Staff Favorites - Mari Keilman

Mari Keilman

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2011 Columbia Crest "Reserve" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-15-2017
Columbia Crest has always impressed me from the first time I tasted their H3 wines over 10 years ago. There are wineries that aren't even an eighth of their size that can produce wines of this quality and consistency and yet Columbia Crest manages to put out stellar wine, after stellar wine, hundreds of cases at a time. I would almost be tempted to say that in the dictionary under "overdelivers" there should be a picture of Columbia Crest...almost! But the 2011 Columbia Crest Reserve is an extremely impressive Cab! There is a beautiful purity of fruit with lots of blackberry and raspberry on the palate. Columbia Crest uses both American and French oak and its very evident on the long and persistent palate that oozes anise, cedar and vanilla on the finish. This wine is the whole package and it's impossible to believe it's at such a ridiculous price!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2014 Seghesio "Cortina" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Dry Creek Valley is always noted for its slightly cooler climate lending to brighter, more high-toned red fruit and spice notes and the Cortina is a classic Dry Creek Zin with its beautiful aromatics of sweet savory herbs matched by the presence of black raspbery, red plum and licorice. Accompanying the lifted black and red fruit on the nose is an assortment of subtle szechuan peppercorn, sweet bramble and savory baking spices.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 90

2013 Antica Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-22-2017
​I love it when an Old World producer decides to make wines in the New World region of Napa. I don't always personally love the wines, but I always appreciate the injection of traditional styles, philosophies and practices into a youthful and eager to learn region. The Antica cab from Antinori is that clear cut example of how a family so steeped in Old World traditional can make a New World wine with such deft and balance. This Napa Valley cab that comes primarily from Atlas Peak is the perfect harmonious marriage between the formality and restraint of wines made in a cooler and less than forgiving region, with the approachability and wide-eyed eagerness of energetic California cabs. The Antica cab is brimming with black cassis, plum, graphite and a subtle mineral note on the nose. The first impression on the palate upfront is weighty and full bodied, but the prominent structure and acid profile keep this cab from being soft and flabby and give it surprising shape and lift.

2014 Stag's Leap Wine Cellars "Artemis" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-19-2017
Having taken the title at the Judgment of Paris, Stag's Leap Wine Cellars has created a legacy that is synonymous with prestige and prominence, but on a personal level, their Artemis is at the top of my list for Napa Valley Cabs. It is my absolute number one go-to Cab for customers who are looking for balance, quality and the biggest bang for your buck under $50 from Napa Valley (even though it's well below that price). The aromatics on the 2015 are classic to the varietal: black currants, black cherry and savory herbs scream Cabernet. But the Artemis takes a surprising turn on the palate with a lifted backbone and lively red fruit brightness that ensure this Cab will pair with anything you through at it now or will cellar beautifully for years to come should you exercise some restraint and put this lil' baby away for a rainy day.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 90

2015 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-19-2017
Oh boy does this wine have substance! This is an amazing Columbia Valley Cab for less than $15! The palate is loaded with tons of black currant, kirsch and plum fruit with hints of smoke and subtle tobacco spice. This wine continues to deliver with an upfront, full-bodied palate that is sure to please at any outdoor BBQ!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Marietta "Old Vine Red Lot #66" Red Blend
Review Date: 08-05-2017
The Old Vine Red consistently over-delivers lot after lot after lot, and the Lot 66 is one of the best lots yet! Lot 66 is bright and vibrant yet approachable with savory spice, black peppercorn and bramble, along with red cherry and bright blackberries rounding out the palate. Stock up, because this amazing blend will not last long!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 08-04-2017
This party-perfect red is full bodied with classic Garnacha aromatics of cherry, strawberry and rhubarb. Whether it's your house red or party-pounder, this Grenache is sure to deliver while keeping the pocketbooks full.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2012 Altvs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-21-2017
​​​I can still remember the first time I tasted Merus. It was over 12 years ago but the flavor profile and texture were so unique and distinguished that I can still easily recall it to this day. In fact it was the rich, unctuous, full-bodied texture that distinctly stuck out in my mind. And when I tasted the second label of Merus, Altvs, I was immediately taken aback at how they were able to achieve the same dense, plush, over-the-top silky texture that you get in Merus, at a quarter of the cost! The Altvs Napa Valley Cab is indulgent, decadent and incredibly hedonistic. The great thing about this wine is that you can revel in feeling obscenely over-self-indulgent without feeling it in the pocketbook!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Zaca Mesa Santa Ynez Valley "Z Cuvée" Rhone Blend
Review Date: 07-14-2017
Wow is this wine surprising! Not only it is shockingly delicious for the price but it's also not what one would expect from a Southern California Rhone-style blend! It has lift, structure, acidity and purity of fruit which is normally not synonymous with an inexpensive SoCal red blend. Typical warm climate red blends are often an afterthought or a way to get rid of all the leftover grapes that didn't make it into the single varietal, but the Z Cuvee is really a star of its own. The Cuvee shows amazing depth of fruit on the mid-palate with notes of black cherry, black raspberry and blueberry but the finish is bright and lifted with subtle hints of purple flowers and savory herbs. Tack on a polished silky texture and well integrated tannins and you're left with an outstanding Rhone-style blend that can stand up to its Old World predecessors!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2015 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-09-2017
Balance was the utmost goal that we (meaning Brick) strive for, and this Chardonnay knocks it out of the ballpark again. From notes of fresh tropical fruit and lemon curd to white flowers and brioche, to an integrated toasty, creme brulée finish (that also happens to be supported by a surprisingly bright acid structure), this Edna Valley Chardonnay is one of the best Chardonnays to come out of the SoCal region!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RR 90

2015 Hahn "SLH" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-08-2017
When I first tasted the Hahn Pinot Noir, I liked it but something wasn't quite right. It had a lush, medium body mid-palate with soft, sweet raspberries and sun-ripened strawberries, but it was missing the focus and purity that I was used to from the last vintage of the SLH. So I stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes and it was a complete game changer! It went from being a friendly, approachable, rich crowd-pleaser, to a Pinot Noir with refinement and balance. So regardless of whether you want to put a slight chill on it or serve it straight away, this Pinot Noir severely over delivers on all notes!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91 WS 90

2014 Gainey "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-06-2017
I often find in that budget-friendly, $20-and-under price range for a Cali Chardonnay, you either get a monstrous oak bomb full of wood chips that leave splinters in your mouth or you end up drinking a super steely, metallic acid bomb that strips the enamel off your teeth. That is why I love this Gainey Chardonnay. It is surprisingly refreshing and clean for a medium-to-full-bodied Chardonnay. It also has an elegant and integrated toasted, creme brulée oakiness that nicely balances the lifted white peach, ripe apple and soft Meyer lemon flavors on the palate.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 92

2015 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-02-2017
While the guys at Banshee are light-hearted and like to have a lot of fun, they also know how to make a seriously great wine! We've been following the Banshee story from the very beginning and while all of the Sonoma County Pinots have been great, I think this is my favorite vintage to date! This Pinot hits all the notes for me; it's expressively aromatic with beautiful high-tone floral and red fruit notes, there's plenty of ripe, sweet fruit on the mid-palate, there's spice and copious amounts of it, but what strikes me the most about this wine is the purity and honesty of this wine. This Pinot Noir is one of the most well-rounded and balanced Pinots under $25 that I've ever had!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-18-2017
It's impossible to believe that the Napanook is a second wine because most first wines aren't this good! And it's impossible to believe that Dominus was able to pull off another amazing showing after their stellar, critically acclaimed year in 2013. Few wineries are able to achieve such critical success two vintages in a row but Dominus is able to pull it off vintage after vintage. The '14 Napanook is classic Bordeaux style. Quintessential aromatics of savory herb, sweet tobacco, graphite and black currants are amply supported by a supple, silky texture that screams finesse. Add a ripe, medium to full body mid-palate and a persistently long finish of black raspberries and violets and you can easily understand why Dominus deserves the respect it gets.

2013 Paul Hobbs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-29-2017
While producers try to tout the more noteworthy and smaller AVAs like Oakville and Yountville in an attempt to elevate their status, Paul Hobbs' Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley is a true testament that he makes great wines even from the largest and most overarching AVA by blending from some of the best vineyards in Napa. 40% of the fruit comes from their Coombsville estate (with the '14 Nathan Coombs Cab receiving 99 points from Wine Advocate), with the underlying minerality and soft yet present tannins being a nod to the moderate yet long ripening period of the Coombsville terroir. The remaining vineyards from the surrounding Napa Valley (one being the famed Beckstoffer Dr. Crane) flesh out and balance the NV Cab with a concentrated and dense core loaded with black currants, boysenberry, and copious amounts of cocoa. And while the finish is long and persistent with spice and cassis tones, there is also an alarming amount of acidity and finesse.

2014 Marietta "Angeli Cuvee" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 04-28-2017
​I first got to taste this little gem with Scot and the other Bilbro brothers (Jake and Sam) at the winery and instantly fell in love with it. It was Zin but it was Zin with a twist. There was the beautiful upfront dried raspberry and wild blackberry with clean crushed bramble and savory spice, but there was a subtle elegance rarely seen in a young Zin. I tasted it again when I opened it for the staff a while later and fell in love with it in a whole new way. There was so much potential to this unassuming Zinfandel, Petit Sirah & Carignan blend. Along with the wild berry notes were now aromatics of honeycomb, rose petals and fresh golden raisins along with some clean scorched earth. I was automatically transported to Bordeaux and couldn't believe how an old school field blend could be so reminiscent of such an esteemed wine region. Enjoy this beautiful little blend now for a sophisticated and beautiful blend that would pair with any Springtime fair, or squirrel one away for a few years and be pleased with the brilliant choice you made to actually age an Zin-based blend!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-20-2017
The 2015 Geyserville is a quintessential example of how great a vineyard and how amazing this wine has been for the last 50 years. Expressive notes of dark red berry and blackberry, clean bramble and savory baking spice explode on the nose but that's what you should expect from any zin-based field blend. The Geyserville is leagues above the rest with its rich, full bodied yet structured and lifted palate. It has fruit and texture while also being simultaneously savory and salty. And the final kicker of this already fabulous wine is the bright, quenching acidity on the finish that lets you know how well this elegant and structured wine will age.

2015 Martinelli "Grace Nicole - Zio Tony Ranch" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-17-2017
I love the contrast between the Bondi Home Ranch Pinot to the Zio Tony Ranch Pinot. While the Bondi is more savory and lifted, the Zio Tony is dense and brooding. Aromatic blue fruit and violets jump out of the glass accompanied by fresh molasses and blackberry notes. The real difference between the two single vineyards is in the weight; the Zio Tony is rich, concentrated and full bodied (for a pinot noir). I always try to steer away from the classic rib-eye steak and cali cab pairing and this pinot noir is the ideal replacement to pair with any steak dinner!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 96

2015 Martinelli "Bondi Home Ranch - Water Trough Vineyard" Green Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-17-2017
I poured this Martinelli Pinot Noir at a public tasting last weekend and everyone went crazy for it. The thing I love about this pinot noir is how adaptable it is to everyone's palate and preferred style. People who like a little upfront fruit will like it. People who like a touch of toastiness will like it. People who like a little bit of secondary aromatics will like it. People who like structure will like. This pinot noir fits all of the above. Loaded with beautiful exotic wood and savory spice notes, the dark brooding fruit on the palate gives way to even more savory notes and crushed floral elements on the finish. I'm always looking for a wine to go with every occasion and every crowd and I just found my wine!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 97 WS 92

2010 Anderson's Conn Valley "Eloge" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-14-2017
Anderson's Conn Valley has always been a Napa favorite of mine but for some reason unbeknownst to me, they fell off my radar for a brief moment. But the second I tasted the 2010 Eloge Bordeaux Blend, all those warm fuzzy feelings I had about Anderson's Conn Valley came rushing back to me. This wine is freakin' amazing and is such a classic example of what makes this winery so fabulous! I was instantly hit with explosive aromatics of dark cassis, tobacco, savory spice, celery root and hints of garrigue on the nose. The palate is surprisingly chock full of a lifted saltiness and umami driven flavors that are a test to how beautifully these wines age. This wine is a must have!
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

2014 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Syrah-Grenache
Review Date: 03-09-2017
The syrah/Grenache blend isn’t obscured with fancy winemaking or obnoxious use of new oak. Instead, this Rhone Blend is indicative of the historic yet unique terroir that this vineyard embodies. Expressive aromatics of cedar, pink peppercorn, black cherries and blackberries along with a vibrant lift on the palate are a direct response to the cold foggy mornings but the luscious, seamless texture is a nod to the warm Healdsburg afternoons. A bottle of this is definitely getting tucked away in my cellar!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Idlewild "The Flower - Flora & Fauna" Mendocino County Rosé
Review Date: 03-09-2017
The 2016 Idlewild “The Flower, Flora and Fauna” Mendocino County Rosé is mind-blowing. Dolcetto, Nebbiolo and Barbera are all co-fermented for this savory, yet vibrant rosé that has that fresh wild berry and sweet tangerine palate that is essential in every rosé, while finishing with an astonishing savory spice element that elevates this rosé from a simple porch pounder, to one that requires a whole meal made around it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-08-2017
The Reserve Pinot Noir is a blend from three volcanic vineyard sites and the volcanic soil is ever-​present in this bright, lifted, high acid Pinot Noir. Racy red cherry, rhubarb and strawberry on the nose make way for a lively tart palate of hibiscus, sweet earth and ripe raspberry. Argyle is always a perennial staff favorite and for good reason! ​

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-01-2017
This Chardonnay is a no-brainer! The Lincourt no-oak Chard is clean and refreshing with aromatics of yellow fruit, white nectarine and melon. Throw in a surprisingly medium-bodied palate and a zippy tart finish and you have the perfect spring soiree wine!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Slowly I'm falling back in love with Domestic Chardonnay and it's because of wines like this! You wouldn't expect anything less in a Chardonnay coming from a producer than has such deep roots in Burgundy, but this wine is a true reminder of how on par Oregon Chardonnays can be with their bigger brothers. The Arthur is chock-full of savory on the nose that instantly transports me to France, but not just to Burgundy. The aromatics of clove, floral and almond skin faintly remind me of a great aged Savenierre. On the palate this Chardonnay is fresh and bright but also has a coating texture due to the mix of both stainless and oak aging. This Chardonnay is a true crowd-pleaser that is sure to delight everyone from your creamy malo lover to even the most finicky and discerning of palates.

2013 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 01-27-2017
So classically Rioja with the bright red cherry fruit, this $13 crianza over-delivers with copious amounts of earth, incense and beautiful baking spices.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-24-2017
​​​With all these new Willamette wines these days, you never know what to expect. Winemakers are trying so hard to be avant garde and constantly push the envelope but what does that mean for all of us that just like to drink a good Oregon Pinot Noir?!?!?! Thankfully the peeps at Banshee decided to start a Willamette Pinot project and the best thing is that winemaker Adam Smith is not afraid to make an Oregon Pinot that tastes like a Pinot Noir. A beautiful richness that's matched with subtle notes of integrated toast, bright red berry fruit and baking spices are elegantly supported by a firm backbone of bright acidity. Well worth the $20 price tag!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 01-17-2017
Whether you need this Riesling to elevate your mid-week Asian take-out or be a cheap and cheerful porch pounder at your Saturday night cook-out, the Kung Fu Girl will not disappoint. First of all, it's delicious! Secondly, it's only $10!! This isn't the mineral-driven, petrol-drenched Riesling that you share with your favorite local somm that you've been dying to impress. Rather, the Kung Fu Girl is that floral, stone fruit and citrus-driven white wine with just a hint of sweetness that every no fuss no muss evening is screaming for!

2013 Holus Bolus Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 12-06-2016
This is exactly the kind of domestic Syrah that I'm looking for! Not some ripe, extracted berry bomb, but a bright, spicy balanced red that packs a punch on the nose with some straight-off-the-vine wild berries, crushed pink peppercorns and savory smoked meat gaminess. While it did take a few minutes for the dynamic aromatics to appear, it was well worth the wait because the marriage between the articulated bouquet and the ample yet lifted weight on the palate demonstrates how using grapes from a slightly cooler vineyard in a "warmer" SoCal climate can lead to a syrah with elegance and balance.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Balance is the name of the game here. This collaboration zinfandel between Ancient Peaks and K&L is an ideal example of how a slightly cooler climate zinfandel can reach those heights of showcasing a unique terroir all the while being loaded with tons of ripe wild berries and spice. Straight out of the glass you get intense bramble and vine ripened black berries and a slight hint of black pepper. With such a strong showing on the nose, you would expect a massive chewy fruit bomb but this is were the balance comes into play. Yes, there's the classic zin fruit that one would expect but it's so harmoniously supported by the fresh, crisp acidity. I love zins that ride that fine line between being terroir driven while staying true to the fruity, playful variety and Brick and the team at AP has made me fall in love with zin all over again.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

2015 Daou Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-08-2016
This wine is all about the finish...because it goes on forever! You would never expect a $20 wine to have such an immensely long and persistent finish. While the nose is a touch subdued with elegant purple plum notes, the palate comes alive with warm baking spices, boysenberry and dark chocolate.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-12-2016
In my humble opinion, the most underrated sparkling on the market is the Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine ($24.00). There’s a touch more Chardonnay in the rosé than in the brut, and the Chardonnay clearly shows itself in the soft, creamy texture and elegance of this cuvee. The Pinot Noir helps round out the rosé with a delicate berry fruitiness that is balanced with a zippy blood orange finish. And while this elegant and delicious rosé is the perfect sparkling wine to bring to any holiday occasion, be prepared to bring two because it will go fast!

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine (375ml)
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

2013 Dunn Vineyards Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-12-2016
During our most recent Napa tasting trip, we tasted well over a hundred wines, but the 2013 Dunn Napa Valley Cab distinctly sticks out in my memory as one of the top ten wines we tasted. It's easy for all the wines to start blurring together when you taste that many, but when you taste a wine as good as the Dunn Napa Valley, it's impossible to forget. While the nose was slightly shocked (from just being bottled), the palate was full of dense, rich purple fruit and gobs of spice and fresh tobacco. What surprised me the most was despite how young this Cab is, the earthy, spicy finish just kept lingering.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2013 Green & Red "Tip Top Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-08-2016
If there's ever a wine that deserves to be called Tip Top, it's this Zin. Even on the precarious drive up to the serene winery, you feel as though you're teetering on the edge and at any moment you could fall off the side of the mountain. The vineyard itself sits between 1400-1800 feet above sea level terraced into the summit of the mountain. I guess it's only natural that the most impressive vineyard produces the most intriguing wine. Assuming it's because of the high elevation, stressed vines, this Napa zin is concentrated and structured with savory spice, pink peppercorn and bramble, along with black cherry and plum defining the palate. Drink today or put away, this Zin is sure to delight!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

2012 Heitz Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-30-2016
When I think of a classic, varietally correct California Cab, my number one go to is the Heitz Napa Valley. There is no manipulation that goes on with the Heitz Napa Valley Cabernet and the 2012 Cab is a pure expression of the vintage and terroir. Quintessential aromatics of cassis, kirsch and currants are balanced beautifully with an assortment of baking spices. The stamp of perfection is the bright, crunchy lifted finish and seamlessly integrated tannins.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Heitz Cellar Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-30-2016
This organic chardonnay, while being 25% barrel fermented, is still clean, structured and refreshing. Every Chardonnay fan will love the ripe stone fruit mid-palate and glycerol texture yet acid junkies will rejoice in the bright, racy finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
Opting to barrel ferment the fruit that goes into the “Belles Voyes”, it showcases the complexity that comes from the almost 100 year old vines. The rounded texture due to time spent in barrel helps elevate the complex aromatics of asian spice, orange zest, lemon meringue and a touch of brioche. The Bonville “Belles Voyes” is a tete du cuvee that can compete with the best of them but is also a pure example of the Cotes des Blancs terroir.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
The Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs is crisp, refreshing and vibrant with just the perfect balance of green apple and lime on the nose and palate. This cuvee sets itself apart from other Blanc de Blancs with how the Bonville family is able to create a creamy, full-bodied palate in conjunction with the bright and zesty flavor profile. They were able to achieve the harmonious balance between the acidity, the elegance, finesse and balance in this entry level cuvee.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
Produced from the Les Chettilons parcel, Launois decided to showcase the particular terroir of the parcel by producing the cuvee with only 4 atmospheres of pressure instead of the standard 6. In reducing the yeast and sugar content needed for the secondary fermentation, the aromatics of ripe stone fruit, like white nectarine and soft peaches become more predominant. And with less bubbles, the glycerol, full bodied texture supports the abundant amount of ripe fruit that lingers from the mid-palate all the way to refreshing finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-20-2016
Looks can be deceiving, as is the case with the Franck Bonville Rose. One glance at the intense pink color would lead anybody to believe that this rose will be an over the top fruit bomb, but this Chardonnay-dominant rose is exactly the opposite. With 92% Chardonnay, this rose is extremely elegant and fresh. Bright notes of strawberry and cherry are delightfully matched with aromas of ripe lemon and lime and the 8% Pinot Noir shines through in the creaminess on the palate. The perfect rose to please every palate at the party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Amazing palate full of juicy sun-baked red fruit with hints of spice and sweet leather. Perfect for an evening of family-style pasta or pizza.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Intense, yet exquisitely balanced, the Cuvee Eclatante has a subtle minerality on the nose, the classic bright apple fruit in the mouth and an elegant, seamless hazelnut finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1998 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne (no gift box)
Review Date: 09-16-2015
This second release of the 1998 has been delicately aging on its lees for well over 12 years before being disgorged and it shows in how beautifully mature and layered the aromatics are. I was extremely impressed at how vinous and structured this 18 year old cuvee was tasting and the integrated bouquet was just the icing on the top.

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-12-2015
While the 750ml alone is priced for those extra special occasions, biting the bullet and stepping up to the 1.5L magnum is well worth the huge jump! The Grand Cuvee always over delivers and never disappoints and the large format magnum takes the Grand Cuvee to transcendent levels. Aromas of marzipan, Asian spice, white flowers and Meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses and when you splurge for the 1.5L, the intergration of fruit, oak, spice and floral components is outstanding! While the jump up in price is not exponential, the quality and experience is!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Customers constantly ask me what my favorite champagnes are and I always tell people that each bottle is like a child to me and you can't possibly ask a mom to pick a favorite. But its a pretty well-known secret that Krug has always been a special little "baby" for me. Krug is hands-down my go-to tête de cuvée. While priced for those extra special occasions or a moment when you want to splurge, the Grand Cuvee over delivers and never disappoints. The grandeur of this cuvee is apparent immediately. Aromas of marzipan, Asian spice, white flowers and Meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses. The complexity on the nose is followed by a harmonious balance on the palate between the maturity of the oak-fermented reserve wines in juxtaposition with the focused, delineated acidity that comes from suppressing malolactic fermentation. Gorgeous now, even better with age, the Grand Cuvee is a must!

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Stylistically, Laurent Perrier is one of my favorite Grand Marques. I gravitate towards their bright, vibrant house style and that's exactly what you get in the Laurent Perrier "Cuvee Rose" Brut Rose Champagne​. While the rose is 100% Pinot Noir and macerated with full skin contact, this rose is surprisingly lifted and understated for receiving such a heavy-handed treatment. The nose and palate are loaded with copious amounts of red berry fruit with ripe strawberries taking center stage supported by a backdrop of clean minerality. The refreshingly tart finish of cranberries and pomegranate make this rose the perfect accompaniment to any special occasion.

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Gary has hit the ball out of the park with his latest DI offering! The Lamoureux Reserve Brut is sure to please every palate at the party. Elegantly toasty with notes of ripe pear and apple up front, this cuvee continues its decadent journey with a sumptuously sinful palate loaded with white nectarine and exotic starfruit. Couple this with a ridiculously creamy, full-bodied texture and ultra fine bead and you have a true 5 star Champagne!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Mari Keilman is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Mari Keilman, click here to join Mari Keilman's Personal Sommelier Service.
2005 Benjamin de Sansonnet, St-Emilion ($29.99)