Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 07-15-2015
The wonderful Renaud wines are proof again that the Macon is producing some of the finest value-driven whites in France. Beautiful Chardonnay that anyone can appreciate, the St-Veran really had something for everyone. Ultra clean and light-medium body. The nose is wild pomace fruit and crushed rock. The palate brings in some orange skinned fruits, great structure, and a freshing acidity. The St-Veran is about as good as it gets for low/no oak Chard under $20. A beautiful southern counterpoint to the wonderful wines from the other end of Burgundy.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 07-15-2015
The entry level Renaud wines are always such a pleasure. Wonderful stainless steal Chard, usually a little ripe and fatter, but this year both the Solutree and the Charnay are vivacious and totally satisfying. The Charnay is differentiated by a slightly more advanced citrus (tangerine?) and a tiny lactic note. A wonderful value for anyone looking for no oak Chard.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Lively and refreshing the Solutre from Renaud is another triumph of the Maconnaise. Crispy and ultra clean, this one is slightly less fruity than its sibling from Charnay. Slight yellow flower (honeysuckle?) and green Anjou pear on the nose, with a steely minerality providing lift on the palate. Top notch Chard by any standard and another stupid good value from our friends at Domaine Renaud.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

Johnnie Walker Double Black Blended Scotch Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Double the Black, Double the Pleasure! Many many Johnnie drinkers don't realize that Johnnie Black is really quite a smokey little blend. Using Diageo's workhorse peated malts (Caol Ila & Talisker) they've crafted an even smokier version of the world's most popular whisky. Add a secondary aging in alligator charred oak barrels (stripped down and re-charred most likely), and imagine that someone has taken your Johnnie Black and turned it up to eleven. You see? This one goes to eleven.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-15-2015
As with the entry level offering, Clos De L'Anhel is seriously one of the most exciting finds in Languedoc we've had for many years. Wines made with incredible thoughtfulness and finesse, they walk that incredibly thin line between earthy complexity, and open fruity richness. The Terrassettes shows more meaty funkiness than it's entry level sibling, but stays lifted with a great herbal/garrigue quality, and well structured backbone. Not hard or tannic, but screaming for air. DECANT DECANT DECANT!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$14.99

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Dimanches" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-15-2015
As with the other Anhel wines, it's obviously made with great care and thoughtfulness. A true "vin de garde," I mean this truly has some world class potential behind the dense plush fruit. With just a few years in your cellar, I imagine this wine will likely be one of the most complex and versatile wines you've ever experienced under $25. K&L is killing it with the Anhel wines, again and again.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

Aperol Aperitivo Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 07-14-2015
The Italian classic has been making a comeback recently and deservedly so. Bottled at a laughable 11%, Aperol backs all the punch of its big brother Campari without the headache in the morning (i.e. less alcohol and less sugar). That said you can also drink it for 6 hours straight without realizing you've just had 25 drinks so please be careful. Traditionally served in a Spritz, add 2-3 oz of Aperol to a glass full of ice. Top with Prosecco and an orange slice. Enjoy over and over!
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Fernet Branca 750ml
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Beware the Branca. The single most habit forming substance in our store. Plan on either hating this or never looking back. After that, expect to need a bottle in the house at all times. In spite of those truths, it is wildly utilitarian should you choose to use it that way. Very few more powerful digestives are available. Maybe you should just buy a case and get it over with.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

Kilchoman Machir Bay (2014 edition) Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Many are aware of our affection for this wonderful new distillery on Islay. This, being their entry level product, deserves to be a benchmark. If nothing else it should provide a wonderful education for any Islay lover. What happens when you put Ardbeg spec barley into steel fermenters and Kilchoman's tall little still? Add an ultra fine heart cut and a thoughtful wood management program and you've got truly soulful whisky that's still Islay in every way. Proof positive that great whisky need not be old. Zesty and full of oceany brine, the peat at this age stands up and smacks you right across the face. Sweet malt and mild rancio notes whisper in, but one does not forget the rugged shoreline just below the farm where this whisky was distilled. A pleasure, to say the least.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Zaya Gran Reserva 12 Year Old Estate Rum Trinadad 750ml
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Sweet sweet Trinidad Rum. After stopping there on the way to Guyana - I'm totally enamored with the odd little Island. Eating halal potato pie and hot doubles doused in scorpion pepper sauce from an awesome acrobatic street vendor and sippin' aged dark rum, what could be better? Zaya is a blended of several distilled, of course, by the Trinidad Distillers Limited. Their stocks, which are considerable to say the least, are the only Trinidian Rum being produced today. Some may know the lively and bright Angostura products, also produced by TDL, but here ultra dark sweetness, soft spice, and powerful vanilla flavors are the name of the game. This heady blend is one of the top rums in the store. If you like the sweeter style of dark rum, you'll undoubtedly love what Zaya has to offer, especially for the spectacularly low price point.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

St. George Dry Rye Reposado Gin 750ml
Review Date: 07-10-2015
Stupendous and affordable barrel aged gin. This what the Dry Rye was dreaming of being. The malted rye and juniper flavors marry perfectly with the sweet spice and tannic structure of the oak. The magnificent texture of the Dry Rye, its most striking attribute, is only heightened by the additional time in oak. A truly unique gin that will scratch that whiskey itch as well.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 1 per customer

2012 Alain Voge "Les Chailles" Cornas
Review Date: 07-09-2015
The exquisite 2012 Voge wines are making high-end French Syrah look cool again. Also our buyers are getting a killer price on this stuff and I can't imagine it will last long. The lieu-dit Les Chailles is a near equal to the more expensive VV bottling. Deep black and blue fruits pointed by dark earth and waxy anethol. Tannins are taught and pure, adding incredibly complex layers as the wine closes with a fresh minty tang. Graceful yet full of gumption. Totally delicious, decant decant decant.

2012 Alain Voge "Vieilles Vignes" Cornas
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Tasting the Voge wines is always a treat and the old vine is no exception. Bold and uninhibited, the 2012 Voge is a triumph. It's clearly in the very early stages of it's developement, but offering a window into its ultimate maturity. While it certainly deserves several years in your cellar - I imagine we'll all have trouble keeping our hands off this stuff once tasted. Expect powerful black fruit, almost Chambord like, with herbal earthy sunbaked garrigue. The sweet herbal fruit continues on the palate, ultra polished despite the power, and oak intergration is very good considering the youth. The tannins are big, but not edgy and the sweet aromatics bely the wonderful juicy acidity. A true Vin de Garde, as in -get as much as you can possibly afford.

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-08-2015
What a magnificent find from out French Regional buyer Keith. The Anhel wines are absolutely filled with character, proof positive that they are made by a wonderfully caring and thoughtful person. Depth, complexity but not conformity, the LOLO is their entry level and delivers well beyond the price point. I would highly encourage a nice long decant for this wine, not because it's particularly closed or tannic, but the wine has so much life an hour in a decanter and you're only scratching the surface. Wildly complex for the price, serve with all grilled things, burgers, steak, and eventually will be the perfect cool weather sipper as well. You should own cases of this...
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Te Mata "Cape Crest" Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Fun, classically Bordeaux New Zealand SB/Sem blend of the highest order. Musk, funky, melon, tropical fruit. Slight hints of savoriness and jalapeƱos, but in the most inviting and subtle way. Palate is Meyer lemon and candied guava all the way. The finish is crisp, dry and persistent. Te Mata is one of NZ's most exciting properties and this proves again that we're very, very lucky to represent them stateside.

2013 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 06-28-2015
This is like the Screaming Eagle of Hawke's Bay, so why the hell do we have the US exclusive? Any why the hell is it so inexpensive? These are not the important questions. Basically you're getting top-tier wine, I mean like Lafite/Latour level quality, for the price of a standard Napa Cab. While not as old school as the wonderful Awatea for twice the price, this is a legendary wine that deserves to be in the best collections regardless of the extremely affordable price.

2014 Framingham "Vendage Tardive" Gewürztraminer Marlborough (375ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2015
The perfect sweet Gewurz. Magnificent and aromatic without being too perfumed or cloying. Incredible balance and an incredible price. Grab it before it's gone or you'll regret it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 97 RC 97
Limit of 6 per customer

2013 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Old school in the best way. An amazing value that will tickle the fancy of serious Bordeaux fans as well as the more adventurous international wine lovers. Structured and complex with strong notes of wild dark berries, eucalyptus/mint, gravel and spice. Powerful pepper and wonderful texture. Needs some time to let its full potential unfold, but this is something we should all be buying by the case. Can't have enough around.

2012 S.C. Pannell Grenache McLaren Vale
Review Date: 06-28-2015
This wonderful wine was one of the biggest surprises of the tasting. Mclaren Vale is a complex region and we tend to pigeonhole all Australian wine as overly extracted and hyper manipulated. This, however, for me captures the essence of Grenache in the Aussie context perfectly. Dense and dark in the glass, the nose has all the intensity of fruit you'd expect, but with a deep minty herbal quality to keep it balanced. The palate is vibrant, structured, earthy and complex. Gigondas adjacent and ultra pure expression of Grenache at an awesome price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 97
Limit of 12 per customer

2013 Sato Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 06-28-2015
I'm a sucker for natural wines when done right, but I can appreciate the controversy that exists. Natural winemakers must rely on their good senses and an unending attention to detail to create viable wines. The worst are terrible, the best are transcendent. This, for me, captures the goal of natural wine making perfectly without alienating those who don't know or don't care about why it's so incredible that this wine is so SPECIAL. Get what I'm saying? It's just perfect Pinot at a great price. Kiwi meets Burgundy in the best way. In love...
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Another fabulous value for Kiwi Pinot. This is deep powerful Pinot that will scratch the itch for most Cali Pinot drinkers, but not scare away those in love with more expressive terroir-driven style. Earthy, savory dark cherry, great structure with red and black fruit continuing on the palate. Pure and structured, this will easily improve over the next 2-3 years, but shows beautifully right now. For only $20, cases, dude, cases.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RC 91

Balvenie 15 Year Old Single Sherry Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-23-2015
This is without a doubt the most exciting new product from Balvenie since the wildly collectable Tun 1401 series. Now, what makes this so interesting, despite the full term in Sherry, is that they're bottling these without filtration at slightly higher proof. That means we've got the ultra rich oily texture that's so important for appreciating this special distillery. Of course, each cask is different, but every one I've tasted so far has been exceptional.
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Balvenie 21 year Port Wood Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Slowly but surely usurping Macallan 18 Year as the go-to "Scotch Gift," especially now that Mac 18 is pushing toward $250 a bottle. People know the name, love the presentation, and generally think the spirit is one of the very best. This is just a no-brainer when buying a gift for ANYONE who likes Scotch, when you want to be different but don't want to scare anyone away. Clearly one of the top values for ultra-premium offerings from any of the great Speyside distilleries.
Price: $189.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruichladdich Octomore 6.1 Heavily Peated Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWW BIG MAMA is back. We were worried that the Remy takeover of Bruichladdich would be the end of the availability of the Octomore line, but instead we've had easy access and lower prices. Amazing! This special whisky is smoked for days, to retain a higher level of phenol than any other whisky in the world. Something about the process, though, puts the Octomore in another league altogether. The depth of the spirit itself results in an incredibly rich and balanced whisky regardless of the massive PPM. Oily, intricate, brooding, and wild - Octomore is nothing like its smoky siblings from Islay. A truly unique spirit that must be tasted to be appreciated.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESV (10 years & 11 months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
This wonderful low-rye bourbon is what Four Roses is all about. Unique yet utterly familiar. The OESV is a strain known for its bright freshness and balancing fruit tones. Less on the grainy spice and more about the barrel and fruits, we've got subtle red and dark black fruit on the nose framed around a core of sweet white oak. Good structure on the palate bringing those fruity tones to the front, diving back toward the woodsy forest floor flavors. Tons going on here, as we've come to expect.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Yellow Spot Single Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The big mama of Irish Whiskey. This whisky used to be a ghost, and thank the whiskey gods that Pernod Ricard have found their way to releasing this more widely. Ultra-soft, with a strong influence of orange fruit from Malaga casks. The subtle sherry notes definitely remain behind the unusual tones of Spain's other coastal fortified wine. Persimmon, candied orange peel, cinnamon, clove - the ease and openness of this whiskey cannot be overstated. Some prefer the more familiar Green Spot, but this whiskey stands out among its peers as something very different and very, very special indeed.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 91

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape)
Review Date: 06-18-2015
This improbable product has been one of our most popular ultra premium offerings. Building on what others in the industry have done (with varying levels of success, e.g. Don Julio 70th Anniversary Anejo, Patron Platinum & Maestro Dobel). We're used to having aged rums filtered to remove color, but it's a much more striking process in a spirit like Tequila. The key to Casa Dragones' success in this unusual category or aged colorless agave spirit is the blending process. By blending Blanco and Extra Anejo, the spirit retains a freshness and intensity that is lost other similar products. Because Dragones uses lowland agave, we retain tons of spice and mineral despite the rich oakiness of the Extra Anejo. The two flavors work wonders and result in an utterly balanced product that retains character and provides similar complexity to the great sipping spirits from around the world. In addition, the elegant presentation makes it one of the best gifts for any lover of spirits regardless of taste or proficiency.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Ultra smooth blanco component from the wildly successful Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila Joven. The spicy black pepper and dark mineral notes are softened by a third distillation. Usually, I would avoid triple distilled Tequila because they tend to lack character, but this Blanco is definitely the exception to that rule of thumb. The result is a fruity, whimsical blanco, that provides good depth and structure thanks to the ultra high quality lowland fruit that's being used. Drinking Blanco is becoming cool again and this is one of the best options to get you away from the agaveless extra anejos that have become ubiquitous recently.
Price: $64.99 Add To Waiting List

Longrow 11 Year Old "Red" Port Matured Campbeltown Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The third release in Springbank's well-received Longrow "RED" lineup. The port's sweet and savory fruit components work wonders on Longrow's ultra-powerful, deep, earthy smoke. Mushrooms in a raspberry reduction, anyone? Fresh cigar, mesquite, incense, strawberry, pepper--tons going on. A drop of water pulls everything together and tames this beast ever so slightly. All in all, the poignant Longrow spirit stands up very nicely to the rich sweetness of the fresh port casks.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Charbay III Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
The single most legendary American craft whiskey ever created. Yeah it's expensive as hell, but there ain't nothing like it...in HISTORY. Massive, over the top, intense, and awe inspiring. Don't even waste your time asking yourself why.
Price: $399.99 Add To Waiting List

Springbank 17 Year Old Sherry Wood Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Fresh sherry and Springbank are a match made in heaven. Deep and powerful, this stuff isn't cheap, but it showcases the complexity of this special distillery when paired with the highest quality first-fill sherry butts. A solid bottling with slightly more availability than recent single barrel releases, and of equal or even better quality.
Price: $179.99 Add To Waiting List

Springbank 21 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-17-2015
It's Springbank. It's old. It's rare. So what? Seriously silly stuff here. This will be the last we see of the 21 yo Springer until March 2016. Grab it while you can. Black and GOLD, Black and Gold...
Price: $449.99 Add To Waiting List

Tequila Tapatio Excelencia Anejo Tequila 1L
Review Date: 06-17-2015
There is not a better extra anejo tequila on the market today, I can unequivocally say that without hesitation. This is the top of the top. Distilled from a special batch of the best agave in 1996. 4 years in barrel 15 years in glass, only mere moments before you finish your glass. It's unfair how good this is. Stock up if you care at all about your future.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 year old Solera Rum 750ml
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Zacapa is the rum that changes peoples mind about rum. Distilled from partially processed Miel de Cana, the Zacapa Distillery is one of the highest altitude and highest quality rum distilleries in the world. Distinctly in the Spanish style, the special distillery near Tulula, creates rums of exceptional quality aged in the traditional solera style. Opulent and ultra rich, no question this should be in the running for world's greatest rum.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml (ships like 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Let me be perfectly honest, I'm not that into the standard MM. It's an awesome whiskey, without a doubt, but over the years my palate has moved away from those sweet corny woodsy flavors and in search of deeper dryer products. The MMCS is without a doubt the most surprising new release of the year. Massive and significantly drier than the standard release, this is quickly becoming the go to wheater for lovers of PVW and other slightly drier style wheaters. I have no clue how or why JB decided to move forward with this product (way to out their for them with the small batch nature). I'm going to blame the Japanese for making the amazing decision to bottle this special product.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Balvenie 14 Year Caribbean Cask Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-17-2015
The wildly popular Caribbean cask was thought to be a thing of legend, but William Grant has heard the people and re-released this special offering at only a slight markup! When they say Caribbean, they mean a large Spanish-speaking island whose name I cannot mention. The result is perfect and utterly enticing. Sweet, rich and spicy notes from the rum envelop the oily Speyside character of the Balvenie spirit perfectly. A match made on a beach in the Caribbean, i.e. HEAVEN!
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSF (11 year & 8 months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
OBSF at nearly 12 years old? Yes please! This guy is all about the rye and the spice. The rye notes pop right out of the glass. Grainy, earthy, herbal and delicious we're in a pretty unusual territory for the OBSF. The palate stays super spicy, but subtle cooked fruits and sweet grains balance out the intensity. With air, it continues to expand and divulges a great deal more over the course of a glass. Another killer cask from our friends in Lawrenceburg.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSV (10 Years Old) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
This fabulous OBSV is from the distilleries flag ship recipe. Darker than the SK, with notes of freshly tanned leather and pepper. The broading intensity on the nose belies the softness on the tongue. A dried style with the grain and oak right up front. The finish adds rich layers of sweet herbs and subtle spices. No wonder OBSV is the house favorite at 4Rs.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSK (9 year & 8 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
This spectacular cask of OBSK from Four Roses is one of the most surprising we've had in a while. The flavors are reminiscent of an old style bourbon, something you'd experience from an old dusty bottle pulled out of your grandpa's attic. Deep dark nose of exotic woods. Slight lacquer/varnish note can't over power the intense caramelized sugar and maple syrup. The palate is incredibly open with no bitterness or bite. This is drinking bourbon at it's best. Don't think just drink.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Leopold Bros. Aperitivo 750ml
Review Date: 06-01-2015
Leopoldo Bros has always been ahead of the curve. They've pumped out some of the best craft whiskey around while creating innovative products like their wonderful liqueurs, gin, and literally the only legit flavored whiskey on the market. Now we're bringing you a new phase in the Leopold Bros' dominance of the craft market. Competing with established brands is hard enough, but when a craft distiller goes after a category creating legend like Campari, we begin to question their sanity. Lucky for us, Mr. Leopold's insanity is second only to magnificent skill and attention to detail. This is truly the first product to scratch that Campari lovers itch (and if you have it you know what I'm talking about - the stuff creates a serious dependence). It may be even more soothing than the original. At the very least you'll know that the ingredients are of the very highest quality, plus it's not even that expensive considering the work that it takes to make a product like this good on this scale. Must-buy for Campari lovers, must-try for those yet to get on the aperitivo train.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
I was pretty bummed to hear that the U.S. market would not be getting the 12 year Taketsuru any longer and skeptical that a no age statement replacement would be acceptable. I was wildly mistaken. While the 12 year seemed safe and predictable, there's something wild and untamed about the NAS. While it doesn't have an age, the supplier says it's around 10ish -- I do think it's got more depth and complexity than the whisky it replaces. Hopefully they'll be able to keep this in good supply 'cause this is solid drinking for a good price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Nobody expected this goofy little whisky to explode the way it has. It's odd, but so inviting and unpretentious. Sure it's column distilled, but that doesn't mean it's any less flavorful than it's malted potstilled brothers. Just different. Candied melon, sweet oak, fresh sawdust, and peanuts. Medium bodied, with a pointed finish that really turns up the oak. Not only is this awesome Japanese (distinctly Japanese) Whisky, but it's also available and relatively affordable. Can't say that about many products out there right now. Get it, drink it, love it, repeat.
Price: $62.99 Add To Waiting List

Lagavulin 16-year-old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Lagavulin is a pillar. Without a doubt one of the most important distilleries in Scotland, it is the darling of Diageo and continues to crank out ultra high quality smoky malt year after year. Even though cranky critics like to lament how Lag 16 year doesn't taste like it used to, I've had it along side bottlings from the last 3 decades and I have to say, while the style is slightly different (OBE might be in play here), it without a doubt continues to be one of the most special whiskies on the market. Quality, flavor, and depth are unsurpassed at this price point (and our price point continues to be pretty seriously low all things considered). The Lagavulin is an oily best, rich and peaty, but with a balance that makes you itching to get the glass back up to your lips.

Macallan 12 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Often dubbed the "Royals Royce of Single Malt," the Macallan distillery continues to have one of the best reputations in the business. Of course with Scotch, a good reputation always equals a higher price! However, over the last several years as Macallan's competitors have chipped away at this behemoth of a brand, the lowly 12 year old hasn't really increased much in price. That means we're getting 100% sherry 12 year old whisky for Speyside's best regarded distillery for only $50. Is Macallan a value brand again? We see people selling young sherried malts of lesser quality for much much more than this. And it's taste good too.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Tears of Llorona Extra Anejo Tequila 1L
Review Date: 05-26-2015
German Gonzalez has become one of the most respected and important Distillers in Mexico. His work at Chinaco and his other projects have solidified him as one of the categories very best. He's partnered with our dear friend Enrique Fuenteseca to create the masterful product unlike anything else on the market. If German could improve his reputation anymore this was the product to do it. Originally created to be his private drinking stock, ultra limited amounts of the wild elixir are now available. The begin with agave at peak ripeness, hand selected by the master himself. After roasting in stone ovens and maceration, the aguamiel is fermented using German's proprietary yeast. This ultra slow fermentation allows for the deeps possible flavor. Double distillation on copper pot stills before being put into American oak barrels for at least 3 years. The exact aging regiment isn't totally clear, but we do know that after the initial aging it is transferred for at least another years in the following types of wood, French ex-Cognac, ex-Scotch, ex-Sherry. The final blend is a selection of those and maybe other types of wood all around 5 years. A stupendous example of what a skilled artisan when cost is no object. Really it's a pretty good deal for how incredible it is.
Price: $229.99 Add To Waiting List

Angel's Envy 86 Proof Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
So what happens when one of Kentucky's most respected distillers source ultra high quality bourbon and finishes it in sweet Port wine casks, the bourbocalypse? Perhaps. But what's really going on here is one of the most successful examples of the potential of wine finishing in modern whiskey. Be it the Henderson's deft palate or their monumental experience - the Angel's Envy is unquestionably a sensation. Easy enough for you mom to love it, yet NOT boring in the slightest. The flavor profile is never dominated by the port, so it still tastes like bourbon, put the sweet rich flavors are there to enhance and envelop the already wonderful profile of the bourbon. The late Lincoln Henderson was clearly a genius and we know his legacy will be well looked after by the brands current custodians.
Price: $45.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 98 WA 93

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESF (10 year 9 month Barrel #48-2Q) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Big and bold is the best way to categorize this guy. Lower rye content doesn't stop this guy from being a peppery spice monster. Aromatics move between the spice and the exotic vanilla bean stuff. The palate is slightly more tame, with the oaky vanilla taking over before the spiciness kicks up again on the back end. Stupid good.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSO (11 year & 2 month) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Bold and full bodied. The OBSO recipe (O,stands for 4Rs - B, the high rye mashbill - S, for Straight Bourbon - O for the fruity spicy yeast) is one of the most variable and interesting they have. IN this case the higher rye content of the mashbill provides a lovely spicy balance for the luscious red fruit flavors on the nose. This leans toward the almost caramelized sugar flavors. On the palate we have more tension. Spice, pepper, dark red fruits, maybe a bit of cocoa. Wonderful stuff to say the least.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Dudognon Heritage 40 year Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
For all the stuff I say about Dudognon being the highest quality cognac house, it's not until you taste the big boy Heritage that you truly begin to understand why they're so special. At 40 years, we're beginning to see the real full potential of these stupendous EDVs. Ultra decadent while never cloying, the Heritage has everything that the big house brands strive for in their ultra-premium offerings at 10 times the price. Only this one is made without a single additive. They've achieved such incredible depth and balance it's almost hard to believe this isn't much more expensive. Yet here we are.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List

Dudognon Vielle Reserve 20 year Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 05-26-2015
Somethings in the world our are subjective. Other things are not. For instance, I can unequivocally that Dudognon is the most open, transparent, and honest producer in Cognac. They have some of the best terroir and use only the highest quality wood (100% of their cognac sees at least 1 year in new oak). They are the only producer who I can honestly tell you have not utilized additives in their cognac in any way. All of these things come together to make me say highly subjective things like, "Dudognon is the best producer in Cognac!" One might quibble with the details, but what is clear is that Dudognon makes their brandy like no one else in the region. Absolutely the purest expression of terroir with nothing in the way. The real complexity starts to show when their brandies at the Vieille Reserve level (20 years). Always drier than most people are used to with cognac, Dudognon's house style is this wonderful tension between freshness and age. Always keeping you guessing, this is the superlative product for the price point, a base from which I believe all others should be judged.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 year old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml ($42.99)

Ardbeg Uigeadail Traditional Strength Islay Single Malt Whisky ($54.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin 750ml ($39.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin 750ml ($27.99)

Rittenhouse Rye 100 Proof, Bottled in Bond 750ml ($23.99)

Emile Pernot Vieux Pontarlier 65 Absinthe 750ml ($64.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte 750ml ($59.99)

Ocho Reposado Tequila 750ml ($48.99)

Rhum JM Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique 90 Proof 750ml ($49.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery 750ml ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)