Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2014 Domaine de Montbourgeau "En Banode" l'Etoile
Review Date: 04-19-2018
The wines from Montbourgeau are always such a treat and in a lot of ways this one is maybe the most interesting. We often have to steer people away from some of the weird Jura wines because they're really an acquired taste, they're not inexpensive and so there's kind of this underlying fear that the uninitiated will absolutely hate it. The En Banode bridges that gap nicely, showing enough the oxidized funk to keep any die hard fan happy for days, while softening the intense acidity of a typical voile savagnin with some pretty chardonnay fruit. The nutty quality is there but more as a frame than the most prominent flavor. Almost anyone who is interested in wine and somewhat adventurous will find something to love here. The gorgeous bouquet the wonderful texture and acidity, it's really the whole package.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

1997 Bowmore 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-18-2018
If I had to pick one distillery to drink for the rest of my life, Bowmore would definitely be in the running. They do some solid and safe stuff at the distillery, but where it truly shines are the single casks. I'm not sure why we've had such incredible luck with this distillery, but we've literally purchased every casks we've tasted distilled in the last several years (save the 1971 at Signatory, but only because it was $1000+ a bottle). While there was a weird period at the distillery from the early 80s to the mid 90s, they seem to have cycled through those casks and we're not seeing the perfumed weird stuff any longer. What we have seen has been so delicious and diverse I just never get tired of them. Even more impressive is that we're able to get old Islay whisky from a blue chip distillery and not charge $300 a bottle! Even though we've done two others this year already this cask was so different and absolutely delectable we couldn't resist it. You may think you have enough Bowmore, but you're wrong. It opens with a classic Bowmore nose, medium intensity peat, sea spray, wet earth, bright citrus fruit and herbs. Crystalline and absolute purity on the palate with the sweet tropical fruit, citrus peel and smoke working together in gorgeous harmony. The first whisky for Springtime! I like this better than the last cask by a few ticks and with a drop of water it's one of the more inviting Bowmore we've ever bottled.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark "K&L Exclusive" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-07-2018
While selecting single barrels is good fun, it can also bit nerve racking. You open a cask and stick your nose in the glass and often have to make a decision relatively quickly on the quality of the juice. After 10 years tasting I'm pretty confident in my palate, but there's still a feeling that each barrel is a bit of a referendum on my palate. Of course, I don't make the whiskey that we sell, I just buy it! That's what makes these Maker's Mark Private Selects so interesting. This is the first time, outside of blending in Scotland, that I've truly had a hand at whiskey creation. I took my time with it. The whole operation is kind of outrageous. Maker's Mark has even built a custom warehouse into the side of the hill behind the distillery. They had actually planned to build out the warehouse underground, but an esoteric Kentucky law prohibits the aging of bourbon below ground. So instead this massive warehouse is build against the hill, the coolest -in temperature and style- I've ever experienced. Right in the center of this heavily traffic tourist attraction is a private tasting area enclosed in glass. There they've got samples of the five stave types aged and ready to be blended along with expressions of EVERY barrel bottled to date. You sit down in this extremely well appointed room at the Maker's Distillery in Loretto and sip as tourists gawk behind thick glass walls. It's all a bit over the top, these random people examining you as you blend the various flavors. That of course didn't detract from the exciting task at hand. The key to building a great whiskey in this program is to influence and enhance without masking the inherent deliciousness of the Maker's itself. I tried every possibility, equal parts of each expression? Nope, it felt muddled and unbalanced. Tiny bits of each with a high level of American. Definitely not, even the smallest addition of the Mocha stave and you start to get a bitter note that is very UN-maker's in my opinion. In an effort to be innovative and not rehash recipes we'd already proven (Thank you Mr. Driscoll), I started to toy with different proportions of the three staves that I felt actually enhanced the whiskey drinking experience. The Baked American Pure #2, The Seared French Cuvee and the classic Maker's 46, each offered a subtle, but distinct addition to the potpourri of delicious sweet flavors that make Maker's one of the world's best bourbons. I ultimately settled on something that I felt was going to retain the balance and sweetness of Maker's, but enhance and add additional complexity. I waited nearly 6 months to find out how my experiment developed. On first nosing, I was astonished by how prominent the woodsy staves showed. I honestly thought I'd missed the mark completely. But I set my glass down and returned in 15 minutes to a totally different whiskey. The nose is a constantly morphing beast, bold and full of spice, but tempered with gorgeous sweet peach tea, caramel and fresh vanilla. I knew this whiskey would be rich, but it's absolutely thick on the palate. Creamy and sweet up front with a big bold spice on the back. The finish is all vanilla, roasted coffee beans, nutmeg, cinnamon, clove and dark wood. This CERTAINLY is not how I imagined this whiskey to be, but it IS absolutely delicious. Warming rich and overtly pleasurable with tons of nuance and depth. The scariest thing is how good the glass smells when you've finished your pour -that always means I end up pouring another. Dangerous...
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5851 Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
Well here is something different! I was expecting something ultra heavy and dark when I heard we'd be trying Single Cask Knob Creek Rye, but when the samples arrived I was surprised to find something totally out of the norm for Jim Beam. High-toned, fragrant and zesty, this bold little rye isn't quiet in line with any of the other Beam Ryes. Probably the closest thing I can compare it to is an old hotter version of Old Overholt, but even so it doesn't have the classic varnish quality we might expect there. The biggest parallel is the obvious maltiness that comes out at the end of the glass, which is something I definitely got in the new Overholt bonded, but the liveliness of this whiskey has no parallel in Beam's portfolio. It's not altogether traditional Kentucky Rye, but it is absolutely delicious and certainly a welcome change from some of the other high proof ryes on the market.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #3650 (7th Floor, Warehouse B) Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-04-2018
What's most striking about the three barrels we pulled out of the dark cavernous warehouses at the Brown-Forman plant in Shively, Kentucky is how strikingly different they are. Old Forester is known to be one of the most consistent and high quality distilleries, but even within a handful of casks we've experience incredible diversity. One cask was classic varnish, old wood and spice box. One was ultra woodsy and herbal. This cask is probably the most balanced and approachable of the three and shows tons of dark roasted spices balanced by a dense woodsy sweetness. Subtle aromas of caramel, tea and cooked red apples meld perfectly into the dark spice driven palate. Good texture despite being 90 proof and that baked apple quality comes back up on the finish to round out the package nicely. This isn't whiskey you need to sit around and think about. It's a joy to drink and that's what it's for. It's balanced but not boring. I have difficulty finding any faults with it as long as you don't mind the dry palate mid-palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wathen’s Private Barrel #59 "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2018
We've been content previously to let these wonderful Wathen's single barrels sell naturally off the shelf. It's usually those early adopters who take a chance only to let the bottle sit in the bar for a few weeks that end up coming back begging for more. I used to be able to give it to them. Those were the days...I think I erroneously referred to the last casks a "certain sleeper" meaning it might be around for a while until the real heads figure out how special it was. Talking like that has the fully intended consequence of peaking almost everyone's interest. One bottle turns into two or three at the touch of a button these days. Now I have people constantly returning asking me if I still have that awesome cask from those Medley boys, but of course we do not. The single cask program here moves pretty slow. I selected this bad boy along side the AMAZING Barrel Proof offering last year and it's just showing up now. I remember sitting across from Sam at lunch tasting the line up. He asked, "what do you look for when selecting a cask?" I hummed and hawed a bit. "We want something special. Something bigger and better than our customers can already get, not just different, but noticeably better. But in terms of the one quality that I'm looking for in determining the value of a particular cask, it would be balance." Sam lit up, "That's exactly what my Dad says!" "I like you David." I feel the same way Sam...and that quality is exactly what we find in this wonderful barrel. The nose starts VERY corn driven. Corn bread baking in an old wooden house. As it aerates the fruit starts to pour out of the glass. Sticky stewed stone fruit, tart red cherries and that corn boiling behind. Then gorgeous fresh cut wood, touches of graphite and dried herbs. In the mouth, its round and medium bodied. The front end is more toward the caramel and toffee than the fruit, but in the middle the spices really take over tinged by old wood and earthy gravel. The finish is medium length and super soft with almost no burn though the obvious barrel spice dries it up and begs you for another sip. Classy stuff...
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

El Tesoro "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #158 Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Visiting La Alteña distillery was truly a dream come true for me. Jalisco is one of the most interesting and dynamic places in Mexico and the drive up to Arandas was like a holy pilgrimage. What's striking about the drive from Guadalajara is how gradual the ascent to nearly 6000 is. You barely notice it. You also don't see a lot of Agave growing along the way, a sign that the agave shortage might actually be real. Once you've reach altitude, you begin to see tiny blue green dots contrasting the vibrant red earth. The tiny young agave planted in small fields near homes and around villages on any exposed patch, another sign that some locals are hoping to cash in on the current high prices of agave. Unlikely that they'll be getting the inflated price once those plants are mature, but the haphazard nature of the plantings mirrors the industry's crisis perfectly. Arriving at La Alteña, you notice the incredible security. High agave prices mean potential for agave thieves and our guide Carlos Camarenas eluded to the problem as we walked through the fields. Carlos is a wizard in the fields and his depth of knowledge is astounding. He jokes and smokes a cigarette and the green smell of cut agave wafts through the air. The striking red brick and open air distillery are exactly what you'd imagine an old tequila distillery to look like, blue agave stretches out in every direction. The old way of making great tequila isn't that complicated, but it's a lot of hard work. Simple tricks have made La Alteña more efficient, like driving the Tahona with a tractor instead of a donkey. A conveyor belt to lift the freshly cut agave to the ovens. A mesh bag to hold the bagasse in the fermenters for easy cleaning. The process is the same as it would have been when Don Felipe opened the distillery 80 years ago. We were offered 9 samples to select from when the tour was over, but they had another 40 cask samples awaiting our evaluation. IT was a race to find the best. Carlos had separated the samples into three flavor profiles going from lightest bodied to heavier. When I came across barrel 158 I knew instantly that we'd found a gem. Big bold nose of fragrant agave, steamed pumpkin, subtle mineral, deep floral and tropical fruit only accented in the most subtle way by nine months in oak. The palate was luxurious and rich, with an unexpected softness that belied the pungent qualities on the nose. The unprecedented purity of the spirit itself matched only by the purity of this most authentic of experiences.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 02-07-2018
I'm absolutely in love with Nebbiolo. Am constantly on the hunt for Piedmont stuff that I can afford to drink on the regular. As with Burgundy, it can get a little dicey with the low end side of the market, so when we find an inexpensive and varietally correct Nebbiolo at an affordable price, we tend to hoard it. Typically, I'll direct people to the other end of the store, but in this case I felt the an absolute obligation to alert our customers to this special wine. For years, we've been led to believe that Barolo is the big masculine brother of the elegant and sophisticated sister, Barbaresco. Of course this over simplification does nothing but serve to confuse an already complex region. That said this little Barbaresco, fits rights pretty nicely into stereotype without sacrificing it's integrity or varietal character. All this at about half the price we'd expect to pay. Already drinking like a dream, but with the meat to last for years, the nose has the complexity and nuance of a top tier Nebbiolo. Baskets of savory treats, a touch of salumi, a dried floral and earthy spice. Behind all that a beautiful linear lifted red fruit tone. Lip smacking acidity, wonderful texture and a long satisfying finish tie the entire package up with a perfect little bow. Easily one of the most quaffable wines available in the price point. This is a must buy for me.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-07-2018
Everyone just about flipped out for the 2010 Brunello, but I have to say I'm enjoying the 2012s MUCH more at this stage in their development than I did the 2010s. I love the bold richness of a great Brunello, but the best must always have an Italian elegance that's difficult to accurately describe without experiencing it directly. For me the 2010s lacked some of that quality and replaced it with a striking baked fruit theme that stretched across nearly every producer. The 2012s are a return to a calssic elegance after the ultra hot 2011 vintage. Tenuta Di Sesta has really outdone themselves with this wine. Full and textured. Clearly youthful, but so lifted and open. Dense dark red fruit on the nose. Hints of cranberry, dried hibiscus, fresh unsweetened cherry compote. The palate is mouth filling and unctuous, but not heavy at all. An absolutely diamond smooth tannin and a fabulous base of earthy spice balance out that ultra seamless red fruit. Not even an implication of oak spice or vanillas, just perfectly elegant Montalcino for a ridiculously low price. If you consume this anytime in the next 5 years allow for a minimum 1 hour decanted. This one loves air.

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 02-07-2018
Rarely do we come across a Tuscan wine that appeals to so many different palates while costing so little. The Pepita is exactly that. It's a juicy round dark fruited full bodied wine that any Cali drinker would pick up and be forced to investigate Tuscany further. It's got wonder acidity and the tiniest crunchy tannin to keep the foodies from calling it fruit juice and that lovely baseline earthiness that we expect from a solid Italian blend. I don't usually describe red wine as something to guzzle, but it's going to be difficult to stop yourself from opening a second bottle of this bad boy. Don't worry about it though, it's only $15 and you know you didn't really want to go out anyway...
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Abbazia di Novacella Grüner Veltliner Alto Adige
Review Date: 02-06-2018
An absolute pleasure. Not even the Austrians to the north can match the exceptional value of this stupendous little Gruner. It's varietally correct and so approachable, but not at all boring or derivative. The nose is all juicy white and yellow berries with subtle floral and strong mineral components. The palate is vibrant with a linear acidity that keeps this lifted and super thirst-quenching. It has that Gruner crunchiness but it's not at all austere. A great value and a super wine to open literally any time regardless of what's being served or the mood in general.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Patz & Hall Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-12-2018
In many ways P&H is the quintessential Sonoma Coast Pinot delivering on that promise without ignoring that it is in fact Pinot Noir. This nose is open and full of dark cherry and wild red fruit, it's open and expressive but not dominated completely by the fruit. Hints of savory herbs and earthy spice float around behind the focused fruit. On the palate everything is in line, but what gets me most excited is the structure. Instead of the overly extracted texture we're used to in Sonoma these days, we're getting vivid acid and a crunchy silky tannin that gives this one some real depth. Balanced without any overt oak or unkempt quality whatsoever. I'd love to drink a few cases of this over the next 5-10 years. I remember this being more expensive...
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Stolpman "La Cuadrilla" Ballard Canyon Red Blend
Review Date: 01-12-2018
Another gorgeous and balanced offering from our dear friends at Stolpman. This is exactly what I wish California could do more often. Affordable, varietally correct syrah that's approachable but by no means neutered or dumbed down. A dark purple color with garnet around the edge. A nose of peppered plums, subtle earthy spice, rip brambly fruit and heady dried flowers/herbs. Medium plus body with an evident, but very appealing soft tannin and wonderful lifted acid. Very hard to find a better $20 from California.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Kavalan Solist "Sherry Cask - K&L Exclusive" Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-28-2017
The "Solist" line of single casks from Kavalan has taken the whisky world by storm. They're winning awards left and right. Asian Whisky of the year! Single Cask Single Malt of the Year! World's Best Single Malt! It's almost unfair. I don't know exactly what these guys are doing at that special distillery on this humid Pacific island, but I know that their whisky is easily out-classing the competition across the globe. Maybe it's because they're committed to quality in a way the Scottish distillers no longer are or maybe they're even using paxarette to season the barrels after the long voyage to the Pacific (this controversial practice was outlawed in Scotland in the '80s, but has since been deemed responsible for some of the great sherried malts of the latter half of the 20th century). It really doesn't matter to me how they do it. The whiskies are extraordinary and in a class totally on their own. This special cask is the first "Solist" Sherry we selected ourselves and will be available exclusively at K&L. It represents a huge percentage of the entire allocation of the brand for California over the next year. It's arresting and intense but balanced beyond any Solist I've yet to come across. The nose is pure Oloroso, deep dense hazelnut and pecan butters, sweet molten brown sugar, Christmas cake, stewed apricots, fig jam, dried cherries and raisins. The palate explodes with spice, yet the alcohol heat is almost completely masked with the rich, opulent dried fruit, sweet thick nutty flavors. Hints of phenol and spice. The palate is completely enveloped by the viscous texture, but it doesn't feel overly sweet or syrupy and begins to twinge on the bitter roots and dried exotic botanical barks. These bitter aromatics are the perfect balance to the almost over the top sherry notes. The finish kicks up with a huge balancing spice on the finish. Consummately pleasurable, dotting every i and crossing every t, the whisky neither lacks nor requires anything to be absolutely astonishing. This is truly total package and dangerously drinkable.
Price: $209.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #550 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-04-2017
Barrel #550 is easily the crowd pleaser in this recent batch of excellent Wild Turkey barrels. The nose is 100% baked Red Delicious, sweet wild honey, woodsy spice. Unctuous and mouth coating with a strong sense of brown sugar and none of the pepper we usually get on these Russell's Casks. Full bodied and full steam it sticks with you for quite a while after the glass is empty. A true treat and easily what some might term a honey barrel.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #545 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-04-2017
This barrel #545 fits perfectly in between the other two barrels in terms of style. Not as austere and intense as #89, but not as sweet and soft as #550. The nose has wonderful pop of evergreen, roasted herbs, flambeed orange peel, and sweet oak. On the palate we've got tons of fruit up front, braised orchard fruits and dark cherry that build into a strong pepper and spice on the finish. The mid-palate is textured and bursting with roasted woods and exotic vanilla. This whisky isn't restrained by any means, but does need some teasing to really open up, maybe 15-20 min in the glass to really unleash the full potential.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #089 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-04-2017
Barrel 89 is easily the funkiest and most herbaceous of this new batch of wonderful Russell's Reserve single Barrels. While it doesn't enter the full on barnyard funk that sometimes exists in these barrels, it definitely has a bigger spice than the others. Big notes of varnish and antique wood, savory herbs, subtle notes of hay and fresh roasted coffee. Melted brown sugar round out those drier flavors on the nose. The palate continues the orchestra of herbaceous dark flavors. A bit of sweet maple notes on the mid palate keep it from being totally overpowering, but the pepper and spice build again on the finish. For those who like the big bold dry rye driven style WT this is definitely the move.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-11-2017
There's something special about Fukano that sets it apart from the other whiskies in this category. Often times I'm worried with Rice based whisky that they're trying to sell us glorified Shochu. Some brands do indeed make products that are only a tick or two away from what you might expect a high proof sake to taste like, but Fukano is in another league. I'm not sure if its the quality or intensity of the malt that is used or the distillation or perhaps the new oak Puncheons, but the depth and aromatic power that is achieved on the Fukano is simply unparalleled. The nose is a heady mix of Cola nut, dried fruit, maple wood, and bold dark spices. A bright fresh front palate of coconut and citrus fruit devolves into an incredible spiced fruit bouquet. The finish is big bold toasted Tahitian vanilla. There's something perfectly balanced about it although it's got some wild flavors and it's hard to pinpoint which category it reminds me of most. At one point, I'm thinking, "this feels like Single Malt." The next I'm drinking brandy. The fresh oak alludes to bourbon, but some of the exotic notes are distinctly rummy. Whatever you want to compare it to Fukano is producing some of the best whisky in the world right now and we're extremely lucky to get a little bit when we can.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Tom's Foolery Bottled In Bond Single Barrel #31 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2017
Here's another wonderful BIB Bourbon from our friends outside of Chagrin Falls, OH. This one, much more so than the rye we've also recently acquired, is very much in the "typical" Tom's Foolery style. That means a big nose of sweet grains and toasty oak. With these pot stilled bourbons you've really got to hammer them with air to get the full experience, but once you've allowed it to mellow in the glass for a solid 30 minutes, the nuance and depth really come out. Tinctures of dark herbs, sweet corn, dark fruits (cherries?), a subtle earthy gravel notes and a deep oak spice. The palate is brighter and opens up nicely with air as well. Textured and chewy, but very much on the dry side of bourbon. Here the subtle malty tones give the impression of a roasted coffee, dried stone fruit and a long warming finish. It's definitely whiskey the old fashioned way, without all the sugary sweetness of some modern bourbons. Makes you kind of nostalgic for a time you never knew.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Tom's Foolery Single Barrel #127 Cask Strength Ohio Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2017
This monstrous whiskey maybe the best we've ever had from Tom and Lianne. The full rye mashbill and slow pot still distillation have produced some sort of sensory neutron bomb. The big bold nose is filled with fresh mint, dried fruit, Christmas cake and cocoa nibs. As it opens the baking spice becomes more prominent and the mint as well. It's forestry and almost piney, but not herbal to the point of being anis-like. The entry is racy and generous, with the spicy oak and powerful rye battling for dominance. The texture is unparalleled at full strength, such that it envelopes the mouth like a steal trap. It won't let go. You've just got to accept your fate. This is exactly what I imagine whisky in the old days was like. A truly unique eye opening experience. Why can't all craft whiskey be like this?
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Cadenhead's Classic 100 Proof Caribbean Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-13-2017
The insanity of this product is that there's not a regularly available rum on the market today that comes anywhere close to delivering this much rummy complexity for the price or any price for that matter. There are some wonderful blended rums available, but few capture the exotic intensity of this special product. Dense nose of ultra ripe pineapple syrup, funky Caribbean pot stills, sweet Tahitian vanilla, and roasting Demerara sugar. The palate entry has tons of structure, with an obvious molasses note at the front the builds to a dry mid palate filled with tropical fruit. The medium funk from nose persists on the palate, but not to the extent of taking over the other flavors. Long and satisfying like a day on the beach. Bravo to our friends in Campbeltown!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Bowman Bros Small Batch Virginia Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-06-2017
The wonderful Bowman Bros Bourbons are an odd thing. This is one of the only triple distilled bourbons out there and it starts with distillate from Buffalo Trace (mashbill #1 & #2) being trucked out to the Bowman facility in Virginia. It's distilled a third time (the continuous still and again on the doubler at BT should count as two) on the Bowman's pot still, which looks as though it might be a component on a space rocket built in the 1800s. The resulting distillate is rich and supple, unique, but familiar. The small batch is a great balance between the sweet Bowman's style and some nice rye spice. An easy going whiskey at a great price that hints at the potential of some of Bowman's higher-end offerings.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Old Forester K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #2023 Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
A splendid example of what this special distillery is capable of. A powerful nose of toasted vanilla, dried cherries, mellow spice, and hardwoods. With some air we start to get fresh forest floor, melted brown sugar, overripe orchard fruit and some type of peppercorn medley. Warm and mouthwatering on the entry, bold sweet grains moving toward dark pepper and spicy oak as it finishes. There are very few single barrel on the shelf that deliver such an all encompassing and overtly pleasurable drinking experience.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Te Mata "Estate" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-24-2017
I'm pretty picky about my syrah. I like them fancy and cool climate. Very few under $20 suit my palate, but this exceptional offering should prove to everyone that Hawke's Bay is capable of making world class syrah for an incredible price. We already know Te Mata is the gold standard in NW, but at this price point it's also becoming one of the best value driven producers on our shelves. A nose of dense dark pepper, herbal brambly red and purple fruit and heady sandalwood. The palate is perfectly structured with evident but approachable tannins and a lovely lifted acidity. This is one to buy by the case and drink over the next 5+ years without questions one of the best values of the year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 A.J. Adam Dhron Hofberg Riesling Kabinett Mosel
Review Date: 08-24-2017
There's very little in the store that offers so much overt pleasure, complexity and versatility than this special Kabinett. The nose is just crammed full of juicy yellow fruit, strong petrol fumes, crunchy pulverized stone. The palate is vibrant, super fresh wonderfully balanced showing formidable acidity to offset any obvious sweetness. Few wines spark the appetite more readily than this little magic bean, have it with spicy thai, spetzle, or my favorite pairing with Double Double animal style.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Rudi Pichler Riesling Federspiel Wachau
Review Date: 08-24-2017
Pichler is just a stellar producer and each time I taste it I realize that the glowing accolades aren't hyperbolic whatsoever. The Federspiel Riesling delivers everything you could ever want from a dry Riesling and more. A nose of incredible freshness, crushed stone, lemon oil, vibrant and piercing mineral note. Not as brooding as some, but still with a hint of petrol. Long structured and full of crunchy acidity. A world class wine from a world class name.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2004 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-24-2017
Aye I couldn't believe that this was showing better than the 2005 in the last tasting. The 2005 feels downright shutdown next to this gorgeous and mature 2004. Surely the 05 is still the vintage to hold, but for drinking now there's very little in the store that will offer more for your dollar than the special 04 Langoa. Gorgeous soft black and red fruits, totally integrated and seamless. The ultra elegant style is the hallmark of this special property and the 04 delivers that experience to a T.

2007 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-24-2017
Another '07 that is out performing the price point. The ultra old school style, which is usually pretty darn tannic until they're 20+ years old is actually showing extreme elegance in this cooler vintage. Big perfumed nose of mineral, gravel, dark cherry and exotic aged woods. Structured and mouthfilling, but not heavy or tight at all. For the quality and reputation it's great to take advantage of the odd vintage discount.

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-24-2017
I love Tronquoy's Merlot heavy St Estephe style. Leafy, mineral driven red fruit, subtle licorice and earthy underbrush. The palate shows great structure, lovely acid driven style that just keeps you wanting more. Some gravelly notes, but more on the red fruit and leafy earth. Medium bodied but with a long subtle finish. Awesome example of cool vintage merlot and how fab it can be. A reminder that you should always buy the chateau not just the vintage.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2009 Branas Grand Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 08-24-2017
Bold powerful and robust nose of dark blackberry fruit, subtle hints of incense and lacquer. Lush, soft and rich on the palate with the tannins totally integrated. A very open and bold style without compromising it's origin or throwing to much sweetness or oak at you.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

Siete Leguas Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 08-09-2017
The Siete Leguas Blanco stands as a pillar among all spirits. Proof that agave can produce spirits unlike almost any other spirit in that they can be superlatively good without the addition of any flavoring, aging or adulteration of any kind. I'd put the 7 Leguas Blanco up at the top of my list of wonderful white spirits along with other great authentically produced tequilas like El Tesoro, Tapatio and Fortaleza. I'm not a complete purist though as this tequila is not 100% Tahona press like the Fortaleza, but the exquisite character, supreme drinkability and obvious quality sets 7 Leguas apart from only the very best competitors. The nose is strongly floral (honeysuckle and rose hips) and surprisingly less fruity than the reposado yet showing plenty of gorgeous green agave notes and easy earthy pepper. On the palate the fruit is turned up before moving back toward this earthy almost green tea flavor. This is NOT tequila for vodka drinkers, but does stand out (as it always has) as one of the most exciting spirits in the store at any price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Siete Leguas Reposado Tequila
Review Date: 08-09-2017
The special 7 Leguas brand of tequila continues to be one of the most underappreciated operations in Mexico. Founded in 1952 by Ignacio Garcia Vargas in Atotonilco, this tequila stands a pillar of tradition and passion for this great spirit. Easily in my top five tequilas brands and unique in their production technique, 7 Leguas produces tequila exclusively for their own brand and no third party brands from what I can tell. Siete Leguas actually operates two distilleries in the highlands. El Centenario uses traditional Tahona, wooden fermenters, old brick ovens, the inclusion of bagazo in the mosto (wort), and tiny copper pot stills. The other is called La Vencedora and is their "modern" distillery. Here they use mechanical mills, larger steel fermenters without the bagazo included, large brick ovens and larger copper pot stills. So still pretty old school compared too many of their contemporaries. These two distillates are blended by taste and then rested in ex-bourbon barrels for 8 months to create one of the most overtly pleasurable drinking experiences on the market today. This gorgeous reposado exhibits heady agave fruit, candied pineapple, subtle oak spice and rich vanilla. The palate is very rich, but always remaining on the fresh agaveness with the oak only serving to frame the beautiful authentic quality of this special spirit. It doesn't matter how you drink this, cocktail, shots, or sipped straight, if you're drinking 7 Leagues, you're gonna have a good time.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
The wonderful Berry's No 3 Gin is a classic, but there's no better way to experience this special gin than sitting down at DUKES Bar in London's West End and having the illustrious Alessandro Palazzi mix you his famous Martini. The key isn't the way he shakes it, but instead the incredible Amalfi lemon that he uses for his for his garnish. Otherwise, his Martini consists of a vermouth rinse (of course he makes his own) and an ice cold bottle of No 3 right out of the freezer. Nothing more nothing less. You can get 98% percent of that experience by following those simple steps at home with a high quality lemon and a fine Italian dry vermouth. It's pure pleasure.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Letherbee Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Letherbee's captures Chicago's independent spirit perfectly. This is what craft is all about. It's basically a group of solid drinkers/bartenders who believed that they could do something special. Their good taste and exacting standards speak for themselves once you taste their flagship gin. Big bold juniper note on the attack with cardamom, coriander, cinnamon and citrus to round it out. The addition of java pepper brings dark pepper and subtle ginger. An herbal finish with hints of anise and nutty spice. A gin made for anyone by bartenders. One of the most versatile and enticing offerings on the shelf.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Jensen's Old Tom Bermondsey Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Jensen's Gin is quickly becoming one of the most well liked craft gins on the market. The reason they're having such great success is their commitment to creating authentic, historically relevant and delicious of the highest gin. Their Old Tom is distinct from every other commercial Old Tom on the market today. Taken from a handwritten recipe in an 1840s distiller's manual, the Bermonsday Old Tom is the only UNSWEETENED Old Tom on the market. Intensely flavored and achieving that sweet Old Tom flavor via the heavy use of angelica root rather than the addition of sugar, this is the perfect gin to create OT Classics like the Martinez or the Ramos Fizz. The lack of sugar gives the bartender much more control over the final flavor and the big bold botanicals lends itself to use in other classics like the Negroni or the Last Word.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

St. George Gin 3-pack 200ml (cannot ship)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
The perfect gift for any gin drinkers. St George is California's premier craft distiller and they've exploded onto the gin scene with these three magical offerings. The cute little bottles and easy to wrap packaging make it the perfect gift for any occasion. Of course, these three unique and special gins are second to none and represent the completely different styles. Playful and full flavored each lends itself to different application and transcends the old ideas of what gin should be.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Mulholland New World Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Mulholland Spirits is LA's newest brand. These guys are all about having fun and giving people spirits that they love to drink. This gin definitely falls into the gin for non-gin drinkers category, although I've seen plenty of London Dry drinkers come back for a second bottle. Tons of citrus, cucumber, and a distinct lavender note, this is perfect for someone who LOVES Hendricks.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Another one of these awesome Rossos that's reinvigorating my interest in Montalcino. Bold savory nose of spice, slightly smokiness, and distinctly old school character without being unapproachable. This is old school in a way that almost anyone could appreciate. It very generous and lively on the palate and finishes long and quite clean considering the striking savory quality on nose. Stupendous stuff, which serious buyers should be trying to buy by the case.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2015 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Keber is a legend in Collio. The wines are always delicious. The nose is a monsterous bouquet of musky angelica, fresh anis seed, pithy tangerine and a subtle savory white pepper. The intense bouquet doesn't interfere with the incredibly delineated palate showing tons of juicy acidity and a fabulous creamy citrus. It finishes long and dry with the savory herbs poking back out at the end. Totally in love here.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Sarno is one of the greatest for Fiano and I had high hopes for this. Truly text book here with tones of white flowers, ripe peaches and acacia honey. The honey becomes freshly harvest beeswax on the palate with tons of texture and a long finish. Fiano is great when there's acid and this one integrates it perfectly. Another stupendously drinkable wine from Sarno and easy to integrate into almost any meal.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto Sicilia
Review Date: 07-18-2017
This wonderful expression of the often maligned catarratto grape is going to change peoples minds about the whole varietal. The perfect balance between aromatic depth (pithy exotic citrus peel) and mineral intensity (flinty rocks being smashed together). In the mouth it's dense but not flabby at all, an acidic counterpoint allowing it to remain refreshing and open. More flinty rocks, soft yellow fruits and tiny touches of fresh herbs. This is a pretty serious little wine for the price.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2017
The approachable Giboulot wines are the perfect cross over producer. Approachable and affordable aren't typical descriptors for Burgundy. Yet, the entry level Bourgogne is easy and open without feeling to modern or overly extracted. Vibrant red fruit, hibiscus extract and subtle a minerality remind us that it's Burgundy! Great medium body structure keeps this one interesting and the acidity is well integrated so we're not on this laser-beam style we get sometimes with the inexpensive burgs. All in all this is a great value not just for red burgundy but one of the best Pinot values in the store.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Hochstadter's Family Reserve 16 Year Old Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-05-2017
Everyone in the bourbon world always talks about the golden age of whiskey being behind us. "Remember when we could walk into the store and get Pappy Rye for $90 all day long?" Actually that era never existed, but although things have changed, if you do your homework you can still pick up gems like this one. What we have is a world class fully mature rye whiskey bottled a full strength in a tiny batch and its absolutely stunning! Sure it's from Canada, but if you need to relinquish your biases to appreciate one of the best Rye whiskey we've ever had on the shelf than modern decency OBLIGATES us to do so! Bold, rich textured, spicy and unmatched by any other product on the shelf right. The world about lost it's mind for Booker's 13 Year Rye at $300 and in my estimation this is twice the whiskey that ever was. I wouldn't have been surprised if they'd asked $400 for this bad boy. Yes it's still not cheap, but if this isn't the deal of the year then I'm going to be buying lots more whiskey this year!!!
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-05-2017
The Wild Turkey Decades is distinct from your every day Wild Turkey as it contains nearly two decades of production. The concept actually seems crazy considering how much old whiskey is actually in this blend (it's likely 90%+ 15 years old) but the inclusion of both the very old 20 year and the standard 10 year add some incredible edges to the exquisite center. Expect powerful WT spice on the nose pointed with sweet burnt sugars, cedar, spearmint, cocoa and blackberry jam. The old whiskey comes forward on the palate allowing some of those mahogany and roasted walnut flavors out from behind the bold spice and sweet oak. The finish is long a pleasing, leaving you with just the right amount of Tellicherry pepper to balance the sweet fruit. For sales purposes I wish I could say this is 100% over 15 years old, but honestly the balance between young and old does wonders here and I'm certain that it would be a lesser whiskey without the inclusion of the powerful young WT.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 94

VING "KLC" Kale, Lemon Peel, & Cucumber Infused Organic Farm Fresh Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
When Flo Vinger came into my shop to tell me that she'd been making kale vodka in her bathtub, I honestly thought it was a joke. But, when she produced a shimmering elixir moments later I was astounded. It was totally wild unlike any other I'd come across previously. And of course it wasn't just KALE because kale just doesn't taste very good. But you slice some cucumber and a squeeze of lemon and we're in business. Industry skeptics and geeks will likely scoff, but in the end Ms Vinger has produced something total unique with an integrity rarely seen in the vodka category. She cares about her product more than anything else in the entire world and she's spent four long years perfecting it. Now anyone can experience the world's first KALE vodka for themselves. While it's stupendous cold or on the rocks, ultra easy and approachable, where this stuff really sings is in the cocktails. Adding subtle nuance and structure to what would otherwise be a neutral base does wonders in the classics, but also lends itself to experimentation.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Black Cow Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
What is this sorcery? Made from 100% West Dorset milk? Nothing else. How can it be? It's just impossible. But nonetheless here we are. Pure Milk vodka. And it's delicious! Soft, supple, slightly sweet and creamy. This stuff is textured and nuanced in the perfect way. Understated yet still distinctive somehow. Distiller and dairy farmer Jason Barber came up with the plan to utilize leftover whey from his cheese making operation. This is fermented into a wheat beer and distilled before being blended (with what I can only assume is more milk) and filtered to create the utterly (sorry) unique spirit. Keep an eye out for the Black Cow Deluxe Cheddar which is also made by Mr. Barber. Should pair perfectly!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
I go on and on about how much I like Fortaleza. They're the most authentic. No one else comes close. Most of the rest of the agave in Mexico is wasted on crap industrial production. blah blah blah...While all these things are true that's not what matters most. What matters about Fortaleza is that it's absolutely delicious. The Reposado is often the one I find myself reaching for. Their repo is the perfect balance between the gorgeous and complex agave spirit that they produce and the oxidative complexity of barrel aging in the hot Jalisco climate. The perfect showcase for this juxtaposition. But regardless of any intellectual exercise, it just tastes utterly delicious. Soft barrel influence envelopes the gorgeous peppery fruit and floral components of the spirits. Nuanced spice and touches of smoky barrel. Very few come close indeed.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
I often catch myself waxing poetic about Fortaleza. How it's the most authentic and old school. How they went back when everyone else was moving forward. How their tequila represents the true soul of Jalisco and makes their competitors look kind of stupid. Of course there are other great distilleries in Jalisco, but none is more committed to producing exclusively old school single estate real deal tequila. There base spirit is so good in fact that some aficionados look down on their exquisite anejo because it doesn't taste enough like the blanco. That said, taking this product out of that context reminds us how exceptional it really is. The quality of agave is matched perfectly by the quality of the oak and the confluence of those two flavors reminds us that great tequila doesn't have to be blanco! This delectable treat is all tropical fruit (coconuts, pineapple and passionfruit), butterscotch and subtle earthy pepper. A legend deserving of every accolade it's already received.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Arette Artesanal Gran Clase Extra Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
The Arette Artesanal is the first Extra Anejo I really fell in love with. The Gran Clase Suave is one of the easiest to drink spirits in the store. Crème caramel, sweet tropical fruit and a smidge of peppery agave fruit found out this exceptional offering from one of Tequilas great distillers. I love the classic looking bottle, but very few extras match the balance and complexity without overpowering with sweet oak. There's no questions that El Llano distilleries commitment to quality remains second to none.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
Agave is the magical near mythical thing. No other product (save for the ultra expensive European Eau-de-Vie) can be superlatively good without any intervention or additions from the distiller. What other white spirit with no flavorings or additives is as delicious or complex? A challenge you to find my anything comparable. And within that frame work no product exhibits more purity and expressiveness of terroir than this incredible single field tequila. Rested for several years before bottling, the result is an absolutely unparalleled experience, which extorts the senses and boggles the mind. I'm not going to bother trying to describe how this tastes, but if you love spirits and don't own a bottle you will eventually regret it.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($34.99)

Ardbeg "Uigeadail" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($55.99)

Caol Ila 12 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($69.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin (750ml) ($39.99)

Cragganmore 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($49.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin (750ml) ($21.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte (750ml) ($59.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila (750ml) ($38.99)

Ocho Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

Rhum JM Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique (750ml) ($44.99)

Old Weller "Antique" 107 Proof Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) (1 bottle limit) ($27.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)

1995 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac ($169.99)