Staff Favorites - Alex Pross

Alex Pross

Reviews

  
2014 Henri de Villamont Meursault "Clos du Cromin"
Review Date: 02-02-2017
This is an elegant take on Meursault that really speaks to the qualities of the 2014 vintage in Burgundy: the whites are clean and easy to drink. In Meursault, there were some reduced yields due to hail, but the wines that I've tasted thus far have been outstanding. The '14 "Clos du Cromin" is every bit as impressive as the Decanter review describes. It's fresh on the palate with length through the finish and it offers classic Burgundian flavors of toasty oak and stone fruit with a nuttiness on the finish. I'm hoping we can find more direct deals like this one from the vintage.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2013 Carpe Diem Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-11-2017
From the winemaking team at Dominus comes the 2013 Carpe Diem Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. An amazing value that demonstrates the perfect synergy between a fantastic vintage (2013) and a great winemaking team (Dominus) can produce a Cabernet Sauvignon of this quality for only $22.99 a bottle! Loaded with beautiful berry aromas, spice notes and dried herbs this perfectly balanced, fruit-driven Cabernet Sauvignon tastes like a blend of a Napa Valley Cab and a growth Bordeaux. Great length with impeccable balance makes the 2013 Carpe Diem Napa Valley a stellar offering.
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Oncle Vincent"
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Drinking a bottle of the 2014 Olivier Leflaive "Oncle Vincent" Bourgogne Blanc allows you to drink as if you're having a Puligny-Montrachet while paying Bourgogne Blanc pricing. I was stunned the minute I smelled this beautiful wine from the glass: aromas of flint, Asian pear and hazelnut deftly mingled with a palate full of racy minerality, pear and apple notes and a touch of oak. Richly textured with impeccable balance, this punches way above its meager price!!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Borsao "Tres Picos" Garnacha Campo de Borja
Review Date: 12-06-2016
One of my perennial Spanish go to wines is the Borsao Tres Picos Garnacha Campo de Borja. I've easily tasted ten vintages of this wine and I am always amazed at the incredible value this wine represents. In a lot of ways this is the quintessential Spanish Garnacha(Grenache) with its brambly raspberry fruit, molten rock, mocha notes and dried herb flavors that literally spring from the glass. A loaded wine, with layer upon layer of flavors this large-scale offering is perfect for the Spanish wine enthusiast.
Top Value!

2014 Domaine Lafage "Narassa Lieu Dit" Côtes-du-Roussillon
Review Date: 12-06-2016
Another amazing value from Lafage!! I don't know how they do it but boy am I glad they do. The 2014 Lafage Narassa Lieu Dit Cotes du Roussillon starts off with a beautiful nose of macerated cherries, spice and fresh cut flowers. The palate shows lovely texture and length with red berry fruit that lingers from the front of the palate and follows all the way to the long, soft finish. Harmonious notes of black licorice and underbrush nicely accent the berry flavors throughout. This may be my favorite Lafage wine to date!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2012 Michel Gassier "Lou Coucardié" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A seductive wine, the 2012 Lou Coucardie Rouge starts off with a gorgeous nose of cherry kirsch and marzipan followed up nicely with a touch of dried cranberries. The palate has great energy and lift with bright berry fruit, spice and licorice notes. Balanced and seamless with good acidity this is the perfect red wine for entertaining or your every day dinning at home.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-29-2016
An amazing Bordeaux value!! The 2014 Chateau de Landiras Bordeaux Rouge has a seductive nose of cherry liqueur, dark chocolate and crushed rocks. The palate is seamless with flavors of chocolate covered cherries, earth and oak accents this lovely full-bodied Bordeaux Rouge is quite a value. If you're looking for the perfect holiday red this is for you!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2012 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Prestige" Cahors
Review Date: 11-02-2016
I think about drinking Cahors on a cold winter evening when it’s warm inside and I can cook a big juicy steak for dinner. The wine has that rustic character from the concrete tanks used for fermentation and that dark, inky color that always looks so beautiful in the glass. This is a great bottle for the holiday months ahead, full of rich meals and cooler weather.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "Terre Noire" Beaujolais Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-07-2016
This is the best value in all of K&L Wines. There I said it! Grab this outstanding Beaujolais that is drinking fantastically right now. Beautiful strawberry and cherry fruit with subtle spice notes, minerality and just the right hint of acidity to add lift and balance make this the perfect little red wine for only $10.99.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pascal Berthier "Esprit de Séduction" Saint-Amour
Review Date: 10-07-2016
Wow!! Stop the search-this is your Thanksgiving wine. The 2015 Pascal Berthier "Esprit de Seduction" Saint Amour is a terrific wine. Dark cherry, smokey meats and subtle mocha notes nicely mingle against strawberry jam, silky tannins and bright acidity. Long, with a full finish this is the perfect match for turkey, stuffing and gravy.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 VN 90

2013 Lafite Rothschild, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
*** to ***½ For me this is always one of the toughest wines to taste En Primeur since it typically shows very monolithically. Dark and brooding, its initial aromas of burnt earth slowly fall away to reveal black cherry cola and blackberry with notes of milk chocolate. It displayed good fruit, length and nice tannin structure, ending fresh and bright. This is one of the more accessible Lafites I have tasted En Primeur.

2014 Billaud-Simon Chablis
Review Date: 06-20-2016
Delightful from the start, with aromas of lime blossom, flint and yellow flowers that lead to an energetic palate of citrus, iodine and mineral flavors, all of which are framed by zippy acidity.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Along with Chateau Margaux this is a candidate for wine of the vintage. Chateau Palmer has excelled in 2015 with a wine that is so pure and elegant that it feels lighter on the palate than it actually is. The depth, layers and complexity of this wine are mind-blowing and it may eclipse the famed 1983 Palmer that is recognized as one of the estate's greatest wines ever. While not cheap, this promises to be one of the greatest Palmer's ever made.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2015 Pavie Macquin, St-Emilion
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Along with Larcis Ducasse the 2015 Pavie Macquin is one of the more elegant St. Emilion's out there. With incredible purity of fruit nicely mingled against a hint of oak and zippy minerality this is a beautiful wine that has a Burgundian feel while still having a Bordelaise sensibility.
Top Value!

2015 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2016
Dark berry fruit, hints of dried herbs and tobacco. Pretty berry fruit, pencil lead and volcanic stone lead into a balanced and layered wine. Best Lynch since 2010.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2014 Calera Central Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-25-2016
Having just returned from Burgundy the 2014 Calera central Coast Chardonnay is very reminiscent of a nice village-to-1er Cru level Chablis. A great floral nose is followed by a crisp palate of green apples, citrus and wets stone notes. Fabulous vibrancy mixes deftly with good acidity and beautiful fruit notes. This is easily the best Calera Central Coast Chardonnay I have tasted and is a top value!
Top Value!

2013 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-24-2016
I am absolutely taken with the 2013 Taken Napa Valley Red Wine! Intoxicating aromas of spice, plum and marzipan rise from the glass as bright flavors of black cherry, plum and mocha notes flow across the palate. A smooth, sext wine that has good acidity to frame the rich, velvety tannins. A delicious red blend.
Top Value!

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-11-2016
A perennial best value year-in-and-year-out the 2012 Guigal Cotes-du-Rhone Rouge has outdone itself this year! An intoxicating nose of red fruits, spice, mocha and dried herbs seamlessly gives way to a palate loaded with cherry kirsch, red licorice, sage and subtle oak notes. Great acidity helps to balance out this fantastic little red wine. For a daily drinker this is hard to top!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2015 Alter Ego de Palmer, Margaux
Review Date: 05-11-2016
If you do not want to pay the hefty tariff for Chateau Palmer then a pretty fantastic compromise is to buy the 2015 Alter Ego de Palmer at a fraction of the price of Chateau Palmer. Alter Ego has got to be one of the great values in all of Bordeaux! Normally I am not a huge fan of second wines but since the 2012 vintage I have been enamored with this wine. It is spectacular, loaded with pure red berry fruit, beautiful delineation, hints of spice, mineral and a touch of lively green herbs this racy, taut wine is a joy to taste. With impeccable balance and fluidity it is hard to resist it as a barrel sample so I am in a quandary to imagine how wonderful it will be from the bottle.
Top Value!

2015 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Malescot St. Exupery is a top five producer in Margaux on an annual basis and the 2015 Malescot St. Exupery is no exception. At $49.99 this is the best value of the 2015 Bordeaux vintage in my opinion. To get a wine of this quality for under $50 is the exact reason to buy Bordeaux En Primeur. A beautiful wine packed with ripe red fruits, hints of chocolate and mint this is a silky smooth wine that is irresistible. Always a favorite they have once again knocked it out of the park!
Top Value!

2015 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-09-2016
One of the wines of the vintage, the 2015 Pape Clement is a stunning wine. At a fraction of the cost of La Mission Haut Brion and Haut Brion this wine should be snatched up! Loaded with deep berry fruit(both blue and purple) as well as spice notes, liquified rock and earth notes the purity here is breathtaking. A classic in the making this is a flat-out fabulous wine.
Top Value!

2015 Clos Haut Peyraguey, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Tasted at Chateau Pape Clement, this property was purchased by Bernard Magrez and the purchase is already seen dividends. Easily the best young Clos Haut Peyraguey I have ever tasted. Floral, mineral, citrus notes, passion fruit all are present and nicely buffered by good acidity. the finish here is long and powerful. Very Impressive.
Top Value!

2015 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
Always fantastic the 2015 Guiraud once again is a shinning star. An intoxicating nose leads directly to a palate filled with candied ginger and orange notes nicely nestled against rich caramel flavors.
Top Value!

2015 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-04-2016
This is a perpetual overachiever, drinks like one of the more well-known producers which cost 2-3 times as much. Notes of dried pineapple, ginger and hints of tropical fruit cascade down the palate on this beauty.
Top Value!

2015 Lafleur-Gazin, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
Loaded with dark blackberry notes this wine is rich and full-bodied with tobacco and earth notes. A classic old-world Pomerol in the making.
Top Value!

2015 Bourgneuf, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-28-2016
An impressive Bourgneuf, loaded with deep berry fruit, pepper and spice. Good length and energy, this is easily the best Bourgneuf I have ever tasted from barrel.
Top Value!

2015 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Fabulous sample, this comes from a small property that sits next to famed Le Pin and Trotanoy and adjacent to Lafleur-Petrus and La Violette. If you can't afford the tariff for these producers this is a great fall back. Immediately upon tasting I thought of Petrus stylistically before I knew the vineyard's proximity to greatness in Pomerol. The wine is super-sexy with exotic notes of black tea, Asian spice and black licorice. Loaded with velvety tannins this is a blockbuster in the making and a stunning wine. If you're a fan of Pomerol this is a wine to buy.
Top Value!

2015 Haut-Brisson, St-Émilion
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Beautiful red cherry fruit with cinnamon notes and hints of spice. The fruit here has a crunchy feel because of how fresh it is thanks to the good acidity. The finish is a tad exotic with notes of mocha and oatmeal on the finish.
Top Value!

2015 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Outstanding value!! Loaded with blueberry/blackberry fruit backed up by good minerality and salinity. Soft tannins and ripe fruit make this a delicious St. Emilion that won't break the bank.
Top Value!

2012 Clinet, Pomerol
Review Date: 01-12-2016
If you’re a fan of Pomerol then you owe it to yourself to check out the 2012 Chateau Clinet Pomerol. Always a consistent performer this year they have lapped the field with a broad-shouldered wine loaded with a sexy nose of cherry-kirsch, dark fruit and baker’s chocolate. The palate is a densely wound core of purple fruits, blackberry and blackcurrants with hints of molten earth and spice. Loaded with fine tannins and nice oak accents this wine is flat-out delicious!!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2012 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 01-12-2016
Last year I had the opportunity to visit Chateau d’Issan for the first time and I was absolutely blown away by both the beauty of the Chateau as well as the deliciousness of the wines. The 2012 d’Issan Margaux for $49.99 is a flat-out steal and is easily one of the better values I have tasted for under $50. A beautiful nose of rose, raspberry cream and subtle hints of mocha follow thru to a delicate and pretty palate of dark raspberry, graphite and crushed flowers. Great structure and delineation lead to a soft and supple finish. Bravo!!
Top Value!

2014 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
Review Date: 06-28-2015
One of the wines of the vintage. Dark, rich and full-bodied, with hints of cola and spice. Really nice, great length with blackberry fruit and layers upon layers. ***1/2 to ****

2014 Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-03-2015
Definitely in the classic style of Mouton but with a touch more forward sweet which is nice, but is still very concentrated. Long serious wine and should be one of the great aging values. 1.5 Stars

2014 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-03-2015
Not quite up the standard of the 2000 or the 2005, this is still a very, very good wine. Deep, dark berry fruit, coffee, tobacco, hints of pencil lead--a very fine Lynch that is built to age. Score: 3-3½ stars

2014 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-03-2015
Not quite up the standard of the 2000 or the 2005, this is still a very, very good wine. Deep, dark berry fruit, coffee, tobacco, hints of pencil lead--a very fine Lynch that is built to age. Score: 3-3½ stars

2014 Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac
Review Date: 04-30-2015
There’s a resurrection going on at Mouton, a new facility coupled with a renewed effort equals outstanding wine. Herbs & chocolate notes dominate the nose, good length with fine tannins, loaded with dark berry fruits & bitter chocolate. Score: 3-3½ stars
Price: $439.99 Add To Cart
JS 99 VN 97 RP 94 - 96
WE 96 WS 96
Limit of 12 per customer

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Hécula" Monastrell Yecla
Review Date: 02-16-2015
Another ridiculous value from Bodegas Castano, the 2012 Hecula is a screaming value! Bright and zesty with spicy notes and a touch of white pepper, this wine has wonderful flavors of red fruit, licorice, hints of bitter chocolate with subtle pepper and mineral notes. A terrific value, this wine is the perfect everyday drinker that can go seamlessly go from an aperitif wine to meal-worthy with almost any fare and not miss a beat.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 Pétrus, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-14-2014
***½ Floral, with wild herbs, black cherry and hints of roasted coffee. It's rich, ripe, layered and silky, with lots going on. The finish lasted 30+ seconds.

2013 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-14-2014
*** This is sure to be one of the more controversial wines of the vintage. From barrel it was super floral and intoxicating on the nose, with complex plum and spice cake notes that gave it almost a minced meat pie--Zinfandel-esque, unlikely as that sounds!--quality, with boysenberry and blackberry fruit on the palate. It comes together, however, and finishes with harmony and elegance. This could turn out to be great.

2010 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 12-12-2013
Seamless and plush, with hints of chocolate and mint on the nose and chocolate-covered cherry flavors on the palate. This wine is hedonistic, sexy and tough to spit out.

Absolut "Elyx" Single Estate Vodka (1L)
Review Date: 05-23-2013
One of my drinks of choice when I’m out at a bar is vodka rocks with a twist. It is simple and easy to make and generally leaves me hangover free. Usually I opt for Belvedere because it is smooth and easy to drink even though it may lack a truly distinct flavor. When I tasted the Absolut Elyx Vodka I was blown away, it was smooth & rich but had a very clean and distinctive profile with hints of vanilla and hazelnut notes on the finish. A wonderful tasting vodka and an even better value this is perfect on its own or use it as a top-shelf blending ingredient in your next martini or gimlet.
Price: Hidden View Price

2009 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 03-05-2013
This wine is gorgeous, with incredible, complex red fruits that feel almost Burgundian in style. Such delineation!

2009 Malartic-Lagravière Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 10-29-2012
Big, bold, with great tannins. This wine sings with fruit and terroir.

2010 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux (3L)
Review Date: 05-16-2011
Seamless and plush, with hints of chocolate and mint on the nose and chocolate-covered cherry flavors on the palate. This wine is hedonistic, sexy and tough to spit out.