paella, spicy sausages, all sorts of Salt Cod recipes, tapas and even Risotto (specially a seafood one).

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur 750ml ($28.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green 750ml ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L) ($139.00)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($15.99)

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé ($17.99)

2000 Trimbach Pinot Gris Vendages Tardives ($39.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur 750ml ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($39.99)

Metaxa Ouzo 750ml ($15.99)