Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2013 Dog Point Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 02-21-2017
Another stupendous wine from Dog Point. Deep and leesy with profound acidity and great textural complexity. Hard to compare this to Chardonnay from any other region, but it easily out performs the vast majority of similar wines in the price point. This wine is showing no signs of slowing down 4 years after harvest and I really want to stick a case in the cellar to see how this develops over the next half decade.

2015 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This gorgeous wine from Dog Point proves once again that they're not only on the forefront of Marlborough production, but one of the most exciting winery anywhere in the world. The quality and intensity for the price is only matched by the very best producers out of France and while Dog Point is a benchmark wine for the area it's not necessarily representative of the local style. Instead expect flinty, craggy rocks crushing ultra ripe lemons. Juicy, aromatic, but not grassy or tropical. Textural and satisfying like few SB in this price point anywhere in the world.

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2525 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-08-2017
Barrel Number #2525 is definitely the brighter of the two Belle Meade Casks. It doesn’t have the savory or sour quality that we sometimes get with MGP whiskey, instead a big nose burnt sugar, sweet tea, over ripe mango and dried flowers. The palate is not as sweet as the nose might suggest medium bodied with a deep dark red cherry on the entry. The tea component takes hold mid-palate for a lovely dry spicy finish. With a bit of air this exquisite whiskey takes on some truly old-school character, developing red fruit, black tea, tobacco leaf and exotic wood components. I have no doubt that this will be remembered as one of the year’s best finds.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2573 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-08-2017
Barrel Number #2573 is more woodsy and deep than her sister. The nose is all coffee and cocoa, leafy forest shrubs, a flinty herbal and slightly medicinal note, and powerful baking spice top note. The palate is quite rich, with a wonderful cracked pepper component that balances the sweet fruit and earthy grain perfectly. The fruit and spicy pepper build into a long dry finish with an a subtle saltiness to it. There’s that MGP brine, but here it’s incredibly well balanced within the larger package. It’s incredible how two similar casks can provide such wonderful contrast to each other. Although at slightly lower proof, this cask packs the knockout punch while the other rocks you to sleep. Hard to decide which is better, you’ll just have to taste them both.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester "1920 Prohibition Style" Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
The Old Forester 1920 is as fabulous as it is frustrating. Yes, it's no age statement! Some of the marketing has alluded to it being an old expression, but nothing concrete can be found. The mashbill remains a mystery, though we can assume it's the modern Old Forester recipe (72%, 18% Rye, 10% Malt), Brown-Foreman isn't above experimenting. All we know about this stuff is that it's high proof, it's got something to do with Prohibition and it's absolutely delicious. Big powerful nose of pepper and rye spice unfolds into caramelized apples and dark exotic spice. The spice takes front and center on entry, but brings in some red fruits and burnt sugar as it lingers toward a long soft finish of nutmeg, cloves and green apples. The only other fact we know for sure is that we'll all be kicking ourselves when we finish our bottle and realize we should have bought more.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Chateau de Laubade Special Reserve Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
We so rarely get to try brandy from this period and when we do they're so expensive that they don't make sense no matter how good they are. It's such a treasure to experience a product like this, but it definitely is a different experience than most are used to. At this age the intensity of fruit is incredible with deep dried plums and dense nuttiness taking over from the spice and oak of younger eau-de-vie. This esoteric style represent the true character of old school Armagnac. The palate continues with powerful dried fruits paired with a long drying tannin, which provides structure without being viscous at all. Maybe this is not the big monstrous brandy that's going to win over the bourbon lover, but it's an absolute delight and a spectacular value for fully mature 50+ year old Armagnac.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

1987 Domaine du Cardinat 28 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Bas Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
We've widely found that the 87 vintage was spectacular across Gascogne -producing some of the most complex and powerful brandies we've tasted. IN no place is this more clear than the western edge of Gers where the soil types are much more similar to Les Landes, as opposed to the more clay driven soils in the rest of Gers, known as Ténarèze. The geology and geography is most similar to that of Baraillon only a 30 minute drive to the north, but Domaine de Cardinat's southern sloping vineyards provide for a very even harvest, as opposed to Baraillon's small parcels speckled across the hills behind the domaine. It's hard to connect the topography with the specific flavors we experience in their products, but Cardinat makes a very ester driven lacquer box style in all vintages. What stands out about the '87 vintages is the wonderful and open fruit flavors and a distinct cola note on the palate, showing more elegance than the other two vintages from this domaine. 87 is briming with complexity and texture, tons of prune, but also some other exotic fruits and a wonderful subtle nuttiness. It may not have the elegance of some of the top houses in Les Landes, but we're getting very close and at a fraction of price of a Domaine De Boingnères or Chateau de Briat. I think this one is probably perfect for traditionalists wanting to experience really authentic high quality Bas-Armagnac.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-03-2017
Ultra smooth blanco component from the wildly successful Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila Joven. The spicy black pepper and dark mineral notes are softened by a third distillation. Usually, I would avoid triple distilled Tequila because they tend to lack character, but this Blanco is definitely the exception to that rule of thumb. The result is a fruity, whimsical blanco, that provides good depth and structure thanks to the ultra high quality lowland fruit that's being used. Drinking Blanco is becoming cool again and this is one of the best options to get you away from the oaky extra anejos or the ultra intensely flavored old school blancos.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 01-03-2017
This improbable product has been one of our most popular ultra premium offerings. Building on what others in the industry have done (with varying levels of success, e.g. Don Julio 70th Anniversary Anejo, Patron Platinum & Maestro Dobel) Casa Dragones has reinvented the Joven category as an ultra premium style. We're used to having aged rums filtered to remove color, but it's a much more striking process in a spirit like Tequila. The key to Casa Dragones' success in this unusual category or aged colorless agave spirit is the blending process. By blending Blanco and Extra Anejo, the spirit retains a freshness and intensity that is lost other similar products. Because Dragones uses lowland agave, we retain tons of spice and mineral despite the rich oakiness of the Extra Anejo. The two flavors work wonders and result in an utterly balanced product that retains character and provides similar complexity to the great sipping spirits from around the world. In addition, the elegant presentation makes it one of the best gifts for any lover of spirits regardless of taste or proficiency.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Ohishi "'K&L Exclusive"' Single Sherry Cask #1023 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-13-2016
This magic little cask of Ohishi proves again there is just nothing wrong with rice whisky, nothing at all. The nose is wonderfully fresh and keeps you on your feet for a big dose of fresh cut apple, followed by a deep dark Oloroso note, and sweet caramelized citrus. Subtle yet full of life, the whole thing builds and brings you some lovely hints of funk around these very pretty fruit flavors. The palate is pretty weighty, but balance is the key factor. The freshness isn't lost at all, and some cocoa and barrel spice along with dark vanilla bean and slight earthy warehouse funk take over. It's so utterly drinkable it will be difficult to put down, if you know what I'm saying. Beware!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Rhum Clement "K&L Exclusive" Cask Stength Single Barrel Agricole Martinique Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-13-2016
When I first nosed this cask I knew immediately that we had to have it. It's full-strength-full tilt Agricole aged in NEW AMERICAN OAK. The perfect crossover to get bourbon people into Agricole Rhum WITHOUT sacrificing authenticity. On first nosing, you get a strong, dry oak tannin, but a moment later the dry feeling is gone and a spectacular complexity arises from the glass. This baby loves air. Deep dark spices, kola nut, mahogany, flambéed orange peel. The palate is vibrant, with subtle funk of Agricole never lost around the rich oak spice, powerful tropical fruit, and long dry finish. BUT WAIT, add one tiny drop of water -this thing is cask strength after all - and this little puppy explodes. Gone are the dark oak tannins and replaced with candied orange peel, sweet Tahitian vanilla, and this underlying topicality that's so inviting. On the palate it explodes with rich exotic spices, marzipan, ginger, coffee, and salted fruits. Sometimes adding water breaks rum as it does with many brandies, but in this case it reacts much like a fine single malt. Without a doubt one of the finest cane spirits we've ever had on our shelves at any price point. A legend by all accounts.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2012 Au Bon Climat "Historic Vineyards Collection-Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-16-2016
I tasted this gorgeous little bottle next to some of the world's top burgundies last week. Surprising balance and depth for the price and while it stood out as distinctly SoCal in nature, for the first time it was a good thing. Lovely aromatics on the nose with excellent integration of fruit and toasty oak. The palate is big tropical fruit and well structured without any popcorn or overt sweetness. A lovely example of what SO Cal does so well for such a reasonable price.

1997 Linkwood 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-16-2016
There's no doubt that stocks in Scotland are getting tight. At Signatory, which was once our secret weapon, it's become more and more difficult to find special casks. It's not that the whisky isn't there per se, but simply that the whisky we want is so far out of the price point that we're willing to pay. But we occasionally stumble a few casks that haven't been subject to the incredible price increases of the rarities around them. This Linkwood would falls solidly in that category. This fabulous Linkwood exhibits the wonderful malty character of this lovely distillery beautifully. The nose is sweet vanilla, bold citrus, bright apple and creamy malt. The palate exhibits tons of delicate fruit and has a rich texture that goes on for ages. The finish brings the barrel spices and a warming sweetness. At this silly price it won't likely last long.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1997 Dufftown 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Good old over looked Dufftown, this is the first time we've bottled this fun little distillery as a single cask for exclusive offer. This one starts more on the oak than the old casks, that subtle saw dust, cocoa powder and pepper. With a little water the sweet oak comes through, but also some bitter roots, angelica and gentian. The powerful and slightly unusual nose is totally belied by the rich malty palate, which shows subtle cocoa bean, sweet oak and a long juicy finish. A real work horse malt here, but something that will likely be unique in the cabinet and ultimately is really fun to drink!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1995 Glenburgie 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Another stunning value from one of our favorite suppliers. 21 year old single malt for under $100 is a real rarity these days add that it's a delicious single barrel bottled at cask strength and we're down right rare air here. This is a true Speysider in every respect. Subtle herb, shrubby flowers and fruit notes open with some air into aromas muscovado and candied apple. A pleasing mineral earthiness, like a fresh stream in the forest, balances the wonderful pop of fruit on the palate. The finish turns up the spice with a bit of dryness on the long lingering finish.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
Review Date: 09-21-2016
An absolutely wonderful additional to our northern Rhone white offering, this stupendous producer is one of those world class offerings that's yet to hit the limelight, but surely will soon. Big nose of the finest buttered popcorn, although the butter is powerful, it's not overpowering and aeration brings deep yellow fruit, white flowers and big minerality. This is is what Viognier should be and exactly the reason I list Condrieu as one of my preferred appellations. Sure it's not cheap, but it roundly best big powerful whites in the price range in almost every other category.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 09-21-2016
This lovely little wine drinks like something much more seriously priced. Big nose of apple and pear, with strong mineral notes behind. The palate is structured, but open with incredible complexity, hinting at a great potential for aging. It's hard to compare this to anything else due to the unusual blend, but it easily beats most southern Rhone blends at twice the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Légende Bonnetta" Condrieu
Review Date: 09-21-2016
This is just a monster in every way, what the Roches d'Arbuel has in opulence and openness this wine has in power and longevity. This is a world-class wine that deserves 5-10 years in your cellar and will likely become one of your most appreciated purchases. There's really nothing on this quality level and price point in the category. Despite the increase oak utilization, this shows LESS buttery oak and much more mineral intensity. Deep, complex and ultra-lengthy, these is clearly in its youthful phase, but still SO pleasurable right now.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Knez Winery Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-21-2016
As usual, Knez is producing some of the most authentic and affordable Pinot in CA. Big notes of hibiscus, rose hips, Bing cherry, and baking spice. The aromatic fruit is perfectly balanced with an exotic woodsy notes. On the palate, well structured with out any flab, and that lovely earth lacquer box thing continues to frame the fruit wonderfully. Powerful acidity that remains balanced throughout. Some real-deal wine made by some real-deal-ass wine makers.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2013 Hendry "Block 13" Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 09-21-2016
Most people see Hendry and think Zinfandel, but this wonderful Merlot should be redefining them across all categories. Round old-school Merlot in the most classic sense, with big, ripe, plummy fruit and deep, dark earthiness almost brooding, but never sweet. Absolutely lovely structure and incredible length that makes me think of the really old school CA wine that few make any longer. A real outlier in the region and category in general.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1998 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-21-2016
Maybe the best of the Left Bank in this Right Bank-centric vintage, the Haut-Bailly shows tons of dense plum fruit framed in a bed of powerful herb and sweet licorice. The palate is wonderfully complex, showing great maturity at this stage, but with no signs of slowing down. A serious wine for serious lovers of Bordeaux that won't necessarily be accessible to the average Joe, but will make the diehards fawn for sure.

2011 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rouge (Corsica)
Review Date: 09-21-2016
This wonderful example of the bounties of Corsica strikes the balance between the incredible elegance of the French influence and the rustic authenticity of the Italian. Deep smoky fruit with a sweet fresh earthiness on the nose. On the palate the rich dark fruit is balanced by a bitter chocolate and slight ferrous quality. Stupendous depth and wonderful length, you definitely want to pair this with richer Italian fare.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Muscat du Cap Corse (Corsica)
Review Date: 09-21-2016
A phenomenal value for a very special muscat comparable to the best from Beaume De Venise at a fraction of the price. Wonderful Muscat nose of deep dried citrus and exotic flowers. The palate exhibits stupendous acidity and a lovely bitter sweet quality that reminds me of the very best marmalade. A unique example of this very special and difficult-to-do-well style.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 09-21-2016
Absolutely glorious! Every year the Begude SB gets better and better and this is BY far the BEST we've had. Ultra tropical, light but not boring, zippy but not sharp. Super-duper pricing and SO MUCH PLEASURE. Cases all around, cases.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chante Cigale "L'Apostrophe" Mediterranée
Review Date: 09-21-2016
Wowwy wow, I was not expecting this to be SO good. Awesome dark fruit and depth on the nose, followed by a rich texture that's perfectly balanced by the juicy acidity. I guess the 2015s are going to be the real deal. Can't believe the balance and depth they've achieved at this price point.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mönchhof Erdener Prälat Riesling Auslese Mosel
Review Date: 08-25-2016
A legendary wine and one of the best Erdener Pralat I've ever tasted. Focused yet complex - this wine should evolve for several decades, but it will be difficult to keep your hands off it. Magical!!!
Price: $48.99 Add To Cart

2015 Leitz Rüdesheimer Riesling Trocken Rheingau
Review Date: 08-24-2016
An absolute dream for Trocken riesling lovers finding that perfect balance between aromatic intensity, textural richness, and powerful acidity. A nose of freshly crush meyer lemon - peel and all. Big notes of limestone and sea spray which all come together on the palate with great richness and focus. Beaming all the way through it never stops and delivers the goods with out seeming austere or hard edge like some other trockens. Leitz kills it all the time.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 Vignobles des 2 Lunes "Périgée" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-24-2016
I'm definitely impressed with these 2 Lunes wines, but the pinot out performed even my already lofted expectations. The nose is exactly what I want from Alsatian pinot without any semblance of under ripeness or veggie quality, yet expressive and powerful. Super gorgeous pointed cherry, flecks of earthy mineral and a subtle texture makes this one of the most drinkable and delicious Pinot Noirs on the shelf for those seeking balance and freshness.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2011 Vignobles des 2 Lunes "Comète" Cremant d'Alsace
Review Date: 08-24-2016
This fabulous little wine took me utterly by surprise. We get stuck assuming that many Cremant are built as some sort of approximation of their more expensive counterparts in Champagne, but that's not at all the case here. I'm totally enamored because this is different and delicious. The nose is all creamy sherbet -Orange sherbet, tangerine peel, and soft clean nuttiness. The palate, the citrus turns up, but remains totally balanced. Creamy, but lifted. Total pleasure going down and something utterly unique.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2011 Rivella Barbaresco
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This precise and seamless Barbaresco is so clearly made with one of the finest touches, it's almost not a surprise to find out that the winemaker was Gaja's top guy for 30 years. It's SO open and generous right now without any hints of manipulation or over extraction. This elegant and attractive style is exactly what I love about Barbaresco and the perfect contrast to the brooding style made over the hill. The purity is unsurpassed in the price point and worth stocking up on in a big way if you're at all a lover of nebbiolo.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 07-13-2016
The absolute perfect Tuscan under $20. Not with the ripe dense intensity of last years, but with so much more depth and complexity it's impossible not to LOVE! It's soft and open, but very with this wonderful acidity that makes it ultra quaffable. The key here is balance and this beautiful red fruit that's almost impossible to describe properly. This bombastic nose is balanced by great herbal quality and this beautiful dried floral component. Maybe not as hedonistic as some would like, but for me this is the clearly best Massa I've tasted.

2012 Gloria, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Another stupid value from 2012! This is St. Julien through and through. Big cacao, mocha, coffee nose. Deep dark fruit, subtle integrated spice. Big structured and tons of length, moving back toward those roasted coffee and a slight sanguine note on the finish. Totally integrated and note particularly oak driven despite the 40% new oak.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 - 94

2012 d'Issan, Margaux
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This might be the deal of the vintage. This is real solid uncompromising style of Margaux for a very reasonable price. I really can't believe it's still in stock because this is both drinking and cellaring Bordeaux at a fraction of the cost of some of it's neighbors. Big notes of coffee, violets, dark plum and vanilla. The perfect silky texture and wonderful ripe tannin. The whole thing is balanced and lifted with a great freshness! An open bombastic style without the sense that it's modernized or international in style at all.

2012 White Rock Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-13-2016
White Rock is a freakin' home rum for lovers of the old school style Napa Cab that's so hard to get these days. What I love about this wine, in the vibe of Heitz or maybe even Dunn, it has this incredible sense of place. While it doesn't taste like Bordeaux, there's clearly an eye to a more restrained, terroir driven style. And if you're about terroir then your wines should not taste like they're from the Medoc, indeed they should taste like they're from Napa, which so few wines from Napa seem to do any longer. This is the real deal. Do not ignore it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2004 Heitz Cellar "Trailside" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-13-2016
A triumph! Totally round and open. Fully mature, but still with plenty of life. Silky textured mouth feel. The sign of a perfectly ripe tannin! Dense dark fruit and a wonderful gravelly cab note. More proof that Heitz is still one of the best in the west.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbières
Review Date: 07-13-2016
While I love all three of the Anhel wines, the Terrassettes spoke to me as the best of the bunch to open today. Absolutely gorgeous texture and wild aromatics of blackberries, ripe red cassis, black pepper, and rock earth. Powerful and dense, but not heavy or overripe. A truly spectacular wine the feels effortlessly drinkable, while over delivering on complexity.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-13-2016
We're all in love with the Anhel wines, but this new vintage is a benchmark for me. Ultra pure expression of the terroir, big floral notes without the hint of perfumed artificial quality. Dark and spicy fruit and a great texture that's all about the lifted structure while maintaining the intensity. Stupidly cheap price on these.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude Grüner Veltliner "Exotique" Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 07-13-2016
This special little oddity is so familiar yet not quite what you'd expect. Gruner apply and subtle mineral quality paired with a building fresh herbal quality and a great dry stony note on the finish. Totally fun and priced to give Austrian liters some heat.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Easy fresh and well integrated. Tons of bright lemon and fresh peach aroma. So drinkable yet not boring or neutered.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This is a wonderful example of what OLD VINES means for champagne. Real old vines! The depth and power is not surpassed by anything in the price point. Fresh open and alive, tons of black cherry, touches of fresh brioche, big bold richness with an ultra long finish. Bubbles for ballers who don't have that black card yet.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Just astonishing how delicious this is for the price. It hits every note you want from a rose champagne, both power and elegance, round and rich with great long structure, aromatic pinot fruit with a hint of savory spice. You could decant it and serve it with a filet mignon as easily as you'd serve it with your aper'eau. A triumph of wine making fit for the most frugal lover of bubbles and the most opulent spender alike.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Michel Loriot "Apollonis" Vintage Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
A fabulous little wine designed for those who really love the bright fresh floral and tropical fruit qualities of Meunier with the depth and complexity provided by a healthy dollop of high quality chardonnay. This vintage product is easily accessible now and can be served on nearly any occasion. Lovely white flowers, but not too perfumed though -no gardenias, more honeysuckles. Lovely long soft finish with fresh tropical fruit continuing throughout. This I want to have with french onion soup for some reason.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1998 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This decadent offering from one of Champagne's most storied brands does everything you'd expect. Bold, rich and over the top, it's as showy and opulent as the price point would suggest. Expect intense oak and nutty spice balanced by a powerful creamy texture and ultra complex pommace fruit. Perfect pair for hoisting the automatic sails on your Swan! Press that button and pour.

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This is basically the non-vintage champagne that everybody wants, everybody needs, and everybody can have! It checks every box. It suits any occasion. It fits nearly any budget. It delivers in every single way. Perfect blanc de blancs nose, vibrant soft white fruit, fresh crisp apples and citrus, slight saline, and that grand cru chalkiness that you can't miss. Lively, pointed and open - it slips from the glass like a slithering snake, just disappears. Where did it go? I don't know. Buy another.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Charles Ellner "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
I was skeptical thanks to the wonky label, but I am converted. I even think the label has started to grown on me. Here we have wonderful balance and depth, a sign that the wines in the cuvee are perfectly matured. Indeed, the elevage must have been of the very highest quality. Expect a nose of dense stone fruit (apricot jam) spread next to the finest wildflower honey. A slight breadiness keeps the aromas from feeling too sweet. The palate is perfectly balanced with less sweet flavors and the perfect dose of acidity. Round ripe citrus, complex leesy notes and a lengthy closure. Truly an honor to sell the estate bottlings from this wonderful negoc.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
A great mousse, clean apple, subtle cherry. Lovely freshness with a distinct bready top note. Rare to find a better value than this in Champagne, the Ariston's commitment to quality is second to none and thanks to our DI relationship, we're selling this at Cremant prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Premier Cru" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This is really a classic offering from the exceptional little negociant whose own vines produce some of champagnes finest offerings. Creamy rich nose with biscuits and a surprisingly strong showing from the Pinot. Bright red fruit aromatics translate on the palate and the wide mouth feel is balanced by great structure and hint of the pinot savoriness at the end. Another stupendous one from Ellner that sparkles as brightly in the glass as it does on the label.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
WE 92 WS 90

2009 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-25-2016
The newest staff favorite is consistently providing some of the absolute BEST values we've seen in bubbles to date. Ultra open and expressive, but with the chops to develop nicely over the next several years. What I really love about this stuff is the balance between creamy fruit (sherbets & creamsicles) and nutty richness (hazelnuts and walnuts). Absolutely transfixed by the combo. And that price! Wow.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-25-2016
This spectacular wine is word class in every way. IN our recent tasting, although it was much younger, this was closest in style to the $350 Dom Perignon P2 that we tried, but it's just SO much better! The massive richness and complexity of the grapes works perfectly in this style, small barrel ageing. If you're going to oak your wine, you better make sure that you're putting the very best grapes in there or you're gonna have a bad time. The ultra complex style is as seamless as it is sexy. Truly the perfect Tete-de-Cuvee and would be a steal at twice the price. But then again we sell out of this one every time, so not sure if I'm doing anyone any favors with this one...

2000 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-25-2016
Wildly complex and powerful! No subtlety here. Big bold flavors of wax fruit, orange sherbet, leaning toward tertiary on the nose. The palate however shows no signs of that a contrasts with succulent yellow stone fruits (mirabelle?), zip acid, and tons of length. Incredible that you can get 16 year old champagne for under $60. Thank the strong dollar and the competitive nature of the small house champagne market!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($42.99)

Ardbeg "Uigeadail" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($55.99)

Caol Ila 12 Year Old Islay Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($59.99)

Cragganmore 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($49.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

Emile Pernot "Vieux Pontarlier 65" Absinthe (750ml) ($64.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte (750ml) ($59.99)

Rhum J.M. Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique 90 Proof (750ml) ($49.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)

1995 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac ($179.99)