Staff Favorites - Mari Keilman

Mari Keilman

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
Made up of half barrel fermented Chardonnay and one-half Pinot Noir that was fermented in two-thirds stainless and one-third barrel, the 2009 demonstrates how warm the vintage was with its classic nose of ripe chardonnay fruit. Pushing through are aromas of fresh apple and white stone fruit and hints of chalkiness. The palate comes alive with mouth tingling vibrancy and bright acidity. Subtle layers and a nutty, elegant finish hint to the wines aging potential. A definite choice to put in the cellar for a few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-20-2016
Looks can be deceiving, as is the case with the Franck Bonville Rose. One glance at the intense pink color would lead anybody to believe that this rose will be an over the top fruit bomb, but this Chardonnay-dominant rose is exactly the opposite. With 92% Chardonnay, this rose is extremely elegant and fresh. Bright notes of strawberry and cherry are delightfully matched with aromas of ripe lemon and lime and the 8% Pinot Noir shines through in the creaminess on the palate. The perfect rose to please every palate at the party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bench Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-31-2015
When it comes to value-driven California Pinot Noirs, I tend to gravitate towards Sonoma Valley due to the site-driven presence of spice and earth that comes from the cooler climate and soil conditions. The aromatics of the 2010 Bench is full of vanilla, followed up by copious amounts of black and red cherry. Topped off with a palate that is much more lifted and brighter than expected, you have a supple, glycerol California Pinot at an ridiculously amazing value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Just as the label proclaims, drinking this Gruner is "fresh as a slap across the face." Loaded with tons of fresh Meyer lemon and lime, this Gruner is true to its Austrian roots with just a hint of the classic white pepper spice. But what sets the Etz apart from the liter pack are the notes of peach and stone fruit that reveal themselves on the palate.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Yves Duport "Origin'L Reserve" Bugey Brut
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Loaded with tons of fresh yellow fruit and tiny, delicate bubbles, this sparkling wine is the perfect aperitif to whet your palate or the ideal pairing for your holiday meal!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Elisabeth Goutorbe "Cuvée Éclatante" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Intense, yet exquisitely balanced, the Cuvee Eclatante has a subtle minerality on the nose, the classic bright apple fruit in the mouth and an elegant, seamless hazelnut finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Mannella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-01-2015
The La Mannella is superb and the rich, full-bodied mouth-feel, super ripe cherry and contrasting balance of acidity is the perfect embodiment of this stellar vintage.

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 10-01-2015
This bottle of red is everything that I look for in a wine. Earthy aromatics with a tinge of bright red cherry fruit, and raspberry dominate the nose. While the light to medium body palate comes packed with even more cherry and earthy notes, it's how this little bottle of Corbieres changes and opens up with just a little bit of air that makes it so delightful!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 10-01-2015
Bright yellow fruit like starfruit and lemon, with hints of grass, grapefruit and a beautiful river pebble minerality overwhelm the nose of this staff favorite. Hands down, one of the best values in the entire store.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2015
The 2006 Baron Fuente “Grand Millisime” Brut Champagne is the perfect vintage Champagne that I will be putting on my dining table this holiday season. So incredibly layered, the nose can only be described as elegant and sophisticated.  Distinct aromas of green apple, lemon curd and fresh toast are in a harmonious balance with ripened pomaceous fruit, minerality, toast and leesiness that can only be achieved through vintage and bottle age.​ Once you get over the ridiculously amazing price for a vintage Champagne, the 2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millisime" Brut Champagne is a no-brainer.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-25-2015
This Talley Chardonnay has a special little place in my heart because I had the privilege of being there during the blending session and giving my input on the final outcome. ​It was a nail-biter waiting to see if the blend we put together straight from the barrel would taste just as good after being in bottle for a few months, and the 2014 Talley Chardonnay does not disappoint! Balance was the utmost goal that we were striving for, and this Chardonnay has it all. From notes of fresh tropical fruit and lemon curd, to white flowers and brioche, to an integrated toasty, creme brulee finish that's supported by a surprisingly bright acid structure, this Edna Valley chardonnay is the complete package!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine de la Bastide Blanche Bandol
Review Date: 09-16-2015
With temperatures spiking at 100 degrees this week, I know this isn't the appropriate time for a full bodied red wine, but when you taste something this delicious, it deserves to get its moment in the spotlight! While this mourvedre based Bandol is broad and masculine in body and structure, I love the juxtaposition how elegant and high-toned the aromatics are. I let this wine open in my glass for a few hours and I was so impressed at how aromas of flowers played so intricately with a dark, inky currant-based palate. This Bandol rouge is still a baby so buy a couple; one to enjoy now and a few to tuck away in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 91

1998 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-16-2015
This second release of the 1998 has been delicately aging on its lees for well over 12 years before being disgorged and it shows in how beautifully mature and layered the aromatics are. I was extremely impressed at how vinous and structured this 18 year old cuvee was tasting and the integrated bouquet was just the icing on the top.

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-12-2015
While the 750ml alone is priced for those extra special occasions, biting the bullet and stepping up to the 1.5L magnum is well worth the huge jump! The Grand Cuvee always over delivers and never disappoints and the large format magnum takes the Grand Cuvee to transcendent levels. Aromas of marzipan, Asian spice, white flowers and Meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses and when you splurge for the 1.5L, the intergration of fruit, oak, spice and floral components is outstanding! While the jump up in price is not exponential, the quality and experience is!

2012 Novelty Hill Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-10-2015
If balance, structure and acidity are buzzwords for you, than the Novelty Hill is the cabernet for you! While I enjoy ripeness and fruit in my wine, I also need acidity and balance because I'm usually having it alongside a nice cut of steak, so this Novelty Hill cab is the perfect fit! Beautiful black currants and dark chocolate play nicely with the silky plush texture to make this Washington cab over-deliver for its $20 price tag.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 RP 90

2014 Le Cirque Grenache Gris Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 09-09-2015
This is the perfect example of how crisp and quenching a dry grenache gris can be. Fresh tropical notes of pineapple and citrus, coupled with sublte aromatics of honey make this refreshing white the easy choice for keeping cool on these hot summer nights.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 Trim California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-01-2015
The nose is dominated by black cherry, cassis and red currants along with subtle hints of dark chocolate, vanilla and dried herbs. The palate is plush and full bodied, with a nice balance between ripe fruit, integrated tannins and decent acidity.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine la Chapelle Saint Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-01-2015
If you're looking for something that is just as bright and refreshing, the La Chapelle Saint Victor rose is your answer. Medium-bodied and layered with aromatics of strawberry and cherry, this rosé finishes with a nice crisp, chalky finish.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 08-27-2015
The entry level Cotes du Rhone from Montfaucon is my go-to everyday house wine, but when I'm looking to up my game and take it to the next level, I go immediately to the "Baron Louis". I want to call this a baby Chateauneuf but I can't because the way it is showing right now, it would blow the doors off of a lot of CNdPs in a blind tasting. This old vine syrah/grenache based blend is spicy, layered and dense, yet surprisingly balanced. Another stunning showing from a perennial favorite.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2013 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 08-27-2015
I have a love/hate relationship with this cremant; I LOVE it when it's here and HATE it when it's sold out!!! When you're looking for that fresh, citrus-driven, bright apple and pear laden bottle of bubbles, hands down, this is the best choice!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 08-03-2015
Whenever the Chateau Montfaucon Cotes du Rhone runs out there's always a mad dash to find a replacement and Keith hit the ball out of the park with this amazing Languedoc red! Loaded with tons of black cherry, dark chocolate and warm baking spices, this organic southern French red is a true crowd-pleaser!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 07-30-2015
While subtle on the nose, this rosé is full of fresh cherry fruit and a bright, vibrant blood orange-packed palate. Full-bodied and complex, this rosé finishes with a nice chalky finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 07-15-2015
For fans of BBQs and meaty reds, you're going to love this Languedoc Rouge! The nose is dominated with gamey, savory, bacon aromatics which is bound to please every meat lover out there. Add a dense, rich brooding palate loaded with ripe purple and black fruit and you have an amazing Southern French red for only $11! Snatch up this red while it lasts...
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2012 Domaine Anne & Arnaud Goisot Côtes d'Auxerre "Cuvée du Manoir"
Review Date: 07-15-2015
An extremely bright and racy Pinot loaded with tons of red currants and cherries on the nose. Throw in a little zippy raspberry on the palate and hint of dusty minerality on the finish and you have amazingly priced little red Burgundy that's perfect for all your summer festivities!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous"
Review Date: 07-01-2015
So beautifully understated and elegant, the Bavard wines possess an amazing amount of acidity, integration and complexity. This Chardonnay is so refreshingly terroir-driven on the nose, with a surprising punch of bright Meyer lemon on the palate.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Verde Regional Minho
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Absolutely delicious. Fresh, sparkling & refreshing. Packed with great minerality, pear and lime. Perfect for those hot summer nights.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WE 90

2013 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Looking for an upfront, friendly Pinot Noir that won't break the bank? Fossil Point is your wine. This Pinot Noir has an extremely supple and smooth mouthfeel of sweet raspberry and strawberry. The rich red fruit and ample acidity on the finish make this the perfect wine to sip alone and to have with dinner.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-13-2015
This is truly the most well-rounded Pinot Noir I've ever had from Foxen. I typically look to Foxen for it's more approachable, upfront fruit style but I'm in love with the intense aromatics coupled by the elegant, sophisticated palate of the 2013 Santa Maria Pinot. Explosive aromatics of wild strawberry and black raspberry are coupled with warm baking spices and crushed flowers. What truly stands out is the beautiful, refined texture and persistently long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 ST 90

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Customers constantly ask me what my favorite champagnes are and I always tell people that each bottle is like a child to me and you can't possibly ask a mom to pick a favorite. But its a pretty well-known secret that Krug has always been a special little "baby" for me. Krug is hands-down my go-to tête de cuvée. While priced for those extra special occasions or a moment when you want to splurge, the Grand Cuvee over delivers and never disappoints. The grandeur of this cuvee is apparent immediately. Aromas of marzipan, Asian spice, white flowers and Meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses. The complexity on the nose is followed by a harmonious balance on the palate between the maturity of the oak-fermented reserve wines in juxtaposition with the focused, delineated acidity that comes from suppressing malolactic fermentation. Gorgeous now, even better with age, the Grand Cuvee is a must!

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Stylistically, Laurent Perrier is one of my favorite Grand Marques. I gravitate towards their bright, vibrant house style and that's exactly what you get in the Laurent Perrier "Cuvee Rose" Brut Rose Champagne​. While the rose is 100% Pinot Noir and macerated with full skin contact, this rose is surprisingly lifted and understated for receiving such a heavy-handed treatment. The nose and palate are loaded with copious amounts of red berry fruit with ripe strawberries taking center stage supported by a backdrop of clean minerality. The refreshingly tart finish of cranberries and pomegranate make this rose the perfect accompaniment to any special occasion.

Ariston Aspasie "Cepages d'Antan" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-31-2015
How can you put a price on tasting rare, almost extinct varietals from champagne like Petit Meslier, Arbanne and Pinot Blanc? Especially when they taste as amazing as the Ariston Aspasie Cepages d'Antan! When first popped the nose is quite subtle and delicate. After a little time in the glass, the Pinot Blanc begins to dominate with aromas of white nectarine, star fruit and orange blossoms. With even more time in the glass, the native varietals begin to express themselves with strong notes of chalky minerality and a hint of savory herb. Top this off with a strikingly long finish of limestone chalk and you have a champagne that is unlike anything you'll find on most wine store shelves.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart

2013 Lewis Cellars "Barcaglia Lane" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-27-2015
Rarely do I ever say this about a California Chardonnay, but the 2013 Lewis Cellars "Barcaglia Lane" RRV Chardonnay is beautiful. Over the top oaky, butter-bombs are at the bottom of my list and it's always a true pleasure when I find a Cali Chard that dares to veer away from that style. The Barcaglia Lane is elegant, sophisticated and in the best way possible, understated. Loaded with notes of tropical fruit and Asian spice, this Cali Chard is sure to please the adventurous Chardonnay drinker that is looking for something unique and special.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-03-2015
The rich, deep, golden yellow color of the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche is a tiny hint at the expressive, and explosive purity fruit that lies within this cuvee of 40% Chardonnay, 30% Pinot Noir and 30% Meunier. Very few Champagnes have the amount of chalky minerality that is present in the Carte Blanche, let alone a cuvee that is priced less than $30! What’s even more impressive than the amount of minerality is the broad, rich texture that lets everyone know how perfectly this Champagne with pair with foods of all fairs.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-28-2014
It's a shame that most Cristal is consumed so quickly after it's released because the 2006 is definitely one that will age and show its true beauty and potential with a few years in the cellar! The 2006 is the brightest, most structured vintage that I've had from Cristal in quite some time. Add the signature ripe, sweet fruit, full bodied richness and chalky minerality on the finish and you have a vintage Cristal that will match up to the best of them.

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-28-2014
Such an amazing champagne for such an extraordinary price! This champagne is one of my favorites regardless of how low the price is, but when you factor in how beautiful this wine is for only $34.99, you wonder if its too good to be true!!! So incredibly delicate and elegant with such subtle layers, you wonder if its too sophisticated for everyone to understand.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-25-2014
The NV Fleury Carte Rouge is a truly exceptional bottle of Champagne. Anyone skeptical of how great biodynamic wines can be, need to try the Carte Rouge. This NV cuvee elegantly expresses the balance between delicate yet rich. The nose is intense with aromatics of strawberry, black cherry and hints of toasted yeast. The surprise of the Carte Rouge is how low the dosage is in comparison to how ripe and expressive the fruit shows throughout the entire length of the Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2004 Fleury "Cuveé Robert Fleury" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-25-2014
The 2004 Fleury “Robert Fleury” Extra Brut Champagne is a true crowd-pleaser. After people get over the initial shock of the 1/3 Pinot Blanc added to the blend of 1/3 Chardonnay and 1/3 Pinot Noir, they will revel in how rich yet playful this Champagne is. This truly rare, barrel-fermented Champagne is a gorgeous display of how unique varietals, unorthodox wine making and sustainable farming practices can lead to a Champagne with vibrant acidity, exquisite depth, voluptuous texture and complex fruit and spice characteristics.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Rebelle" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-08-2014
I typically don't drink a lot of extra brut because it always makes me want a giant plate of fresh oysters (which are hard to get in LA), but the Bruno Michelle Rebelle is so full of ripe, baked pomme fruit that it's delicious on its own, with sushi or a plate of oysters (if you have easy access to one). The Rebelle is an extra brut in the way extra brut was meant to be; enough ripe natural sugar the way mother nature intended so that additional sugar isn't needed!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2013
I'm not much of a tequila drinker and when I do partake it's usually in the form of a margarita, but this tequila is a game changer for me. The Fortaleza is incredibly complex with earth and agave spice notes but is so incredibly balanced that even I can enjoy it neat.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Krug really doesn't need any extra validation from lil' ol me but I'm going to give it because they're just that great! This Krug rose is truly transcendent. Both sweet and savory at the same time, the Krug rose delivers with beautiful rose petals, sweet orange citrus, toasty lees and intense red fruit.

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-28-2013
How can you not love a bottle of Bubbles from the Loire Valley that only costs $13 and tastes this good?!?!? Loaded with tons of fresh berry fruit and copious amounts of tiny, delicate bubbles.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Baron Fuente "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2012
This delicious Champagne is composed of 60% Meunier, 10% Pinot Noir & 30% Chardonnay and has been aged three years on the lees. Pinot Meunier is always characterized with upfront floral and fruity notes and that is exactly what jumps out of the glass with the Grand Reserve. Loaded with tons of ripe, fresh apple and carmalized citrus, this cuvee conveys how powerful and full-bodied Pinot Meunier can be while simultaneously having a clean and elegant finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 07-31-2012
This new direct buy is filled with delicate high tones of floral on the nose and an abundance of upfront pear and peach on the palate. Just found my new BBQ bubble bottle.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2012
I loved this champagne several years ago but it was really hard to get people on board with the outdated yellow label that was a serious hommage to the early 90's. Now that they've updated the label to a sophisticated black and grey label, this champagne is going to fly off the shelves! Hands down, this the best "full-package" champagne for under 30. Equally as beautiful as the outside, the inside of this bottle is full of fresh, clean, refreshing citrus fruit balanced by a friendly pinot meunier based fruitiness that keeps this champagne fun and playful.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2012
Michel Arnould's wines are the most harmonious juxtaposition between tension and balance, broadness and precision, elegance and power. The Verzenay Brut with its elegant texture, refined bead and sweet citrus and wild berry palate, lends perfectly for pairing with an eclectic and diverse menu. The Verzenay Brut has a playful nature with the ripe fruit bouncing off of the bracing acidity.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-30-2012
Capt Kirk hit the nail on the head..."like drinking sparkling red burgundy"! I love the contrast between the elegant pinot noir berry fruit and that little hint of herbaceousness that transports you to Beaune.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 07-29-2011
So refreshing...so crisp...so clean...so perfect for those al fresco summer dinners. Or maybe a romantic dinner with a plate of oysters is your cup of tea...
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
Review Date: 03-01-2011
One word: Brie! Talk about the most heavenly of food and wine pairing experiences. Forget the fact that this bottle of bubbles is just a touch off dry. The Marie Leopold paired so perfectly with the brie, the only saving grace for my hips was that the wedge of cheese was quickly devoured. Its my second time taking home a bottle of this fabulous bottle of champagne and I will be taking home a fourth, fifth, sixth...just so long as there is enough brie in this world!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-27-2011
Rich, yet exquisitely balanced, the Michel Arnould Grand Cuvée Brut has a subtle minerality on the nose, the classic bright cherry fruit in the mouth and an elegant, seamless hazelnut finish. Try with some seared sea scallops in a citrus cream reduction.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 12-29-2010
This is the quintessential bottle of bubbles one is required to always have in the fridge. Done in a zippy blanc de blancs style, the Deligeroy Cremant de Loire offers up aromas of sweet lemon and light apricot followed my an aggressive palate of tiny racy bubbles. Perfect for toasting the New Year's!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Mari Keilman is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Mari Keilman, click here to join Mari Keilman's Personal Sommelier Service.
2004 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($129.99)